الأسرة مادية والمادية؟ اكتساب الوضوح حول ما الذي يعزز السعادة

الأسرة مادية والمادية؟ اكتساب الوضوح حول ما الذي يعزز السعادة

تنشأ المشاكل عندما تتعارض قيمك مع القيم السائدة في عائلتك. قد يكون الصدام على قيم دينية أو سياسية أو مهنية أو شخصية ، أو كما هو الحال دائمًا مع زبائني المبدعين والفنانين المحترفين ، سواء كان السعي وراء مهنة إبداعية هو مسار معقول أو جدير بالثقة أو ميت النهاية.

يمكن أن تؤدي مثل هذه الاشتباكات إلى تدمير العائلات. فكر في الحرب الأهلية ، عندما كان الأخوان في كثير من الأحيان يتخذون طرفي نقيض وأحيانًا يقتلون بعضهم البعض في ساحة المعركة. عندما تتعارض قيمك مع القيم السائدة في عائلتك ، يكون الصراع أمرًا لا مفر منه. قد تبقى مكبوحة وغير معلنة ، أو قد تغلي في الحجج والإغراءات.

القيم المادية

مسألة القيم لديهم أهمية نفسية وعاطفية. وإذا كنت تشعر أن قيم شخص آخر مضللة أو أسوأ من ذلك ، فهي قاعدة وغير أخلاقية ، فستواجه مشكلة مستمرة مع هذا الشخص. يحدث أحد مثل هذه الصدامات عندما يعترض أحد أفراد الأسرة المعينين داخليًا أو علنيًا على الطريقة التي يتم بها استثمار أفراد العائلة الآخرين في ممتلكات المواد المتراكمة ، في رعاية الكثير من علامات الأسماء التجارية وتصنيفات المصممين ، وفي مجرد كونهم أكثر حرصًا وإكرامًا.

يمكن تصور هذا الصراع على أنه الصدام بين قيم المادة والقيم الروحية ، أو بين قيم المادة والقيم الوجودية. أراها كصراع بين الشخص الذي يرغب في عيش حياتها وفقاً لاختياراتها الخاصة بالأغراض الحياتية وأفراد العائلة الآخرين الذين ، في نظرهم ، يستخدمون الأشياء المادية كبدائل للحياة الأصلية. إذا كانت هذه هي تجربتك ، فيمكنك أن تحافظ على سلامتك - ومن ثم تشعر أنك مضطر للثورة والتصرف في الحالات التالية:

  • أنت تعتقد أن زجاجة نبيذ ذات أسعار معقولة مناسبة لتقديمها إلى حفل عشاء تحضره ، لكن زوجك يصر على الحصول على زجاجة باهظة الثمن ، تكلفتها "يمكن أن تغذي ثلاثة أطفال جائعين لمدة أسبوع".
  • أنت تحضر حفلة عيد الميلاد في منزل أختك وتشعر بالفزع من العدد الكبير من الهدايا التي يتلقاها أطفالها.
  • تبين أن شريط ميتزفه الخاص بك هو شخصية رائعة مكونة من ستة أشكال.
  • تصر زوجتك على أن المطبخ يحتاج إلى تحديث وإعادة تصميم ، على الرغم من أنك قمت بإعادة تصميمه منذ ثلاث سنوات.
  • يلقي ابنك نوبة غضب لأنك لن تشتري له الأحذية الرياضية الجديدة الأكثر سخونة ، وتكلف عدة مئات من الدولارات.
  • إن والديك ، اللذان رفضا السماح لك بالذهاب في رحلة المدرسة السنوية إلى مهرجان المسرح أو لتأجير مزمار لصفك الموسيقي ، يقضيان ثروة صغيرة في إجازة هاواي ، يتدفقان عليك وعلى أخيك حول "الثمن للغاية" سوف يكون - كما لو أن إنفاق أكثر وليس أقل كان نوعًا من الإنجاز.

في مقال بعنوان "جنون المادية" ، كتب ستيف تايلور:

وبمجرد تلبية احتياجاتنا المادية الأساسية ، فإن مستوى دخلنا لا يُحدث فرقًا كبيرًا في مستوى سعادتنا. فقد أظهرت الأبحاث ، على سبيل المثال ، أن الأغنياء جداً مثل المليارديرات ليسوا أكثر سعادة من الأشخاص ذوي الدخل المتوسط ​​، ويعانون من مستويات أعلى من الاكتئاب. لقد خلص الباحثون في علم النفس الإيجابي إلى أن الرفاهية الحقيقية لا تأتي من الثروة ، ولكن من عوامل أخرى مثل العلاقات الجيدة ، أو الوظائف أو الهوايات الهادفة والمليئة بالتحديات ، والشعور بالارتباط بشيء أكبر من أنفسنا (مثل الدين ، والدين السياسي). أو سبب اجتماعي ، أو إحساس بالمهمة).

في بعض العائلات ، الآباء هم الذين يريدون الأشياء والأطفال الذين يصنعون الوجوه في طبيعتهم الاستحواذية. في الوقت الحاضر ، مع قصف الأطفال بالإعلانات وتزايد وعيهم بالعلامة التجارية ، قد يكون الأمر مختلفًا: قد يكون الأطفال هم الماديين والمكتسبين ، وقد يكون الوالدان هم من يهز رؤوسهم. مؤلفو الحملة من أجل تقرير عن طفولة حرة:


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


الأطفال الذين هم أكثر مادية أقل سعادة ، وأكثر اكتئابا ، وأكثر قلقا وذات احترام أقل لنفسهم. إن التعرض لوسائل الإعلام والتسويق يعزز القيم المادية لدى الأطفال ويسبب ضغطًا شديدًا للعائلات.

يرتبط الصراع بين الوالدين والأطفال بشكل مباشر بتعرض الأطفال للإعلان.

  • هذا الجيل من الأطفال هو الأكثر علماً على الإطلاق. لدى المراهقون اليوم محادثات 145 حول العلامات التجارية في الأسبوع.
  • أبلغ 44٪ من 4th من خلال طلاب الصف 8th أحلام اليقظة "الكثير" عن كونها غنية. المسوقين تشجيع عمدا الأطفال تذمر والديهم للحصول على المنتجات.
  • حسابات Nagging واحدة من كل ثلاث رحلات لمطاعم الوجبات السريعة.

اكتساب الوضوح حول ما الذي يعزز السعادة

إذا كنت تتعامل مع تضارب قيم مثل هذا في عائلتك ، فإن هدفك الرئيسي هو البقاء على صواب مع رؤيتك لما يهم في الحياة وما يشكل عملًا أخلاقيًا. إحدى الطرق للقيام بذلك ، وتجنب الخضوع لقصف الحوافز لشراء أحدث وأفضل وأفضل شيء من كل شيء ، هو أن نتذكر أن رفاهنا العاطفي لا يتدفق من ممتلكاته بل من جهودنا لكي نعيش أهداف حياتنا. استخدم مهاراتك الجديدة ، وخاصة مهارات الوضوح والوعي ، لمساعدتك على تذكر هذا الدرس الحيوي.

الأمور لا تجعلنا سعداء - وحتى لو استطاعوا ذلك ، فالعيش من أجل السعادة ليس هدفنا. العيش مع الغرض يجعل الشخص أكثر سعادة من محاولة أن يكون سعيدا! العيش من أجل تجربة - من الفرح ، والمعاني ، والمتعة ، والسعادة ، وأي شيء - بدلاً من غرض ما - هو تعريض حياتك العاطفية للخطر ، لأنك تعيش من أجل نتائج مؤقتة ، حتى لو تحقق ذلك ، فقط رضا عابر. تعيش أغراض حياتك يوفر رضى أعمق بكثير.

تصبح نتائج مثل "السعادة" أكثر مراوغة إذا كنت تلاحقهم. ما مدى المتعة في تناول الطعام إذا كنت تطارد الطعام دائمًا ، ودائماً ما تشتهي الطعام ، هل تشعر دائمًا بالجوع من رقائق البطاطا أو لفائف القرفة؟ عندما كان عمرك تسع سنوات ، كم من الوقت كانت اللعبة التي كنت تريدها بشدة تروقك بمجرد تلقيها؟ نريد أن نكون سعداء ، لكن مطاردة السعادة ليست هي الحل. فعل ما يهم هو الجواب!

تأمل هذه الدراسة من قبل ستيفن كول وفريقه من الباحثين ، كما ذكرت شبكة الطبيعة الأم:

قام الباحثون بتقييم وأخذ عينات الدم من البالغين الأصحاء 80 الذين تم تصنيفهم على أنهم يتمتعون إما بالرفاهية أو السعادة. يتم تعريف الرفاهية السعيدة باعتبارها السعادة المكتسبة من السعي إلى المتعة ؛ فالرفاهية الأكيدة هي تلك التي اكتسبتها من خلال إحساس عميق بالغرض والمعنى في الحياة .... أظهرت الدراسة أن الأشخاص الذين لديهم مستويات عالية من الرفاهية الأودية قد أظهروا ملامح ملائمة مع مستويات منخفضة من التعبير الجيني للالتهابات وعرضوا قوة التعبير عن الجينات المضادة للفيروسات والجسم المضاد. بالنسبة لباحثى المتعة ، كان العكس صحيحًا. أظهر هؤلاء الذين لديهم مستويات عالية من رفاهية المتعة تعبيراً معاكسا للتعبير الجيني ، مما أعطى التهابًا عاليًا وتعبيرًا مضادًا للفيروسات / الأجسام المضادة.

يمكنك تحقيق هذه السعادة التي تمتد أعمق من المتعة التي تسعى من خلال العيش حياة المنحى نحو ومواءمة مع أغراض حياتك. أنت تحدد أهداف حياتك. تعلن أنك تقف وراءهم. أنت تعيشها تخلق معناها كما تعيشها. وتنتج سعادة عميقة ، وهي سعادة تنتج الصحة الجسدية والعاطفية. أنت لا تلاحق أي شيء - ليس أفضل الكتب مبيعًا ، أو النشوة ، أو ارتفاعًا آخر ، أو غزوًا آخر ، أو مليون دولار: أنت ببساطة تفعل الشيء الصحيح التالي وفقًا لفهمك لقيمك ومبادئك. أنت تعيش بهدوء وهدوء ، بدلا من مطاردة بشوق.

للعيش هكذا ، يجب أن تؤمن بأنك مهم. الكثير من العملاء الذين أعمل معهم ، على الرغم من الوجه المتفائل الذي وضعوه عليه ، لا يؤمنون حقاً بأن القصة القصيرة ، أو الألوان المائية ، أو الأغنية التي يكافحون من أجل خلقها تستحق العناء. هل يحتاج العالم حقًا إلى قصة قصيرة أخرى أو ألوان مائية أو أغنية؟ لماذا تهتم؟ عندما تزعجك مسألة ما إذا كان ما تفعله "حقاً" أمرًا هامًا ، ما لم تكن الإجابة بنعم فورية ولا لبس فيها ، فسوف تطاردك هذه المسألة وتجربة أزمة المعنى.

عندما يحدث هذا ، تبدأ في فقدان المنافع العاطفية والجسدية من عيش حياتك أغراضك لأنك بدأت في الشك بها. كنت قد سحبت البساط من تحت نفسك ، كما كانت ، وفتحت نفسك للضيق العاطفي والجسدي. هذا هو السبب في أن "إصلاح المعنى" هو جزء مهم من عملية شفاء قلبك والحفاظ على نفسك بشكل جيد. يجب أن تؤكد بهدوء أن ما تفعله له أهمية بالفعل ؛ أو إذا كنت تعتقد أن هذا غير صحيح فعليك اختيار مسار آخر. وإلى أن تقوم بأحد هذين الأمرين ، فإن صحتك العاطفية ستكون مهددة ، وستشعر بحياتك أقل معنى.

جعل جيناتك سعيدة!

إذا كنا متأكدين من أغراضنا ، فإن العمل الشاق ليس مشكلة. كتابة روايتنا يمكن أن تجعلنا نشعر بالحزن والمرض ، لذلك هو سيئ للغاية ، وهذا يتطلب الكثير من العمل. ومع ذلك ، قد تكون جيناتنا هي الغناء والرقص ، وسعيدة للغاية ونحن نعلم أننا نعيش في أحد أغراض حياتنا. عندما تشك في كتابة أمور روايتك ، قل لنفسك: "إنها مهمة على المستوى الجيني ، وأريد أن أجعل جيناتي سعيدة!" من يعلم إذا كان هذا صحيحًا حرفياً؟ فقط قد يكون.

تريد جيناتك أن تعيش مع الغرض. إنهم يريدون أن يكونوا "سعداء" بهذه الطريقة على وجه التحديد ، وسوف تظلوا أكثر صحة عندما تعيشون في انسجام مع أغراض حياتك ، ونتيجة لهذه الجهود ، يخلقون المعنى. نظرًا لأنه من السهل جدًا التشكيك في قراراتنا وأهدافنا الحياتية ، فإننا نلحِم أنفسنا بشكل منتظم حول ما إذا كان ما نحاول فعله أمرًا مفيدًا حقًا ، أو مهمًا حقًا ، أو هو في الحقيقة أحد أغراض حياتنا. عندما نفعل ذلك ، ندخل في ليلة مظلمة وجيهة من الشك ، ومن ثم تكون جيناتنا أقل سعادة. من المحتمل أن يحدث نوع من المرض ، مثل اليأس أو الرغبة الشديدة أو مرض جسدي.

ماذا يجب أن تفعل عندما تواجه مثل هذا الشك؟ يجب عليك إعادة استحضار تلك المحادثات الأساسية ، تلك التي تتحدث فيها مع نفسك عن قيمك ومبادئك وخياراتك للحياة. إذا جئت مرة أخرى للاعتقاد في اختيارك الحالي ، يجب أن تعلن أنك تنوي أن تفخر من خلال جهودك في خدمة هذا الاختيار. أنت تقف ثانية هذه الإيماءة سوف تجعل جيناتك سعيدة على الفور! وإذا كنت لا تستطيع المجيء إلى الاعتقاد في اختيارك ، فعندئذ يجب عليك اتخاذ خيار جديد قوي. هذا أيضا سوف يرضي جيناتك.

لا يكاد أي شيء أكثر أهمية من التعرف على العلاقة بين عيش أغراض حياتك وصحتك العاطفية والجسدية. من الجيد لنا أن نعيش أهداف حياتنا. قد نتعلم في يوم من الأيام وجود علاقة واضحة وصارمة بين غرض الحياة والسعادة الجينية. في الوقت الحالي ، من الحكمة افتراض وجود مثل هذه العلاقة. لا تطارد السعادة. أعيش أهداف حياتك بدلا من ذلك. من المحتمل أن ينتج هذا السعادة العميقة الممكنة!

© 2017 by Eric Maisel. كل الحقوق محفوظة.
طبع بإذن من العالم الجديد المكتبة، نوفاتو، كاليفورنيا.
www.newworldlibrary.com أو 800-972-6657 تحويلة. 52.

المادة المصدر

التغلب على عائلتك الصعبة: مهارات 8 للازدهار في أي حالة عائلية
بقلم اريك مايزل، دكتوراه

التغلب على عائلتك الصعبة: 8 مهارات للازدهار في أي حالة الأسرة التي كتبها اريك Maisel ، دكتوراه.هذا الكتاب بمثابة "دليل ميداني" فريد من نوعه للأنواع الشائعة من الأسر التي تعاني من خلل وظيفي - العائلات المتسلطة ، والعائلات القلق ، والأسر المدمنة ، وأكثر من ذلك - وكيفية ازدهارها على الرغم من هذه الديناميات. سوف تتعلم الحفاظ على السلام الداخلي في خضم الفوضى الأسرية وخلق حياة أفضل لعائلتك بأكملها.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على Amazon:
http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/1608684512/innerselfcom

عن المؤلف

إيريك ميسيل ، مؤلف كتاب: معسكر الحياة الغرضاريك مايزل ، دكتوراه ، هو مؤلف أكثر من أربعين أعمال من الخيال والواقعية. تشمل عناوينه غير الروائية تدريب الفنان داخل ، خلق خوف ، فان جوخ بلوز ، كتاب الإبداع ، القلق الأداء ، و عشرة ثوان زن. يكتب العمود "إعادة النظر في علم النفس" علم النفس اليوم ويساهم بقطع على الصحة العقلية لل هافينغتون بوست. وهو مدرب إبداعي ومدرب مدرب إبداعي يقدم العناوين الرئيسية وورش عمل مخيمات الحياة الغرض وطنيا ودوليا. يزور www.ericmaisel.com لمعرفة المزيد عن الدكتور مايزل.

شاهد فيديو مع Eric: كيف تصنع يومًا ذا مغزى

راقب مقابلة مع الكاتب ، ايريك مايزل

الكتب المطبوعة من قبل المؤلف:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = Eric Maisel؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Acquisitive and Materialistic Family? Gaining Clarity About What Promotes Happiness

Acquisitive and Materialistic Family? Gaining Clarity About What Promotes Happiness

Problems arise when your values clash with the dominant values in your fam­ily. The clash might be over religious, political, career, or per­sonal values, or, as is so often the case with my creative and performing-artist clients, over whether pursuing a creative ca­reer is a reasonable, worthy path or a self-indulgent dead end.

Clashes like this can destroy families. Think of the Civil War, when brothers often took opposite sides and sometimes even killed one another on the battlefield. When your values clash with the dominant values in your family, conflict is inev­itable. It may remain repressed and unexpressed, or it may boil over into arguments and estrangements.

Values Matter

Values matter; they possess psychological and emotional importance; and if you feel that someone else’s values are mis­guided or, worse, base and immoral, you are going to have an ongoing problem with that person. One such value clash oc­curs when a given family member internally or openly objects to the way that other family members are invested in accumu­lating material possessions, in caring too much about name brands and designer labels, and in being just plain too crass and acquisitive.

This conflict can be conceptualized as the clash between material values and spiritual values, or between material val­ues and existential values. I see it as the clash between a person who would like to live her life according to her life-purpose choices and other family members who, in her view, are using material things as substitutes for authentic living. If this is your experience, you may hold your peace — and then feel com­pelled to erupt and act out in the following sorts of situations:

  • You think a reasonably priced bottle of wine is appro­priate to bring to a dinner party that you’re attending, but your husband insists on getting an expensive, top-shelf bottle whose cost “could feed three starving chil­dren for a week.”
  • You attend a Christmas party at your sister’s house and are appalled by the large number of presents her chil­dren are receiving.
  • Your nephew’s bar mitzvah turns out to be an over­the-top, six-figure extravaganza.
  • Your wife insists that the kitchen needs updating and re­modeling, even though you remodeled it three years ago.
  • Your son throws a tantrum because you won’t buy him the hottest new athletic shoes, costing several hundred dollars.
  • Your parents, who have refused to let you go on the annual school trip to a theater festival or to rent an oboe for your music class, spend a small fortune on their Hawaiian vacation, gushing to you and your brother about how “very pricey” it will be — as if spending more rather than less were some sort of accomplishment.

In an article called “The Madness of Materialism,” Steve Taylor writes:

Once our basic material needs are satisfied, our level of income makes little difference to our level of happiness. Research has shown, for example, that extremely rich people such as billionaires are not significantly happier than people with an average income, and suffer from higher levels of depression. Researchers in positive psy­chology have concluded that true well-being does not come from wealth but from other factors such as good relationships, meaningful and challenging jobs or hob­bies, and a sense of connection to something bigger than ourselves (such as a religion, a political or social cause, or a sense of mission).

In some families, it is the parents who want things and the children who make faces at their acquisitive nature. Nowadays, with children bombarded with ads and growing ever more brand conscious, it may be the other way around: the children may be the materialist, acquisitive ones, and the parents may be the ones shaking their heads. The authors at Campaign for a Commercial-Free Childhood report:

Children who are more materialistic are less happy, more depressed, more anxious and have lower self-esteem. Exposure to media and marketing promotes mate­rialistic values in children and is stressful for families.

Conflict between parents and children is directly related to children’s exposure to advertising....

  • This generation of children is the most brand- conscious ever. Teenagers today have 145 conversa­tions about brands per week.
  • 44% of 4th through 8th graders report daydreaming ‘a lot’ about being rich. Marketers deliberately en­courage children to nag their parents for products.
  • Nagging accounts for one in three trips to fast food restaurants.

Gaining Clarity About What Promotes Happiness

If you’re dealing with a values conflict like this in your fam­ily, your main objective is to stay true to your vision of what matters in life and what constitutes ethical action. One way to do this, and avoid succumbing to the bombardment of in­ducements to buy the newest, best, and shiniest of everything, is to remember that our emotional well-being flows not from possessions but from our efforts to actually live our life pur­poses. Use your new skills, especially the skills of clarity and awareness, to help you remember this vital lesson.

Things do not make us happy — and even if they could, living for happiness is not our objective. Living with purpose makes a person happier than trying to be happy! To live for an experience — of joy, of meaning, of pleasure, of happi­ness, of anything — rather than for a purpose is to put your emotional life in danger, since you are living for temporary outcomes that, even if achieved, provide only fleeting satis­faction. Living your life purposes provides a much deeper satisfaction.

Outcomes like “happiness” become more elusive if you are chasing them. How deeply pleasurable is food if you are always chasing food, always craving food, always hungry for the next potato chip or cinnamon roll? When you were nine, how long did the toy you desperately wanted really amuse you once you received it? We want to be happy, but chasing happiness is not the answer. Doing what matters is the answer!

Consider this study by Steven Cole and his team of re­searchers, as reported by the Mother Nature Network:

The researchers assessed and took blood samples from 80 healthy adults who were classified as having either hedonic or eudaimonic well-being. Hedonic well-being is defined as happiness gained from seeking pleasure; eu­daimonic well-being is that gained by having a deep sense of purpose and meaning in life....The study showed that people who had high levels of eudaimonic well-being showed favorable profiles with low levels of in­flammatory gene expression and exhibited a strong expression of antiviral and antibody genes. For the plea­sure seekers, the opposite was true; those with high levels of hedonic well-being showed an adverse gene-expression profile, giving high inflammation and low antiviral/ antibody expression.

You achieve this happiness that runs deeper than pleasure seeking by living a life oriented around and in alignment with your life purposes. You identify your life purposes; you an­nounce that you stand behind them; you live them; you create meaning as you live them; and you produce a deep happiness, a happiness that produces physical and emotional health. You aren’t chasing anything — not a bestseller, an orgasm, another high, another conquest, a million dollars: you are simply doing the next right thing in accordance with your understanding of your values and principles. You are quietly and calmly living, rather than avidly chasing.

To live like this, you must believe that you matter. So many of the clients I work with, despite the optimistic face they put on it, don’t really believe that the short story, watercolor, or song that they are struggling so hard to create is really worth the trouble. Does the world really need another short story, watercolor, or song? Why bother? Once you are pestered by the question of whether what you are doing “really” matters, un­less the answer is an immediate and unequivocal yes, you will be haunted by that question and experience a meaning crisis.

When this happens, you begin to lose the emotional and physical benefits of living your life purposes because you have begun to doubt them. You’ve pulled the rug out from under yourself, as it were, and you’ve opened yourself up to emo­tional and physical distress. This is why “meaning repair” is such an important part of the process of healing your heart and keeping yourself well. You must quietly affirm that what you are doing does indeed matter; or, if you have come to be­lieve that it really doesn’t, then you must choose another path. Until you do one of these two things, your emotional health will be threatened, and your life will feel less meaningful.

Making Your Genes Happy!

If we are certain of our purposes, then hard work isn’t a problem. Writing our novel can make us feel sad and ill, so poorly is it going and so much work does it require. Yet our genes may well be singing and dancing, profoundly happy knowing that we are living one of our life purposes. When you doubt that writing your novel matters, say to yourself, “It matters on the genetic level, and I want to make my genes happy!” Who knows if this is literally true? It just might be.

Your genes want you to live with purpose. They want to be “happy” in precisely that way, and you will stay healthier when you live in alignment with your life purposes and, as a result of those efforts, create meaning. Because it is all too easy to doubt our own decisions and life purposes, we regularly pes­ter ourselves about whether what we are attempting is really meaningful, really matters, or really is one of our life purposes. When we do this, we enter an existential dark night of doubt, and then our genes are much less happy. Some sort of sick­ness is likely coming, such as despair, cravings, or a physical illness.

What must you do when you experience such doubt? You must reinitiate that most basic of conversations, the one where you chat with yourself about your values, principles, and life-purpose choices. If you come around again to believing in your current choice, then you must announce that you intend to make yourself proud through your efforts in the service of that choice. You stand up again. This gesture will make your genes instantly happy! And if you can’t come around to believ­ing in your choice, then you must make a strong new choice. That, too, will please your genes.

Hardly anything is more important than recognizing the connection between living your life purposes and your emo­tional and physical health. It is physically good for us to live our life purposes. We may one day learn that there is a clear and strict relationship between life purpose and genetic hap­piness. For now, it is wise to presume that such a relationship exists. Do not chase happiness; live your life purposes instead. That will likely produce the deepest happiness possible!

©2017 by Eric Maisel. All Rights Reserved.
Reprinted with permission of New World Library, Novato, CA.
www.newworldlibrary.com or 800-972-6657 ext. 52.

Article Source

Overcoming Your Difficult Family: 8 Skills for Thriving in Any Family Situation
by Eric Maisel, Ph.D.

Overcoming Your Difficult Family: 8 Skills for Thriving in Any Family Situation by Eric Maisel, Ph.D.This book serves as a unique “field guide” to common types of dysfunctional families — authoritarian families, anxious families, addicted families, and more — and how to thrive despite those dynamics. You’ll learn to maintain inner peace in the midst of family chaos and create a better life for your whole family.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon:
http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/1608684512/innerselfcom

About the Author

Eric Maisel, author of the book: Life Purpose Boot CampEric Maisel, PhD, is the author of more than forty works of fiction and nonfiction. His nonfiction titles include Coaching the Artist Within, Fearless Creating, The Van Gogh Blues, The Creativity Book, Performance Anxiety, and Ten Zen Seconds. He writes the "Rethinking Psychology" column for Psychology Today and contributes pieces on mental health to the Huffington Post. He is a creativity coach and creativity coach trainer who presents keynote addresses and life purpose boot camp workshops nationally and internationally. Visit www.ericmaisel.com to learn more about Dr. Maisel. 

Watch a video with Eric: How to Make a Meaningful Day

Watch an Interview with author, Eric Maisel

Books by this Author:

Fearless Creating: A Step-by-Step Guide To Starting and Completing Your Work of Art
life purposeAuthor: Eric Maisel
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: TarcherPerigee
List Price: $18.95

Buy Now

Coaching the Artist Within: Advice for Writers, Actors, Visual Artists, and Musicians from America's Foremost Creativity Coach
life purposeAuthor: Ph.D. Eric Maisel
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: New World Library
List Price: $15.95

Buy Now

Life Purpose Boot Camp: The 8-Week Breakthrough Plan for Creating a Meaningful Life
life purposeAuthor: Ph.D. Eric Maisel
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: New World Library
List Price: $14.95

Buy Now

enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}