من هم المسيحيون الأقباط؟

من هم المسيحيون الأقباط؟

في يوم الأحد ، أبريل 9 ، استهدفت الدولة الإسلامية كنيستين قبطيتين في تفجيرات منسقة في المدن المصرية من طنطا والإسكندرية. قتلت التفجيرات عشرات المصريين وأصابت كثيرين آخرين في أسوأ الحالات عدد من هذه الهجمات التي وقعت في العقد الماضي. المحادثة

أدت التحديات المتداخلة للعنف والاقتصاد والتمييز إلى تزايد رحيل المسيحيين من الشرق الأوسط. لقرون كانت جزءا من التنوع الديني الغني للمنطقة.

إذن من هم هؤلاء الناس الذين اتصلت بهم شركة ناشيونال جيوغرافيك "المؤمن المنسي"؟

التاريخ القبطي

بين المسيحيين في الشرق الأوسط ، فإن أكبر عدد - حوالي ثمانية ملايين أو نحو ذلك - يتكون من الأقباط في مصر. منذ أن زرت مصر لأول مرة في 1990s ، كنت مهتمًا بهذا المجتمع ومساهمته في التعددية.

الأقباط هم السكان المسيحيون الأصليون لمصر ، الذين يعود تاريخهم إلى العقود الأولى بعد حياة يسوع المسيح. الكتاب الكتاب المقدس من أعمال الرواية يروي كيف جاء اليهود من مصر إلى القدس لعيد عيد العنصرة ، وهو عيد حصاد يهودي احتفالا بميلاد الكنيسة المسيحية بعد أسابيع فقط من صلب المسيح. كثير من هؤلاء المصريين أخذوا رسالة المسيحية مرة أخرى إلى بلدهم. التقاليد المسيحية تؤكد أن القديس مرقس ، أحد تلاميذ يسوع الأوائل ، أصبح أول أسقف مصر.

من قبل القرن الرابعاعتنقت غالبية المصريين الإيمان المسيحي. حتى بعد الفتح الإسلامي في القرن السابع ، كان غالبية المصريين مسيحيين. كان فقط خلال العصور الوسطى أن أعدادا أكبر وأكبر احتضنت الإسلام ، وتضاءل السكان المسيحيون.

اليوم ، يشكل المسيحيون المصريون تقريبًا 5 إلى 10 في المئة من السكان المصريين. تستخدم كلمة "قبطي" لكل المسيحيين المصريين. وهو مشتق من كلمة يونانية قديمة تعني ببساطة "مصرية".


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


يفخر الأقباط بتراثهم المصري الذي يرجع تاريخه إلى عصر الأهرامات في فترة مبكرة مثل 3000 BC. إن الغالبية العظمى من الأقباط هم أعضاء في الكنيسة القبطية الأرثوذكسية ، وهي كنيسة مستقلة نشأت في AD 451قبل وقت طويل من تفرق التي أنشأت الكنائس الأرثوذكسية الشرقية والرومانية الكاثوليكية في 1054.

لغة خدمة الكنيسة القبطية الأرثوذكسية (أو طقس ديني) المستخدمة في العبادة اليومية هي المعروفة أيضا باسم القبطية. إنها اللغة المصرية الأصلية المكتوبة بالخط اليوناني.

يعيش الأقباط في كل ركن من أركان مصر وعلى جميع المستويات الاجتماعية والاقتصادية. واحد من أغنى رجال مصر ، نجيب ساويرس، هو قبطي ، وكذلك معظم جامعي القمامة في القاهرة ، و zabellin. على الرغم من أن الأقباط لا يمكن تمييزهم إلى حد كبير عن الأغلبية المسلمة ، إلا أن العديد منهم يُمنحون الوشم من صليب على معصميه كأطفال ، مما يدل على التزامهم الدائم تجاه المجتمع. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، من غير المحتمل أن ترتدي المرأة القبطية حجابًا ، مما يجعلها حجابًا دافع عن كرامته من النساء المسلمات.

رئيس الكنيسة القبطية الأرثوذكسية ، وأهم قائد مسيحي في مصر ، هو أسقف الكرسي الرسولي ، المعروف بين المصريين باسم البابا أو البطريرك القبطي. اليوم تقود الكنيسة البابا تاوضروس الثانيالذي درس الصيدلة قبل أن يقرر متابعة مهنة دينية في 1980s.

ممارسة الشعائر الدينية

يمارس الأقباط شكلاً من أشكال المسيحية يعيدهم إلى التقاليد القديمة للكنيسة.

يبدأ البابا تاوتروس وكل أساقفة الكنيسة القبطية الأرثوذكسية مهنتهم كرهبان - رجال عازب يعيشون في عزلة في الأديرة. تعتبر الكنيسة القبطية الأرثوذكسية فريدة في تفضيلها لوضع الرهبان في أعلى المناصب.

في الواقع ، أول رهبان مسيحيين في العالم ، سانت أنتوني وأسس القديس بولس أديارهم في الصحراء الشرقية لمصر في أوائل القرن الرابع. كل من هذه الأديرة ، والعديد من الآخرين ، لا تزال تعمل.

في كتابه "أب الصحراء، "المؤلف الاسترالي جيمس كوان يصف كيف أصبح التقليد الرهباني دعما هاما للمسيحيين المصريين تحت الاضطهاد وساعد في الحفاظ على الثقافة في جميع أنحاء العالم المسيحي.

غالبًا ما يزور الأقباط في العصر الحديث الأديرة من أجل التوجيه الروحي ، والتقهقر المجتمعي ، وإعادة اكتشاف تراثهم.

لكن بينما يذهب الأقباط إلى صحارى مصر لممارستهم الدينية ، يعيش معظمهم في المدن بين أبناء وطنهم المسلمين. كنائسهم ومنظمات خدمة المجتمع - وحتى القبطية مواقع اخبارية . وسائل الإعلام - المساهمة في حيوية الحياة الاجتماعية والفكرية المصرية.

يكتب بيتر مكاري ، وهو قائد كنيسة له خبرة واسعة في العمل مع المنظمات القبطية ، عن الطرق التي يمكن بها وقد نظم الأقباط المبادرات المجتمعية ، ومشاريع التنمية وحركات التضامن مع زملائهم المصريين لتعزيز الوحدة الوطنية والسلام. يحتفل الأقباط بانتظام بالأعياد مع القادة المسلمين ويستضيفون حوارات عامة مع المثقفين والزعماء المسلمين.

على وجه الخصوص ، شارك الأقباط جنبا إلى جنب مع مواطنيهم المسلمين في الاحتجاجاتالتي أسقطت الحكم الاستبدادي للرئيس السابق حسني مبارك في 2011.

حالة الأقباط اليوم

ومع ذلك ، واجه الأقباط تمييزًا منهجيًا في التوظيف وحدودًا على قدرتهم على الوصول إلى الخدمات العامة والتعليم منذ تأسيس جمهورية مصر الحديثة في 1952.

جعلت السلطات الحاكمة من الصعب جدا بالنسبة لهم لبناء أو تجديد كنائسهم. بعد ثورة 2011 ، الأقباط في البداية تمتع بحريات جديدة لتنظيم والتعبير عن مخاوفهم حول هذه الممارسات.

ومع ذلك ، تلاشت طموحاتهم عندما اشتبكت القوات المسلحة المصرية مع المتظاهرين الأقباط في المواجهة القاتلة في أكتوبر 2011. عندما جاء الإخوان المسلمون بعد ذلك إلى السلطة في 2012 ، كانت هناك محاولة لدفع دستور يمنح سلطات خاصة للسلطات الإسلامية. هذه التطورات على ما يبدو يقوض قدرة الأقباط للمشاركة كمواطنين متساوين.

لذلك كان معظم الأقباط راضين لرؤية استعادة الحكم الاستبدادي تحت حكم الرئيس المصري عبد الفتاح السيسي ، الذي قدم في 2014 الدستور الجديد تحد من دور الإسلام في الحكومة المصرية.

للأسف ، أصبح المجتمع القبطي هدفاً سهلاً في القتال بين السيسي وأعدائه الإسلاميين. الهجمات العنيفة على الأقباط أدت بهم إلى هرب مناطق معينة من مصر ، مثل سيناء ، وهناك أ دفق مستمر of الهجرة القبطية من مصر.

هذا يجب أن يثير قلق جميع المصريين ، لأن وجود الأقباط أمر ضروري لصحة الحياة الفكرية والثقافية والسياسية في الشرق الأوسط.

نبذة عن الكاتب

بول رو ، أستاذ ومنسق الدراسات السياسية والدولية ، جامعة ترينيتي الغربية

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.


كتب ذات صلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = Coptic Christians؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Who Are The Coptic Christians?

Who Are The Coptic Christians?

On Palm Sunday, April 9, the Islamic State targeted two Coptic churches in coordinated bombings in the Egyptian cities of Tanta and Alexandria. The explosions killed dozens of Egyptians and injured many more in the worst of a number of such attacks that have taken place in the last decade. The Conversation

The interrelated challenges of violence, economics and discrimination have led to the increasing departure of Christians from the Middle East. For centuries they have been part of the rich religious diversity of the region.

So who are these people that National Geographic has called “The Forgotten Faithful”?

Coptic history

Among the Christians of the Middle East, the largest number – some eight million or so – is made up of Egypt’s Copts. Since I first visited Egypt in the 1990s, I have been interested in this community and its contribution to pluralism.

Copts are the indigenous Christian population of Egypt, who date back to the first decades following the life of Jesus Christ. The biblical Book of Acts tells how Jews from Egypt came to Jerusalem for the feast of Pentecost, a Jewish harvest festival that marked the birth of the Christian church merely weeks after Christ’s crucifixion. Many of these Egyptians took the message of Christianity back to their own country. Christian tradition holds that St. Mark, one of the early disciples of Jesus, became the first bishop of Egypt.

By the fourth century, the majority of Egyptians had embraced the Christian faith. Even after the Muslim conquest in the seventh century, the majority of Egyptians were still Christians. It was only during the Middle Ages that greater and greater numbers embraced Islam, and the Christian population dwindled.

Today, Egyptian Christians make up approximately 5 to 10 percent of the Egyptian population. The word “Copt” is used for all Egyptian Christians. It is derived from an ancient Greek word that simply means “Egyptian.”

Copts are fiercely proud of their Egyptian heritage that dates back to the age of the pyramids as early as 3000 B.C. The vast majority of Copts are members of the Coptic Orthodox Church, an independent church that arose in A.D. 451, long before the divide that created the Eastern Orthodox and Roman Catholic churches in 1054.

The language of the Coptic Orthodox church service (or liturgy) used in daily worship is also known as Coptic. It is the original Egyptian language written in Greek script.

Copts live throughout every corner of Egypt and at every socioeconomic level. One of Egypt’s richest men, Naguib Sawiris, is a Copt, and so are most of Cairo’s garbage collectors, the zabellin. Though Copts are largely indistinguishable from the Muslim majority, many are given tattoos of a cross on their wrists as children, signifying their permanent commitment to the community. In addition, Coptic women are unlikely to veil, making them stand out from Muslim women.

The head of the Coptic Orthodox Church, and the most significant Christian leader in Egypt, is the bishop of the See of St. Mark, known among Egyptians as the Coptic pope or patriarch. Today the Church is led by Pope Tawadros II, who studied pharmacy before deciding to pursue a religious career in the 1980s.

Religious practice

Copts practice a form of Christianity that hearkens back to the earliest traditions of the church.

Pope Tawadros and all of the bishops of the Coptic Orthodox Church begin their vocation as monks – celibate men living in seclusion in monasteries. The Coptic Orthodox Church is unique in its preference for placing monks in the highest positions of authority.

In fact, the world’s first Christian monks, St. Anthony and St. Paul, established their monasteries in the eastern desert of Egypt in the early fourth century. Both of these monasteries, and numerous others, continue to operate.

In his book “Desert Father,” Australian author James Cowan describes how the monastic tradition became an important support for Egyptian Christians under persecution and helped to preserve culture throughout the Christian world.

Modern-day Copts often visit the monasteries for spiritual guidance, community retreats and to rediscover their heritage.

But while Copts may go to the deserts of Egypt for their religious practice, most live in the cities among their Muslim compatriots. Their churches and community service organizations – and even Coptic news sites and media – contribute to the vibrancy of Egyptian social and intellectual life.

Peter Makari, a church leader with extensive experience working with Coptic organizations, writes about the ways in which Copts have organized community initiatives, development projects and solidarity movements with fellow Egyptians to promote national unity and peace. Copts regularly celebrate feasts with Muslim leaders and host public dialogues with Muslim intellectuals and leaders.

In particular, Copts participated alongside their Muslim compatriots in the proteststhat brought down the authoritarian rule of former President Hosni Mubarak in 2011.

The condition of Copts today

Nonetheless, Copts have faced systemic discrimination in employment and limitations on their ability to access public services and education ever since the establishment of the modern republic of Egypt in 1952.

Governing authorities made it very difficult for them to build or refurbish their churches. After the 2011 revolution, Copts initially enjoyed newfound freedoms to organize and voice their concerns about these practices.

However, their aspirations were dashed when the Egyptian Armed Forces clashed with Coptic protesters in a deadly confrontation in October 2011. When subsequently the Muslim Brotherhood came to power in 2012, there was an attempt to push through a constitution that gave special powers to Islamic authorities. These developments seemed to undermine Copts’ ability to participate as equal citizens.

Most Copts were therefore content to see the restoration of authoritarian rule under Egyptian President Abdel Fatah al-Sisi, who in 2014 introduced a new constitution that limits the role of Islam in Egyptian government.

Unfortunately, the Coptic community has now become an easy target in the fight between al-Sisi and his Islamist enemies. Violent attacks on Copts have led them to flee certain areas of Egypt, such as Sinai, and there is a steady stream of Coptic emigration from Egypt.

This must concern all Egyptians, since the presence of Copts is essential to the health of intellectual, cultural and political life in the Middle East.

About The Author

Paul Rowe, Professor and Coordinator of Political and International Studies, Trinity Western University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.


Related Books:

The Coptic Christian Heritage: History, Faith and Culture
religionAuthor: Lois M. Farag
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Routledge
List Price: $54.95

Buy Now

Coptic in 20 Lessons: Introduction to Sahidic Coptic with Exercises and Vocabularies
religionAuthor: Bentley Layton
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Peeters Publishers
List Price: $35.00

Buy Now

Ancient Christian Magic: Coptic Texts of Ritual Power
religionAuthor: Marvin W. Meyer
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Princeton University Press
List Price: $62.50

Buy Now

enzh-CNtlfrhiides

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}