Являются ли американские выборы уязвимыми для взлома?

Являются ли американские выборы уязвимыми для взлома?

После взлома писем Демократического национального комитета и сообщений о новом кибератака против Комитета по демократическим конгрессам, беспокоиться о том, что иностранные страны могут быть тайно вовлечены в кампанию президента США 2016. Утверждения вихрят, что Россия, под руководством президента Владимира Путина, тайно пытается подорвать Демократическую партию США. Очевидная логика заключается в том, что президентство Дональда Трампа приведет к более пророссийской политике. В настоящий момент ФБР расследует, но ни одно правительственное агентство США еще не предъявило формального обвинения.

Республиканский кандидат добавил беспрецедентное топливо к огню поощряя Россию "находить" и освободить Хилари Клинтон отсутствующие письма от ее времени в качестве государственного секретаря. Комментарии Трампа вызвали резкий упрек со стороны средств массовой информации и политиков со всех сторон. Некоторые предположили, что, побуждая иностранную власть вмешиваться во внутреннюю политику, его размышления ограничивались преступностью или изменой. Трамп отступил, сказав, что комментарии были «саркастическими», подразумевая, что их нельзя воспринимать всерьез.

Конечно, желание вмешаться во внутренние политические процессы другой страны не является чем-то новым. Глобальные державы регулярно следят за своими противниками и, если сочтет это необходимым, попытаются тайно подорвать или повлиять на внешнюю внутреннюю политику в свою пользу. Например, разведывательная служба Советского Союза, занимающаяся так называемым "активные меры«Предназначен для влияния на западное мнение. Среди других усилий он распространил теории заговора о правительственных чиновниках и сфабрикованные документы, предназначенные для использования социальной напряженности 1960. Аналогичным образом разведывательные службы США проводили свою собственную секретную деятельность против иностранных политических систем - возможно, наиболее заметно ее неоднократные попытки помочь свергнуть прокоммуниста Фиделя Кастро на Кубе.

Хотя холодная война окончена, разведывательные службы по всему миру продолжают следить за внутриполитическими ситуациями других стран. Сегодняшний "операции влияния«Как правило, тонкие и стратегические. Службы разведки тайно пытаются размахивать «сердцами и умами» населения целевой страны до определенного политического результата.

Однако, что изменилось, это способность отдельных лиц, правительств, военных и преступных или террористических организаций использовать интернет-инструменты - обычно называемые cyberweapons - не только для сбора информации, но и для создания влияния в целевой группе.

Итак, каковы некоторые из технических уязвимостей, с которыми сталкиваются нации во время политических выборов, и что действительно стоит, когда иностранные державы вмешиваются во внутренние политические процессы?

Уязвимости в электронном ящике для голосования

Процесс демократического голосования требует сильного чувства доверия - к оборудованию, процессу и вовлеченным людям.

Одним из наиболее очевидных, прямых способов повлиять на выборы в стране является вмешательство в то, как граждане фактически подают голоса. Поскольку Соединенные Штаты (и другие народы) охватывают электронное голосование, он должен принять меры для обеспечения безопасности - и, что более важно, надежности - систем. Не делать этого может поставить под угрозу национальную демократическую волю страны и создать общую политическую несогласованность - ситуацию, которая может быть использована противником в своих целях.

Уже в 1975 правительство США рассмотрел идею компьютеризированного голосования, но электронные системы голосования не использовались до проведения государственных выборов в 2002, С тех пор другие государства приняли эту технологию, хотя, учитывая текущие финансовые ограничения, те, у кого есть проблемы со старением или проблемные электронные машины для голосования, являются возвращение к более традиционным (и более дешевые) бумажные.

Новая технология всегда приходит с некоторыми глюками - даже если на нее не нападают. Например, во время всеобщих выборов 2004, машины для электронного голосования в Северной Каролине Unilect «Потерянные» голоса 4,438 из-за системной ошибки.

Но исследователи кибербезопасности сосредоточены на проблемах, которые могут быть намеренно вызваны плохими актерами. В 2006, профессор компьютерных наук Принстона Ed Felten продемонстрировал, как установить самораспространяющуюся часть изменяющих голос вредоносных программ на системах электронного голосования Diebold менее чем за минуту. В 2011 технические специалисты в Аргоннской национальной лаборатории показали как удалять устройства электронного голосования удаленно и изменить данные голосования.

Должностные лица голосования признают, что эти технологии уязвимы. После изучения 2007 систем электронного голосования ее штата, государственный секретарь штата Огайо Дженнифер Л. Бруннер Объявила, что

компьютерные системы голосования, используемые в Огайо, не соответствуют стандартам безопасности компьютерной индустрии и подвержены нарушениям безопасности, которые могут поставить под угрозу целостность процесса голосования.

Поскольку первое поколение голосующих машин стареет, даже обслуживание и обновление становятся проблемой. В отчете 2015 установлено, что электронные машины для голосования в 43 из 50 США не менее 10 лет - и что государственные должностные лица по выборам не уверены, откуда придет финансирование, чтобы заменить их.

Сфальсифицированная (и убийственная) машина для голосования на «Симпсонах» сатирировала проблему в 2008.

Обеспечение безопасности машин и их данных

Во многих случаях электронное голосование зависит от распределенной сети, как и электрическая сеть или муниципальная система водоснабжения. Его распространенный характер означает, что существует много точек потенциальной уязвимости.

Во-первых, чтобы быть в безопасности, аппаратные «внутренности» каждой машины для голосования должны быть защищены от несанкционированного доступа в момент изготовления. Программное обеспечение каждой отдельной машины должно оставаться защищенным от несанкционированного доступа и подотчетным, а также данные голосования, хранящиеся на нем. (Некоторые машины также предоставляют избирателям бумажную квитанцию ​​своих голосов.) Когда проблемы обнаруживаются, машины должны быть удалены из обслуживания и исправлены. Вирджиния сделала именно это в 2015 после многочисленных вопиющих обнаружены уязвимости безопасности в его системе.

После того, как голоса собраны на отдельных машинах, скомпилированные результаты должны быть переданы из избирательных участков в высшие избирательные комиссии для официальной консолидации, табуляции и окончательной отчетности по штатам. Таким образом, сетевые соединения между местоположениями должны быть защищенными от несанкционированного доступа и предотвращать перехват или модификацию тарифов в пути. Аналогично, системы на основе результатов голосования на уровне штата должны иметь надежное программное обеспечение, которое является подотчетным и устойчивым к несанкционированному изменению данных. Повреждение целостности данных в любом месте этого процесса, преднамеренно или случайно, может привести к неудачным результатам выборов.

Однако технические уязвимости с избирательным процессом выходят далеко за пределы машин для голосования на «краю сети». Системы регистрации и администрирования избирателей, управляемые государственными и национальными правительствами, также подвержены риску. Взломы здесь могут повлиять на списки избирателей и базы данных граждан. Несоблюдение этих систем и записей может привести к мошеннической информации в базе данных избирателей, которая может привести к неправильной (или незаконной) регистрации избирателей и, возможно, к кастовому мошенническому голосованию.

И, конечно же, все это является уязвимостью людей: любой, кто связан с технологиями или процедурами электронного голосования, восприимчив к принуждению или человеческой ошибке.

Как мы можем охранять системы?

Первая линия защиты в защите технологий электронного голосования и информации - здравый смысл. Применение лучшие практики кибербезопасности, защиты данных, доступа к информации и других объективно разработанных, ответственно реализованных процедур усложняет для противников совершение кибер-озорства. Они необходимы и должны регулярно проводиться на практике.

Несомненно, маловероятно, что одна избирательная машина на определенном участке в конкретном избирательном участке была бы нацелена за границей или преступным субъектом. Но безопасность каждого электронного избирательного аппарата важна для обеспечения не только свободных и справедливых выборов, но и укрепления доверия граждан к таким технологиям и процессам - подумайте о хаосе вокруг печально известного висячие чады во время оспариваемого 2000 Флорида пересчитывает, В соответствии с этими принципами, в 2004, Невада была первым штатом, который уполномочил машины электронного голосования включают проверочный журнал, проверенный избирателем для обеспечения публичной отчетности за каждый голос.

Проактивный анализ и анализ электронных систем голосования и информационных систем избирателей имеют важное значение для обеспечения свободных и справедливых выборов и обеспечения доверия граждан к электронному голосованию. К сожалению, некоторые производители голосовой машины спорный Digital Millennium Copyright Act запретить внешним исследователям оценивать безопасность и надежность своих систем.

Тем не менее, 2015 исключение из акта санкционирует исследования безопасности в технологиях, защищенных законами об авторском праве. Это означает, что сообщество безопасности может легально исследовать, тестировать, реконструировать и анализировать такие системы. Еще важнее то, что теперь у исследователей есть свобода публиковать свои выводы, не опасаясь, что они будут предъявлены иск за нарушение авторских прав. Их работа имеет жизненно важное значение для выявления уязвимостей безопасности, прежде чем их можно будет использовать на реальных выборах.

Из-за его преимуществ и удобств электронное голосование может стать предпочтительным вариантом для местных и национальных выборов. Если это так, должностные лица должны обеспечить эти системы и обеспечить, чтобы они могли обеспечить надежные выборы, которые поддерживают демократический процесс. Государственным избирательным органам должны быть предоставлены финансовые ресурсы для инвестирования в современные системы электронного голосования. Они также должны гарантировать достаточную, активную, постоянную и эффективную защиту, чтобы уменьшить угрозу не только оперативных сбоев, но и преднамеренных кибератак.

Демократия терпится не на прихоти одного правителя, а на общую избирательную ответственность информированных граждан, которые доверяют своему правительству и его системам. Это доверие не должно нарушаться самодовольством, нехваткой ресурсов или преднамеренными действиями иностранной державы. Как знаменитый инвестор Уоррен Баффет однажды отметил, «Это займет 20 лет, чтобы создать репутацию и пять минут, чтобы погубить ее».

В киберпространстве пять минут - это вечность.

Об авторе

Ричард Форно, старший преподаватель, кибербезопасность и интернет-исследователь, Университет Мэриленда, округ Балтимор

Эта статья изначально была опубликована в Беседа, Прочтите оригинал статьи.

Книги по этой теме

{amazonWS: searchindex = Книги; ключевые слова = электронное голосование; maxresults = 3}

enafarZH-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Следуйте за InnerSelf

facebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

ВНУТРЕННИЕ ГОЛОСЫ

Что работает для меня: 1, 2, 3 ... ДЕСЯТКИ
Что работает для меня: 1, 2, 3 ... ДЕСЯТКИ
by Мари Т. Рассел, Внутренний

САМОЕ ЧИТАЕМОЕ

Что работает для меня: 1, 2, 3 ... ДЕСЯТКИ
Что работает для меня: 1, 2, 3 ... ДЕСЯТКИ
by Мари Т. Рассел, Внутренний

Is The US Election Vulnerable To Hacking?

privacy

Is The US Election Vulnerable To Hacking?

Following the hack of Democratic National Committee emails and reports of a new cyberattack against the Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee, worries abound that foreign nations may be clandestinely involved in the 2016 American presidential campaign. Allegations swirl that Russia, under the direction of President Vladimir Putin, is secretly working to undermine the U.S. Democratic Party. The apparent logic is that a Donald Trump presidency would result in more pro-Russian policies. At the moment, the FBI is investigating, but no U.S. government agency has yet made a formal accusation.

The Republican nominee added unprecedented fuel to the fire by encouraging Russia to “find” and release Hillary Clinton’s missing emails from her time as secretary of state. Trump’s comments drew sharp rebuke from the media and politicians on all sides. Some suggested that by soliciting a foreign power to intervene in domestic politics, his musings bordered on criminality or treason. Trump backtracked, saying his comments were “sarcastic,” implying they’re not to be taken seriously.

Of course, the desire to interfere with another country’s internal political processes is nothing new. Global powers routinely monitor their adversaries and, when deemed necessary, will try to clandestinely undermine or influence foreign domestic politics to their own benefit. For example, the Soviet Union’s foreign intelligence service engaged in so-called “active measures” designed to influence Western opinion. Among other efforts, it spread conspiracy theories about government officials and fabricated documents intended to exploit the social tensions of the 1960s. Similarly, U.S. intelligence services have conducted their own secret activities against foreign political systems – perhaps most notably its repeated attempts to help overthrow pro-communist Fidel Castro in Cuba.

Although the Cold War is over, intelligence services around the world continue to monitor other countries' domestic political situations. Today’s “influence operations” are generally subtle and strategic. Intelligence services clandestinely try to sway the “hearts and minds” of the target country’s population toward a certain political outcome.

What has changed, however, is the ability of individuals, governments, militaries and criminal or terrorist organizations to use internet-based tools – commonly called cyberweapons – not only to gather information but also to generate influence within a target group.

So what are some of the technical vulnerabilities faced by nations during political elections, and what’s really at stake when foreign powers meddle in domestic political processes?

Vulnerabilities at the electronic ballot box

The process of democratic voting requires a strong sense of trust – in the equipment, the process and the people involved.

One of the most obvious, direct ways to affect a country’s election is to interfere with the way citizens actually cast votes. As the United States (and other nations) embrace electronic voting, it must take steps to ensure the security – and more importantly, the trustworthiness – of the systems. Not doing so can endanger a nation’s domestic democratic will and create general political discord – a situation that can be exploited by an adversary for its own purposes.

As early as 1975, the U.S. government examined the idea of computerized voting, but electronic voting systems were not used until Georgia’s 2002 state elections. Other states have adopted the technology since then, although given ongoing fiscal constraints, those with aging or problematic electronic voting machines are returning to more traditional (and cheaper) paper-based ones.

New technology always comes with some glitches – even when it’s not being attacked. For example, during the 2004 general election, North Carolina’s Unilect e-voting machines “lost” 4,438 votes due to a system error.

But cybersecurity researchers focus on the kinds of problems that could be intentionally caused by bad actors. In 2006, Princeton computer science professor Ed Felten demonstrated how to install a self-propagating piece of vote-changing malware on Diebold e-voting systems in less than a minute. In 2011, technicians at the Argonne National Laboratory showed how to hack e-voting machines remotely and change voting data.

Voting officials recognize that these technologies are vulnerable. Following a 2007 study of her state’s electronic voting systems, Ohio Secretary of State Jennifer L. Brunner announced that

the computer-based voting systems in use in Ohio do not meet computer industry security standards and are susceptible to breaches of security that may jeopardize the integrity of the voting process.

As the first generation of voting machines ages, even maintenance and updating become an issue. A 2015 report found that electronic voting machines in 43 of 50 U.S. states are at least 10 years old – and that state election officials are unsure where the funding will come from to replace them.

A rigged (and murderous) voting machine on ‘The Simpsons’ satirized the issue in 2008.

Securing the machines and their data

In many cases, electronic voting depends on a distributed network, just like the electrical grid or municipal water system. Its spread-out nature means there are many points of potential vulnerability.

First, to be secure, the hardware “internals” of each voting machine must be made tamper-proof at the point of manufacture. Each individual machine’s software must remain tamper-proof and accountable, as must the vote data stored on it. (Some machines provide voters with a paper receipt of their votes, too.) When problems are discovered, the machines must be removed from service and fixed. Virginia did just this in 2015 once numerous glaring security vulnerabilities were discovered in its system.

Once votes are collected from individual machines, the compiled results must be transmitted from polling places to higher election offices for official consolidation, tabulation and final statewide reporting. So the network connections between locations must be tamper-proof and prevent interception or modification of the in-transit tallies. Likewise, state-level vote-tabulating systems must have trustworthy software that is both accountable and resistant to unauthorized data modification. Corrupting the integrity of data anywhere during this process, either intentionally or accidentally, can lead to botched election results.

However, technical vulnerabilities with the electoral process extend far beyond the voting machines at the “edge of the network.” Voter registration and administration systems operated by state and national governments are at risk too. Hacks here could affect voter rosters and citizen databases. Failing to secure these systems and records could result in fraudulent information in the voter database that may lead to improper (or illegal) voter registrations and potentially the casting of fraudulent votes.

And of course, underlying all this is human vulnerability: Anyone involved with e-voting technologies or procedures is susceptible to coercion or human error.

How can we guard the systems?

The first line of defense in protecting electronic voting technologies and information is common sense. Applying the best practices of cybersecurity, data protection, information access and other objectively developed, responsibly implemented procedures makes it more difficult for adversaries to conduct cyber mischief. These are essential and must be practiced regularly.

Sure, it’s unlikely a single voting machine in a specific precinct in a specific polling place would be targeted by an overseas or criminal entity. But the security of each electronic voting machine is essential to ensuring not only free and fair elections but fostering citizen trust in such technologies and processes – think of the chaos around the infamous hanging chads during the contested 2000 Florida recount. Along these lines, in 2004, Nevada was the first state to mandate e-voting machines include a voter-verified paper trail to ensure public accountability for each vote cast.

Proactive examination and analysis of electronic voting machines and voter information systems are essential to ensuring free and fair elections and facilitating citizen trust in e-voting. Unfortunately, some voting machine manufacturers have invoked the controversial Digital Millennium Copyright Act to prohibit external researchers from assessing the security and trustworthiness of their systems.

However, a 2015 exception to the act authorizes security research into technologies otherwise protected by copyright laws. This means the security community can legally research, test, reverse-engineer and analyze such systems. Even more importantly, researchers now have the freedom to publish their findings without fear of being sued for copyright infringement. Their work is vital to identifying security vulnerabilities before they can be exploited in real-world elections.

Because of its benefits and conveniences, electronic voting may become the preferred mode for local and national elections. If so, officials must secure these systems and ensure they can provide trustworthy elections that support the democratic process. State-level election agencies must be given the financial resources to invest in up-to-date e-voting systems. They also must guarantee sufficient, proactive, ongoing and effective protections are in place to reduce the threat of not only operational glitches but intentional cyberattacks.

Democracies endure based not on the whims of a single ruler but the shared electoral responsibility of informed citizens who trust their government and its systems. That trust must not be broken by complacency, lack of resources or the intentional actions of a foreign power. As famed investor Warren Buffett once noted, “It takes 20 years to build a reputation and five minutes to ruin it.”

In cyberspace, five minutes is an eternity.

About The Author

Richard Forno, Senior Lecturer, Cybersecurity & Internet Researcher, University of Maryland, Baltimore County

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

Brave New Ballot: The Battle to Safeguard Democracy in the Age of Electronic Voting

privacyAuthor: Aviel David Rubin
Binding: Hardcover
Features:
  • Brave New Ballot: The Battle
  • to Safeguard
  • Democracy in
  • the Age of
  • Electronic Voting

Brand: Brand: Broadway
Studio: Broadway
Label: Broadway
Publisher: Broadway
Manufacturer: Broadway

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Imagine for a moment that you live in a country where nobody is sure how most of the votes are counted, and there’s no reliable record for performing a recount. Imagine that machines count the votes, but nobody knows how they work. Now imagine if somebody found out that the machines were vulnerable to attack, but the agencies that operate them won’t take the steps to make them safe. If you live in America, you don’t need to imagine anything. This is the reality of electronic voting in our country.

Avi Rubin is a computer scientist at Johns Hopkins University and a specialist in systems security. He and a team of researchers studied the code that operates the machines now used in 37 states and discovered the following terrifying facts:

• The companies hired to test the election equipment for federal certification did not study the code that operates the machines and the election commissions employed no computer security analysts.

• All votes are recorded on a single removable card similar to the one in a digital camera. There is no way to determine if the card or the code that operates the machine has been tampered with.

• It’s very easy to program a machine to change votes. There’s no way to determine if that has happened.

• There were enough irregularities with the electronic voting machines used throughout the 2004 election to make anyone think twice about using them again.

Avi Rubin has testified at Congressional hearings trying to alert the government that it has put our democracy at risk by relying so heavily on voting machines without taking the proper precautions. As he has waged this battle, he has been attacked, undermined, and defamed by a prominent manufacturer. His job has been threatened, but he won’t give up until every citizen understands that at this moment, our democracy hangs in the balance.

There are simple solutions and, before you vote in the next election, Rubin wants you to know your rights. If you don’t know them and you use an electronic voting machine, you may not be voting at all.




While We Still Have Time: The Perils Of Electronic Voting Machines And Democracy’s Solution: Publicly Observed, Secure Hand-Counted Paper Ballots (HCPB) Elections

privacyAuthor: Sheila Parks Ed.D.
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Used Book in Good Condition

Brand: Brand: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Studio: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Label: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Manufacturer: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Electronic voting machines have caused and exacerbated many of the crises we face today. Simply and starkly stated: elections using electronic voting machines are often rigged by deliberately not counting the votes as cast. As a result, men and women who have not legitimately received a majority of the vote are put into office.




Election Reform and Electronic Voting Systems (DREs): Analysis of Security Issues (Congressional Research Service Report for Congress)

privacyAuthor: Eric A. Fischer Congressional Research Service
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Congressional Research Service Report for Congress

In July 2003, computer scientists from Johns Hopkins and Rice Universities
released a security analysis of software purportedlyfrom a direct recording electronic
(DRE) touchscreen votingmachine of a major voting-system vendor. The studydrew
public attention to a long-simmering controversy about whether current DREs are
vulnerable to tampering that could influence the outcome of an election.
Many innovations that have become familiar features of modern elections, such
as the secret ballot and mechanical lever voting machines, originated at least in part
as a way to reduce election fraud and abuse. Computer-assisted counting of ballots,
first used in the 1960s, can be done very rapidly and makes some kinds of tampering
more difficult. However, it does not eliminate the potential for fraud, and it has
created new possibilities for tampering through manipulation of the counting
software and hardware. DREs, introduced in the 1970s, are the first voting systems
to be completely computerized. Touchscreen DREs are arguably the most versatile
and user-friendly of any current voting system. Their use is expected to increase
substantially under provisions of The Help America Vote Act of 2002 (HAVA, P.L.
107-252), especially the requirement that, beginning in 2006, each polling place used
in a federal election have at least one voting machine that is fully accessible for
persons with disabilities.

Congressional Research Service

The Congressional Research Service (CRS) serves shared staff to congressional committees and Members of Congress. CRS experts assist at every stage of the legislative process — from the early considerations that precede bill drafting, through committee hearings and floor debate, to the oversight of enacted laws and various agency activities.

CRS's analytic capabilities integrate multiple disciplines and research methodologies. In a fast-paced, ever-changing environment, CRS provides Congress with the vital, analytical support it needs to address the most complex public policy issues facing the nation. Its work incorporates program and legislative expertise, quantitative methodologies, and legal and economic analysis.








privacy
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}