Die Trump-Prophezeiung und andere christliche Bewegungen

Die Trump-Prophezeiung und andere christliche BewegungenEine einflussreiche Trump-Prophetie-Bewegung glaubt, dass Trumps Wahl Teil der Pläne Gottes war. AP Foto / Andrew Harnik Kalpana Jain, Das Gespräch

Ein neuer Film, "Trump Prophezeiung" wird am Okt. 2 und 4 in einigen limitierten Kinos gezeigt. Der Film ist eine Adaption eines Buches, das von Mark Taylor, einem pensionierten Feuerwehrmann, mitverfasst wurde. Er behauptete, er habe in 2011 eine Botschaft von Gott erhalten, dass die Trump-Präsidentschaft göttlich ordiniert sei.

Filmstudenten der Liberty University sollen an der Entstehung des Films beteiligt gewesen sein. Gleichzeitig sollen aber auch Tausende Studenten der Liberty University eine Petition unterschrieben haben hat nicht unterstützt Der Film.

Medien wie der Religion News Service, kommentierte dass der "Film Teil einer kleinen, aber einflussreichen Trump-Prophetie-Bewegung" ist, der glaubt, Trumps Wahl sei Teil der Pläne Gottes, und diejenigen, die ihn verurteilen, sind Diener Satans.

Hier sind drei Geschichten aus The Conversations Archiven, die eine schnell wachsende christliche Bewegung und einige andere aus der Vergangenheit, die einen bleibenden Eindruck hinterlassen haben, weiter erklären.

1. Schnellste wachsende christliche Bewegung

Im Zusammenhang mit der Trump-Prophetie Bewegung ist eine schnell wachsende christliche Gruppe, die Gelehrte Brad Christerson und helfen Sie uns, unsere Wirkung zu steigern. Richard Flory nennen Sie das "Independent Network Charismatic" oder INC, das Christentum. Wie sie erklärenDas Christentum wird von einem Netzwerk populärer, unabhängiger religiöser Unternehmer geführt, die oft als "Apostel" bezeichnet werden.

Diese Gelehrten fanden heraus, dass die Apostel enge Beziehungen zu konservativen US-Politikern haben, darunter Sarah Palin, Newt Gingrich, Bobby Jindal, Rick Perry und seit kurzem auch Präsident Donald Trump. "

INC, so argumentieren sie, gehört zu den am schnellsten wachsenden christlichen Gruppen und kümmert sich nicht um den Aufbau von Versammlungen, wie dies in der Vergangenheit der Fall war. Ziel ist es vielmehr, Überzeugungen und Praktiken zu verbreiten. Diese Gelehrten fanden in ihren Forschungen heraus, dass INC "den Himmel oder Gottes intendierte perfekte Gesellschaft auf die Erde bringen will, indem er" Königreich-orientierte Menschen "in kraftvolle Positionen an der Spitze aller Sektoren der Gesellschaft stellt."


Holen Sie sich das Neueste von InnerSelf


Für diese Bewegung ist die Trump-Präsidentschaft ein Teil von Gottes Plan.

2. Christliche Bewegungen und ihr Vermächtnis

Eine Frage, die gestellt werden könnte, lautet: Welchen Appell hält Präsident Trump für eine evangelikale christliche Basis, wenn man bedenkt, dass dies der Universität von Boston entspricht Christopher Evans sagt, er "zeigt keine der Glaubenssätze, die den Evangelikalismus historisch charakterisiert haben." Trump zum Beispiel "spricht nicht über die zentrale Bedeutung der Bibel oder, wie Ronald Reagan und George W. Bush, von einer" Wiedergeburt " Christian."

Eine Bewegung des 19th Jahrhunderts, bekannt als Neuer Gedanke, argumentiert Evans, könnte eine Antwort liefern. Nach Evans wurden die Ideen des Neuen Denkens über individuelles Glück und Reichtum später in einer Bewegung vereint, die das Wohlstandsevangelium genannt wurde. Das Wohlstandsevangelium verbreitete die Überzeugung, dass religiöser Glaube zu persönlicher Gesundheit und materiellem Wohlstand führen kann.

Norman Vincent Peale, den Trump als seinen "wichtigsten religiösen Einfluss" bezeichnet, fusionierte einige dieser Überzeugungen weiter. Peale glaubte, dass das Christentum nur in einer freien Marktgesellschaft gedeihen könne. In dieser Sicht des Christentums sagt Evans "persönliche Schwäche oder Versagen" ist keine Option. Peale glaubte auch an einen prochristlichen Nationalismus - und all dies steht auch im Mittelpunkt von Trumps Überzeugungen, argumentiert Evans.

Wie Evans hervorhebt, sagte Trumps Ministerin Paula White, eine Wohlfahrts-Evangeliumspredigerin, in ihrer Anrufung bei der Amtseinführung des Präsidenten: "Wir erkennen an, dass jedes gute und jedes perfekte Geschenk von dir kommt und die Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika sind dein Geschenk Wir verkünden Dankbarkeit. "Diese Behauptungen stimmen, wie Evans anmerkt, mit Trumps Glauben überein.

3. Moralische Mehrheitswirkung heute

Die Trump-Prophezeiung und andere christliche BewegungenPräsident Trump mit Liberty University Präsident Jerry Falwell Jr. AP Foto / Steve Helber

Die Liberty University ist an der Entstehung des Films beteiligt. Chris Nelson, Schauspieler und Filmprofessor an der Liberty University, spielt die Rolle von Feuerwehrmann Mark Taylor.

Die von Jerry Falwell Sr. gegründete Liberty University wird heute von seinem Sohn Jerry Falwell Jr. geleitet, der Trumps Stimme unterstützt hat. Wie Richard Flory von USC Dornsife erklärt in einem anderen ArtikelFalwell Sr. gründete die moralische Mehrheit in 1979 als eine konservative christliche politische Lobbygruppe.

Falwell Sr. wechselte später in die Politik. Wie Flory sagt,

"Falwells Hinwendung zur Politik bedeutete auch eine Verschiebung seiner theologischen Perspektive. Er ging von einer separatistischen Haltung aus, die lehrte, dass Gott alles, einschließlich der Politik, zu einem kontrolliert, der menschliches Handeln erfordert, um Gottes beabsichtigtes Schicksal für Amerika zu erfüllen. "

Flory bemerkt, dass die Bewegung von Falwell Sr. eine "größtenteils weiße, konservative fundamentalistische und evangelikale christliche Welt" darstellte. Ihre politischen Kämpfe sollten Amerika davor bewahren, ein "moralischer Sumpf" zu werden. Nach dem Tod von Falwell Sr. in 2007 Engagement, sagt er, scheint zu seinem Sohn gefallen zu sein.Das Gespräch

Über den Autor

Kalpana Jain, Leitende Religions- und Ethikredakteurin, Das Gespräch

Dieser Artikel wird erneut veröffentlicht Das Gespräch unter einer Creative Commons-Lizenz. Lies das Original Artikel.

Bücher zum Thema

{amazonWS: searchindex = Bücher; Stichworte = Wohlstandsevospel; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

The Trump Prophecy And Other Christian Movements

The Trump Prophecy And Other Christian MovementsAn influential Trump prophecy movement believes Trump’s election was part of God’s plans. AP Photo/Andrew Harnik Kalpana Jain, The Conversation

A new film, “Trump Prophecy,” will be shown in some limited theaters on Oct. 2 and 4. The film is an adaptation of a book, co-authored by Mark Taylor, a retired firefighter, who claimed he received a message from God in 2011 that the Trump presidency is divinely ordained.

Liberty University film students are reported to have participated in the making of the film. At the same time, however, thousands of Liberty University students are also reported to have signed a petition saying they did not support the film.

Media outlets, such as the Religion News Service, commented that the “film is part of a small but influential Trump prophecy movement” that believes Trump’s election was part of God’s plans, and those who condemn him are servants of Satan.

Here are three stories from The Conversation’s archives that further explain a fast-growing Christian movement, and some others from the past, that have left a lasting impact.

1. Fastest-growing Christian movement

Related to the Trump prophecy movement is a rapidly growing Christian group that scholars Brad Christerson and Richard Flory call the “Independent Network Charismatic,” or INC, Christianity. As they explain, INC Christianity is led by a network of popular independent religious entrepreneurs, often referred to as “apostles.”

These scholars found that the apostles have close ties to conservative U.S. politicians, including Sarah Palin, Newt Gingrich, Bobby Jindal, Rick Perry and more recently, President Donald Trump.“

INC, they argue, is among the fastest growing Christian groups and is not concerned with building congregations, as has been the case in the past. Rather, its goal is to spread beliefs and practices. These scholars found in their research that, INC seeks "to bring heaven or God’s intended perfect society to Earth by placing ‘kingdom-minded people’ in powerful positions at the top of all sectors of society.”

To this movement, the Trump presidency is part of God’s plan.

2. Christian movements and their legacy

A question that could be asked is: What appeal does President Trump hold for an evangelical Christian base, given that, as Boston University’s Christopher Evans says, he “does not demonstrate any of the beliefs that have historically characterized evangelicalism.” Trump, for example, “does not speak about the centrality of the Bible or, like Ronald Reagan and George W. Bush, of being ‘a born again’ Christian.”

A 19th-century movement known as New Thought, argues Evans, might provide an answer. According to Evans, New Thought ideas about individual happiness and wealth were later brought together in a movement called the prosperity gospel. The prosperity gospel spread the belief that religious faith can lead one to personal health and material wealth.

Norman Vincent Peale, who Trump cites as his “major religious influence,” further fused some of these beliefs. Peale believed that only in a free-market society could Christianity thrive. In this view of Christianity, Evans says, “personal weakness or failure,” is not an option. Peale also believed in a pro-Christian nationalism – all of which are also at the heart of Trump’s beliefs, Evans argues.

As Evans points out, Trump’s minister, Paula White, a prosperity gospel preacher, said in her invocation at the president’s inauguration, “We recognize that every good and every perfect gift comes from you and the United States of America is your gift, for which we proclaim gratitude.” These assertions, as Evans notes, are consistent with Trump’s faith.

3. Moral Majority’s influence today

The Trump Prophecy And Other Christian MovementsPresident Trump with Liberty University President Jerry Falwell Jr. AP Photo/Steve Helber

That Liberty University has been involved in the making of the film is also significant. Chris Nelson, an actor and film professor at Liberty University, plays the part of fireman Mark Taylor.

Liberty University, founded by Jerry Falwell Sr. is now led by his son, Jerry Falwell Jr., who has been a vocal supporter of Trump. As USC Dornsife’s Richard Flory explains in another article, Falwell Sr. founded the Moral Majority in 1979 as a conservative Christian political lobbying group.

Falwell Sr. later moved into politics. However, as Flory says,

“Falwell’s move into politics also entailed a shift in his theological perspective. He moved from a separatist stance that taught that God controls everything, including politics, to one that required human action to fulfill God’s intended destiny for America.”

Flory notes that Falwell Sr.‘s movement represented a “mostly white, conservative fundamentalist and evangelical Christian world.” Their political battles were intended to save America from becoming a “moral quagmire.” Following Falwell Sr.’s death in 2007, that commitment, he says, seems to have fallen to his son.The Conversation

About The Author

Kalpana Jain, Senior Religion + Ethics Editor, The Conversation

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=prosperity gospel;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

HAPPINESS & SUCCESS

Do Not Give Up What You Want Most for What You Want Right Now

Do Not Give Up What You Want Most for What You Want Right Now

Carly Pollack
The most powerful influence on the human mind is our core beliefs about our identity, who we think we are. If you have a core belief that you are lazy or that the world is out to get you, no matter how much you try to be more productive or to feel safer in…

SPIRITUALITY & MINDFULNESS

Thich Nhat Hanh, The Buddhist Monk Who Introduced Mindfulness To The West, Prepares To Die

Thich Nhat Hanh, The Buddhist Monk Who Introduced Mindfulness To The West, Prepares To Die

Brooke Schedneck
Thich Nhat Hanh, the monk who popularized mindfulness in the West, has returned home to Vietnam to enjoy the rest of his life.

RELATIONSHIPS

Parents Of Girls Are Less Likely To Stress Computer Skills

Parents Of Girls Are Less Likely To Stress Computer Skills

Matt Swayne
While most first-year college students in a new study had positive feelings about computing and computer-related majors and jobs, gender and socioeconomic status seemed to play a role in whether parents shaped those perceptions.

INTUITION & AWARENESS

3 Reasons Why People Fall For Politicians' Lies

3 Reasons Why People Fall For Politicians' Lies

Mack Clayton Shelley, II
Why do people make such poor decisions about politics? Why are they so often distracted by lies, irrelevant alternatives and specious arguments?

ATTITUDE ADJUSTMENTS

Boys' Attention And Prosocial Behavior Linked To Earnings 30 Years Later

Boys' Attention And Prosocial Behavior Linked To Earnings 30 Years Later

Francis Vergunst
New research, published in the medical journal JAMA Pediatrics, shows that boys from low-income backgrounds who were inattentive in kindergarten had lower earnings at age 36 while boys who were prosocial earned more.