لماذا دفعت ألفيس بريسلي فدية الملك للأفلام الثانوية

لماذا دفعت ألفيس بريسلي فدية الملك للأفلام الثانوية
قم بهز صانع أموالك. ويكيميديا ​​كومنز

يصادف هذا الصيف سنوات 40 منذ وفاة الفيس بريسلي. في العقود منذ غادر المغني أخيرا المبنى ، و استمرت الزيارات، منزله في جرايسلاند هو الآن أحد أهم مناطق الجذب السياحي ، ويتم إدراجه بشكل منتظم كواحد من كبار المشاهير المشاهير فوربس.

فمنذ اللحظة التي انفجر فيها على الساحة الموسيقية في 1950s ، إلى أواخر سنوات الفداء المتعجرفة ، تخبر مهنة بريسلي عن مجموعة من القصص المثيرة للاهتمام. ومع ذلك ، فمن وجهة نظر علم الاقتصاد ، فإن قائمة أفلامه التي يمكن نسيانها تمامًا ، ولكن الأفلام الناجحة للغاية ، توفر أكثر الأراضي خصوبة.

كثير من القراء سوف يكون على دراية بوجود أفلام الفيس، حتى لو لم تهنأ خطوط الانطلاق على الفور. بين 1956 و 1972 ، قام بتصنيع أفلام 33 ، وفي كل ما عدا واحد أخذ دور البطولة. وكانت شعبية. في أموال اليوم ، وإجمالي إيصالات شباك التذاكر يساوي أكثر من مليار دولار أمريكي 2.2، وهذا بالنسبة للولايات المتحدة وحدها.

كل هز

عادةً ما يكلف كل فيلم حوالي 2m دولار أمريكي ، وهو مبلغ معقول في 1960s ، يساوي 15.5m دولارًا أمريكيًا تقريبًا بأموال اليوم (ولكن فقط حول 10٪ من ميزانية Disney's Moana). في المتوسط ​​، حققوا حوالي ثلاثة أضعاف ذلك في شباك التذاكر في الولايات المتحدة. لقد رأتهم هوليوود كحارس مال آمن ، فالسوق المحلي وحده يضمن ربحاً.

من بعض النواحي ، كانت أفلام إلفيس هي مقدمة لأشرطة الفيديو الموسيقية اليوم. وقد اتبعوا صيغة مجربة ومختبرة ، تعرض بشكل عام ألفيس في مواقع غريبة مثل هاواي ، أكابولكو ، أو لاس فيغاس ، وتقوم بأداء أغنيات من الألبوم في خضم المغامرات التي تنطوي على سيارات السباق ، أو الطائرات الطائرة ، أو الغوص في أعماق البحار.

من منظور تسويقي ، كان صنع الأفلام أمرا مربحا للجانبين ، وهي دائرة حميدة من التسويق الذهبي. نشرت الأفلام تسجيلات بريسلي الأخيرة لمعجبيه. ومن ثم ، فإن مشاهدة الفيلم من شأنه أن يشجع المعجبين على شراء ألبوم مسار الصوت ، في حين أن المسرحيات الإذاعية للتسجيلات الصوتية من الصوت ستحثهم على مشاهدة الفيلم ومشاهدته.

وكان هناك مكافأة إضافية يمكن أن يشاهدها المشجعون في جميع أنحاء العالم لأداء ألفيس دون أن يضطر إلى السفر. شركات الأفلام بشكل عام دفع التكاليف لتسجيل الموسيقى التصويرية ، بالإضافة إلى صور الدعاية التي استمرت على الأكمام ، مما يعني أن RCA ، شركة تسجيل Elvis ، تم تغطية معظم تكاليفها أيضًا.

قد تكون الأفلام استثمارات مالية سليمة ، ولكن طموحها الفني لم يعجب الناقدين. كان التركيز على الربح يعني تقلص الميزانيات. كانت جداول التصوير ضيقة للغاية ، وعادة ما تكون أربعة أسابيع ، على الرغم من أفلام مثل أبناء Cissin قدمت في أقل من ثلاثة أسابيع من قبل منتج معروف باسم "ملك الأساطير".

الأغاني أيضا حصلت أسوأ ، تسجيلات صوتية مثل اليوغا هي اليوغاو حياة الكلب كانت بعيدة كل البعد عن الضربات التي جعلت منه مشهورا. في نظرة شاملة على مهنة تسجيل الفيس يقتبس إرنست يورجنسن أحد رجال الأعمال الأردنيين (الذين قاموا بغناء نسخ احتياطية من معظم هذه التسجيلات) ، الذين استذكروا: "كانت المادة سيئة للغاية لدرجة أن [إلفيس] شعر وكأنه لا يستطيع غنائها".

لم ينقصهم كل شيء. عموما يتم عقد أفلام بريسلي السابقة بتقدير كبير ، مع jailhouse صخر, الملك الكريول وعدد قليل من الآخرين يعتبر أمثلة جيدة من هذا النوع.

حسرة فندق

الآن ، يمكننا أن نجادل حول ما إذا كان علينا أن نحكم على الأفلام عن طريق النجاح المالي أو الفني. لكن تركيز إلفيس على صناعة الأفلام ، على عكس المظاهر الحية ، كان عرض مقنع كأحد أسباب انخفاضه في منتصف 60s. عندما تمسك الفيس بصيغته ، تغير المشهد الموسيقي. في حين كان أولاد بيتش يصنعون ألبومات كلاسيكية مثل Pet Sounds ، كان ألفيس يغني عن الكلاب الأليفة والأبقار والروبيان. قبل نصف قرن ، عندما بدأ صيف الحب على قدم وساق ، أصدرت فرقة البيتلز ألبوم Sgt Pepper المنوي. إلفيس كان يدعو الجميع إلى clambake.

بحلول أواخر 1960s ، تراجعت شعبية بريسلي ؛ انخفضت إيرادات شباك التذاكر فيلم ، وكان أقل النقاد أعجب مع كل إصدار ، والسجلات من الموسيقى التصويرية لم يعد تسلق ما يصل إلى المخططات. على الرغم من الغرابة ، في الوقت نفسه ، كانت شركات الأفلام مثل MGM و United Artists ، تدفع رسومًا أعلى مقابل خدماته. يظهر الرسم البياني أدناه كلا من إيصالات شباك التذاكر والرسوم التي تلقاها إلفيس للفيلم. وبمرور الوقت ، يمكننا أن نرى أن الرسوم التي كسبها الفيس كانت ترتفع حيث انخفضت إيصالات شباك التذاكر.

بدا أن هوليوود تدفع ثمن قوته النجمية ، الأمر الذي دفعهم بدوره إلى صنع أفلام أرخص وأقل جودة. تتوقع النظرية الاقتصادية أنه مع انخفاض الطلب ، يجب أن ينخفض ​​السعر ، وهو رسم ألفيس. ومع ذلك ، يبدو أن شهرته عزلته إلى حد ما عن قوى السوق ، مع استعداد شركات الأفلام لخفض التكاليف الأخرى من أجل تأمين نجمها.

غالبًا ما يتم تذكر مهنة بريسلي السينمائية بأنها مرحة واهية ، وينظر إليها عن حق على أنها تمرين في التسويق أولاً وقبل كل شيء. نعم ، إن مبلغ 2.2 مليار دولار أمريكي هو مبلغ كبير من المال ، لكن هل يمكن أن تكون مسيرة ألفيس السينمائية أكثر إشباعًا؟ هناك طابور طويل من المطربين الذين حققوا مهنة ناجحة في الأفلام لأنفسهم منها فرانك سيناترا و عميد مارتن من خلال ل توم ويتس و جوستين تيمبرليك.

وكشف مقال 1977 في مجلة رولينج ستون أن أولئك الذين عملوا مع بريسلي شعر أن لديه المزيد لإعطاء. نورمان Taurogالذي أخرج تسعة من أفلامه ، شعر بأن ألفيس لم يصل إلى ذروته. دون سيغلوشعر مدير فيلم Flaming Star (ولاحقًا بـ Dirty Harry) أنه لم يرحل. روبرت هابيلوقد لخص المدير المشارك لـ Elvis on Tour ذلك بشكل أنيق عندما قال: "كان [إلفيس] بشكل أساسي فاعلاً بشكل لا يصدق مع الكثير من الضعف والكثير من الإنسانية التي كان يمكن أن يتواصل بها في أفلامه. وفي بعض الأحيان كان يفعل ".

المحادثةومع ذلك ، فإن الأفلام هي في الغالب ممتعة ، وتعني أننا ما زلنا نرى إلفيس الشاب يؤدي أغنيات كلاسيكية مثل Teddy Bear و Jailhouse Rock أو Can't Help Falling in Love. ولا تنسى ، تم العثور على A Little Less Conversation - الأغنية التي تم إعادة دمجه وإطلاقه في جيل جديد تمامًا في 2002 - في الأصل في فيلم 1968 يعيش قليلا، قليلا الحب. في نهاية المطاف ، خدمت هذه الأفلام هدفها في ذلك الوقت ، وساعدت في منح الملك طول العمر في القرن 21st.

عن المؤلف

أندرو جونستون ، محاضر رئيسي في إدارة الأعمال والاقتصاد الدولي ، جامعة شيفيلد هالام

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ، الكلمات الرئيسية = elvis presley ، maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Why Elvis Presley Was Paid A King’s Ransom For Sub-par Movies

leisure

Why Elvis Presley Was Paid A King’s Ransom For Sub-par Movies
Shake your money maker. Wikimedia Commons

This summer marks 40 years since the death of Elvis Presley. In the decades since the singer finally left the building, the hits have continued, his home at Graceland is now a top tourist attraction, and he is regularly listed as one of the top earning dead celebrities by Forbes.

From the moment he burst onto the music scene in the 1950s, to the late Vegas years of garish jumpsuits, Presley’s career tells a host of intriguing tales. From an economics point of view, however, his roster of entirely forgettable, but wildly successful movies offers the most fertile ground.

Many readers will be familiar with the existence of Elvis’s films, even if the plotlines don’t spring immediately to mind. Between 1956 and 1972, he made 33 movies, and in all but one he took the starring role. And they were popular. In today’s money, the total box office receipts equate to over US$2.2 billion, and that is for the US alone.

All Shook Up

Each film typically cost around US$2m to make, a reasonable sum in the 1960s, equating to around US$15.5m in today’s money (but only around 10% of the budget of Disney’s Moana). On average, they grossed around three times that at the US box office. Hollywood saw them as a safe money-spinner, the domestic market alone guaranteed a profit.

In some ways, Elvis’ films were the precursor to today’s music videos. They followed a tried and tested formula, generally featuring Elvis in exotic locations such as Hawaii, Acapulco, or Las Vegas, and performing an album’s worth of songs in the midst of adventures involving racing cars, flying planes, or deep sea diving.

From a marketing perspective, film making was a win-win situation, a virtuous circle of marketing gold. The films advertised Presley’s latest recordings to his fans. Seeing the film would then encourage fans to buy the soundtrack album, while radio plays of recordings from the soundtrack would prompt them to go and see the film.

And there was the added bonus that fans all around the world could watch Elvis perform without him having to travel. The film companies generally paid the costs for recording the soundtrack, as well as the publicity photos that went on the sleeves, meaning that RCA, Elvis’ record company, had the majority of their costs covered too.

The films may have been sound financial investments, but their artistic ambition didn’t impress the critics. The focus on profit meant that budgets were squeezed. Filming schedules were very tight, typically four weeks, although films such as Kissin’ Cousins were made in less than three weeks by a producer known as the “king of the quickies”.

The songs also got worse, soundtrack recordings such as Yoga is as Yoga Does, and A Dog’s Life were a far cry from the hits that made him famous. In his comprehensive overview of Elvis’ recording career Ernst Jorgensen quotes one of the Jordanaires’ (who sang backup on most of these recordings), who recalled: “the material was so bad that [Elvis] felt like he couldn’t sing it”.

They didn’t all lack quality. Presley’s earlier films are generally held in greater esteem, with Jailhouse Rock, King Creole and a few others considered to be good examples of the genre.

Heartbreak Hotel

Now, we can argue the toss over whether to judge the movies by financial or artistic success. But Elvis’ focus on filmmaking, as opposed to live appearances, has been convincingly presented as one of the reasons for his mid-60s decline. As Elvis stuck to his formula, the music scene changed. While the Beach Boys were making classic albums like Pet Sounds, Elvis was singing about pet dogs, cows and shrimps. Half a century ago, when the Summer of Love got into full swing, The Beatles released the seminal Sgt Pepper album. Elvis was inviting everyone to a clambake.

By the late 1960s, Presley’s popularity had waned; movie box office receipts fell, critics were less impressed with each release, and the records from the soundtracks no longer climbed as far up the charts. Strangely though, at the same time, film companies such as MGM and United Artists, were paying ever higher fees for his services. The chart below shows both the box office receipts and the fee Elvis received for the film. Over time we can see that the fees Elvis earned were rising as the box office receipts were declining.

Hollywood appeared to be paying for his star power, which in turn pushed them towards making cheaper, low quality films. Economic theory would predict that as demand falls, the price, Elvis’ fee, should also fall. Yet, it appears that his fame insulated him somewhat from market forces, with film companies prepared to cut other costs in order to secure their star.

Presley’s film career is often remembered as playful and flimsy, and rightly seen as an exercise in marketing first and foremost. Yes, US$2.2 billion is a lot of money, but could Elvis’ film career been more fulfilling? There is a long line of singers who have made a successful film career for themselves from Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin through to Tom Waits and Justin Timberlake.

A 1977 article in Rolling Stone magazine revealed that those who worked with Presley felt he had more to give. Norman Taurog, who directed nine of his films, felt Elvis never reached his peak. Don Siegel, director of Flaming Star (and later on Dirty Harry), felt he only went along for the ride. Robert Abel, co-director of Elvis on Tour, neatly summed it up when he said: “[Elvis] was basically an incredibly fine actor with a lot of vulnerability and a lot of humanity that he could have communicated in his films. And occasionally he did”.

The ConversationYet, the films are mostly fun, and they mean we still get to see a youthful Elvis perform classic songs such as Teddy Bear, Jailhouse Rock or Can’t Help Falling in Love. And don’t forget, A Little Less Conversation – the song which was remixed and launched into an entirely new generation in 2002 – was originally found in the 1968 movie Live a Little, Love a Little. Ultimately, these films served their purpose at the time, and have helped to give The King longevity into the 21st century.

About the Author

Andrew Johnston, Principal Lecturer in International Business and Economics, Sheffield Hallam University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

Last Train to Memphis: The Rise of Elvis Presley

leisureAuthor: Peter Guralnick
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Back Bay Books

Brand: Back Bay Books
Studio: Back Bay Books
Label: Back Bay Books
Publisher: Back Bay Books
Manufacturer: Back Bay Books

Buy Now
Editorial Review: From the moment that he first shook up the world in the mid 1950s, Elvis Presley has been one of the most vivid and enduring myths of American culture.

Last Train to Memphis: The Rise of Elvis Presley is the first biography to go past that myth and present an Elvis beyond the legend. Based on hundreds of interviews and nearly a decade of research, it traces the evolution not just of the man but of the music and of the culture he left utterly transformed, creating a completely fresh portrait of Elvis and his world.

This volume tracks the first twenty-four years of Elvis' life, covering his childhood, the stunning first recordings at Sun Records ("That's All Right," "Mystery Train"), and the early RCA hits ("Heartbreak Hotel," "Hound Dog," "Don't Be Cruel"). These were the years of his improbable self-invention and unprecedented triumphs, when it seemed that everything that Elvis tried succeeded wildly. There was scarcely a cloud in sight through this period until, in 1958, he was drafted into the army and his mother died shortly thereafter. The book closes on that somber and poignant note.

Last Train to Memphis takes us deep inside Elvis' life, exploring his lifelong passion for music of every sort (from blues and gospel to Bing Crosby and Mario Lanza), his compelling affection for his family, and his intimate relationships with girlfriends, mentors, band members, professional associates, and friends. It shows us the loneliness, the trustfulness, the voracious appetite for experience, and above all the unshakable, almost mystical faith that Elvis had in himself and his music. Drawing frequently on Elvis' own words and on the recollections of those closest to him, the book offers an emotional, complex portrait of young Elvis Presley with a depth and dimension that for the first time allow his extraordinary accomplishments to ring true.

Peter Guralnick has given us a previously unseen world, a rich panoply of people and events that illuminate an achievement, a place, and a time as never revealed before. Written with grace, humor, and affection, Last Train to Memphis has been hailed as the definitive biography of Elvis Presley. It is the first to set aside the myths and focus on Elvis' humanity in a way that has yet to be duplicated.




Elvis Presley's Love Me Tender

leisureAuthor: Elvis Presley
Binding: Hardcover
Creator(s):
  • Stephanie Graegin

Studio: Dial Books
Label: Dial Books
Publisher: Dial Books
Manufacturer: Dial Books

Buy Now
Editorial Review: The king of rock-and-roll's #1 hit song "Love Me Tender" is now an endearing picture book

Adapted from the unforgettable classic song, Elvis Presley's Love MeTender is a heartwarming ode to the special bond between children and the adults who love and care for them--be they parents, grandparents, adoptive parents, aunts, uncles, or guardians. With its simple, timeless message, Elvis Presley's Love Me Tender is destined to join Guess How Much I Love You as a baby shower staple. And the sweet, inclusive illustrations make it a book every family will treasure "all through the years, 'till the end of time."




Who Was Elvis Presley?

leisureAuthor: Geoff Edgers
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • STORY ABOUT ELVIS PRESLEY AS THE KING OF ROCK'N' ROLL.

Brand: Grosset Dunlap
Creator(s):
  • John O'Brien

Studio: Penguin Workshop
Label: Penguin Workshop
Publisher: Penguin Workshop
Manufacturer: Penguin Workshop

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Put on your blue suede shoes and get ready for another addition to the Who Was…? series! The King could not have come from humbler origins: Born in Tupelo, Mississippi, during the Depression, he grew up with the blues music of the rural South, the gospel music of local churches, and the country-western classics. But he forged a sound all his own—and a look that was all his own, too. With curled lip, swiveling hips, and greased pompadour, Elvis changed popular music forever, ushering in the age of rock and roll. Geoff Edgers’s fascinating biography of this icon of American pop culture includes black and- white illustrations on nearly every spread.




leisure
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}