هل هو شيء جيد أكثر الناس من أي وقت مضى قبل واحد

هل هو شيء جيد أكثر الناس من أي وقت مضى قبل واحد

إن القرن 21st هو عصر الحياة المفردة. المحادثة

اليوم، عدد الكبار في الولايات المتحدة - والعديد من الدول الأخرى حول العالم - غير مسبوق. والأرقام لا تقول فقط الناس يقيمون لفترة أطول قبل أن يستقروا. أكثر يقيمون وحيد للحياة. تقرير 2014 Pew تشير التقديرات إلى أنه في الوقت الذي يصل فيه شباب اليوم إلى عمر 50 ، فإن واحدًا من كل أربعة منهم لن يتزوج أبداً.

ترك صعود الحياة الواحدة بعض الذعر. US News & World Report ، على سبيل المثال ، حذر أن الأمريكيين يعتقدون أن القيم الأخلاقية للبلد سيئة وتتدهور ، وأحد الأسباب الرئيسية لقلقهم هو أن العدد الكبير من الناس ما زالوا غير متزوجين.

لكن بدلاً من القلق ، ربما علينا أن نحتفل.

أنا عالمة اجتماعية ، وقضيت العقدين الماضيين البحث والكتابة حول شخص واحد. لقد وجدت أن صعود العيش الواحد هو نعمة لمدننا وبلداتنا ومجتمعاتنا ، وأقاربنا وأصدقائنا وجيراننا. هذا الاتجاه لديه فرصة لإعادة تعريف المعنى التقليدي - وحصر - من المنزل والأسرة والمجتمع.

العلاقات التي تربط

لسنوات ، تم تنظيم المجتمعات في جميع أنحاء البلاد من قبل مجموعات من العائلات النووية التي تعيش في منازل الضواحي. ولكن هناك بعض الدلائل على أن هذا الترتيب لا يعمل بشكل جيد.

هذه المنازل في كثير من الأحيان عزل جدا - بعيدا جدا عن العمل وعن بعضها البعض. وفقا لدراسة استقصائية وطنية مستمرة منذ 1974 ، لم يكن الأمريكيون أبدا أقل احتمالا أن نكون أصدقاء مع جيرانهم مما هم عليه الآن ، مع أقل الجيران في الضواحي.

لكن الدراسات أظهرت أيضًا أن الأفراد العازبين يتلاعبون بهذه الاتجاهات. على سبيل المثال ، هم أكثر عرضة من الأشخاص المتزوجين لتشجيعهم ومساعدتهم وإقامة علاقات اجتماعية مع أصدقائهم وجيرانهم. هم أيضا أكثر عرضة لزيارة ودعم وتقديم المشورة والبقاء على اتصال مع الأشقاء والأهل.

في الواقع ، الناس الذين يعيش وحيدا في كثير من الأحيان حياة مدنهم وبلداتهم. فهم يميلون إلى المشاركة في المزيد من المجموعات المدنية والأحداث العامة ، والانخراط في المزيد من دروس الفن والموسيقى ، والخروج لتناول العشاء أكثر من الأشخاص الذين يعيشون مع الآخرين. الأشخاص العازبون ، بغض النظر عما إذا كانوا يعيشون بمفردهم أو مع الآخرين ، أيضًا تطوع أكثر لمؤسسات الخدمات الاجتماعية والمجموعات التعليمية والمستشفيات والمنظمات المخصصة للفنون من الأشخاص المتزوجين.

في المقابل ، عندما ينتقل الأزواج معاً أو يتزوجون ، يميلون إلى أن يصبحوا أكثر انعزاليةحتى لو لم يكن لديهم أطفال.

بناء القوة والمرونة

لسوء الحظ ، لا تزال حياة واحدة وصممع شخص واحد بشكل روتيني نمطية أقل أمنا وأكثر انانية من غير المتزوجين. هم قال للموت عاجلا وحيدا وحزينا.

بعد دراسات من الناس عش لوحدك عادة ما تجد أن معظمهم يفعلون ما يرام ؛ لا يشعرون بالعزلة ، ولا هم حزينون ووحيدون.

كما كانت تقارير الوفاة المبكرة لأفراد عازبين كبيرة مبالغ فيه، حلاقة مطالبات أن الزواج يحول الناس البائسين والمريئين إلى أزواج سعداء وصحّين.

في بعض الطرق الهامة ، هم الأشخاص الوحيدون الذين يقومون بعمل جيد بشكل خاص.

على سبيل المثال ، الأشخاص الذين لديهم المزيد محافظ علاقات متنوعة تميل إلى أن تكون أكثر ارتياحا مع حياتهم. في المقابل ، يمكن لعزلة الأزواج الذين يتنقلون معاً أو الزواج أن يتركوها الضعيفة لصحة نفسية أكثر فقرا.

وقد أظهرت الدراسات أن الأشخاص الذين يبقون عزباء ينمون ثقة أكبر في آرائهم ويخضعون للمزيد نمو الشخصية والتنمية من الناس الذين يتزوجون. على سبيل المثال ، هم قيمة العمل ذات مغزى أكثر من مجرد أشخاص متزوجين. قد يكون لديهم المزيد من الفرص للاستمتاع بالعزلة التي يستمتع بها العديد منهم.

إعادة تعريف الأسرة والمنزل

غالباً ما يضع المتزوجون أزواجهم (وبالنسبة لبعض الأطفال) في قلب حياتهم. هذا ما يتوقع منهم فعله ، وغالبًا ما يفعلون أيضًا ما يريدون فعله.

لكن شخص واحد هم توسيع الحدود التقليدية للأسرة. قد يشمل الأشخاص الذين يهتمون بهم أكثر العائلة بالمعنى التقليدي. لكنهم سوف يدورون في أصدقاء وشركاء سابقين ومرشدين. إنها عائلة أكبر وأكثر شمولاً للأشخاص المهمين.

بالنسبة للعديد من الأفراد المنفردين ، لن توفر لهم منازل الضواحي ذات الأسرة الواحدة التوازن بين التناغم الاجتماعي والوحدة التي يتوقون إليها. هم بدلا من ذلك إيجاد أو إنشاء مجموعة متنوعة من مختلف lifespaces.

في بعض الأحيان ، ستلاحظ اختلافات في الترتيبات التقليدية في القرن 21st ، مثل الأسر متعددة الأجيال التي تسمح بالخصوصية والاستقلالية بالإضافة إلى التفاعل الاجتماعي. آخرون - وليس فقط الصغار - هم العيش مع أصدقائهم أو عائلات أخرى في الاختيار.

أولئك الذين يعتزون بوقتهم لوحدهم سيختارون العيش بمفردهم. وقد ارتكب بعض العلاقات الرومانسية ولكن اختيار العيش في أماكن خاصة بهم ، وهو أسلوب حياة "يعيشون بعيدا معا".

بعض من الابتكارات الأكثر إثارة هي التي يسعى إليها الناس الذين يسعون إلى العزلة وسهولة اجتماعية. قد ينتقل هؤلاء الأفراد إلى شقتهم الخاصة ، ولكن في مبنى أو حي يعيش فيه الأصدقاء والعائلة بالفعل. قد يشترون دوبلكس مع صديق مقرب ، أو يستكشفون cohousing المجتمعات أو الأحياء الجيبية ، وهي مجتمعات منازل صغيرة تتجمع حول مساحات مشتركة مثل الأفنية أو الحدائق.

الآباء واحد أيضا تبتكر. يمكن للأمهات العازبات ، على سبيل المثال ، الذهاب إلى CoAbode في محاولة للعثور على أمهات عازبات أخريات يمكن أن يشتركن معها في منزل وحياة. قد يرغب أشخاص منفردين آخرين في تربية الأطفال بدعم كامل من أحد الوالدين. الآن يمكنهم البحث عن شريك في الأبوة والأمومة - دون أي توقعات للرومانسية أو الزواج - في مواقع مثل الأسرة حسب التصميم و Modamily.

عندما تصبح إمكانية العيش حياة كاملة وهادفة معروفة على نطاق أوسع ، ستصبح العزوبية الحية أكثر من خيار حقيقي. وعندما يكون الشخص العازب هو الاختيار الحقيقي ، فإن الزواج سيكون كذلك. سوف يتزوج عدد أقل من الناس كطريقة للهروب من حياة واحدة أو ببساطة القيام بما يتوقع منهم أن يفعلوه ، وأكثر سيختارونه لأنه ما يريدونه حقاً.

إذا استمرت الاتجاهات الحالية ، فإن الأجيال المتعاقبة ستحظى بفرص لم يسبق لها مثيل لمواصلة الحياة التي تناسبها أفضل ، بدلا من تلك المنصوص عليها.

نبذة عن الكاتب

بيلا دي بولو ، مشروع عالم ، جامعة كاليفورنيا في سانتا باربارا

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = أن تكون فردية ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Is It A Good Thing More People Than Ever Before Are Single

relationships

Is It A Good Thing More People Than Ever Before Are Single

The 21st century is the age of living single. The Conversation

Today, the number of single adults in the U.S. – and many other nations around the world – is unprecedented. And the numbers don’t just say people are staying single longer before settling down. More are staying single for life. A 2014 Pew Report estimates that by the time today’s young adults reach the age of 50, about one in four of them will have never married.

The ascendancy of single living has left some in a panic. US News & World Report, for example, cautioned that Americans think the country’s moral values are bad and getting worse, and one of the top reasons for their concern is the large number of people remaining single.

But instead of fretting, maybe we should celebrate.

I’m a social scientist, and I’ve spent the past two decades researching and writing about single people. I’ve found that the rise of single living is a boon to our cities and towns and communities, our relatives and friends and neighbors. This trend has the chance to redefine the traditional meaning – and confines – of home, family and community.

Ties that bind

For years, communities across the country have been organized by clusters of nuclear families living in suburban homes. But there are some signs that this arrangement isn’t working out so well.

These houses are often too isolating – too far from work and from one another. According to a national survey ongoing since 1974, Americans have never been less likely to be friends with their neighbors than they are now, with neighborliness lowest in the suburbs.

But studies have also shown that single people are bucking those trends. For example, they are more likely than married people to encourage, help and socialize with their friends and neighbors. They are also more likely to visit, support, advise and stay in touch with their siblings and parents.

In fact, people who live alone are often the life of their cities and towns. They tend to participate in more civic groups and public events, enroll in more art and music classes, and go out to dinner more often than people who live with others. Single people, regardless of whether they live alone or with others, also volunteer more for social service organizations, educational groups, hospitals and organizations devoted to the arts than people who are married.

In contrast, when couples move in together or get married, they tend to become more insular, even if they don’t have children.

Building strength and resilience

Unfortunately, single life continues to be stigmatized, with single people routinely stereotyped as less secure and more self-centered than married people. They’re said to die sooner, alone and sad.

Yet studies of people who live alone typically find that most are doing just fine; they don’t feel isolated, nor are they sad and lonely.

Reports of the early death of single people have also been greatly exaggerated, as have claims that marriage transforms miserable, sickly single people into happy and healthy spouses.

In some significant ways, it’s the single people who are doing particularly well.

For example, people with more diversified relationship portfolios tend to be more satisfied with their lives. In contrast, the insularity of couples who move in together or get married can leave them vulnerable to poorer mental health.

Studies have shown that people who stay single develop more confidence in their own opinions and undergo more personal growth and development than people who marry. For example, they value meaningful work more than married people do. They may also have more opportunities to enjoy the solitude that many of them savor.

Redefining the family and home

Married people often put their spouse (and, for some, kids) at the center of their lives. That’s what they’re expected to do, and often it’s also what they want to do.

But single people are expanding the traditional boundaries of family. The people they care about the most might include family in the traditional sense. But they’ll also loop in friends, ex-partners and mentors. It’s a bigger, more inclusive family of people who matter.

For many single people, single-family suburban homes aren’t going to offer them the balance between sociability and solitude that they crave. They are instead finding or creating a variety of different lifespaces.

Sometimes you’ll see 21st-century variations of traditional arrangements, like multi-generational households that allow for privacy and independence as well as social interaction. Others – and not just the very young – are living with their friends or other families of choice.

Those who cherish their alone time will often choose to live alone. Some have committed romantic relationships but choose to live in places of their own, a lifestyle of “living apart together.”

Some of the most fascinating innovations are pursued by people who seek both solitude and easy sociability. These individuals might move into their own apartment, but it’s in a building or neighborhood where friends and family are already living. They might buy a duplex with a close friend, or explore cohousing communities or pocket neighborhoods, which are communities of small homes clustered around shared spaces such as courtyards or gardens.

Single parents are also innovating. Single mothers, for example, can go to CoAbode to try to find other single mothers with whom they can share a home and a life. Other single people might want to raise children with the full support of another parent. Now they can look for a partner in parenting – with no expectations for romance or marriage – at websites such as Family by Design and Modamily.

As the potential for living a full and meaningful single life becomes more widely known, living single will become more of a genuine choice. And when living single is a real choice, then getting married will be, too. Fewer people will marry as a way of fleeing single life or simply doing what they are expected to do, and more will choose it because it’s what they really want.

If current trends continue, successive generations will have unprecedented opportunities to pursue the life that suits them best, rather than the one that is prescribed.

About The Author

Bella DePaulo, Project Scientist, University of California, Santa Barbara

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

It's Not You: 27 (Wrong) Reasons You're Single

relationshipsAuthor: Sara Eckel
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Perigee Books

Brand: Perigee Books
Studio: TarcherPerigee
Label: TarcherPerigee
Publisher: TarcherPerigee
Manufacturer: TarcherPerigee

Buy Now
Editorial Review: “Why am I still single?”

If you’re single and searching, there’s no end to other people’s explanations, excuses, and criticism explaining why you haven’t found a partner:

“You’re too picky. Just find a good-enough guy and you’ll be fine.”
“You’re too desperate. If men think you need them, they’ll run scared.”
“You’re too independent. Smart, ambitious women always have a harder time finding mates.”
“You have low self-esteem. You can’t love someone else until you’ve learned to love yourself.”
“You’re too needy. You can’t be happy in a relationship until you’ve learned to be happy on your own.”

Based on one of the most popular Modern Love columns of the last decade, Sara Eckel’s It’s Not You challenges these myths, encouraging singletons to stop picking apart their personalities and to start tapping into their own wisdom about who and what is right for them. Supported by the latest psychological and sociological research, as well as interviews with people who have experienced longtime singledom, Eckel creates a strong and empowering argument to understand and accept that there’s no one reason why you’re single—you just are.




Single Girl Problems: Why Being Single Isn't a Problem to Be Solved

relationshipsAuthor: Andrea Bain
Binding: Paperback
Studio: Dundurn
Label: Dundurn
Publisher: Dundurn
Manufacturer: Dundurn

Buy Now
Editorial Review: “If one more person tells me about their third cousin twice removed who met the love of their life online, I’m going to take out my weave and eat it.”

Being single sucks! Well, that's what everyone says, anyway. Single women over the age of 29 are seen as lonely, miserable, undesirable, and cat-crazy. Family members, friends ― heck, even perfect strangers ask, “When are you going to get married?” This book flips the script on what it means to be a single woman in the twenty-first century. With dating horror story anecdotes and advice about online dating, self-esteem, sex, money, and freezing your eggs, Andrea Bain takes the edge off being single and encourages women to never settle.




Single: The Art of Being Satisfied, Fulfilled and Independent

relationshipsAuthor: Judy Ford
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Single: The Art of Being Satisfied, Fulfilled and Independent

Brand: Adams Media Corp
Studio: Adams Media
Label: Adams Media
Publisher: Adams Media
Manufacturer: Adams Media

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Single is...

...not a condition to be cured...it's just as natural as being part of a couple. Its wisdom is contagious. Its message is powerful.

...a one-of-a-kind book that speaks a universal language to single women everywhere.

...a sometimes funny, sometimes, touching, and always uplifing collection of true-life experiences and practical wisdom that helps you celebrate your single status.

Single is about upholding the most enduring relationship of all: the one we have with ourselves.




relationships
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}