Warum bauten die Osterinsulaner dort Statuen?

Warum bauten die Osterinsulaner dort Statuen?Die alten Bewohner von Rapa Nui, Chile, besser bekannt als Osterinsel, bauten ihre berühmten Ahu-Denkmäler in der Nähe von Süßwasserquellen an der Küste.

Die Insel Rapa Nui ist bekannt für ihre raffinierte Ritualarchitektur, insbesondere für ihre zahlreichen Statuen (Moai und Ahu), die monumentalen Plattformen, auf denen sie gestützt wurden. Die Forscher haben sich lange gefragt, warum die alten Menschen diese Denkmäler an ihren jeweiligen Standorten rund um die Insel errichteten, wenn man bedenkt, wie viel Zeit und Energie für den Bau erforderlich sind.

Die Forscher nutzten quantitative räumliche Modellierungen, um die potenziellen Beziehungen zwischen Ahu-Baustellen und Subsistenzressourcen zu untersuchen, d. H. Rock Mulch-Landwirtschaftsgärten, Meeresressourcen und Süßwasserquellen - die drei kritischsten Ressourcen auf Rapa Nui. Ihre Ergebnisse legen nahe, dass die Nähe zu den begrenzten Süßwasserquellen der Insel die Standorte der Ahu erklärt.

Geheimnis gelüftet?

"Viele Forscher, darunter auch wir selbst, haben lange spekuliert, Assoziationen zwischen Ahu, Moai und verschiedenen Arten von Ressourcen - Wasser, landwirtschaftliche Flächen, Gebiete mit guten Meeresressourcen usw.", sagt Robert DiNapoli, Doktorand im Archäologieprogramm der Universität von Oregon.

„Diese Assoziationen wurden jedoch nie quantitativ getestet oder als statistisch signifikant befunden. Unsere Studie zeigt quantitative räumliche Modellierung, die deutlich zeigt, dass Ahu mit Süßwasserquellen in einer Weise verbunden ist, dass sie nicht mit anderen Ressourcen in Verbindung stehen. “

Die Nähe der Monumente zu Süßwasser sagt uns viel über die alte Inselgesellschaft aus, sagt Terry Hunt, Professor für Anthropologie an der University of Arizona und Dekan des Honors College.

"Die Monumente und Statuen befinden sich an Orten, die täglich Zugang zu einer Ressource haben, die für die Inselbewohner von entscheidender Bedeutung ist - Süßwasser", sagt Hunt, der seit mehr als 30 die Pazifikinseln erforscht und die archäologische Feldforschung zu Rapa Nui geleitet hat seit 2001.

„Auf diese Weise spiegeln die Denkmäler und Statuen der verunglückten Vorfahren der Insulaner Generationen wider, die sich vielleicht täglich widmen, wenn es um Wasser geht, aber auch um Essen, Familien und soziale Bindungen sowie kulturelle Überlieferungen, die das Wissen über das Internet stärken die prekäre Nachhaltigkeit der Insel.


Holen Sie sich das Neueste von InnerSelf


„Das Teilen weist auf einen entscheidenden Teil der Erklärung des Paradoxes der Insel hin: Trotz begrenzter Ressourcen gelang es den Inselbewohnern, über 500 Jahre hinweg Aktivitäten, Wissen und Ressourcen zu teilen, bis der Kontakt Europas mit ausländischen Krankheiten, Sklavenhandel und anderen Unglücksfällen das Leben störte koloniale Interessen “, fügt Hunt hinzu.

Wässriges Muster

Die Forscher verfügen derzeit nur über umfassende Süßwasserdaten für den westlichen Teil der Insel und planen, eine vollständige Erhebung der Insel durchzuführen, um ihre Hypothese der Beziehung zwischen Ahu und Süßwasser weiter zu testen.

"Das Problem der Wasserverfügbarkeit oder das Fehlen von Wasser wurde oft von Forschern erwähnt, die an Rapa Nui arbeiten", sagt Carl Lipo, Professor für Anthropologie und Direktor für Umweltstudien an der Binghamton University.

Standorte von Ahu auf Rapa Nui (Bildnachweis: PLOS ONE)Standorte von Ahu auf Rapa Nui (Credit: PLoS ONE)

„Als wir anfingen, die Einzelheiten der Hydrologie zu untersuchen, stellten wir fest, dass der Zugang zum Süßwasser und der Standort der Statue eng miteinander verbunden waren. Beim Herumlaufen war es nicht offensichtlich - mit Wasser, das bei Ebbe an der Küste auftaucht, sieht man nicht unbedingt offensichtliche Hinweise auf Wasser -, aber als wir begannen, Gebiete um Ahu zu betrachten, fanden wir heraus, dass diese Orte genau miteinander verbunden waren zu Stellen, an denen das frische Grundwasser austritt, weitgehend als diffuse Schicht, die am Rand des Wassers austritt.

„Je mehr wir uns umschauten, desto konsequenter sahen wir dieses Muster. Dieses Papier spiegelt unsere Arbeit wider, um zu demonstrieren, dass dieses Muster statistisch korrekt ist und nicht nur unsere Wahrnehmung. “

Das Papier erscheint in PLoS ONE.

Weitere Forscher, die zu dieser Arbeit beitragen, sind die California State University, Long Beach; Penn State; und der University of Auckland.

Quelle: University of Arizona

Bücher zum Thema

{amazonWS: searchindex = Bücher; Schlüsselwörter = Osterinsel; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Why Did Easter Islanders Build Statues Where They Did?

Why Did Easter Islanders Build Statues Where They Did?The ancient people of Rapa Nui, Chile, better known as Easter Island, built their famous ahu monuments near coastal freshwater sources, according to new research.

The island of Rapa Nui is well-known for its elaborate ritual architecture, particularly its numerous statues, or moai, and ahu, the monumental platforms that supported them. Researchers have long wondered why ancient people built these monuments in their respective locations around the island, considering the time and energy required to construct them.

The researchers used quantitative spatial modeling to explore the potential relations between ahu construction locations and subsistence resources, namely, rock mulch agricultural gardens, marine resources, and freshwater sources—the three most critical resources on Rapa Nui. Their results suggest that proximity to the island’s limited freshwater sources explains the locations of the ahu.

Mystery solved?

“Many researchers, ourselves included, have long speculated associations between ahu, moai, and different kinds of resources—water, agricultural land, areas with good marine resources, etc.,” says Robert DiNapoli, a PhD student in the archaeology program at the University of Oregon.

“However, these associations had never been quantitatively tested or shown to be statistically significant. Our study presents quantitative spatial modeling clearly showing that ahu are associated with freshwater sources in a way that they aren’t associated with other resources.”

The proximity of the monuments to freshwater tells us a great deal about the ancient island society, says Terry Hunt, a professor of anthropology at the University of Arizona and dean of the Honors College.

“The monuments and statues are located in places with access to a resource critical to islanders on a daily basis—fresh water,” says Hunt, who has been researching the Pacific Islands for more than 30 years and has directed archaeological field research on Rapa Nui since 2001.

“In this way, the monuments and statues of the islanders’ deified ancestors reflect generations of sharing, perhaps on a daily basis, centered on water, but also food, family, and social ties, as well as cultural lore that reinforced knowledge of the island’s precarious sustainability.

“The sharing points to a critical part of explaining the island’s paradox: despite limited resources, the islanders succeeded by sharing in activities, knowledge, and resources for over 500 years until European contact disrupted life with foreign diseases, slave trading, and other misfortunes of colonial interests,” Hunt adds.

Watery pattern

The researchers currently only have comprehensive freshwater data for the western portion of the island and plan to do a complete survey of the island in order to continue to test their hypothesis of the relation between ahu and freshwater.

“The issue of water availability, or the lack of it, has often been mentioned by researchers who work on Rapa Nui,” says Carl Lipo, a professor of anthropology and director of environmental studies at Binghamton University.

Locations of ahu on Rapa Nui (Credit: PLOS ONE)Locations of ahu on Rapa Nui (Credit: PLOS ONE)

“When we started to examine the details of the hydrology, we began to notice that freshwater access and statue location were tightly linked together. It wasn’t obvious when walking around—with the water emerging at the coast during low tide, one doesn’t necessarily see obvious indications of water—but as we started to look at areas around ahu, we found that those locations were exactly tied to spots where the fresh groundwater emerges, largely as a diffuse layer that flows out at the water’s edge.

“The more we looked, the more consistently we saw this pattern. This paper reflects our work to demonstrate that this pattern is statistically sound and not just our perception.”

The paper appears in PLOS ONE.

Additional researchers contributing to this work are California State University, Long Beach; Penn State; and the University of Auckland.

Source: University of Arizona

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=easter island;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

HAPPINESS & SUCCESS

Do Not Give Up What You Want Most for What You Want Right Now

Do Not Give Up What You Want Most for What You Want Right Now

Carly Pollack
The most powerful influence on the human mind is our core beliefs about our identity, who we think we are. If you have a core belief that you are lazy or that the world is out to get you, no matter how much you try to be more productive or to feel safer in…

SPIRITUALITY & MINDFULNESS

Thich Nhat Hanh, The Buddhist Monk Who Introduced Mindfulness To The West, Prepares To Die

Thich Nhat Hanh, The Buddhist Monk Who Introduced Mindfulness To The West, Prepares To Die

Brooke Schedneck
Thich Nhat Hanh, the monk who popularized mindfulness in the West, has returned home to Vietnam to enjoy the rest of his life.

RELATIONSHIPS

Parents Of Girls Are Less Likely To Stress Computer Skills

Parents Of Girls Are Less Likely To Stress Computer Skills

Matt Swayne
While most first-year college students in a new study had positive feelings about computing and computer-related majors and jobs, gender and socioeconomic status seemed to play a role in whether parents shaped those perceptions.

INTUITION & AWARENESS

3 Reasons Why People Fall For Politicians' Lies

3 Reasons Why People Fall For Politicians' Lies

Mack Clayton Shelley, II
Why do people make such poor decisions about politics? Why are they so often distracted by lies, irrelevant alternatives and specious arguments?

ATTITUDE ADJUSTMENTS

Boys' Attention And Prosocial Behavior Linked To Earnings 30 Years Later

Boys' Attention And Prosocial Behavior Linked To Earnings 30 Years Later

Francis Vergunst
New research, published in the medical journal JAMA Pediatrics, shows that boys from low-income backgrounds who were inattentive in kindergarten had lower earnings at age 36 while boys who were prosocial earned more.