Почему больше американских студентов учится за рубежом

Почему больше американских студентов учится за рубежом
Исследования показывают, что студенты, обучающиеся за рубежом, получают конкурентное преимущество на рынке труда.
Дэн Корсмайер / www.shutterstock.com

Келси Хрубез знала, что у нее была проблема с ее руками, когда она побывала в Германии в качестве студента за рубежом в 2015.

«Я был вынужден приспособиться к культурным нормам, которые я никогда раньше не рассматривал, и пытаюсь понять все на новом языке», - вспоминает Хубес, инженер-программист Microsoft и 2017 Iowa State выпускник немецкого языка и информатики.

Хубес говорит, что если бы она не училась за границей и не научилась приспосабливаться к новой среде, она не была бы столь же уверенна, как и в своей карьере.

Истории, подобные этому, являются частью того, что стоит за растущим числом студентов, обучающихся за границей, многие из которых пытаются получить ценный опыт, который принесет им пользу в их личной и профессиональной жизни.

В соответствии с новые данные выпущенный Новым 13 Институтом международного образования, больше, чем студенты 332,000 US, обучавшиеся за рубежом в течение 2016-2017 учебного года, увеличившись на 2.3 процентов по сравнению с предыдущим годом.

Ежегодные данные Open Doors от института также показывают успехи в обучении за рубежом среди студентов из числа меньшинств, которые теперь составляют 29 процентов всех американских студентов за рубежом. Десять лет назад эта цифра составляла всего лишь 18 процентов.

Как ученый, специализирующийся на межкультурных знаниях, деловой практике и обучение студентов посредством обучения за рубежом - и в качестве содиректора летняя программа в Валенсии, Испания - Я вижу несколько факторов, которые, вероятно, способствовали этому увеличению.

Дополнительные параметры и мотивирующие факторы

Во-первых, был огромный увеличение финансирования для студентов выехать за границу. Многие из этих средств направлены на студентов с финансовыми потребностями или у кого есть статус меньшинства.


Получите последние новости от InnerSelf


Во-вторых, есть Дополнительные параметры учиться за границей в разных местах и ​​в разное время.

Студенты также начинают самостоятельно признавать выгоды от других культур по профессиональным причинам или в будущем карьерном продвижении.

Исследования и опыт показывают, что студенты, которые полностью погружены в культуры за рубежом и которые изучают другой язык, лучше оборудованный для работы в глобальной рабочей силе. Они становятся стратегическими мыслителями и решателями проблем, а также отличными коммуникаторами на нескольких языках.

Многие программы связывают студенческие дисциплинарные интересы с пониманием других людей и культур, чтобы создать хорошо подготовленных и конкурентоспособных студентов, которые станут мировыми лидерами в своих профессиональных областях.

Такой междисциплинарный подход не всегда был нормой обучения за рубежом. Десятилетия назад факультет-ориентированные исследования за рубежом программы, ориентированные на одну область, как правило, на изучение языка, или определенную академическую дисциплину в Англоговорящие страны, Сегодня больше студентов ищут пути для проведения курсовой работы в своем главном, объединив ее с уникальный практический опыт, таких как международные стажировки или опыт обучения в сфере услуг за рубежом.

Согласно докладу 2018 Open Doors, Европа по-прежнему является основным местом назначения таких программ, причем около 32 процентов всех студентов выбирают Соединенное Королевство, Италию или Испанию. Однако другие регионы, такие как Азия, Африка и Ближний Восток, продолжают привлекать внимание. Согласно 2016-2017, интерес к этим регионам увеличился на 26 процентов, согласно Open Doors. Большая часть этого интереса исходит от студентов, заинтересованных в работе над проектами устойчивости на уровне общин в таких областях, как инженерное дело или сельское хозяйство.

Работодатели ценят опыт за рубежом

В то время как у студентов теперь есть доступ к большему финансированию для обучения за рубежом и более широкий выбор направлений, корпоративный интерес является фактором, стимулирующим увеличение числа студентов, обучающихся за рубежом.

Несколько крупных американских технологических фирм, таких как Dell, Google и Microsoft, подчеркнули необходимость найти сотрудников, которые лучше оснащены для понимания глобальный рынок, Обучение за рубежом, в частности программы, в которых учащиеся изучать другой язык, поможет достичь этой цели.

My собственные исследования более 10 лет показывает, что учащиеся, обучающиеся за рубежом, являются лучшими критическими мыслителями и решателями проблем, более предприимчивыми и имеют лучшие навыки общения. Они также более терпимы и понимают. Они высоко ценят искусство, социальные проблемы и мировые события. Они получают больше информации о себе и своей жизни.

Обучение за рубежом делает студентов более продаваемый для лучших рабочих мест. И теперь студенты сообщают, что их опыт за рубежом является одной из первых вещей, о которых их спрашивают в собеседования, Фактически, учащиеся, обучающиеся за границей в течение значимого периода времени, делают столько же, сколько 20 процентов больше денег в течение их карьеры. Кроме того, студенты во многих областях способствовало более быстрыми темпами, и они, вероятно, получат основные международные задания, возможно, в более одной страны.

Выпускники колледжей регулярно признают, что их время за границей было одним из самых важные и полезные вещи они сделали это как студент. Мысль о международной карьере почти слишком хороша, чтобы уйти. Учитывая такие факторы, участие в программах обучения за рубежом, особенно учащимся меньшинств и женщинам, должно продолжать расти.Беседа

Об авторе

Чад М. Гаста, профессор испанского языка и кафедры, Университет штата Айова

Эта статья переиздана из Беседа под лицензией Creative Commons. Прочтите оригинал статьи.

Книги этого автора

{amazonWS: searchindex = Книги; ключевые слова = Чад М. Гаста; maxresults = 3}

enafarZH-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Следуйте за InnerSelf

facebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

ВНУТРЕННИЕ ГОЛОСЫ

САМОЕ ЧИТАЕМОЕ

Why More American Students Are Studying Abroad

Why More American Students Are Studying Abroad
Students who study abroad gain a competitive edge in the job market, research shows.
Dan Korsmayer/www.shutterstock.com

Kelsey Hrubes knew she had a challenge on her hands when she visited Germany as a study abroad student back in 2015.

“I was forced to adapt to cultural norms I had never considered before and try to comprehend everything in a new language,” recalls Hrubes, a software engineer at Microsoft and 2017 Iowa State graduate in German and computer science.

Hrubes says if she hadn’t studied abroad and learned to adjust to new surroundings, she wouldn’t be nearly as confident as she is in her career.

Stories such as this are part of what’s behind the increasing number of university students who are studying abroad – many of whom are trying to gain valuable experience that will benefit them in their personal and professional lives.

According to new data released Nov. 13 by the Institute of International Education, more than 332,000 U.S. students studied abroad during the 2016-2017 academic year, an increase of 2.3 percent over the previous year.

The institute’s annual Open Doors data also show gains in study abroad among minority students, who now make up 29 percent of all American students abroad. A decade ago, that figure stood at just 18 percent.

As a scholar who specializes in cross-cultural knowledge, business practices and student learning by means of study abroad – and as co-director of a summer program in Valencia, Spain – I see a few factors that have likely contributed to these increases.

More options and motivating factors

First, there has been a huge increase in funding for students to go abroad. Many of those funds are directed at students with financial need or who have minority status.

Second, there are more options to study abroad in a variety of places and for different lengths of time.

Students are also beginning to recognize on their own the benefits of experiencing other cultures for professional reasons or future career advancement.

Research and experience demonstrate that students who are fully immersed in cultures abroad and who learn another language are better-equipped to function in the global workforce. They become strategic thinkers and problem solvers, and excellent communicators in more than one language.

Many programs connect students’ disciplinary interests with an understanding of other people and cultures in order to create well-prepared and competitive students who will be global leaders in their professional fields.

Such an interdisciplinary focus was not always the norm in study abroad. Decades ago, faculty-led study abroad programs focused on one area, usually language study, or a particular academic discipline in English-speaking countries. Today, more students are seeking ways to take coursework in their major by combining it with unique hands-on experience, such as international internships or service learning experiences abroad.

According to the 2018 Open Doors report, Europe remains a top destination of such programs, with around 32 percent of all students choosing the United Kingdom, Italy or Spain. However, other regions such as Asia, Africa and the Middle East continue to attract attention. In 2016-2017, interest in these regions together increased by 26 percent, according to Open Doors. Much of this interest comes from students interested in working on community-based sustainability projects in fields such as engineering or agriculture.

Employers value experience abroad

While students now have access to more funding to study abroad and a wider selection of destinations, corporate interest is factor driving the increase in students who study abroad.

Several major U.S. technology firms, such as Dell, Google and Microsoft, have stressed the need to find employees who are better-equipped to understand the global marketplace. Study abroad, particularly programs in which students learn another language, help achieve that end.

My own research over 10 years shows that students who study abroad are better critical thinkers and problem solvers, more entrepreneurial and have better communication skills. They are also more tolerant and understanding. They have a greater appreciation for the arts, social issues and world events. They gain more insight into themselves and their lives.

Study abroad makes students more marketable for top jobs. And students are now reporting that their experience abroad is one of the first things they are asked about in job interviews. In fact, students who study abroad for a meaningful period of time make as much as 20 percent more money over the course of their careers. Additionally, students in many fields are promoted at a faster rate, and they are likely to get prime international assignments, perhaps in more than one country.

College graduates routinely acknowledge that their time abroad was one of the most important and beneficial things they did as a student. The thought of an international career is almost too good to pass up. Given such factors, participation in study abroad programs, particularly by minority students and women, should continue to grow.The Conversation

About The Author

Chad M. Gasta, Professor of Spanish and Chair, Iowa State University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Books by this Author

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=Chad M. Gasta;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

CULTURE WARS

what is populism 2 7

What Actually Is This Thing Called Populism?

Octavia Bryant and Benjamin Moffitt
No doubt thanks to Donald Trump, Brexit, and a string of anti-establishment leaders and parties in Europe, Latin America and Asia, everyone seems to be talking about populism

DEMOCRACY

Compassionate Actions and Ripples of Change

Compassionate Actions and Ripples of Change

Jalaja Bonheim, PhD.
I believe there is. When we speak of activism, we usually think of organized activities. Yet beyond that, we all have opportunities to act in ways that reflect our desire for social justice and peace. Whether or not we’re “official” activists, we’re always…

ECONOMY

How Electric Cars Could Make America's Crumbling Roads Even Worse

How Electric Cars Could Make America's Crumbling Roads Even Worse

Jay L. Zagorsky
U.S. roads and bridges are in abysmal shape – and that was before the recent winter storms made things even worse.

ENVIRONMENT & CLIMATE

Could Climate Change Spark A Global Financial Crisis?

Could Climate Change Spark A Global Financial Crisis?

Korey Pasch
The dire climate change situation continues to make headlines and inspire actions like the Sunrise Movement.

HOSTILITES

Attaining Peace Must Be The Cause of Every Individual

Attaining Peace Must Be The Cause of Every Individual

Rick Munoz
When I was 4 years old, my grandfather died. The preacher said "por fin el a alcanzado la paz" which means (in Spanish) that he has finally reached peace. As I listened to him I began to think that peace was really important if grandfather had to go away to…

JUSTICE & CIVIL LIBERTY

Most People Don't Realize What Companies Can Predict From Their Data

Most People Don't Realize What Companies Can Predict From Their Data

Emilee Rader
Sixty-seven percent of smartphone users rely on Google Maps to help them get to where they are going quickly and efficiently.