Amerikanische Politik ist offiziell im Gutter

Amerikanische Politik ist offiziell im Gutter

Die zweite US-Präsidentschaftswahldebatte wurde weithin als Schwergewicht bezeichnet. Für den Fall, dass es ein Unentschieden war - aber der klare Verlierer war der amerikanische politische Prozess.

Diese Wahl ist weiterhin eine Achterbahnfahrt, wobei die amerikanische Wählerschaft im Verlauf der Ereignisse abwechselnd gequält und geplagt wird. Die zwei Tage, die zu der Debatte führten, brachten mehr Drama hervor, als die meisten Wahlzyklen in zwei Jahren erzeugen können, wobei die Medien und die Expertenklasse in ihrer Erregung fast hysterisch sind.

Der normale politische Diskurs wurde kaum mehr als 48 Stunden vor Beginn der Debatte aufgegeben, als ein Video von Trump auftauchte, das beschreibt, wie Starruhm ist ermächtigt ihn, Frauen ungestraft sexuell anzugreifen. Der darauffolgende Polit- und Mediensturm erreichte eine Stunde vor der Debatte, als Trump seinen Höhepunkt erreichte inszenierte eine Pressekonferenz mit drei Frauen, die behaupten, von Bill Clinton sexuell belästigt worden zu sein. Trump brachte sie dann mit ihm zur Debatte. Vergiss die Box-Metaphern; das war die Präsidentschaftsdebatte als Reality-Fernsehen.

In der Debatte wurde eine so genannte "Rathaus" -Diskussion geführt, bei der die Kandidaten Fragen direkt vom Publikum beantworteten und sich frei auf der Bühne bewegen konnten. Aber während dieses Format vielleicht dazu diente, die Debatte moderater zu halten, war das, was sich tatsächlich abzeichnete, von Anfang an ein böses und schädliches Schauspiel. Die Kandidaten haben es sogar abgelehnt, sich die Hand zu geben, als sie die Bühne betraten.

Halt halten

Clinton war bei den ersten Fragen über Trumps Einstellung zu Frauen am stärksten. Trump wurde wiederholt von Cooper gefragt, ob er sexuelle Übergriffe befürwortete oder durchgeführt hatte. Er antwortete zuerst nicht, sagte wiederholt, es wäre "Umkleideraum-Gespräch" und sonderbar ablenken, indem er wiederholte, dass er den Islamischen Staat angreifen würde. Schließlich fragte er noch einmal, ob er jemals Frauen sexuell angegriffen habe, und sagte: "Nein, habe ich nicht". Also kaum eine Entschuldigung.

Nachdem Trump sich verdoppelt hatte und sagte: "Es gab nie jemanden in der Geschichte der Politik in dieser Nation, die so missbilligend für Frauen war" wie Bill Clinton (der sich im Raum aufhielt), antwortete sein Gegner mit einem sorgfältig vorbereiteten Kommentar Im Gegensatz zu allen früheren republikanischen Kandidaten, die sie getroffen hatte, war Trump nicht dazu in der Lage zu dienen. Sie stellte auch fest, dass er außer Frauen auch viele Minderheiten angegriffen hatte - Muslime, Mexikaner, Kriegsgefangene und so weiter.

Aber durch seine zugegebenermaßen niedrigen Standards war Trump relativ diszipliniert. Er weigerte sich, die Art von Köder zu nehmen, der ihn bei der ersten Begegnung der beiden Kandidaten abwarf, und sammelte ein Mantra, das er während der gesamten Debatte wiederholte: "Es sind nur Worte, Leute".

Er bestand wiederholt darauf, dass Clinton 30-Jahre in der Politik gehabt hat, um viel von dem zu tun, was sie jetzt als Präsidentin unternimmt, und dass sie bisher gescheitert ist. Es war eine starke Taktik, und es half ihm, in aller Ruhe Fragen zu beantworten, die für ihn gefährlich waren. Bei Nichtzahlung seiner Steuern sagte er einfach, dass er nur das tut, was Clintons elitäre Freunde und Spender selbst tun.

Er kam mit ein paar anständigen Zeilen heraus ("Lincoln hat nie gelogen, anders als Sie") und hat es im Wesentlichen einfach gehalten ("Clinton erhöht Ihre Steuern und ich senkt Ihre Steuern").

Vergiss die Wahrheit nicht

Clinton schien manchmal beinahe verärgert zu sein, als Trump ihre angeblichen 30-Jahre der Untätigkeit kritisierte und schließlich eine Liste ihrer Leistungen als Senatorin und Staatssekretärin vorlegte, insbesondere zu Kindergesundheit und Frauenrechten. Sie wies darauf hin, dass sie ihren Namen in 400-Gesetzeswerken trug, und betonte ihre Fähigkeit, auf parteiübergreifender Basis harte politische Arbeit zu leisten.

Offensichtlich hatte sie ihre eigenen vorbereiteten Formeln. Bei vielen Gelegenheiten begann sie ihre Antworten auf Trumps Kommentare mit der Aussage "Vieles davon ist nicht richtig" und flehte die Leute wiederholt an, Trumps Aussagen zu überprüfen (von denen viele bereits beurteilt wurden) irreführend oder regelrecht unwahr). Irgendwann erinnerte sie sich daran, wie Michelle Obama uns das alles geraten hat. "Wenn sie niedrig werden, gehen wir hoch". Offenbar versuchte sie das selbst zu tun im Allgemeinen nicht Trump zu unterbrechen, wer (wie in der ersten Debatte) wiederholt angeschlagen.

Trumps Ansatz war sicher: "Wenn ich Präsident bin, haben wir einen Sonderermittler, der Hillary auf den Zahn fühlen kann" - oft Clinton und Ad-libbing, während sie sprach, an anderen Stellen über die Bühne streifen und drohend hinter ihr schweben. Aber er löste sich nie vollständig in Inkohärenz auf, wie er es in der ersten Runde getan hatte, und während die Debatte weiterging, schien Clinton mehr und mehr auf dem hinteren Fuß zu stehen.

Die amerikanischen Medien juckten nach einem entscheidenden oder dramatischen Ergebnis und wollten eine von zwei Erzählungen fördern: dass Trump endlich den Tiefpunkt erreicht hat oder dass er ein erstaunliches Comeback hingelegt hat. In Wahrheit (Was ist davon noch übrig?), keine Erzählung ist glaubwürdig.

Trump lebt, um an einem anderen Tag zu kämpfen, aber er hat wahrscheinlich nichts unternommen, um das zu gewinnen neue Wähler muss er gewinnen. In der Zwischenzeit wird er hoffen müssen, dass keine Enthüllungen über sexuelle Räuberei mehr entstehen und dass der aktuelle Skandal, der über ihm schwebt, irgendwie an Kraft verliert.

Dennoch sind die republikanischen Führer sichtlich besorgt, dass der Skandal die Kandidaten weiter unten in der Abstimmung verseuchen und ihre Mehrheit im Kongress in Gefahr bringen könnte. Viele solche Kandidaten haben hat Trump verleugnet seit das Band seiner frauenfeindlichen Prahlerei durchgesickert ist, und mehr noch das Schiff verlassen kann, wenn sich die Dinge nicht verbessern.

Auf dem Papier sieht das für Trump schrecklich aus - aber andererseits haben die Ereignisse dieser Wahl fast jeden Grundsatz der konventionellen Weisheit darüber verletzt, wie die amerikanische Politik funktioniert. Wir leben in einem zunehmend "postfaktischen" Zeitalter, in dem Skandale ohne Rechenschaftspflicht weitergehen und Fakten von der Ideologie übertrumpft werden. Wie Trump sagen würde: "Es sind nur Worte, Leute."

Über den Autor

Das GesprächLiam Kennedy, Professor für Amerikanistik, Universität College Dublin

Dieser Artikel wurde ursprünglich veröffentlicht am Das Gespräch.. Lies das Original Artikel.

Bücher zum Thema:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Bücher; Schlüsselwörter = politischer Diskurs; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

Folge InnerSelf weiter

Google-Plus-Symbolfacebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Folge InnerSelf weiter

Google-Plus-Symbolfacebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

American Politics Is Officially In The Gutter

democracy

American Politics Is Officially In The Gutter

The second US presidential election debate was widely billed as a heavyweight bout. In the event it was a score draw – but the clear loser was the American political process.

This election continues to be a rollercoaster ride, with the American electorate by turns gripped and nauseated as events unfold. The two days leading up to the debate alone threw up more drama than most election cycles manage to generate in two years, with the media and pundit class near-hysterical in their excitement.

Normal political discourse was fully abandoned little more than 48 hours before the debate began, when a video emerged of Trump describing how stardom empowered him to sexually assault women with impunity. The ensuing political and media storm reached a fever pitch just an hour before the debate, when Trump staged a press conference with three women who claim to have been sexually molested by Bill Clinton. Trump then brought them to the debate with him. Forget the boxing metaphors; this was presidential debate as reality television.

The debate used a so-called “town hall” format discussion, meaning the candidates answered questions directly from the audience and were free to move around the stage as they did so. But whereas this format was perhaps intended to keep the debate more moderate, what actually ensued was a nasty and noxious spectacle from the start. The candidates even declined to shake hands when they took the stage.

Keeping a grip

Clinton was at her strongest on the opening questions about Trump’s attitude to women. Trump was asked repeatedly by Cooper if he was advocating or had carried out sexual assault. He didn’t answer at first, repeatedly saying it was “locker-room talk” and oddly deflecting this by repeating that he would attack Islamic State. Eventually, asked again if he’d ever sexually attacked women, he said “No, I have not”. Hardly an apology, then.

After Trump doubled down, saying “There’s never been anybody in the history of politics in this nation that’s been so abusive to women” as Bill Clinton (who was after all in the room), his opponent replied with a carefully prepared commentary, saying that unlike any prior Republican candidate she had encountered, Trump was not fit to serve. She also made sure to note that besides women, he had also attacked many minorities – Muslims, Mexicans, prisoners of war, and on and on.

But by his own admittedly low standards, Trump was relatively disciplined. Refusing to take the sort of bait that threw him off at the two candidates’ first encounter, he rallied by picking up a mantra he repeated throughout the debate: “It’s just words, folks”.

He repeatedly insisted that Clinton has had 30 years in politics to do much of what she’s now campaigning to do as president, and that she’s so far failed. It was a strong tactic, and it helped him calmly swerve around issues that were dangerous for him. On non-payment of his taxes, he simply said he only does what Clinton’s elite friends and donors do themselves.

He came out with a few decent enough lines (“Lincoln never lied, unlike you”) and crucially, kept it simple (“Clinton is raising your taxes and I am lowering your taxes”).

Never mind the truth

Clinton seemed close to exasperated at times as Trump sniped at her supposed 30 years of inaction, and she eventually put forward a list of her achievements as senator and secretary of state, particularly on children’s health and women’s rights. She noted she had her name on 400 pieces of legislation, and stressed her ability to do hard political work on a bipartisan basis.

Clearly she had her own prepared formulas. On many occasions she began her responses to Trump’s comments by saying “much of that is not right”, and repeatedly implored people to fact-check Trump’s statements (many of which have already been judged misleading or downright untrue). At one point she recalled how Michelle Obama advised us all that “when they go low, we go high”. She was evidently trying to do this herself by generally not interrupting Trump, who (as in the first debate) repeatedly chipped in.

Trump’s approach was certainly hectoring – “When I am president we will have a special prosecutor to look into Hillary” – frequently chiding Clinton and ad-libbing erratically as she spoke, at other points prowling the stage and hovering menacingly behind her. But he never quite disintegrated into incoherence as he did in round one, and as the debate went on Clinton seemed to be more and more on the back foot.

The American media was itching for a decisive or dramatic result, keen to promote one of two narratives: that Trump has hit rock bottom at last, or that he has staged an amazing comeback. In truth (what’s left of it, anyway), neither narrative is believable.

Trump lives to fight another day, but he probably did nothing to attract the fresh voters he needs to win. In the meantime, he’ll have to hope no more revelations of sexual predation emerge, and that the current scandal hanging over him somehow loses potency.

Still, Republican leaders are clearly worried the scandal could contaminate candidates further down the ballot and put their congressional majorities at risk. Many such candidates have disavowed Trump since the tape of his misogynistic bragging was leaked, and more may yet leave the ship if things don’t improve.

On paper, this looks dire for Trump – but then again, the events of this election have violated almost every tenet of conventional wisdom about how American politics works. We are living in what increasingly appears to be a “post-factual” age in which scandals roll on without accountability and facts are trumped by ideology. As Trump would say: “It’s just words, folks.”

About The Author

The ConversationLiam Kennedy, Professor of American Studies, University College Dublin

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

The Terms of Political Discourse. (Princeton Paperbacks)

democracyAuthor: William E. Connolly
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Used Book in Good Condition

Brand: Brand: Princeton University Press
Studio: Princeton University Press
Label: Princeton University Press
Publisher: Princeton University Press
Manufacturer: Princeton University Press

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

William Connolly presents a lucid and concise defense of the thesis of "essentially contested concepts" that can well be read as a general introduction to political theory, as well as for its challenge to the prevailing understanding of political discourse. In Connolly's view, the language of politics is not a neutral medium that conveys ideas independently formed but an institutionalized structure of meanings that channels political thought and action in certain directions. In the new preface he pursues the implications of this perspective for a distinctive conception of ethics and democracy.





President Donald Trump and His Political Discourse

democracyAuthor: Michele Lockhart
Binding: Paperback
Studio: Routledge
Label: Routledge
Publisher: Routledge
Manufacturer: Routledge

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

President Donald Trump and His Political Discourse brings together a diverse collection of perspectives on President Trump’s Twitter rhetoric. Truly unique in its in-depth exploration, the volume demonstrates the ways in which international and U.S. relations, media and "fake news," and marginalized groups, among other things, have been the subject of President Trump’s tweets. It also features qualitative–quantitative analyses, evaluating tweet patterns, broader language shifts, and the psychology of President Trump’s Twitter voice. The purpose of this collection is not only to analyze the language used but also to consider the ramifications of the various messages on both individual and global levels, for which Trump is both celebrated and criticized. Interdisciplinary in approach, this collection is a useful resource for students in political rhetoric and communication, international relations, linguistics, journalism, leadership studies, and more.





Rousseau: The Basic Political Writings: Discourse on the Sciences and the Arts, Discourse on the Origin of Inequality, Discourse on Political Economy, ... Contract, The State of War (Hackett Classics)

democracyAuthor: Jean-Jacques Rousseau
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • HACKETT

Brand: imusti
Creator(s):
  • Donald A. Cress
  • David Wootton

Studio: Hackett Publishing Company, Inc.
Label: Hackett Publishing Company, Inc.
Publisher: Hackett Publishing Company, Inc.
Manufacturer: Hackett Publishing Company, Inc.

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

This substantially revised new edition of Rousseau: The Basic Political Writings features a brilliant new Introduction by David Wootton, a revision by Donald A. Cress of his own 1987 translation of Rousseau's most important political writings, and the addition of Cress' new translation of Rousseau's State of ?War. New footnotes, headnotes, and a chronology by David Wootton provide expert guidance to first-time readers of the texts.





democracy
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}