Pourquoi le vrai sens de Hanoukka est la survie

Pourquoi le vrai sens de Hanoukka concerne la survie juive
www.shutterstock.com

Dès le soir du mois de décembre, 2, 2018, les Juifs célèbrent le festival de huit jours de Hanoukka, peut-être la fête juive la plus connue et certainement la plus visible.

Bien que les critiques identifient parfois Noël comme faisant la promotion de la prédominance actuelle en Amérique de ce que l’on pourrait appeler Hanukkah kitsch, cette évaluation manque la signification sociale et théologique de Hanoukka dans le judaïsme lui-même.

Examinons l'origine et le développement de Hanoucca au cours des dernières années, plus que pendant les années 2,000.

Histoire des débuts

Bien qu'il soit âgé de 2,200 ans, Hanoucca est l'une des dernières vacances du judaïsme, une fête juive annuelle qui ne figure même pas dans la Bible hébraïque.

L'événement historique qui constitue la base de Hanoukka est plutôt raconté dans les Livres post-bibliques des Maccabées, qui figurent dans le canon biblique catholique mais ne sont même pas considérés comme faisant partie de la Bible par les Juifs et la plupart des dénominations protestantes.

Hanoukka a été instituée à 164 BC, sur le modèle gréco-romain du triomphe militaire. célébrer la victoire des Maccabées, une armée irrégulière de Juifs, contre l'armée beaucoup plus puissante du roi Antiochus IV de Syrie.

Les Maccabées reçoivent la bénédiction de leur père. (Pourquoi la vraie signification de hanukkah concerne la survie juive)Les Maccabées reçoivent la bénédiction de leur père. L'histoire de la Bible de la Genèse à l'Apocalypse via Wikimedia Commons.

À 168 BC, Antiochus a interdit la pratique juive et contraint les juifs à adopter des rituels païens et à s'intégrer à la culture grecque.

Les Maccabées se sont révoltés contre cette persécution. Ils capturent Jérusalem du contrôle d'Antiochus, retirèrent du temple de Jérusalem les symboles du culte païen qu'Antiochus avait introduits et relancé le culte sacrificiel, ordonné par Dieu dans la Bible hébraïque, qu'Antiochus avait violé.

Hanoukka, qui signifie «dédicace» marqué cette victoire militaire avec une célébration qui a duré huit jours et a été modelée sur le festival des Tabernacles (Soukkot) qui avait été interdit par Antiochus.

Comment Hanoukka a évolué

Le triomphe militaire fut cependant de courte durée. Les descendants des Maccabées - la dynastie des Hasmonéens - ont régulièrement violé leurs propres lois et traditions juives.

De manière encore plus significative, les siècles suivants ont été témoins de la dévastation que provoqueraient les Juifs qui tentaient à nouveau d’accomplir ce que les Maccabées avaient accompli. À présent, Rome contrôlait la terre d'Israël. Dans AD 68-70 et encore dans AD 133-135, les Juifs ont monté des révoltes passionnées pour débarrasser leur pays de ce pouvoir étranger et oppressant.

La destruction du temple de Jérusalem. (Pourquoi la vraie signification de hanukkah concerne la survie juive)La destruction du temple de Jérusalem. Francesco Hayez, via Wikimedia Commons

La première de ces révoltes s'est soldée par la destruction du deuxième temple de Jérusalem, le centre prééminent du culte juif, qui avait été érigé pendant les années 600. À la suite de la seconde révolte, le Patrie juive a été dévastée et d'innombrables Juifs ont été mis à mort.

La guerre ne semblait plus être une solution efficace aux tribulations des Juifs sur la scène de l'histoire.

En réponse, une nouvelle idéologie insiste moins sur l’idée que les Juifs devraient ou pourraient changer de destin par le biais d’une action militaire. Ce qui était nécessaire, affirmaient les rabbins, ne consistait pas en une bataille mais en une parfaite observance de la loi morale et rituelle de Dieu. Cela conduirait à l'intervention de Dieu dans l'histoire pour rétablir le contrôle du peuple juif sur sa propre terre et son destin.

Dans ce contexte, les rabbins ont repensé les origines de Hanoukka comme la célébration d'une victoire militaire. Au lieu de cela, ils ont dit, Hanoucca devrait être considérée comme commémorant un miracle survenu lors de la nouvelle dédicace du temple par les Maccabées: L'histoire maintenant racontée C’est ainsi qu’un pot d’huile de temple, suffisant pour un seul jour, avait duré pendant huit jours la lampe éternelle du temple, jusqu’à ce que de l’huile supplémentaire, rituellement appropriée, soit produite.

La première version de cette histoire apparaît dans le TalmudDans un document achevé au VIe siècle après J.-C. À partir de cette période, plutôt que de commémorer directement la victoire des Maccabées, Hanoukka célébra le miracle de Dieu.

Ceci est symbolisé par l'allumage d'un candélabre à huit branches («Menorah» ou «Hanukkiah»), avec une bougie allumée la première nuit du jour férié et une bougie supplémentaire ajoutée chaque nuit jusqu'à la dernière nuit du festival, les huit les branches sont allumées. La neuvième bougie de Hanukkiah est utilisée pour éclairer les autres.

Cependant, tout au long de la période médiévale, Hanoukka est restée festival juif mineur.

Qu'est-ce que Hanoukka signifie aujourd'hui

Comment alors comprendre ce qui est arrivé à Hanoukka au cours des cent dernières années, au cours desquelles celle-ci a acquis une importance particulière dans la vie juive, tant aux États-Unis qu’à travers le monde?

Tandis que Hanoukka a évolué parallèlement à l'extravagance de la saison de Noël américaine, cette histoire compte beaucoup plus. (Pourquoi la vraie signification de hanukkah concerne la survie juive)Tandis que Hanoukka a évolué parallèlement à l'extravagance de la saison de Noël américaine, cette histoire compte beaucoup plus. Pixabay.com/en, CC BY

Le fait est que, même si les précédentes versions de la fête reflétaient les besoins particuliers des âges successifs, les Juifs d'aujourd'hui ont réinterprété Hanoucca à la lumière des circonstances contemporaines - ce qui est détaillé dans un spécialiste de la religion. De Dianne Ashton livre, "Hanoukka en Amérique."

Ashton démontre que Hanoucca a évolué parallèlement à l'extravagance de la saison de Noël américaine, mais cette histoire ne se résume pas à rien.

Hanoucca aujourd'hui répond au désir des juifs voir leur histoire comme une conséquence, reflétant la valeur de la liberté religieuse que les Juifs partagent avec tous les autres Américains. Hanoucca, avec ses décorations lumineuses, ses chants et ses célébrations axées sur la famille et la communauté, répond également au besoin des juifs américains de réengager des juifs mécontents et de maintenir l'enthousiasme des enfants juifs pour le judaïsme.

Poignant, racontant une histoire de persécution puis de rédemption, Hanoukka constitue aujourd'hui un paradigme historique qui peut aider les Juifs modernes à réfléchir à l'Holocauste et à l'émergence du sionisme.

En bref, Hanoukka est une commémoration aussi puissante qu’aujourd’hui, car elle répond à une multitude de facteurs pertinents pour l’histoire et la vie juives contemporaines.

En deux millénaires, Hanoukka a évolué pour raconter l'histoire des Maccabées de manière à répondre aux besoins particuliers des générations successives de Juifs. Chaque génération raconte l’histoire telle qu’elle a besoin de l’entendre, en réponse aux valeurs éternelles du judaïsme mais également aux forces culturelles, aux idéologies et aux expériences propres à chaque époque.La Conversation

A propos de l'auteur

Alan Avery-Peck, professeur d’études judaïques Kraft-Hiatt, Collège de la Sainte Croix

Cet article est republié de La Conversation sous une licence Creative Commons. Lis le article original.

Livres de cet auteur

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; mots-clés = Alan J. Avery-Peck; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

suivez InnerSelf sur

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

Why Hanukkah's True Meaning Is About Survival

religion

Why Hanukkah's True Meaning Is About Jewish Survival
www.shutterstock.com

Beginning on the evening of Dec. 2, 2018, Jews are celebrating the eight-day festival of Hanukkah, perhaps the best-known and certainly the most visible Jewish holiday.

While critics sometimes identify Christmas as promoting the prevalence in America today of what one might refer to as Hanukkah kitsch, this assessment misses the social and theological significance of Hanukkah within Judaism itself.

Let’s consider the origin and development of Hanukkah over the past more than 2,000 years.

Early history

Though it is 2,200 years old, Hanukkah is one of Judaism’s newest holidays, an annual Jewish celebration that does not even appear in the Hebrew Bible.

The historical event that is the basis for Hanukkah is told, rather, in the post-biblical Books of the Maccabees, which appear in the Catholic biblical canon but are not even considered part of the Bible by Jews and most Protestant denominations.

Based on the Greco-Roman model of celebrating a military triumph, Hanukkah was instituted in 164 B.C. to celebrate the victory of the Maccabees, a ragtag army of Jews, against the much more powerful army of King Antiochus IV of Syria.

The Maccabees receive their father’s blessing. (why hanukkah's true meaning is about jewish survival)The Maccabees receive their father’s blessing. The Story of the Bible from Genesis to Revelation via Wikimedia Commons.

In 168 B.C., Antiochus outlawed Jewish practice and forced Jews to adopt pagan rituals and assimilate into Greek culture.

The Maccabees revolted against this persecution. They captured Jerusalem from Antiochus’s control, removed from the Jerusalem Temple symbols of pagan worship that Antiochus had introduced and restarted the sacrificial worship, ordained by God in the Hebrew Bible, that Antiochus had violated.

Hanukkah, meaning “dedication,” marked this military victory with a celebration that lasted eight days and was modeled on the festival of Tabernacles (Sukkot) that had been banned by Antiochus.

How Hanukkah evolved

The military triumph, however, was short-lived. The Maccabees’ descendants – the Hasmonean dynasty – routinely violated their own Jewish law and tradition.

Even more significantly, the following centuries witnessed the devastation that would be caused when Jews tried again to accomplish what the Maccabees had done. By now, Rome controlled the land of Israel. In A.D. 68-70 and again in A.D. 133-135, the Jews mounted passionate revolts to rid their land of this foreign and oppressing power.

The destruction of the Temple of Jerusalem. (why hanukkah's true meaning is about jewish survival)The destruction of the Temple of Jerusalem. Francesco Hayez, via Wikimedia Commons

The first of these revolts ended in the destruction of the Second Jerusalem Temple, the preeminent center of Jewish worship, which had stood for 600 years. As a result of the second revolt, the Jewish homeland was devastated and countless Jews were put to death.

War no longer seemed an effective solution to the Jews’ tribulations on the stage of history.

In response, a new ideology deemphasized the idea that Jews should or could change their destiny through military action. What was required, rabbis asserted, was not battle but perfect observance of God’s moral and ritual law. This would lead to God’s intervention in history to restore the Jewish people’s control over their own land and destiny.

In this context, rabbis rethought Hanukkah’s origins as the celebration of a military victory. Instead, they said, Hanukkah should be seen as commemorating a miracle that occurred during the Maccabees’ rededication of the temple: The story now told was how a jar of temple oil sufficient for only one day had sustained the temple’s eternal lamp for a full eight days, until additional ritually appropriate oil could be produced.

The earliest version of this story appears in the Talmud, in a document completed in the sixth century A.D. From that period on, rather than directly commemorating the Maccabees’ victory, Hanukkah celebrated God’s miracle.

This is symbolized by the kindling of an eight-branched candelabra (“Menorah” or “Hanukkiah”), with one candle lit on the holiday’s first night and an additional candle added each night until, on the final night of the festival, all eight branches are lit. The ninth candle in the Hanukkiah is used to light the others.

Throughout the medieval period, however, Hanukkah remained a minor Jewish festival.

What Hanukkah means today

How then to understand what happened to Hanukkah in the past hundred years, during which it has achieved prominence in Jewish life, both in America and around the world?

While Hanukkah has evolved in tandem with the extravagance of the American Christmas season, there is much more to this story. (why hanukkah's true meaning is about jewish survival)While Hanukkah has evolved in tandem with the extravagance of the American Christmas season, there is much more to this story. Pixabay.com/en, CC BY

The point is that even as the holiday’s prior iterations reflected the distinctive needs of successive ages, so Jews today have reinterpreted Hanukkah in light of contemporary circumstances – a point that is detailed in religion scholar Dianne Ashton’s book, “Hanukkah in America.”

Ashton demonstrates while Hanukkah has evolved in tandem with the extravagance of the American Christmas season, there is much more to this story.

Hanukkah today responds to Jews’ desire to see their history as consequential, as reflecting the value of religious freedom that Jews share with all other Americans. Hanukkah, with its bright decorations, songs, and family- and community-focused celebrations, also fulfills American Jews’ need to reengage disaffected Jews and to keep Jewish children excited about Judaism.

Poignantly, telling a story of persecution and then redemption, Hanukkah today provides a historical paradigm that can help modern Jews think about the Holocaust and the emergence of Zionism.

In short, Hanukkah is as powerful a commemoration as it is today because it responds to a host of factors pertinent to contemporary Jewish history and life.

Over two millennia, Hanukkah has evolved to narrate the story of the Maccabees in ways that meet the distinctive needs of successive generations of Jews. Each generation tells the story as it needs to hear it, in response to the eternal values of Judaism but also as is appropriate to each period’s distinctive cultural forces, ideologies and experiences.The Conversation

About The Author

Alan Avery-Peck, Kraft-Hiatt Professor in Judaic Studies, College of the Holy Cross

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Books by this Author

Religious Foundations of Western Civilization: Judaism, Christianity, and Islam

religionAuthor: Bruce D. Chilton
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Abingdon Press

Brand: Abingdon Press
Creator(s):
  • Jacob Neusner

Studio: Abingdon Press
Label: Abingdon Press
Publisher: Abingdon Press
Manufacturer: Abingdon Press

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

World Religions

Religious Foundations of Western Civilization introduces students to the major Western world religions―Judaism, Christianity, and Islam―their beliefs, key concepts, history, as well as the fundamental role they have played, and continue to play, in Western culture.

Contributors include: Jacob Neusner, Alan J. Avery-Peck, Bruce D. Chilton, Th. Emil Homerin, Jon D. Levenson, William Scott Green, Seymour Feldman, Elliot R. Wolfson, James A. Brundage, Olivia Remie Constable, and Amila Buturovic.

"This book provides a superb source of information for scientists and scholars from all disciplines who are trying to understand religion in the context of human cultural evolution."

David Sloan Wilson, Professor, Departments of Biology and Anthropology, Binghamton University, Binghamton, New York

This is the right book at the right time. Globalization, religious revivalism, and international politics have made it more important than ever to appreciate the significant contributions of the Children of Abraham to the formation and development of Western civilization.

John L. Esposito, University Professor and Founding Director of the Center for Muslm-Christian Understanding, Georgetown University, Washington, D.C.

Jacob Neusner is Research Professor of Religion and Theology, and Senior Fellow of the Institute of Advanced Theology at Bard College, Annandale-on-Hudson, New York.

General Interest/Other Religions/Comparative Religion





The Mishnah in Contemporary Perspective, Volume 1

religionAuthor: Alan J. Avery-Peck
Binding: Paperback
Studio: SBL Press
Label: SBL Press
Publisher: SBL Press
Manufacturer: SBL Press

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

Now in Paperback!

In the past thirty years, the Mishnah has taken its place as a principal focus in the academic study of religion and of Judaism. Many university scholars have participated in the contemporary revolution in the description, analysis, and interpretation of the Mishnah. Nearly all the publishing scholars of the academy who are now at work are represented in this project. Both essential volumes present a broad selection of approaches to the study of the Mishnah. What they prove in diverse ways is that the Mishnah defines the critical focus of the study of Judaism. It is a document that rewards study in the academic humanities.

Features:

  • The best of contemporary scholarship on the Mishnah
  • The most representative selection of contemporary Mishnah-study contributions available in any collection in a Western language
  • Paperback format of an essential Brill reference work




The Mishnah in Contemporary Perspective, Volume 2

religionAuthor: Alan J. Avery-Peck
Binding: Paperback
Studio: SBL Press
Label: SBL Press
Publisher: SBL Press
Manufacturer: SBL Press

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

Now in Paperback!

This second volume of a two-part project on the Mishnah displays a broad selection of approaches to the study of the Mishnah in the contemporary academy. The work derives from Israel, North America, and Europe and shows the intellectual vitality of scholarship in all three centers of learning. What these articles show in diverse ways is that the Mishnah forms a critical focus of the study of Judaism.

Features:

  • The best of contemporary scholarship on the Mishnah
  • The most representative selection of contemporary Mishnah-study contributions available in any collection in a Western language
  • Paperback format of an essential Brill reference work




religion
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}