Является ли это хорошей темой больше людей, чем когда-либо раньше?

Является ли это хорошей темой больше людей, чем когда-либо раньше?

21st век - это возраст живого сингла. Беседа

Сегодня количество взрослых в США и многих других странах по всему миру - беспрецедентно. И цифры не просто говорят, что люди остаются сильными дольше, прежде чем успокоиться. Больше остаются одинокими на всю жизнь. Отчет 2014 Pew что к тому времени, когда сегодняшние молодые люди достигнут возраста 50, примерно каждый четвертый из них никогда не женится.

Восхождение одинокой жизни оставило некоторых в панике. US News & World Report, например, предостерег что американцы считают, что моральные ценности страны плохи и ухудшаются, и одной из главных причин их беспокойства является то, что большое количество людей остается одиноким.

Но вместо того, чтобы беспокоиться, возможно, нам стоит отпраздновать.

Я социолог, и я провел последние два десятилетия исследования и письма о одиноких людях. Я обнаружил, что рост одиночной жизни - это благо для наших городов и поселков, наших родственников, друзей и соседей. Эта тенденция имеет шанс переопределить традиционное значение - и ограничивает - дома, семьи и сообщества.

Узы, связывающие

В течение многих лет общины по всей стране были организованы кластеры ядерных семей, проживающих в пригородных домах, Но есть некоторые признаки того, что эта схема не работает так хорошо.

Эти дома часто слишком изолирующий - слишком далеко от работы и друг от друга. Согласно национальному исследованию, проводимому с 1974, американцы никогда не были меньше шансов быть друзьями со своими соседями, чем сейчас, с соседством, самым низким в пригородах.


Получите последние новости от InnerSelf


Но исследования также показали, что отдельные люди раскрепощают эти тенденции. Например, они более вероятно чем женатые люди, чтобы поощрять, помогать и общаться со своими друзьями и соседями. Они также чаще посещают, поддерживают, консультируют и поддерживают связь с их братьями и сестрами и родителями.

Фактически, люди, которые жить в одиночестве часто являются жизнью их городов и городов, Они, как правило, участвуют в более общественных группах и общественных мероприятиях, зачисляются в более художественные и музыкальные классы и чаще выходят на ужин, чем люди, которые живут с другими. Одинокие люди, независимо от того, живут они одни или с другими, также добровольно для организаций социального обслуживания, образовательных групп, больниц и организаций, посвященных искусству, чем людей, которые состоят в браке.

Напротив, когда пары перемещаются вместе или выходят замуж, они, как правило, становятся более островной, даже если у них нет детей.

Укрепление и устойчивость

К сожалению, одиночная жизнь продолжает оставаться клеймят, с обычными людьми стереотипный как менее безопасные и более эгоцентричные, чем женатые люди. Они сказал умереть раньше, одиноко и грустно.

Все же Исследования людей, которые жить в одиночестве как правило, считают, что большинство из них просто отлично; они не чувствуют себя изолированными, и не печальны и не одиноки.

Доклады о ранней смерти одиноких людей также были преувеличенный, поскольку требования этот брак превращает несчастных, болезненных одиноких людей в счастливых и здоровых супругов.

В некоторых существенных отношениях это единственные люди, которые делают особенно хорошо.

Например, люди с большим количеством диверсифицированные портфели отношений как правило, более удовлетворены своей жизнью. Напротив, изолированность пар, которые переезжают вместе или выходят замуж, могут оставить их уязвимый к более слабому психическому здоровью.

Исследования показали, что люди, которые остаются одинокими, развивают больше уверенности в своих мнениях и подвергаются большему личностный рост и развитие, чем люди, которые вступают в брак. Например, они ценность значимой работы больше, чем женатые люди. У них также может быть больше возможностей наслаждаться уединением, которое многие из них наслаждаются.

Переопределение семьи и дома

Женатые люди часто помещают своего супруга (и, для некоторых, детей) в центр своей жизни. Это то, что они ожидали делать, и часто это то, что они хотят делать.

Но одинокие люди расширение традиционных границ семьи, Люди, которым они больше всего нравятся, могут включать семью в традиционном смысле. Но они также займутся друзьями, бывшими партнерами и наставниками. Это большая, более всеобъемлющая семья людей, которая имеет значение.

Для многих одиноких людей пригородные дома одной семьи не собираются предлагать им баланс между общительностью и уединением, которых они жаждут. Вместо этого они находят или создают различные lifespaces.

Иногда вы увидите вариации традиционных механизмов 21st-century, такие как семьи с несколькими поколениями, которые обеспечивают конфиденциальность и независимость, а также социальное взаимодействие. Другие - и не только очень молодые - являются жить с их друзей или других семейств выбора.

Те, кто лелеют свое время, часто предпочитают жить в одиночестве. Некоторые из них совершили романтические отношения, но предпочитают жить в своих собственных местах,живу вместе".

Некоторые из самых увлекательных нововведений преследуют люди, которые стремятся как к одиночеству, так и к легкой общительности. Эти люди могут переехать в свою квартиру, но это в здании или районе, где уже живут друзья и семья. Они могут купить дуплекс с близким другом или исследовать cohousing сообщества или карманные кварталы, которые являются сообществами небольших домов, сгруппированных вокруг общих помещений, таких как дворы или сады.

Отдельные родители также новаторски. Например, одинокие матери могут CoAbode попытаться найти других матерей-одиночек, с которыми они могут разделить дом и жизнь. Другие одинокие люди могут захотеть воспитывать детей с полной поддержкой другого родителя. Теперь они могут искать партнера в воспитании - без ожидания романтики или брака - на таких веб-сайтах, как Семья по дизайну Modamily.

Поскольку потенциал для полноценной и значимой одиночной жизни становится более широко известным, живой сингл станет более подлинным выбором. И когда живой сингл - настоящий выбор, то и жениться будет. Меньше людей будут вступать в брак как способ избежать одинокой жизни или просто делать то, что от них ожидается, и больше выберет ее, потому что это то, чего они действительно хотят.

Если нынешние тенденции продолжатся, у последовательных поколений будут беспрецедентные возможности для того, чтобы претворять в жизнь жизнь, которая им подходит лучше, а не та, которая предписана.

Об авторе

Белла ДеПауло, научный сотрудник проекта, Калифорнийский университет в Санта-Барбаре

Эта статья изначально была опубликована в Беседа, Прочтите оригинал статьи.

Книги по этой теме

{amazonWS: searchindex = Книги; ключевые слова = одиночные; maxresults = 3}

enafarZH-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Следуйте за InnerSelf

facebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

ВНУТРЕННИЕ ГОЛОСЫ

В поисках более осмысленной и целеустремленной жизни
В поисках более осмысленной и целеустремленной жизни
by Фрэнк Паскиути, доктор философии
Привет! Они играют нашу песню
Привет! Они играют нашу песню
by Мари Т. Рассел, Внутренний

САМОЕ ЧИТАЕМОЕ

Как воспоминания формируются и извлекаются мозгом
Как воспоминания формируются и извлекаются мозгом
by Бенджамин Дж. Гриффитс и Саймон Ханслмайр
3 Причины у вас болит шея
3 Причины у вас болит шея
by Кристиан Ворсфолд
Кокосовая вода хороша для вас?
Кокосовая вода хороша для вас?
by Александра Хансен

Is It A Good Thing More People Than Ever Before Are Single

relationships

Is It A Good Thing More People Than Ever Before Are Single

The 21st century is the age of living single. The Conversation

Today, the number of single adults in the U.S. – and many other nations around the world – is unprecedented. And the numbers don’t just say people are staying single longer before settling down. More are staying single for life. A 2014 Pew Report estimates that by the time today’s young adults reach the age of 50, about one in four of them will have never married.

The ascendancy of single living has left some in a panic. US News & World Report, for example, cautioned that Americans think the country’s moral values are bad and getting worse, and one of the top reasons for their concern is the large number of people remaining single.

But instead of fretting, maybe we should celebrate.

I’m a social scientist, and I’ve spent the past two decades researching and writing about single people. I’ve found that the rise of single living is a boon to our cities and towns and communities, our relatives and friends and neighbors. This trend has the chance to redefine the traditional meaning – and confines – of home, family and community.

Ties that bind

For years, communities across the country have been organized by clusters of nuclear families living in suburban homes. But there are some signs that this arrangement isn’t working out so well.

These houses are often too isolating – too far from work and from one another. According to a national survey ongoing since 1974, Americans have never been less likely to be friends with their neighbors than they are now, with neighborliness lowest in the suburbs.

But studies have also shown that single people are bucking those trends. For example, they are more likely than married people to encourage, help and socialize with their friends and neighbors. They are also more likely to visit, support, advise and stay in touch with their siblings and parents.

In fact, people who live alone are often the life of their cities and towns. They tend to participate in more civic groups and public events, enroll in more art and music classes, and go out to dinner more often than people who live with others. Single people, regardless of whether they live alone or with others, also volunteer more for social service organizations, educational groups, hospitals and organizations devoted to the arts than people who are married.

In contrast, when couples move in together or get married, they tend to become more insular, even if they don’t have children.

Building strength and resilience

Unfortunately, single life continues to be stigmatized, with single people routinely stereotyped as less secure and more self-centered than married people. They’re said to die sooner, alone and sad.

Yet studies of people who live alone typically find that most are doing just fine; they don’t feel isolated, nor are they sad and lonely.

Reports of the early death of single people have also been greatly exaggerated, as have claims that marriage transforms miserable, sickly single people into happy and healthy spouses.

In some significant ways, it’s the single people who are doing particularly well.

For example, people with more diversified relationship portfolios tend to be more satisfied with their lives. In contrast, the insularity of couples who move in together or get married can leave them vulnerable to poorer mental health.

Studies have shown that people who stay single develop more confidence in their own opinions and undergo more personal growth and development than people who marry. For example, they value meaningful work more than married people do. They may also have more opportunities to enjoy the solitude that many of them savor.

Redefining the family and home

Married people often put their spouse (and, for some, kids) at the center of their lives. That’s what they’re expected to do, and often it’s also what they want to do.

But single people are expanding the traditional boundaries of family. The people they care about the most might include family in the traditional sense. But they’ll also loop in friends, ex-partners and mentors. It’s a bigger, more inclusive family of people who matter.

For many single people, single-family suburban homes aren’t going to offer them the balance between sociability and solitude that they crave. They are instead finding or creating a variety of different lifespaces.

Sometimes you’ll see 21st-century variations of traditional arrangements, like multi-generational households that allow for privacy and independence as well as social interaction. Others – and not just the very young – are living with their friends or other families of choice.

Those who cherish their alone time will often choose to live alone. Some have committed romantic relationships but choose to live in places of their own, a lifestyle of “living apart together.”

Some of the most fascinating innovations are pursued by people who seek both solitude and easy sociability. These individuals might move into their own apartment, but it’s in a building or neighborhood where friends and family are already living. They might buy a duplex with a close friend, or explore cohousing communities or pocket neighborhoods, which are communities of small homes clustered around shared spaces such as courtyards or gardens.

Single parents are also innovating. Single mothers, for example, can go to CoAbode to try to find other single mothers with whom they can share a home and a life. Other single people might want to raise children with the full support of another parent. Now they can look for a partner in parenting – with no expectations for romance or marriage – at websites such as Family by Design and Modamily.

As the potential for living a full and meaningful single life becomes more widely known, living single will become more of a genuine choice. And when living single is a real choice, then getting married will be, too. Fewer people will marry as a way of fleeing single life or simply doing what they are expected to do, and more will choose it because it’s what they really want.

If current trends continue, successive generations will have unprecedented opportunities to pursue the life that suits them best, rather than the one that is prescribed.

About The Author

Bella DePaulo, Project Scientist, University of California, Santa Barbara

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

It's Not You: 27 (Wrong) Reasons You're Single

relationshipsAuthor: Sara Eckel
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Perigee Books

Brand: Perigee Books
Studio: TarcherPerigee
Label: TarcherPerigee
Publisher: TarcherPerigee
Manufacturer: TarcherPerigee

Buy Now
Editorial Review: “Why am I still single?”

If you’re single and searching, there’s no end to other people’s explanations, excuses, and criticism explaining why you haven’t found a partner:

“You’re too picky. Just find a good-enough guy and you’ll be fine.”
“You’re too desperate. If men think you need them, they’ll run scared.”
“You’re too independent. Smart, ambitious women always have a harder time finding mates.”
“You have low self-esteem. You can’t love someone else until you’ve learned to love yourself.”
“You’re too needy. You can’t be happy in a relationship until you’ve learned to be happy on your own.”

Based on one of the most popular Modern Love columns of the last decade, Sara Eckel’s It’s Not You challenges these myths, encouraging singletons to stop picking apart their personalities and to start tapping into their own wisdom about who and what is right for them. Supported by the latest psychological and sociological research, as well as interviews with people who have experienced longtime singledom, Eckel creates a strong and empowering argument to understand and accept that there’s no one reason why you’re single—you just are.




Single Girl Problems: Why Being Single Isn't a Problem to Be Solved

relationshipsAuthor: Andrea Bain
Binding: Paperback
Studio: Dundurn
Label: Dundurn
Publisher: Dundurn
Manufacturer: Dundurn

Buy Now
Editorial Review: “If one more person tells me about their third cousin twice removed who met the love of their life online, I’m going to take out my weave and eat it.”

Being single sucks! Well, that's what everyone says, anyway. Single women over the age of 29 are seen as lonely, miserable, undesirable, and cat-crazy. Family members, friends ― heck, even perfect strangers ask, “When are you going to get married?” This book flips the script on what it means to be a single woman in the twenty-first century. With dating horror story anecdotes and advice about online dating, self-esteem, sex, money, and freezing your eggs, Andrea Bain takes the edge off being single and encourages women to never settle.




Single: The Art of Being Satisfied, Fulfilled and Independent

relationshipsAuthor: Judy Ford
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Single: The Art of Being Satisfied, Fulfilled and Independent

Brand: Adams Media Corp
Studio: Adams Media
Label: Adams Media
Publisher: Adams Media
Manufacturer: Adams Media

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Single is...

...not a condition to be cured...it's just as natural as being part of a couple. Its wisdom is contagious. Its message is powerful.

...a one-of-a-kind book that speaks a universal language to single women everywhere.

...a sometimes funny, sometimes, touching, and always uplifing collection of true-life experiences and practical wisdom that helps you celebrate your single status.

Single is about upholding the most enduring relationship of all: the one we have with ourselves.




relationships
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}