Les femmes candidates battent des records aux élections américaines à la mi-mandat de 2018

Les femmes candidates battent des records aux élections américaines à la mi-mandat de 2018
Alexa Ura, Gina Ortiz Jones, MJ Hegar, Randan Steinhauser et Sheryl Cole. Mercredi juin, 20, 2018, du Future Forum a tenu un débat sur la mobilisation historique des femmes en politique, mettant en vedette certains des principaux candidats à la présidence du Congrès et de la Texas House aux élections de mi-mandat de novembre. Parmi les invités figuraient Gina Ortiz Jones, ancienne officière des services de renseignement de la Force aérienne, candidate au district du Congrès 23, MJ Hegar, vétéran de l’Armée de l’Air décorée, défenseur de l’égalité dans l’armée et candidate du District du Congrès 31, Randan Steinhauser, stratège du GOP et fondateur de Steinhauser Strategies, LLC et de Sheryl Cole, procureur, ancien maire de la ville d'Austin, maire de la ville, et candidat du district de la Chambre 46. La conversation a été animée par Alexa Ura, journaliste spécialisée en démographie pour The Texas Tribune. Crédit photo: flickr

Le 2018 à mi-parcours a battu les records des candidates aux élections américaines. Plus que Les femmes 20 étaient sur le vote du Sénat, Tandis plus de dix fois ce nombre représentait la Chambre des représentants. Si nous considérons également des élections d’Etat pour des rôles exécutifs tels que gouverneur et législatures d'état, le nombre de candidates chez 2018 augmente d’un autre 3,500. Les résultats signifient que plusieurs États (y compris Arizona et Tennessee) vont maintenant envoyer leurs toutes premières femmes au Sénat, et plus de femmes 100 entrer dans la maison.

Après l'assermentation des nouveaux sénateurs et représentants, le Congrès sera élu plus diversifié en termes de race et de religion - les femmes apportant une contribution majeure à ce changement.

Rashida Tlaib (Michigan) et Ilhan Omar (Minnesota) partagent la distinction de devenir le premières femmes musulmanes au congrès. Texas envoie les deux deux premières femmes latines au Congrès, Sylvia Garcia et Veronica Escobar. Plusieurs États vont envoyer des femmes afro-américaines pour les représenter à Washington pour la première fois, y compris le Massachusetts (Ayanna Pressley) et le Connecticut (Jahana Hayes).

Ces élections renforcent les recherches qui soulignent l’importance de la loyauté des partis pour les femmes comme pour les hommes. En d'autres termes, toutes choses étant égales par ailleurs, les électeurs américains vont s'accrocher à leurs propres partis, en particulier lorsqu'ils se sentent menacés. Donc, nous ne devrions pas être surpris que la combinaison de la victoire de Donald Trump sur Hillary Clinton dans 2016 et le nombreuses allégations de harcèlement sexuel contre lui ont motivé beaucoup plus de femmes démocrates que de femmes républicaines à se porter candidates.

Près des trois quarts des femmes qui ont déclaré leur candidature à 2018 étaient des démocrates. Même après l'élimination de nombreux concurrents aux primaires, il y avait encore deux fois plus de candidats démocrates que de femmes républicaines sur les bulletins de vote finaux.

Les études à mi-parcours démontrent également que les femmes peuvent surmonter des facteurs qui sont généralement des désavantages pour un candidat, telles que le fait d’être une challenger plutôt que le titulaire du poste, de n’avoir que peu ou pas d’expérience en tant que mandataire électif et de promouvoir des positions politiques qui sortent du lot.

Dans l'une des courses les plus en vue du pays, Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, de New York, a battu son principal adversaire démocrate - un président sortant qui avait servi dix mandats au Congrès - et est allé à la victoire le novembre 6. C'était en dépit de ses appels à changements de politique que beaucoup décrits comme radical, y compris les garanties gouvernementales pour les soins de santé universels, l’emploi et le logement. À l'âge de 29, Ocasio-Cortez est maintenant la plus jeune femme à avoir été élue à la US House.

Changer de tactique

Beaucoup de femmes qui courent ont mis l'accent sur l'éducation et les soins de santé (traditionnellement considérées comme des «problèmes de femmes»). Mais ils ont également présenté de manière bien visible leurs points de vue sur des domaines politiques «difficiles» tels que: la sécurité nationale, immigration, la création d'emplois et imposition. Les candidates n'ont pas hésité à être franc critiquer les records et les politiques de leurs adversaires, et ont bien performé dans la frappe, débats en tête à tête. Les sessions à mi-parcours de 2018 montrent très clairement qu’il n’existe pas de stratégie unique pour les femmes.

Ces élections ont également montré que, comme les hommes, les femmes peuvent exploiter leurs antécédents de service militaire pour attirer les électeurs américains. Les femmes vétérans qui occupent des postes élus ne sont pas complètement nouvelles dans la politique américaine, mais les exemples précédents ont été peu nombreux, voire prestigieux. Tammy Duckworth, un pilote d'hélicoptère qui a perdu ses deux jambes en Irak, a été élu à la US House de 2012 et au Sénat américain à 2016, et est célèbre pour le premier sénateur accoucher en cours de mandat.

La combinaison du nombre croissant de femmes servant dans les forces armées américaines, l’ouverture de nouvelles fonctions militaires aux femmes et le déploiement continu des troupes américaines dans les zones de guerre depuis la création de 2001 ont créé un réservoir important de candidates potentielles vétérans.

Lors de ces élections, une grande attention a été consacrée à une poignée d'anciennes démocrates démocrates qui se sont présentées au Congrès contre les républicains au pouvoir. Ces femmes - Y compris Amy McGrath (Kentucky), MJ Hegar (Texas), Elaine Luria (Virginie) et Chrissy Houlahan (Pennsylvanie) - a eu de longues carrières dans différentes branches de l'armée. Ils ont été déployés à l'étranger et ont utilisé leur statut d'ancien combattant pour renforcer leur crédibilité en tant que candidats pour la première fois. Bien que leurs chances aux urnes soient mitigées (Luria et Houlahan ont gagné; McGrath et Hager ont perdu), toutes ont mené des campagnes intelligentes et bien conçues qui ont poussé leurs adversaires à fond et ont assuré la victoire par quelques points de pourcentage.

Il reste cependant encore beaucoup de chemin à parcourir avant que les États-Unis ne se rapprochent de l'égalité des sexes et de l'égalité raciale dans leurs fonctions électives. Au moment de la rédaction de cet article, African American Democrat Stacey Abrams continue sa lutte pour devenir le gouverneur de la Géorgie au milieu allégations de suppression d'électeurs qui affecte de manière disproportionnée les personnes de couleur.

Son adversaire, le secrétaire d’État géorgien Brian Kemp, a refusé de renoncer à son rôle de superviser les élections malgré sa candidature. Le président Trump lui-même a pesé dans cette élection, décrivant Abrams comme non qualifié être gouverneur de l’État traditionnellement républicain, malgré ses années en tant que représentante élue à la législature de l’État et son doctorat en droit de la Yale Law School. Si Abrams réussit, elle deviendra la première femme afro-américaine à devenir gouverneur, non seulement de la Géorgie, mais de tous les États américains.

Bien qu'Abrams puisse se révéler être l'une des candidates non reçues de 2018, l'expérience des femmes qui se sont portées candidates aux élections est une expérience formatrice qui peut servir de fondement aux futures campagnes. Il est peu probable que nous ayons entendu la dernière de ces femmes.La Conversation

A propos de l'auteur

Jennifer Mathers, lectrice en politique internationale, Université Aberystwyth

Cet article est republié de La Conversation sous une licence Creative Commons. Lis le article original.

Livres connexes

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; mots-clés = femmes en politique; maxresults = 3}

Women Candidates Break Records In The 2018 US Mid-term Elections

elections

Women Candidates Break Records In The 2018 US Mid-term Elections
Alexa Ura, Gina Ortiz Jones, MJ Hegar, Randan Steinhauser and Sheryl Cole. On Wednesday, June 20, 2018, the Future Forum held a conversation on the historic mobilization of women in politics, featuring some of the leading candidates for office, both congressional and Texas House, in the midterm elections this November. The panelists included Gina Ortiz Jones, Former Air Force intelligence officer, candidate for Congressional District 23, MJ Hegar, Decorated Air Force veteran, advocate for equality in the military, and candidate for Congressional District 31, Randan Steinhauser, a GOP strategist and co-founder of Steinhauser Strategies, LLC and Sheryl Cole, Attorney, former Mayor Pro Tem for the City of Austin, and candidate for House District 46. The conversation was moderated by Alexa Ura, demographics reporter for The Texas Tribune. Photo credit: Flickr

The 2018 mid-terms broke the records on female candidates in US elections. More than 20 women were on the Senate ballot, while more than ten times that number stood for the House of Representatives. If we also consider state elections for executive roles such as governor as well as state legislatures, the number of female candidates in 2018 rises by another 3,500. The results mean that several states (including Arizona and Tennessee) will now send their first ever women to the Senate, and more than 100 women will enter the House.

After the new senators and representatives are sworn in, Congress will be more diverse in terms of race and religion – with women making a major contribution to this shift.

Rashida Tlaib (Michigan) and Ilhan Omar (Minnesota) share the distinction of becoming the first Muslim women in Congress. Texas sends both of the first two Latina women to Congress, Sylvia Garcia and Veronica Escobar. Several states will send African American women to represent them in Washington for the first time, too, including Massachusetts (Ayanna Pressley) and Connecticut (Jahana Hayes).

These elections give further support to research that highlights the importance of party loyalty for women as well as men. In other words, all other things being equal, American voters will cling to their own parties, especially when they feel their party is under threat. So we should not be surprised that the combination of Donald Trump’s victory over Hillary Clinton in 2016 and the numerous allegations of sexual harassment against him have motivated far more Democrat women than Republican women to run for office.

Nearly three-quarters of the women who declared their candidacy in 2018 were Democrats. Even after many contenders were eliminated in the primaries, there were still roughly twice as many Democrat as Republican female candidates on the final ballots.

The mid-terms also demonstrate that women can overcome factors that are typically disadvantages for a candidate, such as being a challenger rather than an incumbent, having little or no experience of elected office, and promoting policy positions that are outside the mainstream.

In one of the most high-profile races in the country, New York’s Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez defeated her Democratic primary opponent – an incumbent who had served ten terms in Congress – and went on to victory on November 6. This was despite her calls for policy changes that many described as radical, including government guarantees for universal health care, employment and housing. At the age of 29, Ocasio-Cortez is now the youngest woman ever to be elected to the US House.

Changing tactics

Many of the women running emphasised education and healthcare (traditionally regarded as “women’s issues”). But they also prominently presented their views on “hard” policy areas such as national security, immigration, job creation and taxation. Women candidates have not hesitated to be blunt in criticising the records and policies of their opponents, and have performed well in hard-hitting, one-to-one debates. The 2018 mid-terms demonstrate very clearly that there is no such thing as a one size fits all, women’s style of campaigning.

These elections have also shown that, like men, women can leverage their military service records to appeal to American voters. Women veterans winning elected office is not completely new to American politics, but previous examples have been few – if high profile. Tammy Duckworth, a helicopter pilot who lost both her legs in Iraq, was elected to the US House in 2012 and the US Senate in 2016, and is famously the first Senator ever to give birth while in office.

The combination of increasing numbers of women serving in the US armed forces, the opening up of new military roles to women, and the continuous deployment of American troops in war zones since 2001 has created a substantial pool of potential female veteran candidates.

Much attention in this election was devoted to a handful of Democrat female veterans running for Congress against incumbent male Republicans. These women – including Amy McGrath (Kentucky), MJ Hegar (Texas), Elaine Luria (Virginia), and Chrissy Houlahan (Pennsylvania) – had lengthy careers in different branches of the military. They were deployed overseas and used their veteran status to bolster their credibility as first-time candidates. Although their fortunes at the polls were mixed (Luria and Houlahan won; McGrath and Hager lost), all waged smart, well-crafted campaigns that pushed their opponents hard and ensured victory was decided by just a few percentage points.

There is still a long way to go before the US approaches both gender and racial equality in elected office, however. As this article is being written, African American Democrat Stacey Abrams continues her fight to become Georgia’s governor amid allegations of voter suppression that disproportionately affects people of colour.

Her opponent, Georgia secretary of state Brian Kemp, refused to relinquish his role of overseeing the elections despite his candidacy. President Trump himself has weighed in on this election, describing Abrams as unqualified to be governor of the traditionally Republican state – despite her years as an elected representative in the state legislature and her PhD from Yale law school. If Abrams is successful, she will become the first African American woman ever to become governor, not just of Georgia, but of any US state.

Although Abrams may turn out to be among the unsuccessful women candidates of 2018, women’s experiences of putting themselves forward for election is a formative one that can provide a foundation for future campaigns. It is unlikely that we have heard the last of these women.The Conversation

About The Author

Jennifer Mathers, Reader in International Politics, Aberystwyth University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

Women and Politics: Paths to Power and Political Influence

electionsAuthor: Julie Dolan Professor
Binding: Paperback
Studio: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers
Label: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers
Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers
Manufacturer: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Women and Politics: Paths to Power and Political Influence examines the role of women in politics from the early women’s movement to the female politicians in power today. Following the historic 2016 presidential election, this timely edition includes analysis of the challenges of navigating gender in seeking the presidency. It examines how both Hillary Clinton and Carly Fiorina were forced to “perform gender” on the campaign trail, and tasked to at once prove their masculine capability and feminine likability in order to be considered competent for the job.




Notorious RBG: The Life and Times of Ruth Bader Ginsburg

electionsAuthor: Irin Carmon
Binding: Hardcover
Features:
  • Dey Street Books

Brand: Dey Street Books
Studio: Dey Street Books
Label: Dey Street Books
Publisher: Dey Street Books
Manufacturer: Dey Street Books

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Featured in the critically acclaimed documentary RBG

“The authors make this unassuming, most studious woman come pulsing to life. . . . Notorious RBG may be a playful project, but it asks to be read seriously. . . . That I responded so personally to it is a testimony to [its] storytelling and panache.”— Jennifer Senior, New York Times

Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg never asked for fame—she has only tried to make the world a little better and a little freer.

But nearly a half-century into her career, something funny happened to the octogenarian: she won the internet. Across America, people who weren’t even born when Ginsburg first made her name as a feminist pioneer are tattooing themselves with her face, setting her famously searing dissents to music, and making viral videos in tribute.

Notorious RBG, inspired by the Tumblr that amused the Justice herself and brought to you by its founder and an award-winning feminist journalist, is more than just a love letter. It draws on intimate access to Ginsburg's family members, close friends, colleagues, and clerks, as well an interview with the Justice herself. An original hybrid of reported narrative, annotated dissents, rare archival photos and documents, and illustrations, the book tells a never-before-told story of an unusual and transformative woman who transcends generational divides. As the country struggles with the unfinished business of gender equality and civil rights, Ginsburg stands as a testament to how far we can come with a little chutzpah.





Women and Politics in a Global World

electionsAuthor: Sarah L. Henderson
Binding: Paperback
Studio: Oxford University Press
Label: Oxford University Press
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Manufacturer: Oxford University Press

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Women and Politics in a Global World, Third Edition, is the only text that offers a cross-national and comparative examination of the impact of women on politics--and the impact of politics on women. Sarah L. Henderson and Alana S. Jeydel carefully consider women's participation in institutionalized politics, social protest, and nationalist, fundamentalist, and revolutionary movements.

To help make the material more accessible to students, the authors unify their discussions around four core areas:

* The assurance of women's safety and autonomy

* Reproductive rights and health care for mothers and children

* Equal access to employment and public resources

* Women's access to political institutions and positions of authority





elections
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}