Ist es eine gute Sache mehr Menschen als jemals zuvor sind Single

Ist es eine gute Sache mehr Menschen als jemals zuvor sind Single

Das 21st Jahrhundert ist das Zeitalter des Lebens Single. Das Gespräch

Heute ist die Anzahl der alleinstehenden Erwachsenen in den USA - und vielen anderen Nationen auf der ganzen Welt - ist beispiellos. Und die Zahlen sagen nicht nur, dass die Leute länger Single bleiben, bevor sie sich niederlassen. Mehr bleiben Single für das Leben. Ein 2014 Pew-Bericht schätzt, dass bis zu dem Zeitpunkt, an dem die heutigen jungen Erwachsenen das Alter von 50 erreichen, etwa jeder vierte von ihnen nie verheiratet sein wird.

Die Vorherrschaft des Single-Lebens hat einige in Panik versetzt. US News & World Report zum Beispiel verwarnt dass die Amerikaner denken, dass die moralischen Werte des Landes schlecht sind und sich verschlechtern, und einer der Hauptgründe für ihre Besorgnis ist die große Anzahl von Menschen, die allein bleiben.

Aber anstatt zu ärgern, sollten wir vielleicht feiern.

Ich bin Sozialwissenschaftler und habe die letzten zwei Jahrzehnte verbracht forschen und schreiben über einzelne Menschen. Ich habe festgestellt, dass der Aufstieg des Single-Lebens ein Segen für unsere Städte und Gemeinden, unsere Verwandten und Freunde und Nachbarn ist. Dieser Trend hat die Chance, die traditionelle Bedeutung von Zuhause, Familie und Gemeinschaft neu zu definieren.

Bindungen, die binden

Seit Jahren sind Gemeinden im ganzen Land organisiert von Cluster von Kernfamilien, die in Vorstadthäusern leben. Aber es gibt Anzeichen dafür, dass dieses Arrangement nicht so gut funktioniert.

Diese Häuser sind oft zu isolierend - zu weit von der Arbeit und voneinander entfernt. Laut einer seit 1974 laufenden nationalen Umfrage waren Amerikaner noch nie weniger wahrscheinlich, Freunde zu sein mit ihren Nachbarn, als sie jetzt sind, mit Nachbarschaft am niedrigsten in den Vororten.


Holen Sie sich das Neueste von InnerSelf


Studien haben aber auch gezeigt, dass einzelne Menschen gegen diese Trends sind. Zum Beispiel sind sie eher als verheiratete Menschen zu ermutigen, zu helfen und mit ihren Freunden und Nachbarn zu sozialisieren. Sie besuchen, unterstützen und beraten häufiger und bleiben in Kontakt mit ihren Geschwistern und Eltern.

In der Tat, Leute, die leben alleine sind oft das Leben ihrer Städte und Gemeinden. Sie neigen dazu, an mehr bürgerlichen Gruppen und öffentlichen Veranstaltungen teilzunehmen, mehr Kunst- und Musikunterricht zu besuchen und häufiger zum Essen zu gehen als Menschen, die mit anderen zusammenleben. Alleinstehende, unabhängig davon, ob sie alleine oder mit anderen zusammen leben Freiwillige mehr für soziale Einrichtungen, Bildungsgruppen, Krankenhäuser und Organisationen, die sich der Kunst widmen, als Personen, die verheiratet sind.

Im Gegensatz dazu, wenn Paare zusammenziehen oder heiraten, neigen sie dazu, zu werden mehr Inselauch wenn sie keine Kinder haben.

Aufbau von Stärke und Belastbarkeit

Leider ist Single-Leben weiterhin stigmatisiert, mit einzelnen Personen routinemäßig stereotyp als weniger sicher und egozentrischer als verheiratete Menschen. Sie sind sagte früher sterben, allein und traurig.

noch Studium von Leuten, die alleine leben in der Regel feststellen, dass es den meisten gut geht; Sie fühlen sich nicht isoliert, noch sind sie traurig und einsam.

Berichte über den frühen Tod einzelner Personen sind ebenfalls sehr verbreitet übertrieben, eine Rasur Ansprüche diese Ehe verwandelt armselige, kranke Alleinstehende in glückliche und gesunde Ehepartner.

In mancher Hinsicht sind es die einzelnen Menschen, denen es besonders gut geht.

Zum Beispiel, Leute mit mehr diversifizierte Beziehungsportfolios neigen dazu, mit ihrem Leben zufriedener zu sein. Im Gegensatz dazu kann die Insellage von Paaren, die zusammenziehen oder heiraten, sie verlassen verletzlich zu schlechterer psychischer Gesundheit.

Studien haben gezeigt, dass Menschen, die allein bleiben, mehr Vertrauen in ihre eigenen Meinungen entwickeln und mehr erleben persönliches Wachstum und Entwicklung als Menschen, die heiraten. Zum Beispiel, sie Wertvolle Arbeit wertschätzen mehr als verheiratete Menschen tun. Sie haben möglicherweise auch mehr Möglichkeiten, die Einsamkeit zu genießen, die viele von ihnen genießen.

Die Familie und das Zuhause neu definieren

Verheiratete stellen ihren Ehepartner (und für einige Kinder) oft in den Mittelpunkt ihres Lebens. Das wird von ihnen erwartet und oft ist es auch das, was sie tun wollen.

Aber einzelne Leute sind es die traditionellen Grenzen der Familie erweitern. Die Menschen, die ihnen am meisten am Herzen liegen, können Familie im traditionellen Sinne sein. Aber sie werden auch Freunde, Ex-Partner und Mentoren einbinden. Es ist eine größere, inklusivere Familie, die zählt.

Für viele Singles bieten Einfamilienhäuser in Vororten nicht das Gleichgewicht zwischen Geselligkeit und Einsamkeit, nach dem sie sich sehnen. Sie finden stattdessen oder schaffen eine Vielzahl von verschiedenen Lebensräume.

Manchmal werden Sie 21st-Jahrhundert Variationen von traditionellen Arrangements, wie Mehrgenerationen-Haushalte, die Privatsphäre und Unabhängigkeit sowie soziale Interaktion ermöglichen. Andere - und nicht nur die ganz Kleinen - sind Leben mit ihre Freunde oder andere Familien der Wahl.

Diejenigen, die ihre alleinige Zeit schätzen, werden oft wählen, alleine zu leben. Manche haben romantische Beziehungen, aber sie entscheiden sich dafür, an einem eigenen Ort zu leben, einem Lebensstil "zusammen leben"

Einige der faszinierendsten Innovationen werden von Menschen verfolgt, die sowohl Einsamkeit als auch einfache Geselligkeit suchen. Diese Personen könnten in ihre eigene Wohnung ziehen, aber in einem Gebäude oder einer Nachbarschaft, wo Freunde und Familie bereits leben. Sie könnten eine Maisonette mit einem engen Freund kaufen oder erkunden Cohousing Gemeinden oder kleine Stadtteile, die Gemeinschaften von kleinen Häusern sind, die sich um geteilte Räume wie Höfe oder Gärten gruppieren.

Alleinerziehende Eltern sind auch innovativ. Alleinerziehende Mütter können zum Beispiel gehen CoAbode zu versuchen, andere alleinerziehende Mütter zu finden, mit denen sie ein Zuhause und ein Leben teilen können. Andere Singles möchten vielleicht Kinder mit der vollen Unterstützung eines anderen Elternteils erziehen. Jetzt können sie sich auf Websites wie. Einen Partner in der Kindererziehung suchen - ohne Erwartungen an Romantik oder Ehe Familie nach Design und helfen Sie uns, unsere Wirkung zu steigern. Modamilie.

Wenn das Potenzial, ein volles und sinnvolles Single-Leben zu leben, immer bekannter wird, wird das Leben als Single eher eine echte Wahl sein. Und wenn das Leben Single ist eine echte Wahl, dann wird auch heiraten. Weniger Menschen werden heiraten, um aus dem Leben zu fliehen oder einfach das zu tun, was sie tun sollen, und mehr wird es wählen, weil es das ist, was sie wirklich wollen.

Wenn die derzeitigen Trends anhalten, werden nachfolgende Generationen beispiellose Möglichkeiten haben, das Leben zu verfolgen, das ihnen am besten entspricht und nicht dem vorgeschriebenen.

Über den Autor

Bella DePaulo, Projektwissenschaftlerin, University of California, Santa Barbara

Dieser Artikel wurde ursprünglich veröffentlicht am Das Gespräch.. Lies das Original Artikel.

Bücher zum Thema

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books; Keywords = einzeln sein; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Is It A Good Thing More People Than Ever Before Are Single

relationships

Is It A Good Thing More People Than Ever Before Are Single

The 21st century is the age of living single. The Conversation

Today, the number of single adults in the U.S. – and many other nations around the world – is unprecedented. And the numbers don’t just say people are staying single longer before settling down. More are staying single for life. A 2014 Pew Report estimates that by the time today’s young adults reach the age of 50, about one in four of them will have never married.

The ascendancy of single living has left some in a panic. US News & World Report, for example, cautioned that Americans think the country’s moral values are bad and getting worse, and one of the top reasons for their concern is the large number of people remaining single.

But instead of fretting, maybe we should celebrate.

I’m a social scientist, and I’ve spent the past two decades researching and writing about single people. I’ve found that the rise of single living is a boon to our cities and towns and communities, our relatives and friends and neighbors. This trend has the chance to redefine the traditional meaning – and confines – of home, family and community.

Ties that bind

For years, communities across the country have been organized by clusters of nuclear families living in suburban homes. But there are some signs that this arrangement isn’t working out so well.

These houses are often too isolating – too far from work and from one another. According to a national survey ongoing since 1974, Americans have never been less likely to be friends with their neighbors than they are now, with neighborliness lowest in the suburbs.

But studies have also shown that single people are bucking those trends. For example, they are more likely than married people to encourage, help and socialize with their friends and neighbors. They are also more likely to visit, support, advise and stay in touch with their siblings and parents.

In fact, people who live alone are often the life of their cities and towns. They tend to participate in more civic groups and public events, enroll in more art and music classes, and go out to dinner more often than people who live with others. Single people, regardless of whether they live alone or with others, also volunteer more for social service organizations, educational groups, hospitals and organizations devoted to the arts than people who are married.

In contrast, when couples move in together or get married, they tend to become more insular, even if they don’t have children.

Building strength and resilience

Unfortunately, single life continues to be stigmatized, with single people routinely stereotyped as less secure and more self-centered than married people. They’re said to die sooner, alone and sad.

Yet studies of people who live alone typically find that most are doing just fine; they don’t feel isolated, nor are they sad and lonely.

Reports of the early death of single people have also been greatly exaggerated, as have claims that marriage transforms miserable, sickly single people into happy and healthy spouses.

In some significant ways, it’s the single people who are doing particularly well.

For example, people with more diversified relationship portfolios tend to be more satisfied with their lives. In contrast, the insularity of couples who move in together or get married can leave them vulnerable to poorer mental health.

Studies have shown that people who stay single develop more confidence in their own opinions and undergo more personal growth and development than people who marry. For example, they value meaningful work more than married people do. They may also have more opportunities to enjoy the solitude that many of them savor.

Redefining the family and home

Married people often put their spouse (and, for some, kids) at the center of their lives. That’s what they’re expected to do, and often it’s also what they want to do.

But single people are expanding the traditional boundaries of family. The people they care about the most might include family in the traditional sense. But they’ll also loop in friends, ex-partners and mentors. It’s a bigger, more inclusive family of people who matter.

For many single people, single-family suburban homes aren’t going to offer them the balance between sociability and solitude that they crave. They are instead finding or creating a variety of different lifespaces.

Sometimes you’ll see 21st-century variations of traditional arrangements, like multi-generational households that allow for privacy and independence as well as social interaction. Others – and not just the very young – are living with their friends or other families of choice.

Those who cherish their alone time will often choose to live alone. Some have committed romantic relationships but choose to live in places of their own, a lifestyle of “living apart together.”

Some of the most fascinating innovations are pursued by people who seek both solitude and easy sociability. These individuals might move into their own apartment, but it’s in a building or neighborhood where friends and family are already living. They might buy a duplex with a close friend, or explore cohousing communities or pocket neighborhoods, which are communities of small homes clustered around shared spaces such as courtyards or gardens.

Single parents are also innovating. Single mothers, for example, can go to CoAbode to try to find other single mothers with whom they can share a home and a life. Other single people might want to raise children with the full support of another parent. Now they can look for a partner in parenting – with no expectations for romance or marriage – at websites such as Family by Design and Modamily.

As the potential for living a full and meaningful single life becomes more widely known, living single will become more of a genuine choice. And when living single is a real choice, then getting married will be, too. Fewer people will marry as a way of fleeing single life or simply doing what they are expected to do, and more will choose it because it’s what they really want.

If current trends continue, successive generations will have unprecedented opportunities to pursue the life that suits them best, rather than the one that is prescribed.

About The Author

Bella DePaulo, Project Scientist, University of California, Santa Barbara

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

It's Not You: 27 (Wrong) Reasons You're Single

relationshipsAuthor: Sara Eckel
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Perigee Books

Brand: Perigee Books
Studio: TarcherPerigee
Label: TarcherPerigee
Publisher: TarcherPerigee
Manufacturer: TarcherPerigee

Buy Now
Editorial Review: “Why am I still single?”

If you’re single and searching, there’s no end to other people’s explanations, excuses, and criticism explaining why you haven’t found a partner:

“You’re too picky. Just find a good-enough guy and you’ll be fine.”
“You’re too desperate. If men think you need them, they’ll run scared.”
“You’re too independent. Smart, ambitious women always have a harder time finding mates.”
“You have low self-esteem. You can’t love someone else until you’ve learned to love yourself.”
“You’re too needy. You can’t be happy in a relationship until you’ve learned to be happy on your own.”

Based on one of the most popular Modern Love columns of the last decade, Sara Eckel’s It’s Not You challenges these myths, encouraging singletons to stop picking apart their personalities and to start tapping into their own wisdom about who and what is right for them. Supported by the latest psychological and sociological research, as well as interviews with people who have experienced longtime singledom, Eckel creates a strong and empowering argument to understand and accept that there’s no one reason why you’re single—you just are.




Single Girl Problems: Why Being Single Isn't a Problem to Be Solved

relationshipsAuthor: Andrea Bain
Binding: Paperback
Studio: Dundurn
Label: Dundurn
Publisher: Dundurn
Manufacturer: Dundurn

Buy Now
Editorial Review: “If one more person tells me about their third cousin twice removed who met the love of their life online, I’m going to take out my weave and eat it.”

Being single sucks! Well, that's what everyone says, anyway. Single women over the age of 29 are seen as lonely, miserable, undesirable, and cat-crazy. Family members, friends ― heck, even perfect strangers ask, “When are you going to get married?” This book flips the script on what it means to be a single woman in the twenty-first century. With dating horror story anecdotes and advice about online dating, self-esteem, sex, money, and freezing your eggs, Andrea Bain takes the edge off being single and encourages women to never settle.




Single: The Art of Being Satisfied, Fulfilled and Independent

relationshipsAuthor: Judy Ford
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Single: The Art of Being Satisfied, Fulfilled and Independent

Brand: Adams Media Corp
Studio: Adams Media
Label: Adams Media
Publisher: Adams Media
Manufacturer: Adams Media

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Single is...

...not a condition to be cured...it's just as natural as being part of a couple. Its wisdom is contagious. Its message is powerful.

...a one-of-a-kind book that speaks a universal language to single women everywhere.

...a sometimes funny, sometimes, touching, and always uplifing collection of true-life experiences and practical wisdom that helps you celebrate your single status.

Single is about upholding the most enduring relationship of all: the one we have with ourselves.




relationships
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}