Comment aider votre enfant à tirer le meilleur parti du camp d'été

notre créativité

Comment aider votre enfant à tirer le meilleur parti du camp d'été

Juste parce que l'école est dehors pour l'été ne signifie pas que vos enfants ne peuvent pas se développer intellectuellement. En tout cas, leur soulagement temporaire de l'enseignement structuré en classe leur ouvre des opportunités passionnantes dans les camps d'été qui non seulement nourrissent leur envie de s'amuser, mais qui rassasient aussi leur développement émotionnel, physique et cognitif.

Avec autant de camps d'été parmi lesquels choisir - du codage et des camps de rock à des camps sportifs en plein air traditionnels - les parents et les tuteurs ont souvent du mal à trouver les options apparemment infinies qui s'offrent à eux. Maintenant que l'été est en cours, voici quelques suggestions sur la façon d'aider votre enfant à tirer le meilleur parti de son expérience et sur la façon d'évaluer ce qui fait un bon camp.

Le pouvoir du camp - tout camp - est intégré dans ses activités qui attirent les enfants à participer. Qui ne veut pas construire un robot ou une tyrolienne à travers une grotte ou une confiture avec d'autres musiciens en herbe? Eh bien, pas tout le monde, franchement. Les enfants peuvent être très particuliers. S'assurer que les activités du camp font appel à votre enfant est une considération importante car elle ouvre son esprit à l'expérience. Si les enfants sont résistants à l'expérience, ils n'en profiteront probablement pas.

La maturité affective et les besoins de votre enfant jouent également un rôle. Un camp de pyjamas offre une expérience plus immersive, bien sûr, mais un enfant peut ne pas être émotionnellement prêt pour cela. En revanche, il peut bénéficier d'une certaine séparation de votre famille et le développement d'une plus grande indépendance. Ce n'est pas une mauvaise chose pour les enfants de manquer leurs parents; parfois, l'absence aide les enfants à mieux apprécier leur famille et leur vie familiale.

Un autre facteur important est les personnes avec lesquelles votre enfant interagit au camp. Comme tout le monde, les enfants sont attirés par des expériences qui impliquent des gens semblables à eux-mêmes. Peut-être qu'ils vont s'épanouir dans un camp de filles ou tous les garçons où ils ne sont pas distraits par le sexe opposé. Ou peut-être qu'ils vont prospérer avec d'autres enfants intellectuellement ou athlétiquement doués qui peuvent les pousser à atteindre un niveau plus élevé de compétences. Les exposer à la diversité est également un facteur important. Quelle que soit votre décision, sachez que le développement de liens sociaux au camp peut renforcer le réseau social de votre enfant, non seulement au camp, mais potentiellement bien au-delà.

Expériences transformatrices

Examiner le leadership organisationnel et les valeurs du camp. Le personnel du camp de soutien fait une énorme différence quand il s'agit de la direction du camp et de sa programmation. Parlez aux directeurs de camp et demandez-leur quelle est leur philosophie de camp. Qu'essaient-ils de réaliser à travers leurs activités? Comment aident-ils leurs campeurs à grandir? Comment s'assurent-ils que vos enfants seront en sécurité dans l'environnement de leur camp?

Reconnaître que les activités du camp ne sont que des vitrines. La vraie question est de savoir quels sont les résultats attendus d'eux. En fin de compte, les activités du camp devraient conduire au développement de nouvelles compétences, attitudes ou connaissances.

Dans cet esprit, ne pas rejeter les activités apparemment amusantes comme trivial. Bien que vous souhaitiez que votre enfant prenne du retard sur ses pairs en développant des compétences en mathématiques durant les vacances d'été, le fait de l'inscrire dans un camp de plein air traditionnel peut être une expérience plus transformatrice en raison du développement de compétences non techniques. et l'intelligence émotionnelle. Une communication efficace, la coopération et l'autoréflexion sont des compétences dont votre enfant aura besoin pour réussir à l'avenir.

De plus, sachez que même si vous envoyez peut-être votre enfant développer certaines habiletés, il pourrait tirer des avantages plus importants de l'expérience. En envoyant votre enfant au camp de hockey, vous devez nécessairement lui demander de développer des habiletés de hockey plus avancées. Mais le développement du caractère associé à l'expérience est peut-être plus important quand il s'agit de l'influence à long terme des activités. Posez des questions aux camps sur ces avantages plus larges de la participation.

Avantages pour les parents

N'ignorez pas vos propres besoins en tant que parent ou tuteur. En pratique, vous pouvez choisir des options pratiques ou égoïstes. Vous n'aimez pas moins vos enfants si vous les envoyez au camp pendant un mois complet. En réalité, une étude que j'ai menée avec des collègues de l'Université de Waterloo montre que les parents dont les enfants sont restés au camp pendant une plus longue période ont observé un plus grand changement positif dans les résultats de développement de leurs enfants après l'expérience du camp.

De plus, les camps de pyjamas donnent aux parents le répit nécessaire pour assumer leurs responsabilités de soignant et permettent aux couples de renouveler leurs relations, ce qui fait d'eux de meilleurs parents lorsque leurs enfants reviennent.

Alternativement, vous ne devriez pas être critiqué pour la sélection d'un camp de jour à proximité. De très bons camps de jour sont disponibles dans la plupart des communautés, et ils offrent généralement une plus grande couverture pendant la journée de travail que la plupart des écoles pendant l'année scolaire. Assurez-vous simplement que vous n'êtes pas à la recherche d'un service de baby-sitting. Comme indiqué ci-dessus, la qualité de la programmation et les résultats associés ne doivent pas être ignorés.

Enfin, ne pensez pas seulement à envoyer vos enfants dans un camp pour cet été seulement. Idéalement, votre enfant voudra retourner au même endroit. Ma recherche démontre que les campeurs de retour ont tendance à connaître un plus grand changement positif que les campeurs débutants. Il n'est jamais trop tard pour envoyer vos enfants au camp. En fait, les enfants plus âgés ont tendance à connaître les plus grands changements d'attitude et de comportement.

La ConversationEn fin de compte, choisir le bon camp pour vos enfants et évaluer leur expérience signifie équilibrer leurs désirs avec vos propres attentes pour leur croissance. Un camp qui ne fera pas que plaire à votre enfant, mais aussi le pousser, est idéal. En faisant ce choix, vous pouvez être confiant que l'été de votre enfant sera significatif. Clairement, la salle de classe n'est pas le seul environnement qui encourage la transformation personnelle.

A propos de l'auteur

Troy D. Glover, Professeur et président, Département des études récréatives et récréatives, Université de Waterloo

Cet article a été publié initialement le La Conversation. Lis le article original.

Livres connexes:

Ne laissez pas le pigeon terminer ce livre d'activités!
notre créativitéAuteur: Mo Willems
Reliure: Broché
Editeur: Hyperion Books for Children
Liste Des Prix: $19.99

Acheter

Le cahier d'exercices préscolaire Big Fun (cahiers d'exercices d'activités Big Fun de Highlights ™)
notre créativitéReliure: Broché
Editeur: Points forts Apprentissage
Liste Des Prix: $12.99

Acheter

Cahier d'activités géantes pour enfants: Cahier de coloriage géant et cahier d'activités en un: Cahier de coloriage géant et cahier d'activités pour la pré-maternelle à la première année (cahier d'exercices et cahiers d'activités)
notre créativitéAuteur: Livres sur les mains occupées
Reliure: Broché
Format: Large Print
Editeur: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Liste Des Prix: $6.95

Acheter

notre créativité
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

suivez InnerSelf sur

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

suivez InnerSelf sur

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

How To Help Your Child Make The Most Of Summer Camp

creativity

How To Help Your Child Make The Most Of Summer Camp

Just because school is out for summer doesn’t mean your kids can’t grow intellectually. If anything, their temporary relief from structured classroom teaching opens up exciting opportunities for them at summer camps that not only feed their craving for fun, but also satiate their emotional, physical and cognitive development.

With so many summer camps from which to choose — from coding and rock band camps to athletic and traditional open-air camps — parents and guardians often struggle to sort out the seemingly endless options available to them. Now that summer is under way, here are some suggestions on how to help your child get the most out of their experience, and how to assess what makes a good camp.

The power of camp — any camp — is embedded in its activities which attract kids to participate. Who doesn’t want to build a robot or zip-line across a grotto or jam with other budding musicians? Well, not everyone, frankly. Kids can be very particular. Ensuring that the camp’s activities appeal to your child is an important consideration because it opens his or her mind up to the experience. If kids are resistant to the experience, they likely won’t benefit from it.

The emotional maturity and needs of your child also play a role. A sleepover camp provides a more immersive experience, to be sure, but a child may not be emotionally ready for it. By contrast, he or she may benefit from some separation from your family and the development of greater independence. It’s not a bad thing for kids to miss their parents; sometimes absence helps kids better appreciate their family and home life.

Another important factor is the people with whom your child interacts at camp. Like everyone, kids are drawn to experiences that involve people similar to themselves. Perhaps they will flourish at an all-girls or all-boys camp where they aren’t distracted by the opposite sex. Or perhaps they will thrive with other intellectually or athletically gifted children who can push them to achieve a higher level of skill. Exposing them to diversity is also an important consideration. Whatever your decision, recognize that developing social connections at camp can build your child’s social network, not only at camp, but potentially well beyond.

Transformative experiences

Scrutinize the camp’s organizational leadership and values. Supportive camp staff make an enormous difference when it comes to the direction of the camp and its programming. Talk to camp directors and ask them about their camp philosophy. What are they trying to achieve through their activities? How do they help their campers grow? How do they ensure your kids will be safe to develop in their camp’s environment?

Recognize that camp activities are just window dressing. The real question is what outcomes are anticipated from them. Ultimately, camp activities ought to lead to the development of new skills, attitudes or knowledge.

With this in mind, don’t dismiss seemingly fun activities as trivial. While you may want your child to get a leg up on his or her peers by developing math skills during summer vacation, signing him or her up at a traditional outdoor camp can be a more transformative experience because of its emphasis on the development of soft skills and emotional intelligence. Effective communication, co-operation and self-reflection are skills your child will need for future success.

Also, know that while you may be sending your child to develop certain skills, they may be gaining more important benefits from the experience. In sending your child to hockey camp, you may necessarily expect him or her to develop more advanced hockey skills. But the character development associated with the experience is perhaps more important when it comes to the long-term influence of the activities. Ask camps about these wider benefits of participation.

Benefits for parents

Don’t ignore your own needs as a parent or guardian. Practically speaking, it’s OK to select options that are convenient or self-serving. You don’t love your kids any less if you send them to overnight camp for a full month. In fact, a study I conducted with colleagues from the University of Waterloo shows that parents whose children stayed at camp for a longer duration observed greater positive change in their children’s developmental outcomes after the camp experience.

Moreover, sleepover camps give parents necessary respite from caregiving responsibilities and enable couples to renew their relationships which makes them better parents when their children return.

Alternatively, you shouldn’t be criticized for selecting a day camp close by. Very good day camps are available in most communities, and they typically provide greater childcare coverage throughout the workday than most schools do during the school year. Just make sure you aren’t looking for a babysitting service. As noted above, the quality of the programming and the outcomes associated with it shouldn’t be ignored.

Finally, don’t just think about sending your kids to a camp for this summer only. Ideally your child will want to return to the same place. My research demonstrates that returning campers tend to experience greater positive change than first-time campers. It’s also never too late to send your kids to camp. In fact, older children tend to experience the greatest changes in attitude and behaviour.

The ConversationUltimately, choosing the right camp for your kids and assessing their experience means balancing their desires with your own expectations for their growth. A camp that will not only appeal to, but also push your child is ideal. In making that choice, you can be confident your child’s summer will be a meaningful one. Clearly, the classroom isn’t the only environment that encourages personal transformation.

About The Author

Troy D. Glover, Professor and Chair, Department of Recreation and Leisure Studies, University of Waterloo

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

Don't Let the Pigeon Finish This Activity Book! (Pigeon series)

creativityAuthor: Mo Willems
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Disney-Hyperion

Brand: Disney-Hyperion
Creator(s):
  • Mo Willems

Studio: Hyperion Books for Children
Label: Hyperion Books for Children
Publisher: Hyperion Books for Children
Manufacturer: Hyperion Books for Children

Buy Now
Editorial Review:
The Pigeon really, really wants to finish this activity book! But that pesky Duckling keeps getting in the way. Oh, and there's someone new on the scene causing all kinds of problems....

Follow the Bus Driver's lead as you write, color, draw, create--even build an airport!--in this fun-filled book starring the Pigeon and YOU.




The Everything Kids' Puzzle Book: Mazes, Word Games, Puzzles & More! Hours of Fun!

creativityAuthor: Jennifer A Ericsson
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Adams Media Corporation

Brand: Adams Media
Studio: Everything
Label: Everything
Publisher: Everything
Manufacturer: Everything

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Wind your way through pages of endless fun!

Decode a secret message using the phases of the moon, wind your way through a pizza maze, find hidden presidents, borrow some drachmas, unscramble an invention time line, play super duper tic-tac-toe, classic hangman, match up snowflakes, and more with The Everything Kids’ Puzzle Book!

You can also look for Mervin the Mouse every time you turn the page—he’s watching from his hiding place to help you through this wild and whacky jam-packed puzzle book! Sharpen more than one pencil—there are enough puzzles here to keep you entertained for hours!




Jumbo Activity Book for Kids: Jumbo Coloring Book and Activity Book in One: Giant Coloring Book and Activity Book for Pre-K to First Grade (Workbook and Activity Books)

creativityAuthor: Busy Hands Books
Binding: Paperback
Format: Large Print
Studio: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Label: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Manufacturer: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

Jumbo Activity Book for Kids! Over 100 Different Activities!

Why buy just a Jumbo Coloring Book when you can buy this Jumbo Activity Book instead! With over 100 different activities as well as plenty of coloring pages, this jumbo activity book is suitable for kids from preschoolers to first graders.

This book is a perfect workbook for kindergarten age heading off to school, first graders looking for a summer activity book and even for preschoolers who want to color, count, have fun with the alphabet and solve challenging puzzles..

Suitable for both boys and girls, this activity book makes a great travel book or vacation workbook. Take it along on those long car rides to pass the time.

Activity Books also make great gifts for kids!





creativity
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}