La politique américaine est officiellement dans la gouttière

La politique américaine est officiellement dans la gouttière

Le deuxième débat sur les élections présidentielles américaines a été largement présenté comme un combat des poids lourds. Dans le cas où il s'agissait d'un score nul, mais le perdant était clairement le processus politique américain.

Cette élection continue d'être un tour de montagnes russes, avec l'électorat américain tour à tour saisi et nauséeux que les événements se déroulent. Les deux jours qui ont précédé le débat ont été à eux seuls plus dramatiques que ce que la plupart des cycles électoraux ont réussi à générer en deux ans, les médias et la classe des pundit étant presque hystériques dans leur excitation.

Le discours politique normal a été complètement abandonné un peu plus de 48 heures avant le début du débat, quand une vidéo a émergé de Trump décrivant comment la célébrité l'a autorisé à agresser sexuellement les femmes en toute impunité. La tempête politique et médiatique qui a suivi a atteint un point de fièvre juste une heure avant le débat, quand Trump organisé une conférence de presse avec trois femmes qui prétendent avoir été agressées sexuellement par Bill Clinton. Trump les a ensuite amenés au débat avec lui. Oubliez les métaphores de boxe; c'était le débat présidentiel en tant que télé-réalité.

Le débat a utilisé une discussion au format «mairie», ce qui signifie que les candidats ont répondu aux questions directement de l'auditoire et qu'ils étaient libres de se déplacer sur scène comme ils l'ont fait. Mais alors que ce format était peut-être destiné à maintenir le débat plus modéré, ce qui en résulta fut un spectacle désagréable et nuisible dès le départ. Les candidats ont même refusé de se serrer la main quand ils ont pris la scène.

Garder une prise

Clinton était à son plus fort sur les questions d'ouverture sur l'attitude de Trump envers les femmes. Cooper a demandé à plusieurs reprises à Trump s'il préconisait ou avait commis une agression sexuelle. Il ne répondit pas au début, répétant à plusieurs reprises qu'il s'agissait de «discussions dans les vestiaires» et détournant étrangement cela en répétant qu'il attaquerait l'État islamique. Finalement, à nouveau demandé s'il avait déjà attaqué sexuellement des femmes, il a dit "Non, je ne l'ai pas fait". À peine une excuse, alors.

Après que Trump a doublé, disant "Il n'y a jamais eu quelqu'un dans l'histoire de la politique dans cette nation qui ait été si violent envers les femmes" que Bill Clinton (qui était après tout dans la salle), son adversaire a répondu avec un commentaire soigneusement préparé. Contrairement à tout candidat républicain précédent qu'elle avait rencontré, Trump n'était pas apte à servir. Elle a également veillé à noter que, outre les femmes, il avait également attaqué de nombreuses minorités - musulmans, mexicains, prisonniers de guerre, et ainsi de suite.


Obtenez les dernières nouvelles d'InnerSelf


Mais selon ses propres normes, certes basses, Trump était relativement discipliné. Refusant de prendre le genre d'appât qui l'a jeté à la première rencontre des deux candidats, il s'est rallié en ramassant un mantra qu'il a répété tout au long du débat: «Ce ne sont que des mots, des gens».

Il a maintes fois insisté sur le fait que Clinton a eu des années 30 en politique pour faire une grande partie de ce qu'elle fait maintenant campagne en tant que présidente, et qu'elle a échoué jusqu'ici. C'était une tactique solide, et cela l'a aidé à faire face calmement à des problèmes qui étaient dangereux pour lui. Au sujet du non-paiement de ses impôts, il a simplement dit qu'il ne faisait que ce que font les amis d'élite et les donateurs de Clinton eux-mêmes.

Il est sorti avec quelques lignes assez décentes ("Lincoln n'a jamais menti, contrairement à vous") et surtout, il est resté simple ("Clinton augmente vos impôts et je baisse vos impôts").

Peu importe la vérité

Clinton sembla parfois exaspérée alors que Trump tirait sur ses supposées années d'inaction 30, et elle présenta finalement une liste de ses accomplissements en tant que sénateur et secrétaire d'état, en particulier sur la santé des enfants et les droits des femmes. Elle a noté qu'elle avait son nom sur les projets de loi 400, et a souligné sa capacité à faire un travail politique difficile sur une base bipartisane.

Clairement, elle avait ses propres formules préparées. À de nombreuses occasions, elle a commencé à répondre aux commentaires de Trump en disant que «beaucoup de choses ne sont pas correctes» et a imploré à plusieurs reprises les gens de vérifier les déclarations de Trump (dont beaucoup ont déjà été jugées) trompeur ou carrément faux). À un moment donné, elle a rappelé comment Michelle Obama nous a conseillé tout cela "quand ils vont bas, nous allons haut". Elle essayait évidemment de le faire elle-même par généralement ne pas interrompre Trump, qui (comme dans le premier débat) plusieurs fois ébréché.

L'approche de Trump était certainement hectorique - "Quand je serai président, nous aurons un procureur spécial pour examiner Hillary" - clamant fréquemment Clinton et ad libbing comme elle a parlé, à d'autres points rodant la scène et planant menaçant derrière elle. Mais il ne s'est jamais complètement désintégré en incohérence comme il l'a fait au premier tour, et au fur et à mesure que le débat se déroulait, Clinton semblait être de plus en plus à l'arrière.

Les médias américains étaient impatients d'obtenir un résultat décisif ou dramatique, désireux de promouvoir l'un des deux récits: que Trump ait enfin atteint son paroxysme ou qu'il ait fait un retour impressionnant. En vérité (ce qu'il en reste, de toute façon), ni le récit est crédible.

Trump vit pour se battre un autre jour, mais il n'a probablement rien fait pour attirer le de nouveaux électeurs dont il a besoin pour gagner. En attendant, il devra espérer que plus aucune révélation de prédation sexuelle n'émergera, et que le scandale actuel qui pèse sur lui perd en quelque sorte sa puissance.

Pourtant, les dirigeants républicains sont clairement inquiets que le scandale puisse contaminer les candidats plus bas dans le scrutin et mettre en péril leurs majorités au Congrès. Beaucoup de ces candidats ont Trump désavoué depuis que la bande de sa vantardise misogyne a été divulguée, et plus peut encore quitter le navire si les choses ne s'améliorent pas.

Sur le papier, cela semble désastreux pour Trump - mais là encore, les événements de cette élection ont violé presque tous les principes de la sagesse conventionnelle sur la façon dont fonctionne la politique américaine. Nous vivons dans ce qui semble de plus en plus être un âge «post-factuel» où les scandales se poursuivent sans responsabilité et où les faits sont dominés par l'idéologie. Comme dirait Trump: "Ce ne sont que des mots, les gens."

A propos de l'auteur

La ConversationLiam Kennedy, professeur d'études américaines, Collège universitaire de Dublin

Cet article a été publié initialement le La Conversation. Lis le article original.

Livres connexes:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; mots-clés = discours politique; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

suivez InnerSelf sur

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

American Politics Is Officially In The Gutter

democracy

American Politics Is Officially In The Gutter

The second US presidential election debate was widely billed as a heavyweight bout. In the event it was a score draw – but the clear loser was the American political process.

This election continues to be a rollercoaster ride, with the American electorate by turns gripped and nauseated as events unfold. The two days leading up to the debate alone threw up more drama than most election cycles manage to generate in two years, with the media and pundit class near-hysterical in their excitement.

Normal political discourse was fully abandoned little more than 48 hours before the debate began, when a video emerged of Trump describing how stardom empowered him to sexually assault women with impunity. The ensuing political and media storm reached a fever pitch just an hour before the debate, when Trump staged a press conference with three women who claim to have been sexually molested by Bill Clinton. Trump then brought them to the debate with him. Forget the boxing metaphors; this was presidential debate as reality television.

The debate used a so-called “town hall” format discussion, meaning the candidates answered questions directly from the audience and were free to move around the stage as they did so. But whereas this format was perhaps intended to keep the debate more moderate, what actually ensued was a nasty and noxious spectacle from the start. The candidates even declined to shake hands when they took the stage.

Keeping a grip

Clinton was at her strongest on the opening questions about Trump’s attitude to women. Trump was asked repeatedly by Cooper if he was advocating or had carried out sexual assault. He didn’t answer at first, repeatedly saying it was “locker-room talk” and oddly deflecting this by repeating that he would attack Islamic State. Eventually, asked again if he’d ever sexually attacked women, he said “No, I have not”. Hardly an apology, then.

After Trump doubled down, saying “There’s never been anybody in the history of politics in this nation that’s been so abusive to women” as Bill Clinton (who was after all in the room), his opponent replied with a carefully prepared commentary, saying that unlike any prior Republican candidate she had encountered, Trump was not fit to serve. She also made sure to note that besides women, he had also attacked many minorities – Muslims, Mexicans, prisoners of war, and on and on.

But by his own admittedly low standards, Trump was relatively disciplined. Refusing to take the sort of bait that threw him off at the two candidates’ first encounter, he rallied by picking up a mantra he repeated throughout the debate: “It’s just words, folks”.

He repeatedly insisted that Clinton has had 30 years in politics to do much of what she’s now campaigning to do as president, and that she’s so far failed. It was a strong tactic, and it helped him calmly swerve around issues that were dangerous for him. On non-payment of his taxes, he simply said he only does what Clinton’s elite friends and donors do themselves.

He came out with a few decent enough lines (“Lincoln never lied, unlike you”) and crucially, kept it simple (“Clinton is raising your taxes and I am lowering your taxes”).

Never mind the truth

Clinton seemed close to exasperated at times as Trump sniped at her supposed 30 years of inaction, and she eventually put forward a list of her achievements as senator and secretary of state, particularly on children’s health and women’s rights. She noted she had her name on 400 pieces of legislation, and stressed her ability to do hard political work on a bipartisan basis.

Clearly she had her own prepared formulas. On many occasions she began her responses to Trump’s comments by saying “much of that is not right”, and repeatedly implored people to fact-check Trump’s statements (many of which have already been judged misleading or downright untrue). At one point she recalled how Michelle Obama advised us all that “when they go low, we go high”. She was evidently trying to do this herself by generally not interrupting Trump, who (as in the first debate) repeatedly chipped in.

Trump’s approach was certainly hectoring – “When I am president we will have a special prosecutor to look into Hillary” – frequently chiding Clinton and ad-libbing erratically as she spoke, at other points prowling the stage and hovering menacingly behind her. But he never quite disintegrated into incoherence as he did in round one, and as the debate went on Clinton seemed to be more and more on the back foot.

The American media was itching for a decisive or dramatic result, keen to promote one of two narratives: that Trump has hit rock bottom at last, or that he has staged an amazing comeback. In truth (what’s left of it, anyway), neither narrative is believable.

Trump lives to fight another day, but he probably did nothing to attract the fresh voters he needs to win. In the meantime, he’ll have to hope no more revelations of sexual predation emerge, and that the current scandal hanging over him somehow loses potency.

Still, Republican leaders are clearly worried the scandal could contaminate candidates further down the ballot and put their congressional majorities at risk. Many such candidates have disavowed Trump since the tape of his misogynistic bragging was leaked, and more may yet leave the ship if things don’t improve.

On paper, this looks dire for Trump – but then again, the events of this election have violated almost every tenet of conventional wisdom about how American politics works. We are living in what increasingly appears to be a “post-factual” age in which scandals roll on without accountability and facts are trumped by ideology. As Trump would say: “It’s just words, folks.”

About The Author

The ConversationLiam Kennedy, Professor of American Studies, University College Dublin

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

The Terms of Political Discourse. (Princeton Paperbacks)

democracyAuthor: William E. Connolly
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Used Book in Good Condition

Brand: Brand: Princeton University Press
Studio: Princeton University Press
Label: Princeton University Press
Publisher: Princeton University Press
Manufacturer: Princeton University Press

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

William Connolly presents a lucid and concise defense of the thesis of "essentially contested concepts" that can well be read as a general introduction to political theory, as well as for its challenge to the prevailing understanding of political discourse. In Connolly's view, the language of politics is not a neutral medium that conveys ideas independently formed but an institutionalized structure of meanings that channels political thought and action in certain directions. In the new preface he pursues the implications of this perspective for a distinctive conception of ethics and democracy.





President Donald Trump and His Political Discourse

democracyAuthor: Michele Lockhart
Binding: Paperback
Studio: Routledge
Label: Routledge
Publisher: Routledge
Manufacturer: Routledge

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

President Donald Trump and His Political Discourse brings together a diverse collection of perspectives on President Trump’s Twitter rhetoric. Truly unique in its in-depth exploration, the volume demonstrates the ways in which international and U.S. relations, media and "fake news," and marginalized groups, among other things, have been the subject of President Trump’s tweets. It also features qualitative–quantitative analyses, evaluating tweet patterns, broader language shifts, and the psychology of President Trump’s Twitter voice. The purpose of this collection is not only to analyze the language used but also to consider the ramifications of the various messages on both individual and global levels, for which Trump is both celebrated and criticized. Interdisciplinary in approach, this collection is a useful resource for students in political rhetoric and communication, international relations, linguistics, journalism, leadership studies, and more.





Rousseau: The Basic Political Writings: Discourse on the Sciences and the Arts, Discourse on the Origin of Inequality, Discourse on Political Economy, ... Contract, The State of War (Hackett Classics)

democracyAuthor: Jean-Jacques Rousseau
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • HACKETT

Brand: imusti
Creator(s):
  • Donald A. Cress
  • David Wootton

Studio: Hackett Publishing Company, Inc.
Label: Hackett Publishing Company, Inc.
Publisher: Hackett Publishing Company, Inc.
Manufacturer: Hackett Publishing Company, Inc.

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

This substantially revised new edition of Rousseau: The Basic Political Writings features a brilliant new Introduction by David Wootton, a revision by Donald A. Cress of his own 1987 translation of Rousseau's most important political writings, and the addition of Cress' new translation of Rousseau's State of ?War. New footnotes, headnotes, and a chronology by David Wootton provide expert guidance to first-time readers of the texts.





democracy
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}