كيف التمييز الجنسي يصنع النساء مريض

كيف التمييز الجنسي يصنع النساء مريض
يحمل المتظاهر علامة #metoo في مسيرة للنساء في سياتل في يناير. 20 ، 2018.
AP Photo / Ted S. Warren

تقوم الحركات الاجتماعية الحديثة مثل مسيرة النساء ، و #MeToo ، و #TimesUp ، و #BalanceTonPorc (#OutYourPig) ، و #SayHerName لفت الانتباه إلى العنف واسع النطاق المتصل بالجنس والذي ينتشر في الولايات المتحدة وحول العالم.

يأخذ بحث العلوم الاجتماعية شكلاً مختلفًا عن الاحتجاجات ، لكنه يرسم صورة مماثلة. حديثا تقرير تشير تقديرات مراكز السيطرة على الأمراض والوقاية منها إلى أن 1 في 3 من النساء و 1 في 6 من الرجال في الولايات المتحدة يتواصلون مع العنف الجنسي في حياتهم. يُعرَّف العنف الجنسي بأنه يُجعل من الجماع الجنسي مع شخص آخر أو الإكراه جنسيا أو الاتصال الجنسي غير المرغوب فيه.

الأنواع الأخرى من التمييز الجنسي ، بما في ذلك التمييز بين الجنسين والتحرش الجنسي ، هي أكثر تواترا. 2016 تقرير من لجنة تكافؤ فرص العمل تشير التقديرات إلى أنه بين 25 في المئة إلى 85 في المئة من النساء في الولايات المتحدة تجربة التحرش الجنسي في مكان العمل في حياتهم.

تعاوننا نحن ، عالمة اجتماع وعلم الأوبئة الاجتماعية ، لمعرفة آثار التحيز الجنسي على صحة الناس.

السؤال الكبير: هل يؤذي التحيز الجنسي الصحة؟

. دراسة، نشرت مؤخرا في مجلة الصحة والسلوك الاجتماعيفحص أنماط التمييز في مكان العمل والمضايقات في الولايات المتحدة والعواقب المترتبة على الصحة البدنية والعقلية. سعينا ، أولاً ، إلى تحديد مدى انتشار هذه الأنواع من سوء المعاملة للنساء ، وكذلك بالنسبة للرجال.

كان هدفنا الثاني تحديد ما إذا كان التمييز الجنسي ، إلى جانب أشكال أخرى من التمييز والمضايقة ، قد ساهم في وجود تفاوتات صحية بين النساء والرجال.

العديد من الدراسات تبين أن النساء يميلن إلى الإبلاغ عن صحة أسوأ مقارنة بالرجال ، ونريد أن نرى ما إذا كان التمييز في مكان العمل والمضايقة قد يسهم في هذا التباين.

استخدمنا الأساليب الإحصائية لتحليل البيانات من المسح الاجتماعي العام للولايات المتحدة، مسح وطني للبالغين الناطقين بالإنجليزية والإسبانية. تحتوي كل من استطلاعات 2006 و 2010 و 2014 على قسم خاص يركز على جودة الحياة العملية في العام الماضي ، بما في ذلك أسئلة حول التمييز في الوظيفة الحالية للمستجيبين ، بالإضافة إلى تجارب المستجيبين حول التحرش الجنسي في أماكن العمل وأشكال أخرى من المضايقات.

أجاب ما مجموعه 3,724 من 5,579 المستجيبين النشطين اقتصاديًا خلال سنوات الاستطلاع الثلاث على جميع الأسئلة التي حللناها ، وتشكل هذه المجموعة أساسًا لأبحاثنا. استخدمنا إجراءات الترجيح (أي تعديلات عددية مطبقة على مجموعات من المستجيبين الذين كانوا إما أقل أو أكثر تمثيلاً في العينة ، بالنسبة لحجمهم الفعلي في عدد السكان) في جميع تحليلاتنا ، بحيث تكون بيانات GSS تعكس الولايات المتحدة تعداد السكان.

كما هو الحال مع دراسات أخرى، أظهرت نتائجنا أن النساء تقرير الصحة النفسية والجسدية أسوأ بكثير مقارنة بالرجال. عندما سُئلت: "الآن بالتفكير في صحتك العقلية ، والتي تشمل الإجهاد والاكتئاب ومشاكل العواطف ، كم عدد الأيام خلال أيام 30 الماضية كانت صحتك العقلية غير جيدة؟" ، أفادت النساء عن متوسط ​​أيام 3.6 من سوء الصحة العقلية في الماضي 30 أيام. الرجال ، في المقارنة ، أقل بكثير: متوسط ​​أيام 2.8. عندما سُئلت عن أيام صحتهن الجسدية السيئة في أيام 30 الماضية ، سجلت النساء متوسط ​​أيام 2.7 ، حيث أبلغ الرجال عن متوسط ​​أيام 2.2.

التمييز بين الجنسين أربع مرات في كثير من الأحيان

ومن بين النساء اللاتي شملهن الاستطلاع ، أفاد 8.4 في المائة بأنهن تعرضن للتمييز بين الجنسين في وظيفتهن الحالية ، وأشار 4.1 في المائة إلى أنهن تعرضن للتحرش الجنسي أثناء العمل في غضون الأشهر 12 الماضية. أفاد بعض الرجال عن التمييز بين الجنسين في مكان العمل والتحرش الجنسي أيضا ، ولكن النسبة كانت أقل بكثير (2 في المئة و 1.3 في المئة على التوالي).

بالإضافة إلى التمييز بين الجنسين والتحرش الجنسي ، قمنا أيضًا بفحص أشكال أخرى من سوء المعاملة في مكان العمل. وجدنا أن ما يقرب من ربع النساء ، أو 23 في المائة ، أشاروا إلى أنهم إما تعرضوا لشكل من أشكال التمييز ، على أساس العرق أو السن أو الجنس ، أو مزيج منهم ، في وظيفتهم الحالية أو أنهم تعرضوا لنوع من المضايقات في السنة الماضية. كان معدل سوء المعاملة الملاحظ في مكان العمل بين الرجال أقل بكثير عند نسبة 16.5.

كيف تؤذي التحرشات

كان أحد الأهداف الرئيسية لدراستنا هو فحص العلاقة بين التحرش الجنسي في مكان العمل والتمييز بين الجنسين والنتائج الصحية. استخدمنا مجموعة من التقنيات الإحصائية المتطورة لتقييم هذه العلاقات ، بما في ذلك نماذج الانحدار متعدد المتغيرات التي قدرت تأثير أشكال مختلفة من سوء المعاملة على النتائج الصحية ، مع مراعاة الأسباب المحتملة الأخرى للمرض الصحي (العمر ، وانخفاض الخلفية الاجتماعية والاقتصادية ، وما إلى ذلك).

وجدنا أن من بين النساء ، تصورات إلى حد كبير التمييز بين الجنسين مع أسوأ صحة النفس المبلغ عنها ذاتيا. النساء اللواتي ينظرن إلى التحرش الجنسي كما أفاد صحة جسدية أسوأ. لم نعثر على ارتباط كبير بين التمييز بين الجنسين والتحرش الجنسي مع النتائج الصحية بين الرجال ، ولكن قد يكون هذا نتيجة لعدد صغير من الرجال الإبلاغ عن هذه الأشكال من سوء المعاملة.

كما درسنا الآثار المشتركة للإبلاغ عن أشكال متعددة من التمييز والمضايقة. هنا وجدنا أن المستجيبين الذين ينظرون إلى أشكال متعددة من سوء المعاملة ذكرت صحة نفسية أسوأ بكثير من أولئك الذين لم يروا أي سوء معاملة ، أو مجرد شكل واحد من سوء المعاملة. بين النساء ، كان الجمع بين التمييز على أساس السن والجنس ضارًا بشكل خاص بالصحة العقلية. كان لدى النساء اللواتي أبلغن عن التمييز على أساس السن والجنس متوسط ​​9 من أيام الصحة العقلية السيئة في الأيام الماضية 30.

سبب كبير للفجوة بين الجنسين الصحة

أردنا معرفة ما إذا كان سوء معاملة مكان العمل قد ساهم في الفجوة بين الجنسين في الصحة المبلغ عنها ذاتيا. بعبارة أخرى ، استخدمت نماذجنا الإحصائية لاختبار ما إذا كان التحيز الجنسي هو الدافع وراء التفاوتات بين الجنسين في الصحة المبلغ عنها ذاتيا.

نتائجنا تشير إلى أن التمييز بين الجنسين هو المسؤول عن 9 إلى 10 في المئة من الفجوة بين الجنسين في الصحة المبلغ عنها ذاتيا. وبعبارة أخرى ، إذا كان لنا أن نخفض تواتر التمييز بين الجنسين ، فمن المرجح أن نرى انخفاضًا كبيرًا في عدم المساواة الصحية القائمة على النوع الاجتماعي.

المحادثةبشكل عام ، تشير نتائجنا إلى أن التمييز الجنسي يؤثر على صحة المرأة ورفاهيتها. التردد العالي الذي تعاني منه النساء التحيز الجنسي - في العمل و في مكان آخر - يؤكد على أهمية النظر إليه ليس فقط كمسألة العدالة الاجتماعية ، ولكن أيضا قضية الصحة العامة.

عن المؤلفين

كاثرين هارنويس ، أستاذة علم الاجتماع ، جامعة ويك فوريست وجواو لويس باستوس ، أستاذ مشارك في الصحة العامة ، جامعة ويك فوريست

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب كاثرين Harnois

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = Catherine Harnois؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

فقدان الروح واستعادة الروح في العصر الحديث
فقدان الروح واستعادة الروح في العصر الحديث
by إريكا بوينافلور ، ماجستير ، دينار
تعلم الحياة من الفطر وبرك المد
تعلم الحياة من الفطر وبرك المد
by ستيفن ناتشمانوفيتش

How Sexism Makes Women Sick

relationships

How Sexism Makes Women Sick
A protester carries a #metoo sign at a Women’s March in Seattle on Jan. 20, 2018.
AP Photo/Ted S. Warren

Recent social movements such as the Women’s March, #MeToo, #TimesUp, #BalanceTonPorc (#OutYourPig), and #SayHerName draw attention to the broad spectrum gender-related violence that is pervasive in the United States and around the world.

Social science research takes a different form than protests, but paints a similar picture. A recent report by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention estimates that 1 in 3 women and 1 in 6 men in the U.S. experience contact sexual violence in their lifetime. Contact sexual violence is defined as being made to have sexual intercourse with someone else, being sexually coerced, or having unwanted sexual contact.

Other types of sexism, including gender discrimination and sexual harassment, are even more frequent. A 2016 report from the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission estimates that between 25 percent to 85 percent of women in the U.S. experience workplace sexual harassment in their lifetimes.

We, a sociologist and a social epidemiologist, teamed up to find out the effects sexism has on people’s health.

The big question: Does sexism hurt health?

Our study, recently published in the Journal of Health and Social Behavior, examined patterns of workplace discrimination and harassment in the U.S. and the consequences for physical and mental health. We sought, first, to determine how pervasive these types of mistreatment were for women, as well as for men.

Our second goal was to determine whether sexism, along with other forms of discrimination and harassment, contributed to health disparities between women and men.

Numerous studies show that women tend to report worse health compared to men, and we wanted to see if workplace discrimination and harassment might be contributing to this disparity.

We used statistical methods to analyze data from the U.S. General Social Survey, a national survey of English- and Spanish-speaking adults. The 2006, 2010 and 2014 surveys each contain a special section focusing on the quality of working life in the past year, including questions about discrimination in respondents’ current job, as well as respondents’ experiences with workplace sexual harassment and other forms of harassment.

A total of 3,724 out of 5,579 economically active respondents across the three survey years answered all of the questions we analyzed, and this group forms the basis of our research. We used weighting procedures (i.e., numerical adjustments applied to groups of respondents which were either under or overrepresented in the sample, relative to their actual size in the population) in all our analyses, so that the GSS data would be reflective of the broader U.S. population.

As with other studies, our results showed that women report significantly worse mental and physical health compared to men. When asked, “Now thinking about your mental health, which includes stress, depression, and problems with emotions, for how many days during the past 30 days was your mental health not good?” women reported an average of 3.6 days of poor mental health in the past 30 days. Men, in comparison, reported significantly less: an average of 2.8 days. When asked about their days of poor physical health in the past 30 days, women reported an average of 2.7 days, with men reporting an average of 2.2 days.

Gender discrimination four times more often

Of the women surveyed, 8.4 percent reported experiencing gender discrimination in their current job, and 4.1 percent indicated they had experienced sexual harassment at work within the past 12 months. Some men reported workplace gender discrimination and sexual harassment too, but the percentage was significantly lower (2 percent and 1.3 percent respectively).

In addition to gender discrimination and sexual harassment, we also examined other forms of mistreatment in the workplace. We found that nearly a quarter of women, or 23 percent, indicated that they had either experienced some form of discrimination, based on race, age, or gender, or a combination, in their current job or they had experienced some type of harassment in the past year. The rate of perceived workplace mistreatment among men was significantly lower at 16.5 percent.

How harassment hurts

One of the main goals of our study was to examine the relationship between workplace sexual harassment, gender discrimination and health outcomes. We used a range of sophisticated statistical techniques to assess these relationships, including multivariate regression models which estimated the effect of various forms of mistreatment on health outcomes, while accounting for other potential causes for ill health (age, low socioeconomic background, etc.).

We found that, among women, perceptions of gender discrimination are significantly associated with worse self-reported mental health. Women who perceived sexual harassment also reported worse physical health. We did not find a significant association between gender discrimination and sexual harassment with health outcomes among men, but this may be a result of the small number of men reporting these forms of mistreatment.

We also examined the combined effects of reporting multiple forms of discrimination and harassment. Here we found that respondents who perceived multiple forms of mistreatment reported significantly worse mental health than those who perceived no mistreatment, or just one form of mistreatment. Among women, the combination of age and gender discrimination was particularly detrimental for mental health. Women who reported experiencing both age and gender discrimination had an average of 9 days of poor mental health in the past 30 days.

Big reason for health gender gap

We wanted to know whether workplace mistreatment contributed to the gender gap in self-reported health. In other words, our statistical models were used to test whether sexism was a driver of the observed gender disparities in self-reported health.

Our results suggest that gender discrimination is responsible for around 9 to 10 percent of the gender gap in self-reported health. In other words, if we were to reduce the frequency of gender discrimination, we’d likely see a significant reduction in gender-based health inequality.

The ConversationOverall, our results suggest that sexism takes a toll on women’s health and well-being. The high frequency with which women experience sexism – at work and elsewhere – underscores the importance of viewing it not only as a social justice issue, but also a public health issue.

About The Authors

Catherine Harnois, Professor of Sociology, Wake Forest University and Joao Luiz Bastos, Associate Professor of Public Health, Wake Forest University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Books by Catherine Harnois

Analyzing Inequalities: An Introduction to Race, Class, Gender, and Sexuality Using the General Social Survey
relationshipsAuthor: Catherine E. Harnois
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: SAGE Publications, Inc
List Price: $41.00

Buy Now

Feminist Measures in Survey Research
relationshipsAuthor: Catherine E. Harnois
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: SAGE Publications, Inc
List Price: $36.00

Buy Now

Feminist Measures in Survey Research by Catherine E. Harnois (2012-01-18)
relationshipsAuthor: Catherine E. (Eve) Harnois
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: SAGE Publications, Inc (2012-01-18)

Buy Now

relationships
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}