Quel est le secret du succès?

Quel est le secret du succès?

Dans des centaines de collèges et d'universités à travers le pays, des milliers d'étudiants sont au milieu du semestre d'automne, essayant de gérer les tâches académiques des études, des examens, des communications et des conférences. Beaucoup de choses sur leur rendement scolaire - gagner (ou simplement garder) des bourses d'études, débuter des stages d'été, trouver un emploi et, bien sûr, acquérir de nouvelles compétences et connaissances.

La grande majorité des étudiants vous diront qu'ils ont l'intention de bien faire, qu'ils savent qu'il faut du travail acharné pour réussir. Mais certains étudiants vont finir par frapper plus de barres et des parties que des livres. Autrement dit, tout le monde ne finit pas mettre dans ce dur travail.

Dans notre propre travail, nous avons constaté que demander aux étudiants des questions comme «Quelle est selon vous l'importance de réussir au collège?» Ne nous donne essentiellement aucune information sur les candidats qui réussiront en termes de notes.

Les étudiants du Collège ne sont guère uniques à ne pas suivre leurs intentions et leurs objectifs. Les parents frustrés feraient bien de se tourner vers leurs propres abonnements à des gymnases inutilisés ou des résolutions de perte de poids pérennes pour se rendre compte que les intentions ne sont pas toujours suffisantes pour assurer des progrès constants vers ses objectifs.

Pourquoi y a-t-il un tel décalage entre nos intentions et nos actions? Et, comment pouvons-nous prédire qui a le courage de réussir, si nous ne pouvons pas dépendre de ce que les gens nous disent?

Croyances explicites ou implicites?

Lorsque les gens sont directement interrogés sur l'importance qu'ils attachent à la réalisation d'un objectif, ils font part de leurs «croyances explicites». Ces croyances reflètent en grande partie les aspirations des gens, telles que leurs intentions sincères de s'atteler et d'étudier sérieusement ce semestre. ne peut pas toujours cartographier sur leur inclination ultérieure à persister.

Plutôt que de dépendre des croyances explicites des gens, nous avons plutôt cherché dans nos recherches les croyances implicites des gens.


Obtenez les dernières nouvelles d'InnerSelf


Les croyances implicites sont des associations mentales qui sont mesuré indirectement. Plutôt que de demander à la personne de dire ce qu'elle pense d'un sujet donné, les mesures implicites utilisent des tâches informatisées de temps de réaction pour déduire la force des associations implicites de quelqu'un. Par exemple, beaucoup de recherches par des psychologues Brian Nosek, Tony Greenwald et Mahzarin Banaji au cours des deux dernières décennies a montré que les gens ont souvent des associations implicites négatives sur les membres des groupes raciaux et ethniques stigmatisés.

Même si de nombreux participants à ces études ont explicitement déclaré qu'ils croyaient en l'équité et l'égalité entre les groupes raciaux, ils ont néanmoins montré des biais implicites envers les groupes raciaux et ethniques. En d'autres termes, alors que les gens «disaient» qu'ils étaient égalitaires, ils possédaient en fait de fortes associations négatives dans leur esprit quand il s'agissait de certains groupes raciaux.

Les associations implicites sont essentielles à comprendre car elles peuvent prédire une gamme de comportements quotidiens, du banal (quels aliments les gens mangent) au monumental (comment les gens votent).

Mais les associations implicites prédisent-elles qui a le courage de réussir aux objectifs difficiles de la vie?

Voici ce que nous avons fait

Pour découvrir, au lieu de mesurer les croyances explicites des gens sur l'importance de leurs objectifs, nous avons mesuré croyances implicites des gens à propos de l'importance d'un domaine (par exemple, le travail scolaire, l'exercice) et ensuite mesuré leur succès et leur persistance à des tâches pertinentes (par exemple, les notes, les régimes de gym).

Nous avons utilisé un test informatique appelé «Implicit Association Test (IAT)» pour mesurer les croyances implicites de nos participants. Le test prend environ sept minutes à compléter. Les participants doivent porter un casque antibruit et s'asseoir dans une cabine sans distraction.

Dans cinq de nos études, nous avons utilisé ce test pour mesurer l'association cognitive des élèves entre «importance» et «travail scolaire». On a demandé aux participants d'indiquer, le plus rapidement possible, à l'aide de clés d'ordinateur, si une série de mots Le terme «travail scolaire» était synonyme d '«importance» ou était synonyme d' «insignifiance». Parmi ces mots figuraient «examen», «critique» et «trivial».

Le test a été mis en place de manière à ce que même une légère différence dans la vitesse de réponse (au niveau des millisecondes) puisse révéler des différences dans la force de l'association entre le travail scolaire et l'importance.

Bref, cela nous a permis de mesurer dans quelle mesure les gens croyaient implicitement que le travail scolaire était important.

Plusieurs études pour corroborer

Des différences de millisecondes dans les temps de réaction pourraient-elles significativement capturer les croyances des gens et prédire le succès de leurs objectifs? Par exemple, cette mesure des millisecondes de sept minutes pourrait-elle prédire qui gagnerait des A dans leurs cours collégiaux?

Nous avons constaté qu'ils l'ont fait. Et nous n'avons pas observé cette relation une seule fois. Nous avons trouvé cela encore et encore - à travers sept études différentes, dirigées dans différents laboratoires, avec des populations différentes et prédisant différents types de persistance et de succès. Dans cinq études, nous avons constaté que la croyance implicite des étudiants en l'importance du travail scolaire prédisait qui obtenait des notes plus élevées.

Nous n'avons pas limité notre étude à la performance au collège. Nous avons également testé d'autres objectifs, comme aller à la gym. Nous avons constaté que ceux qui avaient une association plus forte entre l'importance et l'exercice étaient significativement plus susceptibles de faire de l'exercice plus souvent et plus intensément.

Ensuite, nous avons effectué un test pour découvrir comment les croyances implicites prédisaient les capacités de prise de test. Nous avons testé les croyances implicites des étudiants sur l'importance du GRE (Graduate Record Examination), un examen largement utilisé qui aide à déterminer les admissions et les bourses d'études supérieures. Ceux qui ont montré une association plus forte entre l'importance et le GRE ont obtenu des résultats significativement meilleurs lors d'un test GRE.

Une mesure unique de la probabilité de succès

Comme toute mesure, la nôtre n'était pas parfaite. Nous ne pouvions pas toujours prédire dans chaque cas qui réussirait ou échouerait. Mais notre bref test informatisé a fourni un nouvel aperçu de qui était susceptible de réussir - un aperçu non capturé par des mesures plus traditionnelles.

Par exemple, les scores SAT plus élevés sont considérés comme une mesure de qui va probablement faire mieux au collège et mieux sur le GRE. Nos données ont montré que les scores SAT sont un bon prédicteur des deux. Cependant, sachant que les croyances implicites des participants dans l'importance de l'école ou le GRE ont prédit le succès au-delà de ce que les scores SAT pourraient nous dire. En d'autres termes, même lorsque deux personnes ont obtenu la même note au SAT, celle qui a la plus forte croyance implicite quant à l'importance du GRE a eu tendance à obtenir de meilleurs résultats à l'examen pratique.

Une découverte intéressante dans nos études était que les croyances implicites prédisaient le succès de certaines personnes plus que d'autres. Un examen plus approfondi a montré que ceux pour qui la maîtrise de soi était difficile - ceux qui disaient avoir du mal à terminer les devoirs à temps, qui pouvaient facilement être dissuadés de tourner en classe ou qui avaient du mal à rester concentrés pendant les longs qui a le plus bénéficié d'avoir une forte croyance implicite que l'objectif était important.

En d'autres termes, ce sont ces individus qui ont besoin d'un coup de pouce qui ont le plus clairement bénéficié du coup de pouce implicite que leurs activités étaient importantes.

Quel est exactement le rôle des croyances implicites?

Notre travail ajoute à un un nombre croissant de preuves que les associations implicites ordinairement cachées à la vue dans notre esprit offrent de nouvelles idées sur de nombreux comportements et décisions de tous les jours.

Par exemple, tout comme les associations implicites peuvent prédire comportement intergroupe, premières impressions d'autres personnes et comportement de vote, nos nouveaux résultats montrent qu'ils prédisent également le succès dans certaines des tâches les plus difficiles de la vie.

Cependant, il reste encore quelques questions qui restent. Par exemple, est-ce que les croyances implicites sur l'importance de travailler dur amènent réellement les gens à faire mieux, ou simplement identifient-ils qui est susceptible de réussir? Les croyances implicites des gens changeants pourraient-elles avoir des effets réels sur leurs chances de succès?

Pour être clair: il n’est certainement pas vrai que ce que les gens disent à quel point ils se soucient de quelque chose importe peu. En effet, on peut supposer que les personnes qui disent ne pas se préoccuper de faire de l’exercice ne se rendront pas au gymnase, quelles que soient leurs associations implicites entre exercice et importance.

Mais, en particulier parmi ceux qui disent qu'ils se soucient de quelque chose - comme la grande majorité des étudiants qui se soucient de leur performance à l'école - une mesure de leurs croyances implicites peut nous donner une meilleure idée de la probabilité qu'ils réussissent.

A propos de l'auteur

Melissa J. Ferguson, professeur de psychologie, L'Université Cornell

Clayton R. Critcher, professeur agrégé de marketing, sciences cognitives et psychologie, Université de Californie, Berkeley

Cet article a été publié initialement le La Conversation. Lis le article original.

Livres connexes:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; keywords = Le secret du succès; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

suivez InnerSelf sur

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

What Is The Secret To Success?

happiness

What Is The Secret To Success?

At hundreds of colleges and universities across the country, thousands of students are in the midst of the fall semester, trying to manage the academic tasks of studying, exams, papers and lectures. A lot is riding on their academic performance – earning (or just keeping) scholarships, landing summer internships, gaining employment and of course acquiring new skills and knowledge.

The vast majority of students will tell you they intend to do well, that they know it takes hard work to succeed. But some students will end up hitting more bars and parties than books. That is, not everyone ends up putting in that hard work.

In our own work, we have found that asking college students questions like, “How important do you think it is to do well at college?” gives us essentially no information about who will do well in terms of grades.

College students are hardly unique in not following through on their intentions and goals. Frustrated parents might do well to look to their own unused gym memberships or perennial weight-loss resolutions to realize that intentions are not always sufficient to ensure steady progress toward one’s goals.

Why is there such a disconnect between our intentions and our actions? And, how can we predict who has the grit to succeed, if we can’t depend on what people tell us?

Explicit or implicit beliefs?

When people are directly asked how important they think it is to succeed at some goal, they are reporting their “explicit beliefs.” Such beliefs may largely reflect people’s aspirations, such as their sincere intentions to buckle down and study hard this semester, but these may not always map onto their subsequent inclination to persist.

Rather than depend on people’s explicit beliefs, in our research we looked instead to people’s implicit beliefs.

Implicit beliefs are mental associations that are measured indirectly. Rather than asking the person to state what they think about some topic, implicit measures use computerized reaction-time tasks to infer the strength of someone’s implicit associations. For instance, a great deal of research by psychologists Brian Nosek, Tony Greenwald and Mahzarin Banaji over the last two decades has shown that people often hold negative implicit associations about members of stigmatized racial and ethnic groups.

Even though many participants in these studies explicitly stated they believed in fairness and equality among racial groups, they nevertheless showed implicit biases toward racial and ethnic groups. In other words, whereas people “said” they were egalitarian, they in fact possessed strong negative associations in their mind when it came to certain racial groups.

Implicit associations are critical to understand because they can predict a range of everyday behaviors, from the mundane (what foods people eat) to the monumental (how people vote).

But do implicit associations predict who has the grit to succeed at life’s difficult goals?

Here’s what we did

To find out, instead of measuring people’s explicit beliefs about the importance of their goals, we measured people’s implicit beliefs about the importance of an area (e.g., schoolwork, exercise) and then measured their success and persistence at relevant tasks (e.g., grades, gym regimens).

We used a computer-based test called the “Implicit Association Test (IAT)” to measure our participants’ implicit beliefs. The test takes about seven minutes to complete. Participants have to don noise-canceling headphones and sit in a distraction-free cubicle.

In five of our studies, we used this test to measure students’ cognitive association between “importance” and “schoolwork.” Student participants were asked to indicate, as quickly as they could, using computer keys, whether each of a series of words was related to “schoolwork,” was a synonym of “importance” or was a synonym of “unimportance.” Examples of such words included “exam,” “critical” and “trivial.”

The test was set up in such a way so that even a slight difference in the speed of response (at the level of milliseconds) could reveal differences in the strength of the association between schoolwork and importance.

In short, it allowed us to measure the extent to which people implicitly believed that schoolwork was important.

Multiple studies to corroborate

Could millisecond differences in reaction times meaningfully capture people’s beliefs and predict success in their goals? For instance, could this seven-minute-long measure of milliseconds predict who would earn straight A’s in their college classes?

We found that they did. And we didn’t observe this relationship just once. We found that again and again – across seven different studies, run in different labs, with different populations and predicting different types of persistence and success. Across five studies, we found that college students’ implicit belief in the importance of schoolwork predicted who got higher grades.

We didn’t limit our study to college performance. We also tested other goals, such as going to the gym. We found that those who had a stronger association between importance and exercise were significantly more likely to exercise more often and more intensely.

Then we conducted a test to find out how implicit beliefs predicted test-taking abilities. We tested college students’ implicit beliefs about the importance of the GRE (Graduate Record Examination), a widely used exam that helps determine graduate school admissions and scholarships. Those who showed a stronger association between importance and the GRE scored significantly better on a practice GRE test.

A unique measure of likelihood of success

Like any measure, ours wasn’t perfect. We couldn’t always predict in every instance who would succeed or fail. But our brief computerized test provided new insight into who was likely to succeed – an insight not captured by more traditional measures.

For example, higher SAT scores are taken to be a measure of who will likely do better at college and better on the GRE. Our data did show that SAT scores are a good predictor of both. However, knowing participants’ implicit beliefs in the importance of school or the GRE predicted success over and above what SAT scores could tell us. In other words, even when two people scored the same on the SAT, the one with the stronger implicit belief about the importance of the GRE tended to score better on the practice exam.

One interesting finding in our studies was that implicit beliefs predicted some people’s success more than others. Closer examination showed that those for whom exerting self-control was difficult – those who said they have trouble completing assignments on time, who could be easily dissuaded from making it to spin class or who have difficulty maintaining focus during long reading comprehension passages – were those who most benefited from having a strong implicit belief that the goal was important.

In other words, it was those individuals in need of a boost who most clearly benefited from the implicit nudge that their pursuits were important.

What exactly is the role of implicit beliefs?

Our work adds to a growing body of evidence that the ordinarily hidden-from-view, implicit associations in our mind offer new insights about many everyday decisions and behaviors.

For example, just as implicit associations can predict intergroup behavior, first impressions of other people and voting behavior, our new findings show that they also predict success at some of life’s most challenging tasks.

However, there are still some questions that remain. For example, do implicit beliefs in the importance of working hard actually cause people to do better, or do they simply identify who is likely to succeed? Could changing people’s implicit beliefs have real effects on their prospects for success?

To be clear: It is certainly not the case that what people say about how much they care about something does not matter at all. Indeed, we would guess that people who say they care nothing about exercising will not be heading to the gym, regardless of their implicit associations between exercise and importance.

But, especially among those who say they do care about something – such as the vast majority of college students caring about their performance at school – a measure of their implicit beliefs may give us a better idea about how likely they are to succeed.

About The Author

Melissa J. Ferguson, Professor of Psychology, Cornell University

Clayton R. Critcher, Associate Professor of Marketing, Cognitive Science, & Psychology, University of California, Berkeley

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

The Secret to Success: When You Want to Succeed as Bad as You Want to Breathe

happinessBinding: Hardcover
Studio: Spirit Reign Publications
Label: Spirit Reign Publications
Publisher: Spirit Reign Publications
Manufacturer: Spirit Reign Publications

Buy Now
Editorial Review: DETAILS Renown speaker, educator, author, activist and minister, Eric Thomas is rising to national prominence by delivering a high energy message that tells youth through first hand experience how to live up to their full potential and greatness and by breaking the cycles of crime, hopelessness and despair that many face daily. Known for his engagingly personal approach, his messages are both dynamic & inspiring. When coupled with his own Cycle-Breaking experience his blunt essays on reality and remarkable ability to reach even the most jaded of minds, has helped thousands of youth nationwide become peak performers academically, spiritually and personally. Eric has electrified audiences ranging from Fortune 500 companies to urban educators, collegiate athletic programs and inner-city youth development agencies with the message of his own life's struggles and the principles, insights and strategies he used to overcome them. Eric is no stranger to the ills that plague our communities as he was born in Chicago, IL and raised on the streets of Detroit, MI. His childhood and adolescent years were difficult, and his life struggles and personal identity issues were intensified because like so many, he did not establish a relationship with his biological father until his early thirties. Handwritten autograph by Eric Thomas himself!




The Secret Code of Success: 7 Hidden Steps to More Wealth and Happiness

happinessAuthor: Noah St. John
Binding: Hardcover
Features:
  • HarperBusiness

Brand: HarperBusiness
Creator(s):
  • Jack Canfield

Studio: Collins Business
Label: Collins Business
Publisher: Collins Business
Manufacturer: Collins Business

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

Americans spend more than $11 billion a year on self-help products—everything from books to diet pills to career coaches to seminars. So why—with all this time, money, and energy being spent—are so few people living the life they really want? Why are millions of smart, talented, motivated people still going through life with one foot on the brake?

Here's the real Secret: You don't need any more how-to-succeed information to reach your full potential.

The problem isn't lack of motivation or lack of information. The real problem is that most people focus on the "how-to" aspects of success taught by traditional self-help programs, without coming to terms with what productivity expert Noah St. John calls your "head trash"—the subconscious, emotional roadblocks that prevent people from acting on their real hopes, dreams, and ambitions. In this groundbreaking book, based on work with thousands of clients around the world, Noah St. John has created a remarkable, step-by-step approach that helps you achieve long-term happiness, success, and wealth. In The Secret Code of Success, you will learn how to:

  • Eliminate the causes of self-sabotage and fear of success
  • Allow yourself to make more money
  • Remove stress while dramatically increasing personal productivity
  • Improve relationships with coworkers, family, and friends
  • Experience enhanced feelings of happiness, connection, and love

The Secret Code of Success shows that, when it comes to success, the conscious mind is exactly the wrong place to start. It's only when we first conquer the self-sabotage of our subconscious (which accounts for 90 percent of our behavior) that we can truly begin to enjoy a life filled with success. This insight is at the core of The Secret Code of Success and leads to Noah's revolutionary 7-step method for eliminating these psychological obstacles. True financial freedom and personal success is possible at last!

The Secret Code of Success shows you how to get your foot off the brake and start living the life you deserve.





Greatness Is Upon You: Laying the Foundation

happinessAuthor: Eric Thomas
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook
Creator(s):
  • Bob Proctor

Studio: Eric Thomas and Associates Publications
Label: Eric Thomas and Associates Publications
Publisher: Eric Thomas and Associates Publications
Manufacturer: Eric Thomas and Associates Publications

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Greatness Is Upon You: Laying the Foundation is the first part of Eric Thomas' sophomore release, Greatness Is Upon You in eBook form. This set contains the fundamental lessons and principals Eric teaches as being necessary for character development.




happiness
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}