هل يستطيع العلم الإجابة عن كل الأسئلة الكبيرة؟

هل يستطيع العلم الإجابة عن كل الأسئلة الكبيرة؟

Science مثل مايكل أنجلو. أظهر مايكل أنجلو مهاراته كنحات بنحت التجلي بييتا في الفاتيكان مايكل أنجلو الناضج ، بعد أن اكتسب مهارته وأظهرها ، تحرر من الاتفاقيات وخلق شبه تجريده غير العادي في وقت لاحق.

لقد سلك العلم مسارًا مشابهًا. خلال أربعة قرون من المسعى الجاد ، من غاليليو فصاعدا ، عندما اختلطت الأدلة بالرياضيات ، وظهرت الوصايا الاستثنائية للمفاهيم والإنجازات ، اكتسب العلم مرحلة النضج ، ومن خلال شرح الملاحظات البسيطة ، أصبح الآن قادرًا على التعامل مع المعقد. . وبالفعل ، فإن ظهور الحساب كعنصر من عناصر تداعيات النظريات وكشف الأنماط في مجموعات البيانات الضخمة قد وسع نطاق العقلانية ويثري بشكل كبير الأسلوب العلمي عن طريق زيادة التحليل.

إن ترسانة العلم ثلاثية الأبعاد - المراقبة والتحليلية والحاسوبية - جاهزة الآن لمهاجمة الأسئلة الكبيرة الحقيقية. هم ، حسب الترتيب الزمني: كيف بدأ الكون؟ كيف تصبح المادة في الكون حية؟ و كيف أصبحت المادة الحية واعية لذاتها؟

عندما يتم التفتيش والتقطيع ، تشمل هذه الأسئلة العديد من الأسئلة الأخرى ، مثل - في السؤال الأول - وجود القوى والجسيمات الأساسية ، وبالتالي ، مستقبل الكون على المدى الطويل. ويشمل ذلك مشكلة قليلة جدا لاتحاد الجاذبية والميكانيكا الكمومية. السؤال الثاني لا يشمل فقط الانتقال من غير عضوي إلى عضوي ولكن أيضًا تفاصيل تطور الأنواع وتفرعات البيولوجيا الجزيئية. يشمل الثالث ليس فقط قدرتنا على الإقحام والإنشاء ولكن أيضا طبيعة الحكم الجمالي والأخلاقي.

لا أرى أي سبب لعدم استخدام الطريقة العلمية للإجابة ، أو على الأقل توضيح ، سؤال "سقراط" كيف يجب أن نعيش؟ من خلال مناشدة تلك العلوم شبه حاليا (العلوم الاجتماعية) بما في ذلك الأنثروبولوجيا ، علم السلوك ، علم النفس والاقتصاد. يرفع الدورية رأسها هنا أيضاً ، لأنه من المتصور أن تقييدات الوعي تحول دون فهم كامل للبنية العميقة لنسيج الواقع ، لذلك ربما في الثلث ، ينشأ مثلما يحدث من الأول ، يجد الأول نفسه مقيَّداً. إننا نشهد بالفعل تلميحًا لذلك مع ميكانيكا الكم ، التي تمت إزالتها حتى الآن من التجربة المشتركة (يمكنني أن أضيف ، كما ترسم الخريطة إلى أدمغتنا) التي لا يفهمها أحد حاليًا حقًا (لكن ذلك لم يمنع قدرتنا على الانتشار ذلك).

تشحيم الأسلوب العلمي هو التفاؤل والتفاؤل الذي يعطي الصبر والجهد ، في كثير من الأحيان الجهد التعاوني ، وسوف يأتي الفهم. لقد كان في الماضي ، وليس هناك ما يدعو إلى الافتراض بأن هذا التفاؤل في غير محله الآن. وبالطبع ، فإن التلال السفلية قد أفسحت المجال للجبال ، ولا يمكن توقع تقدم سريع في الدفعة الأخيرة.

ربما سيأخذنا الجهد ، على الأقل بشكل مؤقت ، إلى الأزقة الأعمى (نظرية الأوتار ربما) ، ولكن بعد ذلك قد يتم فتح عمى ذلك الزقاق فجأة ويكون هناك طفرة في الإنجاز. ولعل نماذج الفكر المنقحة بأكملها ، مثل تلك التي كانت منذ قرن أو أقل ، عندما ظهرت النسبية وعلم الميكانيك الكمومي ، تأخذ الفهم في اتجاهات لا يمكن تخيلها في الوقت الحالي.

ربما سنجد أن الكون هو مجرد الرياضيات المقدمة كبيرة. ربما يجب ترك فهمنا للوعي للأداة الاصطناعية التي اعتقدنا أنها مجرد آلة لمحاكاتها. ربما ، في الواقع ، دائرية مرة أخرى ، فقط الوعي الاصطناعي الذي سنبني سيكون له القدرة على فهم ظهور شيء من لا شيء.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


أعتبر أنه لا يوجد شيء لا يمكن للطريقة العلمية أن توضحه. في الواقع ، يجب أن نسعد برحلة العقل البشري الجماعي في المؤسسة التي نسميها العلوم.عداد Aeon - لا تقم بإزالة

نبذة عن الكاتب

بيتر آتكينز زميل كلية لينكولن ، جامعة أكسفورد. وهو مؤلف عن كتب 70 للطلاب والقارئ العام ، والتي تشمل الكتاب المدرسي ذو الشهرة العالمية الكيمياء الفيزيائية لشركة Atkins (11th طبعة، 2017) و اختطاف الكون (2018).

وقد نشرت هذه المقالة أصلا في دهر وقد أعيد نشرها تحت المشاع الإبداعي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = what is science؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Can Science Answer All The Big Questions?

science

Can Science Answer All The Big Questions?

Science is like Michelangelo. The young Michelangelo demonstrated his skill as a sculptor by carving the ravishing Pietà in the Vatican; the mature Michelangelo, having acquired and demonstrated his skill, broke free of the conventions and created his extraordinary later quasi-abstractions.

Science has trod a similar path. Through its four centuries of serious endeavour, from Galileo onwards, when evidence was mingled with mathematics, and the extraordinary reticulation of concepts and achievements emerged, science has acquired maturity, and from the elucidation of simple observations it is now capable of dealing with the complex. Indeed, the emergence of computation as a component of the unfolding implications of theories and the detection of patterns in massive data sets has extended the reach of the rational and greatly enriches the scientific method by augmenting the analytic.

The triple-pronged armoury of science – the observational, the analytic and the computational – is now ready to attack the real big questions. They are, in chronological order: How did the Universe begin? How did matter in the Universe become alive? and How did living matter become self-conscious?

When inspected and picked apart, these questions include many others, such as – in the first question – the existence of the fundamental forces and particles and, by extension, the long-term future of the Universe. It includes the not-so-little problem of the union of gravitation and quantum mechanics. The second question includes not only the transition from inorganic to organic but details of the evolution of species and the ramifications of molecular biology. The third includes not merely our ability to cogitate and create but also the nature of aesthetic and moral judgment.

I see no reason why the scientific method cannot be used to answer, or at least illuminate, Socrates’ question ‘How should we live?’ by appealing to those currently semi-sciences (the social sciences) including anthropology, ethology, psychology and economics. The cyclic raises its head here too, for it is conceivable that the limitations of consciousness preclude full comprehension of the deep structure of the fabric of reality, so perhaps in the third, arising as it does from the first, the first finds itself bounded. We are already seeing a hint of that with quantum mechanics, which is so far removed from common experience (I could add, as it maps on to our brains) that no one currently really understands it (but that has not inhibited our ability to deploy it).

The lubricant of the scientific method is optimism, optimism that given patience and effort, often collaborative effort, comprehension will come. It has in the past, and there is no reason to suppose that such optimism is misplaced now. Of course, foothills have given way to mountains, and rapid progress cannot be expected in the final push.

Maybe effort will take us, at least temporarily, down blind alleys (string theory perhaps) but then the blindness of that alley might suddenly be opened and there is a surge of achievement. Perhaps whole revised paradigms of thought, such as those a century or so ago when relativity and quantum mechanics emerged, will take comprehension in currently unimaginable directions.

Maybe we shall find that the cosmos is just mathematics rendered substantial. Maybe our comprehension of consciousness will have to be left to the artificial device that we thought was merely a machine for simulating it. Maybe, indeed, circularity again, only the artificial consciousness we shall have built will have the capacity to understand the emergence of something from nothing.

I consider that there is nothing that the scientific method cannot elucidate. Indeed, we should delight in the journey of the collective human mind in the enterprise we call science.Aeon counter – do not remove

About The Author

Peter Atkins is a fellow of Lincoln College, University of Oxford. He is the author of about 70 books for students and the general reader, which include the world-renowned textbook Atkins' Physical Chemistry (11th edition, 2017) and Conjuring the Universe (2018).

This article was originally published at Aeon and has been republished under Creative Commons.

Related Books

What Is Science?

scienceAuthor: Rebecca Kai Dotlich
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • MELIA PUBLISHING SERVICES

Brand: imusti
Creator(s):
  • Sachiko Yoshikawa

Studio: Square Fish
Label: Square Fish
Publisher: Square Fish
Manufacturer: Square Fish
List Price: $7.99
Offers - Buy New From: $2.99 Used From: $5.34
Buy Now



What Is This Thing Called Science?

scienceAuthor: Alan F. Chalmers
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Used Book in Good Condition

Brand: Brand: Hackett Publishing Company
Studio: Hackett Publishing Company, Inc.
Label: Hackett Publishing Company, Inc.
Publisher: Hackett Publishing Company, Inc.
Manufacturer: Hackett Publishing Company, Inc.
List Price: $23.00
Offers - Buy New From: $12.26 Used From: $12.12
Buy Now



What Is A Scientist ?

scienceAuthor: Barbara Lehn
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Millbrook Press

Brand: Millbrook Press
Studio: Millbrook Press
Label: Millbrook Press
Publisher: Millbrook Press
Manufacturer: Millbrook Press
List Price: $7.99
Offers - Buy New From: $5.01 Used From: $1.97
Buy Now



science
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}