لماذا يجب أن لا تقلق بشأن وقت الشاشة ولكن التركيز على كيفية استخدامك التكنولوجيا

لماذا يجب أن لا تقلق بشأن وقت الشاشة ولكن التركيز على كيفية استخدامك التكنولوجيا

يجد العديد من الأمريكيين أنفسهم عرضة للقصف من قبل مشورة الخبراء للحد من وقت شاشاتهم وكسر إدمانهم على الأجهزة الرقمية - بما في ذلك فرض ونمذجة هذا ضبط النفس للأطفال في حياتهم. ومع ذلك، على مدى سنوات 15 من مراقبة الأشخاص عن كثب والتحدث معهم حول كيفية استخدامهم للأدوات التكنولوجية ، طورت وجهة نظر أكثر دقة: سواء كانت التكنولوجيا تساعد أو تؤذي شخصًا ما ، لا تعتمد فقط على مقدار الوقت الذي يقضيه الشخص في ذلك ، بل أيضًا على كيفية استخدامه.

لقد وجدت العديد من الأشخاص الذين وجدوا طرقًا مبتكرة بشكل مبهر لتكييف التقنيات التي لديهم لخدمة قيمهم وأهدافهم الشخصية ، وتحسين علاقاتهم وحتى صحتهم.

في كتابي القادم ، "غادر إلى أجهزتنا الخاصة"أعرض القراء على الأشخاص الذين دفعوا المنتجات إلى ما هو أبعد من الغرض المقصود ، وخلق استخداماتهم الخاصة خارج نطاق العلامة. بعض منهم تحول منتجات المساعدة الذاتية ، مثل المقاييس الذكية وتطبيقات المزاج ، إلى آليات لتعميق العلاقات. استخدم آخرون تطبيقات مثل Tinder ، تم تصميمها لإشعال الاتصال الشخصي ، كصورة عاطفية - جمع البيانات لتشعر بشكل أفضل عن أنفسهم بدون هوكوب. وما زال آخرون يجمعون بين الأدوات والتقنيات المختلفة لتلائم احتياجاتهم الخاصة.

النظر خارج القواعد

قبل بضع سنوات ، على سبيل المثال ، أنا وزملائي إنشاء تطبيق لمساعدة الناس على إدارة الإجهاد كجزء من مشروع بحث التكنولوجيا الصحية. عادةً ما يتم تقديم العلاج النفسي وخدمات الصحة العقلية الأخرى كعلاجات فردية ، ولذلك كنا نتوقع أن يستخدم الأشخاص تطبيقنا بأنفسهم ، عندما يكونون بمفردهم. لقد بذلنا جهدًا كبيرًا لضمان الخصوصية وتعليم الأشخاص الذين شاركوا في بحثنا أن التطبيق كان للاستخدام فقط.

لكن العديد من المشاركين انتهى بهم الأمر إلى جلب التطبيق إلى محادثاتهم مع الآخرين. واستخدمتها امرأة مع ابنها لمعالجة حجة ساخنة كانا قد أجراها في وقت سابق من اليوم. جلست معه ومعا استكشاف العناصر في التطبيق الذي مثل مراحل الغضب. اتبعوا إشارات العلاج المعرفي للتطبيق للتفكير في المشاعر وردود الفعل - الخاصة بهم وبعضهم البعض. شاركتها معه ليس كإلهاء مبهم ، بل كجسر يساعد كل منهما على فهم وجهات نظر ومشاعر الآخر.

كان الهدف من هذا التطبيق هو مساعدتها على تغيير طريقة تفكيرها في الإجهاد ، ولكنها استخدمت أيضًا في معالجة مصدر إجهادها - مما جعل التطبيق أكثر فاعلية من خلال إساءة استخدامها بشكل ما.

يتحول جديد مع أجهزة مألوفة

لماذا يجب أن لا تقلق بشأن وقت الشاشة ولكن التركيز على كيفية استخدامك التكنولوجياالسيطرة على الأضواء يمكن أن ترسل رسالة. LDprod / Shutterstock.com


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


أخذت امرأة أخرى تحدثت معها أضواء ذكية - تلك التي يمكن أن تغير لونها بنقرة زر واحدة في تطبيق للهواتف الذكية - إلى ما هو أبعد من المهام المقصودة لتحسين الديكور وفعالية الطاقة. عندما غيرت لون الأضواء في المنزل الذي شاركته مع شريكها من الأبيض إلى الأحمر ، كان ذلك اللون إشارة أنها كانت مستاءة وأنهم بحاجة إلى التحدث. أصبح لون الضوء رمزا خارجيا للصراع بينهما وقدم طريقة جديدة لبدء محادثة صعبة.

ساعد التفكير الإبداعي بالمثل على تقوية العلاقات بين المرضى والطبيب الذين قابلتهم. كانت تمارس في المقام الأول من خلال التطبيب عن بعد ، والاجتماع مع المرضى عن طريق نظام عقد المؤتمرات عبر الفيديو الطبي الآمن. كانت تدرك أن المسافة الجسدية والعاطفية يمكن أن تضعف علاقة محفوفة بالفعل بالحساسية واختلال توازن القوة بين الخبير والمريض.

لذا جربت الرأي الذي قدمته كاميرتها لها ومحيطها. أولاً ، عرضت على المرضى رؤية وجهها فقط ، أمام جدار أبيض غير مزخرف لم يكشف عن شيء عنها. ثم حولت الكاميرا لتظهر المزيد من بيتها ، والتي كشفت بالطبع عن نفسها أكثر من نفسها. يمكن للمرضى الآن رؤية بعض الفن الذي أعجبت به وكذلك عناصر منزلها ، والتي قالت شيئًا عن عاداتها وقيمها وشخصيتها.

هذه المشاركة ساهمت في ميدان اللعب ببعض الطرق. بينما كان المرضى ينفتحون على نفسها من خلال وصف الأعراض وتفاصيل نمط حياتهم ، كان بإمكانهم أن يروا أنها لم تكن خبيرة بإصدار تعليمات مخبرية من مكتب طبي مرعب - كانت شخصًا حقيقيًا يعيش في شقة عادية . هذه الخطوة نحو المعاملة بالمثل جعلت من السهل على المرضى أن تتصل بها. وهي تعتقد أن هذا جزء من السبب الذي جعل مرضاها يشعرون بأنهم على مقربة من بلدها وثقة كبيرة في علاجها. لقد كان تكيفاً صغيراً أدى إلى ظهور علاقة واتصال أكبر بالتكنولوجيا التي غالباً ما ينظر إليها على أنها بديل ضعيف للاجتماعات الشخصية.

مع زيادة الاهتمام بتأثيرات التكنولوجيا ، يجب ألا نهتم فقط بأضرارها المحتملة. وكما لاحظت ، فإن التجريب لكيفية - ليس فقط كم - نستخدم التكنولوجيا قد يكشف عن طرق غير متوقعة لجعل الحياة أفضل.

نبذة عن الكاتب

Margaret E. Morris، Affiliate Faculty في Human Humaned Design and Engineering، University of Washington. وهي مؤلفة كتاب: اليسار إلى أجهزتنا الخاصة: التكنولوجيا الذكية المتطورة لاسترداد علاقاتنا ، وصحتنا ، وتركيزناالمحادثة. تقدم MIT Press التمويل كعضو في The Conversation US.

تم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. قراءة المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = Margaret E. Morris؛ maxresults = 1}

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = Using Technology؛ maxresults = 2}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

أصوات INNERSELF

الأكثر قراءة

البحث عن حياة أكثر معنى وهدف
البحث عن حياة أكثر معنى وهدف
by فرانك باسكيوتي ، دكتوراه
كيف تهدد الخصوصية والأمن في هذه الخيارات اليومية
كيف تهدد الخصوصية والأمن في هذه الخيارات اليومية
by آري تراختنبرغ وجيانلوكا سترينجيني وران كانيتي

Why You Should Not Worry About Screen Time But Focus On How You Use Technology

screen-time

Why You Should Not Worry About Screen Time But Focus On How You Use Technology

Many Americans find themselves bombarded by expert advice to limit their screen time and break their addictions to digital devices – including enforcing and modeling this restraint for the children in their lives. However, over 15 years of closely observing people and talking with them about how they use technological tools, I’ve developed a more nuanced view: Whether a technology helps or hurts someone depends not just on the amount of time they spend with it but on how they use it.

I’ve found many people who have found impressively creative ways to tailor the technologies they have to serve their values and personal objectives, improving their relationships and even their health.

In my forthcoming book, “Left to Our Own Devices,” I introduce readers to people who pushed products beyond their intended purpose, creating their own off-label uses. Some of them turned self-help products, like smart scales and mood apps, into mechanisms for deepening relationships; others used apps like Tinder, designed to spark interpersonal connection, as an emotional pickup – gathering data to feel better about themselves without the hookup. And still others have pieced together different tools and technologies to suit their own needs.

Looking beyond the rules

A few years ago, for instance, my colleagues and I created an app to help people manage stress as part of a health technology research project. Psychotherapy and other mental health services have traditionally been offered as individual treatments, and so we expected people would use our app on their own, when they were alone. We put a great deal of effort into assuring privacy and instructed people who participated in our research that the app was for their use only.

But many of the participants ended up bringing the app into their conversations with others. One woman used it with her son to process a heated argument they had earlier in the day. She sat down with him and together explored the visuals in the app that represented stages of anger. They followed the app’s cognitive therapy cues for thinking about feelings and reactions – their own and each other’s. She shared it with him not as a flashy distraction, but as a bridge to help each understand the other’s perspectives and feelings.

The app was intended to help her change the way she thought about stress, but she also used it to address the source of her stress – making the app more effective by, in a certain sense, misusing it.

New turns with familiar devices

Why You Should Not Worry About Screen Time But Focus On How You Use TechnologyControlling the lights can send a message. LDprod/Shutterstock.com

Another woman I spoke with took smart lights – the ones that can change color at the tap of a button in a smartphone app – far beyond their intended functions of improving decor and energy efficiency. When she changed the color of the lights in the home she shared with her partner from white to red, it was a signal that she was upset and that they needed to talk. The light color became an external symbol of the conflict between them and provided a new way to begin a difficult conversation.

Similarly creative thinking helped strengthen the relationships between patients and a physician I interviewed. She practiced primarily through telemedicine, meeting with patients via a secure medical videoconferencing system. She was aware that physical and emotional distance could weaken a relationship already fraught with sensitivity and an imbalance of power between an expert and a patient.

So she experimented with the view her camera provided of her and her surroundings. First, she showed patients a view of just her face, in front of an unadorned white wall that revealed nothing about her. Then she shifted the camera to show more of her home, which of course revealed more of herself. Patients could now see some of the art that she liked as well as elements of her home, which said something about her habits, values and personality.

This sharing leveled the playing field in some ways. As patients were opening up themselves to her by describing symptoms and the details of their lifestyle, they could see that she was not a lab-coat-clad expert issuing directives from an intimidating medical office – she was a real person living in an ordinary apartment. This step toward reciprocity made it easier for patients to relate to her. She believes this is part of why her patients have expressed feeling close to her and so much trust in her treatment. It was a small adaptation that brought greater rapport and connection to a technology often viewed as a poor replacement for in-person meetings.

With increasing attention to the effects of technologies, we should not only be concerned with their potential harms. As I’ve observed, experimenting with how – not just how much – we use technology might uncover unexpected ways to make life better.

About The Author

Margaret E. Morris, Affiliate Faculty in Human Centered Design and Engineering, University of Washington. She is the author of:Left to Our Own Devices: Outsmarting Smart Technology to Reclaim Our Relationships, Health, and FocusThe Conversation. MIT Press provides funding as a member of The Conversation US.

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

Using Technology with Classroom Instruction That Works, 2nd Edition

screen-timeAuthor: Howard Pitler
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Used Book in Good Condition

Brand: Brand: Association for Supervision n Curriculum Development
Studio: Association for Supervision & Curriculum Development
Label: Association for Supervision & Curriculum Development
Publisher: Association for Supervision & Curriculum Development
Manufacturer: Association for Supervision & Curriculum Development
List Price: $30.95
Offers - Buy New From: $19.00 Used From: $3.68
Buy Now



Using Information Technology

screen-timeAuthor: Brian K. Williams
Binding: Paperback
Studio: McGraw-Hill Education
Label: McGraw-Hill Education
Publisher: McGraw-Hill Education
Manufacturer: McGraw-Hill Education
List Price: $100.00
Offers - Buy New From: $76.00 Used From: $8.51
Buy Now



screen-time
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}