Как и почему стать более терпимым и терпеливым

Изменение нашего отношения: стать более терпимым и терпеливым

Поскольку наши отношения окрашивают то, как мы воспринимаем мир, мы можем быть в корне гнева, исследуя наш взгляд на мир с целью заменить критические, нетерпеливые и нетерпимые отношения с терпеливыми, терпимыми и прощающими. Когда мы это делаем, мы автоматически находим мир - и помогаем сделать мир - менее раздражающим местом.

Прежде всего, у большинства из нас есть высокоразвитые критические способности. То есть у нас есть мнения и мнения обо всем и всем. Из-за этой тенденции судить, мы постоянно решаем, одобряем ли мы или как каждый опыт, как это происходит. Куда бы мы ни пошли и что бы мы ни делали, наш внутренний «критик» говорит: «Мне это не нравится» или «я не одобряю этого».

Постоянное суждение предрасполагает нас к раздражению, раздражению и гневу. Я уверен, что вы можете много раз вспоминать, когда ваше отрицательное суждение или неодобрение даже тривиального события - вызов судьи в бейсбольной игре, небрежное замечание делового партнера, заставил вас почувствовать раздражение, раздражение или даже сердитый.

Сокращение нашей склонности судить и смягчать наши критические отношения

Чем более нетерпимы и требуются мы, тем больше раздражения и гнева мы испытываем. Невозможно изменить мир, чтобы ничто из нас не вызывало нашего неодобрения. Единственное решение - сознательно работать над тем, чтобы уменьшить нашу тенденцию судить и смягчить наши критические отношения. Чтобы сказать это, мой учитель часто рассказывал историю о мучительной собаке:

Собака с манджей искала облегчения от своего несчастья, бегая из одного места в другое. Во-первых, собака лежала в тени, но вскоре почувствовала себя некомфортно и полетела в лесу. Через короткое время он снова почувствовал бы раздражение и убежал, чтобы сидеть на открытом воздухе. Но ничего не принесло облегчения. Везде, где шла мутная собака, это было жалко, потому что это было не место или условия, а болезнь, вызвавшая его дискомфорт. Если бы его можно было вылечить от чесотки, собака была бы удобной в любом месте.

Бешенство собаки, конечно, является метафорой любого отношения, которое заставляет нас реагировать отрицательно и создавать страдания. Изменение нашего отношения к тому, чтобы стать менее критичным, не означает, что мы отказываемся от нашей оценки за хорошее и плохое, или правильно и неправильно, и начинаем жить безответственными жизнями. Это просто означает, что мы становимся немного более терпимыми и терпеливыми.

Нереально ожидать, что все и все будут такими, какими мы хотим, чтобы они были всегда, и тем не менее мы часто подходим к жизни с таким отношением. Неудивительно, что мы испытываем столько раздражения и гнева!


Получите последние новости от InnerSelf


Люди похожи на деревья, они не все одинаковы

Изменение вашего отношенияТрадиционным примером отношения, которое мы хотим преодолеть, является история о человеке, который думал, что было бы чудесно покрыть всю землю мягкой кожей, чтобы он мог ходить везде, не повредив его нежные ноги. Это была хорошая идея, но совершенно непрактичная.

Более умный человек сделал бы пару туфель, которые позволяли ему ходить, где бы он ни любил, без боли. Мы не можем изменить все и контролировать всех, чтобы удовлетворить наши капризы и желания. Но мы можем изменить наше отношение и научиться приспосабливаться к различным условиям и ситуациям, не расстраиваясь, не раздражаясь и не сердимся.

Мой учитель сказал бы нам:

«Посмотрите на деревья в лесу. Видите ли, что некоторые из них большие и высокие, а другие маленькие, а некоторые - прямые, а другие кривые? Люди похожи на деревья, вы не можете ожидать, что все они будут одинаковыми».

Это учение напоминает нам, что, если мы можем быть немного более приспособлены к окружающим нас людям, мы испытываем меньше гнева и конфликта. В другое время мой учитель задерживал его руку и говорил:

«Посмотрите на эти пальцы, они имеют разную длину и толщину, но они могут сосуществовать в гармонии, каждый из которых выполняет свою цель. Даже этот маленький мизиндж полезен для царапин в ухе».

Действительно, разнообразие обогащает жизнь, и не все должно быть так, как мы думаем, должно быть. Обучаясь учитывать различия и способствуя разнообразию, мы уменьшаем риск раздражения и гнева.

Мы все делаем ошибки: разрешаем новый старт с надеждой на будущее

Другим важным отношением к уменьшению негативных состояний ума является прощение. Либо преднамеренно, либо через небрежность мы все совершаем ошибки. Умение учитывать человеческие недостатки уменьшает нашу склонность кормить недовольство или обиду обиды и помогает нам простить других, а также самих себя.

Прощать ошибки не означает, что мы потворствуем посредственности или злу. Это означает только то, что мы готовы разрешить новое начало в настоящем с надеждой на будущее. Прощение - успокаивающая мазь, применяемая к ране, так что исцеление может иметь место. Это неотъемлемая часть здорового отношения и способствует мирной и гармоничной жизни.

В своей книге Нет будущего без прощения, Преподобный Десмонд Туту иллюстрирует исцеляющий эффект прощения с некоторыми очень мощными примерами. Например, он рассказывает историю матери, чья семилетняя дочь была похищена во время семейного похода в Монтане. Похититель был в конечном итоге пойман, но не успел спасти жизнь ребенка. Даже столкнувшись с такой ужасной трагедией, сообщает Tutu, мать отказалась стать жертвой ненависти:

«Хотя я с готовностью признаю, что изначально я хотел убить человека голыми руками, к моменту разрешения его преступлений я был убежден, что моим лучшим и здоровым вариантом было простить ...» Семья жертв ... которые сохраняют мстительный разум, в конечном итоге дают преступнику еще одну жертву. Замученный, измученный, порабощенный прошлым, качество жизни уменьшилось. Как бы ни оправдано, наша неумолимость нас отменяет. Гнев, ненависть, негодование, горечь, месть - они смертельные духи, и они «заберут наши жизни». , , , Я считаю, что единственный способ, которым мы можем быть целыми, здоровыми, счастливыми людьми, - это научиться прощать. (155-156)

Это обсуждение изменения ваших взглядов может помочь вам взглянуть на жизнь в новом свете. Вместо того, чтобы видеть все холодным, критическим способом, вы начинаете видеть, что можно смягчить свою перспективу и увидеть события менее абразивным способом.

Печатается с разрешения издателя,
Книги квеста. ©2001. www.questbooks.net

Статья Источник

Медитативные пути Джона Cianciosi.Медитативные пути: Нежный способ осознания, концентрации и спокойствия
Джон Сиансиози.

Нажмите здесь, чтобы получить дополнительную информацию и заказать эту книгу на Amazon.

Об авторе

гневДжон Сиансиози, ученик покойного преподобного Аджана Ча, был рукоположен в буддийском монахе в 1972 и служил духовным директором монастырей в Таиланде и Австралии. Сейчас он учит в колледже DuPage около Чикаго.

enafarZH-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Следуйте за InnerSelf

facebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

ВНУТРЕННИЕ ГОЛОСЫ

Безусловная любовь: способ служить друг другу, человечеству и миру
Безусловная любовь - это способ служить друг другу, человечеству и миру
by Эйлин Кэдди MBE и Дэвид Эрл Платтс, доктор философии.

САМОЕ ЧИТАЕМОЕ

How and Why To Become More Tolerant and Patient

Changing Our Attitude: Becoming More Tolerant & Patient

Since our attitudes color the way we perceive the world, we may be able to get at the root of anger by examining our view of the world with the aim of replacing critical, impatient, and intolerant attitudes with patient, tolerant, and forgiving ones. When we do, we automatically find the world -- and help to make the world -- a less irritating place.

First of all, most of us have highly developed critical faculties. That is to say, we have views and opinions about everything and everyone. Because of this tendency to judge, we are continually deciding whether we approve of or like each experience as it occurs. Wherever we go and whatever we do, our internal "critic" is saying, "I don't like this," or "I don't approve of that."

Constant judging predisposes us to experience irritation, annoyance, and anger. I'm sure you can remember many times when your negative judgment or disapproval of even a trivial event -- an umpire's call at a baseball game, an off-hand remark by a business associate -- made you feel annoyed, irritated, or even angry.

Reducing Our Tendency To Judge and Softening Our Critical Attitudes

The more intolerant and demanding we are, the more irritation and anger we experience. It is impossible to change the world so that nothing we encounter arouses our disapproval. Working consciously to reduce our tendency to judge and to soften our critical attitudes is the only solution. To make this point, my teacher would often tell the story of the mangy dog:

A dog with the mange sought relief from its affliction by running from one place to another. First, the dog would lie in the shade, but it would soon feel uncomfortable and go and lie in a bush. After a short time, it would feel the irritation again and run off to sit in the open. But nothing brought relief. Wherever the mangy dog went, it was miserable, because it was not the place or the conditions, but the disease that caused its discomfort. If it could be cured of the mange, the dog would be comfortable anywhere.

The dog's mange, of course, is a metaphor for any attitude that causes us to react negatively and create misery. Changing our attitude to become less critical does not mean that we abandon our appreciation for good and bad, or right and wrong, and start living irresponsible lives. It simply means that we become a little more tolerant and patient.

It is unrealistic to expect everything and everybody to be exactly as we want them to be at all times, and yet we often approach life with this attitude. Little wonder, then, that we experience so much irritation and anger!

People Are Like Trees, They're Not All The Same

Changing Your AttitudeA traditional example of the attitude we want to overcome is the story of the man who thought it would be marvelous to cover the whole earth with soft leather so that he could walk everywhere without hurting his tender feet. It was a nice idea, but completely impractical.

A wiser man would make a pair of shoes that allowed him to walk wherever he liked without pain. We cannot change everything and control everybody to satisfy our whims and wishes. But we can change our attitudes and learn to accommodate a variety of conditions and situations without becoming upset, irritated, or angry.

My teacher would say to us,

"Look at the trees in the forest. Do you see that some are big and tall while others are small, and that some are straight while others are crooked? People are like trees; you cannot expect them all to be the same."

This teaching reminds us that if we can be a little more accommodating of the people around us, we experience less anger and conflict. At other times, my teacher would hold up his hand and say,

"Look at these fingers. They are all of different lengths and thicknesses, yet they can coexist in harmony, each fulfilling a purpose. Even this little pinky is useful for scratching inside the ear."

Indeed, variety enriches life, and not everything needs to be the way we think it should be. By learning to allow for differences and to accommodate diversity, we reduce our risk for irritation and anger.

We All Make Mistakes: Allowing a New Start with Hope for the Future

Another important attitude for diminishing negative states of mind is forgiveness. Either intentionally or through carelessness, we all make mistakes. Learning to accommodate human imperfections lessens our tendency to nurse grudges or harbor resentment and helps us forgive others as well as ourselves.

Forgiving mistakes does not mean that we condone mediocrity or evil. It only means that we are willing to allow a new start in the present with hope for the future. Forgiveness is a soothing ointment applied to a wound so that healing can take place. It is an essential part of a healthy attitude and conducive to a peaceful and harmonious life.

In his book No Future Without Forgiveness, the Reverend Desmond Tutu illustrates the healing effect of forgiveness with some very powerful examples. For instance, he tells the story of a mother whose seven-year-old daughter was kidnapped during a family camping trip in Montana. The kidnapper was eventually caught, but not in time to save the child's life. Even faced with such a horrible tragedy, Tutu reports, the mother refused to become a victim of hatred:

"Though I readily admit that initially I wanted to kill the man with my bare hands, by the time of the resolution of his crimes, I was convinced that my best and healthiest option was to forgive...." Victim families ... who retain a vindictive mind-set ultimately give the offender another victim. Embittered, tormented, enslaved by the past, the quality of life is diminished. However justified, our unforgiveness undoes us. Anger, hatred, resentment, bitterness, revenge -- they are death-dealing spirits, and they "will take our lives." . . . I believe the only way we can be whole, healthy, happy persons is to learn to forgive. (155-156)

This discussion on changing your attitudes may help you view life in a new light. Instead of seeing everything in a cold, critical way, you begin to see that it is possible to soften your perspective and see experiences in a way that is less abrasive.

Reprinted with permission of the publisher,
Quest Books. ©2001. www.questbooks.net

Article Source

The Meditative Path by John Cianciosi. The Meditative Path: A Gentle Way to Awareness, Concentration, and Serenity
by John Cianciosi.

Click here for more info and to order this book on Amazon.

About the Author

John Cianciosi, a student of the late Venerable Ajahn Chah, was ordained a Buddhist monk in 1972 and served as spiritual director of monasteries in Thailand and Australia. He now teaches at the College of DuPage near Chicago.
 

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

HAPPINESS & SUCCESS

Do Not Give Up What You Want Most for What You Want Right Now

Do Not Give Up What You Want Most for What You Want Right Now

Carly Pollack
The most powerful influence on the human mind is our core beliefs about our identity, who we think we are. If you have a core belief that you are lazy or that the world is out to get you, no matter how much you try to be more productive or to feel safer in…

SPIRITUALITY & MINDFULNESS

Thich Nhat Hanh, The Buddhist Monk Who Introduced Mindfulness To The West, Prepares To Die

Thich Nhat Hanh, The Buddhist Monk Who Introduced Mindfulness To The West, Prepares To Die

Brooke Schedneck
Thich Nhat Hanh, the monk who popularized mindfulness in the West, has returned home to Vietnam to enjoy the rest of his life.

RELATIONSHIPS

Parents Of Girls Are Less Likely To Stress Computer Skills

Parents Of Girls Are Less Likely To Stress Computer Skills

Matt Swayne
While most first-year college students in a new study had positive feelings about computing and computer-related majors and jobs, gender and socioeconomic status seemed to play a role in whether parents shaped those perceptions.

INTUITION & AWARENESS

3 Reasons Why People Fall For Politicians' Lies

3 Reasons Why People Fall For Politicians' Lies

Mack Clayton Shelley, II
Why do people make such poor decisions about politics? Why are they so often distracted by lies, irrelevant alternatives and specious arguments?

ATTITUDE ADJUSTMENTS

Boys' Attention And Prosocial Behavior Linked To Earnings 30 Years Later

Boys' Attention And Prosocial Behavior Linked To Earnings 30 Years Later

Francis Vergunst
New research, published in the medical journal JAMA Pediatrics, shows that boys from low-income backgrounds who were inattentive in kindergarten had lower earnings at age 36 while boys who were prosocial earned more.