Между богами и животными: стать человеком в эпосе Гильгамеша

Между богами и животными: стать человеком в эпосе Гильгамеша

Эпос Гильгамеша это вавилонское стихотворение, написанное в древнем Ираке за тысячелетия до Гомера. Он рассказывает историю Гильгамеша, царя города Урука. Чтобы обуздать его беспокойную и разрушительную энергию, боги создают ему друга Энкиду, который растет среди степных животных. Когда Гильгамеш узнает об этом диком человеке, он приказывает вывести женщину по имени Шамхат, чтобы найти его. Шамхат соблазняет Энкиду, и они занимаются любовью в течение шести дней и семи ночей, превращая Энкиду из зверя в человека. Его сила уменьшается, но его интеллект расширяется, и он становится способным думать и говорить как человек. Шамхат и Энкиду путешествуют вместе в лагерь пастухов, где Энкиду изучает пути человечества. В конце концов Энкиду отправляется в Урук, чтобы противостоять злоупотреблению властью Гильгамешем, и два героя борются друг с другом, только чтобы сформировать страстную дружбу.

Это, по крайней мере, одна из версий ГильгамешНачало, но на самом деле эпопея прошла через ряд разных изданий. Это началось как цикл историй на шумерском языке, которые затем были собраны и переведены в единый эпос на аккадском языке. Самая ранняя версия эпоса была написана на диалекте, называемом старовавилонским, и эта версия была позже пересмотрена и обновлена ​​для создания другой версии на стандартном вавилонском диалекте, с которой большинство читателей столкнется сегодня.

Не только Гильгамеш существуют в нескольких различных версиях, каждая версия в свою очередь состоит из множества различных фрагментов. Не существует единой рукописи, в которой рассказывается вся история от начала до конца. Скорее, Гильгамеш должен быть воссоздан из сотен глиняных табличек, которые за тысячелетия стали фрагментарными. Эта история приходит к нам как гобелен из осколков, собранных филологами для создания примерно связного повествования (около четырех пятых текста было найдено). Фрагментарное состояние эпоса также означает, что оно постоянно обновляется, так как археологические раскопки - или, слишком часто, незаконные грабежи - выявляют новые таблички, заставляя нас пересмотреть наше понимание текста. Несмотря на то, что ему уже более 4,000, текст остается в движении, меняется и расширяется с каждым новым открытием.

Новейшее открытие - это крошечный фрагмент, который упустили из виду в архиве музея Корнелльского университета в Нью-Йорке, идентифицированного Александрой Кляйнерман и Алхеной Гадотти. опубликованный Эндрю Джордж в 2018. Во-первых, фрагмент выглядит не очень: ломаные линии 16, большинство из которых уже известны из других рукописей. Но работая над текстом, Джордж заметил нечто странное. Табличка, казалось, сохранила части как старой вавилонской, так и стандартной вавилонской версии, но в последовательности, которая не вписывалась в структуру истории, как она была понятна до тех пор.


Получите последние новости от InnerSelf


Фрагмент из сцены, где Шамхат соблазняет Энкиду и занимается с ним сексом в течение недели. До 2018 ученые полагали, что сцена существовала как в древне-вавилонской, так и в стандартной вавилонской версиях, в которой приводились несколько иные рассказы об одном и том же эпизоде: шамхат соблазняет Энкиду, они занимаются сексом в течение недели, а шамхат приглашает Энкиду в Урук. Эти две сцены не идентичны, но различия могут быть объяснены в результате редакционных изменений, которые привели от старовавилонской версии к стандартной вавилонской версии. Однако новый фрагмент бросает вызов этой интерпретации. Одна сторона планшета пересекается со стандартной вавилонской версией, другая - со старой вавилонской версией. Короче говоря, две сцены не могут быть разными версиями одного и того же эпизода: история включала в себя два очень похожих эпизода, один за другим.

По словам Джорджа, и древне-вавилонская, и стандартная вавилонская версии звучали так: шамхат соблазняет Энкиду, они занимаются сексом в течение недели, а шамхат приглашает энкиду приехать в Урук. Затем они вдвоем рассказывают о Гильгамеше и его пророческих снах. Затем оказывается, что они занимались сексом еще неделю, и Шамхат снова приглашает Энкиду к Уруку.

Внезапно марафон любви Шамхата и Энкиду удвоился, и это открытие The Times опубликовано под колоритным заголовком «Древняя секс-сага, теперь дважды как эпическая». Но на самом деле, это открытие имеет более глубокое значение. Разницу между эпизодами теперь можно понять не как редакционные изменения, а как психологические изменения, которые Энкиду претерпевает, становясь человеком. Эпизоды представляют две стадии одной и той же повествовательной арки, давая нам удивительное понимание того, что значит стать человеком в древнем мире.

TВ первый раз, когда Шамхат приглашает Энкиду в Урук, она описывает Гильгамеша как героя большой силы, сравнивая его с диким быком. Энкиду отвечает, что он действительно придет к Уруку, но не подружится с Гильгамешем: он бросит вызов ему и узурпирует его власть. Шамхат встревожен, убеждая Энкиду забыть его план, и вместо этого описывает удовольствия городской жизни: музыку, вечеринки и красивых женщин.

После второй недели полового акта Шамхат снова приглашает Энкиду в Урук, но с другим акцентом. На этот раз она говорит не о бычьей силе короля, а о гражданской жизни Урука: «Там, где люди заняты искусством, вы тоже, как настоящий человек, найдете себе место». Шамхат говорит Энкиду, что он должен интегрироваться в общество и найти свое место в более широкой социальной структуре. Энкиду соглашается: «совет женщины поразил его сердце».

Понятно, что Энкиду изменился между двумя сценами. Первая неделя секса, возможно, дала ему интеллект для общения с Шамхатом, но он все еще думает в терминах животных: он считает Гильгамеша альфа-самцом, которому нужно бросить вызов. После второй недели он стал готов принять другое видение общества. Общественная жизнь - это не только грубая сила и утверждения власти, но и общие обязанности и ответственность.

Помещенная в это постепенное развитие, первая реакция Энкиду становится все более интересной, как своего рода посреднический шаг на пути к человечеству. Короче говоря, то, что мы видим здесь, - это вавилонский поэт, смотрящий на общество все еще дикими глазами Энкиду. Это не совсем человеческий взгляд на городскую жизнь, который рассматривается как место силы и гордости, а не как умение и сотрудничество.

Что это говорит нам? Мы учим две основные вещи. Во-первых, это человечество для вавилонян было определено через общество. Быть человеком было явно социальным делом. И не просто общество любого типа: это была социальная жизнь городов, которая сделала вас «настоящим человеком». В глубине души вавилонская культура была городской. Такие города, как Урук, Вавилон или Ур были строительными блоками цивилизации, а мир за пределами городских стен рассматривался как опасная и некультурная пустошь.

Во-вторых, мы узнаем, что человечество - скользящая шкала. После недели секса Энкиду не стал полностью человеком. Существует промежуточная стадия, когда он говорит как человек, но думает как животное. Даже после второй недели ему все еще приходится учиться есть хлеб, пить пиво и надевать одежду. Короче говоря, становление человеком - это пошаговый процесс, а не двоичный.

Во втором своем приглашении в Урук Шамхат говорит: «Я смотрю на тебя, Энкиду, ты как бог, почему с животными ты бродишь по дикой природе?» Здесь боги изображены как противоположность животным, они всемогущи и бессмертны, тогда как животные не обращают внимания и им суждено умереть. Быть человеком - значит быть где-то посередине: не всемогущим, но способным к квалифицированному труду; не бессмертный, но осознающий свою смертность.

Короче говоря, новый фрагмент раскрывает видение человечества как процесса созревания, которое разворачивается между животным и божественным. Человек не просто рожден человеком: для того, чтобы быть человеком, для древних вавилонян нужно было найти себе место в более широкой области, определяемой обществом, богами и животным миром.Aeon counter - не удалять

Об авторе

Софус Хелле - аспирант, специализирующийся на вавилонской литературе в Орхусском университете, Дания. Его работа была опубликована в Постколониальные исследования, Среди других.

Эта статья была первоначально опубликована в геологический период и был переиздан в Creative Commons.

Книги по этой теме

{amazonWS: searchindex = Книги; ключевые слова = Gilgamesh Epic; maxresults = 3}

enafarZH-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Следуйте за InnerSelf

facebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

ВНУТРЕННИЕ ГОЛОСЫ

Безусловная любовь: способ служить друг другу, человечеству и миру
Безусловная любовь - это способ служить друг другу, человечеству и миру
by Эйлин Кэдди MBE и Дэвид Эрл Платтс, доктор философии.

САМОЕ ЧИТАЕМОЕ

Between Gods And Animals: Becoming Human In The Gilgamesh Epic

religion

Between Gods And Animals: Becoming Human In The Gilgamesh Epic

The Epic of Gilgamesh is a Babylonian poem composed in ancient Iraq, millennia before Homer. It tells the story of Gilgamesh, king of the city of Uruk. To curb his restless and destructive energy, the gods create a friend for him, Enkidu, who grows up among the animals of the steppe. When Gilgamesh hears about this wild man, he orders that a woman named Shamhat be brought out to find him. Shamhat seduces Enkidu, and the two make love for six days and seven nights, transforming Enkidu from beast to man. His strength is diminished, but his intellect is expanded, and he becomes able to think and speak like a human being. Shamhat and Enkidu travel together to a camp of shepherds, where Enkidu learns the ways of humanity. Eventually, Enkidu goes to Uruk to confront Gilgamesh’s abuse of power, and the two heroes wrestle with one another, only to form a passionate friendship.

This, at least, is one version of Gilgamesh’s beginning, but in fact the epic went through a number of different editions. It began as a cycle of stories in the Sumerian language, which were then collected and translated into a single epic in the Akkadian language. The earliest version of the epic was written in a dialect called Old Babylonian, and this version was later revised and updated to create another version, in the Standard Babylonian dialect, which is the one that most readers will encounter today.

Not only does Gilgamesh exist in a number of different versions, each version is in turn made up of many different fragments. There is no single manuscript that carries the entire story from beginning to end. Rather, Gilgamesh has to be recreated from hundreds of clay tablets that have become fragmentary over millennia. The story comes to us as a tapestry of shards, pieced together by philologists to create a roughly coherent narrative (about four-fifths of the text have been recovered). The fragmentary state of the epic also means that it is constantly being updated, as archaeological excavations – or, all too often, illegal lootings – bring new tablets to light, making us reconsider our understanding of the text. Despite being more than 4,000 years old, the text remains in flux, changing and expanding with each new finding.

The newest discovery is a tiny fragment that had lain overlooked in the museum archive of Cornell University in New York, identified by Alexandra Kleinerman and Alhena Gadotti and published by Andrew George in 2018. At first, the fragment does not look like much: 16 broken lines, most of them already known from other manuscripts. But working on the text, George noticed something strange. The tablet seemed to preserve parts of both the Old Babylonian and the Standard Babylonian version, but in a sequence that didn’t fit the structure of the story as it had been understood until then.

The fragment is from the scene where Shamhat seduces Enkidu and has sex with him for a week. Before 2018, scholars believed that the scene existed in both an Old Babylonian and a Standard Babylonian version, which gave slightly different accounts of the same episode: Shamhat seduces Enkidu, they have sex for a week, and Shamhat invites Enkidu to Uruk. The two scenes are not identical, but the differences could be explained as a result of the editorial changes that led from the Old Babylonian to the Standard Babylonian version. However, the new fragment challenges this interpretation. One side of the tablet overlaps with the Standard Babylonian version, the other with the Old Babylonian version. In short, the two scenes cannot be different versions of the same episode: the story included two very similar episodes, one after the other.

According to George, both the Old Babylonian and the Standard Babylonian version ran thus: Shamhat seduces Enkidu, they have sex for a week, and Shamhat invites Enkidu to come to Uruk. The two of them then talk about Gilgamesh and his prophetic dreams. Then, it turns out, they had sex for another week, and Shamhat again invites Enkidu to Uruk.

Suddenly, Shamhat and Enkidu’s marathon of love had been doubled, a discovery that The Times publicised under the racy headline ‘Ancient Sex Saga Now Twice As Epic’. But in fact, there is a deeper significance to this discovery. The difference between the episodes can now be understood, not as editorial changes, but as psychological changes that Enkidu undergoes as he becomes human. The episodes represent two stages of the same narrative arc, giving us a surprising insight into what it meant to become human in the ancient world.

The first time that Shamhat invites Enkidu to Uruk, she describes Gilgamesh as a hero of great strength, comparing him to a wild bull. Enkidu replies that he will indeed come to Uruk, but not to befriend Gilgamesh: he will challenge him and usurp his power. Shamhat is dismayed, urging Enkidu to forget his plan, and instead describes the pleasures of city life: music, parties and beautiful women.

After they have sex for a second week, Shamhat invites Enkidu to Uruk again, but with a different emphasis. This time she dwells not on the king’s bullish strength, but on Uruk’s civic life: ‘Where men are engaged in labours of skill, you, too, like a true man, will make a place for yourself.’ Shamhat tells Enkidu that he is to integrate himself in society and find his place within a wider social fabric. Enkidu agrees: ‘the woman’s counsel struck home in his heart’.

It is clear that Enkidu has changed between the two scenes. The first week of sex might have given him the intellect to converse with Shamhat, but he still thinks in animal terms: he sees Gilgamesh as an alpha male to be challenged. After the second week, he has become ready to accept a different vision of society. Social life is not about raw strength and assertions of power, but also about communal duties and responsibility.

Placed in this gradual development, Enkidu’s first reaction becomes all the more interesting, as a kind of intermediary step on the way to humanity. In a nutshell, what we see here is a Babylonian poet looking at society through Enkidu’s still-feral eyes. It is a not-fully-human perspective on city life, which is seen as a place of power and pride rather than skill and cooperation.

What does this tell us? We learn two main things. First, that humanity for the Babylonians was defined through society. To be human was a distinctly social affair. And not just any kind of society: it was the social life of cities that made you a ‘true man’. Babylonian culture was, at heart, an urban culture. Cities such as Uruk, Babylon or Ur were the building blocks of civilisation, and the world outside the city walls was seen as a dangerous and uncultured wasteland.

Second, we learn that humanity is a sliding scale. After a week of sex, Enkidu has not become fully human. There is an intermediary stage, where he speaks like a human but thinks like an animal. Even after the second week, he still has to learn how to eat bread, drink beer and put on clothes. In short, becoming human is a step-by-step process, not an either/or binary.

In her second invitation to Uruk, Shamhat says: ‘I look at you, Enkidu, you are like a god, why with the animals do you range through the wild?’ Gods are here depicted as the opposite of animals, they are omnipotent and immortal, whereas animals are oblivious and destined to die. To be human is to be placed somewhere in the middle: not omnipotent, but capable of skilled labour; not immortal, but aware of one’s mortality.

In short, the new fragment reveals a vision of humanity as a process of maturation that unfolds between the animal and the divine. One is not simply born human: to be human, for the ancient Babylonians, involved finding a place for oneself within a wider field defined by society, gods and the animal world.Aeon counter – do not remove

About The Author

Sophus Helle is a PhD student specialising in Babylonian literature at Aarhus University, Denmark. His work has been published in Postcolonial Studies, among others.

This article was originally published at Aeon and has been republished under Creative Commons.

Related Books

Gilgamesh: A New English Version

religionBinding: Paperback
Features:
  • Atria Books

Brand: Atria Books
Creator(s):
  • Stephen Mitchell

Studio: Atria Books
Label: Atria Books
Publisher: Atria Books
Manufacturer: Atria Books

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Gilgamesh is considered one of the masterpieces of world literature, but until now there has not been a version that is a superlative literary text in its own right.

Acclaimed by critics and scholars, Stephen Mitchell's version allows us to enter an ancient masterpiece as if for the first time, to see how startlingly beautiful, intelligent, and alive it is.




The Epic of Gilgamesh

religionAuthor: Anonymous
Binding: Paperback
Creator(s):
  • N. K. Sandars

Studio: Penguin Classics
Label: Penguin Classics
Publisher: Penguin Classics
Manufacturer: Penguin Classics

Buy Now
Editorial Review: N. K. Sandars's landmark translation of one of the first and greatest works of Western literature

Gilgamesh, King of Uruk, and his companion Enkidu are the only heroes to have survived from the ancient literature of Babylon, immortalized in this epic poem that dates back to the third millennium BC. Together they journey to the Spring of Youth, defeat the Bull of Heaven and slay the monster Humbaba. When Enkidu dies, Gilgamesh’s grief and fear of death are such that they lead him to undertake a quest for eternal life. A timeless tale of morality, tragedy and pure adventure, The Epic of Gilgamesh is a landmark literary exploration of man’s search for immortality.
N. K. Sandars’s lucid, accessible translation is prefaced by a detailed introduction that examines the narrative and historical context of the work. In addition, there is a glossary of names and a map of the Ancient Orient.

For more than seventy years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic literature in the English-speaking world. With more than 1,700 titles, Penguin Classics represents a global bookshelf of the best works throughout history and across genres and disciplines. Readers trust the series to provide authoritative texts enhanced by introductions and notes by distinguished scholars and contemporary authors, as well as up-to-date translations by award-winning translators.




The Epic of Gilgamesh (Penguin Classics)

religionAuthor: Anonymous
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Penguin Books

Brand: Penguin Books
Creator(s):
  • Andrew George
  • Andrew George

Studio: Penguin Classics
Label: Penguin Classics
Publisher: Penguin Classics
Manufacturer: Penguin Classics

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Andrew George's "masterly new translation" (The Times) of the world's first truly great work of literature

Miraculously preserved on clay tablets dating back as much as four thousand years, the poem of Gilgamesh, king of Uruk, is the world’s oldest epic, predating Homer by many centuries. The story tells of Gilgamesh’s adventures with the wild man Enkidu, and of his arduous journey to the ends of the earth in quest of the Babylonian Noah and the secret of immortality. Alongside its themes of family, friendship and the duties of kings, the Epic of Gilgamesh is, above all, about mankind’s eternal struggle with the fear of death.

The Babylonian version has been known for over a century, but linguists are still deciphering new fragments in Akkadian and Sumerian. Andrew George’s gripping translation brilliantly combines these into a fluent narrative and will long rank as the definitive English Gilgamesh.

For more than seventy years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic literature in the English-speaking world. With more than 1,700 titles, Penguin Classics represents a global bookshelf of the best works throughout history and across genres and disciplines. Readers trust the series to provide authoritative texts enhanced by introductions and notes by distinguished scholars and contemporary authors, as well as up-to-date translations by award-winning translators.




religion
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}