Почему жители острова Пасхи строили статуи там, где они делали?

Почему жители острова Пасхи строили статуи там, где они делали?Согласно новым исследованиям, древние жители Рапа-Нуи, Чили, более известного как остров Пасхи, построили свои знаменитые памятники аху возле прибрежных источников пресной воды.

Остров Рапа-Нуи известен своей тщательно продуманной ритуальной архитектурой, особенно многочисленными статуями, моаи и аху, монументальными платформами, которые их поддерживали. Исследователи долго задавались вопросом, почему древние люди строили эти памятники в своих соответствующих местах по всему острову, учитывая время и энергию, необходимые для их строительства.

Исследователи использовали количественное пространственное моделирование для изучения потенциальных связей между строительными объектами и природными ресурсами, а именно, сельскохозяйственными садами из мульчи, морскими ресурсами и источниками пресной воды - тремя наиболее важными ресурсами на острове Рапа-Нуи. Их результаты показывают, что близость к ограниченным источникам пресной воды острова объясняет местонахождение аху.

Тайна разгадана?

«Многие исследователи, в том числе и мы, давно размышляют о связи между аху, моаи и различными видами ресурсов: вода, сельскохозяйственные угодья, районы с хорошими морскими ресурсами и т. Д.», - говорит Роберт ДиНаполи, аспирант программы археологии в Университет Орегона.

«Тем не менее, эти ассоциации никогда не подвергались количественному тестированию или статистической значимости. Наше исследование представляет количественное пространственное моделирование, ясно показывающее, что аху связаны с источниками пресной воды таким образом, что они не связаны с другими ресурсами ».

Близость памятников к пресной воде говорит нам многое о древнем островном обществе, говорит Терри Хант, профессор антропологии в Университете Аризоны и декан колледжа с отличием.

«Памятники и статуи расположены в местах с ежедневным доступом к критически важным для островитян ресурсам - пресной воде», - говорит Хант, который занимается исследованиями островов Тихого океана более 30 лет и руководил полевыми исследованиями на острове Рапа-Нуи. с 2001.

«Таким образом, памятники и статуи обожествленных предков островитян отражают поколения совместного использования, возможно, на ежедневной основе, сосредоточенного на воде, а также на пищевых, семейных и социальных связях, а также на культурных знаниях, которые укрепляли знания о неустойчивая устойчивость острова.

«Обмен мнениями указывает на важную часть объяснения парадокса острова: несмотря на ограниченные ресурсы, островитяне преуспели, поделившись деятельностью, знаниями и ресурсами в течение 500 лет, пока европейский контакт не разрушил жизнь с иностранными болезнями, работорговлей и другими несчастьями колониальные интересы », - добавляет Хант.

Водянистая картина

В настоящее время исследователи имеют только полные данные о пресной воде для западной части острова и планируют провести полное обследование острова, чтобы продолжить проверку своей гипотезы о связи между аху и пресной водой.

«Проблема наличия или отсутствия воды часто упоминалась исследователями, работающими над Rapa Nui», - говорит Карл Липо, профессор антропологии и директор по экологическим исследованиям в Университете Бингемтона.

Расположение Аху на Рапа-Нуи (Фото: PLOS ONE)Расположение Аху на Рапа-Нуи (Фото: PLoS ONE)

«Когда мы начали изучать детали гидрологии, мы начали замечать, что доступ к пресной воде и расположение статуй были тесно связаны друг с другом. Это было неочевидно при ходьбе - когда вода вытекает на побережье во время отлива, не обязательно видно явные признаки воды, - но когда мы начали смотреть на районы вокруг аху, мы обнаружили, что эти места были точно связаны в местах, где появляются свежие подземные воды, в основном в виде диффузного слоя, который вытекает у кромки воды.

«Чем больше мы смотрели, тем более последовательно мы видели эту модель. Этот документ отражает нашу работу, чтобы продемонстрировать, что этот шаблон статистически обоснован, а не только наше восприятие ».

Документ появляется в PLoS ONE.

Дополнительные исследователи, участвующие в этой работе: Университет штата Калифорния, Лонг-Бич; Penn State; и Университет Окленда.

источник: Университет штата Аризона

Книги по этой теме

{amazonWS: searchindex = Книги; ключевые слова = остров Пасхи; maxresults = 3}

enafarZH-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Следуйте за InnerSelf

facebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

ВНУТРЕННИЕ ГОЛОСЫ

Безусловная любовь: способ служить друг другу, человечеству и миру
Безусловная любовь - это способ служить друг другу, человечеству и миру
by Эйлин Кэдди MBE и Дэвид Эрл Платтс, доктор философии.

САМОЕ ЧИТАЕМОЕ

Что работает для меня: 1, 2, 3 ... ДЕСЯТКИ
Что работает для меня: 1, 2, 3 ... ДЕСЯТКИ
by Мари Т. Рассел, Внутренний

Why Did Easter Islanders Build Statues Where They Did?

Why Did Easter Islanders Build Statues Where They Did?The ancient people of Rapa Nui, Chile, better known as Easter Island, built their famous ahu monuments near coastal freshwater sources, according to new research.

The island of Rapa Nui is well-known for its elaborate ritual architecture, particularly its numerous statues, or moai, and ahu, the monumental platforms that supported them. Researchers have long wondered why ancient people built these monuments in their respective locations around the island, considering the time and energy required to construct them.

The researchers used quantitative spatial modeling to explore the potential relations between ahu construction locations and subsistence resources, namely, rock mulch agricultural gardens, marine resources, and freshwater sources—the three most critical resources on Rapa Nui. Their results suggest that proximity to the island’s limited freshwater sources explains the locations of the ahu.

Mystery solved?

“Many researchers, ourselves included, have long speculated associations between ahu, moai, and different kinds of resources—water, agricultural land, areas with good marine resources, etc.,” says Robert DiNapoli, a PhD student in the archaeology program at the University of Oregon.

“However, these associations had never been quantitatively tested or shown to be statistically significant. Our study presents quantitative spatial modeling clearly showing that ahu are associated with freshwater sources in a way that they aren’t associated with other resources.”

The proximity of the monuments to freshwater tells us a great deal about the ancient island society, says Terry Hunt, a professor of anthropology at the University of Arizona and dean of the Honors College.

“The monuments and statues are located in places with access to a resource critical to islanders on a daily basis—fresh water,” says Hunt, who has been researching the Pacific Islands for more than 30 years and has directed archaeological field research on Rapa Nui since 2001.

“In this way, the monuments and statues of the islanders’ deified ancestors reflect generations of sharing, perhaps on a daily basis, centered on water, but also food, family, and social ties, as well as cultural lore that reinforced knowledge of the island’s precarious sustainability.

“The sharing points to a critical part of explaining the island’s paradox: despite limited resources, the islanders succeeded by sharing in activities, knowledge, and resources for over 500 years until European contact disrupted life with foreign diseases, slave trading, and other misfortunes of colonial interests,” Hunt adds.

Watery pattern

The researchers currently only have comprehensive freshwater data for the western portion of the island and plan to do a complete survey of the island in order to continue to test their hypothesis of the relation between ahu and freshwater.

“The issue of water availability, or the lack of it, has often been mentioned by researchers who work on Rapa Nui,” says Carl Lipo, a professor of anthropology and director of environmental studies at Binghamton University.

Locations of ahu on Rapa Nui (Credit: PLOS ONE)Locations of ahu on Rapa Nui (Credit: PLOS ONE)

“When we started to examine the details of the hydrology, we began to notice that freshwater access and statue location were tightly linked together. It wasn’t obvious when walking around—with the water emerging at the coast during low tide, one doesn’t necessarily see obvious indications of water—but as we started to look at areas around ahu, we found that those locations were exactly tied to spots where the fresh groundwater emerges, largely as a diffuse layer that flows out at the water’s edge.

“The more we looked, the more consistently we saw this pattern. This paper reflects our work to demonstrate that this pattern is statistically sound and not just our perception.”

The paper appears in PLOS ONE.

Additional researchers contributing to this work are California State University, Long Beach; Penn State; and the University of Auckland.

Source: University of Arizona

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=easter island;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

HAPPINESS & SUCCESS

Do Not Give Up What You Want Most for What You Want Right Now

Do Not Give Up What You Want Most for What You Want Right Now

Carly Pollack
The most powerful influence on the human mind is our core beliefs about our identity, who we think we are. If you have a core belief that you are lazy or that the world is out to get you, no matter how much you try to be more productive or to feel safer in…

SPIRITUALITY & MINDFULNESS

Thich Nhat Hanh, The Buddhist Monk Who Introduced Mindfulness To The West, Prepares To Die

Thich Nhat Hanh, The Buddhist Monk Who Introduced Mindfulness To The West, Prepares To Die

Brooke Schedneck
Thich Nhat Hanh, the monk who popularized mindfulness in the West, has returned home to Vietnam to enjoy the rest of his life.

RELATIONSHIPS

Parents Of Girls Are Less Likely To Stress Computer Skills

Parents Of Girls Are Less Likely To Stress Computer Skills

Matt Swayne
While most first-year college students in a new study had positive feelings about computing and computer-related majors and jobs, gender and socioeconomic status seemed to play a role in whether parents shaped those perceptions.

INTUITION & AWARENESS

3 Reasons Why People Fall For Politicians' Lies

3 Reasons Why People Fall For Politicians' Lies

Mack Clayton Shelley, II
Why do people make such poor decisions about politics? Why are they so often distracted by lies, irrelevant alternatives and specious arguments?

ATTITUDE ADJUSTMENTS

Boys' Attention And Prosocial Behavior Linked To Earnings 30 Years Later

Boys' Attention And Prosocial Behavior Linked To Earnings 30 Years Later

Francis Vergunst
New research, published in the medical journal JAMA Pediatrics, shows that boys from low-income backgrounds who were inattentive in kindergarten had lower earnings at age 36 while boys who were prosocial earned more.