كيف أفضل لتعليم الأطفال المهارات الاجتماعية والعاطفية

كيف أفضل لتعليم الأطفال المهارات الاجتماعية والعاطفية
قم بتعليم الأطفال إدارة عواطفهم وقد يجنيون الفوائد في درجات المدرسة المحسنة.

من المفهوم أن عواطف الأطفال في المدرسة هي مرتبطة بتعلمهم والإنجاز الأكاديمي. يفسر تطور المفاهيم مثل الذكاء العاطفي السبب في أن القدرة على التعرف على عواطف المرء واستخدامها والتعبير عنها وإدارتها تجعل فرقًا كبيرًا في النجاح في الحياة اللاحقة. وكما قال المؤلف الأمريكي والفيلسوف ووكر بيرسي ، "يمكنك الحصول على كل ما زال وسيط الحياة".

المدارس التي ترغب في تعليم الطلاب هذه المهارات غير المعرفية، مثل الوعي الذاتي ، ضبط النفس ، والتعاطف ، وصنع القرار والتكيف ، وقد تحولت إلى التعلم الاجتماعي والعاطفي برامج (SEL). في الولايات المتحدة والمملكة المتحدة وأيرلندا ، هذه موصى به كطرق للمدارس لتعليم هذه "المهارات الناعمة".

تدريس الكفاءة الاجتماعية والعاطفية

ولكن هناك عدد كبير ومتزايد من برامج SEL عرضت على المدارس. عادة ، تركز هذه البرامج على إدارة المشاعر ، وتحديد الأهداف الإيجابية ، وزيادة الوعي الاجتماعي والوعي الذاتي. قد يتم أيضًا تضمين مهارات العلاقة واتخاذ القرار. في حين أنها تختلف في نطاقها ، تميل البرامج إلى تضمين كلا العنصرين لتطوير الكفاءات المهنية للمدرسين والأنشطة المعتمدة على الفصل الدراسي للطلاب. لكن هل يعملون؟

بتمويل من مؤسسة جاكوبس، أجرى أنا وفريقي مراجعة منهجية للبحوث تبحث في برامج SEL، بالاعتماد على الدراسات التي أجريت على سنوات 50 وتضمين الأطفال من مرحلة ما قبل المدرسة إلى الصف 12 (حول العمر 17-18). حللت المراجعة آثار برامج التعلم الاجتماعية والعاطفية في المدارس على الإنجازات في ثلاثة مواضيع: القراءة (التلاميذ 57,755) ، والرياضيات (التلاميذ 61,360) ، والعلوم (16,380 التلاميذ) ، واختيار فقط 40 معظم الدراسات الصارمة منهجيا.

في حين وجدنا أدلة على أن برامج SEL حسّنت أداء الأطفال في هذه المواضيع ، آثار النهج المختلفة اختلفت على نطاق واسع. كان هناك تباين كبير في جودة الدراسات ، ويبدو أن التصاميم المختلفة للدراسة قد تؤدي إلى نتائج مختلفة - على سبيل المثال عند مقارنة الدراسات شبه التجريبية والدراسات العشوائية المضبوطة. هناك أيضًا دليل على أن بعض مناهج تدريس SEL التي أصبحت شائعة خلال العقود القليلة الماضية قد لا تكون فعالة كما قد يعتقد صانعو السياسة والمدارس.

باستخدام نهج مماثل اقترح من قبل علم النفس التربوي روبرت سلافين من جامعة جونز هوبكنز ، تم تصنيف البرامج وفقا لقوة الأدلة على الفعالية ، وتحقيق التوازن لعوامل مثل الجودة المنهجية للدراسات.

استنادا إلى مراجعتنا ، من الواضح ذلك العمل الإيجابي يقدم نتائج قوية. تم حساب متوسط ​​حجم التأثير - وهو مقياس لتحديد مدى نجاح البرنامج - عبر التقييمات الخمس للإجراء الإيجابي في القراءة ، والتي تشمل طلاب 11,370 ، + 0.78. الحالي ما هي إرشادات أعمال غرفة تبادل المعلومات؟ في الولايات المتحدة ، يصف حجم التأثير أكبر من +/- 0.25 بأنه "مهم جوهريًا". من خلال التقييمات الأربعة للعمل الإيجابي في الرياضيات التي تشمل طلاب 10,380 ، كان متوسط ​​حجم التأثير للرياضيات هو + 0.45. كما قدمت الإجراءات الإيجابية تحسينات واعدة في مجال التحصيل العلمي - وهي واحدة من عدد قليل فقط للقيام بذلك - مع حجم تأثير متوسط ​​لـ + 0.26. ومع ذلك ، كان هذا يعتمد على دراسة واحدة كبيرة فقط.

وضعت في جامعة هيوستن ، إدارة الاتساق والانضباط التعاوني (CMCD) وسجل أيضا بشكل جيد. وقد بلغ متوسط ​​حجم التأثير في دراستي CMCD التي تضمنت طلاب 1,287 + 0.43 للقراءة و + 0.46 للرياضيات.

كما صنفت برامج أخرى بقوة للرياضيات. وشملت أربعة تقييمات من مهارات نجاح الطالب، التي تشمل طلاب 1,248 ، كان لها تأثير متوسط ​​التأثير على + 0.30 للرياضيات و + 0.12 للقراءة. شمل الاثنان تقييما لل يأتي برنامج تطوير المدارس، التي تم تطويرها في جامعة ييل ، كان لها حجم تأثير + 0.27 من طلاب 14,083.

وكان أسوأ أداء نظام تحسين المهارات الاجتماعية برنامج التدخل على نطاق واسع و القبائل. ربما من المدهش ، في هذه الحالات ، وجدت الدراسات العشوائية الكبيرة تأثيرات سلبية صغيرة لكل من الرياضيات والقراءة.

لم يتم تضمين عدد من البرامج في مراجعتنا ، مثل مسودات الليونز, سنوات لا تصدق, الدائرة المفتوحة و اصحابلأن جميع دراسات هذه البرامج تحتوي على قيود منهجية مثل عدم وجود مجموعة تحكم أو نتائج أكاديمية مفصلة. غيابهم ليس دليلاً على أنهم لا يعملون ، ولكن بالنظر إلى مدى استخدام هذه البرامج على نطاق واسع في المدارس في جميع أنحاء أوروبا والولايات المتحدة ، فإن عدم وجود أبحاث عالية الجودة للتأكد من فعاليتها في تحسين التحصيل الدراسي أمر مثير للدهشة.

آثار الفقر على التعلم

لقد درست المدارس في مناطق الفقر المدقع في محاولة لفهم أفضل لكيفية تحسين الطلاب قراءة, الرياضيات و علم موهلات. على الرغم من التحديات التي تواجه التلاميذ ذوي الاحتياجات المرتفعة ، فإن العديد منهم حققوا نتائج أكاديمية جيدة ، وكانوا قادرين على الاعتقاد بأنها كانت كذلك جهد ، بدلا من القدرة، التي تحدد نجاحها. انهم يميلون إلى تطويرها حصى و ضبط النفس. تعلم هؤلاء الأطفال كيفية إدارة عواطفهم ، و هكذا فعل معلمهم. ومع ذلك ، هناك حاجة لمزيد من الأبحاث عالية الجودة لفهم تدخلات SEL التي تعمل بشكل أفضل - خاصة للطلاب من عائلات ذوي الدخل المنخفض والأقليات ، وعلى أساس المدارس خارج الولايات المتحدة ، حيث أجريت معظم هذه الدراسات.

ركزت العديد من الدراسات التي مررنا بها على استخدام التعلم الاجتماعي والعاطفي للأهداف غير الأكاديمية - على سبيل المثال ، للحد من التنمر بين الطلاب - وهذا هو المجال الذي سنبحث فيه في مراجعتنا القادمة. ولكن ما هو واضح من المراجعة الحالية هو أن تدريس هذه "المهارات الناعمة" المعرفية لا ينبغي أن يُنظر إليه على أنه شيء يتجاوز الإنجاز الأكاديمي ، بل إنه في الحقيقة أسلوب قد يوفر دفعة للنتائج الأكاديمية في المدرسة ، والوعي الاجتماعي والعاطفي المهم. معرفة القراءة والكتابة المطلوب للنجاح في مرحلة البلوغ.

المحادثةإذا تمكنا من الاتفاق على أن هذه البرامج تؤدي إلى فوائد ، فإن المرحلة التالية هي ضمان وجود ما يكفي من الأبحاث القائمة على الأدلة لتحديد مناهج التدريس التي يعمل بها SEL ، من أجل مساعدة المدارس في اختيار أفضل البرامج لطلابها.

نبذة عن الكاتب

رويسين كوركوران ، مشارك دكتور جامعى، كلية جامعة دبلن

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتاب من هذا المؤلف

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = 3034307861. maxresults = 1}

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = emotional learning؛ maxresults = 2}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

How Best To Teach Children Social And Emotional Skills

How Best To Teach Children Social And Emotional Skills
Teach children to manage their emotions and they may reap the benefits in improved school grades.

It is understood that childrens’ emotions in school are connected to their learning and academic achievement. The evolution of concepts such as emotional intelligence explain why the ability to recognise, use, express and manage one’s emotions makes a huge difference to success in later life. As the American author and philosopher Walker Percy said, “You can get all As and still flunk life.”

Schools wishing to teach students these non-cognitive skills, such as self-awareness, self-control, empathy, decision making and coping, have turned to social and emotional learning (SEL) programmes. In the US, UK and Ireland, these are recommended as ways for schools to teach these “soft skills”.

Teaching social and emotional competence

But there are a large and growing number of SEL programmes offered to schools. Typically, these programmes concentrate on managing emotions, setting positive goals, and increasing social and self-awareness. Relationship skills and decision making may also be included. While they vary in scope, the programmes tend to include both elements for developing teachers’ professional competencies and classroom-based activities for students. But do they work?

With funding from the Jacobs Foundation, my team and I conducted a systematic review of research looking at SEL programmes, drawing upon studies conducted over 50 years and including children from pre-school to grade 12 (around age 17-18). The review analysed the effects of social and emotional learning programmes in schools on achievement in three subjects: reading (57,755 pupils), mathematics (61,360 pupils), and science (16,380 pupils), selecting only the 40 most methodologically rigorous studies.

While we found evidence that the SEL programmes improved the children’s performance in these subjects, the effects of the different approaches varied widely. There was great disparity in the quality of the studies, and it appears that different study designs may produce different results – for example when comparing quasi-experimental studies to randomised controlled studies. There is also evidence that some of the approaches to teaching SEL that have become popular over the last few decades might not be as effective as policymakers and schools may believe.

Using a similar approach proposed by education psychologist Robert Slavin of Johns Hopkins University, programmes were ranked according to the strength of evidence of effectiveness, balancing for factors such as the studies’ methodological quality.

Based on our review, it’s clear that Positive Action delivers strong results. Averaged across the five evaluations of Positive Action on reading, involving 11,370 students, the mean effect size – a measure to determine how well a programme works – was +0.78. The current What Works Clearinghouse guidelines in the US describe an effect size larger than +/-0.25 as “substantively important”. Averaged across the four evaluations of Positive Action on mathematics involving 10,380 students, the mean effect size for mathematics was +0.45. Positive Action also delivered promising improvements in science achievement – one of only a handful to do so – with a mean effect size of +0.26. However, this was based on only one large study.

Developed at the University of Houston, Consistency Management and Cooperative Discipline (CMCD) also scored well. Averaging across the two studies of CMCD that involved 1,287 students, the mean effect size was +0.43 for reading and +0.46 for mathematics.

Other programmes also rated strongly for mathematics. The four included evaluations of Student Success Skills, involving 1,248 students, had a mean effect size of +0.30 for mathematics and +0.12 for reading. The two included evaluations of the Comers School Development programme, developed at Yale University, had a +0.27 mean effect size from 14,083 students.

The worse performers were the Social Skills Improvement System Classwide Intervention Program and Tribes. Perhaps surprisingly, in these cases large, randomised studies found small negative effects for both mathematics and reading.

A number of programmes were not included in our review, such as Lions Quests, Incredible Years, Open Circle and FRIENDS, because all the studies of these programmes contained methodological limitations such as a lack of control group or detailed academic outcomes. Their absence is not evidence that they don’t work, but considering how widely used these programmes are in schools throughout Europe and the US, the lack of high quality research to ascertain their effectiveness in improving academic achievement is surprising.

The effects of poverty on learning

I have studied schools in areas of high poverty in an effort to better understand how to improve students’ reading, mathematics and science achievement. Despite the challenges that high-needs pupils face many did achieve good academic results, and they were led to believe that it was effort, instead of ability, that determined their success. They tended to have developed grit and self-control. These children learned how to manage their emotions, and so did their teachers. However, more high quality research is needed to understand the SEL interventions that work best – particularly for students from low-income and minority families, and based on schools outside the US, where the majority of these studies were conducted.

Many of the studies we came across focused on using social and emotional learning for non-academic aims – for example, to reduce bullying among students – and this is an area that we will be looking at in our next review. But what’s clear from the current review is that teaching these cognitive “soft skills” shouldn’t be seen as something beyond academic achievement, but in fact a technique that may provide both a boost to academic results at school, and the important social and emotional literacy required to succeed in adulthood.

The ConversationIf we can agree that these programmes lead to benefits, then the next stage is to ensure that there is enough evidence-based research to identify which approaches to teaching SEL work, in order to help schools choose the best programmes for their students.

About The Author

Roisin Corcoran, Associate Professor, University College Dublin

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Book by this Author

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=3034307861;maxresults=1}

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=emotional learning;maxresults=2}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

CULTURE WARS

what is populism 2 7

What Actually Is This Thing Called Populism?

Octavia Bryant and Benjamin Moffitt
No doubt thanks to Donald Trump, Brexit, and a string of anti-establishment leaders and parties in Europe, Latin America and Asia, everyone seems to be talking about populism

DEMOCRACY

Compassionate Actions and Ripples of Change

Compassionate Actions and Ripples of Change

Jalaja Bonheim, PhD.
I believe there is. When we speak of activism, we usually think of organized activities. Yet beyond that, we all have opportunities to act in ways that reflect our desire for social justice and peace. Whether or not we’re “official” activists, we’re always…

ECONOMY

How Electric Cars Could Make America's Crumbling Roads Even Worse

How Electric Cars Could Make America's Crumbling Roads Even Worse

Jay L. Zagorsky
U.S. roads and bridges are in abysmal shape – and that was before the recent winter storms made things even worse.

ENVIRONMENT & CLIMATE

Could Climate Change Spark A Global Financial Crisis?

Could Climate Change Spark A Global Financial Crisis?

Korey Pasch
The dire climate change situation continues to make headlines and inspire actions like the Sunrise Movement.

HOSTILITES

Attaining Peace Must Be The Cause of Every Individual

Attaining Peace Must Be The Cause of Every Individual

Rick Munoz
When I was 4 years old, my grandfather died. The preacher said "por fin el a alcanzado la paz" which means (in Spanish) that he has finally reached peace. As I listened to him I began to think that peace was really important if grandfather had to go away to…

JUSTICE & CIVIL LIBERTY

Most People Don't Realize What Companies Can Predict From Their Data

Most People Don't Realize What Companies Can Predict From Their Data

Emilee Rader
Sixty-seven percent of smartphone users rely on Google Maps to help them get to where they are going quickly and efficiently.