هل الانتخابات الأمريكية معرضة للقرصنة؟

هل الانتخابات الأمريكية معرضة للقرصنة؟

بعد الاختراق من رسائل البريد الإلكتروني اللجنة الوطنية الديمقراطية وتقارير جديدة الهجوم الإلكتروني ضد لجنة الحملة الديمقراطية في الكونغرستكثر المخاوف من احتمال تورط الدول الأجنبية بشكل سري في الحملة الرئاسية الأمريكية لـ 2016. الادعاءات الدوامة التي روسيا، بتوجيه من الرئيس فلاديمير بوتين ، يعمل سرا على تقويض الحزب الديمقراطي الأمريكي. المنطق الظاهري هو أن رئاسة دونالد ترامب ستؤدي إلى المزيد من السياسات الموالية لروسيا. في هذه اللحظة ، مكتب التحقيقات الفيدرالي يحققلكن لم تصدر أي وكالة حكومية أمريكية اتهاما رسميا.

وأضاف المرشح الجمهوري وقود غير مسبوق للنار من قبل تشجيع روسيا على "إيجاد" وإطلاق رسائل البريد الإلكتروني المفقودة من هيلاري كلينتون من وقتها كوزير للخارجية. ووجهت تعليقات ترامب توبيخًا حادًا من وسائل الإعلام والسياسيين من جميع الجهات. اقترح البعض أنه من خلال التماس قوة أجنبية للتدخل في السياسة الداخلية ، كانت تأملاته تحدّ على الإجرام أو الخيانة. ترامب تراجع ، قائلا له كانت التعليقات "ساخرة" مما يعني أنها لا تؤخذ على محمل الجد.

وبالطبع ، فإن الرغبة في التدخل في العمليات السياسية الداخلية في بلد آخر ليست بالأمر الجديد. فالقوى العالمية تراقب بشكل روتيني خصومها ، وعندما تحاول ذلك ، ستحاول تقويض أو تدمير السياسات الداخلية الأجنبية بشكل منفرد لمصلحتها الخاصة. على سبيل المثال ، تعمل المخابرات الأجنبية التابعة للاتحاد السوفييتي في ما يسمى "التدابير النشطة"مصممة للتأثير على الرأي الغربي. ومن بين الجهود الأخرى ، نشر نظريات المؤامرة حول مسؤولين حكوميين ووثائق ملفقة تهدف إلى استغلال التوترات الاجتماعية في 1960s. وبالمثل ، قامت أجهزة الاستخبارات الأمريكية بأنشطتها السرية الخاصة ضد الأنظمة السياسية الأجنبية - وربما أبرزها محاولاتها المتكررة مساعدة الاطاحة المؤيد للشيوعية فيدل كاسترو في كوبا.

على الرغم من انتهاء الحرب الباردة ، تواصل أجهزة الاستخبارات في جميع أنحاء العالم مراقبة الأوضاع السياسية الداخلية في البلدان الأخرى. اليوم "عمليات التأثير"بشكل عام دقيق واستراتيجي. تحاول أجهزة المخابرات بشكل سري تحريك "قلوب وعقول" سكان البلد المستهدف نحو نتيجة سياسية معينة.

غير أن ما تغير ، هو قدرة الأفراد والحكومات والجيوش والمنظمات الإجرامية أو الإرهابية على استخدام أدوات قائمة على الإنترنت - وتسمى عادة cyberweapons - ليس فقط لجمع المعلومات ولكن أيضًا لتوليد التأثير داخل المجموعة المستهدفة.

إذن ما هي بعض نقاط الضعف الفنية التي تواجهها الدول خلال الانتخابات السياسية ، وما هو على المحك عندما تتدخل القوى الأجنبية في العمليات السياسية المحلية؟

نقاط الضعف في صندوق الاقتراع الإلكتروني

تتطلب عملية التصويت الديمقراطي إحساساً قوياً بالثقة - في المعدات والعملية والأشخاص المعنيين.

واحدة من أكثر الطرق المباشرة والواضحة للتأثير على الانتخابات في بلد ما هي التدخل في الطريقة التي يدلي بها المواطنون بالفعل بالتصويت. كما الولايات المتحدة (ودول أخرى) احتضان التصويت الإلكتروني ، يجب أن تتخذ خطوات لضمان الأمن - والأهم من ذلك ، الجدارة بالثقة - للأنظمة. إن عدم القيام بذلك يمكن أن يهدد الإرادة الديمقراطية المحلية للأمة وخلق خلاف سياسي عام - وهو وضع يمكن استغلاله من قبل الخصم لأغراضه الخاصة.

في وقت مبكر من 1975 ، حكومة الولايات المتحدة فحص فكرة التصويت عبر الكمبيوترولكن لم يتم استخدام أنظمة التصويت الإلكترونية حتى انتخابات ولاية جورجيا 2002. وقد اعتمدت دول أخرى هذه التكنولوجيا منذ ذلك الحين ، على الرغم من القيود المالية المستمرة ، فإن أولئك الذين لديهم آلات تصويت إلكترونية قديمة أو إشكالية هم العودة إلى أكثر تقليدية (وأرخص) الورقية منها.

التكنولوجيا الجديدة تأتي دائما مع بعض الأخطاء - حتى عندما لا يتم مهاجمتها. على سبيل المثال ، خلال الانتخابات العامة 2004 ، آلات التصويت الإلكتروني Unilect في North Carolina "خسر" أصوات 4,438 بسبب خطأ في النظام.

لكن الباحثين في مجال الأمن السيبراني يركزون على أنواع المشاكل التي يمكن أن تسببها عن قصد الجهات الفاعلة السيئة. في 2006 ، أستاذ علوم الكمبيوتر برينستون إد فلتن شرح كيفية تثبيت جزء من البرامج الخاطئة المتغيرة للتصويت الذاتي على أنظمة التصويت الإلكتروني لـ Diebold في أقل من دقيقة. في 2011 ، أظهر الفنيون في مختبر أرجون الوطني كيفية اختراق أجهزة التصويت الإلكتروني عن بعد وتغيير بيانات التصويت.

يدرك مسئولو التصويت أن هذه التقنيات ضعيفة. بعد دراسة 2007 لأنظمة التصويت الإلكترونية في ولايتها ، أوهايو ، وزيرة الدولة ، جينيفر ل. برونر أن تم الإعلان عنها

أنظمة التصويت المعتمدة على الكمبيوتر المستخدمة في ولاية أوهايو لا تلبي معايير أمن صناعة الكمبيوتر وهي عرضة لانتهاكات الأمن التي قد تعرض سلامة عملية التصويت للخطر.

نظرًا لأن الجيل الأول من آلات التصويت يصل إلى عمر ، تصبح حتى الصيانة والتحديث مشكلة. وجد تقرير 2015 أن آلات التصويت الإلكترونية في 43 من 50 الولايات المتحدة هي على الأقل سنوات 10 - وأن موظفي الانتخابات في الولاية غير متأكدين من مصدر التمويل ليحلوا محلهم.

هاجمت آلة التصويت المزورة (والقاتلة) "The Simpsons" المسألة في 2008.

تأمين الآلات وبياناتها

في كثير من الحالات ، يعتمد التصويت الإلكتروني على شبكة موزعة ، تماماً مثل الشبكة الكهربائية أو نظام المياه البلدية. طبيعتها المنتشرة تعني أن هناك العديد من نقاط الضعف المحتملة.

أولاً ، لكي تكون آمنًا ، يجب أن يكون جهاز "الأجزاء الداخلية" لكل آلة تصويت غير قابل للعبث في نقطة التصنيع. يجب أن يظل برنامج كل جهاز على حدة خاضعاً للعبث وقابلاً للمساءلة ، كما يجب أن تكون بيانات الأصوات مخزنة عليه. (بعض الآلات توفر للناخبين إستيراد ورقي لأصواتهم أيضا). عندما يتم اكتشاف المشاكل ، يجب إزالة الأجهزة من الخدمة والثابتة. فعلت فرجينيا هذا فقط في 2015 مرة واحدة صارخة عديدة تم اكتشاف نقاط الضعف الأمنية في نظامها.

بمجرد جمع الأصوات من الأجهزة الفردية ، يجب أن تنتقل النتائج المجمعة من مراكز الاقتراع إلى مكاتب انتخابية أعلى من أجل الدمج الرسمي ، الجدولة والتقارير النهائية على مستوى الولاية. لذلك يجب أن تكون وصلات الشبكة بين المواقع قابلة للتلاعب وتمنع اعتراض أو تعديل الترانزيت. وبالمثل ، يجب أن يكون لدى أنظمة جدولة التصويت على مستوى الدولة برمجيات موثوقة تكون مسؤولة عن ومقاومة التعديل غير المصرح به للبيانات. يمكن أن يؤدي إفلاس نزاهة البيانات في أي مكان خلال هذه العملية ، إما عن قصد أو عن طريق الخطأ ، إلى نتائج غير متقنة للانتخابات.

ومع ذلك ، فإن نقاط الضعف التقنية مع العملية الانتخابية تمتد إلى ما هو أبعد من آلات التصويت على "حافة الشبكة". كما أن أنظمة تسجيل وإدارة الناخبين التي تديرها حكومات الولايات والحكومات الوطنية معرضة للخطر أيضًا. قد تؤثر المأجورون هنا على قوائم الناخبين وقواعد بيانات المواطنين. قد يؤدي الفشل في تأمين هذه الأنظمة والسجلات إلى الحصول على معلومات احتيالية في قاعدة بيانات الناخبين والتي قد تؤدي إلى تسجيلات ناخبين غير صحيحة (أو غير قانونية) ويحتمل أن تكون نتيجة التصويت مخادعة.

وبالطبع ، فإن كل هذا هو ضعف الإنسان: أي شخص يشارك في تقنيات أو إجراءات التصويت الإلكتروني عرضة للإكراه أو الخطأ البشري.

كيف يمكننا حماية الأنظمة؟

يعتبر خط الدفاع الأول في حماية تقنيات التصويت الإلكتروني والمعلومات هو المنطق السليم. تطبيق أفضل الممارسات من الأمن السيبراني ، وحماية البيانات ، والوصول إلى المعلومات وغيرها من الإجراءات التي تم تطويرها بشكل موضوعي ومسؤول ، يجعل من الأصعب على الأعداء القيام بأعمال سيئة على الإنترنت. هذه ضرورية ويجب أن تمارس بانتظام.

من المؤكد أنه من غير المحتمل أن يتم استهداف آلة تصويت واحدة في منطقة محددة في مكان اقتراع محدد من قبل كيان خارجي أو إجرامي. لكن أمن كل آلة التصويت الإلكترونية أمر ضروري لضمان ليس فقط انتخابات حرة ونزيهة ولكن تعزيز ثقة المواطن في مثل هذه التكنولوجيات والعمليات - التفكير في الفوضى حول سيئة السمعة شنقا تشادس خلال 2000 المتنازع عليها اعادة فرز الأصوات في فلوريدا. على طول هذه الخطوط ، في ولاية 2004 ، كانت ولاية نيفادا أول ولاية تفوض آلات التصويت الإلكتروني تتضمن مسارًا ورقيًا معتمدًا من الناخب لضمان المساءلة العامة لكل تصويت.

إن الفحص والتحليل الاستباقيين لآلات التصويت الإلكترونية وأنظمة معلومات الناخبين هما أمران أساسيان لضمان إجراء انتخابات حرة ونزيهة وتيسير ثقة المواطنين في التصويت الإلكتروني. لسوء الحظ ، بعض استحضار مصنعين آلة التصويت المثير للجدل قانون حق المؤلف للألفية الرقمية لحظر الباحثين الخارجيين من تقييم أمن وموثوقية أنظمتهم.

ومع ذلك ، 2015 استثناء لهذا الفعل يفوض البحث الأمني ​​في تقنيات محمية بقوانين حقوق النشر. ويعني هذا أن المجتمع الأمني ​​يمكنه إجراء أبحاث قانونية ، واختبار ، وعكس هندسة ، وتحليل هذه الأنظمة. والأهم من ذلك أن الباحثين يتمتعون الآن بحرية نشر نتائجهم دون خوف من مقاضاتهم بسبب انتهاك حقوق النشر. عملهم أمر حيوي لتحديد نقاط الضعف الأمنية قبل أن يتم استغلالها في انتخابات حقيقية.

بسبب فوائدها ووسائل الراحة ، قد يصبح التصويت الإلكتروني هو الأسلوب المفضل للانتخابات المحلية والوطنية. إذا كان الأمر كذلك ، يجب على المسؤولين تأمين هذه الأنظمة وضمان تمكنهم من إجراء انتخابات جديرة بالثقة تدعم العملية الديمقراطية. يجب إعطاء الوكالات الانتخابية على مستوى الدولة الموارد المالية للاستثمار في أنظمة الاقتراع الإلكتروني الحديثة. كما يجب عليهم ضمان وجود وسائل حماية كافية واستباقية ومستمرة وفعالة للحد من التهديد ليس فقط من مواطن الخلل التشغيلية ولكن الهجمات الإلكترونية المتعمدة.

فالديموقراطيات لا تعتمد على نزوات الحاكم الواحد ، بل على المسؤولية الانتخابية المشتركة للمواطنين المطلعين الذين يثقون بحكومتهم وأنظمتهم. ويجب ألا تتعطل هذه الثقة بالرضا عن الذات أو الافتقار إلى الموارد أو الإجراءات المتعمدة لقوة أجنبية. كما المستثمر الشهير وارن بوفيت لاحظ مرة واحدة"يستغرق 20 سنوات لبناء سمعة وخمس دقائق لتدميرها".

في الفضاء الإلكتروني ، خمس دقائق هي أبدية.

نبذة عن الكاتب

ريتشارد فورنو ، محاضر أول ، الأمن السيبراني والإنترنت باحث ، جامعة ميريلاند ، مقاطعة بالتيمور

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = الكتب ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = التصويت الإلكتروني ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

ما يصلح لي: 1 ، 2 ، 3 ... عشرات
ما يصلح لي: 1 ، 2 ، 3 ... عشرات
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف

Is The US Election Vulnerable To Hacking?

privacy

Is The US Election Vulnerable To Hacking?

Following the hack of Democratic National Committee emails and reports of a new cyberattack against the Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee, worries abound that foreign nations may be clandestinely involved in the 2016 American presidential campaign. Allegations swirl that Russia, under the direction of President Vladimir Putin, is secretly working to undermine the U.S. Democratic Party. The apparent logic is that a Donald Trump presidency would result in more pro-Russian policies. At the moment, the FBI is investigating, but no U.S. government agency has yet made a formal accusation.

The Republican nominee added unprecedented fuel to the fire by encouraging Russia to “find” and release Hillary Clinton’s missing emails from her time as secretary of state. Trump’s comments drew sharp rebuke from the media and politicians on all sides. Some suggested that by soliciting a foreign power to intervene in domestic politics, his musings bordered on criminality or treason. Trump backtracked, saying his comments were “sarcastic,” implying they’re not to be taken seriously.

Of course, the desire to interfere with another country’s internal political processes is nothing new. Global powers routinely monitor their adversaries and, when deemed necessary, will try to clandestinely undermine or influence foreign domestic politics to their own benefit. For example, the Soviet Union’s foreign intelligence service engaged in so-called “active measures” designed to influence Western opinion. Among other efforts, it spread conspiracy theories about government officials and fabricated documents intended to exploit the social tensions of the 1960s. Similarly, U.S. intelligence services have conducted their own secret activities against foreign political systems – perhaps most notably its repeated attempts to help overthrow pro-communist Fidel Castro in Cuba.

Although the Cold War is over, intelligence services around the world continue to monitor other countries' domestic political situations. Today’s “influence operations” are generally subtle and strategic. Intelligence services clandestinely try to sway the “hearts and minds” of the target country’s population toward a certain political outcome.

What has changed, however, is the ability of individuals, governments, militaries and criminal or terrorist organizations to use internet-based tools – commonly called cyberweapons – not only to gather information but also to generate influence within a target group.

So what are some of the technical vulnerabilities faced by nations during political elections, and what’s really at stake when foreign powers meddle in domestic political processes?

Vulnerabilities at the electronic ballot box

The process of democratic voting requires a strong sense of trust – in the equipment, the process and the people involved.

One of the most obvious, direct ways to affect a country’s election is to interfere with the way citizens actually cast votes. As the United States (and other nations) embrace electronic voting, it must take steps to ensure the security – and more importantly, the trustworthiness – of the systems. Not doing so can endanger a nation’s domestic democratic will and create general political discord – a situation that can be exploited by an adversary for its own purposes.

As early as 1975, the U.S. government examined the idea of computerized voting, but electronic voting systems were not used until Georgia’s 2002 state elections. Other states have adopted the technology since then, although given ongoing fiscal constraints, those with aging or problematic electronic voting machines are returning to more traditional (and cheaper) paper-based ones.

New technology always comes with some glitches – even when it’s not being attacked. For example, during the 2004 general election, North Carolina’s Unilect e-voting machines “lost” 4,438 votes due to a system error.

But cybersecurity researchers focus on the kinds of problems that could be intentionally caused by bad actors. In 2006, Princeton computer science professor Ed Felten demonstrated how to install a self-propagating piece of vote-changing malware on Diebold e-voting systems in less than a minute. In 2011, technicians at the Argonne National Laboratory showed how to hack e-voting machines remotely and change voting data.

Voting officials recognize that these technologies are vulnerable. Following a 2007 study of her state’s electronic voting systems, Ohio Secretary of State Jennifer L. Brunner announced that

the computer-based voting systems in use in Ohio do not meet computer industry security standards and are susceptible to breaches of security that may jeopardize the integrity of the voting process.

As the first generation of voting machines ages, even maintenance and updating become an issue. A 2015 report found that electronic voting machines in 43 of 50 U.S. states are at least 10 years old – and that state election officials are unsure where the funding will come from to replace them.

A rigged (and murderous) voting machine on ‘The Simpsons’ satirized the issue in 2008.

Securing the machines and their data

In many cases, electronic voting depends on a distributed network, just like the electrical grid or municipal water system. Its spread-out nature means there are many points of potential vulnerability.

First, to be secure, the hardware “internals” of each voting machine must be made tamper-proof at the point of manufacture. Each individual machine’s software must remain tamper-proof and accountable, as must the vote data stored on it. (Some machines provide voters with a paper receipt of their votes, too.) When problems are discovered, the machines must be removed from service and fixed. Virginia did just this in 2015 once numerous glaring security vulnerabilities were discovered in its system.

Once votes are collected from individual machines, the compiled results must be transmitted from polling places to higher election offices for official consolidation, tabulation and final statewide reporting. So the network connections between locations must be tamper-proof and prevent interception or modification of the in-transit tallies. Likewise, state-level vote-tabulating systems must have trustworthy software that is both accountable and resistant to unauthorized data modification. Corrupting the integrity of data anywhere during this process, either intentionally or accidentally, can lead to botched election results.

However, technical vulnerabilities with the electoral process extend far beyond the voting machines at the “edge of the network.” Voter registration and administration systems operated by state and national governments are at risk too. Hacks here could affect voter rosters and citizen databases. Failing to secure these systems and records could result in fraudulent information in the voter database that may lead to improper (or illegal) voter registrations and potentially the casting of fraudulent votes.

And of course, underlying all this is human vulnerability: Anyone involved with e-voting technologies or procedures is susceptible to coercion or human error.

How can we guard the systems?

The first line of defense in protecting electronic voting technologies and information is common sense. Applying the best practices of cybersecurity, data protection, information access and other objectively developed, responsibly implemented procedures makes it more difficult for adversaries to conduct cyber mischief. These are essential and must be practiced regularly.

Sure, it’s unlikely a single voting machine in a specific precinct in a specific polling place would be targeted by an overseas or criminal entity. But the security of each electronic voting machine is essential to ensuring not only free and fair elections but fostering citizen trust in such technologies and processes – think of the chaos around the infamous hanging chads during the contested 2000 Florida recount. Along these lines, in 2004, Nevada was the first state to mandate e-voting machines include a voter-verified paper trail to ensure public accountability for each vote cast.

Proactive examination and analysis of electronic voting machines and voter information systems are essential to ensuring free and fair elections and facilitating citizen trust in e-voting. Unfortunately, some voting machine manufacturers have invoked the controversial Digital Millennium Copyright Act to prohibit external researchers from assessing the security and trustworthiness of their systems.

However, a 2015 exception to the act authorizes security research into technologies otherwise protected by copyright laws. This means the security community can legally research, test, reverse-engineer and analyze such systems. Even more importantly, researchers now have the freedom to publish their findings without fear of being sued for copyright infringement. Their work is vital to identifying security vulnerabilities before they can be exploited in real-world elections.

Because of its benefits and conveniences, electronic voting may become the preferred mode for local and national elections. If so, officials must secure these systems and ensure they can provide trustworthy elections that support the democratic process. State-level election agencies must be given the financial resources to invest in up-to-date e-voting systems. They also must guarantee sufficient, proactive, ongoing and effective protections are in place to reduce the threat of not only operational glitches but intentional cyberattacks.

Democracies endure based not on the whims of a single ruler but the shared electoral responsibility of informed citizens who trust their government and its systems. That trust must not be broken by complacency, lack of resources or the intentional actions of a foreign power. As famed investor Warren Buffett once noted, “It takes 20 years to build a reputation and five minutes to ruin it.”

In cyberspace, five minutes is an eternity.

About The Author

Richard Forno, Senior Lecturer, Cybersecurity & Internet Researcher, University of Maryland, Baltimore County

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

Brave New Ballot: The Battle to Safeguard Democracy in the Age of Electronic Voting

privacyAuthor: Aviel David Rubin
Binding: Hardcover
Features:
  • Brave New Ballot: The Battle
  • to Safeguard
  • Democracy in
  • the Age of
  • Electronic Voting

Brand: Brand: Broadway
Studio: Broadway
Label: Broadway
Publisher: Broadway
Manufacturer: Broadway

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Imagine for a moment that you live in a country where nobody is sure how most of the votes are counted, and there’s no reliable record for performing a recount. Imagine that machines count the votes, but nobody knows how they work. Now imagine if somebody found out that the machines were vulnerable to attack, but the agencies that operate them won’t take the steps to make them safe. If you live in America, you don’t need to imagine anything. This is the reality of electronic voting in our country.

Avi Rubin is a computer scientist at Johns Hopkins University and a specialist in systems security. He and a team of researchers studied the code that operates the machines now used in 37 states and discovered the following terrifying facts:

• The companies hired to test the election equipment for federal certification did not study the code that operates the machines and the election commissions employed no computer security analysts.

• All votes are recorded on a single removable card similar to the one in a digital camera. There is no way to determine if the card or the code that operates the machine has been tampered with.

• It’s very easy to program a machine to change votes. There’s no way to determine if that has happened.

• There were enough irregularities with the electronic voting machines used throughout the 2004 election to make anyone think twice about using them again.

Avi Rubin has testified at Congressional hearings trying to alert the government that it has put our democracy at risk by relying so heavily on voting machines without taking the proper precautions. As he has waged this battle, he has been attacked, undermined, and defamed by a prominent manufacturer. His job has been threatened, but he won’t give up until every citizen understands that at this moment, our democracy hangs in the balance.

There are simple solutions and, before you vote in the next election, Rubin wants you to know your rights. If you don’t know them and you use an electronic voting machine, you may not be voting at all.




While We Still Have Time: The Perils Of Electronic Voting Machines And Democracy’s Solution: Publicly Observed, Secure Hand-Counted Paper Ballots (HCPB) Elections

privacyAuthor: Sheila Parks Ed.D.
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Used Book in Good Condition

Brand: Brand: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Studio: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Label: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Manufacturer: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Electronic voting machines have caused and exacerbated many of the crises we face today. Simply and starkly stated: elections using electronic voting machines are often rigged by deliberately not counting the votes as cast. As a result, men and women who have not legitimately received a majority of the vote are put into office.




Election Reform and Electronic Voting Systems (DREs): Analysis of Security Issues (Congressional Research Service Report for Congress)

privacyAuthor: Eric A. Fischer Congressional Research Service
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Congressional Research Service Report for Congress

In July 2003, computer scientists from Johns Hopkins and Rice Universities
released a security analysis of software purportedlyfrom a direct recording electronic
(DRE) touchscreen votingmachine of a major voting-system vendor. The studydrew
public attention to a long-simmering controversy about whether current DREs are
vulnerable to tampering that could influence the outcome of an election.
Many innovations that have become familiar features of modern elections, such
as the secret ballot and mechanical lever voting machines, originated at least in part
as a way to reduce election fraud and abuse. Computer-assisted counting of ballots,
first used in the 1960s, can be done very rapidly and makes some kinds of tampering
more difficult. However, it does not eliminate the potential for fraud, and it has
created new possibilities for tampering through manipulation of the counting
software and hardware. DREs, introduced in the 1970s, are the first voting systems
to be completely computerized. Touchscreen DREs are arguably the most versatile
and user-friendly of any current voting system. Their use is expected to increase
substantially under provisions of The Help America Vote Act of 2002 (HAVA, P.L.
107-252), especially the requirement that, beginning in 2006, each polling place used
in a federal election have at least one voting machine that is fully accessible for
persons with disabilities.

Congressional Research Service

The Congressional Research Service (CRS) serves shared staff to congressional committees and Members of Congress. CRS experts assist at every stage of the legislative process — from the early considerations that precede bill drafting, through committee hearings and floor debate, to the oversight of enacted laws and various agency activities.

CRS's analytic capabilities integrate multiple disciplines and research methodologies. In a fast-paced, ever-changing environment, CRS provides Congress with the vital, analytical support it needs to address the most complex public policy issues facing the nation. Its work incorporates program and legislative expertise, quantitative methodologies, and legal and economic analysis.








privacy
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}