Une liste de contrôle rationnelle n'est pas à la hauteur des émotions en matière de cœur

Une liste de contrôle rationnelle n'est pas à la hauteur des émotions en matière de cœur
Votre liste froide et difficile ne fait pas le poids face aux émotions brûlantes. Glenn Carstens-Peters / Unsplash, CC BY

Pour beaucoup de gens, peu de choses sont plus gratifiantes que de rayer un élément de la liste de contrôle. Mais que se passe-t-il si la liste de contrôle concerne votre partenaire de rêve? Et si la liste de contrôle est fausse?

"Relationshopping”Est ​​quand vous recherchez le partenaire idéal comme si les gens étaient des produits. Rencontre en ligne, maintenant utilisé par près de 40 pour cent des Américains qui sont "célibataires et à la recherche," pourrait normaliser cette tendance. Souvent aidés par les filtres de recherche, les dateurs potentiels chercher la combinaison parfaite d'attributs plutôt que de se concentrer sur l'expérience d'être avec une personne.

Les relations relationnelles peuvent fonctionner si les gens se connaissent bien, mais les recherches indiquent le contraire. Ces dernières années, des psychologues, des économistes et des neuroscientifiques ont découvert que les décisions sont largement motivées par les émotions. De plus, dans l’environnement stable et logique dans lequel nous anticipons nos décisions, les gens ont du mal à expliquer les pulsions viscérales tels que l'excitation, la faim et l'excitation sexuelle.

Des chercheurs en psychologie comme moi appelez cela leécart d'empathie chaud-froid. ”Cette distance entre nos comportements prévus dans un état froid et rationnel et nos comportements réels dans un état chaud et excité explique pourquoi les gens ne font souvent pas ce qu’ils disent. Cela pourrait expliquer, par exemple, pourquoi vous avez juré d'arrêter de manger des biscuits pour le Nouvel An - et vous le pensiez vraiment -, puis vous en avez mangé une douzaine (ils sentaient si bon!) Lorsque votre collègue les avait amenés au travail.

À l’état froid, il est facile d’oublier le pouvoir des émotions. Étant donné les sentiments forts et complexes que cela implique, vous serez peut-être sujet à un manque d'empathie dans la recherche du partenaire idéal.

Prise de décision chaud-froid dans la datation

Des études ont documenté le fossé empathie chaud-froid dans un éventail de comportements, y compris l'échec des jeunes hommes à utiliser des préservatifs sous l'emprise de l'excitation sexuelle et l'incapacité des gens à faire preuve d'empathie avec la souffrance sociale à moins qu'ils ne ressentent eux-mêmes une douleur semblable.

Les chercheurs en psychologie se tournent maintenant vers le fossé empathie entre le chaud et le froid pour comprendre pourquoi les attributs que les gens disent qu'ils veulent dans un partenaire romantique diffèrent souvent des attributs qu’ils choisissent réellement dans la vie réelle. Les études de speed-dating offrent un cadre idéal pour examiner cette question: les chercheurs sont en mesure de comparer les rapports des gens sur ce qu'ils veulent avec leurs décisions quant à qui à ce jour.


Obtenez les dernières nouvelles d'InnerSelf


In une étude de speed-dating, les préférences déclarées des étudiants par un partenaire montrent des différences typiques entre les sexes. Les femmes préféraient davantage la richesse que les hommes, et les hommes davantage la beauté que les femmes. Lorsque ces mêmes participants ont rapidement daté, il n’y avait aucune différence entre les sexes dans les préférences pour la richesse et la beauté. De plus, les préférences déclarées par les participants ne permettent pas de prédire à qui ils ont proposé une date lors de l'événement de speed-dating.

In une autre étude, les hommes ont trouvé que les femmes plus intelligentes étaient plus souhaitables dans des situations hypothétiques, mais moins souhaitables si elles interagissaient réellement avec elles dans un scénario réel. Ces résultats pourraient être attribuables à l'incapacité des personnes à rendre compte de leurs émotions - telles qu'une excitation inspirée par la beauté ou une insuffisance suscitée par une femme plus intelligente - en présence d'un partenaire potentiel. Dans le feu de l'action, les émotions peuvent l'emporter sur les idées préconçues sur ce que vous désirez.

Bien que certaines des recherches en cours donnent l’impression que des États «chauds» égarent les gens en amour, ils ont peut-être un côté plus brillant. Actuellement, les préférences ethniques en ce qui concerne les fréquentations sont courantes, même dans les milieux les plus éduqués. Intéressé à comprendre la correspondance entre les préférences ethniques énoncées et réelles, j’ai mené une étude de speed-dating sur de jeunes Américains d'origine asiatique, qui peut approcher l'amour plus pratiquement en raison d'un accent culturel sur la satisfaction des attentes de leur famille plutôt que de suivre leurs propres désirs. Ainsi, les Américains d'origine asiatique ne peut pas ne pas montrer l'écart d'empathie dans la datation s'ils donnent la priorité à leur liste froide d'attributs approuvés par les parents plutôt qu'à leurs émotions brûlantes.

Sans surprise, les participants américains chinois, vietnamiens, coréens et philippins m'ont dit à l'avance qu'ils préféraient sortir avec leur propre groupe. Leurs décisions de datation rapide, cependant, ne reflètent pas leurs préférences déclarées. Les speed-daters n'étaient pas plus enclins à vouloir revoir des partenaires de la même ethnie. Peut-être en personne, ils étaient trop submergés par le désir de prendre en compte les conséquences sociales négatives, telles que la désapprobation des parents, de sortir de leur appartenance ethnique. L'expérience viscérale a de nouveau battu la liste de contrôle logique.

listes de contrôle des relations2 2 13Vous pouvez entrer dans des situations amoureuses les yeux ouverts, conscients de l'écart d'empathie entre le chaud et le froid. Rommel Canlas / Shutterstock.com

Comment sauter au-delà de l'écart

Avec la connaissance de l'écart d'empathie entre le chaud et le froid, trouver un partenaire peut sembler encore plus intimidant. Cependant, il existe certaines choses que vous pouvez faire pour combler le fossé entre vos états chauds et froids et espérer vous rapprocher de trouver l’amour.

Commencez par comprendre vos propres biais afin de pouvoir ensuite en rendre compte. Comment? Demandez aux autres. La recherche suggère que les gens identifier facilement les préjugés des autres, mais pas les leurs. Une autre méthode consiste à vous mettre à l’état «chaud» et à réfléchir, à ce moment-là, sur ce qui vous attire vraiment chez une personne. Dans une étude, des chercheurs rejet social induit chez les enseignants - Ce n'est que dans cette situation que les enseignants ont commencé à comprendre véritablement la douleur ressentie par les élèves victimes d'intimidation.

Une fois que vous les avez identifiés, vous pouvez éviter certaines des décisions que vous prenez dans vos états «chauds». Une autre tactique consiste donc à vous soustraire à des situations indésirables. Par exemple, vous êtes peut-être attiré par les «mauvais garçons» ou les «mauvaises filles». Connaissant le pouvoir des émotions, éloignez-vous des lieux où vous pourriez en rencontrer un, par exemple si des amis ou la famille vous tiennent pour responsables.

Alors soyez raisonnable dans vos attentes. Parcourez soigneusement vos listes de contrôle «à froid» des qualités souhaitées chez un partenaire potentiel et envisagez de supprimer celles qui sont superficielles. Tous ces critères ne comptent peut-être pas autant que vous le pensez quand il s'agit de tomber amoureux. Déterminez si vous excluez inutilement des personnes en vous basant sur des idées de ce que vous devriez désirer.

Trop d'options peuvent signifier ne jamais être heureux. Plutôt que de toujours chercher la meilleure chose à faire etrelationshopping, "Les chercheurs suggèrent que les gens devraient essayer"relationshipping”- développer un partenariat sain grâce au temps et aux efforts mutuels. Cela ne signifie pas s'installer avec n'importe qui. Cherchez quelqu'un qui est disposé et capable d'investir le sang, la sueur et les larmes nécessaires à une relation fructueuse.

Même s'il est facile de blâmer nos émotions pour des décisions «irrationnelles», les gens devraient également célébrer leurs émotions. Parfois, des émotions «chaudes» orientent les gens dans une direction plus positive, les rendant peut-être moins soucieux de la ethnicité or potentiel de gains des partenaires potentiels. Les émotions servent un objectif évolutif important, nous incitant à l'action. Ils nous poussent à nous entraider, à créer des liens et à faire le saut de foi nécessaire pour trouver et construire l'amour, parfois dans les endroits où nous nous attendons le moins.La Conversation

A propos de l'auteur

Karen Wu, professeure adjointe de psychologie, Université d'État de Californie, Los Angeles

Cet article est republié de La Conversation sous une licence Creative Commons. Lis le article original.

Livres connexes

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; mots-clés = couples réussis; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

suivez InnerSelf sur

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

A Rational Checklist Is No Match For Emotions In Matters Of The Heart

relationships

A Rational Checklist Is No Match For Emotions In Matters Of The Heart
Your cold, hard list is no match for hot emotions. Glenn Carstens-Peters/Unsplash, CC BY

For many people, there are few things more rewarding than crossing an item off a checklist. But what if the checklist is about your dream partner? And what if the checklist is wrong?

Relationshopping” is when you hunt for the perfect partner as if people were products. Online dating, now used by almost 40 percent of Americans who are “single and looking,” might be normalizing this tendency. Often aided by search filters, potential daters seek the perfect combination of attributes rather than focusing on the experience of being with a person.

Relationshopping might work if people knew themselves well, but research indicates the contrary. In recent years, psychologists, economists and neuroscientists alike have found that decisions are largely driven by emotion. Furthermore, in the steady, logical environment in which we anticipate our decisions, people struggle to account for visceral drives such as excitement, hunger and sexual arousal.

Psychology researchers like me call this the “hot-cold empathy gap.” This distance between our predicted behaviors in a cold, rational state and our actual behaviors in a hot, aroused state, explains why people often don’t do as they say. It might explain, for example, why you swore you’d stop eating cookies for the New Year – and you really meant it – but then went and ate a dozen (they just smelled so good!) when your colleague brought them to work.

In the cold state, it’s easy to forget about the power of emotions. Given the strong and complex feelings involved, you may be prone to the empathy gap in the search for the perfect partner.

Hot-cold decision-making in dating

Studies have documented the hot-cold empathy gap in an array of behaviors, including young men’s failure to use condoms in the grip of sexual arousal and people’s inability to empathize with social suffering unless they feel a similar pain themselves.

Psychology researchers are now turning to the hot-cold empathy gap to understand why the attributes that people say they want in a romantic partner often differ from the attributes they actually choose in real life. Speed-dating studies provide an ideal venue for examining this question: Researchers are able to compare people’s reports of what they want to their decisions about whom to date.

In one speed-dating study, college students’ reported preferences in a partner showed typical gender differences. Women preferred wealth more so than did men, and men preferred beauty more so than did women. When these same participants speed-dated, however, there were no gender differences in preferences for wealth and beauty. Furthermore, participants’ self-reported preferences did not predict whom they offered a date to in the speed-dating event.

In another study, men found more intelligent women to be more desirable in hypothetical situations, but less desirable if they actually interacted with them in a live scenario. These findings might be accounted for by people’s failure to account for their emotions – like excitement inspired by beauty or inadequacy aroused by a smarter woman – in the presence of a potential partner. In the heat of the moment, emotions may override preconceived notions about what you desire.

Although some of the current research may make it seem like “hot” states lead people astray in love, there may be a brighter side to them. Currently, ethnic preferences in dating are common, even among highly educated circles. Interested in understanding the match between stated and actual ethnic preferences, I conducted a speed-dating study of young Asian-Americans, who may approach love more practically due to a cultural emphasis on meeting their family’s expectations rather than following their own desires. Thus, Asian-Americans may not not show the empathy gap in dating if they strongly prioritize their cold list of parent-approved attributes over any hot emotions of their own.

Unsurprisingly, the Chinese, Vietnamese, Korean and Filipino American participants told me in advance that they most preferred dating within their own group. Their speed-dating decisions, however, did not reflect their stated preferences. Speed-daters weren’t more likely to want to see partners of the same ethnicity again. Perhaps in person, they were too overwhelmed with desire to consider the negative social consequences, such as parental disapproval, of dating outside their ethnicity. The visceral experience beat out the logical checklist again.

relationship checklists2 2 13You can enter dating situations with your eyes open, aware of the hot-cold empathy gap. Rommel Canlas/Shutterstock.com

How to jump beyond the gap

With knowledge of the hot-cold empathy gap, finding a partner might seem even more intimidating. There are, however, some things you can do to bridge the gap between your hot and cold states and hopefully come closer to finding love.

First, understand your own biases, so you can then account for them. How? Ask others. Research suggests that people easily identify others’ bias, but not their own. Another method is to put yourself in the “hot” state, and reflect, at that moment, on what you’re really drawn to in a person. In one study, researchers induced social rejection in teachers – only in this condition did teachers start to truly understand the pain experienced by bullied students.

Once you identify them, you may want to avoid some of the decisions that you make in your “hot” states. So another tactic is to remove yourself from undesirable situations. For instance, maybe you’re attracted to “bad boys” or “bad girls.” Knowing the power of emotions, stay away from places you might meet one, perhaps having friends or family hold you accountable.

Then be reasonable in your expectations. Carefully go through your “cold” checklists of desired qualities in a potential partner and consider removing superficial ones. All those criteria might not matter as much as you think when it comes to falling in love. Consider whether you’re ruling people out unnecessarily based on ideas of what you should desire.

Too many options can mean never being happy. Rather than always searching for the next best thing and “relationshopping,” researchers suggest that people should try “relationshipping” – developing a healthy partnership through mutual time and effort. This doesn’t mean settling down with just anyone. Look for someone who is willing and able to invest the blood, sweat and tears necessary for a successful relationship.

As easy as it is to blame our emotions for “irrational” decisions, people should celebrate emotions as well. At times, “hot” emotions steer people in a more positive direction, perhaps making them care less about the ethnicity or earning potential of potential partners. Emotions serve an important evolutionary purpose, spurring us into action. They push us to help each other, to bond and to take the leap of faith needed to find and build love, sometimes in places we least expect.The Conversation

About The Author

Karen Wu, Assistant Professor of Psychology, California State University, Los Angeles

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

10 Choices Successful Couples Make

relationshipsAuthor: Dr. Ron Welch
Binding: Paperback
Studio: Revell
Label: Revell
Publisher: Revell
Manufacturer: Revell

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Most books on marriage rightly address communication and conflict as key issues, then advise readers on how to fight fair since conflict is an inevitable reality and cannot be avoided. But Dr. Ron Welch asks the provocative question, Is it? Is every marriage doomed to one conflict after another? Shouldn't we expect better than that?

In this practical and encouraging book, Welch offers a far more positive approach to marriage, outlining 10 specific choices couples can make to minimize or even avoid conflict and increase joy. With his expert guidance, couples will learn how to employ proven strategies to

- communicate accurately and positively
- choose forgiveness over unforgiveness
- understand their marriage type
- and make decisions more effectively

Whether they are engaged, newly married, or have been married for decades, couples will find that this book will transform their relationship.




47 Little Love Boosters for a Happy Marriage: Connect and Instantly Deepen Your Bond No Matter How Busy You Are (Amazingly Simple Little Things Successful Couples Do Series) (Volume 1)

relationshipsAuthor: Marko Petkovic M.Sc.
Binding: Paperback
Studio: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Label: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Manufacturer: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

Discover the 47 Amazingly Simple Little Things Successful Couples Do To Connect and Have a Happy Marriage In Just Minutes a Day

Why do you need to read this book

Whether your relationship is a new romance, or one that has passed the test of time, there might be days when you wonder how to keep the fire burning.

As you read this book, you’ll discover amazingly simple little things successful couples do to show their love and connect with their loved one in just minutes a day, even if they’re busy parents with young kids!

We call them the “Little Love Boosters for a Happy Marriage” because they:

  • require no cooperation from your spouse
  • take very little of your time—sometimes only seconds!
  • you can do them at home
  • are free!

Your secret to lasting love

When you download the book, you’ll get the complementary, beautifully designed Golden Collection with 47 little love boosters and a FREE success checklist. You can save it to your phone or print it out and have a quick peek anytime and anywhere you want.

This will become your little secret to achieving a lasting love and a happy marriage even if you’re not an overly creative person or a hopeless romantic.

No fancy jargon

You won’t be wasting your time sifting through useless jargon. Instead, you’ll find straight-to-the-point advice, proven by the author and his wife themselves.

Bonus Audio Book Included!

This book comes with a complementary audio book. You can listen to it while driving the car, cleaning the house, working out, or going for a jog—when your mind is available. This way you don’t have to take any extra time out of your life to make the happy marriage you and your partner deserve.

The results are magical. Download this book now to find out how you can achieve them too.

If you’re serious about taking your marriage from “just fine” to “the marriage we’ve always wanted” and you want that feel-good sensation to last and just keep growing by the day, download this book today.

Scroll up and grab your copy today





The Secret Language of Successful Couples: The Keys for Unlocking Love

relationshipsAuthor: Bill Farrel
Binding: Paperback
Brand: Harvest House Publishers
Studio: Harvest House Publishers
Label: Harvest House Publishers
Publisher: Harvest House Publishers
Manufacturer: Harvest House Publishers

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

Why is it so hard for married couples to get in sync with each other? How is it that your mate can be a source of joy and of frustration all on the same day?

Marriages operate by a secret language―a collection of key words, actions, insights, and attitudes that determine how a couple's relationship works. If that language is uncovered, love grows and flourishes. If that language remains a mystery, love gets buried behind misunderstandings and irritations.

Bill and Pam Farrel, authors of the bestselling Men Are Like Waffles, Women Are Like Spaghetti, offer biblical and practical insight into this language that God has programmed into each married couple. Laced with the Farrels' trademark humor, The Secret Language of Successful Couples is packed with ideas to help couples connect at a richer, deeper level. As both partners grow in relationship with God and rely on the Spirit for insights into the heart of their mate, they can replace their old, selfish languages with a new one that leads to greater intimacy in every area of life.

Rerelease of The Marriage Code.





relationships
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}