Американская политика официально находится в водосточной трубе

Американская политика официально находится в водосточной трубе

Второй дебют президентских выборов в США был широко объявлен в супертяжелом весе. В том случае, если это была ничья, но четким проигравшим был американский политический процесс.

Эти выборы по-прежнему представляют собой катание на американских горках, когда американский электорат по очереди захватывается и тошнотворит, когда события разворачиваются. Два дня, предшествовавшие дебатам, породили больше драматизма, чем большинство избирательных циклов удалось создать за два года, со СМИ и классом pundit, близким к истерическому в их волнении.

Нормальный политический дискурс был полностью оставлен немного больше, чем за 48 за несколько часов до начала дебатов, когда появилось видео Трампа, описывающее, как слава уполномочил его безнаказанно совершать нападения на женщин, Последующий политический шторм и волна СМИ достигли лихорадки всего за час до дебатов, когда Трамп организовал пресс-конференцию с тремя женщинами, которые утверждают, что Билл Клинтон подвергся сексуальному домогательству. Трамп привел их к обсуждению с ним. Забудьте о метафорах бокса; это были президентские дебаты как реалити-шоу.

Дискуссия использовала так называемую дискуссию формата «ратуши», то есть кандидаты отвечали на вопросы непосредственно от аудитории и могли свободно передвигаться по сцене, как они это делали. Но в то время как этот формат, возможно, был предназначен для того, чтобы держать дискуссию более умеренной, то, что на самом деле последовало, было неприятным и вредным зрелищем с самого начала. Кандидаты даже отказались пожать друг другу руки, когда они вышли на сцену.

Хранение

Клинтон была на ее самом сильном в начале вопросов о отношении Трампа к женщинам. Трамп неоднократно спрашивал Купера, защищал ли он или совершал сексуальное насилие. Сначала он не ответил, неоднократно заявляя, что это «разговор в раздевалке» и странно отклоняет это, повторяя, что он нападет на исламское государство. В конце концов, снова спросил, если он когда-либо подвергался сексуальным нападениям на женщин, он сказал: «Нет, я не знаю». Вряд ли это извинение.

После того, как Трамп удвоился, он сказал: «В истории политики в этой стране, которая так жестоко относится к женщинам, никого в истории политики не было, как Билл Клинтон (который все-таки был в комнате), его противник ответил тщательно подготовленным комментарием, заявив, что в отличие от любого ранее избранного республиканского кандидата, Трамп не подходит для служения. Она также отметила, что помимо женщин он также напал на многих меньшинств - мусульман, мексиканцев, военнопленных и так далее.


Получите последние новости от InnerSelf


Но по своим, по общему признанию, низким стандартам, Трамп был относительно дисциплинирован. Отказавшись взять такую ​​приманку, которая отбросила его на первую встречу двух кандидатов, он собрался, собрав мантру, которую он повторил на протяжении всей дискуссии: «Это просто слова, люди».

Он неоднократно настаивал на том, что Клинтон провел в 30 годы политику, чтобы сделать большую часть того, что она сейчас проводит в качестве президента, и что она так не справилась. Это была сильная тактика, и это помогло ему спокойно отвлечься от проблем, которые были для него опасны. О невыплате налогов он просто сказал, что он делает то, что делают элитные друзья и доноры Клинтона сами.

Он вышел с несколькими достаточно приличными линиями («Линкольн никогда не лгал, в отличие от вас») и, что важно, держал его простым («Клинтон поднимает ваши налоги, и я снижаю ваши налоги»).

Не обращай внимания на правду

Клинтон казалась близкой к раздраженному время от времени, когда Трамп отреагировал на ее предполагаемые 30 годы бездействия, и она в конечном итоге выдвинула список своих достижений в качестве сенатора и госсекретаря, особенно по вопросам здоровья детей и прав женщин. Она отметила, что у нее есть свое имя в законодательных актах 400, и подчеркнула ее способность выполнять напряженную политическую работу на двухпартийной основе.

Очевидно, у нее были свои собственные рецепты. Неоднократно она начинала свои ответы на комментарии Трампа, говоря «многое из того, что неправильно», и неоднократно умоляла людей проверять факты Трампа (многие из которых уже были оценены вводящий в заблуждение или совершенно неверный). В какой-то момент она вспомнила, как Мишель Обама советовала нам всем, что "когда они идут низко, мы идем высоко». Очевидно, она пыталась сделать это сама вообще не прерывая Трамп, который (как и в первых дебатах) неоднократно.

Подход Трампа, конечно же, следовал за обучением: «Когда я буду президентом, у нас будет специальный прокурор, чтобы посмотреть на Хиллари», - часто избивая Клинтона и расправляясь, когда она говорила, в других пунктах выходила на сцену и угрожающе угрожала за ней. Но он никогда не распадался на непоследовательность, как в первом раунде, и, поскольку дебаты продолжались, Клинтон казалась все более и более на задней ноге.

Американские СМИ испытывали зуд за решающий или драматический результат, стремясь продвинуть один из двух повествований: Трамп наконец ударил по дну, или что он устроил потрясающее возвращение. Действительно (что осталось от него, в любом случае), ни повествование не правдоподобно.

Трамп живет, чтобы сражаться в другой день, но он, вероятно, ничего не сделал, чтобы привлечь новым избирателям, которых он должен выиграть, Тем временем ему придется надеяться, что больше не появятся откровения о сексуальных хищниках и что нынешний скандал, висящий над ним, как-то теряет потенцию.

Тем не менее, республиканские лидеры явно обеспокоены тем, что скандал может загрязнить кандидатов в результате голосования и поставить под угрозу их большинство в Конгрессе. Многие такие кандидаты дезавуированный Трамп так как просочилась лента его женоненавистнической хвастовства, и еще многое может покинуть корабль, если что-то не улучшится.

На бумаге это выглядит ужасно для Трампа - но опять же, события этих выборов нарушили почти все принципы традиционной мудрости о том, как работает американская политика. Мы живем в том, что все чаще кажется «пост-фактическим» возрастом, в котором скандалы скатываются без подотчетности и фактов, сбиты идеологией. Когда Трамп сказал бы: «Это просто слова, ребята».

Об авторе

БеседаЛиам Кеннеди, профессор американских исследований, Университетский колледж в Дублине

Эта статья изначально была опубликована в Беседа, Прочтите оригинал статьи.

Похожие книги:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Книги; ключевые слова = политический дискурс; maxresults = 3}

enafarZH-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Следуйте за InnerSelf

facebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

ВНУТРЕННИЕ ГОЛОСЫ

САМОЕ ЧИТАЕМОЕ

American Politics Is Officially In The Gutter

democracy

American Politics Is Officially In The Gutter

The second US presidential election debate was widely billed as a heavyweight bout. In the event it was a score draw – but the clear loser was the American political process.

This election continues to be a rollercoaster ride, with the American electorate by turns gripped and nauseated as events unfold. The two days leading up to the debate alone threw up more drama than most election cycles manage to generate in two years, with the media and pundit class near-hysterical in their excitement.

Normal political discourse was fully abandoned little more than 48 hours before the debate began, when a video emerged of Trump describing how stardom empowered him to sexually assault women with impunity. The ensuing political and media storm reached a fever pitch just an hour before the debate, when Trump staged a press conference with three women who claim to have been sexually molested by Bill Clinton. Trump then brought them to the debate with him. Forget the boxing metaphors; this was presidential debate as reality television.

The debate used a so-called “town hall” format discussion, meaning the candidates answered questions directly from the audience and were free to move around the stage as they did so. But whereas this format was perhaps intended to keep the debate more moderate, what actually ensued was a nasty and noxious spectacle from the start. The candidates even declined to shake hands when they took the stage.

Keeping a grip

Clinton was at her strongest on the opening questions about Trump’s attitude to women. Trump was asked repeatedly by Cooper if he was advocating or had carried out sexual assault. He didn’t answer at first, repeatedly saying it was “locker-room talk” and oddly deflecting this by repeating that he would attack Islamic State. Eventually, asked again if he’d ever sexually attacked women, he said “No, I have not”. Hardly an apology, then.

After Trump doubled down, saying “There’s never been anybody in the history of politics in this nation that’s been so abusive to women” as Bill Clinton (who was after all in the room), his opponent replied with a carefully prepared commentary, saying that unlike any prior Republican candidate she had encountered, Trump was not fit to serve. She also made sure to note that besides women, he had also attacked many minorities – Muslims, Mexicans, prisoners of war, and on and on.

But by his own admittedly low standards, Trump was relatively disciplined. Refusing to take the sort of bait that threw him off at the two candidates’ first encounter, he rallied by picking up a mantra he repeated throughout the debate: “It’s just words, folks”.

He repeatedly insisted that Clinton has had 30 years in politics to do much of what she’s now campaigning to do as president, and that she’s so far failed. It was a strong tactic, and it helped him calmly swerve around issues that were dangerous for him. On non-payment of his taxes, he simply said he only does what Clinton’s elite friends and donors do themselves.

He came out with a few decent enough lines (“Lincoln never lied, unlike you”) and crucially, kept it simple (“Clinton is raising your taxes and I am lowering your taxes”).

Never mind the truth

Clinton seemed close to exasperated at times as Trump sniped at her supposed 30 years of inaction, and she eventually put forward a list of her achievements as senator and secretary of state, particularly on children’s health and women’s rights. She noted she had her name on 400 pieces of legislation, and stressed her ability to do hard political work on a bipartisan basis.

Clearly she had her own prepared formulas. On many occasions she began her responses to Trump’s comments by saying “much of that is not right”, and repeatedly implored people to fact-check Trump’s statements (many of which have already been judged misleading or downright untrue). At one point she recalled how Michelle Obama advised us all that “when they go low, we go high”. She was evidently trying to do this herself by generally not interrupting Trump, who (as in the first debate) repeatedly chipped in.

Trump’s approach was certainly hectoring – “When I am president we will have a special prosecutor to look into Hillary” – frequently chiding Clinton and ad-libbing erratically as she spoke, at other points prowling the stage and hovering menacingly behind her. But he never quite disintegrated into incoherence as he did in round one, and as the debate went on Clinton seemed to be more and more on the back foot.

The American media was itching for a decisive or dramatic result, keen to promote one of two narratives: that Trump has hit rock bottom at last, or that he has staged an amazing comeback. In truth (what’s left of it, anyway), neither narrative is believable.

Trump lives to fight another day, but he probably did nothing to attract the fresh voters he needs to win. In the meantime, he’ll have to hope no more revelations of sexual predation emerge, and that the current scandal hanging over him somehow loses potency.

Still, Republican leaders are clearly worried the scandal could contaminate candidates further down the ballot and put their congressional majorities at risk. Many such candidates have disavowed Trump since the tape of his misogynistic bragging was leaked, and more may yet leave the ship if things don’t improve.

On paper, this looks dire for Trump – but then again, the events of this election have violated almost every tenet of conventional wisdom about how American politics works. We are living in what increasingly appears to be a “post-factual” age in which scandals roll on without accountability and facts are trumped by ideology. As Trump would say: “It’s just words, folks.”

About The Author

The ConversationLiam Kennedy, Professor of American Studies, University College Dublin

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

The Terms of Political Discourse. (Princeton Paperbacks)

democracyAuthor: William E. Connolly
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Used Book in Good Condition

Brand: Brand: Princeton University Press
Studio: Princeton University Press
Label: Princeton University Press
Publisher: Princeton University Press
Manufacturer: Princeton University Press

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

William Connolly presents a lucid and concise defense of the thesis of "essentially contested concepts" that can well be read as a general introduction to political theory, as well as for its challenge to the prevailing understanding of political discourse. In Connolly's view, the language of politics is not a neutral medium that conveys ideas independently formed but an institutionalized structure of meanings that channels political thought and action in certain directions. In the new preface he pursues the implications of this perspective for a distinctive conception of ethics and democracy.





President Donald Trump and His Political Discourse

democracyAuthor: Michele Lockhart
Binding: Paperback
Studio: Routledge
Label: Routledge
Publisher: Routledge
Manufacturer: Routledge

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

President Donald Trump and His Political Discourse brings together a diverse collection of perspectives on President Trump’s Twitter rhetoric. Truly unique in its in-depth exploration, the volume demonstrates the ways in which international and U.S. relations, media and "fake news," and marginalized groups, among other things, have been the subject of President Trump’s tweets. It also features qualitative–quantitative analyses, evaluating tweet patterns, broader language shifts, and the psychology of President Trump’s Twitter voice. The purpose of this collection is not only to analyze the language used but also to consider the ramifications of the various messages on both individual and global levels, for which Trump is both celebrated and criticized. Interdisciplinary in approach, this collection is a useful resource for students in political rhetoric and communication, international relations, linguistics, journalism, leadership studies, and more.





Rousseau: The Basic Political Writings: Discourse on the Sciences and the Arts, Discourse on the Origin of Inequality, Discourse on Political Economy, ... Contract, The State of War (Hackett Classics)

democracyAuthor: Jean-Jacques Rousseau
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • HACKETT

Brand: imusti
Creator(s):
  • Donald A. Cress
  • David Wootton

Studio: Hackett Publishing Company, Inc.
Label: Hackett Publishing Company, Inc.
Publisher: Hackett Publishing Company, Inc.
Manufacturer: Hackett Publishing Company, Inc.

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

This substantially revised new edition of Rousseau: The Basic Political Writings features a brilliant new Introduction by David Wootton, a revision by Donald A. Cress of his own 1987 translation of Rousseau's most important political writings, and the addition of Cress' new translation of Rousseau's State of ?War. New footnotes, headnotes, and a chronology by David Wootton provide expert guidance to first-time readers of the texts.





democracy
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}