Comment et pourquoi devenir plus tolérant et patient

Changer notre attitude: devenir plus tolérant et patient

Puisque nos attitudes colorent la façon dont nous percevons le monde, nous pouvons être à l'origine de la colère en examinant notre vision du monde dans le but de remplacer les attitudes critiques, impatientes et intolérantes par des attitudes patientes, tolérantes et tolérantes. Quand nous le faisons, nous trouvons automatiquement le monde - et aide à rendre le monde - un endroit moins irritant.

Tout d'abord, la plupart d'entre nous ont des facultés critiques très développées. C'est-à-dire, nous avons des points de vue et des opinions sur tout et tout le monde. En raison de cette tendance à juger, nous décidons continuellement si nous approuvons ou aimons chaque expérience telle qu'elle se produit. Où que nous allions et quoi que nous fassions, notre «critique» interne dit: «Je n'aime pas ça» ou «Je n'approuve pas cela».

Le jugement constant nous prédispose à éprouver de l'irritation, de l'agacement et de la colère. Je suis sûr que vous pouvez vous rappeler plusieurs fois que votre jugement négatif ou votre désapprobation même d'un événement banal - l'appel d'un arbitre lors d'une partie de baseball, une remarque désinvolte d'un associé - vous a mis en colère, irrité ou même irrité en colère.

Réduire notre tendance à juger et adoucir nos attitudes critiques

Plus nous sommes intolérants et exigeants, plus nous éprouvons d'irritation et de colère. Il est impossible de changer le monde pour que rien de ce que nous rencontrons ne suscite notre désapprobation. Travailler consciemment pour réduire notre tendance à juger et à adoucir nos attitudes critiques est la seule solution. Pour faire ce point, mon professeur racontait souvent l'histoire du chien galeux:

Un chien avec la gale a cherché le soulagement de son affliction en courant d'un endroit à l'autre. D'abord, le chien se coucherait à l'ombre, mais il se sentirait bientôt mal à l'aise et irait se coucher dans un buisson. Après un court moment, il ressentirait de nouveau l'irritation et s'éloignerait pour s'asseoir à découvert. Mais rien n'a apporté de soulagement. Partout où le chien galeux allait, c'était misérable, parce que ce n'était pas le lieu ou les conditions, mais la maladie qui causait son malaise. S'il pouvait être guéri de la gale, le chien serait à l'aise n'importe où.

La gale du chien, bien sûr, est une métaphore de toute attitude qui nous fait réagir négativement et créer la misère. Changer notre attitude pour devenir moins critique ne signifie pas que nous abandonnons notre appréciation du bien et du mal, ou du bien et du mal, et commençons à vivre une vie irresponsable. Cela signifie simplement que nous devenons un peu plus tolérants et patients.

Il est irréaliste de s'attendre à ce que tout et tout le monde soient exactement comme nous voulons qu'ils soient en tout temps, et pourtant nous abordons souvent la vie avec cette attitude. Il n'est donc pas étonnant que nous éprouvions tant d'irritation et de colère!


Obtenez les dernières nouvelles d'InnerSelf


Les gens sont comme des arbres, ils ne sont pas tous les mêmes

Changer votre attitudeUn exemple traditionnel de l'attitude que nous voulons surmonter est l'histoire de l'homme qui a pensé qu'il serait merveilleux de couvrir toute la terre de cuir souple pour qu'il puisse marcher partout sans blesser ses pieds tendres. C'était une bonne idée, mais complètement impraticable.

Un homme plus sage ferait une paire de chaussures qui lui permettrait de marcher où il voulait sans douleur. Nous ne pouvons pas tout changer et contrôler tout le monde pour satisfaire nos caprices et souhaits. Mais nous pouvons changer nos attitudes et apprendre à s'adapter à une variété de conditions et de situations sans devenir contrarié, irrité ou en colère.

Mon professeur nous disait,

"Regardez les arbres dans la forêt, voyez-vous que certains sont grands et grands alors que d'autres sont petits et que certains sont droits tandis que d'autres sont tordus? Les gens sont comme des arbres, vous ne pouvez pas vous attendre à ce qu'ils soient tous pareils."

Cet enseignement nous rappelle que si nous pouvons être un peu plus accommodants envers les gens autour de nous, nous ressentons moins de colère et de conflits. D'autres fois, mon professeur levait la main et disait:

"Regardez ces doigts, ils ont tous des longueurs et des épaisseurs différentes, mais ils peuvent coexister en harmonie, chacun remplissant un but, même ce petit doigt est utile pour se gratter dans l'oreille."

En effet, la variété enrichit la vie, et tout ne doit pas être comme nous le pensons. En apprenant à tenir compte des différences et à s'adapter à la diversité, nous réduisons le risque d'irritation et de colère.

Nous faisons tous des erreurs: Permettre un nouveau départ avec espoir pour l'avenir

Une autre attitude importante pour diminuer les états d'esprit négatifs est le pardon. Que ce soit intentionnellement ou par négligence, nous faisons tous des erreurs. Apprendre à tenir compte des imperfections humaines diminue notre tendance à nourrir les rancunes ou le ressentiment du port et nous aide à pardonner aux autres aussi bien qu'à nous-mêmes.

Pardonner des erreurs ne signifie pas que nous tolérons la médiocrité ou le mal. Cela signifie seulement que nous sommes prêts à permettre un nouveau départ dans le présent avec un espoir pour l'avenir. Le pardon est un onguent apaisant appliqué sur une plaie afin que la guérison puisse avoir lieu. C'est une partie essentielle d'une attitude saine et propice à une vie paisible et harmonieuse.

Dans son livre Pas d'avenir sans pardon, le révérend Desmond Tutu illustre l'effet guérisseur du pardon avec quelques exemples très puissants. Par exemple, il raconte l'histoire d'une mère dont la fille de sept ans a été kidnappée lors d'un voyage de camping en famille au Montana. Le kidnappeur a finalement été capturé, mais pas à temps pour sauver la vie de l'enfant. Même face à une tragédie aussi horrible, rapporte Tutu, la mère a refusé de devenir une victime de la haine:

"Bien que j'admette volontiers qu'au départ je voulais tuer l'homme à mains nues, au moment de la résolution de ses crimes, j'étais convaincu que ma meilleure et plus saine option était de pardonner ..." Les familles des victimes ... Ceux qui conservent un état d'esprit vindicatif finissent par donner une autre victime au délinquant. Aigri, tourmenté, asservi par le passé, la qualité de la vie est diminuée. Bien que justifié, notre impénitence nous défait. La colère, la haine, le ressentiment, l'amertume, la vengeance - ce sont des esprits de la mort, et ils «prendront nos vies». . . . Je crois que la seule façon d'être des personnes entières, saines et heureuses, c'est d'apprendre à pardonner. (155-156)

Cette discussion sur le changement de vos attitudes peut vous aider à voir la vie sous un jour nouveau. Au lieu de tout voir d'une manière froide et critique, vous commencez à voir qu'il est possible d'adoucir votre perspective et de voir les expériences d'une manière moins abrasive.

Reproduit avec la permission de l'éditeur,
Livres de quêtes. ©2001. www.questbooks.net

Source de l'article

Le chemin méditatif par John Cianciosi.Le chemin méditative: Un chemin doux à la conscience, la concentration et la sérénité
par John Cianciosi.

Cliquez ici pour plus d'informations et pour commander ce livre sur Amazon.

A propos de l'auteur

colèreJohn Cianciosi, un étudiant du défunt Vénérable Ajahn Chah, a été ordonné un moine bouddhiste dans 1972 et a servi comme directeur spirituel des monastères en Thaïlande et en Australie. Il enseigne maintenant au Collège de DuPage près de Chicago.

How and Why To Become More Tolerant and Patient

Changing Our Attitude: Becoming More Tolerant & Patient

Since our attitudes color the way we perceive the world, we may be able to get at the root of anger by examining our view of the world with the aim of replacing critical, impatient, and intolerant attitudes with patient, tolerant, and forgiving ones. When we do, we automatically find the world -- and help to make the world -- a less irritating place.

First of all, most of us have highly developed critical faculties. That is to say, we have views and opinions about everything and everyone. Because of this tendency to judge, we are continually deciding whether we approve of or like each experience as it occurs. Wherever we go and whatever we do, our internal "critic" is saying, "I don't like this," or "I don't approve of that."

Constant judging predisposes us to experience irritation, annoyance, and anger. I'm sure you can remember many times when your negative judgment or disapproval of even a trivial event -- an umpire's call at a baseball game, an off-hand remark by a business associate -- made you feel annoyed, irritated, or even angry.

Reducing Our Tendency To Judge and Softening Our Critical Attitudes

The more intolerant and demanding we are, the more irritation and anger we experience. It is impossible to change the world so that nothing we encounter arouses our disapproval. Working consciously to reduce our tendency to judge and to soften our critical attitudes is the only solution. To make this point, my teacher would often tell the story of the mangy dog:

A dog with the mange sought relief from its affliction by running from one place to another. First, the dog would lie in the shade, but it would soon feel uncomfortable and go and lie in a bush. After a short time, it would feel the irritation again and run off to sit in the open. But nothing brought relief. Wherever the mangy dog went, it was miserable, because it was not the place or the conditions, but the disease that caused its discomfort. If it could be cured of the mange, the dog would be comfortable anywhere.

The dog's mange, of course, is a metaphor for any attitude that causes us to react negatively and create misery. Changing our attitude to become less critical does not mean that we abandon our appreciation for good and bad, or right and wrong, and start living irresponsible lives. It simply means that we become a little more tolerant and patient.

It is unrealistic to expect everything and everybody to be exactly as we want them to be at all times, and yet we often approach life with this attitude. Little wonder, then, that we experience so much irritation and anger!

People Are Like Trees, They're Not All The Same

Changing Your AttitudeA traditional example of the attitude we want to overcome is the story of the man who thought it would be marvelous to cover the whole earth with soft leather so that he could walk everywhere without hurting his tender feet. It was a nice idea, but completely impractical.

A wiser man would make a pair of shoes that allowed him to walk wherever he liked without pain. We cannot change everything and control everybody to satisfy our whims and wishes. But we can change our attitudes and learn to accommodate a variety of conditions and situations without becoming upset, irritated, or angry.

My teacher would say to us,

"Look at the trees in the forest. Do you see that some are big and tall while others are small, and that some are straight while others are crooked? People are like trees; you cannot expect them all to be the same."

This teaching reminds us that if we can be a little more accommodating of the people around us, we experience less anger and conflict. At other times, my teacher would hold up his hand and say,

"Look at these fingers. They are all of different lengths and thicknesses, yet they can coexist in harmony, each fulfilling a purpose. Even this little pinky is useful for scratching inside the ear."

Indeed, variety enriches life, and not everything needs to be the way we think it should be. By learning to allow for differences and to accommodate diversity, we reduce our risk for irritation and anger.

We All Make Mistakes: Allowing a New Start with Hope for the Future

Another important attitude for diminishing negative states of mind is forgiveness. Either intentionally or through carelessness, we all make mistakes. Learning to accommodate human imperfections lessens our tendency to nurse grudges or harbor resentment and helps us forgive others as well as ourselves.

Forgiving mistakes does not mean that we condone mediocrity or evil. It only means that we are willing to allow a new start in the present with hope for the future. Forgiveness is a soothing ointment applied to a wound so that healing can take place. It is an essential part of a healthy attitude and conducive to a peaceful and harmonious life.

In his book No Future Without Forgiveness, the Reverend Desmond Tutu illustrates the healing effect of forgiveness with some very powerful examples. For instance, he tells the story of a mother whose seven-year-old daughter was kidnapped during a family camping trip in Montana. The kidnapper was eventually caught, but not in time to save the child's life. Even faced with such a horrible tragedy, Tutu reports, the mother refused to become a victim of hatred:

"Though I readily admit that initially I wanted to kill the man with my bare hands, by the time of the resolution of his crimes, I was convinced that my best and healthiest option was to forgive...." Victim families ... who retain a vindictive mind-set ultimately give the offender another victim. Embittered, tormented, enslaved by the past, the quality of life is diminished. However justified, our unforgiveness undoes us. Anger, hatred, resentment, bitterness, revenge -- they are death-dealing spirits, and they "will take our lives." . . . I believe the only way we can be whole, healthy, happy persons is to learn to forgive. (155-156)

This discussion on changing your attitudes may help you view life in a new light. Instead of seeing everything in a cold, critical way, you begin to see that it is possible to soften your perspective and see experiences in a way that is less abrasive.

Reprinted with permission of the publisher,
Quest Books. ©2001. www.questbooks.net

Article Source

The Meditative Path by John Cianciosi. The Meditative Path: A Gentle Way to Awareness, Concentration, and Serenity
by John Cianciosi.

Click here for more info and to order this book on Amazon.

About the Author

John Cianciosi, a student of the late Venerable Ajahn Chah, was ordained a Buddhist monk in 1972 and served as spiritual director of monasteries in Thailand and Australia. He now teaches at the College of DuPage near Chicago.
 

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

HAPPINESS & SUCCESS

Do Not Give Up What You Want Most for What You Want Right Now

Do Not Give Up What You Want Most for What You Want Right Now

Carly Pollack
The most powerful influence on the human mind is our core beliefs about our identity, who we think we are. If you have a core belief that you are lazy or that the world is out to get you, no matter how much you try to be more productive or to feel safer in…

SPIRITUALITY & MINDFULNESS

Thich Nhat Hanh, The Buddhist Monk Who Introduced Mindfulness To The West, Prepares To Die

Thich Nhat Hanh, The Buddhist Monk Who Introduced Mindfulness To The West, Prepares To Die

Brooke Schedneck
Thich Nhat Hanh, the monk who popularized mindfulness in the West, has returned home to Vietnam to enjoy the rest of his life.

RELATIONSHIPS

Parents Of Girls Are Less Likely To Stress Computer Skills

Parents Of Girls Are Less Likely To Stress Computer Skills

Matt Swayne
While most first-year college students in a new study had positive feelings about computing and computer-related majors and jobs, gender and socioeconomic status seemed to play a role in whether parents shaped those perceptions.

INTUITION & AWARENESS

3 Reasons Why People Fall For Politicians' Lies

3 Reasons Why People Fall For Politicians' Lies

Mack Clayton Shelley, II
Why do people make such poor decisions about politics? Why are they so often distracted by lies, irrelevant alternatives and specious arguments?

ATTITUDE ADJUSTMENTS

Boys' Attention And Prosocial Behavior Linked To Earnings 30 Years Later

Boys' Attention And Prosocial Behavior Linked To Earnings 30 Years Later

Francis Vergunst
New research, published in the medical journal JAMA Pediatrics, shows that boys from low-income backgrounds who were inattentive in kindergarten had lower earnings at age 36 while boys who were prosocial earned more.