هل الناس المتدينون أكثر سعادة من غير المتدينين؟

هل الناس المتدينون أكثر سعادة من غير المتدينين؟
مستويات السعادة ورضا الحياة تختلف عبر مجموعات دينية مختلفة.

ما الذي يجعل الناس سعداء؟ هذا السؤال قد يكون من الصعب الإجابة عليه. تمت مناقشة السعادة عبر التاريخ. الفلاسفة والمفكرين والناشطين ، مثل أريستيبس وأرسطو وتشوانغزي وجان جاك روسو وجيريمي بينتان وبرتراند رسل ، اعتبروا السعادة والرضا عن الحياة أحد الأهداف العليا للدوافع البشرية.

لكن السعادة ورضا الحياة يمكن أن يكونا صعبان في تحديده. بينما يشكل كلاهما جزءًا من رفاهية الشخص ، تشير السعادة إلى مشاعر الفرد أو مشاعره أو مزاجه. من ناحية أخرى ، فإن إرضاء الحياة يتعلق أكثر بالطريقة التي قد يفكر بها الناس في حياتهم ككل - بما في ذلك علاقاتهم.

البحث السابق يشير إلى أن "الشخص السعيد" هو شاب ، يتمتع بصحة جيدة ، متعلم جيد ، جيد الأجر ، متفائل ومنفتح. ووجد نفس البحث أن أسعد الناس يميلون إلى أن يكونوا متدينين ، متزوجين ، مع تقدير عالٍ لذاتهم ومعنويات وظيفية وطموحات متواضعة. يبدو أن جنسك ومستوى ذكائك لا يدخلان بالضرورة فيه.

تشير البحوث في جميع أنحاء العالم ، ينتمي أكثر من 84٪ من الأشخاص إلى مجموعة دينية أو متصلين بها. و لنا البحوث التي أجريت مؤخرا ينظر في ما إذا كانت الأديان المختلفة تواجه مستويات مختلفة من السعادة ورضا الحياة. تظهر النتائج أن التدين الفردي ومستوى التنمية في بلدهم يؤثران على سعادة الناس ورضاهم عن الحياة.

بحث السعادة

تبحث دراستنا في عدد كبير من المجموعات الدينية المختلفة عبر بلدان 100 - من 1981 إلى 2014 - باستخدام بيانات من مسح القيمة العالمية.

تشير النتائج التي توصلنا إليها إلى أن البروتستانت والبوذيين والروم الكاثوليك أكثر سعادة وأكثر رضى عن حياتهم مقارنة مع المجموعات الأخرى. كان اليهود ، والهندوس ، والمسلمون ، وغير المتدينين في الوسط ، بينما وجد المسيحيون الأرثوذكس أن لديهم أدنى معدلات السعادة والرضا عن الحياة.

في بحثنا ، وجدنا أن هناك العديد من العوامل المرتبطة بشكل إيجابي مع السعادة ورضا الحياة. وشملت هذه كونها بروتستانتية ، إناث ، متزوجة وأصغر (16 to 24 years old). وجاء الوضع المالي للأسرة أيضا ، كما هو الحال بالنسبة لحالة الشخص الصحية وحرية الاختيار.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


لقد اكتشفنا أن الفخر والثقة الوطنيين كانا مهمين من حيث تصنيفات السعادة ، كما كان الحال بالنسبة للأصدقاء والعائلة ووقت الفراغ. كما تم اكتشاف أن حضور ممارسة دينية أسبوعية هو عامل مهم. من ناحية أخرى ، كان مرتبطا سلبيا العاطلين عن العمل وعلى دخل منخفض مع السعادة ورضا الحياة.

أظهرت نظرة فاحصة على حجم الارتباط بين هذه العوامل والسعادة والرضا عن الحياة أن الصحة ، والاستقرار المالي ، وحرية الاختيار ، أو السيطرة على حياة المرء هي أهم العوامل. لكن يجب القيام بمزيد من الأبحاث لفهم سبب كون بعض المجموعات الدينية أكثر سعادة ورضا من غيرها.

هدف عالمي

في السنوات الأخيرة ، الاهتمام بحوث الرفاهية صعدت - مع الاقتصاديين مثل الحائز على جائزة نوبل جوزيف ستيغليتز الموافقة على أن الوقت قد حان لتحويل التركيز من قياس الإنتاج الاقتصادي ، لقياس سعادة الناس ورضاهم عن الحياة.

ولكن لجعل السعادة البشرية ، فإن الدليل الشامل للتقدم البشري يتطلب بيانات جيدة عن نوعية حياة البشر - وهذا أمر لا يزال للأسف متأخرا في معظم البلدان.

في هذه الأثناء ، قد يكون من المفيد للأفراد والحكومات التعامل مع علم النفس الإيجابي. أبحاث جديدة يظهر أن المدارس التي تدرس علم النفس الإيجابي تحسن بشكل جذري سعادة التلاميذ في بلدان متنوعة مثل بيرو والصين وبوتان وأستراليا.

المحادثةمن الواضح حينها أنه في حين أن السعادة قد تعني أشياء مختلفة لأشخاص مختلفين ، فهناك بعض المبادئ الأساسية التي تجعلنا نشعر بالسعادة أو التعيس. وكما تشير نتائجنا ، من خلال تحسين الوصول إلى الرعاية الصحية ودعم احتياجاتهم المالية الأساسية ، يمكن للحكومات أن تفعل الكثير للمساعدة في تعزيز رفاهية الناس ورضاهم عن الحياة.

نبذة عن الكاتب

Kayonda Hubert Ngamaba ، باحث مشارك ، قسم السياسة الاجتماعية والعمل الاجتماعي ، جامعة يورك

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتاب من هذا المؤلف

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = Kayonda Hubert Ngamaba؛ maxresults = 1}

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = السعادة، maxresults = 2}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Are Religious People Happier Than Non-Religious People?

happiness

Are Religious People Happier Than Non-Religious People?
Happiness and life satisfaction levels vary across different religious groups.

What makes people happy? This question can be difficult to answer. Happiness has been discussed throughout history. Philosophers, thinkers and activists, such as Aristippus, Aristotle, Zhuangzi, Jean Jacques Rousseau, Jeremy Benthan and Bertrand Russell, have considered happiness and life satisfaction to be one of the highest goals of human motivation.

But happiness and life satisfaction can be tricky to define. While both make up part of a person’s well-being, happiness refers to an individual’s emotions, feelings or moods. Life satisfaction, on the other hand, is more to do with the way people might think about their life as a whole – including their relationships.

Previous research suggests the “happy person” is young, healthy, well-educated, well-paid, optimistic and extroverted. The same research found the happiest people tend to be religious, married, with high self-esteem and job morale and modest aspirations. It seems your gender and level of intelligence don’t necessarily come into it.

Research suggests that around the world, over 84% of people belong to or are connected to a religious group. And our recent research looks at whether different religions experience different levels of happiness and life satisfaction. The findings show that individual religiosity and their country’s level of development both affect people’s happiness and life satisfaction.

Happiness research

Our study looks at a large number of different religious groups across 100 countries – from 1981 to 2014 – using data from the World Value Survey.

Our findings suggest that Protestants, Buddhists and Roman Catholics are happier and more satisfied with their lives, compared with other groups. Jews, Hindus, Muslims, and the non-religious were in between, while Orthodox Christians were found to have the lowest happiness and life satisfaction rates.

In our research, we found that many factors were positively associated with happiness and life satisfaction. These included being Protestant, female, married and younger (16 to 24 years old). The household’s financial situation also came into it, as did a person’s state of health and freedom of choice.

We discovered that national pride and trust were important in terms of happiness rankings, as was having friends, family and leisure time. Attending weekly religious practice was also discovered to be an important factor. On the other hand, being unemployed and on a low income was negatively associated with happiness and life satisfaction.

A closer look at the magnitude of the association between these factors and happiness and life satisfaction revealed that health, financial stability and freedom of choice, or control over one’s life were the most important factors. But more research needs to be done to understand why some religious groups are happier and more satisfied than others.

A global objective

In recent years, interest in well-being research has surged – with economists such as Nobel laureate Joseph Stiglitz agreeing it is time to shift the emphasis from measuring economic production, to measuring people’s happiness and life satisfaction.

But to make human happiness the overall guide to human progress requires good data on the quality of human lives – and this is something that is sadly still lagging in most countries.

In the meantime, it might be worth both individuals and governments engaging with positive psychology. New research shows that schools teaching positive psychology radically improves the happiness of pupils in countries as varied as Peru, China, Bhutan and Australia.

The ConversationIt’s clear then that while happiness can mean different things to different people, there are some fundamental uniting principles that make us more likely to feel happy or unhappy. And as our findings suggest, by improving access to healthcare and supporting their basic financial needs, governments can do much to help boost people’s well-being and life satisfaction.

About The Author

Kayonda Hubert Ngamaba, Research Associate, Social Policy and Social Work Department, University of York

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Book by this Author

Can Social Protection Work in Fragile States?: Case study: Zimbabwe, Ethiopia, Democratic Republic of Congo, and Somalia
happinessAuthor: Kayonda Hubert Ngamaba
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: LAP LAMBERT Academic Publishing
List Price: $28.00

Buy Now

Related Books

Happiness: A Memoir: The Crooked Little Road to Semi-Ever After
happinessAuthor: Heather Harpham
Binding: Hardcover
Format: Deckle Edge
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co.
List Price: $27.00

Buy Now

Happiness: A Novel
happinessAuthor: Aminatta Forna
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: Atlantic Monthly Press
List Price: $26.00

Buy Now

happiness
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}