Comment survivre à vos parents ennuyeux en cette période des fêtes

Comment survivre à vos parents ennuyeux en cette période des fêtes
Pendant la saison des vacances, nous sommes confrontés à de nombreux engagements sociaux et, dans certains cas, cela signifie passer du temps avec des personnes qui nous énervent et nous empêchent de faire le plein. Juliette / Unsplash, CC BY-SA

Les allergies sociales ressemblent beaucoup aux allergies saisonnières. Ils sont énervants, épuisants et difficiles à éviter. Ils sont également particulièrement fréquents pendant les vacances. C'est parce que les vacances vous exposent à un risque élevé. Échangez les phanères et l’herbe à poux contre vos connaissances et parents qui ne vous sont pas si préférés, et le tour est joué: un cas à part entière de allergies sociales.

Peut-être que c'est la façon dont votre tante se plaint constamment de choses frivoles. Ou peut-être est-ce la façon dont votre beau-père se touche les lèvres et s’essuie la bouche du revers de la main quand il mange. Ou pourrait-il être ainsi que votre cousin ne peut pas avoir une conversation sans se perdre dans son sujet?

Nous avons tous des allergies aux personnes dont le comportement apparemment insignifiant nous irrite. Les symptômes émotionnels et physiques produits par ces allergènes sociaux surviennent en quelques minutes d'exposition, nous donnant envie d'évacuer immédiatement l'environnement toxique.

L'allergie sociale du temps des fêtes

Comme les allergies saisonnières, les allergies sociales sont souvent inévitables. Les déclencheurs incluent les réunions obligatoires qui accompagnent les vacances. Pour beaucoup, la saison, à commencer par American Thanksgiving, est censée être un moment pour recharger nos batteries: se remettre des délais déraisonnables, des nombreuses pressions et autres demandes auxquelles nous sommes confrontés quotidiennement.

Les allergies sociales peuvent interférer avec ce plan.

Passez du temps avec des gens qui vous dynamisent. (Comment survivre à vos parents agaçants cette saison de vacances)Passez du temps avec des gens qui vous dynamisent. Kelsey Chance / Unsplash

Plutôt que d'avoir quelques jours de repos pour décompresser, nous passons notre temps loin du travail empli de terreur, d'anxiété et d'exaspération parce que nous devons endurer des personnes avec lesquelles nous sommes allergiques.

Bien que nous puissions sortir de certaines situations sociales nocives, il en existe d’autres presque obligatoires.

Alors, quels sont les antihistaminiques sociaux qui vont nous aider à faire face?

Limiter l'exposition

Un moyen efficace de prévenir une réaction allergique sociale consiste à limiter votre exposition. De la même manière qu'une personne allergique aux chats devrait éviter de se blottir au lit avec une fierté de félins domestiques, une personne souffrant d'allergies sociales devrait éviter de rester dans un environnement plein d'allergènes sociaux.

En minimisant le temps que vous passez en contact avec les allergènes, vous attaquer directement le problème, favoriser la résilience et la récupération en réduisant votre exposition à une situation dangereuse.

Cela signifie partir tôt ou arriver en retard. Ayez une stratégie pour limiter le temps que vous passez entouré de vos allergènes sociaux. Pendant que vous êtes au rendez-vous, soyez stratégique en ce qui concerne les situations sociales dans lesquelles vous vous trouvez. Lorsque vous trouvez une place à la table du dîner, ne vous asseyez pas à côté de Cousin Untel ou de Tante M et ne restez certainement pas assis à part entière vue de votre beau-père claquant sur les lèvres.

Valider

Nous avons le pouvoir d'exercer un certain contrôle sur de nombreux allergènes sociaux.

Par exemple, quand elle parle avec un membre de sa famille toxique égocentrique, elle cherche un certain type de réaction de toi. Dans de nombreux cas, la réaction souhaitée est simple: il s’agit de support et de validation.

Bien que vous souhaitiez peut-être couper le flux qui sort de la bouche de tante, cela ne vous aidera pas réellement à calmer votre réaction allergique. Mais si vous passez un peu de temps à fournir d'abord la validation qu'elle recherche, vous pourrez éventuellement satisfaire son envie et éteindre le comportement que vous trouverez répulsif.

Donner votre avis

Si vous ne pouvez plus tolérer que votre beau-père mange, envisagez de lui parler de ses habitudes alimentaires. Mais rappelez-vous que les conversations non seulement transmettre des informations, ils ont également des implications pour les relations et les identités.

Dites-lui clairement que vous lui parlez parce que vous l'aimez. Et voyez si vous pouvez aborder le sujet indirectement pour que vous ne semble pas intrusif. Donnant retour d'information aux gens souvent ne parvient pas à changer leur comportement si nous ne sommes pas sensibles à la façon dont il pourrait être reçu.

Mindfulness

Si donner une réaction à votre beau-père ne semble pas être la meilleure idée, vous pouvez plutôt essayer de pratiquer la pleine conscience. Mindfulness est un état de conscience du moment présent sans jugement.

Lorsque les allergènes sociaux commencent à vous déranger, faites attention à votre propre irritation interne sans l’évaluer. Ne t'accroche pas à ça et ne le repousse pas. Il suffit de le suivre.

Observer les flux et reflets de votre expérience vous permet de mettre de la distance entre vous et vos réactions grâce à un processus appelé reperception. La pleine conscience n'empêchera pas nécessairement l'allergène de vous déranger, mais elle vous aidera à contrôler à quel point elle vous agace et à quelle vitesse vous récupérez de ses effets.

Les allergies sociales peuvent vous épuiser et transformer des vacances reposantes en un test d'endurance stressant. Pour obtenir un renforcer pendant les vacances, vous devez vous assurer de passer votre temps avec des personnes qui vous ressourcent et vous revitalisent.

En outre, atténuez votre réaction défavorable aux habitudes agaçantes des gens. Quelques étapes simples peuvent transformer vos vacances en vacances vous permettant de profiter d'une pause saine et heureuse au lieu de devoir faire face à des allergies sociales.

A propos de l'auteur

Jamie Gruman, professeur de comportement organisationnel, Université de Guelph. L'auteur remercie Deirdre Healey de son aide pour cet article.La Conversation

Cet article est republié de La Conversation sous une licence Creative Commons. Lis le article original.

Livres de cet auteur

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; mots-clés = jamie gruman; maxresults = 3}

How To Survive Your Annoying Relatives This Holiday Season

How To Survive Your Annoying Relatives This Holiday Season
During the holiday season, we are faced with numerous social commitments and in some cases this means spending time with people who grate on our nerves and hinder us from refuelling. Juliette/ Unsplash, CC BY-SA

Social allergies are a lot like seasonal allergies. They’re annoying, exhausting and hard to avoid. They’re also especially common around the holidays. That’s because the holidays put you at a high risk of exposure. Swap the dander and ragweed for your not-so-favourite acquaintances and relatives and there you have it — a full-blown case of social allergies.

Maybe it’s the way your aunt constantly complains about frivolous things. Or perhaps it’s how your father-in-law smacks his lips and wipes his mouth with the back of his hand when he eats. Or could it be the way your cousin can’t have a conversation without droning on about himself?

All of us have allergies to people whose seemingly inconsequential behaviour irritates us. The emotional and physical symptoms these social allergens produce arise within minutes of exposure, making us want to immediately evacuate the toxic environment.

The holiday season social allergy

Like seasonal allergies, social allergies are often inescapable. Triggers include the obligatory get-togethers that come with the holidays. For many, the season, beginning with American Thanksgiving, is supposed to be a time to recharge our batteries: recover from the unreasonable deadlines, numerous pressures and other demands we face on a daily basis.

Social allergies can interfere with that plan.

Spend time with people who energize you.  (How to survive your annoying relatives this holiday season)Spend time with people who energize you. Kelsey Chance/Unsplash

Rather than having a few days off to decompress, we spend our time away from work filled with dread, anxiety and exasperation because we have to endure people we are allergic to.

Although we can get out of some noxious social situations, there are others that are almost mandatory.

So, what are the social antihistamines that will help us cope?

Limit exposure

One effective way to prevent a social allergic reaction is to limit your exposure. In the same way a person allergic to cats should avoid snuggling up in bed with a pride of domestic felines, a person with social allergies should avoid staying in an environment full of social allergens.

By minimizing the amount of time you are in contact with the allergens, you attack the problem directly, fostering resilience and recovery by reducing your exposure to a hazardous situation.

This means leave early or come late. Have a strategy to restrict the amount of time you spend surrounded by your social allergens. While you are at the gathering, be strategic about the social situations you place yourself in. When finding a spot at the dinner table, don’t sit next to Cousin So-and-so or Aunt M and definitely don’t sit in full view of your lip-smacking father-in-law.

Validate

We have the power to exert some control over many social allergens.

For example, when speaking with a self-centered toxic relative, she’s looking for a certain type of reaction from you. In many cases, the wanted reaction is simple: it’s support and validation.

While you may want to shut off the stream coming out of auntie’s mouth, this will not actually help calm your allergic reaction. But if you spend some time to first provide the validation she seeks, you could potentially satisfy her craving and extinguish the behaviour you find repellent.

Give feedback

If you can no longer tolerate your father-in-law’s eating, consider speaking to him about his eating habits. But remember that conversations not only convey information, they also have implications for relationships and identities.

Make it clear to him that you’re speaking to him about this because you love him. And see if you can bring up the topic indirectly so that you don’t come across as intrusive. Giving feedback to people often fails to change their behaviour if we’re not sensitive about how it might be received.

Mindfulness

If giving feedback to your father-in-law doesn’t seem like the best idea, you can instead try practising mindfulness. Mindfulness is a non-judgmental state of present moment awareness.

When social allergens start bothering you, pay attention to your own internal irritation without evaluating it. Don’t cling to it and don’t push it away. Just follow it.

Watching the ebbs and flows of your experience has a way of putting distance between you and your reactions through a process called reperceiving. Mindfulness won’t necessarily prevent the allergen from bothering you, but it will help you control how much it annoys you and how quickly you recover from its effects.

Social allergies can burn you out and change a relaxing holiday into a stressful test of endurance. To get a boost during holiday time, you need to make sure that you spend your time with people who recharge and revitalize you.

Also, mitigate your averse reaction to people’s annoying habits. A few simple steps can transform your holiday into one that lets you enjoy a happy, healthy break, instead of having to contend with social allergies.

About The Author

Jamie Gruman, Professor of Organizational Behaviour, University of Guelph. The author thanks Deirdre Healey’s assistance with this article.The Conversation

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Books by this Author

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=jamie gruman;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

HAPPINESS & SUCCESS

Do Not Give Up What You Want Most for What You Want Right Now

Do Not Give Up What You Want Most for What You Want Right Now

Carly Pollack
The most powerful influence on the human mind is our core beliefs about our identity, who we think we are. If you have a core belief that you are lazy or that the world is out to get you, no matter how much you try to be more productive or to feel safer in…

SPIRITUALITY & MINDFULNESS

Thich Nhat Hanh, The Buddhist Monk Who Introduced Mindfulness To The West, Prepares To Die

Thich Nhat Hanh, The Buddhist Monk Who Introduced Mindfulness To The West, Prepares To Die

Brooke Schedneck
Thich Nhat Hanh, the monk who popularized mindfulness in the West, has returned home to Vietnam to enjoy the rest of his life.

RELATIONSHIPS

Parents Of Girls Are Less Likely To Stress Computer Skills

Parents Of Girls Are Less Likely To Stress Computer Skills

Matt Swayne
While most first-year college students in a new study had positive feelings about computing and computer-related majors and jobs, gender and socioeconomic status seemed to play a role in whether parents shaped those perceptions.

INTUITION & AWARENESS

3 Reasons Why People Fall For Politicians' Lies

3 Reasons Why People Fall For Politicians' Lies

Mack Clayton Shelley, II
Why do people make such poor decisions about politics? Why are they so often distracted by lies, irrelevant alternatives and specious arguments?

ATTITUDE ADJUSTMENTS

Boys' Attention And Prosocial Behavior Linked To Earnings 30 Years Later

Boys' Attention And Prosocial Behavior Linked To Earnings 30 Years Later

Francis Vergunst
New research, published in the medical journal JAMA Pediatrics, shows that boys from low-income backgrounds who were inattentive in kindergarten had lower earnings at age 36 while boys who were prosocial earned more.