العمل الشاق أو العمل؟ هل أنت مدمن عمل؟

أداء

العمل الشاق أو العمل؟ هل أنت مدمن عمل؟
الصورة عن طريق Comfreak على Pixabay

في جلسة تقديم المشورة للزوجين ، اتهمت دولوريس زوجها ، بيري ، من workaholism. وكان رده الفوري هو "نعم ، أنا مدمن عمل". فوجئت أنا وجويس بالفخر الحقيقي الذي كشف عنه في صوته. وتابع: "أنا رجل مبدع ، رجل أعمال. وأزدهر في العديد من المشاريع."

ردت دولوريس قائلة: "نعم ، بيرى يقوم بأشياء كثيرة ، ويوفر الكثير من المال للعائلة ، لكنه ذهب عمليا طوال الوقت. وعندما يكون في منزله ، يبدو أنه مجرد جسمه في المنزل. ما تبقى منه لا يزال في عملنا ، حتى في عطلة نهاية الأسبوع ، كان لدينا عطلة لمدة ثلاثة أيام كعائلة في عام كامل ، وكان على هاتفه معظم الوقت ، وهو يريد ممارسة الجنس معي ، لكنني لا أستطيع ذلك. أشعر وكأنه معي. لا أستطيع الاستمرار هكذا بعد الآن. "

قبل الهواتف الذكية والأجهزة اللوحية وغيرها من الأجهزة المحمولة ، اعتاد الناس على العمل بجد في وظائفهم ، ولكنهم عادوا إلى المنزل للاسترخاء. فالمزارعون ، على سبيل المثال ، يمكن أن يمكثوا لساعات طويلة جداً ، ولكن عندما يكونون بالمنزل ، لم يعد هناك عمل آخر يتعين القيام به. وعندما كانوا بعيدين عن مزارعهم في إجازة ، لم يكن هناك شيء يفعلونه ولكنهم كانوا في إجازة. نفس الشيء مع معظم أنواع العمل. لطالما وجدت مذهب العمل ، ولكن الآن في عصر التواصل ، يمكن للناس الآن العمل من أي مكان ، في الليل أو النهار. يبدو أن المشكلة تصاعدت.

العمل الشاق أو العمل؟

إذن ما الفرق بين العمل الشاق والعملية؟ متى يصبح العمل الشاق مرضًا؟ الجواب يكمن في فهم الإدمان. يعتقد مدمنو العمل أنهم يتحكمون في حياتهم ، لكن حياتهم تخرج عن نطاق السيطرة.

العمل ، مثل أي إدمان ، هو هروب أو إلهاء عن المشاعر. مدمني العمل لا يهتمون بأنفسهم أو بعائلاتهم (ولا يمكن لأي مبلغ من المال تعويض هذا). انهم لا يعرفون كيفية الراحة أو الاسترخاء. يمكن أن يكون إكراه العمل قاتلاً. وجدت دراسة حكومية يابانية أن خُمس القوى العاملة اليابانية معرضٌ لخطر الموت بسبب الإفراط في العمل. ليس أفضل بكثير في الولايات المتحدة

جويس وأنا أسافر دوليا كل عام لعملنا. أتذكر عندما كان أحد المشاركين في ورشة عمل ألمانية غير راضٍ عن عادات العمل المعتادة في الولايات المتحدة. لقد كان قلقاً للغاية بشأن الأميركيين الذين بدا أنهم يعملون طوال الوقت ولا يعتنون بالعناية المناسبة. وقد دهشنا من التعيينات السنوية في العطلات السنوية الألمانية لمدة ستة أسابيع ، في ذلك الوقت ، مقارنة مع أسبوع إلى أسبوعين لكثير من الأميركيين. ويمتلك الألمان يومان كاملان في نهاية كل أسبوع ، مقارنة بعطلة واحدة أو حتى بدون أيام للعديد من الأمريكيين.

على الرغم من عدم الاعتراف بعد بالعملية كحالة طبية من قبل الدليل التشخيصي والإحصائي للاضطرابات العقلية التابع للجمعية الأمريكية للطب النفسي ، إلا أنه يمكن أن يكون معوقًا. وهنا مفاجأة. أظهر ملخص حديث للأبحاث الحالية في مجال العمل من جامعة جورجيا أن مدمني العمل أقل إنتاجية من الزملاء الذين لديهم موقف ونهج صحي للعمل. مستويات الإجهاد لديهم أعلى وجودة عملهم في كثير من الأحيان أقل.

العمل: إكراه أم متعة؟

مدمنو العمل لا يستمتعون بعملهم. العمل أكثر إكراهًا من متعة. وبعبارة أخرى ، فإنهم يعملون لأنهم يشعرون أنهم يجب أن يعملوا. عندما لا يعملون ، يشعرون بالقلق أو الاكتئاب. العمل ، مثل المخدرات ، يغطي فقط هذا القلق أو الاكتئاب.

وبطبيعة الحال ، فإن العمل هو طيف. وتتراوح من أقل ما يقال إلى تعطيل شديد. ولكن ، كما يحدث عادة مع الإدمان ، يمكن أن يكون منحدرًا زلقًا ، والتقدم إلى شكل أكثر حدة قبل أن تعرفه.

وأفراد العائلة والأحباء ، مثلهم مثل غيرهم من أشكال الإدمان ، هم أول من يلاحظ المشكلة. أتذكر عندما كان أطفالنا صغارًا ، وكان بيني وبين جويس أدوارًا مقسمة. أمضت معظم الوقت مع الأطفال وقضيت معظم الوقت في مكتبي ، الذي كان على بعد حوالي عشرين دقيقة بالسيارة من المنزل. أدرك الآن أعراضي من إدمان العمل. كنت أقضي المزيد من الوقت في المكتب ، وأستمتع بها أقل وأقل. كان عملي يتحول إلى إجبار ، وكانت عائلتي تعاني بسببه.

أخيرا ، بعد أن فقدت العديد من وجبات العشاء مع عائلتي ، وضعت جويس قدمها إلى أسفل. في الواقع كلا القدمين. لقد سئمت لقد أعطتني إنذاراً نهائياً ، "باري ، في المرة التالية التي لن تفوت فيها العشاء ، لا تعود إلى البيت! يمكنك قضاء الليل في المكتب".

والتي عملت مثل السحر! لم أفتقد العشاء مرة أخرى. كانت نداء التنبيه لي.

جويس كان يمكن أن يكون مباراة codependent إلى إدماني. كان بإمكانها أن تقول ، "باري ، أتفهم مدى صعوبة عملك. سوف أتحلى بالصبر والطفل ، ولنأخذ سوى القليل مما يمكننا الحصول عليه منك." هذا من شأنه أن يمكّن إدماني فقط ، وربما كان سيصبح أسوأ.

كيفية التغلب على العمل

إذن ما هو الحل لمشكلة إدمان العمل ، بالإضافة إلى وجود الزوج المحب ذو الحدود السليمة؟ هذه بعض الاقتراحات:

1. اعترف أن لديك مشكلة.

خلافا لغيرها من الإدمان - مثل الكحول والمخدرات والمقامرة والجنس والأكل - التي تبقى سرية بسبب الخزي ، يمكن لمدمني العمل أن يكونوا فخورين "بأخلاقيات العمل الجاد". مثل أي إدمان ، إدمان العمل متعدد الأوجه ، ويجب تناوله بعدد من الطرق. الشيء المهم الذي يجب تذكره هو أنك لا تستطيع في كثير من الأحيان أن تشفي من إدمان نفسك.

2. العثور على معالج جيد للكشف وشفاء القضايا الأساسية.

في جلسات الاستشارة مع جويس وأنا ، جعل بيري العلاقة المهمة بين إصرار والده أنه لن يرقى إلى أي شيء ، وإجباره على العمل. كان يعمل لإثبات خطأ والده. هو الآن يحضر اجتماعات مدمني العمل المجهولين. وفهمت دولوريس تشفيها الذاتي وعدم وجود حدود صحية. انها تقف الآن لنفسها في العلاقة.

3. المشاركة بشكل كامل في مدمني العمل المجهولين.

مع تزايد الوعي بمشكلة إدمان العمل ، تنتشر مجموعات جديدة أكثر فأكثر. دعم المجموعة لا يقل أهمية عن الدعم الفردي مع المعالج. هم أكثر فعالية مجتمعة.

يعتمد تعافي نفسي على فهمي لحاجتي اللاشعورية لمحاولة كسب الحب من خلال العمل بجدية أكبر. كنت بحاجة إلى معرفة أن الانشغال لا يساوي مع المعنى.

إن معرفة أنني محبوب من أنا بدلا من ما أقوم به ، قد أحدث كل الفرق. لم أعد بحاجة للعمل الإجباري. تدريجيا أصبحت إنسان أكثر من كونه إنسانا. أتعلم كيفية إنجاز الأمور في المكتب دون التضحية بصحتي.

كتاب من هذا المؤلف

لحقا أحب امرأة
باري وجويس فيسيل.

حقا أحب امرأة بقلم جويس فيسيل وباري فيسيل.كيف تحتاج المرأة حقا أن تكون محبوبا؟ كيف يمكن أن يساعد شريكها في إظهار شغفها العميق ، وشغفها ، وإبداعها ، وأحلامها ، وفرحتها ، وفي الوقت نفسه السماح لها بالشعور بالأمان والقبول والتقدير؟ يقدم هذا الكتاب أدوات للقراء لتكريم شركائهم بشكل أكثر عمقًا.

انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب

عن المؤلفين)

جويس وVissell باريجويس وباري Vissell، وهما زوجان ممرضة / المعالج والطبيب النفسي منذ 1964، والمستشارين قرب سانتا كروز، كاليفورنيا. وينظر على نطاق واسع على أنها من بين الخبراء في العالم على علاقة واعية ونمو الشخصية. هم واضعو في القلب مشتركة، نماذج من الحب, المخاطر إلى أن تلتئم, للقلب الحكمة, من المفترض أن تكون, و الأم هدية النهائي.
فيما يلي بعض الفرص لجلب المزيد من الحب والنمو إلى حياتك ، في الأحداث التالية بقيادة باري وجويس فيسيل: فبراير 12-17، 2019 - In-Depth Couples Retreat في HomeCenter لدينا ؛ يوليو شنومكس-شنومكس، 2019-المشتركة قلب الصيف تراجع في Breitenbush Hot Springs، Oregon؛ و سبتمبر 24-30 ، 2019 - أسيسي تراجعايطاليا. لمزيد من المعلومات حول جلسات المشورة عبر الهاتف أو شخصيًا ، كتبهمأو التسجيلات أو الجدول الزمني للمحادثات وورش العمل. زيارة موقع الويب الخاص بهم في SharedHeart.org.

كتابان جديدان (2018) بواسطة Vissells:

لحقا أحب امرأة
باري وجويس فيسيل.

حقا أحب امرأة بقلم جويس فيسيل وباري فيسيل.كيف تحتاج المرأة حقا أن تكون محبوبا؟ كيف يمكن أن يساعد شريكها في إظهار شغفها العميق ، وشغفها ، وإبداعها ، وأحلامها ، وفرحتها ، وفي الوقت نفسه السماح لها بالشعور بالأمان والقبول والتقدير؟ يقدم هذا الكتاب أدوات للقراء لتكريم شركائهم بشكل أكثر عمقًا. على الرغم من أن هذه الكتابات تشير في الغالب إلى النساء والرجال من جنسين مختلفين ، هناك ثروة من المعلومات ل LGBTQ. إن تركيزنا ، بعد كل شيء ، هو كيف نحب بعمق شخصًا آخر ، سواء كان رجلاً أو امرأة.

انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب

إلى الحب حقا رجل
جويس وVissell باري.

حقا أحب رجل من جويس وباري فيسيل.كيف يحتاج الرجل حقا ليكون محبوبا؟ كيف يمكن أن يساعد شريكه على إظهار حساسيته ، وعواطفه ، وقوته ، ونارته ، وفي الوقت نفسه السماح له بالشعور بالاحترام والأمان والاعتراف؟ يقدم هذا الكتاب أدوات للقراء لتكريم شركائهم بشكل أكثر عمقًا. على الرغم من أن هذه الكتابات تشير في الغالب إلى النساء والرجال من جنسين مختلفين ، هناك ثروة من المعلومات ل LGBTQ. إن تركيزنا ، بعد كل شيء ، هو كيف نحب بعمق شخصًا آخر ، سواء كان رجلاً أو امرأة.

انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب

المزيد من الكتب من قبل هؤلاء المؤلفين

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=B00CX7P1S4;maxresults=1}

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = 157324161X، maxresults = 1}

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = 1573241555. maxresults = 1}

أداء
enafarزكية-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Working Hard or Workaholism? Are You A Work Addict?

performance

Working Hard or Workaholism? Are You A Work Addict?
Image by Comfreak on Pixabay

In a couple's counseling session, Dolores accused her husband, Perry, of workaholism. His immediate response was, "Yes, I'm a workaholic." Joyce and I were surprised at the actual pride revealed in his voice. He continued, "I'm a creative man, an entrepreneur. I thrive on juggling many projects."

Dolores countered, "Yes, Perry does many things, and provides plenty of money for the family, but he's gone practically all the time. And when he's home, it feels like it's just his body that's home. The rest of him is still at work, even on the weekends. We had one three-day vacation as a family in a whole year, and he was on his phone most of the time. He wants to have sex with me, but I just can't. I don't feel like he's with me. I can't go on like this anymore."

Before smartphones, tablets, and other portable devices, people used to work hard at their jobs, but then come home to relax. Farmers, for example, could put in very long hours, but when they were home, there was no more work to be done. And when they were away from their farms on vacation, there was nothing to do but be on vacation. Same with most kinds of work. Workaholism has always existed, but now in the communication age, people can now work from anywhere, night or day. The problem seems to have escalated.

Working Hard or Workaholism?

So what's the difference between working hard and workaholism? When does hard work become pathological? The answer lies in understanding addiction. Workaholics think they are in control of their lives, but their lives are actually out of control.

Work, like any addiction, is an escape or distraction from feelings. Workaholics don't take proper care of themselves or their families (and no amount of money can make up for this). They don't know how to rest or relax. The compulsion to work can even be deadly. A Japanese government study found one fifth of the Japanese workforce is at risk of death from overwork. It's not much better in the U.S.

Joyce and I travel internationally each year for our work. I remember once a German workshop participant was incredulous about the typical work habits in the U.S. He was sincerely worried about Americans who seemed to be working all the time and not taking proper care of themselves. And we were amazed at the standard German annual vacation allotment of six weeks, at the time, compared to one to two weeks for many Americans. And Germans have two full days off each weekend, compared to one or even no days off for many Americans.

Although workaholism is not yet recognized as a medical condition by the American Psychiatric Association's Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, it can be crippling. And here's a surprise. A recent summary of the existing research into workaholism by the University of Georgia showed that workaholics are less productive than colleagues with a healthier attitude and approach to work. Their stress levels are higher and their quality of work is often lower.

Work: Compulsion or Pleasure?

Work addicts do not really enjoy their work. Work is more of a compulsion than a pleasure. In other words, they work because they feel like they should be working. When they are not working, they feel anxious or depressed. Work, like a drug, merely covers up this anxiety or depression.

Of course, workaholism is a spectrum. It ranges from mildly to severely disabling. But, as often happens with addiction, it can be a slippery slope, and progress to a more severe form before you know it.

Family members and loved ones, like with other forms of addiction, are often the first to notice the problem. I remember when our kids were little, Joyce and I had divided roles. She spent most of the time with the children and I spent most of the time in my office, which was about twenty minutes' drive from home. I recognize now my symptoms of workaholism. I was spending more and more time in the office, and enjoying it less and less. My working was becoming a compulsion, and my family was suffering because of it.

Finally, after missing many dinners with my family, Joyce put her foot down. Actually both feet. She was fed up. She gave me an ultimatum, "Barry, the next time you are going to miss dinner, don't come home! You can spend the night in the office."

And that worked like a charm! I never missed dinner again. It was a wakeup call for me.

Joyce could have been the codependent match to my addiction. She could have said, "Barry, I understand how hard you're working. Me and the children will be patient and take however little we can get from you." That would only have enabled my addiction, and it probably would have gotten worse.

How To Overcome Workaholism

So what's the solution to the problem of workaholism, in addition to having a loving spouse with healthy boundaries? Here are some suggestions:

1. Admit you have a problem.

Unlike other addictions -- like alcohol, drugs, gambling, sex, and eating -- that are kept secret because of shame, workaholics can be even proud of their "hard work ethic." Like any addiction, work addiction is multi-faceted, and must be approached in a number of ways. The important thing to remember is you often cannot heal addiction by yourself.

2. Find a good therapist to uncover and heal the underlying issues.

In the counseling sessions with Joyce and I, Perry made the important connection between his father's insistence that he would never amount to anything, and his compulsion to work. He was working to prove his father wrong. He is now attending Workaholics Anonymous meetings. And Dolores understood her own codependence and lack of healthy boundaries. She is now standing up for herself in the relationship.

3. Participate fully in Workaholics Anonymous.

With growing awareness of the problem of work addiction, new groups are sprouting up more and more. Group support is just as important as individual support with a therapist. They are more effective combined.

My own recovery depended on my understanding my unconscious need to try to earn love by working harder. I needed to learn that busyness does not equate with meaningfulness.

Knowing that I am loved for who I am rather than what I do, has made all the difference. I no longer need to compulsively work. Gradually I am becoming a human being rather than a human doing. I am learning how to get things done in the office without sacrificing my health.

Book by this Author

To Really Love a Woman
by Barry and Joyce Vissell.

To Really Love a Woman by Joyce Vissell and Barry Vissell.How does a woman really need to be loved? How can her partner help to bring out her deepest passion, her sensuality, her creativity, her dreams, her joy, and at the same time allow her to feel safe, accepted and appreciated? This book gives tools to the readers to more deeply honor their partners.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book

About the Author(s)

Joyce & Barry VissellJoyce & Barry Vissell, a nurse/therapist and psychiatrist couple since 1964, are counselors near Santa Cruz, CA. They are widely regarded as among the world's top experts on conscious relationship and personal growth. They are the authors of The Shared Heart, Models of Love, Risk To Be Healed, The Heart’s Wisdom, Meant To Be, and A Mother’s Final Gift.
Here are a few opportunities to bring more love and growth into your life, at the following events led by Barry and Joyce Vissell: Feb 12-17, 2019 In-Depth Couples Retreat at our HomeCenter; Jul 21-26, 2019Shared Heart Summer Retreat at Breitenbush Hot Springs, Oregon; and Sep 24-30, 2019 — Assisi Retreat, Italy. For further information on counseling sessions by phone or in person, their books, recordings or their schedule of talks and workshops. Visit their web site at SharedHeart.org.

Two New Books (2018) by the Vissells:

To Really Love a Woman
by Barry and Joyce Vissell.

To Really Love a Woman by Joyce Vissell and Barry Vissell.How does a woman really need to be loved? How can her partner help to bring out her deepest passion, her sensuality, her creativity, her dreams, her joy, and at the same time allow her to feel safe, accepted and appreciated? This book gives tools to the readers to more deeply honor their partners. Although these writings refer mostly to heterosexual women and men, there is a wealth of information for LGBTQ. Our focus, after all, is how to deeply love another person, whether it be a man or a woman.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book

To Really Love a Man
by Joyce and Barry Vissell.

To Really Love a Man by Joyce and Barry Vissell.How does a man really need to be loved? How can his partner help to bring out his sensitivity, his emotions, his strength, his fire, and at the same time allow him to feel respected, secure, and acknowledged? This book gives tools to the readers to more deeply honor their partners. Although these writings refer mostly to heterosexual women and men, there is a wealth of information for LGBTQ. Our focus, after all, is how to deeply love another person, whether it be a man or a woman.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book

More books by these authors

A Mother's Final Gift: How One Woman's Courageous Dying Transformed Her Family

performanceAuthor: Joyce Vissell
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook
Studio: BookBaby
Label: BookBaby
Publisher: BookBaby
Manufacturer: BookBaby

Buy Now
Editorial Review: A Mother’s Final Gift is the story of one courageous woman – Louise Viola Swanson Wollenberg – and of her tremendous love of life and family, and her faith and resolve. But it is also the story of her equally courageous family who, in the process of rising to the occasion and carrying out Louise’s long-held final wishes, not only overcame so many stigmas about the process of death but, at the same time, rediscovered what it means to celebrate life itself.
This book not only touches the heart in a very powerful, poignant, and joyful way, but reading it was life-changing for me. In writing this book, Joyce and Barry Vissell, and their children, mentor us through an experience that many of us were afraid to even think about it. Louise looked at death as her greatest adventure. So should we all. The title of this book is indeed A Mother’s Final Gift but, in truth, this story is an exceptional gift to every person who will read it.




Meant to Be: Miraculous Stories to Inspire a Lifetime of Love

performanceBinding: Paperback
Features:
  • Used Book in Good Condition

Brand: Brand: Conari Press
Creator(s):
  • Joyce Vissell
  • Barry Vissell

Studio: Conari Press
Label: Conari Press
Publisher: Conari Press
Manufacturer: Conari Press

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

Does love at first sight only happen in the movies? Not according to relationship experts Barry and Joyce Vissell, who have long believed in the miraculous nature of love.

In Meant to Be, a collection of true and truly extraordinary tales, the editors demonstrate that the hands of destiny are at work behind the scenes of romantic love, yielding stories of unexpected and heartwarming connections.

"We believe there is a strong, largely unseen energy of love guiding us every step of our lives," writeS the Vissells. "This guidance brings us to the right relationship at the right time. The sometimes amazing stories in this book show the magnitude and intelligence of this guiding power."

Dramatic, surprising, and unforgettable, these tales of miraculous meetings, reunions, and endings will fill readers with awe, hope, and joy. Meant to Be is a classic in the making, celebrating the mysterious and eternal power of love.





Heart's Wisdom: A Practical Guide to Growing Through Love

performanceAuthor: Joyce Vissell
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Used Book in Good Condition

Brand: Brand: Conari Press
Studio: Conari Pr
Label: Conari Pr
Publisher: Conari Pr
Manufacturer: Conari Pr

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

With thirtyfive years of marriage and twentyfive years of clinical experience, popular workshop leaders and columnists Joyce and Barry Vissell have helped hundreds of people break the cycle of failed relationships by showing that a relationship is an opportunity to grow as an individualto connect deeply not just with another person but with your own heart as well.





performance
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}