العلاج النفسي ليس ضار: على الآثار الجانبية لل CBT

تقديم المشورة

العلاج النفسي ليس ضار: على الآثار الجانبية لل CBT

إن الطبيعة المنظمة للعلاج السلوكي المعرفي (CBT) ومبادئه المحددة بوضوح (استنادًا إلى الروابط بين الأفكار والمشاعر والسلوكيات) تجعل من السهل نسبيًا تدريب الممارسين وضمان التسليم المعياري وقياس النتائج. وبالتالي ، أحدثت CBT ثورة في الرعاية الصحية العقلية ، مما سمح لعلماء النفس بخلط العلاج من فن إلى علم. بالنسبة للعديد من حالات الصحة العقلية ، يوجد الآن دليل كبير على أن العلاج السلوكي المعرفي هو ، أو أكثر ، فعال من العلاجات الدوائية. ومع ذلك ، تماما مثل أي شكل من أشكال العلاج النفسي ، فإن العلاج المعرفي السلوكي لا يخلو من مخاطر الآثار الضارة غير المرغوب فيها.

A الأخيرة ورقة in العلاج المعرفي والبحوث يحدد طبيعة وانتشار هذه الآثار غير المرغوب فيها ، على أساس المقابلات المنظمة مع المعالجين النفسيين المدربين 100 CBT. "هذا ما ينبغي أن يعرفه المعالجون عندما يبلغون مرضاهم عن المزايا والمخاطر المقبلة للعلاج" ، تكتب ماري لويز شيرملي-هاوبت من جامعة شاريتي للطب في برلين وزملائها.

سأل الباحثون كل معالج من العلاج السلوكي المعرفي (78 في المائة منهم من الإناث ، ومتوسط ​​العمر 32 ، بمتوسط ​​خبرة خمس سنوات) لتذكير آخر زبون لهم شاركوا في جلسات 10 على الأقل من العلاج المعرفي السلوكي. معظم العملاء الذين تم اختيارهم لديهم تشخيص للاكتئاب أو القلق أو اضطراب الشخصية ، في المدى المعتدل إلى المعتدل.

المقابلة - وهو طبيب نفساني سريري من ذوي الخبرة المدربين في العلاج المعرفي السلوكي - اتبعت قائمة من الأحداث غير المرغوب فيها والنتائج العلاجية السلبية ، وطلب من كل معالج ما إذا كان العميل قد تعرض لأي من 17 الآثار غير المرغوب فيها المحتملة من العلاج ، مثل التدهور ، أعراض جديدة ، الضيق ، التوتر في العلاقات الأسرية أو وصمة العار.

أبلغ المعالجون عن متوسط ​​أحداث 3.7 غير المرغوب فيها لكل عميل. واستناداً إلى وصف المعالجين ، قام القائم بإجراء المقابلة بتصنيف احتمالية أن يكون كل حدث غير مرغوب فيه منسوبًا بشكل مباشر إلى العملية العلاجية - مما يجعله تأثيرًا جانبيًا حقيقيًا (تم تصنيف فقط تلك المصنفة على أنها "مرتبطة بالتأكيد بالعلاج").

بعد هذه العملية ، قدر الباحثون أن نسبة 43 في المائة من العملاء قد عانوا من تأثير جانبي واحد على الأقل غير مرغوب فيه من CBT ، مساويا لمتوسط ​​0.57 لكل عميل (عميل واحد لديه أربعة ، الحد الأقصى المسموح به من قبل منهجية البحث): في أغلب الأحيان استغاثة وتدهور وتوتر في العلاقات الأسرية. تم تصنيف أكثر من نسبة 40 في المائة من الآثار الجانبية على أنها شديدة أو شديدة جدًا ، واستمر أكثر من ربعها لأسابيع أو شهور ، على الرغم من أن الغالبية كانت خفيفة أو معتدلة وعابرة. وقال الباحثون "العلاج النفسي ليس ضارا." لم يكن هناك أي دليل على أن أي من الآثار الجانبية كانت بسبب ممارسة غير أخلاقية.

تشمل الأمثلة على الآثار الجانبية الشديدة: "الانتحار ، الانفصال ، التغذية المرتدة السلبية من أفراد الأسرة ، الانسحاب من الأقارب ، الشعور بالعار والذنب ، أو البكاء المكثف والاضطراب العاطفي أثناء الجلسات".

Sلا تكون التأثيرات المدهشة مثيرة للدهشة عندما تعتقد أن العلاج السلوكي المعرفي يمكن أن يشمل علاج التعرض (أي التعرض التدريجي للحالات التي تثير القلق) ؛ مناقشة والتركيز على مشاكل الفرد. التأمل في مصادر ضغوط الشخص ، مثل العلاقات الصعبة ؛ الإحباط لعدم التقدم ؛ ومشاعر الاعتماد المتزايد على دعم المعالج.

وكلما طالت مدة علاج العميل ، زاد احتمال تعرضه لواحد أو أكثر من الآثار الجانبية. أيضا ، وضد التوقعات ، كان العملاء الذين يعانون من أعراض أكثر اعتدالا عرضة لتأثيرات جانبية ، ربما لأن الأعراض الأكثر خطورة تخفي مثل هذه الآثار.

ومن المثير للاهتمام ، قبل إجراء المقابلات المهيكلة ، طلب من المعالجين أن يقولوا ، من فوق رؤوسهم ، ما إذا كانوا يشعرون بأن عميلهم كان لديه أي آثار غير مرغوب فيها - في هذه الحالة ، قال 74 في المائة أنهم لم يفعلوا ذلك. في كثير من الأحيان ، فقط عندما يُطلب منهم التفكير من خلال الأمثلة المختلفة للتأثيرات الجانبية المحتملة ، يصبح المعالجون على دراية بانتشارها. هذا الدقات مع في وقت سابق بحث وهذا يوثق التحيزات التي يمكن أن تدفع المعالجين إلى الاعتقاد بأن العلاج كان ناجحًا عندما لا يكون العلاج ناجحًا.

وقالت شرمولي-هاوبت وزملاؤها إن اللغز الذي تثيره النتائج التي توصلوا إليها هو ما إذا كانت ردود الفعل غير السارة التي قد تكون جانبا لا يمكن تجنبه في العملية العلاجية ينبغي اعتبارها آثارا جانبية. وقالا "نحن ندعم أنها آثار جانبية رغم أنها قد تكون لا يمكن تفاديها أو مبررها أو حتى أنها ضرورية أو مقصودة." "إذا كان هناك علاج فعال على قدم المساواة لم يشجع القلق لدى المريض ، فإن الشكل الحالي من علاج التعرض يصبح غير أخلاقي لأنه عبء على المريض".

هناك أسباب للتعامل مع النتائج الجديدة بحذر: اعتمدت النتائج على استدعاء المعالجين (يمكن للتغلب على هذه المشكلة في الوقت الراهن أو المنهجية اليومية) ، وحوالي نصف العملاء كانوا على دواء نفساني ، ممكن أن بعض الآثار السلبية يمكن أن تعزى إلى الأدوية بدلا من العلاج (على الرغم من أن هذا لم يكن الحكم الذي يجري المقابلة معه). في الوقت نفسه ، تذكر أن الباحثين استخدموا تقديرًا متحفظًا للآثار الجانبية ، فقط بالنظر إلى تلك التي كانت "بالتأكيد" مرتبطة بالعلاج من خلال تقديرهم ، وتجاهل تلك التي اعتبروها "بدلاً من" أو "على الأرجح" مرتبطة.

وخلص الباحثون إلى أن: "الوعي والاعتراف بالأحداث غير المرغوب فيها والآثار الجانبية في جميع العلاجات سوف تفيد المرضى ، وتحسين العلاج أو الحد من الاستنزاف ، مما يشبه الاستفادة من الرصد القائم على القياس لتقدم العلاج".

نبذة عن الكاتب

كريستيان جاريت هو عالم علوم عصبية إدراكي تحول الكاتب العلمي ، الذي ظهر عمله عالم جديد, الحارس و علم النفس اليوم، من بين أمور أخرى. وهو محرر في مجلة دايجست دايجست المدونة نشرت من قبل جمعية علم النفس البريطانية ، ويعرض لهم PsychCrunch تدوين صوتي. كتابه الأخير هو الشخصية: استخدام علم تغيير الشخصية لصالحك (قادم، صريح، يظهر). يعيش في برايتون بالمملكة المتحدة.

وقد نشرت هذه المقالة أصلا في دهر وقد أعيد نشرها تحت المشاع الإبداعي.

كتب بواسطة هذا المؤلف

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = Christian Jarrett؛ maxresults = 3}

تقديم المشورة
enafarزكية-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Psychotherapy Is Not Harmless: On The Side Effects Of CBT

Psychotherapy Is Not Harmless: On The Side Effects Of CBT

The structured nature of cognitive behavioural therapy (CBT) and its clearly defined principles (based on the links between thoughts, feelings and behaviours) make it relatively easy to train practitioners, ensure standardised delivery and measure outcomes. Consequently, CBT has revolutionised mental-health care, allowing psychologists to alchemise therapy from an art into a science. For many mental-health conditions, there is now considerable evidence that CBT is as, or more, effective than drug treatments. Yet, just like any form of psychotherapy, CBT is not without the risk of unwanted adverse effects.

A recent paper in Cognitive Therapy and Research outlines the nature and prevalence of these unwanted effects, based on structured interviews with 100 CBT-trained psychotherapists. ‘This is what therapists should know about when informing their patients about the upcoming merits and risks of treatment,’ write Marie-Luise Schermuly-Haupt of the Charité University of Medicine in Berlin and her colleagues.

The researchers asked each CBT therapist (78 per cent of whom were female, average age 32, with an average of five years’ experience) to recall their most recent client who had taken part in at least 10 sessions of CBT. The chosen clients mostly had diagnoses of depression, anxiety or personality disorder, in the mild to moderate range.

The interviewer – an experienced clinical psychologist trained in CBT – followed the checklist of unwanted events and adverse treatment outcomes, asking each therapist whether the client had experienced any of 17 possible unwanted effects from therapy, such as deterioration, new symptoms, distress, strains in family relations or stigma.

The therapists reported an average of 3.7 unwanted events per client. Based on the therapists’ descriptions, the interviewer then rated the likelihood of each unwanted event being directly attributable to the therapeutic process – making it a true side effect (only those rated as ‘definitely related to treatment’ were categorised as such).

Following this process, the researchers estimated that 43 per cent of clients had experienced at least one unwanted side effect from CBT, equating to an average of 0.57 per client (one client had four, the maximum allowed by the research methodology): most often distress, deterioration and strains in family relations. More than 40 per cent of side effects were rated as severe or very severe, and more than a quarter lasted weeks or months, though the majority were mild or moderate and transient. ‘Psychotherapy is not harmless,’ the researchers said. There was no evidence that any of the side effects were due to unethical practice.

Examples of severe side effects included: ‘suicidality, breakups, negative feedback from family members, withdrawal from relatives, feelings of shame and guilt, or intensive crying and emotional disturbance during sessions’.

Such effects are not so surprising when you consider that CBT can involve exposure therapy (ie, gradual exposure to situations that provoke anxiety); discussing and focusing on one’s problems; reflecting on the sources of one’s stress, such as difficult relationships; frustration at lack of progress; and feelings of growing dependency on a therapist’s support.

The longer that a client had been in therapy, the more likely she was to have experienced one or more side effects. Also, and against expectations, clients with milder symptoms were more likely to experience side effects, perhaps because more serious symptoms mask such effects.

Interestingly, before the structured interviews, the therapists were asked to say, off the top of their heads, whether they felt that their client had had any unwanted effects – in this case, 74 per cent said they had not. Often it was only when prompted to think through the different examples of potential side effects that therapists became aware of their prevalence. This chimes with earlier research that’s documented the biases which can lead therapists to believe that therapy has been successful when it hasn’t.

Schermuly-Haupt and her colleagues said a conundrum raised by their findings was whether unpleasant reactions that might be an unavoidable aspect of the therapeutic process should be considered side effects. ‘We argue that they are side effects although they may be unavoidable, justified, or even needed and intended,’ they said. ‘If there were an equally effective treatment that did not promote anxiety in the patient, the present form of exposure treatment would become unethical as it is a burden to the patient.’

There are reasons to treat the new findings with caution: the results depended on the therapists’ recall (an in-the-moment or diary-based methodology could overcome this problem), and about half the clients were also on psychoactive medication, so it’s possible that some adverse effects could be attributable to the drugs rather than the therapy (even though this was not the interviewer’s judgment). At the same time, though, remember that the researchers used a conservative estimate of side effects, only considering those that were ‘definitely’ related to therapy by their estimation, and ignoring those that they considered ‘rather’ or ‘most probably’ related.

The researchers concluded that: ‘An awareness and recognition of unwanted events and side effects in all therapies will benefit patients, improve therapy or reduce attrition, analogous to the benefit of measurement-based monitoring of treatment progress.’

About The Author

Christian Jarrett is a cognitive neuroscientist turned science writer, whose work has appeared in New Scientist, The Guardian and Psychology Today, among others. He is editor of the Research Digest blog published by the British Psychological Society, and presents their PsychCrunch podcast. His latest book is Personology: Using the Science of Personality Change to Your Advantage (forthcoming). He lives in Brighton, UK.

This article was originally published at Aeon and has been republished under Creative Commons.

Books by this Author

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=Christian Jarrett;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

HAPPINESS & SUCCESS

Do Not Give Up What You Want Most for What You Want Right Now

Do Not Give Up What You Want Most for What You Want Right Now

Carly Pollack
The most powerful influence on the human mind is our core beliefs about our identity, who we think we are. If you have a core belief that you are lazy or that the world is out to get you, no matter how much you try to be more productive or to feel safer in…

SPIRITUALITY & MINDFULNESS

Thich Nhat Hanh, The Buddhist Monk Who Introduced Mindfulness To The West, Prepares To Die

Thich Nhat Hanh, The Buddhist Monk Who Introduced Mindfulness To The West, Prepares To Die

Brooke Schedneck
Thich Nhat Hanh, the monk who popularized mindfulness in the West, has returned home to Vietnam to enjoy the rest of his life.

RELATIONSHIPS

Parents Of Girls Are Less Likely To Stress Computer Skills

Parents Of Girls Are Less Likely To Stress Computer Skills

Matt Swayne
While most first-year college students in a new study had positive feelings about computing and computer-related majors and jobs, gender and socioeconomic status seemed to play a role in whether parents shaped those perceptions.

INTUITION & AWARENESS

3 Reasons Why People Fall For Politicians' Lies

3 Reasons Why People Fall For Politicians' Lies

Mack Clayton Shelley, II
Why do people make such poor decisions about politics? Why are they so often distracted by lies, irrelevant alternatives and specious arguments?

ATTITUDE ADJUSTMENTS

Boys' Attention And Prosocial Behavior Linked To Earnings 30 Years Later

Boys' Attention And Prosocial Behavior Linked To Earnings 30 Years Later

Francis Vergunst
New research, published in the medical journal JAMA Pediatrics, shows that boys from low-income backgrounds who were inattentive in kindergarten had lower earnings at age 36 while boys who were prosocial earned more.