Wie man eine neue Fähigkeit beherrscht und behält

Wie man eine neue Fähigkeit beherrscht und behält

Um etwas schnell zu lernen und die Fähigkeit zu erhalten, trainieren Sie für 20 Minuten über den Punkt der Beherrschung hinaus.

Eine neue Studie in Nature Neuroscience, in dem Menschen visuelle Wahrnehmungsaufgaben erlernten, zeigt, dass "Überlernen" Leistungsgewinne sichern kann.

Frühere Studien und auch die neue zeigen, dass, wenn Menschen eine neue Aufgabe lernen und bald danach eine ähnliche lernen, die zweite Instanz des Lernens oft die Beherrschung der ersten Aufgabe stört und unterminiert.

Die neue Studie zeigt, dass Überlernen vor solchen Störungen schützt und das Lernen so gut und schnell zementiert, dass stattdessen die entgegengesetzte Art von Störungen auftritt. Eine Zeitlang verhindert das Überlernen der ersten Aufgabe effektives Lernen der zweiten Aufgabe - als ob das Lernen gesperrt würde, um den Meister der ersten Aufgabe zu bewahren.

Der zugrunde liegende Mechanismus, so entdeckten die Forscher, scheint eine vorübergehende Verschiebung im Gleichgewicht zweier Neurotransmitter zu sein, die die neurale Flexibilität oder "Plastizität" in dem Teil des Gehirns steuern, in dem das Lernen stattfand.

Obwohl sich die Studie auf eine visuelle Lernaufgabe konzentrierte, sagte der korrespondierende Autor Takeo Watanabe, Professor für kognitive linguistische und psychologische Wissenschaften an der Brown University, er sei zuversichtlich, dass der Effekt wahrscheinlich auf andere Arten des Lernens, wie motorische Aufgaben, übertragen werden kann ähnlich arbeiten.

Wenn weitere Studien bestätigen, dass die Auswirkungen des Überlernens tatsächlich auf das Lernen im Allgemeinen übertragen werden, würden solche Ergebnisse Hinweise auf eine Optimierung des Trainingszeitpunkts geben:


Holen Sie sich das Neueste von InnerSelf


  • Um das Training schnell zu festigen, sollte das Überle- ben helfen, aber Vorsicht, es könnte mit ähnlichem Lernen, das ihm unmittelbar folgt, interferieren.
  • Versuchen Sie nicht ohne etwas zu lernen, etwas Ähnliches in schneller Folge zu lernen, da das Risiko besteht, dass der zweite Lernprozess den ersten unterminiert.
  • Wenn Sie genug Zeit haben, können Sie zwei Aufgaben ohne Störungen lernen, indem Sie zwischen den beiden Trainings einige Stunden lassen.

"Wenn du etwas sehr Wichtiges lernen willst, ist vielleicht Überlernen ein guter Weg", sagt Watanabe. "Wenn Sie überlernen, können Sie möglicherweise die Chance erhöhen, dass das, was Sie lernen, nicht weg ist."

Trainingsblöcke

Die Ergebnisse stammen aus mehreren Experimenten, in denen Watanabe, Erstautor Kazuhisa Shibata und ihre Coautoren insgesamt 183-Freiwillige aufforderten, herauszufinden, welches der beiden nacheinander präsentierten Bilder eine gemusterte Orientierung hatte und welches nur unstrukturiert dargestellt wurde Lärm. Nach acht Runden oder "Blöcken" des Trainings, die insgesamt etwa 20 Minuten dauerten, schienen die ersten 60-Freiwilligen die Aufgabe zu meistern.

Danach gründeten die Forscher zwei neue Gruppen von Freiwilligen. Nach einem Vortest vor jedem Training übte eine erste Gruppe die Aufgabe für acht Blöcke, wartete 30-Minuten und trainierte dann für acht Blöcke eine neue ähnliche Aufgabe. Am nächsten Tag wurden sie an beiden Aufgaben getestet, um zu bewerten, was sie gelernt hatten. Die andere Gruppe machte dasselbe, außer dass sie die erste Aufgabe für 16 Trainingsblöcke übergelernt hatten.

Bei den Tests am nächsten Tag schnitt die erste Gruppe bei der ersten Aufgabe im Vergleich zum Vortest ziemlich schlecht ab, zeigte aber bei der zweiten Aufgabe erhebliche Fortschritte. In der Zwischenzeit zeigte die Überlerngruppe eine starke Leistung bei der ersten Aufgabe, aber keine signifikante Verbesserung gegenüber der zweiten. Regelmäßige Lernfächer waren anfällig für Störungen durch die zweite Aufgabe (wie erwartet), aber nicht für Überlektoren.

Im zweiten Experiment, wieder mit neuen Freiwilligen, verlängerten die Forscher die Pause zwischen Aufgabentraining von 30-Minuten zu 3.5-Stunden. Bei den Tests am nächsten Tag zeigte jede Gruppe - diejenigen, die übergelernt hatten und diejenigen, die dies nicht getan hatten - ähnliche Leistungsmuster, da beide eine signifikante Verbesserung beider Aufgaben zeigten. Wenn genügend Zeit zwischen den Lernaufgaben gegeben wurde, lernten die Teilnehmer beide erfolgreich und es gab keine Art von Störungen.

Ein Blick ins Gehirn

Was ist passiert? Die Forscher suchten Antworten in einem dritten Experiment, indem sie die Technologie der Magnetresonanzspektroskopie benutzten, um das Gleichgewicht von zwei Neurotransmittern in Freiwilligen zu verfolgen, wie sie lernten.

Die Forscher konzentrierten sich auf die "frühe visuelle" Region im Gehirn jedes Probanden und beobachteten das Verhältnis von Glutamat, das die Plastizität fördert, und GABA, das es hemmt. Eine Gruppe von Freiwilligen trainierte eine Aufgabe für acht Blöcke, während die andere Gruppe für 16 trainierte. In der Zwischenzeit wurden alle MRS-Scans vor dem Training, 30 Minuten nach und 3.5 Stunden danach durchgeführt und die üblichen Vor-und Nachtrainingstests durchgeführt.

Die Overlearners und die regulären Lernenden zeigten ein vollkommen entgegengesetztes Muster, wie sich das Verhältnis ihrer Neurotransmitterwerte veränderte. Sie alle gingen von der gleichen Basislinie aus, aber für normale Lernende nahm das Verhältnis von Glutamat zu GABA 30 Minuten nach dem Training deutlich zu, bevor es bis 3.5 Stunden fast wieder auf den Ausgangswert zurückging. Unterdessen zeigten die Überleporer einen starken Rückgang des Verhältnisses von Glutamat zu GABA 30 Minuten nach dem Training, bevor es bis 3.5 Stunden fast wieder auf den Ausgangswert anstieg.

Mit anderen Worten, auf der Stufe, als reguläre Lernende auf dem Höhepunkt der Plastizität waren (ihr erstes Training anfällig für Interferenzen durch ein zweites Training), wurden Überlektionen mit Hemmung niedergeknickt (Schutz des ersten Trainings, aber Schließen des zweiten Trainings) . Nach den 3.5-Stunden war alles wieder normal.

In einem abschließenden Experiment zeigten die Forscher, dass die Abnahme des Glutamat - GABA - Verhältnisses bei jedem Probanden proportional zum Grad ihres ersten Trainings war, der das zweite Training beeinflusste, was auf die Verbindung zwischen dem Neurotransmitter - Verhältnis und den Auswirkungen hindeutet Überlernen war kein Zufall.

Die National Institutes of Health, die National Science Foundation und die Japanische Gesellschaft zur Förderung der Wissenschaft finanzierten die Studie.

Quelle: Brown University

Bücher zum Thema

{amazonWS: searchindex = Bücher; Schlüsselwörter = Beherrschen einer Fertigkeit; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

VON DEN HERAUSGEBERN

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 20, 2020
by Innerself Mitarbeiter
Das Thema des Newsletters in dieser Woche kann als "Sie können es tun" oder genauer als "Wir können es schaffen!" Zusammengefasst werden. Dies ist eine andere Art zu sagen "Sie / wir haben die Macht, eine Änderung vorzunehmen". Das Bild von…
Was für mich funktioniert: "Ich kann es schaffen!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
Der Grund, warum ich teile, "was für mich funktioniert", ist, dass es möglicherweise auch für Sie funktioniert. Wenn nicht genau so, wie ich es mache, da wir alle einzigartig sind, kann eine gewisse Abweichung in der Einstellung oder Methode durchaus etwas sein ...
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by Innerself Mitarbeiter
Wir sehen das Leben durch die Linsen unserer Wahrnehmung. Stephen R. Covey schrieb: „Wir sehen die Welt nicht so wie sie ist, sondern so wie wir sind oder wie wir konditioniert sind, um sie zu sehen.“ Also schauen wir uns diese Woche einige an…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by Innerself Mitarbeiter
Die Straßen, auf denen wir heutzutage unterwegs sind, sind so alt wie die Zeit, aber für uns neu. Die Erfahrungen, die wir machen, sind so alt wie die Zeit, aber sie sind auch neu für uns. Gleiches gilt für die…
Wenn die Wahrheit so schrecklich ist, dass es weh tut, ergreifen Sie Maßnahmen
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Inmitten all der Schrecken, die heutzutage stattfinden, inspirieren mich die Hoffnungsschimmer, die durchscheinen. Gewöhnliche Menschen, die sich für das einsetzen, was richtig ist (und gegen das, was falsch ist). Baseballspieler,…

How To Master And Retain A New Skill

behavior

How To Master And Retain A New Skill

To learn something fast and make the skill stick, train for 20 minutes past the point of mastery.

A new study in Nature Neuroscience, in which people learned visual perception tasks, shows that “overlearning” can lock in performance gains.

Prior studies and also the new one show that when people learn a new task and then learn a similar one soon afterward, the second instance of learning often interferes with and undermines the mastery achieved on the first one.

The new study shows that overlearning prevents against such interference, cementing learning so well and quickly, in fact, that the opposite kind of interference happens instead. For a time, overlearning the first task prevents effective learning of the second task—as if learning becomes locked down for the sake of preserving master of the first task.

The underlying mechanism, the researchers discovered, appears to be a temporary shift in the balance of two neurotransmitters that control neural flexibility, or “plasticity,” in the part of the brain where the learning occurred.

Though the study focused on a visual learning task, corresponding author Takeo Watanabe, professor of cognitive linguistic and psychological sciences at Brown University, says he’s confident the effect will likely translate to other kinds of learning, such as motor tasks, where phenomena such as interference work similarly.

If further studies confirm that overlearning’s effects indeed carry over to learning in general, then such findings would suggest some advice optimizing the timing of training:

  • To cement training quickly, overlearning should help, but beware it might interfere with similar learning that follows it immediately.
  • Without overlearning, don’t try to learn something similar in rapid succession because there is a risk that the second bout of learning will undermine the first.
  • If you have enough time, you can learn two tasks without interference by leaving a few hours between the two trainings.

“If you want to learn something very important, maybe overlearning is a good way,” Watanabe says. “If you do overlearning, you may be able to increase the chance that what you learn will not be gone.”

Blocks of training

The findings arose from several experiments in which Watanabe, lead author Kazuhisa Shibata, and their coauthors asked a total of 183 volunteers to engage in the task of learning to detect which one of the two successively presented images had a patterned orientation and which depicted just unstructured noise. After eight rounds, or “blocks,” of training, which lasted about 20 minutes total, the initial 60 volunteers seemed to master the task.

With that established, the researchers then formed two new groups of volunteers. After a pre-test before any training, a first group practiced the task for eight blocks, waited 30 minutes, and then trained for eight blocks on a new similar task. The next day they were tested on both tasks to assess what they learned. The other group did the same thing, except that they overlearned the first task for 16 blocks of training.

On the next day’s tests, the first group performed quite poorly on the first task compared to the pre-test but showed substantial progress on the second task. Meanwhile the overlearning group showed strong performance on the first task, but no significant improvement on the second. Regular learning subjects were vulnerable to interference by the second task (as expected) but overlearners were not.

In the second experiment, again with new volunteers, the researchers lengthened the break between task training from 30 minutes to 3.5 hours. This time on the next day’s tests, each group—those who overlearned and those who didn’t—showed similar performance patterns in that they both demonstrated significant improvement on both tasks. Given enough time between learning tasks, people successfully learned both and neither kind of interference was evident.

A peek into the brain

What was going on? The researchers sought answers in a third experiment by using the technology of magnetic resonance spectroscopy to track the balance of two neurotransmitters in volunteers as they learned.

Focusing on the “early visual” region in each subject’s brain, the researchers tracked the ratio of glutamate, which promotes plasticity, and GABA, which inhibits it. One group of volunteers trained on a task for eight blocks while the other group trained on it for 16. Meanwhile they all underwent MRS scans before training, 30 minutes after, and 3.5 hours after, and took the usual pre-training and post-training performance tests.

The overlearners and the regular learners revealed a perfectly opposite pattern in how the ratio of their neurotransmitter levels changed. They all started from the same baseline, but for regular learners, the ratio of glutamate to GABA increased markedly 30 minutes after training, before declining almost back to the baseline by 3.5 hours. Meanwhile, the overlearners showed sharp decline in the ratio of glutamate to GABA 30 minutes after training before it rose nearly back to baseline by 3.5 hours.

In other words, at the stage when regular learners were at the peak of plasticity (leaving their first training vulnerable to interference from a second training), overlearners were hunkered down with inhibition (protecting the first training, but closing the door on the second). After 3.5 hours everyone was pretty much back to normal.

In a final experiment, the researchers showed that the amount of decline in the glutamate to GABA ratio in each volunteer was proportional to the degree to which their first training interfered with their second training, suggesting that the link between the neurotransmitter ratio and the effects of overlearning were no coincidence.

The National Institutes of Health, National Science Foundation, and the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science funded the study.

Source: Brown University

Related Books

Mastering Essential Math Skills: 20 Minutes a Day to Success, Book 1: Grades 4-5

behaviorAuthor: Richard W. Fisher
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Mastering Essential Math Skills 20 Minutes a Day to Success Book 1 Grades 4 5

Brand: Richard W Fisher
Studio: Math Essentials
Label: Math Essentials
Publisher: Math Essentials
Manufacturer: Math Essentials

Buy Now
Editorial Review: CHECK OUT THE NEW AND IMPROVED 3RD EDITION OF THIS BOOK. IT HAS BEEN COMPLETELY EDITED. A HANDY RESOURCE CENTER AND GLOSSARY HAVE ALSO BEEN ADDED TO MAXIMIZE LEARNING . ISBN#978-0999443378.

Used by hundreds of thousands of students each year.

Perfect Math For Students Who Are Math Challenged.

Includes award-winning online video tutorials. One for each lesson in the Book.

Lessons are presented in a format that everyone can understand.

Each Lesson flows smoothly and logically to the next.

Each lesson is short, concise, and to the point

Lots of examples with step-by -step solutions.

Each lesson includes valuable Helpful Hints.

Review is built into each lesson. Students will retain what they have learned.

Each lesson includes Problem Solving. This ensures that students will learn to apply their knowledge to real-life-situations.

Includes solutions for each lesson.

Ten Chapters

Whole Numbers

Fractions

Decimals

Ratios, Proportions, Percents

Geometry

Number theory & Algebra

Integers

Charts & Graphs

Probability & Statistics

Word problems





Mastering Mountain Bike Skills

behaviorAuthor: Mr Brian Lopes
Binding: Paperback
Studio: Human Kinetics
Label: Human Kinetics
Publisher: Human Kinetics
Manufacturer: Human Kinetics

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

If you want to ride like a pro, you should learn from a pro! In Mastering Mountain Bike Skills, Third Edition, world-champion racer Brian Lopes and renowned riding coach Lee McCormack share their elite perspectives, real-life race stories, and their own successful techniques to help riders of all styles and levels build confidence and experience the full exhiliration of the sport.

Mastering Mountain Bike Skills is the best-selling guide for all mountain biking disciplines, including enduro, pump track racing, dual slalom, downhill, cross-country, fatbiking, and 24-hour races. It absolutely captures the sport and offers everything you need to maximize performance and excitement on the trail. Learn how to select the proper bike and customize it for your unique riding style. Develop a solid skills base so you can execute techniques with more power and precision. Master the essential techniques to help you carve every corner, nail every jump, and conquer every obstacle in your path. Last, but not least, prepare yourself to handle every type of weather and trail condition that the mountain biking world throws at you.

Whether you’re a recreational rider looking to rock the trails with friends, are a seasoned enthusiast, or are aspiring to be a top pro, Mastering Mountain Bike Skills will improve your ride and dust the competition. Don't just survive the trail—own the trail, and enjoy the thrill of doing it.





Mastering Essential Math Skills: 20 Minutes a Day to Success, Book 2: Middle Grades/High School

behaviorAuthor: Richard W. Fisher
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • ISBN13: 9780966621129
  • Condition: New
  • Notes: BRAND NEW FROM PUBLISHER! 100% Satisfaction Guarantee. Tracking provided on most orders. Buy with Confidence! Millions of books sold!

Brand: Richard W Fisher
Studio: Math Essentials
Label: Math Essentials
Publisher: Math Essentials
Manufacturer: Math Essentials

Buy Now
Editorial Review: CHECK OUT THE NEW AND IMPROVED 3RD EDITION OF THIS BOOK. IT HAS BEEN COMPLETELY EDITED. IT NOW CONTAINS A HANDY RESOURCE CENTER AND GLOSSARY. ISBN# 978-0999443385

Use by tens of thousands of students.

Perfect Math For Students Who Are Math Challenged.

Includes award-winning online video tutorials. One for each lesson in the Boo

Lessons are presented in a format that everyone can understand.

Each Lesson flows smoothly and logically to the next.

Each lesson is short, concise, and to the point.

Lots of examples with step-by-step solutions.

Each lesson includes valuable Helpful Hints.

Review is built into each lesson. Students will retain what they have learned.

Each lesson includes Problem Solving. This ensures that students will learn to apply their knowledge to real-life-situations.

Includes solutions for each lesson.

An excellent math refresher for adults.

Excellent for SAT/PSAT test prep.

Eight Chapters:

Whole Numbers

Fractions

Decimals

Percents

Geometry

Integers

Charts & Graphs

Word Problems





behavior
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}