الأطفال هم المتفائلين الطبيعية - الذي يأتي مع الإيجابيات والسلبيات النفسية

الأطفال هم المتفائلين الطبيعية - الذي يأتي مع الإيجابيات والسلبيات النفسية
الأطفال الصغار لديهم ميل للنظر إلى الجانب المشرق.
بريان جاكسون / Shutterstock.com

قد تتردد في إصدار حكم شخصي حول شخص ما استنادًا إلى لقاء أول. ربما يرغب معظم البالغين في رؤية كيف يتصرف الغريب في ظروف مختلفة ، ليقرر ما إذا كان شخص ما جديدًا لطيفًا أو متوسطًا أو جديرًا بالثقة.

الأطفال الصغار أقل حذراً عند إصدار الأحكام الشخصية. غالباً ما تظهر تحيزًا إيجابيًا: ميل للتركيز على الإجراءات الإيجابية أو معالجة المعلومات بشكل انتقائي يعزز الأحكام الإيجابية حول الذات ، أو غيرها ، أو حتى الحيوانات والأشياء.

لماذا يهم إذا كان الأطفال يرون العالم من خلال نظارات ذات ألوان زهرية؟ الأطفال الذين لديهم تفاؤل مفرط قد يجدون أنفسهم دون قصد في أوضاع غير آمنة ، أو قد يكونون غير قادرين أو غير راغبين في التعلم من ردود الفعل البناءة. وفي عصر "الأخبار المقلدة" وموارد المعلومات لا تعد ولا تحصى ، من الأهمية بمكان أكثر من أي وقت مضى إثارة مفكرين نقديين أقوياء سوف ينمون إلى الكبار الذين يتخذون قرارات مستنيرة في الحياة. علماء النفس مثلي تحقق من هذا التفاؤل الذي يبدو أنه ظهر مبكرًا جدًا في الحياة لمعرفة المزيد حول كيفية عمله - وكيف ولماذا ينخفض ​​مع مرور الوقت.

المتفائلين قليلا الذكية

بعدة طرق ، الأطفال هم مفكرون متطورون. في مرحلة الطفولة المبكرة ، جمعوا البيانات بعناية من بيئتهم لبناء نظريات حول العالم. على سبيل المثال ، يدرك الأطفال أن الأجسام المتحركة ، مثل الحيوانات ، تعمل بشكل مختلف تمامًا عن الكائنات غير الحية ، مثل الكراسي. يمكن حتى للأطفال في مرحلة ما قبل المدرسة معرفة الفرق بين الخبراء وغير الخبراء، وأنهم يفهمون أن أنواع مختلفة من الخبراء تعرف اشياء مختلفة - مثل كيف يعرف الأطباء كيف تعمل الهيئات البشرية والميكانيكا يعرفون كيف تعمل السيارات. حتى أن الأطفال يتتبعون سجلات دقة الأشخاص لاتخاذ القرار سواء يمكن الوثوق بهم كمصادر تعلم لأشياء مثل أسماء كائنات غير معروفة.

هذا المستوى من الشكوك مثير للإعجاب ، لكنه مفتق إلى حد كبير عندما يُطلب من الأطفال اتخاذ قرارات تقييمية أكثر منها محايد. هنا ، يظهر الأطفال دليل واضح على وجود تحيز إيجابي.

على سبيل المثال ، أظهرنا أنا وزملائي أن 3- إلى 6-ages عامًا فقط بحاجة إلى رؤية سلوك إيجابي واحد الحكم على شخصية قصة لطيفة، ولكن العديد من السلوكيات السلبية للحكم على شخصية كوسيلة. لقد وجدت أيضا أن الأطفال رفض وصف السمات السلبية عن الغرباء (مثل "المتوسط") من قضاة ذوي مصداقية ، ولكنهم يقبلون بسهولة وصفًا إيجابيًا للصفات (مثل "لطيفة").

بينما يستخدم الأطفال المعلومات حول الخبرة بفعالية في المجالات غير التقييمية - مثل عند تعلم عن سلالات الكلاب - يحجمون عن الثقة في الخبراء الذين يقومون بالتقييمات السلبية. على سبيل المثال ، وجد مختبري أن 6- و 7-years olds يوثقون وصفًا إيجابيًا لحيوان غير مألوف (مثل "ودود") بواسطة حراس حديقة ، ولكن تجاهل الأوصاف السلبية (مثل "خطير"). وبدلاً من ذلك ، فقد وثقوا بغير الخبير الذي قدم أوصافًا إيجابية.

في بحثنا الآخر ، الأطفال لا يثق في تقييم الخبير السلبي من العمل الفني وثقوا بدلا من ذلك مجموعة من الأشخاص العاديين الذين حكموا عليها بشكل إيجابي. وتميل مرحلة ما قبل المدرسة إلى تقييم أدائها الخاص في حل المشكلات وعلى الرسم بشكل إيجابي حتى بعد الوجود قالوا أنهم تفوقوا في الأداء من قبل نظير.

إجمالاً ، يكشف البحث أن التحيز الإيجابي موجود في وقت مبكر مثل سن 3 ، ذروته في مرحلة الطفولة الوسطى ، ولا يضعف إلا في مرحلة الطفولة المتأخرة.

لماذا نبدأ الحياة بالنظارات ذات الألوان الوردية؟

علماء النفس لا يعرفون على وجه اليقين لماذا الاطفال متفائلون جدا. من المحتمل أن يرجع ذلك جزئياً إلى التجارب الاجتماعية الإيجابية التي يحالف معظم الأطفال الحظ في الحصول عليها في مرحلة مبكرة من حياتهم.

مع التقدم في العمر ، يتعرض الأطفال لواقع أكثر قسوة. يبدأون في رؤية الاختلافات في الأداء بين الناس ، بما في ذلك أقرانهم ، وهذا يعطيهم إحساسًا بالمكان الذي يقفون فيه فيما يتعلق بالآخرين. يتلقون في النهاية تعليقات تقييمية من معلميهم ويبدأون في تجربة مجموعة متنوعة من التجارب العلائقية السلبية ، مثل التنمر.

ومع ذلك ، فإن الأطفال غالبا ما يظلون متفائلين بعناد على الرغم من الأدلة المخالفة. قد تكون هناك قوى مختلفة تلعب هنا: لأن الإيجابية متأصلة في عقول الأطفال ، قد يصارعون لإيلاء الاهتمام ودمج الأدلة المتناقضة في نظريات عملهم حول الناس. كما يتم تعليم الأطفال الأمريكيين عدم قول أشياء أخرى عن الآخرين وقد يشككون في نوايا الأشخاص ذوي النوايا الحسنة الذين يتحدثون عن حقائق قاسية. قد يكون هذا هو السبب في أن الأطفال تحديد أولويات الخير على الخبرة عند تعلم معلومات جديدة.

يمكن أن تؤثر الروح التي تُعرض بها المعلومات السلبية على قدرتها على اختراق تحيز إيجابية الطفل. في دراسة واحدة في مختبري ، قدمنا ردود فعل سلبية كما تركز على تحسين ("يحتاج إلى عمل" بدلاً من "سيئ جدًا"). في هذه الحالة ، كان الأطفال أكثر استعدادًا لقبول التقييمات السلبية وفهموا أن التعليقات كانت تهدف إلى أن تكون مفيدة. من المرجح أن يستفيد الشباب أكثر من الملاحظات البناءة عندما يفهمون أن المقصود منها هو مساعدتهم وأيضاً عند تأكيد الآباء والمدرسين على ذلك عملية التعلم بدلا من الإنجاز.

يتم تخفيف التحيز الإيجابي مع مرور الوقت

هل يقلق مقدمو الرعاية بشأن التحيز الإيجابي؟ عموما ، ربما لا.

ميزة واحدة هي أنه يفتح الأطفال لتجربة أشياء جديدة بلا خوف وقد تسهم في التعلم. الأطفال الذين يقتربون من الآخرين بشكل إيجابي أكثر احتمالا الانتقال بنجاح من خلال المدرسة ونجاح اجتماعي أكبر.

ولكن في عصر يتحدث فيه الناس عن "عباقرة الأطفال" ، يجب على الآباء والمعلمين إدراك أن الأطفال ليسوا متطورين كما قد يظهرون ، على الأقل عندما يتعلق الأمر بالأحكام التقويمية. من المهم أيضًا ألا نفترض أن الأطفال الأكبر سنًا لديهم بالضرورة مقاييس أفضل من الأطفال الأصغر سنًا في إصدار مثل هذه الأحكام. قد يساعدهم التحدث إلى الأطفال عن معتقداتهم على التفكير في الأدلة التي تدعمهم والتأمل في المعلومات المتاحة.

المحادثةأما بالنسبة لتعليم الأطفال قبول الملاحظات السلبية عن أنفسهم ، فمن الأفضل اتباع نهج معتدل. إذا تم تربية الأطفال في بيئة محبة حيث يتم تعليمهم مع مرور الوقت القبول بأنهم ليسوا الأفضل دائمًا ، أو أنهم في بعض الأحيان يحتاجون إلى القيام بعمل أفضل ، فقد يكونون مجهزين بشكل أفضل للتعامل مع الضربات القاسية الحتمية للحياة. كلنا نصبح بالغون المتهالك قريباً بما فيه الكفاية.

نبذة عن الكاتب

جانيت جيه بوسوفسكي ، أستاذ مشارك في علم النفس ، جامعة نورث كارولينا - غرينسبورو

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = موقف إيجابي ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

عقلك الحجري يأكلك حيًا
عقلك الحجري يأكلك حيًا
by مايكل كوتون ، دي سي
هناك طرق لا حصر لها لممارسة الجنس وليس هناك شيء غير طبيعي عن أي منهم
هناك طرق لا حصر لها لممارسة الجنس وليس هناك شيء غير طبيعي عن أي منهم
by غونزالو ر. كوينتانا زونينو وكونال يوغان ماك سيونيث
تحديات 30-Day Resilience-Builder
تحديات 30-Day Resilience-Builder
by إيما ماردلين ، دكتوراه.

Children Are Natural Optimists – Which Comes With Psychological Pros And Cons

Children Are Natural Optimists – Which Comes With Psychological Pros And Cons
Little kids have a tendency to look on the bright side.
Brian A Jackson/Shutterstock.com

You might hesitate to make a character judgment about someone based on a first encounter. Most adults would probably want to see how a stranger acts in several different circumstances, to decide whether someone new is nice, mean or trustworthy.

Young children are strikingly less cautious when making character judgments. They often show a positivity bias: a tendency to focus on positive actions or selectively process information that promotes positive judgments about the self, others, or even animals and objects.

Why does it matter if children see the world through rose-colored glasses? Children who are overly optimistic may unwittingly find themselves in unsafe situations, or they may be unable or unwilling to learn from constructive feedback. And in an era of “fake news” and myriad informational sources, it’s more important than ever to raise strong critical thinkers who will grow into adults who make informed life decisions. Psychologists like me investigate this optimism that seems to emerge very early in life to figure out more about how it works – and how and why it eventually decreases over time.

Smart little optimists

In many ways, children are sophisticated thinkers. In early childhood, they carefully gather data from their environment to construct theories about the world. For example, children understand that animate objects, such as animals, operate very differently from inanimate objects, such as chairs. Even preschoolers can tell the difference between experts and non-experts, and they understand that different kinds of experts know different things – like how doctors know how human bodies work and mechanics know how cars work. Children even track people’s records of accuracy to decide whether they can be trusted as learning sources for things like the names of unknown objects.

This level of skepticism is impressive, but it is sorely lacking when children are asked to make evaluative rather than neutral judgments. Here, children show clear evidence of a positivity bias.

For example, my colleagues and I have shown that 3- to 6-year-olds only need to see one positive behavior to judge a story character as nice, but several negative behaviors to judge a character as mean. I’ve also found that children reject negative trait descriptions about strangers (such as “mean”) from credible judges of character, but readily accept positive trait descriptions (like “nice”).

Whereas children use information about expertise effectively in non-evaluative domains – like when learning about dog breeds – they are reluctant to trust experts who make negative evaluations. For example, my lab found that 6- and 7-year-olds trusted positive descriptions of an unfamiliar animal (such as “friendly”) by a zookeeper, but disregarded negative descriptions (like “dangerous”). Instead they trusted a non-expert who gave positive descriptions.

In our other research, children mistrusted an expert’s negative assessment of artwork and instead trusted a group of laypeople who judged it positively. And preschoolers tend to evaluate their own performance on problem solving and on drawing positively even after being told that they were outperformed by a peer.

Altogether, research reveals that the positivity bias is present as early as 3 years of age, peaks in middle childhood, and weakens only in late childhood.

Why do we start life with rose-colored glasses?

Psychologists don’t know for sure why kids are so optimistic. It’s likely due in part to the positive social experiences that most children are lucky enough to have early in life.

With age, children are exposed to harsher realities. They begin to see differences in performance among people, including their peers, and this gives them a sense of where they stand in relation to others. They eventually receive evaluative feedback from their teachers and start to experience a greater variety of negative relational experiences, like bullying.

Even so, children often remain stubbornly optimistic despite contrary evidence. There may be different forces at play here: Because positivity is so ingrained in children’s minds, they may struggle to pay attention to and integrate contradictory evidence into their working theories about people. American children are also taught not to say mean things about others and may question the intentions of well-meaning people that speak hard truths. This may be the reason that children prioritize benevolence over expertise when learning new information.

The spirit in which negative information is offered can influence whether it’s able to break through a child’s positivity bias. In one study in my lab, we presented negative feedback as improvement-focused (“needs work” rather than “very bad”). In this case, children were more willing to accept negative evaluations and understood that the feedback was intended to be helpful. Youngsters are likely to benefit most from constructive feedback when they understand it’s meant to help them and also when parents and teachers emphasize the process of learning rather than achievement.

Positive bias is tempered over time

Should caregivers worry about the positivity bias? Overall, probably not.

One advantage is that it opens children up to try new things fearlessly and may contribute to learning. Children who approach others positively are more likely to transition successfully through school and have greater social success.

But in an era where people talk about “baby geniuses,” parents and educators need to be aware that children are not as sophisticated as they might appear, at least when it comes to evaluative judgments. It’s also important not to assume that older children necessarily have a better handle than younger children on making such judgments. Talking to kids about their beliefs may help them to think about what evidence supports them and to reflect on available information.

The ConversationAs for teaching children to accept negative feedback about themselves, a moderate approach is probably best. If children are reared in a loving environment where they’re taught over time to accept that they aren’t always the best, or that they sometimes need to do better, they may be better equipped to handle the inevitable hard knocks of life. We all become jaded adults soon enough.

About The Author

Janet J. Boseovski, Associate Professor of Psychology, University of North Carolina – Greensboro

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

Success Through A Positive Mental Attitude
attitudeAuthor: Napoleon Hill
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Gallery Books
List Price: $16.99

Buy Now

Changing Your Life Through a Positive Attitude: The 30 Day Challenge
attitudeAuthor: Lorena Laughlin
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Cladd Publishing Inc.
List Price: $9.99

Buy Now

Attitude: Discover The True Power Of A Positive Attitude (Attain Personal Growth & Happiness by Mastering)
attitudeAuthor: Ace McCloud
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Pro Mastery Publishing
List Price: $12.99

Buy Now

enzh-CNtlfrhiides

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}