Более холодные температуры и климатические скептики идут вместе, как горох и морковь

Более холодные температуры и климатические скептики идут вместе, как горох и морковь

Опыт записи высоких или низких температур влияет на убежденность людей в изменении климата, свидетельствуют новые исследования.

Работа началась, когда Роберт Кауфман, профессор Земли и окружающей среды в Бостонском университете, и кандидат PhD Xiaojing Tang хотел разработать новую меру локального изменения климата, основанную на рекордно высоких и низких температурах в США. Этот показатель, называемый TMax, возрастает по мере того, как число последних рекордных высоких температур увеличивается по сравнению с недавними рекордными низкими температурами.

После того, как Тан вычислил TMax, используя данные метеорологических станций по всей территории Соединенных Штатов, он представил карту Кауфманну, который был удивлен, увидев образец.

«Он щелкнул в моем сознании, - говорит Кауфман, ведущий автор исследования в Труды Национальной академии наук, «Казалось, что люди делают и не верят в изменение климата».

В частности, карта Тэна Тэна напоминала карты, которые исследователи и исследователи по изменению климата Питер Хоу, доцент кафедры окружающей среды и общества Университета штата Юта, составили процент жителей штата и графства, которые в 2013 ответили «да» на вопрос: «Происходит ли глобальное потепление?»

Климатическая картина осложняется тем, что США одновременно нагреваются и охлаждаются. Если климат в стране оставался стабильным, только около 5 процентов метеорологических станций, просто случайно, продемонстрировали местное потепление или охлаждение. Вместо этого Кауфманн и его команда увидели, что почти 50 процент метеорологических станций имел высокие значения для TMax, что указывает на местное потепление с течением времени. Неожиданно, около 10 процентов метеорологических станций показали местное охлаждение, с более частыми недавними рекордными холодными температурами.

Глядя на карту, зоны потепления расположены на побережьях, в районах охлаждения в центре страны, вблизи рек Огайо и Миссисипи.

высокие низкие темпыКарта графств Соединенных Штатов показывает, насколько хорошо показатель Кауфмана изменения климата предсказывает, где люди согласны с тем, что климат Земли прогревается. В темно-красных уездах рекордные температуры являются более поздними и предсказывают, что люди будут верить в то, что глобус прогревается, и они это делают. С другой стороны, темно-синие округа показывают рекордные низкие температуры, более поздние и предсказанные люди будут скептичны, и, опять же, это было так. (Кредит: любезно предоставлен PNAS)


Получите последние новости от InnerSelf


Когда Кауфманн и его сотрудники сравнили карту TMax напрямую с Хоу, они обнаружили корреляцию: в округах, где в последние дни преобладали рекордные низкие температуры, меньший процент людей, вероятно, соглашался с тем, что происходит глобальное потепление.

Почему это может быть? Соавтор исследования Жаклин Лидерман, профессор психологических наук и наук о мозге Бостонского университета и директор лаборатории когнитивной нейрофизиологии университета, считает, что это связано с тем, что люди склонны учиться на собственном опыте. То, что они слышат от ведущих ученых, не отговаривает их от того, что они видят для себя.

«Мы знаем, что люди имеют определенные предубеждения, - говорит Лидерман. Одна из этих предубеждений - это то, что называется «взвешиванием регентства», склонностью людей уделять больше внимания событиям, которые произошли в последнее время, даже если они не соответствуют длинному шаблону с течением времени. Это особенно справедливо для округов, которые испытывали недавние низкие температуры. Даже если данные показывают, что рекордные высокие температуры были более поздними за последние 30 до 50 лет, люди в округах, где было много рекордных минимумов, поскольку 2005 более скептически относились к глобальному потеплению.

Лидерман объясняет, что исследование также отразило эффект, называемый «предвзятым подтверждением». По сути, кому-то нелегко принимать информацию, которая идет вразрез с убежденными убеждениями, поэтому противоречивые доказательства игнорируются. Эффект подтверждения смещения был односторонним в исследовании, найденным только в областях, где были недавние холодные температуры. Если вы с большей вероятностью доверяете своему личному опыту, и в последнее время было холодно, вы можете свести на нет рекорд высокой температуры как жаркий день, а не свидетельство глобального потепления.

Области с более рекордными низкими температурами, как правило, были в традиционно консервативных районах страны, в округах, где вера в глобальное потепление уже была низкой. По мнению Исследовательского центра Pew, изменение климата является политически напряженной темой в Соединенных Штатах, и по партийным линиям существуют суровые разногласия относительно того, насколько серьезной является проблема и каковы будут последствия. Но исследование Кауфмана показало, что местный климат повлиял на готовность людей поверить в глобальное потепление, вне зависимости от того, какую партийную принадлежность предложит.

Группа Кауфманна планирует будущий проект, чтобы лучше определить, влияют ли политические пристрастия на то, как люди учатся на собственном опыте. Тем временем он надеется, что то, что он и его коллеги узнали из этого исследования, поможет изменить способ общения ученых с общественностью об изменении климата.

«Я думаю, что климатологи должны отступить и переосмыслить ... и использовать очень разные виды доказательств, чтобы убедить людей в том, что изменение климата реальное», - говорит он.

Финансирование исследования исходило от Фонда Робертсона и Британской академии.

Источник: Caitlin Bird для Бостонский университет

Книги по этой теме

{amazonWS: searchindex = Книги; ключевые слова = изменение климата; maxresults = 3}

enafarZH-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Следуйте за InnerSelf

facebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

ВНУТРЕННИЕ ГОЛОСЫ

В поисках более осмысленной и целеустремленной жизни
В поисках более осмысленной и целеустремленной жизни
by Фрэнк Паскиути, доктор философии

САМОЕ ЧИТАЕМОЕ

В поисках более осмысленной и целеустремленной жизни
В поисках более осмысленной и целеустремленной жизни
by Фрэнк Паскиути, доктор философии
Как вы говорите своим детям о разводе?
Как вы говорите своим детям о разводе?
by Монтель Уильямс и Джеффри Гардер, доктор философии

Cooler Temperatures and Climate Skeptics Go Together Like Peas And Carrots

Cooler Temperatures and Climate Skeptics Go Together Like Peas And Carrots

Experiencing record high or low temperatures affects people’s stated belief in climate change, new research finds.

The work began when Robert Kaufmann, professor of earth and environment at Boston University, and PhD candidate Xiaojing Tang wanted to develop a new measure of local climate change based on record high and low temperatures in the US. This index, called TMax, rises as the number of recent record high temperatures increases relative to the number of recent record low temperatures.

After Tang calculated TMax using data from weather stations across the United States, he presented a map to Kaufmann, who was surprised to see a pattern.

“It clicked in my mind,” says Kaufmann, lead author of the study in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences. “It looked like where people do and do not believe in climate change.”

Specifically, Tang’s map of TMax resembled maps that climate change researcher and study coauthor Peter Howe, assistant professor of environment and society at Utah State University, had compiled showing the percentage of state and county residents who, in 2013, answered yes to the question: “Is global warming happening?”

The climate picture is complicated because the US is both warming and cooling. If climate in the country remained stable, only about 5 percent of weather stations would, simply by chance, show local warming or cooling. Instead, Kaufmann and his team saw that nearly 50 percent of weather stations had high values for TMax, indicating local warming over time. Unexpectedly, about 10 percent of weather stations showed local cooling, with more frequent recent record cold temperatures.

Looking at the map, warming areas are located at the coasts, cooling areas in the middle of the country, near the Ohio and Mississippi rivers.

high low tempsA map of United States counties shows how well Kaufmann’s measure of climate change predicts where people agree that Earth’s climate is warming. In dark red counties, record high temperatures are more recent and predict that people would believe that the globe is warming, and they do. On the other side, dark blue counties show record low temperatures are more recent and predicted people would be skeptical, and, again, that was found to be the case. (Credit: courtesy of PNAS)

When Kaufmann and his collaborators compared the map of TMax directly to Howe’s, they found a correlation: in counties where recent weather was dominated by record low temperatures, a smaller percentage of people were likely to agree that global warming was happening.

Why might this be? Study coauthor Jacqueline Liederman, professor of psychological and brain sciences at Boston University and director of the university’s Cognitive Neurophysiology Lab, believes it’s because humans are prone to learn from their own experiences. What they hear from leading scientists doesn’t dissuade them from what they see for themselves.

“We know people have certain biases,” says Liederman. One of these biases is something called “recency weighting,” the tendency for people to assign more value to events that have happened recently, even if they don’t fit a long pattern over time. This was especially true for counties that experienced recent low temperatures. Even if the data showed that record high temperatures were more recent over the past 30 to 50 years, people in counties where there had been many record lows since 2005 were more skeptical of global warming.

Liederman explains that the research also reflected an effect called “confirmation bias.” Essentially, it isn’t easy for anyone to accept information that goes against entrenched beliefs, so conflicting evidence is ignored. The effect of confirmation bias was one-sided in the study, found only in areas where there were recent cold temperatures. If you are more likely to trust your personal experience, and it’s been cold recently, you can discount a rogue record high temperature as just a hot day, rather than evidence of global warming.

Areas with more record low temperatures tended to be in traditionally conservative areas of the country, counties where belief in global warming was already low. Climate change is a politically charged topic in the United States and stark divisions exist along party lines regarding how serious the problem is and what the consequences will be, according to the Pew Research Center. But Kaufmann’s study found that local climate affected people’s willingness to believe in global warming beyond what party affiliation would suggest.

Kaufmann’s group is planning a future project to better determine whether political allegiances affect how people learn from experience. In the meantime, he hopes that what he and his colleagues have learned from this study will help change the way that scientists communicate with the public about climate change.

“I think climate scientists have to step back and rethink…and use very different sorts of evidence to convince people that climate change is real,” he says.

Funding for the study came from the Robertson Foundation and the British Academy.

Source: Caitlin Bird for Boston University

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=climate denial;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

CULTURE WARS

what is populism 2 7

What Actually Is This Thing Called Populism?

Octavia Bryant and Benjamin Moffitt
No doubt thanks to Donald Trump, Brexit, and a string of anti-establishment leaders and parties in Europe, Latin America and Asia, everyone seems to be talking about populism

DEMOCRACY

Compassionate Actions and Ripples of Change

Compassionate Actions and Ripples of Change

Jalaja Bonheim, PhD.
I believe there is. When we speak of activism, we usually think of organized activities. Yet beyond that, we all have opportunities to act in ways that reflect our desire for social justice and peace. Whether or not we’re “official” activists, we’re always…

ECONOMY

How Electric Cars Could Make America's Crumbling Roads Even Worse

How Electric Cars Could Make America's Crumbling Roads Even Worse

Jay L. Zagorsky
U.S. roads and bridges are in abysmal shape – and that was before the recent winter storms made things even worse.

ENVIRONMENT & CLIMATE

Could Climate Change Spark A Global Financial Crisis?

Could Climate Change Spark A Global Financial Crisis?

Korey Pasch
The dire climate change situation continues to make headlines and inspire actions like the Sunrise Movement.

HOSTILITES

Attaining Peace Must Be The Cause of Every Individual

Attaining Peace Must Be The Cause of Every Individual

Rick Munoz
When I was 4 years old, my grandfather died. The preacher said "por fin el a alcanzado la paz" which means (in Spanish) that he has finally reached peace. As I listened to him I began to think that peace was really important if grandfather had to go away to…

JUSTICE & CIVIL LIBERTY

Most People Don't Realize What Companies Can Predict From Their Data

Most People Don't Realize What Companies Can Predict From Their Data

Emilee Rader
Sixty-seven percent of smartphone users rely on Google Maps to help them get to where they are going quickly and efficiently.