Est-ce une bonne chose Plus de personnes que jamais auparavant sont célibataires

Est-ce une bonne chose Plus de personnes que jamais auparavant sont célibataires

Le 21st siècle est l'âge de la vie célibataire. La Conversation

Aujourd'hui, le nombre d'adultes célibataires aux États-Unis - et dans de nombreux autres pays du monde - est sans précédent. Et les chiffres ne disent pas simplement que les gens restent célibataires plus longtemps avant de s'installer. Plus rester seul pour la vie. Un rapport Pew 2014 estime qu'au moment où les jeunes adultes atteindront l'âge de 50, environ un sur quatre n'aura jamais été marié.

L'ascendance de la vie célibataire a laissé certains dans la panique. US News & World Report, par exemple, garde que les Américains pensent que les valeurs morales du pays sont mauvaises et s'aggravent, et l'une des principales raisons de leur inquiétude est le grand nombre de personnes qui restent célibataires.

Mais au lieu de fretting, peut-être que nous devrions célébrer.

Je suis un sociologue, et j'ai passé les deux dernières décennies recherche et écriture à propos des célibataires. J'ai constaté que la hausse du célibat est une aubaine pour nos villes et nos collectivités, nos parents, nos amis et nos voisins. Cette tendance a la chance de redéfinir le sens traditionnel - et les limites - de la maison, de la famille et de la communauté.

Liens qui unissent

Pendant des années, des communautés à travers le pays ont été organisées par groupes de familles nucléaires vivant dans les maisons de banlieue. Mais il y a des signes que cet arrangement ne fonctionne pas si bien.

Ces maisons sont souvent trop isolant - trop loin du travail et l'un de l'autre. Selon une enquête nationale en cours depuis 1974, les Américains n'ont jamais été moins susceptibles d'être amis avec leurs voisins qu'ils ne le sont maintenant, avec le voisinage le plus bas dans les banlieues.


Obtenez les dernières nouvelles d'InnerSelf


Mais des études ont également montré que les célibataires sont en train de bomber ces tendances. Par exemple, ils sont plus susceptibles que les personnes mariées pour encourager, aider et socialiser avec leurs amis et voisins. Ils sont également plus susceptibles de visiter, soutenir, conseiller et rester en contact avec leurs frères et sœurs et leurs parents.

En fait, les gens qui vivent seuls sont souvent la vie de leurs villes et villages. Ils ont tendance à participer à davantage de groupes civiques et d'événements publics, à s'inscrire à plus de cours d'art et de musique et à aller dîner plus souvent que ceux qui vivent avec d'autres. Les célibataires, qu'ils vivent seuls ou avec d'autres, aussi volontaire plus pour les organismes de services sociaux, les groupes éducatifs, les hôpitaux et les organismes voués aux arts que les personnes mariées.

En revanche, lorsque les couples emménagent ensemble ou se marient, ils ont tendance à devenir plus insulaire, même s'ils n'ont pas d'enfants.

Renforcer la force et la résilience

Malheureusement, la vie célibataire continue d'être stigmatisé, avec des personnes seules régulièrement stéréotypé comme moins sûr et plus égocentrique que les personnes mariées. Ils sont a affirmé Mme Plante. Mourir plus tôt, seul et triste.

cela dit... études des gens qui vivre seul généralement trouver que la plupart se portent bien; ils ne se sentent pas isolés, ils ne sont pas tristes et seuls.

Les rapports de la mort prématurée des célibataires ont également été grandement exagéré, comme prétentions que le mariage transforme les célibataires misérables et malades en conjoints heureux et en bonne santé.

De façon significative, ce sont les célibataires qui s'en tirent particulièrement bien.

Par exemple, les personnes avec plus portefeuilles de relations diversifiées ont tendance à être plus satisfaits de leur vie. En revanche, l'insularité des couples qui emménagent ensemble ou se marient peut les laisser vulnérable à une plus mauvaise santé mentale.

Des études ont montré que les personnes qui restent célibataires développent plus de confiance dans leurs propres opinions et subissent plus la croissance personnelle et le développement que les gens qui se marient. Par exemple, ils valoriser le travail significatif plus que les gens mariés. Ils peuvent également avoir plus d'occasions de profiter de la solitude que beaucoup d'entre eux savourent.

Redéfinir la famille et la maison

Les personnes mariées placent souvent leur conjoint (et, pour certains, les enfants) au centre de leurs vies. C'est ce qu'ils sont censés faire, et souvent c'est aussi ce qu'ils veulent faire.

Mais les célibataires sont élargir les frontières traditionnelles de la famille. Les personnes dont ils se soucient le plus peuvent inclure la famille dans le sens traditionnel. Mais ils vont aussi faire le tour des amis, des ex-partenaires et des mentors. C'est une famille de personnes plus grande et plus inclusive qui compte.

Pour beaucoup de célibataires, les maisons de banlieue unifamiliales ne leur offriront pas l'équilibre entre la sociabilité et la solitude dont ils rêvent. Ils sont plutôt à la recherche ou la création d'une variété de différents durée de vie.

Parfois, vous verrez des variations 21st du siècle des arrangements traditionnels, comme les ménages multi-générationnels qui permettent la vie privée et l'indépendance ainsi que l'interaction sociale. D'autres - et pas seulement les très jeunes - sont vivre avec leurs amis ou d'autres familles de choix.

Ceux qui chérissent leur temps seul choisissent souvent de vivre seul. Certains ont engagé des relations amoureuses, mais ont choisi de vivre dans des lieux qui leur sont propres.vivre séparément. »

Certaines des innovations les plus fascinantes sont poursuivies par des personnes qui recherchent à la fois la solitude et la sociabilité facile. Ces personnes peuvent emménager dans leur propre appartement, mais c'est dans un immeuble ou un quartier où les amis et la famille vivent déjà. Ils pourraient acheter un duplex avec un ami proche, ou explorer cohousing communautés ou quartiers de poche, qui sont des communautés de petites maisons regroupées autour d'espaces partagés tels que des cours ou des jardins.

Les parents célibataires innovent également. Les mères célibataires, par exemple, peuvent aller à CoAbode pour essayer de trouver d'autres mères célibataires avec qui elles peuvent partager une maison et une vie. D'autres célibataires pourraient vouloir élever des enfants avec le plein soutien d'un autre parent. Maintenant, ils peuvent chercher un partenaire dans la parentalité - sans attentes pour la romance ou le mariage - sur des sites tels que Famille par conception et Modamily.

À mesure que le potentiel de vivre une vie célibataire complète et significative devient plus largement connu, vivre seul deviendra un choix plus authentique. Et quand vivre seul est un vrai choix, se marier le sera aussi. Moins de gens se marieront comme un moyen de fuir la vie célibataire ou simplement de faire ce qu'ils sont censés faire, et d'autres le choisiront parce que c'est ce qu'ils veulent vraiment.

Si les tendances actuelles se poursuivent, les générations suivantes auront des occasions sans précédent de mener la vie qui leur convient le mieux plutôt que celle qui leur est prescrite.

A propos de l'auteur

Bella DePaulo, scientifique du projet, Université de Californie, Santa Barbara

Cet article a été publié initialement le La Conversation. Lis le article original.

Livres connexes

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; keywords = étant unique; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

suivez InnerSelf sur

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

DES ÉDITEURS

Le jour du jugement est venu pour le GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Le parti républicain n'est plus un parti politique pro-américain. C'est un parti pseudo-politique illégitime plein de radicaux et de réactionnaires dont l'objectif déclaré est de perturber, déstabiliser et…
Pourquoi Donald Trump pourrait être le plus grand perdant de l'histoire
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Mise à jour le 2 juillet 20020 - Toute cette pandémie de coronavirus coûte une fortune, peut-être 2 ou 3 ou 4 fortunes, toutes de taille inconnue. Oh oui, et des centaines de milliers, peut-être un million de personnes mourront…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: Comment le racisme est enseigné
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
Dans cet épisode d'Oprah Show de 1992, Jane Elliott, militante et éducatrice antiraciste primée, a enseigné au public une dure leçon sur le racisme en démontrant à quel point il est facile d'apprendre les préjugés.
Un changement va arriver...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(30 mai 2020) Alors que je regarde les informations sur les événements de Philadéphie et d'autres villes du pays, mon cœur a mal pour ce qui se passe. Je sais que cela fait partie du plus grand changement qui prend…
Une chanson peut élever le cœur et l'âme
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
J'ai plusieurs façons d'utiliser pour effacer l'obscurité de mon esprit quand je trouve qu'elle s'est infiltrée. L'une est le jardinage ou passer du temps dans la nature. L'autre est le silence. Une autre façon est la lecture. Et celui qui ...

Is It A Good Thing More People Than Ever Before Are Single

relationships

Is It A Good Thing More People Than Ever Before Are Single

The 21st century is the age of living single. The Conversation

Today, the number of single adults in the U.S. – and many other nations around the world – is unprecedented. And the numbers don’t just say people are staying single longer before settling down. More are staying single for life. A 2014 Pew Report estimates that by the time today’s young adults reach the age of 50, about one in four of them will have never married.

The ascendancy of single living has left some in a panic. US News & World Report, for example, cautioned that Americans think the country’s moral values are bad and getting worse, and one of the top reasons for their concern is the large number of people remaining single.

But instead of fretting, maybe we should celebrate.

I’m a social scientist, and I’ve spent the past two decades researching and writing about single people. I’ve found that the rise of single living is a boon to our cities and towns and communities, our relatives and friends and neighbors. This trend has the chance to redefine the traditional meaning – and confines – of home, family and community.

Ties that bind

For years, communities across the country have been organized by clusters of nuclear families living in suburban homes. But there are some signs that this arrangement isn’t working out so well.

These houses are often too isolating – too far from work and from one another. According to a national survey ongoing since 1974, Americans have never been less likely to be friends with their neighbors than they are now, with neighborliness lowest in the suburbs.

But studies have also shown that single people are bucking those trends. For example, they are more likely than married people to encourage, help and socialize with their friends and neighbors. They are also more likely to visit, support, advise and stay in touch with their siblings and parents.

In fact, people who live alone are often the life of their cities and towns. They tend to participate in more civic groups and public events, enroll in more art and music classes, and go out to dinner more often than people who live with others. Single people, regardless of whether they live alone or with others, also volunteer more for social service organizations, educational groups, hospitals and organizations devoted to the arts than people who are married.

In contrast, when couples move in together or get married, they tend to become more insular, even if they don’t have children.

Building strength and resilience

Unfortunately, single life continues to be stigmatized, with single people routinely stereotyped as less secure and more self-centered than married people. They’re said to die sooner, alone and sad.

Yet studies of people who live alone typically find that most are doing just fine; they don’t feel isolated, nor are they sad and lonely.

Reports of the early death of single people have also been greatly exaggerated, as have claims that marriage transforms miserable, sickly single people into happy and healthy spouses.

In some significant ways, it’s the single people who are doing particularly well.

For example, people with more diversified relationship portfolios tend to be more satisfied with their lives. In contrast, the insularity of couples who move in together or get married can leave them vulnerable to poorer mental health.

Studies have shown that people who stay single develop more confidence in their own opinions and undergo more personal growth and development than people who marry. For example, they value meaningful work more than married people do. They may also have more opportunities to enjoy the solitude that many of them savor.

Redefining the family and home

Married people often put their spouse (and, for some, kids) at the center of their lives. That’s what they’re expected to do, and often it’s also what they want to do.

But single people are expanding the traditional boundaries of family. The people they care about the most might include family in the traditional sense. But they’ll also loop in friends, ex-partners and mentors. It’s a bigger, more inclusive family of people who matter.

For many single people, single-family suburban homes aren’t going to offer them the balance between sociability and solitude that they crave. They are instead finding or creating a variety of different lifespaces.

Sometimes you’ll see 21st-century variations of traditional arrangements, like multi-generational households that allow for privacy and independence as well as social interaction. Others – and not just the very young – are living with their friends or other families of choice.

Those who cherish their alone time will often choose to live alone. Some have committed romantic relationships but choose to live in places of their own, a lifestyle of “living apart together.”

Some of the most fascinating innovations are pursued by people who seek both solitude and easy sociability. These individuals might move into their own apartment, but it’s in a building or neighborhood where friends and family are already living. They might buy a duplex with a close friend, or explore cohousing communities or pocket neighborhoods, which are communities of small homes clustered around shared spaces such as courtyards or gardens.

Single parents are also innovating. Single mothers, for example, can go to CoAbode to try to find other single mothers with whom they can share a home and a life. Other single people might want to raise children with the full support of another parent. Now they can look for a partner in parenting – with no expectations for romance or marriage – at websites such as Family by Design and Modamily.

As the potential for living a full and meaningful single life becomes more widely known, living single will become more of a genuine choice. And when living single is a real choice, then getting married will be, too. Fewer people will marry as a way of fleeing single life or simply doing what they are expected to do, and more will choose it because it’s what they really want.

If current trends continue, successive generations will have unprecedented opportunities to pursue the life that suits them best, rather than the one that is prescribed.

About The Author

Bella DePaulo, Project Scientist, University of California, Santa Barbara

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

It's Not You: 27 (Wrong) Reasons You're Single

relationshipsAuthor: Sara Eckel
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Perigee Books

Brand: Perigee Books
Studio: TarcherPerigee
Label: TarcherPerigee
Publisher: TarcherPerigee
Manufacturer: TarcherPerigee

Buy Now
Editorial Review: “Why am I still single?”

If you’re single and searching, there’s no end to other people’s explanations, excuses, and criticism explaining why you haven’t found a partner:

“You’re too picky. Just find a good-enough guy and you’ll be fine.”
“You’re too desperate. If men think you need them, they’ll run scared.”
“You’re too independent. Smart, ambitious women always have a harder time finding mates.”
“You have low self-esteem. You can’t love someone else until you’ve learned to love yourself.”
“You’re too needy. You can’t be happy in a relationship until you’ve learned to be happy on your own.”

Based on one of the most popular Modern Love columns of the last decade, Sara Eckel’s It’s Not You challenges these myths, encouraging singletons to stop picking apart their personalities and to start tapping into their own wisdom about who and what is right for them. Supported by the latest psychological and sociological research, as well as interviews with people who have experienced longtime singledom, Eckel creates a strong and empowering argument to understand and accept that there’s no one reason why you’re single—you just are.




Single Girl Problems: Why Being Single Isn't a Problem to Be Solved

relationshipsAuthor: Andrea Bain
Binding: Paperback
Studio: Dundurn
Label: Dundurn
Publisher: Dundurn
Manufacturer: Dundurn

Buy Now
Editorial Review: “If one more person tells me about their third cousin twice removed who met the love of their life online, I’m going to take out my weave and eat it.”

Being single sucks! Well, that's what everyone says, anyway. Single women over the age of 29 are seen as lonely, miserable, undesirable, and cat-crazy. Family members, friends ― heck, even perfect strangers ask, “When are you going to get married?” This book flips the script on what it means to be a single woman in the twenty-first century. With dating horror story anecdotes and advice about online dating, self-esteem, sex, money, and freezing your eggs, Andrea Bain takes the edge off being single and encourages women to never settle.




Single: The Art of Being Satisfied, Fulfilled and Independent

relationshipsAuthor: Judy Ford
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Single: The Art of Being Satisfied, Fulfilled and Independent

Brand: Adams Media Corp
Studio: Adams Media
Label: Adams Media
Publisher: Adams Media
Manufacturer: Adams Media

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Single is...

...not a condition to be cured...it's just as natural as being part of a couple. Its wisdom is contagious. Its message is powerful.

...a one-of-a-kind book that speaks a universal language to single women everywhere.

...a sometimes funny, sometimes, touching, and always uplifing collection of true-life experiences and practical wisdom that helps you celebrate your single status.

Single is about upholding the most enduring relationship of all: the one we have with ourselves.




relationships
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}