Pendant des années, les conservateurs ont prétendu que les libéraux «définissaient la déviance»

Une fois que les conservateurs ont averti que les libéraux définissaient la déviance

Note de la rédaction: Je me suis contenté dans le passé que c'était le roman du Parrain et les films qui ont donné le "Jeunes républicains"de mes jours de collège une partie de leur boussole morale.Ils ont été séduits par la saga.C'est aujourd'hui ce sens de la morale déformé qui a corrompu notre monde.


Mercredi dernier, à la veille de son élection à la Chambre des représentants, le républicain du Montana Greg Gianforte a battu Ben Jacobs, journaliste du journal «Guardian».

Qu'est-ce qui a déclenché la violence? Jacobs avait demandé à Gianforte pour sa réaction au rapport du Congressional Budget Office montrant que le substitut républicain de la Chambre pour l'Affordable Care Act entraînerait 23 millions d'Américains à perdre leur assurance santé.

Ensuite, dans le mots d'une équipe de Fox News qui a été témoin de l'attaque brutale: "Gianforte attrapé Jacobs par le cou des deux mains et l'a claqué dans le sol derrière lui. ... Gianforte a alors commencé à frapper le journaliste. Alors que Gianforte se déplaçait au-dessus de Jacobs, il commença à crier quelque chose comme: «J'en ai marre de ça! Jacobs se mit à genoux et dit quelque chose à propos de ses lunettes cassées ... Pour être clair, aucun d'entre nous qui a été témoin de cette agression n'a vu Jacobs montrer aucune forme d'agression physique envers Gianforte, qui a quitté la région après avoir fait des déclarations aux députés du shérif local. "

Après l'attaque, Jacobs a été évalué dans une ambulance sur les lieux et emmené à l'hôpital Bozeman Health Deaconess. Plusieurs heures plus tard, il a quitté l'hôpital avec une écharpe autour du bras. Gianforte était accusé avec agression délit.

La réaction de Donald Trump? En Sicile pour le sommet du G-7, il a salué l'élection de Greg Gianforte comme "belle victoire au Montana".

Pendant des années, les conservateurs ont averti que les libéraux «définissaient la déviance» en tolérant un mauvais comportement social.

Donald Trump définit activement la déviance dans la politique américaine. Il rend aussi l'Amérique plus méchante.

L'année dernière, Trump a dit d'un manifestant à l'un de ses rassemblements de campagne: "J'aimerais le frapper au visage." Il ajouta "Dans l'ancien temps, les manifestants étaient menés sur des civières. "

À une époque différente, lorsque la décence était la norme, les membres de la Chambre des représentants des États-Unis n'assisaient pas un voyou comme Gianforte à la Chambre. À l'époque de Trump, c'est correct de battre un journaliste.

Charlie Sykes, un ancien animateur de talk-show conservateur dans le Wisconsin, dit "Chaque fois que quelque chose comme le Montana arrive, les républicains ajustent leurs normes et mettent l'accent sur la loyauté de l'équipe. Ils normalisent et acceptent les comportements inacceptables. "

L'attaque de Gianforte contre Jacobs était assez honteuse. Presque aussi honteux était Gianforte communiqué de presse à propos de ce qui s'est passé, écrit immédiatement après par son porte-parole de la campagne, Shane Scanlon:

"Après avoir demandé à Jacobs de baisser l'enregistreur, Jacobs a refusé. Greg a alors tenté de saisir le téléphone qui lui a été poussé au visage. Jacobs attrapa le poignet de Greg et s'éloigna de Greg, les poussant tous deux vers le sol. Il est regrettable que ce comportement agressif d'un journaliste libéral ait créé cette scène lors du BBQ des bénévoles de notre campagne. "

C'était tout un mensonge flagrant, comme l'a confirmé l'équipe de Fox News qui a regardé le tout. Mais sous Trump, le mensonge flagrant est la nouvelle normale. Et un "journaliste libéral" est l'ennemi.

Kathleen Hall Jamieson, professeur à l'école de communication Annenberg de l'Université de Pennsylvanie, dit que Donald Trump "a contribué à un climat de discours compatible avec l'agression d'un journaliste pour avoir posé une question gênante."

Auparavant, les candidats et les élus avaient le devoir de répondre aux questions des journalistes. Nous avons supposé que répondre aux questions de la presse faisait partie du travail. Nous pensions que la démocratie en dépendait.

Mais nous sommes maintenant dans l'ère de Donald Trump, qui appelle la presse le "ennemi du peuple américain."

Il n'a jamais été le cas aux États-Unis que des candidats ou des élus ont battu des journalistes qui posaient des questions qu'ils n'aimaient pas. Ce genre de chose s'est produit dans les dictatures.

Mais "Trump a déclaré ouvert saison sur les journalistes, et les politiciens et les membres de son cabinet ont rejoint la chasse." dit Lucy Dalglish, le doyen du Philip Merrill College of Journalism à l'Université du Maryland.

Plus généralement et menaçant, Trump a autorisé le côté obscur de la psyché américaine. Sa haine et sa vindicte ont normalisé une nouvelle méchanceté en Amérique.

Depuis que Trump est entré en scène, les crimes de haine ont explosé. L'Amérique est devenue encore plus polarisée. Les Américains moyens disent et font des choses à des gens avec lesquels ils sont en désaccord avec le fait qu'à une époque différente, cela aurait été impensable.

"Je dirais que le président a mis au jour des démons" dit Rep. Mark Sanford, un représentant républicain de la Caroline du Sud. "J'en ai parlé à plusieurs personnes à la maison. Ils disent: «Eh bien, regardez, si le président peut dire quoi que ce soit, pourquoi je ne peux pas dire quoi que ce soit? Il leur a donné une licence. "

La nouvelle méchanceté trouve également son chemin à Washington, où Trump veut réduire Medicaid, invalidité de la sécurité sociale, et les coupons alimentaires afin que les riches peuvent obtenir de grandes réductions d'impôt; abroger l'Affordable Care Act et repousser 23 millions d'Américains hors assurance maladie; et enfermer des jeunes gens pauvres pour vendre quelques onces de drogue tout en laissant les gros chats devenir riches en échange d'informations privilégiées.

Un président contribue à établir les normes de notre société. Trump les place à un nouveau niveau bas.

A propos de l'auteur

Robert ReichRobert B. Reich, professeur émérite de politique publique à l'Université de Californie à Berkeley, a été ministre du Travail dans l'administration Clinton. Time Magazine l'a nommé l'un des dix secrétaires de cabinet les plus efficaces du siècle dernier. Il a écrit treize livres, y compris les meilleurs vendeurs "Aftershock"Et"The Work of Nations. "Son dernier,"Au-delà de Outrage, "Est maintenant en livre de poche. Il est également rédacteur en chef fondateur du magazine American Prospect et président de Common Cause.

Livres par Robert Reich

Sauver le capitalisme: pour le plus grand nombre, pas le peu - par Robert B. Reich

0345806220L'Amérique était autrefois célébrée pour et définie par sa classe moyenne grande et prospère. Maintenant, cette classe moyenne se rétrécit, une nouvelle oligarchie se lève et le pays fait face à sa plus grande disparité de richesse en quatre-vingts ans. Pourquoi le système économique qui a fait la force de l'Amérique nous a-t-il brusquement échoué, et comment peut-il être réparé?

Cliquer ici pour plus d'information ou pour commander ce livre sur Amazon.

Au-delà Outrage: Qu'est-ce qui a mal tourné avec notre économie et de notre démocratie, et comment y remédier -- par Robert B. Reich

Au-delà de OutrageDans ce livre, en temps opportun, Robert B. Reich affirme que rien de bon ne se passe à Washington si les citoyens sont sous tension et organisé pour s'assurer que les actes de Washington dans l'intérêt public. La première étape consiste à voir la grande image. Au-delà Outrage relie les points, en montrant pourquoi la part croissante des revenus et des richesses allant vers le haut a entravé emplois et de croissance pour tout le monde, mine notre démocratie, provoquée Américains à devenir de plus en plus cynique de la vie publique, et se tourna de nombreux Américains contre l'autre. Il explique également pourquoi les propositions du «droit régressive» sont tout à fait tort et fournit une feuille de route claire de ce qui doit être fait à la place. Voici un plan d'action pour tous ceux qui se soucie de l'avenir de l'Amérique.

Cliquer ici pour plus d'information ou pour commander ce livre sur Amazon.

Livres connexes:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Tous; mots-clés = le parrain; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

suivez InnerSelf sur

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

For Years Conservatives Claimed That Liberals Were "Defining Deviancy Down"

 

Once Conservatives Warned That Liberals Were Defining Deviancy Down

Editor's note: I have contented in the past that it was The Godfather novel and movies that gave The "Young Republicans" of my college days some of their moral compass. They were enamored by the saga. Today it is this warped sense of morality that has corrupted our world.


Last Wednesday, on the eve of his election to the House of Representatives, Montana Republican Greg Gianforte beat up Ben Jacobs, a reporter for the “Guardian" newspaper.

What prompted the violence? Jacobs had asked Gianforte for his reaction to the Congressional Budget Office’s report showing that the House Republican substitute for the Affordable Care Act would result in 23 million Americans losing their health insurance.

Then, in the words of a Fox News team who witnessed the brutal attack: “Gianforte grabbed Jacobs by the neck with both hands and slammed him into the ground behind him. … Gianforte then began punching the reporter. As Gianforte moved on top of Jacobs, he began yelling something to the effect of, ‘I’m sick and tired of this!’ Jacobs scrambled to his knees and said something about his glasses being broken…. To be clear, at no point did any of us who witnessed this assault see Jacobs show any form of physical aggression toward Gianforte, who left the area after giving statements to local sheriff’s deputies.”

After the attack, Jacobs was evaluated in an ambulance at the scene and taken to Bozeman Health Deaconess Hospital. Several hours later he left the hospital wearing a sling around his arm. Gianforte was charged with misdemeanor assault.

Donald Trump’s reaction? In Sicily for the G-7 summit, he praised Greg Gianforte’s election as a “great win in Montana.”

For years, conservatives warned that liberals were “defining deviancy down” by tolerating bad social behavior.

Donald Trump is actively defining deviancy down in American politics. He’s also making America meaner.  

Last year, Trump said of a protester at one of his campaign rallies: “I’d like to punch him in the face.” He added in the old days, protesters would be carried out on stretchers.“

In a different era, when decency was the norm, the members of the U.S. House of Representatives would not seat a thug like Gianforte in the chamber. In the age of Trump, it’s okay to beat up a reporter.

Charlie Sykes, a conservative former talk-show host in Wisconsin, says “every time something like Montana happens, Republicans adjust their standards and put an emphasis on team loyalty. They normalize and accept previously unacceptable behavior.”

Gianforte’s attack on Jacobs was shameful enough. Almost as shameful was Gianforte’s press release about what occurred, written immediately afterward by his campaign spokesman, Shane Scanlon:

“After asking Jacobs to lower the recorder, Jacobs declined. Greg then attempted to grab the phone that was pushed in his face. Jacobs grabbed Greg’s wrist and spun away from Greg, pushing them both to the ground. It’s unfortunate that this aggressive behavior from a liberal journalist created this scene at our campaign volunteer BBQ.”

This was all a blatant lie, as confirmed by the Fox News crew that watched the whole thing. But under Trump, blatant lying is the new normal. And a “liberal journalist” is the enemy.

Kathleen Hall Jamieson, a professor at the University of Pennsylvania’s Annenberg School for Communication, says that Donald Trump “has contributed to a climate of discourse consistent with assaulting a reporter for asking an inconvenient question.”

It used to be that candidates and elected officials had a duty to answer reporters’ questions. We assumed that answering questions from the press was part of the job. We thought democracy depended on it. 

But we’re now in the era of Donald Trump, who calls the press the “enemy of the American people.

It was never the case in the United States that candidates or elected officials beat up reporters who posed questions they didn’t like. That kind of thing occurred in dictatorships. 

But “Trump has declared open season on journalists, and politicians and members of his Cabinet have joined the hunt.” says Lucy Dalglish, the dean of Philip Merrill College of Journalism at the University of Maryland.

More generally and menacingly, Trump has licensed the dark side of the American psyche. His hatefulness and vindictiveness have normalized a new meanness in America.

Since Trump came on the scene, hate crimes have soared. America has become even more polarized. Average Americans say and do things to people they disagree with that in a different time would have been unthinkable. 

“I’d submit that the president has unearthed some demons,” says Rep. Mark Sanford, a Republican Representative from South Carolina.  “I’ve talked to a number of people about it back home. They say, ‘Well, look, if the president can say whatever, why can’t I say whatever?’ He’s given them license.”

The new meanness is also finding its way to Washington, where Trump wants to slash Medicaid, Social Security disability, and food stamps so the rich can get big tax cuts; repeal the Affordable Care Act and shove 23 million Americans off health insurance; and lock up poor young people for selling a few ounces of drugs while letting fat cats get rich trading on inside information. 

A president contributes to setting the norms of our society. Trump is setting them at a new low.

About the Author

Robert ReichROBERT B. REICH, Chancellor’s Professor of Public Policy at the University of California at Berkeley, was Secretary of Labor in the Clinton administration. Time Magazine named him one of the ten most effective cabinet secretaries of the last century. He has written thirteen books, including the best sellers “Aftershock" and “The Work of Nations." His latest, "Beyond Outrage," is now out in paperback. He is also a founding editor of the American Prospect magazine and chairman of Common Cause.

Books by Robert Reich

Saving Capitalism: For the Many, Not the Few -- by Robert B. Reich

0345806220America was once celebrated for and defined by its large and prosperous middle class. Now, this middle class is shrinking, a new oligarchy is rising, and the country faces its greatest wealth disparity in eighty years. Why is the economic system that made America strong suddenly failing us, and how can it be fixed?

Click here for more info or to order this book on Amazon.

 

Beyond Outrage: What has gone wrong with our economy and our democracy, and how to fix it -- by Robert B. Reich

Beyond OutrageIn this timely book, Robert B. Reich argues that nothing good happens in Washington unless citizens are energized and organized to make sure Washington acts in the public good. The first step is to see the big picture. Beyond Outrage connects the dots, showing why the increasing share of income and wealth going to the top has hobbled jobs and growth for everyone else, undermining our democracy; caused Americans to become increasingly cynical about public life; and turned many Americans against one another. He also explains why the proposals of the “regressive right” are dead wrong and provides a clear roadmap of what must be done instead. Here’s a plan for action for everyone who cares about the future of America.

Click here for more info or to order this book on Amazon.

Related Books:

{amazonWS:searchindex=All;keywords=the godfather;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

CULTURE WARS

what is populism 2 7

What Actually Is This Thing Called Populism?

Octavia Bryant and Benjamin Moffitt
No doubt thanks to Donald Trump, Brexit, and a string of anti-establishment leaders and parties in Europe, Latin America and Asia, everyone seems to be talking about populism

DEMOCRACY

Compassionate Actions and Ripples of Change

Compassionate Actions and Ripples of Change

Jalaja Bonheim, PhD.
I believe there is. When we speak of activism, we usually think of organized activities. Yet beyond that, we all have opportunities to act in ways that reflect our desire for social justice and peace. Whether or not we’re “official” activists, we’re always…

ECONOMY

How Electric Cars Could Make America's Crumbling Roads Even Worse

How Electric Cars Could Make America's Crumbling Roads Even Worse

Jay L. Zagorsky
U.S. roads and bridges are in abysmal shape – and that was before the recent winter storms made things even worse.

ENVIRONMENT & CLIMATE

Could Climate Change Spark A Global Financial Crisis?

Could Climate Change Spark A Global Financial Crisis?

Korey Pasch
The dire climate change situation continues to make headlines and inspire actions like the Sunrise Movement.

HOSTILITES

Attaining Peace Must Be The Cause of Every Individual

Attaining Peace Must Be The Cause of Every Individual

Rick Munoz
When I was 4 years old, my grandfather died. The preacher said "por fin el a alcanzado la paz" which means (in Spanish) that he has finally reached peace. As I listened to him I began to think that peace was really important if grandfather had to go away to…

JUSTICE & CIVIL LIBERTY

Most People Don't Realize What Companies Can Predict From Their Data

Most People Don't Realize What Companies Can Predict From Their Data

Emilee Rader
Sixty-seven percent of smartphone users rely on Google Maps to help them get to where they are going quickly and efficiently.