Comment stimuler les compétences et les souvenirs des enfants avec une soirée hebdomadaire

Comment stimuler les compétences et les souvenirs des enfants avec une soirée hebdomadaire
Victoire parentale: Vos enfants quittent la maison et disent: «J'aimais le temps en famille quand j'étais petit. Chaque vendredi soir était dîner et jeux. Shutterstock

Les mois d’hiver sont le moment idéal pour attirer votre attention sur vous-même et réfléchir à la façon dont vous pouvez créer quelque chose de nouveau pour votre famille à faire ensemble à l’intérieur. Si vous pouvez trouver la bonne chose, cela deviendra peut-être un rituel familial.

Rituels familiaux contribuent au rythme et à la prévisibilité de la vie familiale et soutiennent le développement de l'enfant. Une fois que vous avez trouvé une activité que toute la famille adore, il est essentiel de la répéter et de la transformer en une habitude familiale - une sorte de «marque familiale». Ces activités ne doivent pas nécessairement être coûteuses, prendre du temps ou être compliquées.

Faire des souvenirs ensemble favorise un sentiment d'inclusion, de structure et d'appartenance qui caractérise une vie familiale saine. Les souvenirs peuvent être revisités loin dans le futur avec passion, évoquant ces moments d'expériences partagées qui, avec le temps, deviennent une partie de l'ADN unique de la famille.

Parmi les défis de la parentalité et de la croissance, il est crucial pour les parents de comprendre les avantages à fort impact de habitudes positives et régulières de temps en famille. Voici à quoi pourrait ressembler le succès de la parentalité lorsque votre enfant quittera la maison:

«J'ai adoré notre temps en famille. Quand nous étions enfants, tous les vendredis, c'était une soirée pizza et jeux.

Les parents ont un rôle énorme à jouer pour orchestrer et diriger l'action autour du temps passé en famille. Il est important que lors de ces réunions de famille, les parents soient complètement présents à leurs enfants. Cela signifie qu’il faut accepter que tous les appareils électroniques soient éteints.

Préparer le terrain avec un repas

Si vous voulez vraiment en faire une soirée, pensez à faire un simple repas ensemble. Par exemple, votre routine pourrait devenir une soirée pizza suivie de jeux et de puzzles.


Obtenez les dernières nouvelles d'InnerSelf


Les jeunes enfants pourraient pétrir la pâte et aider à étendre la sauce et à trancher, couper en dés, hacher, déchiqueter et organiser les garnitures. L'achat de croûtes minces préparées peut réduire le temps et le désordre lié au traitement de la pâte.

Le développement de la langue et des compétences cognitives peut être intégré à ces activités quotidiennes faciles, les rendant amusantes, naturelles et interactives. Le dîner sera sur la table en un éclair et votre enfant ne manquera pas de manger ses créations!

La recherche identifie le discours de l'heure des repas comme un élément central renforcer les relations et développer le vocabulaire chez les jeunes enfants.

Choisissez votre jeu

Les jeux et les puzzles constituent une excellente plate-forme pour créer ces expériences partagées. Ils ont le potentiel de promouvoir une gamme d'habiletés sociales et physiques, de concepts, d'utilisation de stratégies et de développement du langage qui serviront très bien votre enfant dans leur vie. résultats scolaires en mathématiques et en littératie.

La taille, la forme, l’espace, les motifs et les séquences, par exemple, sous-tendent la reconnaissance de l’alphabet, l’orthographe et le calcul. La clé est de donner aux petits doigts une chance «d'apprendre le monde», en développant leur motricité fine établir des liens avec la langue.

Quelques suggestions de jeux:

1) Lego: Lego est un favori pour toujours, idéal pour développer des concepts de relations entières, comment les choses se passent bien et pour promouvoir la motricité fine. Il est également créatif et on assiste à une recrudescence chez les adultes connue sous le nom de fans adultes de Lego (AFOL) en utilisant ces blocs.

2) Jenga is un jeu d'adresse physique impliquant des blocs 54 disposés dans une tour au début du jeu. Un bloc est retiré à tour de rôle par chaque joueur et replacé au sommet de la tour jusqu'à ce qu'il s'écroule. Le jeu a évolué des propres souvenirs de la créatrice du jeu où elle a joué et intrigué avec sa famille.

3) Scrabble est un autre favori de la famille de longue date. Le jeu renforce la reconnaissance des lettres et les modèles d’orthographe. Pour les enfants plus jeunes, il est recommandé de jouer en équipe adultes-enfants pour offrir une excellente occasion d’apprentissage. Manipuler les carreaux, les disposer et les déplacer et les placer sur le tableau sont de bons exercices pour le développement de la motricité fine.

4) Jeux de cartes Tous les types de cartes, y compris les tours de cartes, offrent des possibilités infinies d’interaction et de divertissement entre adultes et enfants, quel que soit leur âge. Les concepts de «plus que» et «moins que», les discussions sur le hasard ou les probabilités, ainsi que la séquence et les groupements, font l'objet d'un bon travail avec un jeu de cartes.

Pendant que vous jouez

Si l'occasion se présente, les enfants sont fiers de créer leur propre pizza et de contribuer au dîner. (comment améliorer les compétences et les souvenirs des enfants avec une soirée hebdomadaire)Si l'occasion se présente, les enfants sont fiers de créer leur propre pizza et de contribuer au dîner. Shutterstock

Le dialogue parent-enfant fait une différence dans le langage et le développement social de l'enfant. De manière significative, les parents devraient essayer de se rendre compte de combien ils parlent avec une leurs enfants, pas simplement à Eux. Ce qui compte, c'est de jouer à tour de rôle, où les modèles d’auditeur adulte répondent et développent les commentaires précédents.

Par exemple, si la famille travaille sur un casse-tête et que l'enfant explique qu'il met toutes les pièces du casse-tête bleu ici, le parent pourrait dire: «Quelle bonne idée, vous pouvez regrouper toutes les pièces du casse-tête par couleur, ce qui nous aide à trouver eux. »Le parent renvoie l’attention de manière à exprimer l’habileté que l’enfant expérimente; l'adulte incarne également l'art de faire passer la conversation à un niveau supérieur.

Se concentrer complètement sur le jeu et les joueurs permet aux parents d’entendre pleinement leur enfant et de répondre à ses commentaires pour ouvrir la conversation plus avant, ce qui est essentiel pour la construction du vocabulaire et de la compréhension des enfants.

Le fait de manipuler et d’arranger des cartes, des blocs et de petits morceaux aide les petits doigts à développer leur motricité fine. (comment améliorer les compétences et les souvenirs des enfants avec une soirée hebdomadaire)Le fait de manipuler et d’arranger des cartes, des blocs et de petits morceaux aide les petits doigts à développer leur motricité fine. Shutterstock

En plus d'offrir des commentaires positifs et des encouragements, les parents peuvent proposer des séances de réflexion - Parlez aux adultes de présenter leurs processus de pensée en utilisant une stratégie ou en résolvant un problème. De cette façon, les parents soutiennent le développement cognitif des enfants tout en partageant une activité.La Conversation

À propos des auteurs

Hetty Roessingh, professeur à la Werklund School of Education, Université de Calgary et Michelle Bence, étudiante à la maîtrise en recherche sur l’éducation, programme de formation linguistique et d’alphabétisation, Université de Calgary

Cet article est republié de La Conversation sous une licence Creative Commons. Lis le article original.

Livres connexes

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; mots-clés = jeux de nuit pour adultes et enfants; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

suivez InnerSelf sur

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

How To Boost Kids' Skills And Memories With A Weekly Game Night

How To Boost Kids' Skills And Memories With A Weekly Game Night
Parenting win: Your children leave home and say, ‘I loved family time when I was little. Every Friday night was dinner and games.’ Shutterstock

The winter months are an ideal time to turn your attention inward and think of how you can establish something new for your family to do together indoors. If you can find the right thing, perhaps it will become a family ritual.

Family rituals contribute to the rhythm and predictability of family life and they support child development. Once you find an activity the whole family enjoys together, the key is to repeat and make it a family habit — a sort of “family branding.” These activities do not have to be expensive, time consuming or complicated.

Making memories together fosters a sense of inclusion, structure and belonging that is a hallmark of healthy family life. Memories can be revisited far into the future with fondness, evoking these moments of shared experiences that, over time, become part of a family’s unique DNA.

Amid the challenges of parenting and growing up, it’s crucial for parents to understand the high-impact benefits of positive, regular habits of family time. Here’s what parenting success could sound like when your child leaves home:

“I loved our family time. When we were kids, every Friday was pizza and games night.”

Parents have an enormous role in orchestrating and leading the action around family time. It is important that during these family gatherings, parents are completely present to their children. This means agreeing that all electronic devices are powered off.

Set the stage with a meal

Should you really want to make an evening of it, think of beginning with making a simple meal together. For example, your routine could become a pizza night followed by games and puzzles.

Young children could knead the dough, and help with spreading the sauce and slicing, dicing, chopping, shredding and arranging the toppings. Buying prepared thin crusts can cut down on the time and the mess of dealing with dough.

Language and cognitive skill building can be incorporated into these easy daily activities, making them fun, natural and interactive. Dinner will be on the table in a flash and your child will be sure to eat their creations as well!

Research identifies meal time talk as central to reinforcing relationships and developing vocabulary among young children.

Choose your game

Games and puzzles provide an excellent platform for creating these shared experiences. They have the potential to promote a range of social and physical skills, concepts, strategy use and language development that will serve your child very well in their academic achievements in math and literacy.

Size, shape, space, patterns and sequences, for example, underlie alphabet recognition, spelling and numeracy. The key is to give little fingers a chance to “learn the world,” developing their fine motor skills and making connections to language.

Some game suggestions:

1) Lego: Forever a favourite, Lego is great for developing concepts of whole-part relationships, how things fit and for promoting fine motor skills. It is creative as well, and there is a resurgence among adults known as Adult Fans of Lego (AFOL) in using these blocks.

2) Jenga is a game of physical skill involving 54 blocks arranged in a tower at the beginning of the game. One block is removed by each player in turn, and replaced at the top of the tower, until it comes crashing down. The game evolved from the game creator’s own memories of playing and puzzling with her family.

3) Scrabble is another long-time family favorite. The game reinforces letter recognition and spelling patterns. With younger children, it’s recommended to play as adult-child teams to provide a great learning opportunity. Handling the tiles, arranging and moving them about and placing them on the board are good exercises for fine motor development.

4) Card games of all kinds, including card tricks, afford endless possibilities for adult-child interaction and fun across age groups. Concepts of “more than” and “less than,” discussions of chance or probabilities as well as sequence and groupings, are given a good work out with a card game.

While you play

Given the opportunity, children take pride in creating their own pizza and contributing to dinner. (how to boost kids skills and memories with a weekly game night)Given the opportunity, children take pride in creating their own pizza and contributing to dinner. Shutterstock

Parent-child talk makes a difference to a child’s language and social development. Significantly, parents should try to become mindful of how much they talk with their children, not simply to them. What matters is taking turns in conversation, where the adult listener models responding and expanding on the previous comments.

For example, if the family is working on a puzzle and the child explains they are putting all the blue puzzle pieces here, the parent might say: “What a great idea, you can group all the puzzle pieces by colour, which helps us find them.” The parent returns attention in a way that gives words to the skill the child is experimenting with; the adult also models the art of taking conversation to the next level.

Completely focusing on the game and the players allows parents to fully hear their child and respond to the child’s comments to open the conversation further, which is central to building children’s vocabularies and understandings.

Handling and arranging cards, blocks and small pieces helps little fingers develop fine motor skills.  (how to boost kids skills and memories with a weekly game night)Handling and arranging cards, blocks and small pieces helps little fingers develop fine motor skills. Shutterstock

In addition to offering positive feedback and encouragement, parents can offer “think alouds” — talk whereby adults expose their thinking processes while using a strategy or solving a problem. In this way parents support children’s cognitive development while sharing an activity.The Conversation

About The Authors

Hetty Roessingh, Professor, Werklund School of Education, University of Calgary and Michelle Bence, Master's Student in Educational Research, Language and Literacy Program, University of Calgary

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=game night games for adults and children;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

HOME & GARDEN

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Cameron Webb
Mosquitoes aren’t just annoying. Every year around 5,000 Australians get sick following a mosquito bite.

LEISURE & CREATIVITY

The Real Women Of 'The Favourite' Included An 18th-century Warren Buffett

The Real Women Of 'The Favourite' Included An 18th-century Warren Buffett

Amy Froide
One of the challengers at this year’s Oscars is “The Favourite,” a film set in the early 18th-century court of British monarch Queen Anne.

SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY

How Reading And Writing Evolved?

How Did Reading And Writing Evolve?

Derek Hodgson
The part of the brain that processes visual information, the visual cortex, evolved over the course of millions of years in a world where reading and writing didn’t exist.

HEALTH & WELLNESS

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Christine Bear, et al
New studies reveal that most psychiatric illnesses are related to one another. Tracing these connections, like the mapping of a river system, promises to help define the main cause of these disorders and the drugs that could alleviate their symptoms.

FINANCE & CAREER

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Alison Jones
When facing a choice between a smaller dollar amount now or more money weeks later, “patient savers” focus immediately on the two dollar amounts, quickly screening out other factors as irrelevant, according to a new study.