Seit Jahren behaupten die Konservativen, dass die Liberalen "Deviancy Down definieren"

Einmal warnten die Konservativen davor, dass die Liberalen den Deviancy Down definierten

Anmerkung der Redaktion: Ich habe mich in der Vergangenheit damit zufrieden gegeben, dass es The Pate Roman und Filme waren, die The "Junge Republikaner"Von meinen College-Tagen einige ihrer moralischen Kompass. Sie waren von der Saga verliebt. Heute ist es diese verzogene Gefühl der Moral, die unsere Welt verdorben hat.


Am vergangenen Mittwoch, am Vorabend seiner Wahl in das Repräsentantenhaus, schlug Montana Republikaner Greg Gianforte Ben Jacobs, einen Reporter für die Zeitung "Guardian".

Was hat die Gewalt ausgelöst? Jacobs hatte Gianforte um seine Reaktion auf den Bericht des Congressional Budget Office gebeten, aus dem hervorging, dass der republikanische Ersatz für das Affordable Care Act dazu führen würde, dass 23 Millionen Amerikaner ihre Krankenversicherung verlieren würden.

Dann, in der Worte eines Fox News Teams Wer hat den brutalen Angriff miterlebt? «Gianforte packte Jacobs mit beiden Händen am Hals und knallte ihn hinter sich auf den Boden. ... Gianforte begann dann den Reporter zu schlagen. Als Gianforte sich auf Jacobs setzte, begann er etwas zu schreien: "Ich bin krank und satt davon!" Jacobs kletterte auf die Knie und sagte etwas über seine Brille gebrochen zu werden .... Um es klar zu sagen, keiner von uns, der Zeuge dieses Angriffs wurde, sah, dass Jacobs irgendeine Form von körperlicher Aggression gegenüber Gianforte zeigte, der das Gebiet verließ, nachdem er den Stellvertretern des örtlichen Sheriffs Erklärungen gegeben hatte. "

Nach dem Angriff wurde Jacobs in einem Krankenwagen am Tatort untersucht und zum Bozeman Health Deaconess Hospital gebracht. Einige Stunden später verließ er das Krankenhaus mit einer Schlinge um den Arm. Gianforte war berechnet mit Fehlverhalten Angriff.

Donald Trumps Reaktion? In Sizilien für den G-7-Gipfel, lobte er Greg Gianforte Wahl als "großer Sieg in Montana"

Jahrelang warnten Konservative, dass Liberale "Defizienz definieren", indem sie schlechtes soziales Verhalten tolerieren.

Donald Trump definiert die Devianz in der amerikanischen Politik aktiv. Er macht Amerika auch schlechter.

Letztes Jahr sagte Trump von einem Demonstranten bei einer seiner Kundgebungen: "Ich würde ihm gerne ins Gesicht schlagen." Er fügte hinzu "Früher wurden Demonstranten auf Bahren durchgeführt. "

In einer anderen Ära, als Anstand die Norm war, würden die Mitglieder des US-Repräsentantenhauses keinen Schläger wie Gianforte in der Kammer sitzen. Im Zeitalter von Trump ist es in Ordnung, einen Reporter zu verprügeln.

Charlie Sykes, ein konservativer ehemaliger Talkmaster in Wisconsin, sagt "Jedes Mal, wenn etwas wie Montana passiert, passen die Republikaner ihre Standards an und legen großen Wert auf Teamtreue. Sie normalisieren und akzeptieren zuvor inakzeptables Verhalten. "

Gianforts Angriff auf Jacobs war beschämend genug. Fast so beschämend war Gianfortes Pressemitteilung Über was geschah, schrieb unmittelbar danach sein Kampagnensprecher Shane Scanlon:

Nachdem er Jacobs gebeten hatte, den Blockflöte zu senken, lehnte Jacobs ab. Greg versuchte dann, das Telefon zu ergreifen, das ihm ins Gesicht gedrückt wurde. Jacobs packte Gregs Handgelenk und drehte sich von Greg weg, schob sie beide zu Boden. Es ist bedauerlich, dass dieses aggressive Verhalten eines liberalen Journalisten diese Szene bei unserem Kampagnen-Freiwilligen-BBQ geschaffen hat. "

Das war alles eine offensichtliche Lüge, wie die Fox News-Crew bestätigte, die die ganze Sache beobachtete. Aber unter Trump ist unverhohlenes Lügen die neue Norm. Und ein "liberaler Journalist" ist der Feind.

Kathleen Hall Jamieson, Professorin an der Annenberg School of Communication an der University of Pennsylvania, sagt dass Donald Trump "zu einem Klima des Diskurses beigetragen hat, das mit dem Angriff auf einen Reporter einhergeht, der eine unbequeme Frage stellt."

Es war einmal so, dass Kandidaten und gewählte Vertreter die Pflicht hatten, Fragen von Reportern zu beantworten. Wir gingen davon aus, dass die Beantwortung von Fragen aus der Presse Teil des Jobs war. Wir dachten, die Demokratie hänge davon ab.

Aber wir sind jetzt in der Ära von Donald Trump, der die Presse die "Feind des amerikanischen Volkes."

In den Vereinigten Staaten war es nie der Fall, dass Kandidaten oder gewählte Beamte Reporter verprügelten, die Fragen stellten, die sie nicht mochten. So etwas ist in Diktaturen vorgekommen.

Aber "Trump hat die offene Saison für Journalisten erklärt, und Politiker und Mitglieder seines Kabinetts haben sich der Jagd angeschlossen." sagt Lucy Dalglish, der Dekan des Philip Merrill College of Journalism an der Universität von Maryland.

Allgemeiner und bedrohlicher hat Trump die dunkle Seite der amerikanischen Psyche lizenziert. Seine Hass- und Rachsucht hat eine neue Gemeinheit in Amerika normalisiert.

Seit Trump auf der Bildfläche ist, sind Hassverbrechen in die Höhe geschnellt. Amerika ist noch polarisierter geworden. Durchschnittliche Amerikaner sagen und machen Dinge zu Leuten, denen sie zu einer anderen Zeit nicht zustimmen, wären undenkbar gewesen.

"Ich würde einreichen, dass der Präsident einige Dämonen ausgegraben hat," sagt Rep. Mark Sanford, ein republikanischer Vertreter aus South Carolina. "Ich habe zu Hause mit einer Reihe von Leuten darüber gesprochen. Sie sagen: "Nun, sieh mal, wenn der Präsident was sagen kann, warum kann ich nichts sagen?" Er hat ihnen eine Lizenz gegeben. "

Die neue Gemeinheit findet auch ihren Weg nach Washington, wo Trump Medicaid, Sozialversicherungsunfähigkeit und Essensmarken kürzen will, damit die Reichen große Steuersenkungen bekommen können; Aufhebung der Affordable Care Act und schieben 23 Millionen Amerikaner von der Krankenversicherung; und schließen Sie arme junge Leute für das Verkaufen von ein paar Unzen von Drogen ein, während Sie Fettkatzen reichen lassen, die auf Insiderinformationen handeln.

Ein Präsident trägt dazu bei, die Normen unserer Gesellschaft festzulegen. Trump setzt sie auf ein neues Tief.

Über den Autor

Robert ReichRobert B. Reich, Bundeskanzlerin Professor of Public Policy an der Universität von Kalifornien in Berkeley, war Secretary of Labor in der Clinton-Administration. Time Magazine nannte ihn einen der zehn wirksamsten Kabinettssekretäre des letzten Jahrhunderts. Er hat dreizehn Bücher, darunter die Bestseller geschrieben "Aftershock"Und"The Work of Nations. "Sein jüngstes"Darüber hinaus Outrage, "Ist nun als Taschenbuch. Er ist auch Gründer und Herausgeber des American Prospect Magazine und Vorsitzender des Common Cause.

Bücher von Robert Reich

Kapitalismus sparen: Für die Vielen, nicht die Wenigen - von Robert B. Reich

0345806220Amerika wurde einst von seiner großen und wohlhabenden Mittelklasse gefeiert und definiert. Jetzt schrumpft diese Mittelschicht, eine neue Oligarchie steigt, und das Land steht in achtzig Jahren vor der größten Ungleichheit seines Reichtums. Warum ist das Wirtschaftssystem, das Amerika stark machte, plötzlich versagt und wie kann es behoben werden?

Klicken Sie hier (EN) für weitere Informationen oder um dieses Buch bei Amazon bestellen.

Darüber hinaus Outrage: Was ist da mit unserer Wirtschaft und unserer Demokratie falsch, und wie man es beheben -- von Robert B. Reich

Darüber hinaus OutrageIn diesem rechtzeitige Buch argumentiert Robert B. Reich, dass nichts Gutes passiert in Washington, es sei denn die Bürger angeregt werden und organisiert, dass Washington Handlungen in der Öffentlichkeit gut zu machen. Der erste Schritt ist, um das große Bild zu sehen. Darüber hinaus Outrage verbindet die Punkte, zeigen, warum der zunehmende Anteil von Einkommen und Vermögen geht an die Spitze von Wachstum und Beschäftigung für alle anderen humpelte hat, untergräbt unsere Demokratie; verursacht Amerikaner zunehmend zynisch über das öffentliche Leben, und wandten sich viele Amerikaner gegeneinander. Er erklärt auch, warum die Vorschläge der "regressive rechts" völlig falsch sind und bietet einen klaren Fahrplan, was muss stattdessen getan werden. Hier ist ein Plan für die Aktion für alle, die über die Zukunft des America kümmert.

Klicken Sie hier (EN) für weitere Informationen oder um dieses Buch bei Amazon bestellen.

Bücher zum Thema:

{amazonWS: searchindex = All; keywords = der Pate; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

For Years Conservatives Claimed That Liberals Were "Defining Deviancy Down"

 

Once Conservatives Warned That Liberals Were Defining Deviancy Down

Editor's note: I have contented in the past that it was The Godfather novel and movies that gave The "Young Republicans" of my college days some of their moral compass. They were enamored by the saga. Today it is this warped sense of morality that has corrupted our world.


Last Wednesday, on the eve of his election to the House of Representatives, Montana Republican Greg Gianforte beat up Ben Jacobs, a reporter for the “Guardian" newspaper.

What prompted the violence? Jacobs had asked Gianforte for his reaction to the Congressional Budget Office’s report showing that the House Republican substitute for the Affordable Care Act would result in 23 million Americans losing their health insurance.

Then, in the words of a Fox News team who witnessed the brutal attack: “Gianforte grabbed Jacobs by the neck with both hands and slammed him into the ground behind him. … Gianforte then began punching the reporter. As Gianforte moved on top of Jacobs, he began yelling something to the effect of, ‘I’m sick and tired of this!’ Jacobs scrambled to his knees and said something about his glasses being broken…. To be clear, at no point did any of us who witnessed this assault see Jacobs show any form of physical aggression toward Gianforte, who left the area after giving statements to local sheriff’s deputies.”

After the attack, Jacobs was evaluated in an ambulance at the scene and taken to Bozeman Health Deaconess Hospital. Several hours later he left the hospital wearing a sling around his arm. Gianforte was charged with misdemeanor assault.

Donald Trump’s reaction? In Sicily for the G-7 summit, he praised Greg Gianforte’s election as a “great win in Montana.”

For years, conservatives warned that liberals were “defining deviancy down” by tolerating bad social behavior.

Donald Trump is actively defining deviancy down in American politics. He’s also making America meaner.  

Last year, Trump said of a protester at one of his campaign rallies: “I’d like to punch him in the face.” He added in the old days, protesters would be carried out on stretchers.“

In a different era, when decency was the norm, the members of the U.S. House of Representatives would not seat a thug like Gianforte in the chamber. In the age of Trump, it’s okay to beat up a reporter.

Charlie Sykes, a conservative former talk-show host in Wisconsin, says “every time something like Montana happens, Republicans adjust their standards and put an emphasis on team loyalty. They normalize and accept previously unacceptable behavior.”

Gianforte’s attack on Jacobs was shameful enough. Almost as shameful was Gianforte’s press release about what occurred, written immediately afterward by his campaign spokesman, Shane Scanlon:

“After asking Jacobs to lower the recorder, Jacobs declined. Greg then attempted to grab the phone that was pushed in his face. Jacobs grabbed Greg’s wrist and spun away from Greg, pushing them both to the ground. It’s unfortunate that this aggressive behavior from a liberal journalist created this scene at our campaign volunteer BBQ.”

This was all a blatant lie, as confirmed by the Fox News crew that watched the whole thing. But under Trump, blatant lying is the new normal. And a “liberal journalist” is the enemy.

Kathleen Hall Jamieson, a professor at the University of Pennsylvania’s Annenberg School for Communication, says that Donald Trump “has contributed to a climate of discourse consistent with assaulting a reporter for asking an inconvenient question.”

It used to be that candidates and elected officials had a duty to answer reporters’ questions. We assumed that answering questions from the press was part of the job. We thought democracy depended on it. 

But we’re now in the era of Donald Trump, who calls the press the “enemy of the American people.

It was never the case in the United States that candidates or elected officials beat up reporters who posed questions they didn’t like. That kind of thing occurred in dictatorships. 

But “Trump has declared open season on journalists, and politicians and members of his Cabinet have joined the hunt.” says Lucy Dalglish, the dean of Philip Merrill College of Journalism at the University of Maryland.

More generally and menacingly, Trump has licensed the dark side of the American psyche. His hatefulness and vindictiveness have normalized a new meanness in America.

Since Trump came on the scene, hate crimes have soared. America has become even more polarized. Average Americans say and do things to people they disagree with that in a different time would have been unthinkable. 

“I’d submit that the president has unearthed some demons,” says Rep. Mark Sanford, a Republican Representative from South Carolina.  “I’ve talked to a number of people about it back home. They say, ‘Well, look, if the president can say whatever, why can’t I say whatever?’ He’s given them license.”

The new meanness is also finding its way to Washington, where Trump wants to slash Medicaid, Social Security disability, and food stamps so the rich can get big tax cuts; repeal the Affordable Care Act and shove 23 million Americans off health insurance; and lock up poor young people for selling a few ounces of drugs while letting fat cats get rich trading on inside information. 

A president contributes to setting the norms of our society. Trump is setting them at a new low.

About the Author

Robert ReichROBERT B. REICH, Chancellor’s Professor of Public Policy at the University of California at Berkeley, was Secretary of Labor in the Clinton administration. Time Magazine named him one of the ten most effective cabinet secretaries of the last century. He has written thirteen books, including the best sellers “Aftershock" and “The Work of Nations." His latest, "Beyond Outrage," is now out in paperback. He is also a founding editor of the American Prospect magazine and chairman of Common Cause.

Books by Robert Reich

Saving Capitalism: For the Many, Not the Few -- by Robert B. Reich

0345806220America was once celebrated for and defined by its large and prosperous middle class. Now, this middle class is shrinking, a new oligarchy is rising, and the country faces its greatest wealth disparity in eighty years. Why is the economic system that made America strong suddenly failing us, and how can it be fixed?

Click here for more info or to order this book on Amazon.

 

Beyond Outrage: What has gone wrong with our economy and our democracy, and how to fix it -- by Robert B. Reich

Beyond OutrageIn this timely book, Robert B. Reich argues that nothing good happens in Washington unless citizens are energized and organized to make sure Washington acts in the public good. The first step is to see the big picture. Beyond Outrage connects the dots, showing why the increasing share of income and wealth going to the top has hobbled jobs and growth for everyone else, undermining our democracy; caused Americans to become increasingly cynical about public life; and turned many Americans against one another. He also explains why the proposals of the “regressive right” are dead wrong and provides a clear roadmap of what must be done instead. Here’s a plan for action for everyone who cares about the future of America.

Click here for more info or to order this book on Amazon.

Related Books:

{amazonWS:searchindex=All;keywords=the godfather;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

CULTURE WARS

what is populism 2 7

What Actually Is This Thing Called Populism?

Octavia Bryant and Benjamin Moffitt
No doubt thanks to Donald Trump, Brexit, and a string of anti-establishment leaders and parties in Europe, Latin America and Asia, everyone seems to be talking about populism

DEMOCRACY

Compassionate Actions and Ripples of Change

Compassionate Actions and Ripples of Change

Jalaja Bonheim, PhD.
I believe there is. When we speak of activism, we usually think of organized activities. Yet beyond that, we all have opportunities to act in ways that reflect our desire for social justice and peace. Whether or not we’re “official” activists, we’re always…

ECONOMY

How Electric Cars Could Make America's Crumbling Roads Even Worse

How Electric Cars Could Make America's Crumbling Roads Even Worse

Jay L. Zagorsky
U.S. roads and bridges are in abysmal shape – and that was before the recent winter storms made things even worse.

ENVIRONMENT & CLIMATE

Could Climate Change Spark A Global Financial Crisis?

Could Climate Change Spark A Global Financial Crisis?

Korey Pasch
The dire climate change situation continues to make headlines and inspire actions like the Sunrise Movement.

HOSTILITES

Attaining Peace Must Be The Cause of Every Individual

Attaining Peace Must Be The Cause of Every Individual

Rick Munoz
When I was 4 years old, my grandfather died. The preacher said "por fin el a alcanzado la paz" which means (in Spanish) that he has finally reached peace. As I listened to him I began to think that peace was really important if grandfather had to go away to…

JUSTICE & CIVIL LIBERTY

Most People Don't Realize What Companies Can Predict From Their Data

Most People Don't Realize What Companies Can Predict From Their Data

Emilee Rader
Sixty-seven percent of smartphone users rely on Google Maps to help them get to where they are going quickly and efficiently.