Warum mehr Frauen in der Regierung, die gesündere Bevölkerung

Warum mehr Frauen in der Regierung, die gesündere Bevölkerung
Die kanadische Ministerin für den Status der Frau, Maryam Monsef, ist am Februar 28, 2018, in der Parlamentsbibliothek auf dem Parliament Hill in Ottawa abgebildet. (Die kanadische Presse / Sean Kilpatrick)

Im November gründete Premierminister Justin Trudeau das erste geschlechtergerechte Kabinett in der kanadischen Geschichte. Bei der Ankündigung seines Kabinetts stellte er sicher, dass die Hälfte seiner engsten Berater (2015 von insgesamt 15) Frauen waren.

Das geschlechtergleiche Kabinett Kanadas hat das Land aus dem Wasser geworfen 20. zu fünfter Platz in der Welt in Prozent der Frauen in Ministerfunktionen.

Als Reporter Trudeau danach fragten, warum ihm die Gleichstellung der Geschlechter wichtig sei, gab er zurück:Weil es 2015 ist. “Seine einfache, aber bedeutsame Antwort fand bei denjenigen Ausdruck, die sich für Gerechtigkeit, Vielfalt und Inklusion einsetzen.

Als Forscher im Bereich der öffentlichen Gesundheit haben wir darüber nachgedacht. Wenn die Erhöhung der Zahl von Frauen in Machtpositionen die Gleichstellung der Geschlechter fördert, könnte dies auch die Gesundheit und das Wohlbefinden der Bevölkerung fördern?

Unsere Ergebnisse wurden kürzlich in der Zeitschrift veröffentlicht SSM - Gesundheit der Bevölkerungunterstützen das Argument, dass Frauen in der Regierung tatsächlich die Gesundheit der Bevölkerung fördern.

Mehr Frauen an der Macht, weniger Todesfälle

Wir haben uns zuerst mit der Forschungsliteratur beschäftigt, um zu sehen, wie sich männliche und weibliche Politiker voneinander unterscheiden können. Im Vergleich zu ihren männlichen Kollegen haben weibliche Politiker eher eine linke Haltung (in Bezug auf Bürgerrechte, soziale Gleichheit und Egalitarismus). und die Frauenrechte substantiell vorantreiben in Bereichen wie Lohngleichheit, Gewalt gegen Frauen, Gesundheitsfürsorge und Familienpolitik.

Deb Haaland ist eine von zwei amerikanischen Ureinwohnerinnen, die historische Siege des Kongresses markierten (weshalb je mehr Frauen in der Regierung die Bevölkerung gesünder sind) Deb Haaland ist eine von zwei amerikanischen Ureinwohnerinnen, die im November historische Kongressesiege feierten. 2018 wurde als Rekordzahl von Frauen in das US-Repräsentantenhaus gewählt. (AP Foto / Juan Labreche)

Das hat auch die Forschung gezeigt Frauen in der Regierung neigen dazu, auf kollaborative und parteiübergreifende Weise zu arbeiten und einen demokratischeren Führungsstil im Vergleich zum autokratischen Stil von Männern einsetzen. Frauen sind auch effektiver beim Aufbau von Koalitionen und beim Konsens.

Als Nächstes untersuchten wir, ob es zwischen den kanadischen Provinzen 10 einen historischen Zusammenhang zwischen Frauen in der Regierung und der Bevölkerungsgesundheit gibt. Zwischen 1976 und 2009 hat sich der Frauenanteil in der Provinz von 4.2 auf das 25.9-Prozent-Verhältnis versechsfacht, während die Mortalität aus allen Gründen um 37.5-Prozent (von 8.85 zu 5.53-Todesfällen pro 1000-Personen) gesunken ist.

Anhand von Daten der Wahlbüros der Provinz und von Statistics Canada stellten wir fest, dass der durchschnittliche Frauenanteil in der Regierung historisch gestiegen ist und die Gesamtsterblichkeitsrate gesunken ist.

Frauen geben mehr für Gesundheit und Bildung aus

Diese Verbindung bedeutet natürlich nicht, dass die Zunahme von Frauen in der Regierung unmittelbar zu einem Rückgang der Sterblichkeit geführt hat.

Um dies zu beurteilen, haben wir die Sterblichkeitsrate von Frauen in der Regierung zurückgenommen und gleichzeitig mehrere potenzielle Störfaktoren kontrolliert. Unsere Ergebnisse stützen diese Hypothese Frauen in der Regierung fördern tatsächlich die Gesundheit der Bevölkerung.

Neuseelands Premierministerin Jacinda Ardern (warum je mehr Frauen in der Regierung eine gesündere Bevölkerung sind)Die neuseeländische Premierministerin Jacinda Ardern spricht im Mai 2018 in Wellington, Neuseeland, während sie mit ihrem ersten Kind schwanger ist. Viele hoffen, dass der 37-Jährige zu einem Vorbild für die Verbindung von Mutterschaft mit politischer Führung wird. (AP Foto / Nick Perry, Datei)

Interessanterweise hatten Frauen in der kanadischen Regierung einen größeren Einfluss auf die Sterblichkeitsrate von Männern als auf Frauen (1.00 vs. 0.44-Todesfälle pro 1,000-Personen).

Wir haben auch einen Weg gefunden, der Frauen in der Regierung, der Gesundheit der Bevölkerung und der potenziellen Rolle der Partisanenpolitik verbindet. In einer früheren Studie haben wir das gefunden Vier Arten von Ausgaben der Provinzregierung prognostizieren niedrigere Sterblichkeitsraten: medizinische Versorgung, Vorsorge, andere soziale Dienste und postsekundäre Bildung.

Als wir die Staatsausgaben als einen vermittelnden Faktor testeten, stellten wir fest, dass Frauen in der kanadischen Regierung die Sterblichkeitsrate gesenkt haben, indem sie diese spezifischen Arten gesundheitsfördernder Ausgaben ausgelöst haben.

Frauen arbeiten kollaborativer

Wir fanden auch heraus, dass es keinen Zusammenhang zwischen den politischen Neigungen von Frauen in der Regierung - ob sie zu linken, zentristischen oder rechten Parteien gehörten - und der Sterblichkeitsrate hatte.

Ideologische Unterschiede zwischen sozialdemokratischen (z. B. NDP), zentristischen (z. B. liberalen) und fiskalkonservativen (z. B. konservativen) politischen Parteien scheinen für die Sterblichkeitsrate weniger wichtig zu sein, als die tatsächliche Anzahl von Frauen, die in die Regierung gewählt werden.

Der schottische Premierminister Nicola Sturgeon (warum je mehr Frauen in der Regierung eine gesündere Bevölkerung sind)Der schottische Premierminister Nicola Sturgeon verließ das Unternehmen und ging mit dem Chefunterhändler der Europäischen Union für den Brexit Michel Barnier zusammen, bevor er am Montag, Mai, 28, 2018, am Sitz der EU in Brüssel traf. (AP Foto / Emmanuel Dunand, Poolfoto über AP)

Diese Feststellung stützt die Vorstellung, dass Frauen in der Regierung eher auf kollaborative und parteiübergreifende Weise arbeiten als ihre männlichen Kollegen.

Es ist jetzt 2019, und führende Gelehrte im Bereich der öffentlichen Gesundheit neigen immer noch dazu, die potenziellen Auswirkungen politischer Determinanten wie die Geschlechterpolitik auf die Gesundheit der Bevölkerung herunterzuspielen. Stattdessen konzentrieren sie sich fast ausschließlich auf individuelle und soziale Determinanten der Gesundheit.

Wir glauben, dass Gender-Politik in der öffentlichen Gesundheit von Belang ist, weilwer bekommt was, wann und wie"

Wir glauben, dass die Wahl von mehr Frauen in der Regierung nicht nur die Gleichstellung der Geschlechter fördert und die demokratischen Institutionen stärkt, sondern auch einen echten und substantiellen Beitrag zu den Staatsausgaben und zur Gesundheit der Bevölkerung leistet.

In Anbetracht der Tatsache, dass Frauen in der Regierung wünschenswerte Veränderungen in der Bevölkerungsgesundheit bewirken können, wollen wir herausfinden, wie wir die politischen Rahmenbedingungen für Frauen wirklich angleichen können.Das Gespräch

Über den Autor

Edwin Ng, Assistenzprofessor an der School of Social Work, University of Waterloo und Carles Muntaner, Professor, Fakultät für Krankenpflege, University of Toronto

Dieser Artikel wird erneut veröffentlicht Das Gespräch unter einer Creative Commons-Lizenz. Lies das Original Artikel.

Bücher zum Thema

{amazonWS: searchindex = Bücher; Schlüsselwörter = Frauen in der Politik; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Why The More Women In Government, The Healthier A Population

Why The More Women In Government, The Healthier A Population
Canada’s Minister of the Status of Women Maryam Monsef is pictured in the Library of Parliament on Parliament Hill, in Ottawa on Feb. 28, 2018. (THE CANADIAN PRESS/Sean Kilpatrick)

In November 2015, Prime Minister Justin Trudeau formed the first gender-balanced cabinet in Canadian history. In announcing his cabinet, he ensured that half of his closest advisers (15 out of a total of 30) were women.

Canada’s gender-equal cabinet vaulted the country from 20th to fifth place in the world in terms of percentage of women in ministerial positions.

When reporters asked Trudeau about why gender parity was important to him, he retorted: “Because it’s 2015.” His simple yet momentous response resonated with those committed to equity, diversity and inclusion.

As public health researchers, this got us thinking — if increasing the number of women in positions of power promotes gender equity, could it also promote population health and well-being?

Our findings, published recently in the journal SSM - Population Health, support the argument that yes, women in government do in fact advance population health.

More women in power, fewer deaths

We first dug into the research literature to see how male and female politicians might differ from each other. Compared to their male counterparts, female politicians are more likely to hold left-wing attitudes (with regard to issues such as civil rights, social equality and egalitarianism) and substantively advance women’s rights in areas such as pay equity, violence against women, health care and family policy.

Deb Haaland is one of two Native American women who marked historic congressional victories (why the more women in government the healthier a population) Deb Haaland is one of two Native American women who marked historic congressional victories in November 2018 as a record number of women were elected to the U.S. House of Representatives. (AP Photo/Juan Labreche)

Also, research has shown that women in government tend to work in more collaborative and bipartisan ways and employ a more democratic leadership style compared to men’s more autocratic style. Women are also more effective at building coalitions and reaching consensus.

Next, we examined whether there’s a historical association between women in government and population health among Canada’s 10 provinces. Between 1976 and 2009, the percentage of women in provincial government increased six-fold from 4.2 per cent to 25.9 per cent, while mortality from all causes declined by 37.5 per cent (from 8.85 to 5.53 deaths per 1000 people).

Using data from provincial election offices and Statistics Canada, we found that as the average percentage of women in government has historically risen, total mortality rates have declined.

Women spend more on health and education

This link does not of course mean that the increase of women in government has directly caused the decline in mortality.

To assess this, we regressed mortality rates on women in government while controlling for several potential confounders. Our findings support the hypothesis that women in government do in fact advance population health.

New Zealand’s Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern (why the more women in government the healthier a population)New Zealand’s Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern addresses Parliament in Wellington, N.Z., in May 2018 while pregnant with her first child. Many hope the 37-year-old will become a role model for combining motherhood with political leadership. (AP Photo/Nick Perry, File)

Interestingly, women in government in Canada have had a bigger effect on male mortality rates than on female rates (1.00 vs 0.44 deaths per 1,000 people).

We also found a pathway that connects women in government, population health and the potential role of partisan politics. In an earlier study, we found that four types of provincial government spending are predictive of lower mortality rates: medical care, preventive care, other social services and post-secondary education.

When we tested government spending as a mediating factor, we found that women in government in Canada have reduced mortality rates by triggering these specific types of health-promoting expenditures.

Women work in more collaborative ways

We also found that there was no relationship between the political leanings of women in government — whether they belonged to left-wing, centrist or right-wing parties — and mortality rates.

Ideological differences among social democratic (e.g., NDP), centrist (e.g., Liberal), and fiscal conservative (e.g., Conservative) political parties seem to be less important to mortality rates than increasing the actual number of women elected to government.

Scotland’s Prime Minister Nicola Sturgeon (why the more women in government the healthier a population)Scotland’s Prime Minister Nicola Sturgeon, left, walks with European Union Chief negotiator for Brexit Michel Barnier, prior to a meeting at EU headquarters in Brussels on Monday, May 28, 2018. (AP Photo/Emmanuel Dunand, Pool Photo via AP)

This finding supports the idea that women in government tend to work in more collaborative and bipartisan ways than their male counterparts.

It’s now 2019 and leading public health scholars still tend to downplay the potential effects of political determinants such as gender politics on population health. Instead, they opt to focus almost exclusively on individual and social determinants of health.

We believe gender politics matters in public health because it helps to determine “who gets what, when and how.”

We believe that electing more women in government not only promotes gender equality and strengthens democratic institutions but also makes real and substantive contributions to government spending and population health.

Given that women in government can bring about desirable changes in population health, let’s figure out how we can genuinely level the political playing field for women.The Conversation

About The Authors

Edwin Ng, Assistant Professor, School of Social Work, University of Waterloo and Carles Muntaner, Professor, Faculty of Nursing, University of Toronto

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=women in politics;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

CULTURE WARS

what is populism 2 7

What Actually Is This Thing Called Populism?

Octavia Bryant and Benjamin Moffitt
No doubt thanks to Donald Trump, Brexit, and a string of anti-establishment leaders and parties in Europe, Latin America and Asia, everyone seems to be talking about populism

DEMOCRACY

Compassionate Actions and Ripples of Change

Compassionate Actions and Ripples of Change

Jalaja Bonheim, PhD.
I believe there is. When we speak of activism, we usually think of organized activities. Yet beyond that, we all have opportunities to act in ways that reflect our desire for social justice and peace. Whether or not we’re “official” activists, we’re always…

ECONOMY

How Electric Cars Could Make America's Crumbling Roads Even Worse

How Electric Cars Could Make America's Crumbling Roads Even Worse

Jay L. Zagorsky
U.S. roads and bridges are in abysmal shape – and that was before the recent winter storms made things even worse.

ENVIRONMENT & CLIMATE

Could Climate Change Spark A Global Financial Crisis?

Could Climate Change Spark A Global Financial Crisis?

Korey Pasch
The dire climate change situation continues to make headlines and inspire actions like the Sunrise Movement.

HOSTILITES

Attaining Peace Must Be The Cause of Every Individual

Attaining Peace Must Be The Cause of Every Individual

Rick Munoz
When I was 4 years old, my grandfather died. The preacher said "por fin el a alcanzado la paz" which means (in Spanish) that he has finally reached peace. As I listened to him I began to think that peace was really important if grandfather had to go away to…

JUSTICE & CIVIL LIBERTY

Most People Don't Realize What Companies Can Predict From Their Data

Most People Don't Realize What Companies Can Predict From Their Data

Emilee Rader
Sixty-seven percent of smartphone users rely on Google Maps to help them get to where they are going quickly and efficiently.