لماذا المعنى الحقيقي لـ Hanukkah هو البقاء على قيد الحياة

لماذا المعنى الحقيقي لـ Hanukkah هو حول البقاء على قيد الحياة اليهودية
www.shutterstock.com

بدءا من مساء يوم العاشر من ديسمبر ، 2 ، يحتفل اليهود بمهرجان هانوكا الذي يستمر لثمانية أيام ، وربما يكون هذا هو أكثر الأعياد اليهودية شهرة وضوحا.

في حين أن النقاد في بعض الأحيان تحديد عيد الميلاد على النحو الذي يعزز انتشار في أمريكا اليوم مما قد يشير المرء على النحو Hanukkah kitschهذا التقييم يفتقد الأهمية الاجتماعية واللاهوتية لحنوكة داخل اليهودية نفسها.

دعونا ننظر في أصل وتطور Hanukkah على مدى السنوات الماضية أكثر من 2,000.

أوائل التاريخ

على الرغم من أنه 2,200 سنة ، هانوكا هو واحد من أحدث الأعياد اليهودية ، وهو احتفال يهودي سنوي لا يظهر حتى في الكتاب المقدس العبري.

يقال عن الحدث التاريخي الذي هو أساس Hanukkah ، بدلا من ذلك ، في كتب ما قبل الكتاب المقدس من المكابيين ، والتي تظهر في الكتاب المقدس الكاثوليكية ولكن لا تعتبر حتى جزء من الكتاب المقدس من قبل اليهود ومعظم الطوائف البروتستانتية.

على أساس النموذج اليوناني الروماني للاحتفال بانتصار عسكري ، تم تأسيس Hanukkah في 164 BC للاحتفال بالنصر من المكابيين ، جيش يهود من اليهود ، ضد الجيش الأقوى بكثير للملك أنطيوخس الرابع من سوريا.

يستلم المكابيين نعمة والدهم. (لماذا معنى hanukkah الحقيقي هو البقاء على قيد الحياة اليهودية)يستلم المكابيين نعمة والدهم. قصة الكتاب المقدس من سفر التكوين إلى سفر الرؤيا عبر ويكيميديا ​​كومنز.

في 168 BC ، حظر أنطيوخ الممارسة اليهودية وأجبر اليهود على تبني طقوس وثنية واستيعابها في الثقافة اليونانية.

ثار maccabees ضد هذا الاضطهاد. استولوا على القدس من سيطرة أنطيوخس ، وأزالوا من معبد أورشليم رموز العبادة الوثنية التي أدخلها أنطاكوس وأعاد العبادة القربانية ، التي رسمها الله في الكتاب المقدس العبري ، بأن أنطاكوس قد انتهك.

Hanukkah ، وهذا يعني "التفاني ،" تميز هذا النصر العسكري مع احتفال دام ثمانية أيام وتم تصميمه على غرار مهرجان المعابد (Sukkot) الذي تم حظره من قبل Antiochus.

كيف تطورت Hanukkah

غير أن الانتصار العسكري لم يدم طويلاً. تناثرت أحفاد ماكابيس - سلالة الحشمونائيم - بشكل روتيني قوانينهم وتقاليدهم اليهودية.

والأهم من ذلك ، شهدت القرون التالية الدمار الذي كان سيحدث عندما حاول اليهود مرة أخرى لإنجاز ما فعله المكابيين. حتى الآن ، تسيطر روما على أرض إسرائيل. في AD 68-70 ومرة ​​أخرى في AD 133-135 ، أقام اليهود ثورات عاطفية لتخليص أرضهم من هذه القوة الأجنبية والقهرية.

تدمير معبد القدس. (لماذا معنى hanukkah الحقيقي هو البقاء على قيد الحياة اليهودية)تدمير معبد القدس. فرانشيسكو هايز ، عبر ويكيميديا ​​كومنز

وانتهت أولى هذه الثورات بتدمير معبد القدس الثاني ، وهو المركز البارز للعبادة اليهودية ، الذي كان يقف وراء سنوات 600. نتيجة للثورة الثانية ، فإن ودمر الوطن اليهودي وقتل عدد لا يحصى من اليهود حتى الموت.

لم تعد الحرب تشكل حلاً فعالاً لمحن اليهود على مسرح التاريخ.

رداً على ذلك ، أكدت إيديولوجية جديدة على فكرة أن اليهود يجب عليهم أو يمكنهم تغيير مصيرهم من خلال العمل العسكري. ما كان مطلوبا ، كما أكد الحاخامون ، لم يكن معركة ، بل امتثال كامل لقانون الله الأخلاقي والطقوس. هذا من شأنه أن يؤدي إلى تدخل الله في التاريخ لاستعادة سيطرة الشعب اليهودي على أرضه ومصيره.

في هذا السياق ، أعاد الحاخامون النظر في أصول هانوكا كاحتفال بانتصار عسكري. بدلا من ذلك ، كما قالوا ، ينبغي أن ينظر إلى Hanukkah على أنها تخلد ذكرى المعجزة التي حدثت خلال إعادة تكريس Maccabees للمعبد: القصة الآن أخبر هو كيف أن جرة من زيت المعبد تكفي ليوم واحد فقط حافظت على المصباح الأبدي للمعبد لمدة ثمانية أيام كاملة ، إلى أن يتم إنتاج زيت مناسب آخر.

أقدم نسخة من هذه القصة يظهر في التلمودفي وثيقة اكتملت في القرن السادس بعد الميلاد ، ومنذ تلك الحقبة ، بدلاً من الاحتفال مباشرة بانتصار المكابيين ، احتفل Hanukkah بمعجزة الله.

يرمز هذا إلى تألق الشمعدانات ذات الثماني فروع ("الشمعدان" أو "Hanukkiah") ، مع شمعة واحدة مضاءة في الليلة الأولى في العيد وإضافة شمعة إضافية كل ليلة حتى ، في الليلة الأخيرة للمهرجان ، كل ثمانية تضاء الفروع. تستخدم الشمعة التاسعة في Hanukkiah لإضاءة الشموع الأخرى.

خلال فترة القرون الوسطى ، ومع ذلك ، ظلت Hanukkah أ مهرجان يهودي صغير.

ماذا تعني Hanukkah اليوم

كيف إذن أن نفهم ما الذي حدث لـ Hanukkah في المائة سنة الماضية ، والتي اكتسب خلالها أهمية في الحياة اليهودية ، سواء في أمريكا أو في جميع أنحاء العالم؟

في حين تطورت Hanukkah جنبا إلى جنب مع الإسراف في موسم عيد الميلاد الأمريكي ، هناك الكثير من هذه القصة. (لماذا معنى hanukkah الحقيقي هو البقاء على قيد الحياة اليهودية)في حين تطورت Hanukkah جنبا إلى جنب مع الإسراف في موسم عيد الميلاد الأمريكي ، هناك الكثير من هذه القصة. Pixabay.com/en, CC BY

النقطة هي أنه حتى عندما عكست التكرارات السابقة للعطلة الاحتياجات المميزة للأعمار المتعاقبة ، قام اليهود اليوم بإعادة تفسير هانوكا في ضوء الظروف المعاصرة - وهي نقطة مفصّلة في عالم الدين. ديان أشتون الكتاب، "Hanukkah في أمريكا."

تظهر Ashton بينما تطورت Hanukkah بالترادف مع الإسراف من موسم عيد الميلاد الأمريكي ، هناك الكثير أكثر لهذه القصة.

حانوكا اليوم يستجيب لرغبة اليهود لنرى تاريخهم كمترجم ، بما يعكس قيمة الحرية الدينية التي يتقاسمها اليهود مع جميع الأمريكيين الآخرين. Hanukkah ، مع زخارفها المشرقة ، والأغاني ، والاحتفالات العائلية والمجتمعية ، كما يلبي حاجة اليهود الأميركيين إلى إعادة جذب اليهود الساخطين وإبقاء الأطفال اليهود متحمسين لليهودية.

بشكل مثير للإعجاب ، يروي حنوكه قصة الاضطهاد والفداء ، ويقدم اليوم نموذجًا تاريخيًا يمكن أن يساعد اليهود المعاصرين في التفكير في الهولوكوست وظهور الصهيونية.

باختصار ، إن هانوكه هو ذكرى قوية كما هو اليوم لأنه يستجيب لمجموعة من العوامل ذات الصلة بالتاريخ والحياة اليهودية المعاصرة.

على مدى ألفي سنة ، تطورت Hanukkah ليروي قصة المكابيين بطرق تلبي الاحتياجات المميزة للأجيال المتعاقبة من اليهود. كل جيل يحكي القصة كما يحتاج إلى سماعها ، رداً على القيم الأبدية لليهودية وأيضاً كما هو مناسب للقوى الثقافية المميزة والأيديولوجيات والخبرات لكل فترة.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

ألان أفيري بيك ، بروفسور كرافت - حات في الدراسات اليهودية ، كلية الصليب المقدس

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب بواسطة هذا المؤلف

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = Alan J. Avery-Peck؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Why Hanukkah's True Meaning Is About Survival

religion

Why Hanukkah's True Meaning Is About Jewish Survival
www.shutterstock.com

Beginning on the evening of Dec. 2, 2018, Jews are celebrating the eight-day festival of Hanukkah, perhaps the best-known and certainly the most visible Jewish holiday.

While critics sometimes identify Christmas as promoting the prevalence in America today of what one might refer to as Hanukkah kitsch, this assessment misses the social and theological significance of Hanukkah within Judaism itself.

Let’s consider the origin and development of Hanukkah over the past more than 2,000 years.

Early history

Though it is 2,200 years old, Hanukkah is one of Judaism’s newest holidays, an annual Jewish celebration that does not even appear in the Hebrew Bible.

The historical event that is the basis for Hanukkah is told, rather, in the post-biblical Books of the Maccabees, which appear in the Catholic biblical canon but are not even considered part of the Bible by Jews and most Protestant denominations.

Based on the Greco-Roman model of celebrating a military triumph, Hanukkah was instituted in 164 B.C. to celebrate the victory of the Maccabees, a ragtag army of Jews, against the much more powerful army of King Antiochus IV of Syria.

The Maccabees receive their father’s blessing. (why hanukkah's true meaning is about jewish survival)The Maccabees receive their father’s blessing. The Story of the Bible from Genesis to Revelation via Wikimedia Commons.

In 168 B.C., Antiochus outlawed Jewish practice and forced Jews to adopt pagan rituals and assimilate into Greek culture.

The Maccabees revolted against this persecution. They captured Jerusalem from Antiochus’s control, removed from the Jerusalem Temple symbols of pagan worship that Antiochus had introduced and restarted the sacrificial worship, ordained by God in the Hebrew Bible, that Antiochus had violated.

Hanukkah, meaning “dedication,” marked this military victory with a celebration that lasted eight days and was modeled on the festival of Tabernacles (Sukkot) that had been banned by Antiochus.

How Hanukkah evolved

The military triumph, however, was short-lived. The Maccabees’ descendants – the Hasmonean dynasty – routinely violated their own Jewish law and tradition.

Even more significantly, the following centuries witnessed the devastation that would be caused when Jews tried again to accomplish what the Maccabees had done. By now, Rome controlled the land of Israel. In A.D. 68-70 and again in A.D. 133-135, the Jews mounted passionate revolts to rid their land of this foreign and oppressing power.

The destruction of the Temple of Jerusalem. (why hanukkah's true meaning is about jewish survival)The destruction of the Temple of Jerusalem. Francesco Hayez, via Wikimedia Commons

The first of these revolts ended in the destruction of the Second Jerusalem Temple, the preeminent center of Jewish worship, which had stood for 600 years. As a result of the second revolt, the Jewish homeland was devastated and countless Jews were put to death.

War no longer seemed an effective solution to the Jews’ tribulations on the stage of history.

In response, a new ideology deemphasized the idea that Jews should or could change their destiny through military action. What was required, rabbis asserted, was not battle but perfect observance of God’s moral and ritual law. This would lead to God’s intervention in history to restore the Jewish people’s control over their own land and destiny.

In this context, rabbis rethought Hanukkah’s origins as the celebration of a military victory. Instead, they said, Hanukkah should be seen as commemorating a miracle that occurred during the Maccabees’ rededication of the temple: The story now told was how a jar of temple oil sufficient for only one day had sustained the temple’s eternal lamp for a full eight days, until additional ritually appropriate oil could be produced.

The earliest version of this story appears in the Talmud, in a document completed in the sixth century A.D. From that period on, rather than directly commemorating the Maccabees’ victory, Hanukkah celebrated God’s miracle.

This is symbolized by the kindling of an eight-branched candelabra (“Menorah” or “Hanukkiah”), with one candle lit on the holiday’s first night and an additional candle added each night until, on the final night of the festival, all eight branches are lit. The ninth candle in the Hanukkiah is used to light the others.

Throughout the medieval period, however, Hanukkah remained a minor Jewish festival.

What Hanukkah means today

How then to understand what happened to Hanukkah in the past hundred years, during which it has achieved prominence in Jewish life, both in America and around the world?

While Hanukkah has evolved in tandem with the extravagance of the American Christmas season, there is much more to this story. (why hanukkah's true meaning is about jewish survival)While Hanukkah has evolved in tandem with the extravagance of the American Christmas season, there is much more to this story. Pixabay.com/en, CC BY

The point is that even as the holiday’s prior iterations reflected the distinctive needs of successive ages, so Jews today have reinterpreted Hanukkah in light of contemporary circumstances – a point that is detailed in religion scholar Dianne Ashton’s book, “Hanukkah in America.”

Ashton demonstrates while Hanukkah has evolved in tandem with the extravagance of the American Christmas season, there is much more to this story.

Hanukkah today responds to Jews’ desire to see their history as consequential, as reflecting the value of religious freedom that Jews share with all other Americans. Hanukkah, with its bright decorations, songs, and family- and community-focused celebrations, also fulfills American Jews’ need to reengage disaffected Jews and to keep Jewish children excited about Judaism.

Poignantly, telling a story of persecution and then redemption, Hanukkah today provides a historical paradigm that can help modern Jews think about the Holocaust and the emergence of Zionism.

In short, Hanukkah is as powerful a commemoration as it is today because it responds to a host of factors pertinent to contemporary Jewish history and life.

Over two millennia, Hanukkah has evolved to narrate the story of the Maccabees in ways that meet the distinctive needs of successive generations of Jews. Each generation tells the story as it needs to hear it, in response to the eternal values of Judaism but also as is appropriate to each period’s distinctive cultural forces, ideologies and experiences.The Conversation

About The Author

Alan Avery-Peck, Kraft-Hiatt Professor in Judaic Studies, College of the Holy Cross

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Books by this Author

Religious Foundations of Western Civilization: Judaism, Christianity, and Islam

religionAuthor: Bruce D. Chilton
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Abingdon Press

Brand: Abingdon Press
Creator(s):
  • Jacob Neusner

Studio: Abingdon Press
Label: Abingdon Press
Publisher: Abingdon Press
Manufacturer: Abingdon Press

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

World Religions

Religious Foundations of Western Civilization introduces students to the major Western world religions―Judaism, Christianity, and Islam―their beliefs, key concepts, history, as well as the fundamental role they have played, and continue to play, in Western culture.

Contributors include: Jacob Neusner, Alan J. Avery-Peck, Bruce D. Chilton, Th. Emil Homerin, Jon D. Levenson, William Scott Green, Seymour Feldman, Elliot R. Wolfson, James A. Brundage, Olivia Remie Constable, and Amila Buturovic.

"This book provides a superb source of information for scientists and scholars from all disciplines who are trying to understand religion in the context of human cultural evolution."

David Sloan Wilson, Professor, Departments of Biology and Anthropology, Binghamton University, Binghamton, New York

This is the right book at the right time. Globalization, religious revivalism, and international politics have made it more important than ever to appreciate the significant contributions of the Children of Abraham to the formation and development of Western civilization.

John L. Esposito, University Professor and Founding Director of the Center for Muslm-Christian Understanding, Georgetown University, Washington, D.C.

Jacob Neusner is Research Professor of Religion and Theology, and Senior Fellow of the Institute of Advanced Theology at Bard College, Annandale-on-Hudson, New York.

General Interest/Other Religions/Comparative Religion





The Mishnah in Contemporary Perspective, Volume 1

religionAuthor: Alan J. Avery-Peck
Binding: Paperback
Studio: SBL Press
Label: SBL Press
Publisher: SBL Press
Manufacturer: SBL Press

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

Now in Paperback!

In the past thirty years, the Mishnah has taken its place as a principal focus in the academic study of religion and of Judaism. Many university scholars have participated in the contemporary revolution in the description, analysis, and interpretation of the Mishnah. Nearly all the publishing scholars of the academy who are now at work are represented in this project. Both essential volumes present a broad selection of approaches to the study of the Mishnah. What they prove in diverse ways is that the Mishnah defines the critical focus of the study of Judaism. It is a document that rewards study in the academic humanities.

Features:

  • The best of contemporary scholarship on the Mishnah
  • The most representative selection of contemporary Mishnah-study contributions available in any collection in a Western language
  • Paperback format of an essential Brill reference work




The Mishnah in Contemporary Perspective, Volume 2

religionAuthor: Alan J. Avery-Peck
Binding: Paperback
Studio: SBL Press
Label: SBL Press
Publisher: SBL Press
Manufacturer: SBL Press

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

Now in Paperback!

This second volume of a two-part project on the Mishnah displays a broad selection of approaches to the study of the Mishnah in the contemporary academy. The work derives from Israel, North America, and Europe and shows the intellectual vitality of scholarship in all three centers of learning. What these articles show in diverse ways is that the Mishnah forms a critical focus of the study of Judaism.

Features:

  • The best of contemporary scholarship on the Mishnah
  • The most representative selection of contemporary Mishnah-study contributions available in any collection in a Western language
  • Paperback format of an essential Brill reference work




religion
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}