الانتقال من قصتك القديمة إلى حقيقة قصتك الجديدة

الانتقال من قصة OId إلى حقيقة قصتك الجديدة

وكما أن حضارتنا تمر بمرحلة انتقالية بين القصص ، فإن الكثير منا أيضًا فرديًا. عندما ننظر إلى القصص المختلفة التي نحكيها عن حياتنا ، تصبح بعض الأنماط واضحة ، وقد يكون من الممكن التمييز بين هذين النمطين (أو ربما أكثر) المواضيع المسيطرة. قد يمثل المرء "القصة القديمة" لحياة المرء ، والآخر "القصة الجديدة". الأول يرتبط في كثير من الأحيان بالعديد من الجروح التي يولد بها أو نشأ فيها كعضو في هذه الثقافة. تمثل القصة الثانية أين يذهب المرء ، ويتسق مع شفاء هذه الجروح.

في ما يلي عملية تسمى "ما هو صحيح؟" تم تصميمها ، أولاً ، لإحضار قصص المقيمين التي تكمن في داخلنا بشكل خفي في مجال وعينا من أجل تخديمهم ، وثانيًا ، من خلال المانترا "ما هو الصواب؟" قصة الحامل في الفضاء بين القصص ، المكان الذي تتوفر فيه الحقيقة.

نشأت العملية في معتكف شاركت فيه مع المخترع الاجتماعي الرائع بيل كاوث في 2010 ، وتطورت بشكل كبير منذ ذلك الحين. سأقدم هنا نسخة أصلية إلى حدٍ ما بحيث يمكن للقارئ أن يتكيف مع تعليمه وممارسته الخاصة.

"ما هو صحيح؟" معالجة

أولاً ، كل شخص حاضر يحدد وضعًا أو اختيارًا يواجهه ، شكًا ، عدم يقين - وهو أمر "لا تدري ما تفكر به" أو "لا تعرف كيف تقرر". على قطعة من الورق ، وصف الحقائق المجردة للوضع ، ثم اكتب تفسيران منفصلين لها بعنوان "Story #1" و "Story #2". تصف هذه القصص ما يعنيه الموقف ، وماذا حولها ، وما تقوله عن الناس متورط.

هنا مثال على نفسي. عندما انتهيت من المسودة الأولى من صعود الإنسانية بدأت أبحث عن ناشر. وقد أعجبنا بجمال وعمق هذا الكتاب الذي أمضيته منذ سنوات عديدة في الكتابة ، فقد كان مع آمال كبيرة في أنني أرسلت رزم درجات مناسبة للعديد من الناشرين والوكلاء. أنا متأكد من أنك تستطيع تخمين ما حدث. لم يُظهر ناشر واحد أكثر شيء مثير للاهتمام. لا يوجد وكيل أراد أن يأخذها. كيف يمكن أن يفشل أي شخص في إغراء (ما رأيته) عمق أطروحة الكتاب وجمال المقتطفات؟ حسنًا ، كان لديّ تفسيران يسكنانني في وقت واحد ، وهما يتلوهان ويتضاءلان في تأثيرهما النسبي.

كانت قصة #1 كما يلي: "واجه ، تشارلز ، السبب في رفضهم للكتاب هو ببساطة أنه ليس جيدًا جدًا. من أنت لمحاولة مثل هذا السرد الفوقية التاريخية الطموحة؟ ليس لديك شهادة الدكتوراه في أي من المجالات التي تكتب عنها. أنت هاوي ، ماهرة. السبب وراء عدم وجود رؤيتك في الكتب التي قرأتها هو أنها تافهة جدًا وصبيانية بالنسبة لأي شخص يزعج نشرها. ربما يجب أن تعود إلى المدرسة العليا وتدفع مستحقاتك ، وتكون مؤهلاً في يوم من الأيام لتقديم مساهمة متواضعة في الحضارة التي ترفضها أنت ، في ثورتك القديمة. ليس مجتمعنا هو كل شيء خاطئ ، هو أنك لا تستطيع قطعه تماماً.

وهنا كانت قصة #2: "السبب الذي يجعلهم يرفضون الكتاب هو أنه أصلي وفريد ​​من نوعه لدرجة أنهم لا يملكون فئة تضعه فيه ، ولا حتى عينيه لرؤيته. من المتوقع أن يرفض الكتاب الذي بني على تلك الأيديولوجية كتاباً شديد الصعوبة إلى الأيديولوجية الحاسمة لحضارتنا. فقط اختصاصي ، قادم من خارج أي تخصص راسخ ، يمكنه كتابة مثل هذا الكتاب ؛ إن عدم وجود مكان شرعي في بنية السلطة في مجتمعنا هو ما يجعل الكتاب ممكنًا ، وفي الوقت نفسه ، ما يجعل قبولًا سريعًا بعيد المنال ".

هناك العديد من الميزات لهذه القصص تستحق الملاحظة. أولاً ، لا يمكن التمييز بينهم على أساس العقل أو الدليل. كلاهما يناسب الحقائق. ثانياً ، من الواضح تماماً أن لا الحكاية هي بناء فكري محايد عاطفياً. كل منها مرتبط ليس فقط بحالة عاطفية ، ولكن أيضًا بقصة حياة وكوكبة من المعتقدات حول العالم. ثالثًا ، تثير كل قصة بطبيعة الحال مسارًا مختلفًا للعمل. هذا أمر متوقع: القصص تحتوي على أدوار ، والقصص التي نخبر أنفسنا بها عن حياتنا تحدد الأدوار التي نلعبها نحن.

بعد أن قام كل شخص بتدوين موقف وقسمين حول هذا الموضوع ، يتجمع الجميع في أزواج. كل زوج لديه متحدث و سائل. يصف المتحدث ما كتبه ، ومن الأفضل أن يأخذ دقيقة أو دقيقتين للقيام بذلك. يستغرق الأمر وقتًا طويلاً فقط لتوصيل أساسيات معظم القصص.

يسأل المستمع ، الذي يواجه المتحدث ، "ما هو الصواب؟" يستجيب المتحدث من خلال التحدث بأي شيء يبدو حقيقيًا في انتباه المستمع العميق. قد تقول ، "قصة #1 صحيحة" أو "قصة #2 صحيحة" ، أو قد تقول ، "في الواقع ، أعتقد أن ما هو صحيح هو هذا الشيء الثالث ..." أو "ما هو صحيح هو أنني أتمنى أن أصدق قصة #2 ، لكنني أخشى أن القصة الأولى صحيحة. "

بعد الإجابة ، يتابع السائل السؤال التالي: "ما هو الشيء الآخر صحيح؟" ، أو إذا كانت الإجابة مجرد قصة أخرى ، ربما بـ "نعم ، وما هو صحيح؟" أسئلة مفيدة أخرى هي: "إذا كان هذا صحيحًا ، فما هو الشيء الآخر صحيح؟ "و" ما هو صحيح الآن؟ "طريقة أخرى لتشغيل العملية هي ببساطة لتكرار السؤال الأولي ،" ما هو صحيح؟ "مرارا وتكرارا.

هذه هي عملية خفية ، لا يمكن التنبؤ بها ، وبديهية للغاية. الفكرة هي خلق مساحة يمكن أن تظهر فيها الحقيقة. قد يحدث على الفور ، أو قد يستغرق عدة دقائق. في وقت ما ، سيشعر المتحدث والسائل أن الحقيقة التي أرادت أن تخرج قد ظهرت ، وعندها يمكن أن يقول السائل: "هل أكملت الآن؟" ربما يقول المتحدث نعم ، أو ربما يقول ، "في الواقع ، هناك شيء آخر ..."

في كثير من الأحيان ، فإن الحقيقة التي تظهر هي حول مشاعر المتحدث الحقيقية في الأمر ، أو شيء تعرفه دون أدنى شك. عندما يخرج ، هناك شعور بالإفراز ، يرافقه أحيانًا زفير تنفس يشبه التنفس. وقد يتحول المتكلم إلى ما قبل ذلك ، وقد يمر بأزمة صغيرة ، ومحاولة لتجنب ذلك من خلال إثراء الحالة. وظيفة السائل هي اختصار هذا التشتيت والعودة مرارًا وتكرارًا إلى "ما هو الصواب؟" عندما تظهر الحقيقة المخفية ، عادةً ما يكون ذلك واضحًا جدًا ، وغالبًا ما يكون من المفارقات مفاجئًا إلى حدٍ ما ، وهو شيء "أمام وجه لا أستطيع رؤيته ".

بعض الأمثلة على الحقائق

لنقدم لك نكهة أفضل لما يخرج من هذه العملية ، إليك بعض الأمثلة على الحقائق التي رأيتها تظهر:

"من أنا تمزح ، لقد قمت بالفعل باختياري! كل هذا الترشيد هو مجرد وسيلة لإعطائي الإذن ".

"أنت تعرف ، الحقيقة هي أنني لا أهتم بعد الآن. لقد قلت لنفسي أنني يجب أن أهتم ، لكن بصراحة ، أنا لا أفعل. "

"الحقيقة هي ، أنا خائفة من ما سيقوله الناس."

"الحقيقة هي أنني أستخدم الخوف من فقدان مدخراتي كغطاء لما كنت أخاف منه حقاً: أنني أهدر حياتي".

إذا استمر المتكلم في الرقص حول الحقيقة ، يمكن للسائل ، إذا تمكن من رؤيته ، أن يقدم عرضًا على غرار "هل هذا صحيح؟"

إن "التكنولوجيا" الرئيسية في هذه العملية هي ما يطلق عليه بعض الناس "احتجاز الفضاء". تأتي الحقيقة كهدية ، ترتقي من خلال الشقوق بين قصصنا. إنه ليس شيئًا يمكننا اكتشافه. يأتي ، بالأحرى ، على الرغم من محاولاتنا لمعرفة ذلك. إنه كشف. قد يتطلب الحصول على مساحة لذلك الكثير من الصبر ، وحتى الثبات ، حيث تسعى القصص والمشاعر المرتبطة بها إلى جذبنا.

بمجرد أن تظهر الحقيقة ، لا يوجد شيء آخر للقيام به. تم الانتهاء من العملية ، وبعد دقيقة من الصمت ، أدوار المتحدث ومسؤول التبديل.

بعض العمليات مثل هذه تشجع المتحدث على تقديم نوع ما من الإعلان أو الالتزام بناءً على الحقيقة التي اكتشفتها. أنصح ضد ذلك. الحقيقة تمارس قوتها الخاصة. بعد تحقيق هذه الإنجازات ، أصبحت الإجراءات التي بدت ذات يوم تبدو غير متصورة أمرا ذا أهمية. الحالات التي كانت غامضة بشكل يائس تصبح واضحة وضوح الشمس. تتلاشى الجدل الداخلي المتألم من تلقاء نفسها ، دون أي صراع لتركهم. عملية "ما هو صحيح؟" يجلب شيئا جديدا في مجال الاهتمام ، وبالتالي في أنفسنا. في الواقع ، هناك سؤال آخر يتربص وراء السؤال التالي: "ما هو الصواب؟" هذا السؤال الآخر هو "من أنا؟"

وينطبق نفس الشيء على تجارب الطبيعة والموت والخسارة والصمت وما إلى ذلك. الحقيقة التي يجلبونها تغير لنا ، تحل محل القصة. لا شيء يحتاج إلى القيام به ، ولكن الكثير من العمل سيحدث.

من قصصنا العودة إلى الحقيقة

لقد لاحظت أن الحياة نفسها تجري نوعًا من حوار "ما هو صحيح؟" مع كل واحد منا. تتطفل التجارب على أي قصة نعيشها ، مما يخرجنا من القصة ويرجع إلى الحقيقة ، ويدعونا إلى إعادة اكتشاف أجزاء من أنفسنا تخلفها قصتنا. والحياة لا هوادة فيها في استجوابها.

ما الحياة لنا ، نحن ، كجزء من حياة الآخرين ، يمكن أن نفعله لهم ، على المستوى الشخصي ، وعلى مستوى النشاط الاجتماعي والروحاني والسياسي. على المستوى الشخصي ، يمكننا رفض الدعوات المتكررة التي نحصل عليها للمشاركة في الأعمال الدرامية التي يخلقها الناس والتي تعزز قصة اللوم والحكم والاستياء والتفوق وما إلى ذلك.

صديق يدعو للشكوى من حبيبها السابق. "وبعد ذلك ، كان لديه الجرأة لمجرد الجلوس في السيارة في انتظار لي الهرولة وجلب له حقيبة". من المفترض أن تنضم إلى إدانة وتؤكد قصة "أليس فظيعة وليس لك جيد. بدلا من ذلك قد تلعب "ما هو صحيح؟" (في شكل مقنع) ، ربما ببساطة عن طريق تسمية وإعطاء الانتباه إلى الشعور. قد يزعجك صديقك لرفضه الانضمام إلى قصته. في بعض الأحيان سوف ينظر إلى هذا على أنه خيانة ، تماما مثل أي رفض للكراهية. في الواقع قد تلاحظ أنه في ترك قصة وراءك ، قد تترك وراءك الأصدقاء الذين سكنوه معك. هذا هو سبب آخر للوحدة التي هي مثل هذه السمة المميزة للفضاء بين القصص.

كانت رحلة الخروج من القديم الطبيعي إلى الجديد بالنسبة للكثيرين منا رحلة وحيدة. أخبرتنا الأصوات الداخلية والخارجية أننا كنا مجانين وغير مسؤولين وغير عمليين وساذجين. كنا مثل السباحين الذين يكافحون من خلال البحار المتقلبة ، يحصلون فقط على هواء يائس أحيانًا بما يكفي للسماح لنا بالاحتفاظ بالسباحة. الهواء هو الحقيقة. الآن نحن وحدنا لم يعد. لدينا بعضنا البعض لعقد بعضهم البعض. أنا بالتأكيد لم أخرج من الشك الذاتي حول كتابي عن طريق بعض الجهود الشخصية البطولية أو الشجاعة أو الثبات. أقف في قصة جديدة ، بقدر ما أقوم به ، بفضل المساعدة الحاسمة في اللحظات الرئيسية. أصدقائي وحلفائي يحملونني هناك عندما أكون ضعيفًا ، لأنني أضعهم عندما أكون قوية.

بدون دعم ، حتى لو كان لديك تجربة عالمية وحدانية ، بمجرد عودتك إلى حياتك ، فإن وظيفتك ، وزواجك ، وعلاقاتك ، هذه الهياكل القديمة تميل إلى سحبك إلى التوافق معها.

الاعتقاد هو ظاهرة اجتماعية

مع استثناءات نادرة ، لا يمكننا الاحتفاظ بمعتقداتنا دون التعزيز من الناس من حولنا. المعتقدات التي تحيد بشكل جوهري عن الإجماع الاجتماعي العام يصعب الحفاظ عليها بشكل خاص ، وتتطلب عادة نوعًا من الملاذ مثل العبادة ، حيث يتلقى الاعتقاد المنحرف تأكيدًا ثابتًا ، والتفاعل مع باقي المجتمع محدود. لكن يمكن قول الشيء نفسه بالنسبة لمختلف الجماعات الروحية ، والمجتمعات المتعمدة ، وحتى المؤتمرات مثل تلك التي أتحدث عنها. وهي توفر نوعًا من الحاضنات للمعتقدات الهشة والناشئة للقصة الجديدة التي تتطور. هناك يمكن أن ينمو سرير من الجذور لإعفائهم من هجرات المناخ غير العادل للاعتقاد في الخارج.

لاكتشاف مثل هذه الحاضنة قد يستغرق بعض الوقت. قد يخرج شخص ما يخرج مؤخرا من نظرة عالمية تقليدية لوحده في رفضه لها. هناك اعتقادات جديدة جيدة داخلها ، تعترف بها كأصدقاء قدامى ، والحدس من الطفولة ، ولكن دون تعبير تلك المعتقدات من قبل شخص آخر ، لا يمكن لهذه المعتقدات أن تستقر. هذا مرة أخرى هو السبب في أنه من المهم جدا أن يكون هناك دعاة للجوقة حتى تتمكن من سماع الغناء الجوقة بصوت عال. أحيانا يتلقى المرء قطعة جديدة تماما من قصة عن Interbeing التي لم يتفوه بها أحد حتى الآن ، والتي لم يكن هناك بعد واعظ ولا جوقة. ولكن حتى في ذلك الوقت ، هناك أرواح شريرة تنتظر ، المزيد والمزيد منا ، حيث تصل القصة الجديدة إلى كتلة حرجة.

هذا يحدث في عصرنا. صحيح أن المؤسسات المبنية على الفصل تبدو أكبر وأقوى من أي وقت مضى ، لكن أسسها انهارت. عدد أقل وأقل من الناس يؤمنون حقاً بالإيديولوجيات السائدة في نظامنا وتعيينهم للقيمة والمعنى والأهمية. تتبنى المنظمات الكاملة سياسات لا تتفق معها ، على وجه الخصوص ، واحدة من أعضائها. من أجل استخدام تشابه مبتذل ، قبل شهر واحد فقط من تفكيك جدار برلين ، لم يتنبأ أي مراقب جاد بأن مثل هذا الأمر قد يحدث في أي وقت قريب. انظروا كيف قوية ستاسي هو! لكن البنية التحتية لمفاهيم الناس كانت تتآكل طويلا.

وكذلك الحال بالنسبة لنا. القصة الجديدة تصل إلى الكتلة الحرجة. ولكن هل وصلت إلى ذلك؟ سوف تصل إلى ذلك؟ ربما ليس بعد. ربما هو فقط في نقطة تحول ، لحظة من التوازن. ربما يحتاج الأمر فقط إلى وزن شخص آخر يأخذ خطوة أخرى إلى الداخل interbeing لتغيير التوازن. ربما هذا الشخص هو أنت.

طبع مع إذن.

المادة المصدر

مقتبس من الفصل 33 من:
العالم أكثر جمالا قلوبنا يعرف ممكن

من جانب تشارلز ايزنشتاين

العالم الأكثر جمالا قلوبنا يعرف ممكن بواسطة تشارلز ايزنشتاينفي وقت الأزمة الاجتماعية والبيئية ، ماذا يمكننا أن نفعل كأفراد لجعل العالم مكانًا أفضل؟ هذا الكتاب الملهم والمثير للتفكير يخدم كمضاد تقويمي للسخرية والإحباط والشلل ويطغى على الكثير منا يشعر به ، ليحل محل ذلك تذكيرًا حقيقيًا لما هو صحيح: كلنا مرتبطون ، وخياراتنا الشخصية الصغيرة تحمل الطاقة التحويلية لم تكن متصورة. من خلال تبني وممارسة مبدأ الترابط هذا - الذي يطلق عليه interbeing - أصبحنا أكثر فاعلية للتغيير ولدينا تأثير إيجابي أقوى على العالم.

انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب.

عن المؤلف

تشارلز ايزنشتاينتشارلز ايزنشتاين هو متحدث وكاتب يركز على مواضيع الحضارة والوعي والمال والتطور الثقافي البشري. وقد أثبتت أفلامه القصيرة الفيروسية والمقالات التي نشرها على الإنترنت أنه فيلسوف اجتماعي يتحدى النوع الاجتماعي والمثقف المعادي للأدوار. تخرج تشارلز من جامعة ييل في 1989 وحصل على درجة في الرياضيات والفلسفة وأمضى السنوات العشر التالية كمترجم صيني-إنجليزي. وهو مؤلف العديد من الكتب ، بما في ذلك الاقتصاد المقدسة و صعود الإنسانية. زيارة موقعه على الانترنت في charleseisenstein.net

فيديو مع تشارلز: قصة التقارب

كتب بواسطة هذا المؤلف

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = "1583945350". maxresults = 1}

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = "0977622215". maxresults = 1}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Moving from Your Old Story to the Truth of Your New Story

Moving from Your OId Story to the Truth of Your New Story

Just as our civilization is in a transition between stories, so also are many of us individually. When we look at the various stories we tell ourselves about our lives, certain patterns become apparent, and it may be possible to discern in these patterns two (or possibly more) dominant themes. One might represent the “old story” of one’s life, and the other the “new story.” The first is often associated with various wounds one is born into or has grown into as a member of this culture. The second story represents where one is going, and is consistent with the healing of these wounds.

Here is a process called “What’s true?” that is designed, first, to bring resident stories that lurk invisibly inside us into our field of awareness so as to depotentiate them, and second, through the mantra “What’s true?” to bring the story-bearer into the space between stories, the space where truth is available.

The process originated in a retreat I co-led with the marvelous social inventor Bill Kauth in 2010, and has evolved considerably since then. I will present here a fairly original version of it that the reader can adapt to her own teaching and practice.

The "What's True?" Process

First, everyone present identifies a situation or choice they are facing, a doubt, an uncertainty—something about which you “don’t know what to think” or “don’t know how to decide.” On a piece of paper, describe the bare facts of the situation, and then write down two separate interpretations of it entitled “Story #1” and “Story #2.” These stories describe what the situation means, the what-ifs around it, what it says about the people involved.

Here is an example of my own. When I finished the first draft of The Ascent of Humanity I began looking for a publisher. Enamored with the beauty and depth of this book that I’d spent so many years writing, it was with high hopes that I sent appropriate pitch packets to various publishers and agents. I’m sure you can guess what happened. Not a single publisher showed the remotest bit of interest. No agent wanted to take it on. How could anyone fail to be seduced by (what I saw as) the profundity of the book’s thesis and the beauty of the excerpts? Well, I had two explanations that inhabited me concurrently, waxing and waning in their relative influence.

Story #1 was as follows: “Face it, Charles, the reason they are rejecting the book is simply that it isn’t very good. Who are you to attempt such an ambitious meta-historical narrative? You don’t have a PhD in any of the fields you write about. You are an amateur, a dilettante. The reason your insights are not in the books you’ve read is that they are too trivial and childish for anyone to bother publishing them. Perhaps you should go back to graduate school, pay your dues, and someday be qualified to make a modest contribution to the civilization that you, in your sophomoric rebelliousness, so conveniently reject. It isn’t our society that is all wrong, it is that you just can’t quite cut it.”

And here was Story #2: “The reason that they are rejecting the book is that it is so original and unique that they do not have a category to put it in, nor even eyes to see it. It is to be expected that a book so deeply challenging to the defining ideology of our civilization would be rejected by the institutions built upon that ideology. Only a generalist, coming from outside any established discipline, could write such a book; your lack of a legitimate place in the power structure of our society is what makes the book possible and, at the same time, what makes quick acceptance so elusive.”

There are several features of these stories worthy of note. First, one cannot distinguish between them on the basis of reason or evidence. Both fit the facts. Second, it is quite obvious that neither story is an emotionally neutral intellectual construct; each is connected not only to an emotional state, but also to a life story and a constellation of beliefs about the world. Third, each story quite naturally gives rise to a different course of action. That is to be expected: stories contain roles, and the stories we tell ourselves about our lives prescribe the roles that we ourselves play.

After each person has written down a situation and two stories about it, everyone assembles into pairs. Each pair has a speaker and a questioner. The speaker describes what he or she has written, ideally taking just a minute or two to do so. It only takes that long to convey the essentials of most stories.

The listener, facing the speaker, then asks, “What’s true?” The speaker responds by speaking whatever feels true in the deep listening attention of the questioner. She might say, “Story #1 is true” or “Story #2 is true,” or she might say, “Actually, I think what is true is this third thing …” or “What’s true is that I wish I could believe Story #2, but I am afraid the first story is true.”

After the response, the questioner follows up with “What else is true?” or, if the answer was just more story, perhaps with “Yes, and what is true?” Other useful questions are “If that is true, what else is true?” and “What’s true right now?” Another way to run the process is simply to repeat the initial question, “What’s true?” again and again.

This is a subtle, unpredictable, and highly intuitive process. The idea is to create a space into which the truth can emerge. It might happen right away, or it might take several minutes. At some point the speaker and the questioner will feel that the truth that wanted to come out has come out, at which point the questioner can say, “Are you complete for now?” The speaker will probably say yes, or perhaps might say, “Actually, there is one more thing …”

Often, the truth that comes out is about the speaker’s true feelings on the matter, or something she knows beyond doubt. When it comes out, there is a feeling of release, sometimes accompanied by a sigh-like exhalation of breath. Leading up to it, the speaker might go through a mini-crisis, an attempt at avoidance through intellectualizing the situation. The questioner’s job is to short-circuit this dissembling and return again and again to “What’s true?” When the hidden truth comes out, it is usually very obvious and often, paradoxically, somewhat surprising as well, something “right in front of my face that I couldn’t see.”

Some Examples of Truths

To give you a better flavor for what comes out of this process, here are some examples of truths that I have seen emerge:

“Who am I kidding—I’ve already made my choice! All this rationalization is just my way of giving myself permission.”

“You know, the truth is that I just don’t care anymore. I’ve been telling myself I should care, but honestly, I just don’t.”

“The truth is, I’m just afraid of what people will think.”

“The truth is, I’m using fear of losing my savings as a cover for what I’ve really been afraid of: that I’m wasting my life.”

If the speaker keeps dancing around the truth, the questioner, if he can see it, might make an offering along the lines of “Is it true that …”

The main “technology” in this process is what some people call “holding space.” The truth comes as a gift, welling up through the cracks between our stories. It is not something we can figure out; it comes, rather, in spite of our attempts to figure it out. It is a revelation. To hold space for it might require a lot of patience, even fortitude, as the stories and their attendant emotions seek to draw us in.

Once the truth has come out, there is nothing else to do. The process is finished, and after a moment of silence, speaker and questioner switch roles.

Some processes like these encourage the speaker to make some kind of declaration or commitment based on the truth she has discovered. I advise against it. The truth exercises its own power. After having these realizations, actions that had once seemed inconceivable become matter-of-course; situations that had been hopelessly murky become crystal clear; anguished internal debates fade away by themselves, without any struggle to let go of them. The “What’s true?” process brings something new into the field of attention and therefore into our selves. Indeed, another question lurks behind that of “What’s true?” That other question is “Who am I?”

The same holds for those experiences of nature, death, loss, silence, and so on. The truth they bring changes us, loosens the hold of story. Nothing needs to be done, yet much doing will happen.

From Our Stories Back to Truth

I have noticed that life itself conducts a kind of “What’s true?” dialogue with each one of us. Experiences intrude upon whatever story we inhabit, bringing us out of story and back to truth, and inviting us to rediscover parts of ourselves that our story had left out. And life is relentless in its questioning.

What life does to us, we, as part of others’ lives, can do for them, both on a personal level, and on the level of social, spiritual, and political activism. On a personal level, we can decline the frequent invitations we get to partake in the dramas people create that reinforce a story of blame, judgment, resentment, superiority, and so on.

A friend calls to complain about her ex. “And then, he had the nerve to just sit in the car waiting for me to trot out and bring him his briefcase.” You are supposed to join in condemnation and affirm the story of “Isn’t he awful and aren’t you good.” Instead you might play “What’s true?” (in disguised form), perhaps simply by naming and giving attention to the feeling. Your friend might be annoyed with you for refusing to join her story; sometimes this will be seen as betrayal, just as any refusal to hate is. In fact you may notice that in leaving a story behind, you may also leave behind the friends that inhabited it with you. This is another reason for the loneliness that is such a defining feature of the space between stories.

The journey out of the old normal into the new has for many of us been a lonely journey. Internal and external voices told us we were crazy, irresponsible, impractical, naive. We were like swimmers struggling through choppy seas, getting only an occasional desperate breath of air enough to allow us to keep swimming. The air is the truth. Now we are alone no longer. We have each other to hold each other up. I certainly didn’t emerge from the self-doubt around my book by dint of some heroic personal effort, courage, or fortitude. I stand in a new story, to the extent that I do, thanks to crucial help at key moments. My friends and allies hold me there when I am weak, as I hold them when I am strong.

Without support, even if you have an experience of universal oneness, once you return back to your life, your job, your marriage, your relationships, these old structures tend to pull you back into conformity with them.

Belief Is A Social Phenomenon

With rare exceptions, we cannot hold our beliefs without reinforcement from people around us. Beliefs that deviate substantially from the general social consensus are especially hard to maintain, requiring usually some kind of sanctuary such as a cult, in which the deviant belief receives constant affirmation, and interaction with the rest of society is limited. But the same might be said for various spiritual groups, intentional communities, and even conferences like the ones I speak at. They provide a kind of incubator for the fragile, nascent beliefs of the new story to develop. There they can grow a bed of roots to sustain them from the onslaughts of the inclement climate of belief outside.

To discover such an incubator might take time. Someone recently exiting a conventional worldview may feel alone in her rejection of it. New beliefs well up within her, that she recognizes as ancient friends, intuitions from childhood, but without an articulation of those beliefs by someone else, those beliefs cannot stabilize. This again is why it is so important to have preachers to the choir so that she can hear the choir’s loud singing. Sometimes one receives a totally new piece of the Story of Interbeing  that no one has articulated yet, for which there is not yet a preacher nor a choir. But even then there are kindred spirits awaiting, more and more of us, as the new story reaches critical mass.

That is happening in our time. True, the institutions built on Separation appear bigger and stronger than ever, but their foundation has crumbled. Fewer and fewer people really believe in the reigning ideologies of our system and their assignation of value, meaning, and importance. Whole organizations adopt policies that, in private, not a single one of their members agrees with. To use a hackneyed analogy, a mere month before the Berlin Wall was dismantled, no serious observer predicted such a thing could happen anytime soon. Look how powerful the Stasi is! But the substructure of people’s perceptions had been long eroding.

And so is ours. The new story is reaching critical mass. But has it reached it? Will it reach it? Perhaps not quite yet. Perhaps it is just at a tipping point, a moment of equipoise. Perhaps it needs just the weight of one more person taking one more step into interbeing to swing the balance. Perhaps that person is you.

Reprinted with permission.

Article Source

Excerpted from Chapter 33 of:
The More Beautiful World Our Hearts Know Is Possible

by Charles Eisenstein

The More Beautiful World Our Hearts Know Is Possible by Charles EisensteinIn a time of social and ecological crisis, what can we as individuals do to make the world a better place? This inspirational and thought-provoking book serves as an empowering antidote to the cynicism, frustration, paralysis, and overwhelm so many of us are feeling, replacing it with a grounding reminder of what’s true: we are all connected, and our small, personal choices bear unsuspected transformational power. By fully embracing and practicing this principle of interconnectedness—called interbeing—we become more effective agents of change and have a stronger positive influence on the world.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book.

About the Author

Charles EisensteinCharles Eisenstein is a speaker and writer focusing on themes of civilization, consciousness, money, and human cultural evolution. His viral short films and essays online have established him as a genre-defying social philosopher and countercultural intellectual. Charles graduated from Yale University in 1989 with a degree in Mathematics and Philosophy and spent the next ten years as a Chinese–English translator. He is the author of several books, including Sacred Economics and Ascent of Humanity. Visit his website at charleseisenstein.net

Video with Charles: The Story of Interbeing

Books by this Author

The Ascent of Humanity: Civilization and the Human Sense of Self
life changesAuthor: Charles Eisenstein
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: EVOLVER EDITIONS
List Price: $24.95

Buy Now

Transformational Weight Loss
life changesAuthor: Charles Eisenstein
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Panenthea Press
List Price: $12.00

Buy Now

enzh-CNtlfrhiides

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}