بين الآلهة والحيوانات: أن تصبح الإنسان في ملحمة جلجامش

بين الآلهة والحيوانات: أن تصبح الإنسان في ملحمة جلجامش

ملحمة جلجامش هي قصيدة بابلية في عراق قديم ، آلاف السنين أمام هوميروس. يحكي قصة جلجامش ، ملك مدينة أوروك. للحد من طاقته المدمرة والمدمرة ، تخلق الآلهة صديقا له ، Enkidu ، الذي يكبر بين حيوانات السهوب. عندما يسمع جلجامش عن هذا الرجل البري ، يأمر بإحضار امرأة تدعى شمهات للعثور عليه. يغوي Shamhat Enkidu ، ويمارس الاثنان الحب لمدة ستة أيام وسبع ليال ، مما يحول Enkidu من الوحش إلى الإنسان. إن قوته تتضاءل ، لكن فكره يتوسع ، ويصبح قادرا على التفكير والتحدث كإنسان. يسافر شامات و Enkidu معا إلى معسكر للرعاة ، حيث يتعلم Enkidu طرق الإنسانية. في النهاية ، يذهب إنكيدو إلى أوروك لمواجهة إساءة استخدام جلجامش للسلطة ، ويتصارع البطلان مع بعضهما البعض ، فقط لتشكيل صداقة عاطفية.

هذا ، على الأقل ، هو نسخة واحدة من جلجامشفي البداية ، ولكن في الواقع ، مرت الملحمة بعدد من الطبعات المختلفة. بدأت كدورة من القصص باللغة السومرية ، والتي تم جمعها وترجمتها إلى ملحمة واحدة في اللغة الأكادية. تمت كتابة النسخة الأقدم من الملحمة بلهجة تسمى "البابلية القديمة" ، وتم تنقيح هذا الإصدار وتحديثه لاحقًا لإنشاء نسخة أخرى ، باللهجة البابلية القياسية ، وهي التي سيصادفها معظم القراء اليوم.

ليس فقط جلجامش موجودة في عدد من الإصدارات المختلفة ، كل إصدار يتألف بدوره من العديد من الأجزاء المختلفة. لا توجد مخطوطة واحدة تنقل القصة بأكملها من البداية إلى النهاية. بدلا، جلجامش يجب إعادة صياغتها من مئات الألواح الطينية التي أصبحت مجزأة على مدى آلاف السنين. تأتي القصة إلينا كمزيج من القطع ، تم تجميعها معًا من قبل علماء اللغة لإنشاء سرد متماسك تقريبًا (تم استرجاع حوالي أربعة أخماس النص). كما أن الحالة الملحمية للملحمة تعني أيضًا أنه يتم تحديثها باستمرار ، حيث أن الحفريات الأثرية - أو ، في أغلب الأحيان ، عمليات النهب غير القانونية - تجلب أجهزة لوحية جديدة إلى الضوء ، مما يجعلنا نعيد النظر في فهمنا للنص. على الرغم من كونه أكبر من 4,000 عاما ، فإن النص لا يزال في حالة تغير مستمر ، ويتغير ويتوسع مع كل اكتشاف جديد.

أحدث اكتشاف هو جزء صغير تم التغاضي عنه في أرشيف متحف جامعة كورنيل في نيويورك ، والذي تم تحديده من قبل ألكسندرا كلينرمان وألنا جادوتي و نشرت بواسطة أندرو جورج في 2018. في البداية ، لا تبدو الشظية كما هي: خطوط 16 المكسورة ، ومعظمها معروف من المخطوطات الأخرى. لكن مع العمل على النص ، لاحظ جورج شيئا غريبا. يبدو أن اللوحة تحافظ على أجزاء من كل من النسخة البابلية القديمة والبابلية القياسية ، ولكن في تسلسل لا يتناسب مع بنية القصة كما كان مفهوما حتى ذلك الحين.

القطعة من المشهد حيث يغري شامات Enkidu ويمارس الجنس معه لمدة أسبوع. قبل 2018 ، اعتقد العلماء أن المشهد كان موجودًا في كل من نسخة البابلية القديمة والبابلية القياسية ، والتي أعطت حسابات مختلفة قليلاً عن نفس الحلقة: يغوي Shamhat Enkidu ، يمارس الجنس لمدة أسبوع ، ويدعو Shamhat Enkidu إلى Uruk. المشاهدان غير متطابقين ، ولكن يمكن تفسير الاختلافات كنتيجة للتغييرات التحريرية التي قادت من البابلية القديمة إلى النسخة البابلية القياسية. ومع ذلك ، فإن الجزء الجديد يتحدى هذا التفسير. يتراكب أحد جانبي الجهاز اللوحي مع الإصدار القياسي لبابل ، والآخر بالنسخة البابلية القديمة. باختصار ، لا يمكن أن يكون المشاهدان نسخة مختلفة من الحلقة نفسها: تضمنت القصة حلقتين متشابهتين جدًا ، واحدة تلو الأخرى.

وفقا لجورج ، ركض كل من البابلية القديمة والبرازيلي المعياري على النحو التالي: Shamhat يغوي Enkidu ، يمارسون الجنس لمدة أسبوع ، ويدعو Shamhat Enkidu للحضور إلى Uruk. ثم يتحدث الإثنان عن جلجامش وأحلامه النبوية. ثم اتضح أنهم مارسوا الجنس لمدة أسبوع آخر ، ودعاه شامهات مرة أخرى إنكيدو إلى أوروك.

فجأة ، تضاعف ماراثون الشامات و Enkidu من الحب ، وهو اكتشاف ذلك نيويورك تايمز نشر تحت عنوان مفعم بالحيوية "القصة الجنس القديمة الآن مرتين كما ملحمة". لكن في الحقيقة ، هناك أهمية أعمق لهذا الاكتشاف. يمكن الآن فهم الفرق بين الحلقات ، وليس كتغييرات تحريرية ، ولكن كتغييرات نفسية يتعرض لها إنكيدو عندما يصبح الإنسان. وتمثل الحلقات مرحلتين من نفس القوس السرد ، مما يمنحنا فكرة مدهشة عن معنى أن تصبح إنسانًا في العالم القديم.

Tفي المرة الأولى التي يدعو فيها شامهات إنكيدو إلى أوروك ، يصف جلجامش كبطل قوة عظيمة ، ويقارنه بثور ثور. يجيب إنكيدو بأنه سيأتي بالفعل إلى أوروك ، ولكن ليس لإقامة علاقة صداقة مع جلجامش: سوف يتحداه ويغتصب سلطته. شعرت شامهات بالاستياء ، وحثت إنكيدو على نسيان خطته ، وبدلاً من ذلك تصف ملذات حياة المدينة: الموسيقى والحفلات والنساء الجميلات.

بعد ممارسة الجنس لمدة أسبوع ثاني ، يدعو Shamhat Enkidu إلى Uruk مرة أخرى ، ولكن مع تركيز مختلف. هذه المرة لا تسكن على قوة الملك الصاعدة ، ولكن على الحياة المدنية في أوروك: "حيث ينخرط الرجال في أعمال مهارة ، أنت ، أيضًا ، مثل الرجل الحقيقي ، ستجعل مكانًا لنفسك". يخبر شامهات إنكيدو أنه يندمج في المجتمع ويجد مكانه ضمن نسيج اجتماعي أوسع. يوافق إنكيدو: '' ضرب محامي المرأة منزله في قلبه '.

من الواضح أن Enkidu قد تغيرت بين المشاهدتين. قد يمنحه الأسبوع الأول من الجنس الفكر للتحدث مع الشامهات ، لكنه ما زال يفكر بعبارات حيوانية: فهو يرى جلجامش كرجل ألفا يتم تحديه. بعد الأسبوع الثاني ، أصبح جاهزا لقبول رؤية مختلفة للمجتمع. الحياة الاجتماعية ليست حول القوة الخام وتأكيدات السلطة ، ولكن أيضا حول الواجبات والمسؤوليات المجتمعية.

في هذا التطور التدريجي ، يصبح رد فعل إنكيدو الأول أكثر إثارة للاهتمام ، كخطوة وسيطة على طريق الإنسانية. باختصار ، ما نراه هنا هو شاعر بابل ينظر إلى المجتمع من خلال عيون إنكيدو التي لا تزال حادة. إنه منظور غير إنساني كامل عن حياة المدينة ، التي ينظر إليها على أنها مكان للقوة والكبرياء وليس المهارة والتعاون.

ما يخبرنا هذا الكلام؟ نتعلم شيئين رئيسيين. أولاً ، تم تعريف الإنسانية للبابليين من خلال المجتمع. أن تكون إنسانًا شأنًا اجتماعيًا واضحًا. وليس فقط أي نوع من المجتمع: إنها الحياة الاجتماعية للمدن التي جعلت منك "رجلاً حقيقياً". الثقافة البابلية كانت ، في جوهرها ، ثقافة حضرية. كانت مدن مثل أوروك أو بابل أو أور بمثابة لبنات البناء للحضارة ، وكان ينظر إلى العالم خارج أسوار المدينة على أنه منطقة قاحلة خطرة وغير مثمرة.

ثانيًا ، نتعلم أن البشرية مقياسًا منخفضًا. بعد أسبوع من الجنس ، لم تصبح إنكيدو إنسانية بالكامل. هناك مرحلة وسيطة ، حيث يتحدث مثل إنسان لكنه يفكر كحيوان. حتى بعد الأسبوع الثاني ، لا يزال عليه أن يتعلم كيف يأكل الخبز ويشرب الجعة ويضع الملابس. باختصار ، أصبح الإنسان عملية تدريجية ، وليست عملية ثنائية أو ثنائية.

في دعوتها الثانية إلى أوروك ، يقول شامهات: "إنني أنظر إليك ، أنكيدو ، أنت مثل الإله ، لماذا مع الحيوانات التي تنتشر في البرية؟" يتم تصوير الآلهة هنا على أنها عكس الحيوانات ، فهي قاهرة وخالدة ، بينما الحيوانات غافضة ومقدرة على الموت. ليكون الإنسان في مكان ما في الوسط: ليس قابلاً للقوة ، ولكنه قادر على العمالة الماهرة ؛ ليس خالدًا ، ولكن مدركًا لوفاة الشخص.

باختصار ، يكشف الجزء الجديد عن رؤية للبشرية كعملية نضوج تتكشف بين الحيوان والإله. واحد ليس ببساطة مولود بشري: أن يكون الإنسان ، بالنسبة للبابليين القدماء ، ينطوي على إيجاد مكان لنفسه في مجال أوسع يحدده المجتمع والآلهة وعالم الحيوانات.عداد Aeon - لا تقم بإزالة

نبذة عن الكاتب

صوفوس هيل هو طالب دكتوراه متخصص في الأدب البابلي في جامعة آرهوس ، الدنمارك. وقد نشرت أعماله في دراسات ما بعد الاستعمار، من بين آخرين.

وقد نشرت هذه المقالة أصلا في دهر وقد أعيد نشرها تحت المشاع الإبداعي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ Keywords = Gilgamesh Epic؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Between Gods And Animals: Becoming Human In The Gilgamesh Epic

religion

Between Gods And Animals: Becoming Human In The Gilgamesh Epic

The Epic of Gilgamesh is a Babylonian poem composed in ancient Iraq, millennia before Homer. It tells the story of Gilgamesh, king of the city of Uruk. To curb his restless and destructive energy, the gods create a friend for him, Enkidu, who grows up among the animals of the steppe. When Gilgamesh hears about this wild man, he orders that a woman named Shamhat be brought out to find him. Shamhat seduces Enkidu, and the two make love for six days and seven nights, transforming Enkidu from beast to man. His strength is diminished, but his intellect is expanded, and he becomes able to think and speak like a human being. Shamhat and Enkidu travel together to a camp of shepherds, where Enkidu learns the ways of humanity. Eventually, Enkidu goes to Uruk to confront Gilgamesh’s abuse of power, and the two heroes wrestle with one another, only to form a passionate friendship.

This, at least, is one version of Gilgamesh’s beginning, but in fact the epic went through a number of different editions. It began as a cycle of stories in the Sumerian language, which were then collected and translated into a single epic in the Akkadian language. The earliest version of the epic was written in a dialect called Old Babylonian, and this version was later revised and updated to create another version, in the Standard Babylonian dialect, which is the one that most readers will encounter today.

Not only does Gilgamesh exist in a number of different versions, each version is in turn made up of many different fragments. There is no single manuscript that carries the entire story from beginning to end. Rather, Gilgamesh has to be recreated from hundreds of clay tablets that have become fragmentary over millennia. The story comes to us as a tapestry of shards, pieced together by philologists to create a roughly coherent narrative (about four-fifths of the text have been recovered). The fragmentary state of the epic also means that it is constantly being updated, as archaeological excavations – or, all too often, illegal lootings – bring new tablets to light, making us reconsider our understanding of the text. Despite being more than 4,000 years old, the text remains in flux, changing and expanding with each new finding.

The newest discovery is a tiny fragment that had lain overlooked in the museum archive of Cornell University in New York, identified by Alexandra Kleinerman and Alhena Gadotti and published by Andrew George in 2018. At first, the fragment does not look like much: 16 broken lines, most of them already known from other manuscripts. But working on the text, George noticed something strange. The tablet seemed to preserve parts of both the Old Babylonian and the Standard Babylonian version, but in a sequence that didn’t fit the structure of the story as it had been understood until then.

The fragment is from the scene where Shamhat seduces Enkidu and has sex with him for a week. Before 2018, scholars believed that the scene existed in both an Old Babylonian and a Standard Babylonian version, which gave slightly different accounts of the same episode: Shamhat seduces Enkidu, they have sex for a week, and Shamhat invites Enkidu to Uruk. The two scenes are not identical, but the differences could be explained as a result of the editorial changes that led from the Old Babylonian to the Standard Babylonian version. However, the new fragment challenges this interpretation. One side of the tablet overlaps with the Standard Babylonian version, the other with the Old Babylonian version. In short, the two scenes cannot be different versions of the same episode: the story included two very similar episodes, one after the other.

According to George, both the Old Babylonian and the Standard Babylonian version ran thus: Shamhat seduces Enkidu, they have sex for a week, and Shamhat invites Enkidu to come to Uruk. The two of them then talk about Gilgamesh and his prophetic dreams. Then, it turns out, they had sex for another week, and Shamhat again invites Enkidu to Uruk.

Suddenly, Shamhat and Enkidu’s marathon of love had been doubled, a discovery that The Times publicised under the racy headline ‘Ancient Sex Saga Now Twice As Epic’. But in fact, there is a deeper significance to this discovery. The difference between the episodes can now be understood, not as editorial changes, but as psychological changes that Enkidu undergoes as he becomes human. The episodes represent two stages of the same narrative arc, giving us a surprising insight into what it meant to become human in the ancient world.

The first time that Shamhat invites Enkidu to Uruk, she describes Gilgamesh as a hero of great strength, comparing him to a wild bull. Enkidu replies that he will indeed come to Uruk, but not to befriend Gilgamesh: he will challenge him and usurp his power. Shamhat is dismayed, urging Enkidu to forget his plan, and instead describes the pleasures of city life: music, parties and beautiful women.

After they have sex for a second week, Shamhat invites Enkidu to Uruk again, but with a different emphasis. This time she dwells not on the king’s bullish strength, but on Uruk’s civic life: ‘Where men are engaged in labours of skill, you, too, like a true man, will make a place for yourself.’ Shamhat tells Enkidu that he is to integrate himself in society and find his place within a wider social fabric. Enkidu agrees: ‘the woman’s counsel struck home in his heart’.

It is clear that Enkidu has changed between the two scenes. The first week of sex might have given him the intellect to converse with Shamhat, but he still thinks in animal terms: he sees Gilgamesh as an alpha male to be challenged. After the second week, he has become ready to accept a different vision of society. Social life is not about raw strength and assertions of power, but also about communal duties and responsibility.

Placed in this gradual development, Enkidu’s first reaction becomes all the more interesting, as a kind of intermediary step on the way to humanity. In a nutshell, what we see here is a Babylonian poet looking at society through Enkidu’s still-feral eyes. It is a not-fully-human perspective on city life, which is seen as a place of power and pride rather than skill and cooperation.

What does this tell us? We learn two main things. First, that humanity for the Babylonians was defined through society. To be human was a distinctly social affair. And not just any kind of society: it was the social life of cities that made you a ‘true man’. Babylonian culture was, at heart, an urban culture. Cities such as Uruk, Babylon or Ur were the building blocks of civilisation, and the world outside the city walls was seen as a dangerous and uncultured wasteland.

Second, we learn that humanity is a sliding scale. After a week of sex, Enkidu has not become fully human. There is an intermediary stage, where he speaks like a human but thinks like an animal. Even after the second week, he still has to learn how to eat bread, drink beer and put on clothes. In short, becoming human is a step-by-step process, not an either/or binary.

In her second invitation to Uruk, Shamhat says: ‘I look at you, Enkidu, you are like a god, why with the animals do you range through the wild?’ Gods are here depicted as the opposite of animals, they are omnipotent and immortal, whereas animals are oblivious and destined to die. To be human is to be placed somewhere in the middle: not omnipotent, but capable of skilled labour; not immortal, but aware of one’s mortality.

In short, the new fragment reveals a vision of humanity as a process of maturation that unfolds between the animal and the divine. One is not simply born human: to be human, for the ancient Babylonians, involved finding a place for oneself within a wider field defined by society, gods and the animal world.Aeon counter – do not remove

About The Author

Sophus Helle is a PhD student specialising in Babylonian literature at Aarhus University, Denmark. His work has been published in Postcolonial Studies, among others.

This article was originally published at Aeon and has been republished under Creative Commons.

Related Books

Gilgamesh: A New English Version

religionBinding: Paperback
Features:
  • Atria Books

Brand: Atria Books
Creator(s):
  • Stephen Mitchell

Studio: Atria Books
Label: Atria Books
Publisher: Atria Books
Manufacturer: Atria Books

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Gilgamesh is considered one of the masterpieces of world literature, but until now there has not been a version that is a superlative literary text in its own right.

Acclaimed by critics and scholars, Stephen Mitchell's version allows us to enter an ancient masterpiece as if for the first time, to see how startlingly beautiful, intelligent, and alive it is.




The Epic of Gilgamesh

religionAuthor: Anonymous
Binding: Paperback
Creator(s):
  • N. K. Sandars

Studio: Penguin Classics
Label: Penguin Classics
Publisher: Penguin Classics
Manufacturer: Penguin Classics

Buy Now
Editorial Review: N. K. Sandars's landmark translation of one of the first and greatest works of Western literature

Gilgamesh, King of Uruk, and his companion Enkidu are the only heroes to have survived from the ancient literature of Babylon, immortalized in this epic poem that dates back to the third millennium BC. Together they journey to the Spring of Youth, defeat the Bull of Heaven and slay the monster Humbaba. When Enkidu dies, Gilgamesh’s grief and fear of death are such that they lead him to undertake a quest for eternal life. A timeless tale of morality, tragedy and pure adventure, The Epic of Gilgamesh is a landmark literary exploration of man’s search for immortality.
N. K. Sandars’s lucid, accessible translation is prefaced by a detailed introduction that examines the narrative and historical context of the work. In addition, there is a glossary of names and a map of the Ancient Orient.

For more than seventy years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic literature in the English-speaking world. With more than 1,700 titles, Penguin Classics represents a global bookshelf of the best works throughout history and across genres and disciplines. Readers trust the series to provide authoritative texts enhanced by introductions and notes by distinguished scholars and contemporary authors, as well as up-to-date translations by award-winning translators.




The Epic of Gilgamesh (Penguin Classics)

religionAuthor: Anonymous
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Penguin Books

Brand: Penguin Books
Creator(s):
  • Andrew George
  • Andrew George

Studio: Penguin Classics
Label: Penguin Classics
Publisher: Penguin Classics
Manufacturer: Penguin Classics

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Andrew George's "masterly new translation" (The Times) of the world's first truly great work of literature

Miraculously preserved on clay tablets dating back as much as four thousand years, the poem of Gilgamesh, king of Uruk, is the world’s oldest epic, predating Homer by many centuries. The story tells of Gilgamesh’s adventures with the wild man Enkidu, and of his arduous journey to the ends of the earth in quest of the Babylonian Noah and the secret of immortality. Alongside its themes of family, friendship and the duties of kings, the Epic of Gilgamesh is, above all, about mankind’s eternal struggle with the fear of death.

The Babylonian version has been known for over a century, but linguists are still deciphering new fragments in Akkadian and Sumerian. Andrew George’s gripping translation brilliantly combines these into a fluent narrative and will long rank as the definitive English Gilgamesh.

For more than seventy years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic literature in the English-speaking world. With more than 1,700 titles, Penguin Classics represents a global bookshelf of the best works throughout history and across genres and disciplines. Readers trust the series to provide authoritative texts enhanced by introductions and notes by distinguished scholars and contemporary authors, as well as up-to-date translations by award-winning translators.




religion
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}