Pourquoi plus de femmes dans le gouvernement, plus une population est en bonne santé

Pourquoi plus de femmes dans le gouvernement, plus une population est en bonne santé
La ministre de la Condition féminine du Canada, Maryam Monsef, est photographiée à la Bibliothèque du Parlement sur la colline du Parlement, à Ottawa, en février 28, 2018. (LA PRESSE CANADIENNE / Sean Kilpatrick)

En novembre, 2015, le premier ministre Justin Trudeau a formé le premier gouvernement équilibré entre les sexes de l’histoire canadienne. En annonçant son cabinet, il a veillé à ce que la moitié de ses conseillers les plus proches (15 sur un total de 30) soient des femmes.

Le Cabinet canadien d'égalité entre les sexes a sauvé le pays de 20th à cinquième place dans le monde en termes de pourcentage de femmes occupant des postes ministériels.

Lorsque les journalistes ont demandé à Trudeau pourquoi la parité hommes-femmes était importante pour lui, il a répliqué:Parce que c'est 2015. ”Sa réponse, simple mais capitale, a touché les défenseurs de l'équité, de la diversité et de l'inclusion.

En tant que chercheurs en santé publique, cela nous a amenés à nous demander si l'augmentation du nombre de femmes aux postes de pouvoir favorisait l'équité entre les sexes, pourrait-elle également favoriser la santé et le bien-être de la population?

Nos résultats, publiés récemment dans la revue MSS - Santé de la population, soutenez l’argument selon lequel les femmes au gouvernement font effectivement progresser la santé de la population.

Plus de femmes au pouvoir, moins de morts

Nous avons d’abord fouillé dans la littérature de recherche pour voir comment les hommes politiques et les femmes politiques pourraient être différents. Comparées à leurs homologues masculins, les femmes politiques sont plus susceptibles d'adopter une attitude de gauche (en ce qui concerne des questions telles que les droits civils, l'égalité sociale et l'égalitarisme). et faire progresser substantiellement les droits des femmes dans des domaines tels que l'équité salariale, la violence à l'égard des femmes, les soins de santé et la politique familiale.

Deb Haaland est l'une des deux femmes amérindiennes qui ont marqué des victoires historiques au Congrès (pourquoi plus il y a de femmes au gouvernement, plus leur population est en bonne santé) Deb Haaland est l'une des deux femmes amérindiennes à avoir remporté des victoires historiques au Congrès en novembre 2018, alors qu'un nombre record de femmes ont été élues à la Chambre des représentants des États-Unis. (AP Photo / Juan Labreche)

En outre, des recherches ont montré que les femmes au gouvernement ont tendance à travailler de manière plus collaborative et bipartisane et emploient un style de leadership plus démocratique que le style plus autocratique des hommes. Les femmes sont également plus efficaces pour constituer des coalitions et parvenir à un consensus.

Nous avons ensuite examiné s'il existait une association historique entre les femmes au gouvernement et la santé de la population dans les provinces 10 du Canada. Entre 1976 et 2009, le pourcentage de femmes dans les gouvernements provinciaux a été multiplié par six, passant de 4.2 à 25.9%, tandis que la mortalité toutes causes confondues a diminué de 37.5% (de 8.85 à 5.53, par personne 1000).

À l'aide de données provenant des bureaux électoraux provinciaux et de Statistique Canada, nous avons constaté que, le pourcentage moyen de femmes au sein du gouvernement ayant augmenté par le passé, les taux de mortalité totale ont diminué.

Les femmes dépensent plus pour la santé et l'éducation

Ce lien ne signifie évidemment pas que l’augmentation du nombre de femmes au sein du gouvernement a directement causé la baisse de la mortalité.

Pour évaluer cela, nous avons régressé les taux de mortalité des femmes au gouvernement tout en contrôlant plusieurs facteurs de confusion potentiels. Nos résultats soutiennent l'hypothèse que les femmes au gouvernement font en fait progresser la santé de la population.

Jacinda Ardern, Premier ministre néo-zélandaise (plus il y a de femmes au gouvernement, plus la population est en bonne santé)La Première ministre néo-zélandaise, Jacinda Ardern, s’adresse au Parlement à Wellington, Nouvelle-Zélande, en mai 2018, alors qu’elle est enceinte de son premier enfant. Beaucoup espèrent que la jeune fille de 37 deviendra un modèle pour associer la maternité à un leadership politique. (Photo AP / Nick Perry, Fichier)

Fait intéressant, les femmes au gouvernement au Canada ont eu un effet plus marqué sur les taux de mortalité des hommes que sur les taux des femmes (décès 1.00 vs 0.44 par personne 1,000).

Nous avons également trouvé une voie qui relie les femmes au gouvernement, la santé de la population et le rôle potentiel de la politique partisane. Dans une étude précédente, nous avons constaté que quatre types de dépenses des gouvernements provinciaux permettent de prévoir des taux de mortalité plus bas: soins médicaux, soins préventifs, autres services sociaux et enseignement postsecondaire.

Lorsque nous avons testé les dépenses gouvernementales en tant que facteur de médiation, nous avons constaté que les femmes au gouvernement au Canada ont réduit les taux de mortalité en déclenchant ces types spécifiques de dépenses en faveur de la santé.

Les femmes travaillent de manière plus collaborative

Nous avons également constaté qu'il n'existait aucune relation entre les tendances politiques des femmes au gouvernement - qu'elles appartenaient à des partis de gauche, centristes ou de droite - et les taux de mortalité.

Les différences idéologiques entre les partis politiques sociaux-démocrates (par exemple, NPD), centristes (par exemple, libéraux) et conservateurs (par exemple conservateurs) semblent moins avoir une incidence sur les taux de mortalité que d'augmenter le nombre réel de femmes élues au gouvernement.

Nicola Sturgeon, Premier ministre d'Ecosse (pourquoi plus il y a de femmes au gouvernement, plus sa population est en bonne santé)Le Premier ministre écossais, Nicola Sturgeon, à gauche, se promène avec le négociateur en chef de l'Union européenne pour le Brexit Michel Barnier, avant une réunion au siège de l'Union européenne à Bruxelles le lundi mai 28, 2018. (Photo AP / Emmanuel Dunand, photo de la piscine via AP)

Cette constatation confirme l'idée selon laquelle les femmes au gouvernement ont tendance à travailler de manière plus collaborative et bipartisane que leurs homologues masculins.

C'est maintenant 2019 et les grands spécialistes de la santé publique ont encore tendance à minimiser les effets potentiels des déterminants politiques tels que les politiques de genre sur la santé de la population. Au lieu de cela, ils choisissent de se concentrer presque exclusivement sur les déterminants individuels et sociaux de la santé.

Nous croyons que la politique de genre compte pour la santé publique car elle aide à déterminer «qui obtient quoi, quand et comment".

Nous pensons que l'élection d'un plus grand nombre de femmes au gouvernement favorise non seulement l'égalité des sexes et renforce les institutions démocratiques, mais apporte également une contribution réelle et substantielle aux dépenses publiques et à la santé de la population.

Étant donné que les femmes au gouvernement peuvent entraîner des changements souhaitables dans la santé de la population, voyons comment nous pouvons véritablement niveler le terrain de jeu politique des femmes.La Conversation

À propos des auteurs

Edwin Ng, professeur adjoint, School of Social Work, Université de Waterloo et Carles Muntaner, professeur à la faculté des sciences infirmières, Université de Toronto

Cet article est republié de La Conversation sous une licence Creative Commons. Lis le article original.

Livres connexes

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; mots-clés = femmes en politique; maxresults = 3}

Why The More Women In Government, The Healthier A Population

Why The More Women In Government, The Healthier A Population
Canada’s Minister of the Status of Women Maryam Monsef is pictured in the Library of Parliament on Parliament Hill, in Ottawa on Feb. 28, 2018. (THE CANADIAN PRESS/Sean Kilpatrick)

In November 2015, Prime Minister Justin Trudeau formed the first gender-balanced cabinet in Canadian history. In announcing his cabinet, he ensured that half of his closest advisers (15 out of a total of 30) were women.

Canada’s gender-equal cabinet vaulted the country from 20th to fifth place in the world in terms of percentage of women in ministerial positions.

When reporters asked Trudeau about why gender parity was important to him, he retorted: “Because it’s 2015.” His simple yet momentous response resonated with those committed to equity, diversity and inclusion.

As public health researchers, this got us thinking — if increasing the number of women in positions of power promotes gender equity, could it also promote population health and well-being?

Our findings, published recently in the journal SSM - Population Health, support the argument that yes, women in government do in fact advance population health.

More women in power, fewer deaths

We first dug into the research literature to see how male and female politicians might differ from each other. Compared to their male counterparts, female politicians are more likely to hold left-wing attitudes (with regard to issues such as civil rights, social equality and egalitarianism) and substantively advance women’s rights in areas such as pay equity, violence against women, health care and family policy.

Deb Haaland is one of two Native American women who marked historic congressional victories (why the more women in government the healthier a population) Deb Haaland is one of two Native American women who marked historic congressional victories in November 2018 as a record number of women were elected to the U.S. House of Representatives. (AP Photo/Juan Labreche)

Also, research has shown that women in government tend to work in more collaborative and bipartisan ways and employ a more democratic leadership style compared to men’s more autocratic style. Women are also more effective at building coalitions and reaching consensus.

Next, we examined whether there’s a historical association between women in government and population health among Canada’s 10 provinces. Between 1976 and 2009, the percentage of women in provincial government increased six-fold from 4.2 per cent to 25.9 per cent, while mortality from all causes declined by 37.5 per cent (from 8.85 to 5.53 deaths per 1000 people).

Using data from provincial election offices and Statistics Canada, we found that as the average percentage of women in government has historically risen, total mortality rates have declined.

Women spend more on health and education

This link does not of course mean that the increase of women in government has directly caused the decline in mortality.

To assess this, we regressed mortality rates on women in government while controlling for several potential confounders. Our findings support the hypothesis that women in government do in fact advance population health.

New Zealand’s Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern (why the more women in government the healthier a population)New Zealand’s Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern addresses Parliament in Wellington, N.Z., in May 2018 while pregnant with her first child. Many hope the 37-year-old will become a role model for combining motherhood with political leadership. (AP Photo/Nick Perry, File)

Interestingly, women in government in Canada have had a bigger effect on male mortality rates than on female rates (1.00 vs 0.44 deaths per 1,000 people).

We also found a pathway that connects women in government, population health and the potential role of partisan politics. In an earlier study, we found that four types of provincial government spending are predictive of lower mortality rates: medical care, preventive care, other social services and post-secondary education.

When we tested government spending as a mediating factor, we found that women in government in Canada have reduced mortality rates by triggering these specific types of health-promoting expenditures.

Women work in more collaborative ways

We also found that there was no relationship between the political leanings of women in government — whether they belonged to left-wing, centrist or right-wing parties — and mortality rates.

Ideological differences among social democratic (e.g., NDP), centrist (e.g., Liberal), and fiscal conservative (e.g., Conservative) political parties seem to be less important to mortality rates than increasing the actual number of women elected to government.

Scotland’s Prime Minister Nicola Sturgeon (why the more women in government the healthier a population)Scotland’s Prime Minister Nicola Sturgeon, left, walks with European Union Chief negotiator for Brexit Michel Barnier, prior to a meeting at EU headquarters in Brussels on Monday, May 28, 2018. (AP Photo/Emmanuel Dunand, Pool Photo via AP)

This finding supports the idea that women in government tend to work in more collaborative and bipartisan ways than their male counterparts.

It’s now 2019 and leading public health scholars still tend to downplay the potential effects of political determinants such as gender politics on population health. Instead, they opt to focus almost exclusively on individual and social determinants of health.

We believe gender politics matters in public health because it helps to determine “who gets what, when and how.”

We believe that electing more women in government not only promotes gender equality and strengthens democratic institutions but also makes real and substantive contributions to government spending and population health.

Given that women in government can bring about desirable changes in population health, let’s figure out how we can genuinely level the political playing field for women.The Conversation

About The Authors

Edwin Ng, Assistant Professor, School of Social Work, University of Waterloo and Carles Muntaner, Professor, Faculty of Nursing, University of Toronto

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=women in politics;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

CULTURE WARS

what is populism 2 7

What Actually Is This Thing Called Populism?

Octavia Bryant and Benjamin Moffitt
No doubt thanks to Donald Trump, Brexit, and a string of anti-establishment leaders and parties in Europe, Latin America and Asia, everyone seems to be talking about populism

DEMOCRACY

Compassionate Actions and Ripples of Change

Compassionate Actions and Ripples of Change

Jalaja Bonheim, PhD.
I believe there is. When we speak of activism, we usually think of organized activities. Yet beyond that, we all have opportunities to act in ways that reflect our desire for social justice and peace. Whether or not we’re “official” activists, we’re always…

ECONOMY

How Electric Cars Could Make America's Crumbling Roads Even Worse

How Electric Cars Could Make America's Crumbling Roads Even Worse

Jay L. Zagorsky
U.S. roads and bridges are in abysmal shape – and that was before the recent winter storms made things even worse.

ENVIRONMENT & CLIMATE

Could Climate Change Spark A Global Financial Crisis?

Could Climate Change Spark A Global Financial Crisis?

Korey Pasch
The dire climate change situation continues to make headlines and inspire actions like the Sunrise Movement.

HOSTILITES

Attaining Peace Must Be The Cause of Every Individual

Attaining Peace Must Be The Cause of Every Individual

Rick Munoz
When I was 4 years old, my grandfather died. The preacher said "por fin el a alcanzado la paz" which means (in Spanish) that he has finally reached peace. As I listened to him I began to think that peace was really important if grandfather had to go away to…

JUSTICE & CIVIL LIBERTY

Most People Don't Realize What Companies Can Predict From Their Data

Most People Don't Realize What Companies Can Predict From Their Data

Emilee Rader
Sixty-seven percent of smartphone users rely on Google Maps to help them get to where they are going quickly and efficiently.