لماذا قام سكان جزر ايستر ببناء التماثيل حيث فعلوا؟

لماذا قام سكان جزر ايستر ببناء التماثيل حيث فعلوا؟طبقاً لأبحاث جديدة ، فإن شعب ربا نوي القديم ، المعروف باسم جزيرة إيستر ، قام ببناء آثارهم الشهيرة بالقرب من مصادر المياه العذبة الساحلية.

تشتهر جزيرة رابا نوي بهندستها المعمارية المتقنة ، ولا سيما العديد من التماثيل ، أو موي ، وأهو ، المنصات الضخمة التي دعمتها. لطالما تساءل الباحثون عن سبب قيام الناس القدماء ببناء هذه المعالم في مواقعهم حول الجزيرة ، مع الأخذ في الاعتبار الوقت والطاقة المطلوبة لبناء هذه المعالم.

استخدم الباحثون النمذجة المكانية الكمية لاستكشاف العلاقات المحتملة بين مواقع البناء في AHU وموارد الكفاف ، وهي الحدائق الزراعية للنباتات الصخرية ، والموارد البحرية ومصادر المياه العذبة ، وهي الموارد الثلاثة الأكثر أهمية في Rapa Nui. وتشير النتائج التي توصلوا إليها إلى أن القرب من مصادر المياه العذبة المحدودة في الجزيرة يفسر مواقع الآوهو.

حل اللغز؟

يقول روبرت دي نابولي ، طالب دكتوراه في برنامج علم الآثار في جامعة هارفارد ، "لقد تكهن العديد من الباحثين ، بما في ذلك أنفسنا ، منذ فترة طويلة بالارتباطات بين أهو وموي وأنواع مختلفة من الموارد ، مثل المياه والأراضي الزراعية والمناطق ذات الموارد البحرية الجيدة ، وما إلى ذلك." جامعة ولاية أوريغون.

ومع ذلك ، فإن هذه الارتباطات لم يتم اختبارها كميًا أبدًا أو تبين أنها ذات دلالة إحصائية. تعرض دراستنا النمذجة المكانية الكمية التي تظهر بوضوح أن الآوه مرتبطة بمصادر المياه العذبة بطريقة لا ترتبط بالموارد الأخرى. "

يقول تيري هنت ، أستاذ الأنثروبولوجيا في جامعة أريزونا وعميد كلية أونورز ، إن قرب النصب إلى المياه العذبة يخبرنا الكثير عن مجتمع الجزيرة القديمة.

يقول هانت: "إن الآثار والتماثيل موجودة في أماكن تتمتع بمصادر حرجة بالنسبة لسكان الجزر على أساس يومي ، أي المياه العذبة" ، وقد بحثت في جزر المحيط الهادي لأكثر من سنوات 30 وأجرت أبحاثًا ميدانية أثرية على رابا نوي. منذ 2001.

"وبهذه الطريقة ، تعكس آثار وتماثيل أسلاف سكان الجزيرة المؤلمين أجيالاً من المشاركة ، ربما على أساس يومي ، تتمحور حول الماء ، ولكن أيضاً الروابط الغذائية والعائلية والروابط الاجتماعية ، فضلاً عن التقاليد الثقافية التي تعزز المعرفة استدامة الجزيرة غير المستقرة.

"تشير المشاركة إلى جزء مهم من تفسير مفارقة الجزيرة: على الرغم من الموارد المحدودة ، نجح سكان الجزيرة في المشاركة في الأنشطة والمعرفة والموارد خلال سنوات 500 حتى أدى الاتصال الأوروبي إلى تعطل الحياة مع الأمراض الأجنبية وتجارة الرقيق وغير ذلك من مصائب المصالح الاستعمارية ، "يضيف هنت.

نمط مائي

لدى الباحثون حاليا فقط بيانات شاملة عن المياه العذبة للجزء الغربي من الجزيرة ويخططون للقيام بمسح كامل للجزيرة من أجل مواصلة اختبار فرضيتهم للعلاقة بين ahu والمياه العذبة.

يقول كارل ليبو ، أستاذ الأنثروبولوجيا ومدير الدراسات البيئية في جامعة بينغهامتون: "إن مسألة توفر المياه ، أو الافتقار إليها ، غالباً ما ذكرها الباحثون الذين يعملون في رابا نوي".

مواقع ahu على Rapa Nui (الائتمان: PLOS ONE)مواقع ahu على Rapa Nui (الائتمان: بلوس ONE)

"عندما بدأنا دراسة تفاصيل الهيدرولوجيا ، بدأنا نلاحظ أن الوصول إلى المياه العذبة وموقع التمثال كانا مرتبطين ببعضهما البعض. لم يكن من الواضح عند التجول - مع ظهور المياه على الساحل أثناء انخفاض المد ، لا يرى المرء بالضرورة مؤشرات واضحة على الماء - ولكن عندما بدأنا بالنظر إلى المناطق المحيطة بأهو ، وجدنا أن تلك المواقع كانت مترابطة تمامًا إلى المناطق التي تظهر فيها المياه الجوفية العذبة ، إلى حد كبير كطبقة منتشرة تتدفق عند حافة الماء.

"كلما نظرنا أكثر ، كلما رأينا هذا النمط باستمرار. تعكس هذه الورقة عملنا لإثبات أن هذا النمط سليم إحصائيًا وليس مجرد إدراكنا ".

تظهر الورقة في بلوس ONE.

الباحثون الإضافيون الذين ساهموا في هذا العمل هم جامعة ولاية كاليفورنيا ، لونغ بيتش ؛ ولاية بنسلفانيا؛ وجامعة أوكلاند.

مصدر: جامعة أريزونا

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = easter island؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Why Did Easter Islanders Build Statues Where They Did?

Why Did Easter Islanders Build Statues Where They Did?The ancient people of Rapa Nui, Chile, better known as Easter Island, built their famous ahu monuments near coastal freshwater sources, according to new research.

The island of Rapa Nui is well-known for its elaborate ritual architecture, particularly its numerous statues, or moai, and ahu, the monumental platforms that supported them. Researchers have long wondered why ancient people built these monuments in their respective locations around the island, considering the time and energy required to construct them.

The researchers used quantitative spatial modeling to explore the potential relations between ahu construction locations and subsistence resources, namely, rock mulch agricultural gardens, marine resources, and freshwater sources—the three most critical resources on Rapa Nui. Their results suggest that proximity to the island’s limited freshwater sources explains the locations of the ahu.

Mystery solved?

“Many researchers, ourselves included, have long speculated associations between ahu, moai, and different kinds of resources—water, agricultural land, areas with good marine resources, etc.,” says Robert DiNapoli, a PhD student in the archaeology program at the University of Oregon.

“However, these associations had never been quantitatively tested or shown to be statistically significant. Our study presents quantitative spatial modeling clearly showing that ahu are associated with freshwater sources in a way that they aren’t associated with other resources.”

The proximity of the monuments to freshwater tells us a great deal about the ancient island society, says Terry Hunt, a professor of anthropology at the University of Arizona and dean of the Honors College.

“The monuments and statues are located in places with access to a resource critical to islanders on a daily basis—fresh water,” says Hunt, who has been researching the Pacific Islands for more than 30 years and has directed archaeological field research on Rapa Nui since 2001.

“In this way, the monuments and statues of the islanders’ deified ancestors reflect generations of sharing, perhaps on a daily basis, centered on water, but also food, family, and social ties, as well as cultural lore that reinforced knowledge of the island’s precarious sustainability.

“The sharing points to a critical part of explaining the island’s paradox: despite limited resources, the islanders succeeded by sharing in activities, knowledge, and resources for over 500 years until European contact disrupted life with foreign diseases, slave trading, and other misfortunes of colonial interests,” Hunt adds.

Watery pattern

The researchers currently only have comprehensive freshwater data for the western portion of the island and plan to do a complete survey of the island in order to continue to test their hypothesis of the relation between ahu and freshwater.

“The issue of water availability, or the lack of it, has often been mentioned by researchers who work on Rapa Nui,” says Carl Lipo, a professor of anthropology and director of environmental studies at Binghamton University.

Locations of ahu on Rapa Nui (Credit: PLOS ONE)Locations of ahu on Rapa Nui (Credit: PLOS ONE)

“When we started to examine the details of the hydrology, we began to notice that freshwater access and statue location were tightly linked together. It wasn’t obvious when walking around—with the water emerging at the coast during low tide, one doesn’t necessarily see obvious indications of water—but as we started to look at areas around ahu, we found that those locations were exactly tied to spots where the fresh groundwater emerges, largely as a diffuse layer that flows out at the water’s edge.

“The more we looked, the more consistently we saw this pattern. This paper reflects our work to demonstrate that this pattern is statistically sound and not just our perception.”

The paper appears in PLOS ONE.

Additional researchers contributing to this work are California State University, Long Beach; Penn State; and the University of Auckland.

Source: University of Arizona

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=easter island;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

HAPPINESS & SUCCESS

Do Not Give Up What You Want Most for What You Want Right Now

Do Not Give Up What You Want Most for What You Want Right Now

Carly Pollack
The most powerful influence on the human mind is our core beliefs about our identity, who we think we are. If you have a core belief that you are lazy or that the world is out to get you, no matter how much you try to be more productive or to feel safer in…

SPIRITUALITY & MINDFULNESS

Thich Nhat Hanh, The Buddhist Monk Who Introduced Mindfulness To The West, Prepares To Die

Thich Nhat Hanh, The Buddhist Monk Who Introduced Mindfulness To The West, Prepares To Die

Brooke Schedneck
Thich Nhat Hanh, the monk who popularized mindfulness in the West, has returned home to Vietnam to enjoy the rest of his life.

RELATIONSHIPS

Parents Of Girls Are Less Likely To Stress Computer Skills

Parents Of Girls Are Less Likely To Stress Computer Skills

Matt Swayne
While most first-year college students in a new study had positive feelings about computing and computer-related majors and jobs, gender and socioeconomic status seemed to play a role in whether parents shaped those perceptions.

INTUITION & AWARENESS

3 Reasons Why People Fall For Politicians' Lies

3 Reasons Why People Fall For Politicians' Lies

Mack Clayton Shelley, II
Why do people make such poor decisions about politics? Why are they so often distracted by lies, irrelevant alternatives and specious arguments?

ATTITUDE ADJUSTMENTS

Boys' Attention And Prosocial Behavior Linked To Earnings 30 Years Later

Boys' Attention And Prosocial Behavior Linked To Earnings 30 Years Later

Francis Vergunst
New research, published in the medical journal JAMA Pediatrics, shows that boys from low-income backgrounds who were inattentive in kindergarten had lower earnings at age 36 while boys who were prosocial earned more.