Comment le corps et l'esprit se parlent pour comprendre le monde

Comment le corps et l'esprit se parlent pour comprendre le monde

Avez-vous déjà été surpris par une conversation soudaine lorsque vous pensiez être seul? Même quand ils s'excusent de vous avoir surpris, votre cœur bat la chamade.

Vous êtes très conscient de cette sensation. Mais de quel type d'expérience s'agit-il et que peut-elle nous apprendre sur les relations entre le cœur et le cerveau?

Lors de l'examen des sens, nous avons tendance à penser à la vue et au son, au goût, au toucher et à l'odorat. Cependant, ceux-ci sont classés comme des sens exteroceptifs, c’est-à-dire qu’ils nous disent quelque chose sur la monde extérieur. En revanche, interoception est un sens qui nous informe sur notre interne des sensations corporelles, telles que le battement de notre cœur, le battement de papillons dans l'estomac ou la sensation de faim.

Le cerveau représente, intègre et hiérarchise les informations interoceptives du corps interne. Celles-ci sont communiquées via un ensemble de voies neuronales et humorales distinctes (c.-à-d. Transmises par le sang). Cette détection des états internes du corps fait partie de l'interaction entre le corps et le cerveau: elle maintient l'homéostasie, la stabilité physiologique nécessaire à la survie; il fournit des facteurs de motivation clés tels que la faim et la soif; il représente explicitement les sensations corporelles, telles que la distension de la vessie. Mais ce n’est pas tout, c’est la beauté de l’interoception, dans la mesure où nos sentiments, nos pensées et nos perceptions sont également influencés par l’interaction dynamique entre le corps et le cerveau.

La formation de l'expérience émotionnelle à travers la physiologie interne du corps est reconnue depuis longtemps. Le philosophe américain William James a expliqué dans 1892 que les aspects mentaux de l'émotion, les "états de sentiment", sont un produit de la physiologie. Il a inversé notre causalité intuitive en affirmant que les changements physiologiques eux-mêmes donnent lieu à un état émotionnel: notre cœur ne bat pas la chamade parce que nous avons peur; la peur surgit de notre cœur battant. Les expériences contemporaines démontrent que la représentation neurale et mentale des sensations corporelles internes fait partie intégrante de l'expérience des émotions. les individus avec une interoception élevée ont tendance à ressentir des émotions avec une plus grande intensité. L'insula antérieure est une zone cérébrale clé, traitant à la fois les émotions et les signaux viscéraux internes, ce qui conforte l'idée selon laquelle cette région est essentielle au traitement des sensations corporelles internes en tant que moyen d'éclairer l'expérience émotionnelle. Les individus présentant une interoception améliorée ont également une plus grande activation de l'insula lors du traitement interoceptif et une densité de matière grise accrue de cette zone.

So qu'est-ce que l'interoception améliorée? Certaines personnes sont plus précises que d'autres à ressentir leurs propres sensations corporelles internes. Alors que la plupart d’entre nous sont peut-être conscients que notre cœur bat la chamade quand nous sommes surpris ou venons de courir pour le bus, tout le monde ne peut pas ressentir avec précision ses battements de cœur au repos. La précision interoceptive peut être testée en laboratoire; nous surveillons les signaux physiologiques et mesurons avec quelle précision ils peuvent être détectés. Historiquement un article s'est concentré sur le cœur, car il s'agit de signaux discrets faciles à quantifier. Par exemple, une expérience typique peut impliquer la présentation d’un stimulus externe périodique (par exemple, un son auditif) qui est bloqué dans le temps au battement de coeur, de sorte que chaque tonalité («bip») se produit lorsque le cœur bat, ou entre les deux. pulsations cardiaques. Les participants indiquent si ce stimulus externe est synchrone ou asynchrone avec leur propre cœur. La précision interoceptive d'un individu est un indice de sa capacité à le faire.

Il est également possible de mesurer des indices subjectifs de la précision des personnes think ils détectent les sensations corporelles internes, déterminées à l'aide de questionnaires et d'autres mesures d'auto-évaluation. ma actuellement montre que les individus peuvent être interoceptivement précis (c’est-à-dire bon à ces tests de perception du rythme cardiaque) sans être conscients qu'ils sont. De cette manière, les signaux interoceptifs peuvent guider et informer sans pénétrer pleinement la conscience.

Les différences individuelles d'interoception peuvent également être étudiées à l'aide de méthodes d'imagerie cérébrale, telles que la représentation cérébrale de signaux afférents (par exemple, les potentiels évoqués par les pulsations cardiaques exprimés dans un signal neuronal EEG). La neuroimagerie fonctionnelle (IRMf) peut également être utilisée pour déterminer quelles zones du cerveau sont les plus actives lorsqu’on se concentre sur un signal interoceptif (par exemple, le cœur) par rapport à un signal extéroceptif (par exemple, un son auditif).


Obtenez les dernières nouvelles d'InnerSelf


Nos cœurs ne battent pas régulièrement et, bien que nous puissions identifier que nos cœurs soient en proie à la peur ou à l'exercice, nous n'apprécions peut-être pas pleinement la complexité de la structure temporelle qui sous-tend nos battements de coeur. Par exemple, les signatures cardiaques sont également associées à des états tels que l'anticipation. Attendre que quelque chose se produise peut ralentir notre rythme cardiaque: cela se produira aux feux de signalisation, en attendant qu’ils virent au vert. Ces effets d'anticipation, qui aident potentiellement le corps et l'esprit à adopter un état de préparation à l'action, mettent en évidence la composition significative des signaux corporels internes.

ILes signaux corporels internes peuvent être très informatifs, c'est pourquoi leur détection peut fournir un canal d'information supplémentaire pour influencer la prise de décision. L'instinct ou l'intuition de l'intestin pendant un jeu de cartes peuvent également être guidés par une interception. Des signatures corporelles (fréquence cardiaque, réponse de la conductance cutanée) peuvent signal quelles cartes sont bonnes (c'est-à-dire, plus susceptibles d'être associées à un résultat positif) même en l'absence de conscience consciente qu'une carte est bonne. Ainsi, le cœur "sait" ce que l'esprit ne réalise pas encore et l'accès à cette signature corporelle peut guider la prise de décision intuitive vers de meilleurs résultats. Pour extrapoler cela dans le monde réel, j'ai visité le London Stock Exchange pour travailler avec des traders à haute fréquence. Ces commerçants ont affirmé que leurs décisions étaient souvent motivées par leur instinct, face à des informations à venir que le cerveau conscient ne pouvait pas encore traiter complètement. Mes collègues et moi démontré cette précision interoceptive a été améliorée chez les traders les plus aptes au trading, ancrant potentiellement leur instinct intuitif dans une capacité à détecter les changements informatifs dans les signaux corporels internes.

Une appréciation du fait que les signaux corporels peuvent guider les émotions et la cognition offre des mécanismes interoceptifs potentiels par lesquels ces processus peuvent être perturbés. Alexithymia, défini en tant que capacité altérée à détecter et à identifier les émotions, est associée à une précision interoceptive réduite. Les personnes autistes, qui ont souvent du mal à comprendre les émotions, ont également été victimes de montré avoir une précision interoceptive altérée. Représentation neuronale des signatures corporelles sont modifié dans le trouble de la personnalité limite (également connu sous le nom de trouble de la personnalité émotionnellement instable), et il a été démontré que des interventions conçues pour se concentrer sur le corps, telles que la pleine conscience, réduisaient l'anxiété. Un aperçu de la nature de ces mécanismes intégrés ouvre la voie à une meilleure compréhension et à une intervention ciblée.

En plus de nous parler de nos propres émotions, nos corps réagissent à la joie, à la douleur et à la tristesse des autres. Nos cœurs peuvent s'emballer comme des êtres chers éprouvent de la peur et nos élèves peuvent adopter une signature physiologique de tristesse en réponse à la tristesse des autres. Si vous faites attention à votre cœur et à vos réactions corporelles, ils peuvent vous dire comment vous vous sentez et vous permettre de partager les émotions des autres. L'interoception peut augmenter la profondeur de nos propres émotions, nous lier émotionnellement à ceux qui nous entourent et guider nos instincts intuitifs. Nous apprenons maintenant à quel point notre façon de penser et de ressentir est façonnée par cette interaction dynamique entre le corps et le cerveau.Compteur Aeon - ne pas enlever

A propos de l'auteur

Sarah Garfinkel est professeure de neuroscience et de psychiatrie à l'Université de Sussex. Son travail a été publié dans la Examen de psychiatrie par Harvard et Cerveau: Un Journal de Neurologie, entre autres. Elle habite à Brighton.

Cet article a été initialement publié sur Temps infini et a été republié sous Creative Commons.

Livres connexes

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; mots-clés = Corps et esprit; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

suivez InnerSelf sur

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

DES ÉDITEURS

InnerSelf Newsletter: Septembre 27, 2020
by Personnel InnerSelf
L'une des grandes forces de la race humaine est notre capacité à être flexible, à être créatif et à sortir des sentiers battus. Être quelqu'un d'autre que nous étions hier ou la veille. Nous pouvons changer...…
Ce qui fonctionne pour moi: "Pour le plus grand bien"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
La raison pour laquelle je partage «ce qui fonctionne pour moi» est que cela peut également fonctionner pour vous. Si ce n'est pas exactement la façon dont je le fais, puisque nous sommes tous uniques, une certaine variation de l'attitude ou de la méthode pourrait très bien être quelque chose ...
Avez-vous fait partie du problème la dernière fois? Ferez-vous partie de la solution cette fois?
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Vous êtes-vous inscrit pour voter? Avez-vous voté? Si vous n'allez pas voter, vous ferez partie du problème.
InnerSelf Newsletter: Septembre 20, 2020
by Personnel InnerSelf
Le thème de la newsletter de cette semaine peut se résumer comme suit: «vous pouvez le faire» ou plus précisément «nous pouvons le faire!». C'est une autre façon de dire "vous / nous avons le pouvoir de faire un changement". L'image de…
Ce qui fonctionne pour moi: "Je peux le faire!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
La raison pour laquelle je partage «ce qui fonctionne pour moi» est que cela peut également fonctionner pour vous. Si ce n'est pas exactement la façon dont je le fais, puisque nous sommes tous uniques, une certaine variation de l'attitude ou de la méthode pourrait très bien être quelque chose ...

How The Body And Mind Talk To One Another To Understand The World

behavior

How The Body And Mind Talk To One Another To Understand The World

Have you ever been startled by someone suddenly talking to you when you thought you were alone? Even when they apologize for surprising you, your heart goes on pounding in your chest.

You are very aware of this sensation. But what kind of experience is it, and what can it tell us about relations between the heart and the brain?

When considering the senses, we tend to think of sight and sound, taste, touch and smell. However, these are classified as exteroceptive senses, that is, they tell us something about the outside world. In contrast, interoception is a sense that informs us about our internal bodily sensations, such as the pounding of our heart, the flutter of butterflies in our stomach or feelings of hunger.

The brain represents, integrates and prioritises interoceptive information from the internal body. These are communicated through a set of distinct neural and humoural (ie, blood-borne) pathways. This sensing of internal states of the body is part of the interplay between body and brain: it maintains homeostasis, the physiological stability necessary for survival; it provides key motivational drivers such as hunger and thirst; it explicitly represents bodily sensations, such as bladder distension. But that is not all, and herein lies the beauty of interoception, as our feelings, thoughts and perceptions are also influenced by the dynamic interaction between body and brain.

The shaping of emotional experience through the body’s internal physiology has long been recognised. The American philosopher William James argued in 1892 that the mental aspects of emotion, the ‘feeling states’, are a product of physiology. He reversed our intuitive causality, arguing that the physiological changes themselves give rise to the emotional state: our heart does not pound because we are afraid; fear arises from our pounding heart. Contemporary experiments demonstrate the neural and mental representation of internal bodily sensations as integral for the experience of emotions; those individuals with heightened interoception tend to experience emotions with greater intensity. The anterior insula is a key brain area, processing both emotions and internal visceral signals, supporting the idea that this area is key in processing internal bodily sensations as a means to inform emotional experience. Individuals with enhanced interoception also have greater activation of the insula during interoceptive processing and enhanced grey-matter density of this area.

So what is enhanced interoception? Some people are more accurate than others at sensing their own internal bodily sensations. While most of us are perhaps aware of our pounding heart when we are startled or have just run for the bus, not everyone can accurately sense their heartbeats when at rest. Interoceptive accuracy can be tested in the lab; we monitor physiological signals and measure how accurately these can be detected. Historically, research has focused on the heart, as these are discrete signals that can easily be quantified. For example, a typical experiment might involve the presentation of a periodic external stimulus (eg, an auditory tone) that is time-locked to the heartbeat, such that each tone (‘beep’) occurs when the heart is beating, or in between heartbeats. Participants state whether this external stimulus is synchronous or asynchronous with their own heart. An individual’s interoceptive accuracy is an index of how well they are able to do this.

It is also possible to measure subjective indices of how accurate people think they are at detecting internal bodily sensations, ascertained via questionnaires and other self-report measures. My work shows that individuals can be interoceptively accurate (ie, good at these heartbeat-perception tests) without being aware that they are. In this way, interoceptive signals can guide and inform without fully penetrating conscious awareness.

Individual differences in interoception can also be investigated using brain-imaging methods, such as through brain representation of afferent signals (eg, heartbeat-evoked potentials expressed in a neural EEG signal). Functional neuroimaging (fMRI) can also be used to investigate which areas of the brain are more active when focusing on an interoceptive signal (eg, the heart) relative to an exteroceptive signal (eg, an auditory tone).

Our hearts do not beat regularly and, while we can identify that our hearts race with fear or exercise, we might not fully appreciate the complexity of the temporal structure underlying our heartbeats. For example, cardiac signatures are also associated with states such as anticipation. Waiting for something to happen can cause our heartrate to slow down: this will happen at traffic lights, when waiting for them to go green. These effects of anticipation, potentially facilitating the body and mind to adopt an action-ready-state, highlight the meaningful composition of internal bodily signals.

Internal bodily signals can be deeply informative, which is why sensing them can provide an extra channel of information to influence decisionmaking. Gut instinct or intuition during a card game can also be guided by interoception. Bodily signatures (heart rate, skin-conductance response) can signal which cards are good (ie, more likely to be associated with a positive outcome) even in the absence of conscious knowledge that a card is good. Thus, the heart ‘knows’ what the mind does not yet realise, and access to this bodily signature can guide intuitive decisionmaking to a better outcome. In a real-world extrapolation of this, I visited the London Stock Exchange to work with high-frequency traders. These traders claimed that their decisions were often driven by gut instinct, when faced with fast-coming information that the conscious brain could not yet fully process. My colleagues and I demonstrated that interoceptive accuracy was enhanced in those traders who were most adept at trading, potentially grounding their intuitive instincts in a capacity to sense informative changes in internal bodily signals.

An appreciation that bodily signals can guide emotion and cognition provides potential interoceptive mechanisms through which these processes can be disrupted. Alexithymia, defined as an impaired ability to detect and identify emotions, is associated with reduced interoceptive accuracy. Autistic individuals, who often have difficulty in understanding emotions, have also been shown to have impaired interoceptive accuracy. Neural representation of bodily signatures are altered in borderline personality disorder (also known as emotionally unstable personality disorder), and interventions designed to focus on the body, such as mindfulness, have been shown to reduce anxiety. Insight into the nature of these embodied mechanisms opens up potential avenues for further understanding and targeted intervention.

As well as telling us about our own emotions, our bodies respond to the joy, pain and sadness of others. Our hearts can race as loved ones experience fear, and our pupils can adopt a physiological signature of sadness in response to the sadness of others. If you pay attention to your heart and bodily responses, they can tell you how you are feeling, and allow you to share in the emotions of others. Interoception can enhance the depth of our own emotions, emotionally bind us to those around us, and guide our intuitive instincts. We are now learning just how much the way we think and feel is shaped by this dynamic interaction between body and brain.Aeon counter – do not remove

About The Author

Sarah Garfinkel is professor of neuroscience and psychiatry at the University of Sussex. Her work has been published in the Harvard Review of Psychiatry and Brain: A Journal of Neurology, among others. She lives in Brighton.

This article was originally published at Aeon and has been republished under Creative Commons.

Related Books

The Body Keeps the Score: Brain, Mind, and Body in the Healing of Trauma

behaviorAuthor: Bessel van der Kolk M.D.
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • For all our books; Cargo will be delivered in the required time. 100% Satisfaction is Guaranteed!

Brand: van der Kolk Bessel A
Studio: Penguin Books
Label: Penguin Books
Publisher: Penguin Books
Manufacturer: Penguin Books

Buy Now
Editorial Review: “Essential reading for anyone interested in understanding and treating traumatic stress and the scope of its impact on society.” —Alexander McFarlane, Director of the Centre for Traumatic Stress Studies

A pioneering researcher transforms our understanding of trauma and offers a bold new paradigm for healing in this New York Times bestseller


Trauma is a fact of life. Veterans and their families deal with the painful aftermath of combat; one in five Americans has been molested; one in four grew up with alcoholics; one in three couples have engaged in physical violence. Dr. Bessel van der Kolk, one of the world’s foremost experts on trauma, has spent over three decades working with survivors. In The Body Keeps the Score, he uses recent scientific advances to show how trauma literally reshapes both body and brain, compromising sufferers’ capacities for pleasure, engagement, self-control, and trust. He explores innovative treatments—from neurofeedback and meditation to sports, drama, and yoga—that offer new paths to recovery by activating the brain’s natural neuroplasticity. Based on Dr. van der Kolk’s own research and that of other leading specialists, The Body Keeps the Score exposes the tremendous power of our relationships both to hurt and to heal—and offers new hope for reclaiming lives.




Your Body Speaks Your Mind: Decoding the Emotional, Psychological, and Spiritual Messages That Underlie Illness

behaviorAuthor: Deb Shapiro
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • For all our books; Cargo will be delivered in the required time. 100% Satisfaction is Guaranteed!

Brand: Brand: Sounds True
Studio: Sounds True
Label: Sounds True
Publisher: Sounds True
Manufacturer: Sounds True

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

We all know how we cry tears when we are sad, or get butterflies in our stomach when we are nervous. These are simple connections between the mind and the body that are easy for us to understand. But what about the bigger issues, when the body gets ill, diseased, or damaged?

Now with Your Body Speaks Your Mind, Deb Shapiro—author of The Body Mind Workbook and Unconditional Love—shows you a practical way to learn the language of your body so you can understand how your thoughts and feelings directly affect your physical health.

The body shows us what we are unconsciously ignoring,denying,or repressing, she says. With her breakthrough book, readers learn:

  • A system-by-system guide to your body that reveals what it is telling you about yourself
  • A cross-referenced index of symptomatic illnesses, from headaches to pneumonia, and the emotional imbalances they symbolize
  • Creative visualization and meditation techniques on CD to enhance your ability to listen to, communicate with, and heal your body, and more

Healing is a continual journey—one of embracing ourselves ever more deeply, explains Deb Shapiro. Your Body Speaks Your Mind takes you on that journey, deepening your relationship with your own mind and body. Revised and updated UK bestseller.

This product can be shipped within the US and Canada only.





The Mindbody Prescription: Healing the Body, Healing the Pain

behaviorAuthor: John E. Sarno M.D.
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • For all our books; Cargo will be delivered in the required time. 100% Satisfaction is Guaranteed!

Brand: John E Sarno
Studio: Warner Books, Inc.
Label: Warner Books, Inc.
Publisher: Warner Books, Inc.
Manufacturer: Warner Books, Inc.

Buy Now
Editorial Review: The New York Times bestselling guide to a healthy and pain-free life.

Musculoskeletal pain disorders have reached epidemic proportions in the United States, with most doctors failing to recognize their underlying cause. In this acclaimed volume, Dr. Sarno reveals how many painful conditions-including most neck and back pain, migraine, repetitive stress injuries, whiplash, and tendonitises-are rooted in repressed emotions, and shows how they can be successfully treated without drugs, physical measures, or surgery.

"My life was filled with excruciating back and shoulder pain until I applied Dr. Sarno's principles, and in a matter of weeks my back pain disappeared. I never suffered a single symptom again...I owe Dr. Sarno my life." - Howard Stern





behavior
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}