كيف ولماذا تصبح أكثر تسامحًا ومريضًا

تغيير موقفنا: أن تصبح أكثر تسامحًا ومريضًا

بما أن مواقفنا تلون الطريقة التي ننظر بها إلى العالم ، فقد نكون قادرين على الوصول إلى جذور الغضب من خلال فحص نظرتنا للعالم بهدف استبدال المواقف الحرجة وغير الصبوءة وغير المتسامحة مع المريض ، والتسامح ، والتسامح. عندما نفعل ذلك ، فإننا نجد العالم تلقائيًا - ويساعد في جعل العالم - مكانًا أقل غضبًا.

بادئ ذي بدء ، معظمنا لديه كليات حرجة متطورة للغاية. وهذا يعني ، لدينا وجهات النظر والآراء حول كل شيء وكل شخص. وبسبب هذا الاتجاه للحكم ، فإننا نقرر باستمرار ما إذا كنا نوافق على كل تجربة أو نحبها عند حدوثها. أينما ذهبنا وماذا نفعل ، يقول ناقدنا الداخلي ، "لا أحب هذا ،" أو "لا أوافق على ذلك".

إن الحكم المستمر يجعلنا نختبر التهيج والانزعاج والغضب. أنا متأكد من أنك تستطيع أن تتذكر مرات عديدة عندما كان حكمك السلبي أو عدم رغبتك في حدث بسيط - مثل دعوة المكالمة في لعبة البيسبول ، أو ملاحظة غير متقنة من شريك تجاري - جعلتك تشعر بالضيق ، أو غضب ، أو حتى غاضب.

الحد من ميلنا للقاضي وتليين مواقفنا النقدية

فكلما كاننا أكثر تسامحًا وتطلبًا ، كلما ازداد غضبنا وغضبنا. من المستحيل تغيير العالم حتى لا يثير أي شيء نواجهه رفضنا. إن العمل بوعي للحد من ميلنا إلى الحكم وتخفيف مواقفنا النقدية هو الحل الوحيد. لإثبات هذه النقطة ، غالبًا ما يحكي أستاذي قصة الكلب المريب:

سعى كلب مع الجرب الإغاثة من مأساتها بالركض من مكان إلى آخر. أولاً ، كان الكلب يكمن في الظل ، لكنه سرعان ما سيشعر بعدم الارتياح ويذهب ويرقد في الأدغال. بعد وقت قصير ، سيشعر بالتهيج مرة أخرى ويهرب ليجلس في العراء. لكن لا شيء جلب الإغاثة. أينما ذهب الكلب المجهول ، كان الأمر بائسا ، لأنه لم يكن المكان أو الظروف ، ولكن المرض الذي تسبب في عدم ارتياحه. إذا كان يمكن علاجه من الجرب ، فإن الكلب سيكون مرتاحا في أي مكان.

جرب الكلب ، بالطبع ، هو استعارة لأي موقف يسبب لنا رد فعل سلبي ويخلق البؤس. لا يعني تغيير موقفنا أن نصبح أقل أهمية أن نتخلى عن تقديرنا للخير والسيئة أو الصواب والخطأ ، وأن نبدأ حياة غير مسؤولة. إنه يعني ببساطة أننا نصبح أكثر تسامحًا وصبورًا.

من غير الواقعي أن نتوقع كل شيء وأن يكون الجميع تماماً كما نريدهم أن يكونوا في جميع الأوقات ، ومع ذلك فإننا غالباً ما نقترب من الحياة بهذا الموقف. لا عجب إذن أن نختبر الكثير من الغضب والغضب!


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


الناس مثل الأشجار ، انهم ليسوا كلهم

تغيير موقفكوالمثال التقليدي للموقف الذي نريد التغلب عليه هو قصة الرجل الذي ظن أنه سيكون من الرائع تغطية الأرض كلها بجلد ناعم ليتمكن من المشي في كل مكان دون الإضرار بأقدامه الرقيقة. كانت فكرة جميلة ، ولكنها غير عملية تمامًا.

رجل أكثر حكمة من شأنه أن يجعل زوج من الأحذية التي سمحت له بالسير حيثما أحب دون ألم. لا يمكننا تغيير كل شيء والسيطرة على الجميع لإرضاء نزواتنا ورغباتنا. ولكن يمكننا تغيير مواقفنا وتعلم استيعاب مجموعة متنوعة من الحالات والحالات دون أن نصبح منزعجين أو غاضبين أو غاضبين.

أستاذي سيقول لنا ،

"انظر إلى الأشجار في الغابة. هل ترى أن بعضها كبير وطويل بينما الآخرون صغار ، وأن بعضهم مستقيمين بينما البعض الآخر ملتوي؟ الناس مثل الأشجار ؛ لا يمكن أن يتوقعوا أن تكون جميعهم متشابهة."

يذكرنا هذا التعليم أنه إذا استطعنا أن نكون أكثر ملاءمةً للأشخاص حولنا ، فنحن نعاني من غضب وصراع أقل. في أوقات أخرى ، كان مدرستي يحمل يده ويقول ،

"انظر إلى هذه الأصابع. كلها أطوال وسمك مختلفة ، ومع ذلك يمكن أن تتعايش في وئام ، كل منها يحقق غرضًا. حتى هذا الخنصر الصغير مفيد للخدش داخل الأذن".

في الواقع ، التنوع يثري الحياة ، وليس كل شيء يجب أن يكون على النحو الذي نعتقد أنه ينبغي أن يكون عليه. من خلال التعلم للسماح للاختلافات والتوافق مع التنوع ، فإننا نحد من مخاطر التعرض للغضب والحنق.

كلنا نرتكب أخطاء: السماح ببداية جديدة مع الأمل في المستقبل

موقف آخر مهم لتقليل الحالات السلبية للعقل هو المغفرة. سواء عن قصد أو من خلال الإهمال ، نرتكب الأخطاء. إن تعلم استيعاب العيوب البشرية يقلل من ميلنا إلى ممارسة الضغائن أو الاستياء ويساعدنا على غفران الآخرين وكذلك أنفسنا.

الأخطاء الغاشمة لا تعني أننا نتغاضى عن الرداءة أو الشر. إنه يعني فقط أننا مستعدون للسماح ببداية جديدة في الحاضر بأمل في المستقبل. المغفرة هي مرهم مهدئ يوضع على الجرح حتى يمكن أن يحدث الشفاء. وهو جزء أساسي من المواقف الصحية وتفضي إلى حياة سلمية ومتناغمة.

في كتابه لا مستقبل بدون غفرانيشرح القس ديزموند توتو الأثر الشافي للمغفرة مع بعض الأمثلة القوية جدًا. على سبيل المثال ، يحكي قصة أم اختطفت ابنته البالغة من العمر سبع سنوات أثناء رحلة تخييم عائلية في مونتانا. تم القبض على الخاطف في نهاية المطاف ، ولكن ليس في الوقت المناسب لإنقاذ حياة الطفل. حتى لو واجهت هذه المأساة الرهيبة ، تقول توتو ، رفضت الأم أن تصبح ضحية للكراهية:

"على الرغم من أنني أعترف بأنني أردت في البداية أن أقتل الرجل بيدي العاريتين ، بحلول وقت حل جرائمه ، كنت مقتنعاً بأن أفضل الخيارات وأكثرها صحة هو أن نغفر ..." أسر الضحايا ... الذين يحتفظون بعقلية انتقامية في نهاية المطاف يعطيون المجرم ضحية أخرى. مرهق ، معذب ، مستعبد من قبل الماضي ، نوعية الحياة تتضاءل. ومع ذلك ، فإن ما يبرر ذلك ، يزعزعنا عدم التسامح. الغضب ، الكراهية ، الاستياء ، المرارة ، الانتقام - هم أرواح متاجرة بالموت ، وهم "سيأخذون حياتنا". . . . أعتقد أن الطريقة الوحيدة التي يمكننا بها أن نكون أشخاصاً كاملين يتمتعون بالصحة والسعادة هو أن يتعلموا الصفح. (155-156)

قد تساعدك هذه المناقشة حول تغيير مواقفك في رؤية الحياة في ضوء جديد. بدلاً من رؤية كل شيء بطريقة باردة وحرجة ، تبدأ في رؤية أنه من الممكن أن تخفف من منظورك وترى التجارب بطريقة أقل كاشطًا.

أعيد طبعها بإذن من الناشر،
كويست للكتب. ©2001. www.questbooks.net

المادة المصدر

مسار تأملي بواسطة Cianciosi جون.مسار تأملي: طريقة لطيفة للتوعية والتركيز والصفاء
من جانب جون Cianciosi.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات وترتيب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.

عن المؤلف

غضبجون سيانشيوسي ، وهو طالب من الراحل الجليل أجاين شاه ، كان يرسم راهبًا بوذيًا في 1972 وشغل منصب المدير الروحي للأديرة في تايلاند وأستراليا. وهو الآن يدرس في كلية دوبيج بالقرب من شيكاغو.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

ديموقراطي أو جمهوري ، الأمريكيون غاضبون ، محبطون وغارقون
ديموقراطي أو جمهوري ، الأمريكيون غاضبون ، محبطون وغارقون
by ماريا سيليست فاغنر وبابلو ج. بوزكوفسكي

How and Why To Become More Tolerant and Patient

Changing Our Attitude: Becoming More Tolerant & Patient

Since our attitudes color the way we perceive the world, we may be able to get at the root of anger by examining our view of the world with the aim of replacing critical, impatient, and intolerant attitudes with patient, tolerant, and forgiving ones. When we do, we automatically find the world -- and help to make the world -- a less irritating place.

First of all, most of us have highly developed critical faculties. That is to say, we have views and opinions about everything and everyone. Because of this tendency to judge, we are continually deciding whether we approve of or like each experience as it occurs. Wherever we go and whatever we do, our internal "critic" is saying, "I don't like this," or "I don't approve of that."

Constant judging predisposes us to experience irritation, annoyance, and anger. I'm sure you can remember many times when your negative judgment or disapproval of even a trivial event -- an umpire's call at a baseball game, an off-hand remark by a business associate -- made you feel annoyed, irritated, or even angry.

Reducing Our Tendency To Judge and Softening Our Critical Attitudes

The more intolerant and demanding we are, the more irritation and anger we experience. It is impossible to change the world so that nothing we encounter arouses our disapproval. Working consciously to reduce our tendency to judge and to soften our critical attitudes is the only solution. To make this point, my teacher would often tell the story of the mangy dog:

A dog with the mange sought relief from its affliction by running from one place to another. First, the dog would lie in the shade, but it would soon feel uncomfortable and go and lie in a bush. After a short time, it would feel the irritation again and run off to sit in the open. But nothing brought relief. Wherever the mangy dog went, it was miserable, because it was not the place or the conditions, but the disease that caused its discomfort. If it could be cured of the mange, the dog would be comfortable anywhere.

The dog's mange, of course, is a metaphor for any attitude that causes us to react negatively and create misery. Changing our attitude to become less critical does not mean that we abandon our appreciation for good and bad, or right and wrong, and start living irresponsible lives. It simply means that we become a little more tolerant and patient.

It is unrealistic to expect everything and everybody to be exactly as we want them to be at all times, and yet we often approach life with this attitude. Little wonder, then, that we experience so much irritation and anger!

People Are Like Trees, They're Not All The Same

Changing Your AttitudeA traditional example of the attitude we want to overcome is the story of the man who thought it would be marvelous to cover the whole earth with soft leather so that he could walk everywhere without hurting his tender feet. It was a nice idea, but completely impractical.

A wiser man would make a pair of shoes that allowed him to walk wherever he liked without pain. We cannot change everything and control everybody to satisfy our whims and wishes. But we can change our attitudes and learn to accommodate a variety of conditions and situations without becoming upset, irritated, or angry.

My teacher would say to us,

"Look at the trees in the forest. Do you see that some are big and tall while others are small, and that some are straight while others are crooked? People are like trees; you cannot expect them all to be the same."

This teaching reminds us that if we can be a little more accommodating of the people around us, we experience less anger and conflict. At other times, my teacher would hold up his hand and say,

"Look at these fingers. They are all of different lengths and thicknesses, yet they can coexist in harmony, each fulfilling a purpose. Even this little pinky is useful for scratching inside the ear."

Indeed, variety enriches life, and not everything needs to be the way we think it should be. By learning to allow for differences and to accommodate diversity, we reduce our risk for irritation and anger.

We All Make Mistakes: Allowing a New Start with Hope for the Future

Another important attitude for diminishing negative states of mind is forgiveness. Either intentionally or through carelessness, we all make mistakes. Learning to accommodate human imperfections lessens our tendency to nurse grudges or harbor resentment and helps us forgive others as well as ourselves.

Forgiving mistakes does not mean that we condone mediocrity or evil. It only means that we are willing to allow a new start in the present with hope for the future. Forgiveness is a soothing ointment applied to a wound so that healing can take place. It is an essential part of a healthy attitude and conducive to a peaceful and harmonious life.

In his book No Future Without Forgiveness, the Reverend Desmond Tutu illustrates the healing effect of forgiveness with some very powerful examples. For instance, he tells the story of a mother whose seven-year-old daughter was kidnapped during a family camping trip in Montana. The kidnapper was eventually caught, but not in time to save the child's life. Even faced with such a horrible tragedy, Tutu reports, the mother refused to become a victim of hatred:

"Though I readily admit that initially I wanted to kill the man with my bare hands, by the time of the resolution of his crimes, I was convinced that my best and healthiest option was to forgive...." Victim families ... who retain a vindictive mind-set ultimately give the offender another victim. Embittered, tormented, enslaved by the past, the quality of life is diminished. However justified, our unforgiveness undoes us. Anger, hatred, resentment, bitterness, revenge -- they are death-dealing spirits, and they "will take our lives." . . . I believe the only way we can be whole, healthy, happy persons is to learn to forgive. (155-156)

This discussion on changing your attitudes may help you view life in a new light. Instead of seeing everything in a cold, critical way, you begin to see that it is possible to soften your perspective and see experiences in a way that is less abrasive.

Reprinted with permission of the publisher,
Quest Books. ©2001. www.questbooks.net

Article Source

The Meditative Path by John Cianciosi. The Meditative Path: A Gentle Way to Awareness, Concentration, and Serenity
by John Cianciosi.

Click here for more info and to order this book on Amazon.

About the Author

John Cianciosi, a student of the late Venerable Ajahn Chah, was ordained a Buddhist monk in 1972 and served as spiritual director of monasteries in Thailand and Australia. He now teaches at the College of DuPage near Chicago.
 

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

HAPPINESS & SUCCESS

Do Not Give Up What You Want Most for What You Want Right Now

Do Not Give Up What You Want Most for What You Want Right Now

Carly Pollack
The most powerful influence on the human mind is our core beliefs about our identity, who we think we are. If you have a core belief that you are lazy or that the world is out to get you, no matter how much you try to be more productive or to feel safer in…

SPIRITUALITY & MINDFULNESS

Thich Nhat Hanh, The Buddhist Monk Who Introduced Mindfulness To The West, Prepares To Die

Thich Nhat Hanh, The Buddhist Monk Who Introduced Mindfulness To The West, Prepares To Die

Brooke Schedneck
Thich Nhat Hanh, the monk who popularized mindfulness in the West, has returned home to Vietnam to enjoy the rest of his life.

RELATIONSHIPS

Parents Of Girls Are Less Likely To Stress Computer Skills

Parents Of Girls Are Less Likely To Stress Computer Skills

Matt Swayne
While most first-year college students in a new study had positive feelings about computing and computer-related majors and jobs, gender and socioeconomic status seemed to play a role in whether parents shaped those perceptions.

INTUITION & AWARENESS

3 Reasons Why People Fall For Politicians' Lies

3 Reasons Why People Fall For Politicians' Lies

Mack Clayton Shelley, II
Why do people make such poor decisions about politics? Why are they so often distracted by lies, irrelevant alternatives and specious arguments?

ATTITUDE ADJUSTMENTS

Boys' Attention And Prosocial Behavior Linked To Earnings 30 Years Later

Boys' Attention And Prosocial Behavior Linked To Earnings 30 Years Later

Francis Vergunst
New research, published in the medical journal JAMA Pediatrics, shows that boys from low-income backgrounds who were inattentive in kindergarten had lower earnings at age 36 while boys who were prosocial earned more.