Pourquoi les insulaires de Pâques ont-ils construit des statues là où ils l'ont fait?

Pourquoi les insulaires de Pâques ont-ils construit des statues là où ils l'ont fait?D'après de nouvelles recherches, les anciens habitants de Rapa Nui au Chili, mieux connus sous le nom d'île de Pâques, ont construit leurs célèbres monuments ahu près des sources d'eau douce côtières.

L'île de Rapa Nui est connue pour son architecture rituelle élaborée, en particulier pour ses nombreuses statues, ou moai, et ahu, les plates-formes monumentales qui les ont soutenues. Les chercheurs se demandent depuis longtemps pourquoi les peuples anciens ont construit ces monuments dans leurs emplacements respectifs autour de l'île, compte tenu du temps et de l'énergie nécessaires à leur construction.

Les chercheurs ont utilisé une modélisation spatiale quantitative pour explorer les relations potentielles entre les sites de construction des ahu et les ressources de subsistance, à savoir les jardins agricoles en paillis, les ressources marines et les sources d'eau douce, les trois ressources les plus critiques de Rapa Nui. Leurs résultats suggèrent que la proximité des sources d'eau douce limitées de l'île explique l'emplacement de l'ahu.

Mystère résolu?

«De nombreux chercheurs, y compris nous-mêmes, ont longtemps spéculé sur les associations entre ahu, moai et différents types de ressources - eau, terres agricoles, zones dotées de bonnes ressources marines, etc.», déclare Robert DiNapoli, étudiant au doctorat au programme d'archéologie de la Université de l'Oregon.

«Cependant, ces associations n’ont jamais été testées quantitativement ni démontrées comme statistiquement significatives. Notre étude présente une modélisation spatiale quantitative montrant clairement que les ahu sont associés aux sources d'eau douce d'une manière qui ne les associe pas à d'autres ressources. ”

La proximité des monuments avec l'eau douce en dit long sur la société insulaire ancienne, explique Terry Hunt, professeur d'anthropologie à l'Université de l'Arizona et doyen du Honors College.

«Les monuments et les statues sont situés dans des endroits donnant accès à une ressource essentielle pour les insulaires au quotidien: de l'eau douce», déclare Hunt, qui effectue des recherches sur les îles du Pacifique depuis plus de 30 et a dirigé des recherches archéologiques sur le terrain à Rapa Nui. depuis 2001.

«Ainsi, les monuments et les statues des ancêtres divinisés des habitants de l'île reflètent des générations de partage, peut-être quotidien, centré sur l'eau, mais aussi sur les liens alimentaires, familiaux et sociaux, ainsi que sur les traditions culturelles renforçant la connaissance de la terre. durabilité précaire de l'île.

"Le partage est un élément essentiel pour expliquer le paradoxe de l'île: malgré des ressources limitées, les insulaires ont réussi à partager des activités, des connaissances et des ressources pendant plus de 500 jusqu'à ce qu'un contact européen perturbe la vie avec les maladies étrangères, le commerce des esclaves et d'autres malheurs de intérêts coloniaux », ajoute Hunt.

Modèle d'eau

Les chercheurs ne disposent actuellement que de données complètes sur l’eau douce pour la partie occidentale de l’île et envisagent de réaliser une étude complète de l’île afin de continuer à tester leur hypothèse de relation entre ahu et eau douce.

«Les chercheurs qui travaillent sur Rapa Nui ont souvent évoqué le problème de la disponibilité de l'eau, ou de son manque,» a déclaré Carl Lipo, professeur d'anthropologie et directeur des études environnementales à la Binghamton University.

Emplacements d'Ahu sur Rapa Nui (Crédit: PLOS ONE)Emplacements d'Ahu sur Rapa Nui (Crédit: PLoS ONE)

«Lorsque nous avons commencé à examiner les détails de l'hydrologie, nous avons remarqué que l'accès à l'eau douce et l'emplacement des statues étaient étroitement liés. Ce n’était pas évident de se promener - avec l’eau émergeant sur la côte à marée basse, on ne voit pas forcément de traces évidentes d’eau], mais lorsque nous avons commencé à regarder les environs de ahu, nous avons constaté que ces endroits étaient exactement liés. aux endroits où les eaux souterraines douces émergent, en grande partie comme une couche diffuse qui s’écoule au bord de l’eau.

«Plus nous avons regardé, plus nous avons vu ce motif de manière cohérente. Cet article reflète notre travail pour démontrer que cette tendance est statistiquement valable et pas seulement notre perception. "

Le papier apparaît dans PLoS ONE.

Les autres chercheurs ayant contribué à ces travaux sont la California State University de Long Beach; Penn State; et l'Université d'Auckland.

La source: Université de l'Arizona

Livres connexes

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; mots-clés = île de Pâques; maxresults = 3}

Why Did Easter Islanders Build Statues Where They Did?

Why Did Easter Islanders Build Statues Where They Did?The ancient people of Rapa Nui, Chile, better known as Easter Island, built their famous ahu monuments near coastal freshwater sources, according to new research.

The island of Rapa Nui is well-known for its elaborate ritual architecture, particularly its numerous statues, or moai, and ahu, the monumental platforms that supported them. Researchers have long wondered why ancient people built these monuments in their respective locations around the island, considering the time and energy required to construct them.

The researchers used quantitative spatial modeling to explore the potential relations between ahu construction locations and subsistence resources, namely, rock mulch agricultural gardens, marine resources, and freshwater sources—the three most critical resources on Rapa Nui. Their results suggest that proximity to the island’s limited freshwater sources explains the locations of the ahu.

Mystery solved?

“Many researchers, ourselves included, have long speculated associations between ahu, moai, and different kinds of resources—water, agricultural land, areas with good marine resources, etc.,” says Robert DiNapoli, a PhD student in the archaeology program at the University of Oregon.

“However, these associations had never been quantitatively tested or shown to be statistically significant. Our study presents quantitative spatial modeling clearly showing that ahu are associated with freshwater sources in a way that they aren’t associated with other resources.”

The proximity of the monuments to freshwater tells us a great deal about the ancient island society, says Terry Hunt, a professor of anthropology at the University of Arizona and dean of the Honors College.

“The monuments and statues are located in places with access to a resource critical to islanders on a daily basis—fresh water,” says Hunt, who has been researching the Pacific Islands for more than 30 years and has directed archaeological field research on Rapa Nui since 2001.

“In this way, the monuments and statues of the islanders’ deified ancestors reflect generations of sharing, perhaps on a daily basis, centered on water, but also food, family, and social ties, as well as cultural lore that reinforced knowledge of the island’s precarious sustainability.

“The sharing points to a critical part of explaining the island’s paradox: despite limited resources, the islanders succeeded by sharing in activities, knowledge, and resources for over 500 years until European contact disrupted life with foreign diseases, slave trading, and other misfortunes of colonial interests,” Hunt adds.

Watery pattern

The researchers currently only have comprehensive freshwater data for the western portion of the island and plan to do a complete survey of the island in order to continue to test their hypothesis of the relation between ahu and freshwater.

“The issue of water availability, or the lack of it, has often been mentioned by researchers who work on Rapa Nui,” says Carl Lipo, a professor of anthropology and director of environmental studies at Binghamton University.

Locations of ahu on Rapa Nui (Credit: PLOS ONE)Locations of ahu on Rapa Nui (Credit: PLOS ONE)

“When we started to examine the details of the hydrology, we began to notice that freshwater access and statue location were tightly linked together. It wasn’t obvious when walking around—with the water emerging at the coast during low tide, one doesn’t necessarily see obvious indications of water—but as we started to look at areas around ahu, we found that those locations were exactly tied to spots where the fresh groundwater emerges, largely as a diffuse layer that flows out at the water’s edge.

“The more we looked, the more consistently we saw this pattern. This paper reflects our work to demonstrate that this pattern is statistically sound and not just our perception.”

The paper appears in PLOS ONE.

Additional researchers contributing to this work are California State University, Long Beach; Penn State; and the University of Auckland.

Source: University of Arizona

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=easter island;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

HAPPINESS & SUCCESS

Do Not Give Up What You Want Most for What You Want Right Now

Do Not Give Up What You Want Most for What You Want Right Now

Carly Pollack
The most powerful influence on the human mind is our core beliefs about our identity, who we think we are. If you have a core belief that you are lazy or that the world is out to get you, no matter how much you try to be more productive or to feel safer in…

SPIRITUALITY & MINDFULNESS

Thich Nhat Hanh, The Buddhist Monk Who Introduced Mindfulness To The West, Prepares To Die

Thich Nhat Hanh, The Buddhist Monk Who Introduced Mindfulness To The West, Prepares To Die

Brooke Schedneck
Thich Nhat Hanh, the monk who popularized mindfulness in the West, has returned home to Vietnam to enjoy the rest of his life.

RELATIONSHIPS

Parents Of Girls Are Less Likely To Stress Computer Skills

Parents Of Girls Are Less Likely To Stress Computer Skills

Matt Swayne
While most first-year college students in a new study had positive feelings about computing and computer-related majors and jobs, gender and socioeconomic status seemed to play a role in whether parents shaped those perceptions.

INTUITION & AWARENESS

3 Reasons Why People Fall For Politicians' Lies

3 Reasons Why People Fall For Politicians' Lies

Mack Clayton Shelley, II
Why do people make such poor decisions about politics? Why are they so often distracted by lies, irrelevant alternatives and specious arguments?

ATTITUDE ADJUSTMENTS

Boys' Attention And Prosocial Behavior Linked To Earnings 30 Years Later

Boys' Attention And Prosocial Behavior Linked To Earnings 30 Years Later

Francis Vergunst
New research, published in the medical journal JAMA Pediatrics, shows that boys from low-income backgrounds who were inattentive in kindergarten had lower earnings at age 36 while boys who were prosocial earned more.