Wie überleben Sie Ihre ärgerlichen Verwandten diese Ferienzeit

Wie überleben Sie Ihre ärgerlichen Verwandten diese Ferienzeit
Während der Ferienzeit sind wir mit zahlreichen sozialen Verpflichtungen gegenüber und in einigen Fällen bedeutet dies, die Zeit mit Menschen, die auf die Nerven Rost und behindern uns aus dem Tanken. Juliette / Unsplash, CC BY-SA

Soziale Allergien ähneln saisonalen Allergien. Sie sind nervig, anstrengend und schwer zu vermeiden. Sie sind auch besonders häufig um die Feiertage herum. Das liegt daran, dass Sie aufgrund der Feiertage einem hohen Risiko ausgesetzt sind. Tauschen Sie die Dander und Ragweed für nicht-so-Liebling Bekannte und Verwandte und dort haben Sie es - einen ausgewachsenen Fall soziale Allergien.

Vielleicht klagt Ihre Tante ständig über frivole Dinge. Oder vielleicht ist es, wie Ihr Vater-in-law schmatzt seine Lippen und wischt sich den Mund mit dem Rücken seiner Hand, wenn er isst. Oder könnte es sein, dass dein Cousin kein Gespräch führen kann, ohne über sich selbst zu reden?

Wir alle haben Allergien gegen Menschen, deren scheinbar belangloses Verhalten uns irritiert. Die emotionalen und körperlichen Symptome dieser sozialen Allergene treten auf innerhalb von Minuten nach der ExpositionWir wollen die giftige Umgebung sofort evakuieren.

Die Ferienzeit soziale Allergie

Wie saisonale Allergien sind soziale Allergien oft unumgänglich. Auslöser sind die obligatorischen Zusammenkünfte, die mit dem Urlaub einhergehen. Für viele soll die Saison, beginnend mit dem amerikanischen Thanksgiving, eine Zeit sein Laden Sie unsere Batterien auf: Erholen Sie sich von den unzumutbaren Terminen, zahlreichen Belastungen und anderen Anforderungen, denen wir täglich begegnen.

Soziale Allergien können diesen Plan beeinträchtigen.

Verbringen Sie Zeit mit Menschen, die Sie beleben. (Wie überleben Sie Ihre ärgerlichen Verwandten in dieser Ferienzeit)Verbringen Sie Zeit mit Menschen, die Sie beleben. Kelsey Chance / Unplash

Anstatt aus ein paar Tagen mit dekomprimieren, verbringen wir unsere Zeit weg von der Arbeit gefüllt mit Angst, Angst und Verzweiflung, weil wir Menschen ertragen müssen wir allergisch sind.

Obwohl wir einige schädliche soziale Situationen überwinden können, gibt es andere, die fast obligatorisch sind.


Holen Sie sich das Neueste von InnerSelf


Was sind also die sozialen Antihistaminika, die uns helfen werden?

Exposition begrenzen

Eine wirksame Möglichkeit, um eine soziale allergische Reaktion zu verhindern, besteht darin, die Exposition zu begrenzen. Auf die gleiche Art und Weise im Bett kuscheln mit einem Rudel von Hauskatzen eine Person allergisch auf Katzen vermeiden sollte, eine Person mit sozialen Allergien sollten in einer Umgebung bleiben voller sozialer Allergene vermeiden.

Durch die Minimierung der Zeit, die Sie mit den Allergenen in Kontakt sind, können Sie greife das Problem direkt an, Resilienz fördern und Wiederherstellung durch Verringerung der Gefährdungssituation.

Dies bedeutet, früh zu gehen oder zu spät zu kommen. Haben Sie eine Strategie, um die Zeit, die Sie von Ihren sozialen Allergenen umgeben, zu begrenzen. Während Sie an der Versammlung sind, können Sie sie setzen über die sozialen Situationen strategisch sein. Wenn eine Stelle am Tisch zu finden, nicht neben Cousin sitzt So-und-so oder Tante M und auf jeden Fall sitzt nicht in vollem Umfang Blick auf deinen Lippenschwanz-Schwiegervater.

Bestätigen

Wir haben die Macht, eine gewisse Kontrolle über viele soziale Allergene auszuüben.

Wenn sie beispielsweise mit einem selbstsüchtigen, giftigen Verwandten spricht, sucht sie eine bestimmte Art von Reaktion von dir. In vielen Fällen ist die gewünschte Reaktion einfach: Unterstützung und Validierung.

Auch wenn Sie den aus dem Mund der Tante austretenden Strom abstellen möchten, wird dies nicht dazu beitragen, Ihre allergische Reaktion zu beruhigen. Aber wenn Sie einige Zeit damit verbringen, zuerst die Validierung liefern sie sucht, könnten Sie möglicherweise ihr Verlangen befriedigen und löschen das Verhalten, das Sie abweisende finden.

Feedback geben

Wenn Sie das Essen Ihres Schwiegervaters nicht länger tolerieren können, sollten Sie über seine Essgewohnheiten sprechen. Aber erinnere dich an diese Gespräche vermitteln nicht nur informationenSie haben auch Auswirkungen auf Beziehungen und Identitäten.

Machen Sie ihm klar, dass Sie mit ihm darüber sprechen, weil Sie ihn lieben. Und schau, ob du das Thema indirekt damit ansprechen kannst nicht als aufdringlich wirken. Geben Feedback Menschen ändern oft ihr Verhalten nicht, wenn wir nicht wissen, wie sie aufgenommen werden.

Achtsamkeit

Wenn es nicht die beste Idee ist, Ihrem Schwiegervater ein Feedback zu geben, können Sie stattdessen Achtsamkeit üben. Achtsamkeit ist ein nicht urteilender Zustand des Bewusstseins im Moment.

Wenn soziale Allergene anfangen, Sie zu belästigen, achten Sie auf Ihre eigene innere Irritation, ohne sie zu bewerten. Klammere dich nicht daran und schiebe es nicht weg. Folgen Sie einfach.

Das Beobachten der Ebbe und Flüsse Ihrer Erfahrung hat eine Möglichkeit, Distanz zwischen Ihnen und Ihren Reaktionen durch einen aufgerufenen Prozess zu schaffen wahrnehmen. Mindfulness wird nicht unbedingt das Allergen verhindern, dass Sie stört, aber es wird Ihnen helfen, steuern, wie viel es Sie stört und wie schnell erholen Sie von deren Auswirkungen.

Soziale Allergien können Sie durchbrennen und aus einem erholsamen Urlaub einen stressigen Ausdauertest machen. Um eine zu bekommen Auftrieb Während der Ferienzeit müssen Sie sicherstellen, dass Sie Ihre Zeit mit Menschen verbringen, die Sie aufladen und wiederbeleben.

Mildern Sie auch Ihre abstoßende Reaktion auf die lästigen Gewohnheiten der Menschen. Ein paar einfache Schritte können Ihren Urlaub in einen verwandeln, in dem Sie eine glückliche, gesunde Auszeit genießen können, anstatt sich mit sozialen Allergien zu befassen.

Über den Autor

Jamie Gruman, Professor für Organisationsverhalten, Universität Guelph. Der Autor dankt Deirdre Healeys Unterstützung bei diesem Artikel.Das Gespräch

Dieser Artikel wird erneut veröffentlicht Das Gespräch unter einer Creative Commons-Lizenz. Lies das Original Artikel.

Bücher dieses Autors

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books; keywords = jamie gruman; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

How To Survive Your Annoying Relatives This Holiday Season

How To Survive Your Annoying Relatives This Holiday Season
During the holiday season, we are faced with numerous social commitments and in some cases this means spending time with people who grate on our nerves and hinder us from refuelling. Juliette/ Unsplash, CC BY-SA

Social allergies are a lot like seasonal allergies. They’re annoying, exhausting and hard to avoid. They’re also especially common around the holidays. That’s because the holidays put you at a high risk of exposure. Swap the dander and ragweed for your not-so-favourite acquaintances and relatives and there you have it — a full-blown case of social allergies.

Maybe it’s the way your aunt constantly complains about frivolous things. Or perhaps it’s how your father-in-law smacks his lips and wipes his mouth with the back of his hand when he eats. Or could it be the way your cousin can’t have a conversation without droning on about himself?

All of us have allergies to people whose seemingly inconsequential behaviour irritates us. The emotional and physical symptoms these social allergens produce arise within minutes of exposure, making us want to immediately evacuate the toxic environment.

The holiday season social allergy

Like seasonal allergies, social allergies are often inescapable. Triggers include the obligatory get-togethers that come with the holidays. For many, the season, beginning with American Thanksgiving, is supposed to be a time to recharge our batteries: recover from the unreasonable deadlines, numerous pressures and other demands we face on a daily basis.

Social allergies can interfere with that plan.

Spend time with people who energize you.  (How to survive your annoying relatives this holiday season)Spend time with people who energize you. Kelsey Chance/Unsplash

Rather than having a few days off to decompress, we spend our time away from work filled with dread, anxiety and exasperation because we have to endure people we are allergic to.

Although we can get out of some noxious social situations, there are others that are almost mandatory.

So, what are the social antihistamines that will help us cope?

Limit exposure

One effective way to prevent a social allergic reaction is to limit your exposure. In the same way a person allergic to cats should avoid snuggling up in bed with a pride of domestic felines, a person with social allergies should avoid staying in an environment full of social allergens.

By minimizing the amount of time you are in contact with the allergens, you attack the problem directly, fostering resilience and recovery by reducing your exposure to a hazardous situation.

This means leave early or come late. Have a strategy to restrict the amount of time you spend surrounded by your social allergens. While you are at the gathering, be strategic about the social situations you place yourself in. When finding a spot at the dinner table, don’t sit next to Cousin So-and-so or Aunt M and definitely don’t sit in full view of your lip-smacking father-in-law.

Validate

We have the power to exert some control over many social allergens.

For example, when speaking with a self-centered toxic relative, she’s looking for a certain type of reaction from you. In many cases, the wanted reaction is simple: it’s support and validation.

While you may want to shut off the stream coming out of auntie’s mouth, this will not actually help calm your allergic reaction. But if you spend some time to first provide the validation she seeks, you could potentially satisfy her craving and extinguish the behaviour you find repellent.

Give feedback

If you can no longer tolerate your father-in-law’s eating, consider speaking to him about his eating habits. But remember that conversations not only convey information, they also have implications for relationships and identities.

Make it clear to him that you’re speaking to him about this because you love him. And see if you can bring up the topic indirectly so that you don’t come across as intrusive. Giving feedback to people often fails to change their behaviour if we’re not sensitive about how it might be received.

Mindfulness

If giving feedback to your father-in-law doesn’t seem like the best idea, you can instead try practising mindfulness. Mindfulness is a non-judgmental state of present moment awareness.

When social allergens start bothering you, pay attention to your own internal irritation without evaluating it. Don’t cling to it and don’t push it away. Just follow it.

Watching the ebbs and flows of your experience has a way of putting distance between you and your reactions through a process called reperceiving. Mindfulness won’t necessarily prevent the allergen from bothering you, but it will help you control how much it annoys you and how quickly you recover from its effects.

Social allergies can burn you out and change a relaxing holiday into a stressful test of endurance. To get a boost during holiday time, you need to make sure that you spend your time with people who recharge and revitalize you.

Also, mitigate your averse reaction to people’s annoying habits. A few simple steps can transform your holiday into one that lets you enjoy a happy, healthy break, instead of having to contend with social allergies.

About The Author

Jamie Gruman, Professor of Organizational Behaviour, University of Guelph. The author thanks Deirdre Healey’s assistance with this article.The Conversation

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Books by this Author

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=jamie gruman;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

HAPPINESS & SUCCESS

Do Not Give Up What You Want Most for What You Want Right Now

Do Not Give Up What You Want Most for What You Want Right Now

Carly Pollack
The most powerful influence on the human mind is our core beliefs about our identity, who we think we are. If you have a core belief that you are lazy or that the world is out to get you, no matter how much you try to be more productive or to feel safer in…

SPIRITUALITY & MINDFULNESS

Thich Nhat Hanh, The Buddhist Monk Who Introduced Mindfulness To The West, Prepares To Die

Thich Nhat Hanh, The Buddhist Monk Who Introduced Mindfulness To The West, Prepares To Die

Brooke Schedneck
Thich Nhat Hanh, the monk who popularized mindfulness in the West, has returned home to Vietnam to enjoy the rest of his life.

RELATIONSHIPS

Parents Of Girls Are Less Likely To Stress Computer Skills

Parents Of Girls Are Less Likely To Stress Computer Skills

Matt Swayne
While most first-year college students in a new study had positive feelings about computing and computer-related majors and jobs, gender and socioeconomic status seemed to play a role in whether parents shaped those perceptions.

INTUITION & AWARENESS

3 Reasons Why People Fall For Politicians' Lies

3 Reasons Why People Fall For Politicians' Lies

Mack Clayton Shelley, II
Why do people make such poor decisions about politics? Why are they so often distracted by lies, irrelevant alternatives and specious arguments?

ATTITUDE ADJUSTMENTS

Boys' Attention And Prosocial Behavior Linked To Earnings 30 Years Later

Boys' Attention And Prosocial Behavior Linked To Earnings 30 Years Later

Francis Vergunst
New research, published in the medical journal JAMA Pediatrics, shows that boys from low-income backgrounds who were inattentive in kindergarten had lower earnings at age 36 while boys who were prosocial earned more.