السياسة الأمريكية رسميا في الحضيض

السياسة الأمريكية رسميا في الحضيض

وكانت المناظرة الثانية حول الانتخابات الرئاسية في الولايات المتحدة قد وصفت على نطاق واسع بأنها مباراة ثقيلة. في حال كانت نتيجة التعادل - لكن الخاسر الواضح كان العملية السياسية الأمريكية.

لا تزال هذه الانتخابات هي ركوب الأفعوانية ، حيث يسيطر الناخبون الأميركيون على الانقباضات ويغضبون عندما تتكشف الأحداث. لقد أفضى اليومان المؤديان إلى المناقشة وحدها إلى المزيد من الدراما أكثر مما يمكن أن تحققه معظم الدورات الانتخابية في غضون عامين ، حيث كان الإعلام والطبقة النظرية شبه هستيرية في إثارتهم.

تم التخلي تماما عن الخطاب السياسي العادي أكثر قليلا من ساعات 48 قبل بدء المناقشة ، عندما ظهر شريط فيديو من ترامب يصف كيف النجومية مكنته من الاعتداء جنسيا على النساء مع الإفلات من العقاب. وصلت العاصفة السياسية والإعلامية التي تلت ذلك إلى درجة الحمى قبل ساعة من النقاش ، عندما ترامب نظموا مؤتمرا صحفيا مع ثلاث نساء يزعمن أنهن تعرضن للتحرش الجنسي من قبل بيل كلينتون. ثم أحضرهم ترامب إلى النقاش معه. ننسى الاستعارات الملاكمة. كان هذا النقاش الرئاسي كتلفزيون الواقع.

واستخدم الجدل ما يسمى بتنسيق "قاعة المدينة" ، مما يعني أن المرشحين يجيبون على الأسئلة مباشرة من الجمهور ولديهم الحرية في التحرك على المسرح كما فعلوا. ولكن في حين أن هذا الشكل ربما كان يهدف إلى إبقاء النقاش أكثر اعتدالا ، فإن ما أعقب ذلك كان مشهدًا سيئًا ومضطربًا منذ البداية. حتى أن المرشحين رفضوا المصافحة عندما أخذوا المسرح.

الحفاظ على قبضة

كانت كلينتون في أقوى حالاتها على الأسئلة الافتتاحية حول موقف ترامب تجاه النساء. وقد سأل كوبر مراراً وتكراراً عن ترامب إذا كان قد دافع أو شن اعتداءً جنسياً. لم يجيب في البداية ، مرارًا وتكرارًا قائلاً إنه كان "حديثًا في غرفة خلع الملابس" ، وكان يميل إلى صرف الانتباه عن طريق تكرار أنه سيهاجم الدولة الإسلامية. وفي النهاية ، سأل مرة أخرى إذا كان قد اعتدى جنسياً على النساء ، فقال "لا ، لم أفعل". بالكاد اعتذار ، ثم.

بعد تضاعف ترامب ، قال: "لم يكن هناك أي شخص في تاريخ السياسة في هذه الدولة التي كانت مسيئة للمرأة" مثل بيل كلينتون (الذي كان بعد كل شيء في الغرفة) ، رد خصمه بتعليق أعد بعناية ، قائلاً على عكس أي مرشح جمهوري سابق كانت قد واجهته ، لم يكن ترامب صالحًا للخدمة. كما حرصت على ملاحظة أنه إلى جانب النساء ، قام أيضا بمهاجمة العديد من الأقليات - المسلمون ، المكسيكيون ، أسرى الحرب ، وما شابه.

ولكن من خلال معاييره المعترف بها المنخفضة ، كان ترامب منضبطًا نسبيًا. رافضًا أخذ نوع الطعم الذي ألقى به في أول لقاءين للمرشحين ، فقد تظاهر من خلال التقاط تعويذة كررها طوال النقاش: "إنها مجرد كلمات ، يا جماعة".

أصر مرارًا على أن كلينتون كان لديها سنوات 30 في السياسة للقيام بالكثير مما تقوم الآن بحملة للقيام به كرئيس ، وأنها فشلت حتى الآن. لقد كان تكتيكًا قويًا ، وساعده في التحليق بهدوء حول القضايا التي كانت خطرة عليه. عند عدم دفع ضرائبه ، قال ببساطة إنه يفعل فقط ما يفعله أصدقاء النخبة والمانحون من كلينتون.

خرج مع عدد قليل من الخطوط اللائقة بما يكفي ("لم يكذب لينكولن أبدًا ، بعكسك") وبصورة حاسمة ، أبقى الأمر سهلاً ("كلينتون ترفع الضرائب الخاصة بك وأنا أخفض الضرائب").

ناهيك عن الحقيقة

بدت كلينتون على ما يبدو غاضبة في بعض الأحيان عندما قفز ترامب على سنوات تقاعسها 30 ، وقدمت في النهاية قائمة بإنجازاتها في السناتور ووزيرة الخارجية ، ولا سيما بشأن صحة الأطفال وحقوق المرأة. وأشارت إلى أنها تحمل اسمها في تشريعات 400 ، وشددت على قدرتها على القيام بعمل سياسي قاسٍ على أساس الحزبين.

بوضوح كان لديها صيغها المعدة الخاصة. وفي مناسبات عديدة ، بدأت رداها على تعليقات ترامب بقولها "الكثير من ذلك غير صحيح" ، وناشدت مرارًا وتكرارًا الأشخاص بالتحقق من صحة تصريحات ترامب (التي تم الحكم على الكثير منها بالفعل مضللة أو غير صحيحة). تذكرت في إحدى المرات كيف أن ميشيل أوباما نصحتنا بكل ذلك "عندما ينخفض ​​، نذهب عالية". كانت من الواضح أنها تحاول أن تفعل ذلك بنفسها عموما لا يقاطع ترامب، من (كما في المناقشة الأولى) مرارا وتكرارا في.

كان نهج ترامب يتعاطى بالتأكيد - "عندما أكون رئيساً سيكون لدينا مدع خاص للنظر في هيلاري" - غالباً ما يخدع كلينتون ويتأرجح بطريقة متقطعة بينما كانت تتحدث ، في نقاط أخرى تجذب المسرح وتحوم خلفها. لكنه لم يتفكك أبدًا تمامًا كما كان في الجولة الأولى ، وكما بدا أن النقاش في كلينتون أصبح أكثر فأكثر على قدمه الخلفية.

كانت وسائل الإعلام الأمريكية تكتفي بالحصول على نتيجة حاسمة أو دراماتيكية ، حريصة على الترويج لواحد من الروايتين: أن ترامب قد وصل إلى الحضيض في النهاية ، أو أنه قدم عودة مذهلة. في الحقيقة (ما تبقى منه على أي حال) ، لا يمكن تصديق السرد.

يعيش ترامب للقتال في يوم آخر، لكنه ربما لم يفعل شيئًا لجذبه الناخبين الجدد انه بحاجة للفوز. في هذه الأثناء ، سيكون عليه أن يأمل ألا تظهر المزيد من مظاهر الافتراس الجنسي ، وأن الفضيحة الحالية المتداعية عليه تفقد قوتها بطريقة ما.

ومع ذلك ، من الواضح أن القادة الجمهوريين قلقون من أن تؤدي الفضيحة إلى تلويث المرشحين في الاقتراع وتعريض أغلبيتهم في الكونجرس للخطر. العديد من هؤلاء المرشحين لديهم تنكر ترامب منذ تسريب شريط تفاخره الكارهة للمرأة ، وربما أكثر من مغادرة السفينة إذا لم تتحسن الأمور.

على الورق ، يبدو هذا رديئًا بالنسبة إلى ترامب - ولكن مرة أخرى ، انتهكت أحداث هذه الانتخابات كل عقيدة من الحكمة التقليدية حول كيفية عمل السياسة الأمريكية. إننا نعيش في عالم يبدو بشكل متزايد أنه عصر "ما بعد الواقع" تتدحرج فيه الفضائح دون مساءلة ، وتتفوق الحقائق على أيدي الأيديولوجية. كما يقول ترامب: "إنها مجرد كلمات ، يا جماعة".

نبذة عن الكاتب

المحادثةليام كينيدي ، أستاذ الدراسات الأمريكية ، كلية جامعة دبلن

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = الخطاب السياسي ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

American Politics Is Officially In The Gutter

democracy

American Politics Is Officially In The Gutter

The second US presidential election debate was widely billed as a heavyweight bout. In the event it was a score draw – but the clear loser was the American political process.

This election continues to be a rollercoaster ride, with the American electorate by turns gripped and nauseated as events unfold. The two days leading up to the debate alone threw up more drama than most election cycles manage to generate in two years, with the media and pundit class near-hysterical in their excitement.

Normal political discourse was fully abandoned little more than 48 hours before the debate began, when a video emerged of Trump describing how stardom empowered him to sexually assault women with impunity. The ensuing political and media storm reached a fever pitch just an hour before the debate, when Trump staged a press conference with three women who claim to have been sexually molested by Bill Clinton. Trump then brought them to the debate with him. Forget the boxing metaphors; this was presidential debate as reality television.

The debate used a so-called “town hall” format discussion, meaning the candidates answered questions directly from the audience and were free to move around the stage as they did so. But whereas this format was perhaps intended to keep the debate more moderate, what actually ensued was a nasty and noxious spectacle from the start. The candidates even declined to shake hands when they took the stage.

Keeping a grip

Clinton was at her strongest on the opening questions about Trump’s attitude to women. Trump was asked repeatedly by Cooper if he was advocating or had carried out sexual assault. He didn’t answer at first, repeatedly saying it was “locker-room talk” and oddly deflecting this by repeating that he would attack Islamic State. Eventually, asked again if he’d ever sexually attacked women, he said “No, I have not”. Hardly an apology, then.

After Trump doubled down, saying “There’s never been anybody in the history of politics in this nation that’s been so abusive to women” as Bill Clinton (who was after all in the room), his opponent replied with a carefully prepared commentary, saying that unlike any prior Republican candidate she had encountered, Trump was not fit to serve. She also made sure to note that besides women, he had also attacked many minorities – Muslims, Mexicans, prisoners of war, and on and on.

But by his own admittedly low standards, Trump was relatively disciplined. Refusing to take the sort of bait that threw him off at the two candidates’ first encounter, he rallied by picking up a mantra he repeated throughout the debate: “It’s just words, folks”.

He repeatedly insisted that Clinton has had 30 years in politics to do much of what she’s now campaigning to do as president, and that she’s so far failed. It was a strong tactic, and it helped him calmly swerve around issues that were dangerous for him. On non-payment of his taxes, he simply said he only does what Clinton’s elite friends and donors do themselves.

He came out with a few decent enough lines (“Lincoln never lied, unlike you”) and crucially, kept it simple (“Clinton is raising your taxes and I am lowering your taxes”).

Never mind the truth

Clinton seemed close to exasperated at times as Trump sniped at her supposed 30 years of inaction, and she eventually put forward a list of her achievements as senator and secretary of state, particularly on children’s health and women’s rights. She noted she had her name on 400 pieces of legislation, and stressed her ability to do hard political work on a bipartisan basis.

Clearly she had her own prepared formulas. On many occasions she began her responses to Trump’s comments by saying “much of that is not right”, and repeatedly implored people to fact-check Trump’s statements (many of which have already been judged misleading or downright untrue). At one point she recalled how Michelle Obama advised us all that “when they go low, we go high”. She was evidently trying to do this herself by generally not interrupting Trump, who (as in the first debate) repeatedly chipped in.

Trump’s approach was certainly hectoring – “When I am president we will have a special prosecutor to look into Hillary” – frequently chiding Clinton and ad-libbing erratically as she spoke, at other points prowling the stage and hovering menacingly behind her. But he never quite disintegrated into incoherence as he did in round one, and as the debate went on Clinton seemed to be more and more on the back foot.

The American media was itching for a decisive or dramatic result, keen to promote one of two narratives: that Trump has hit rock bottom at last, or that he has staged an amazing comeback. In truth (what’s left of it, anyway), neither narrative is believable.

Trump lives to fight another day, but he probably did nothing to attract the fresh voters he needs to win. In the meantime, he’ll have to hope no more revelations of sexual predation emerge, and that the current scandal hanging over him somehow loses potency.

Still, Republican leaders are clearly worried the scandal could contaminate candidates further down the ballot and put their congressional majorities at risk. Many such candidates have disavowed Trump since the tape of his misogynistic bragging was leaked, and more may yet leave the ship if things don’t improve.

On paper, this looks dire for Trump – but then again, the events of this election have violated almost every tenet of conventional wisdom about how American politics works. We are living in what increasingly appears to be a “post-factual” age in which scandals roll on without accountability and facts are trumped by ideology. As Trump would say: “It’s just words, folks.”

About The Author

The ConversationLiam Kennedy, Professor of American Studies, University College Dublin

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

The Terms of Political Discourse. (Princeton Paperbacks)

democracyAuthor: William E. Connolly
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Used Book in Good Condition

Brand: Brand: Princeton University Press
Studio: Princeton University Press
Label: Princeton University Press
Publisher: Princeton University Press
Manufacturer: Princeton University Press

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

William Connolly presents a lucid and concise defense of the thesis of "essentially contested concepts" that can well be read as a general introduction to political theory, as well as for its challenge to the prevailing understanding of political discourse. In Connolly's view, the language of politics is not a neutral medium that conveys ideas independently formed but an institutionalized structure of meanings that channels political thought and action in certain directions. In the new preface he pursues the implications of this perspective for a distinctive conception of ethics and democracy.





President Donald Trump and His Political Discourse

democracyAuthor: Michele Lockhart
Binding: Paperback
Studio: Routledge
Label: Routledge
Publisher: Routledge
Manufacturer: Routledge

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

President Donald Trump and His Political Discourse brings together a diverse collection of perspectives on President Trump’s Twitter rhetoric. Truly unique in its in-depth exploration, the volume demonstrates the ways in which international and U.S. relations, media and "fake news," and marginalized groups, among other things, have been the subject of President Trump’s tweets. It also features qualitative–quantitative analyses, evaluating tweet patterns, broader language shifts, and the psychology of President Trump’s Twitter voice. The purpose of this collection is not only to analyze the language used but also to consider the ramifications of the various messages on both individual and global levels, for which Trump is both celebrated and criticized. Interdisciplinary in approach, this collection is a useful resource for students in political rhetoric and communication, international relations, linguistics, journalism, leadership studies, and more.





Rousseau: The Basic Political Writings: Discourse on the Sciences and the Arts, Discourse on the Origin of Inequality, Discourse on Political Economy, ... Contract, The State of War (Hackett Classics)

democracyAuthor: Jean-Jacques Rousseau
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • HACKETT

Brand: imusti
Creator(s):
  • Donald A. Cress
  • David Wootton

Studio: Hackett Publishing Company, Inc.
Label: Hackett Publishing Company, Inc.
Publisher: Hackett Publishing Company, Inc.
Manufacturer: Hackett Publishing Company, Inc.

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

This substantially revised new edition of Rousseau: The Basic Political Writings features a brilliant new Introduction by David Wootton, a revision by Donald A. Cress of his own 1987 translation of Rousseau's most important political writings, and the addition of Cress' new translation of Rousseau's State of ?War. New footnotes, headnotes, and a chronology by David Wootton provide expert guidance to first-time readers of the texts.





democracy
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}