لماذا لا توقف المدرسة تعليق العنف

لماذا لا توقف المدرسة تعليق العنفغالباً ما يتبع قانون الشارع - حيث يتم كسب الاحترام عن طريق القتال - الأطفال في المدرسة.

عندما يعلق مسؤولو المدرسة الطلاب ، فإن الفكرة هي الحفاظ على بيئة آمنة و ردع العنف والسلوك الإشكالي الآخر في حرم المدرسة.

ولكن عندما أجريت مقابلة مع أطفال 30 في جنوب شرق ميشيغن الذين تم تعليقهم من المدرسة ، علمت أن التعليق قد يكون له في الواقع تأثير معاكس.

ذلك لأن الطلاب يستخدمون تعليق المدرسة بشكل استراتيجي لكسب الاحترام وبناء سمعة لكونها صعبة. أنا قدمت هذه النتيجة - التي سيتم نشرها في مجلة الجريمة والعدالة - كجزء من بلدي بحث متقدم باستمرار كيف ينظر الطلاب السود ووالديهم إلى الانضباط المدرسي ، وتدابير السلامة المدرسية والشرطة.

لمقابلة الطلاب ، حصلت على إذن من والديهم. كما ألقيت نظرة على سجلات الطلاب التأديبية. كل الطلاب الذين تحدثت معهم كانوا من السود. تحدثت فقط مع طلاب 30 لأنه بعد فترة قصيرة ، بدأت تظهر نفس المواضيع. أنا أيضا مقابلات مع أولياء 30.

ما أخبرني به الطلاب وأولياء الأمور عن ذلك ليس فقط بالنسبة للمعلمين وأولياء الأمور وواضعي السياسات ، ولكن بالنسبة لـ ملايين الطلاب الذين يتم تعليقهم في الولايات المتحدة كل عام. التداعيات أكثر خطورة بالنسبة للطلاب السود ، الذين يمثلون 31 في المئة من جميع إحالات تنفيذ القانون والاعتقالات في العام الدراسي 2015-2016 ، على الرغم من أنها لم تمثل سوى 15 في المئة من سكان المدارس.

لا يردع العنف

في مقابلة أجريت معه بعد المقابلة ، أخبرني الطلاب بأن تعليقهم من المدرسة لن يمنعهم من القتال في المستقبل.

على سبيل المثال ، قالت فتاة من فئة 9th علقت خمس مرات من المدرسة بسبب القتال ، إنها علقت "ربما تجعلها أكثر احتمالاً" بالنسبة لها للقتال لأنها ستقود الطلاب الآخرين إلى اختبارها.

وقال الطالب: "إذا قمت بدفع أزرتي أو ضغطت علي بطريقة خاطئة ، فسوف ينتهي بي المطاف في القتال معك وقلت لأمي هذا ، وقالت إذا قاتلت ... حسنا ... فقط دعني أعرف".

أخبرتني فتاة من فئة 10th تم تعليقها من المدرسة أكثر من 30 أن تعليقها جعلها تبدو "أكثر قوة وشعبية" وساعدتها على إقامة صداقات مع طلاب آخرين.

قالت الفتاة: "لأنهم سيكونون مثلًا ، يمكننا أن نكون أصدقاء لأنني أعرف أنك تمتلك ظهري بغض النظر عن السبب". "إذا لم يعتقدوا أنك قوي بما فيه الكفاية فسوف يمارسون عليك الصدمة".

كما أخبرني صبي من فئة 10th تم تعليقه بأوقات 12 أن شعبيته "ارتفعت" بعد طردها من المدرسة.

قال الصبي: "الناس يحبون الناس للتعليق". "أنت في ورطة ،" أوه ، أنت عائد ، يا أخي؟ ماذا تفعل؟' الجميع يحاول التحدث معك عندما تعود. "

في المقابلات التي أجريتها مع أولياء الأمور ، وجدت أنهم غالبا ما ينصحون أطفالهم بعدم الابتعاد عن المعارك.

"إن الخيال هو أننا نعتقد أننا سنضرب مرة واحدة فقط بمخيط ناعمة على يمينها ، وسنكون قادرين على الخروج لإخبار السلطة ويأتون لحل المشكلة" ، والد زوجة 10th الذي تم تعليقه مرات 15 قال لي. "الواقع هو أنك إما ستضرب لتخرج أو ستضرب وتستمر في الضرب. أنت فقط تحصل على المشي بعيدا بعد أن ركل الحمار. "

رمز الشارع ساري المفعول

إذن ما الذي يكمن وراء المنطق وراء الطلاب الذين يرون تعليقهم كطريقة للحصول على مندوب ، إذا جاز التعبير؟ للحصول على أدلة وإجابات على هذا السؤال ، وجهت من عالم الاجتماع إيليا أندرسون "قانون الشارعأردت أن أرى كيف يمكن للأعراف الاجتماعية التي وجدها أندرسون أنها جزء لا يتجزأ من ثقافة الشارع أن تؤثر على العنف في المدرسة.

توضح التعليقات التي حصلت عليها من الطلاب كيف أن شيفرة الشارع التي يصفها أندرسون في كتابه لا تتوقف عن العمل بمجرد أن يمر الطلاب من خلال باب المدرسة. بدلا من ذلك ، القواعد الاجتماعية التي تكمن في ثقافة الشارع تضع مدونة تنظم العنف في المدارس الثانوية العامة.

وجد أندرسون أن من الصعب الحصول على الاحترام ومن السهل خسارته في الشوارع ، ولذلك يعتقد الناس الذين يعيشون في هذا القانون أن الاحترام يجب أن يحصل بشكل مستمر. استيقظ بعض الطلاب في دراستي على تعليق 30 خارج المدرسة بسبب مشاركتهم المتكررة في المعارك ، مشيرين إلى أن نفس الديناميكيين كانا يلعبان في مساعيهما لإظهار المتانة والحفاظ على الاحترام.

خيارات صعبة

وهذا يشكل معضلة خطيرة للمعلمين وصانعي السياسة الذين يقع عليهم واجب الحفاظ على بيئة مدرسية آمنة. من ناحية ، يحتاج كل مدير مدرسة إلى رادع معقول يثبط العنف ويعطي الأولوية لسلامة الطلاب. من ناحية أخرى ، تشير النتائج التي توصلت إليها إلى أن التوقف عن الدراسة خارج المدرسة يؤدي في الواقع إلى تفاقم العنف الجسدي في إطار المدرسة وينشئ منافسة على شعبية تستند إلى المتانة والاحترام المدركين.

بالنظر إلى الاستخدام الواسع للتعليق المدرسي في مدارس أمريكا ، هذه معضلة لا يمكن تجاهلها. يظهر أحدث تقرير لمكتب وزارة الدفاع الأمريكية عن الحقوق المدنية تقريبًا 2.7 مليون طفل حصل على تعليق المدرسة خلال 2015 إلى السنة الدراسية 2016. في ضوء ما أخبرني به الطلاب المعلقون ، يجب على المرء أن يتساءل عن عدد تلك الملايين من المعلقين الذين تسببوا بالفعل في تعليق آخر.

تأخذ القضية أهمية إضافية عند التفكير في كيفية قرار وزير التعليم الأمريكي بيتسي ديفوس مؤخراً ألغى سياسة عهد أوباما التي نصحت المدارس بمعالجة الفوارق العنصرية في الانضباط المدرسي. كانت حجتها أن من الأفضل ترك الانضباط المدرسي للمدارس. لكن الأدلة تظهر الأطفال السود هم علقت بمعدل أعلى بشكل غير متناسب من نظرائهم البيض.

"تعليق المدرسة هي سلوك الكبار ،" حديث روزماري ألين TEDxMileHigh.

الحاجة للبدائل

كما توضح النتائج التي توصلت إليها الحاجة إلى مراجعة شاملة للعواقب المرتبطة بالتعليق المدرسي. أظهرت البحوث السابقة باستمرار الآثار السلبية المرتبطة بالتعليق خارج المدرسة ، مثل ضعف التحصيل الدراسي, التسرب من المدارسو السجن في المستقبل.

لماذا لا توقف المدرسة تعليق العنفوأشارت عدة فتيات في الدراسة إلى أن القتال يعطي دفعة لسمعتهن. كريس بورلوتون / www.shutterstock.com

إذن ، ما الذي يجب أن يفعله قادة المدارس وصانعو السياسة إذا كانت الإزعاجات إشكالية؟ منذ تظهر الأبحاث أن الصراعات تنشأ عادة في حي الطفل و تحمل أكثر في إطار المدرسة ، أعتقد أنه من الحكمة أن يدرس قادة المدارس إقامة شراكات مع منظمات منع العنف مثل علاج العنف و وقف إطلاق النار. مثل هذه المنظمات في كثير من الأحيان ماهرة بشكل فريد في تحديد مصدر الصراع و فعالة في التدخل قبل حدوث مشاجرة عنيفة. وستساعد شراكات منع العنف في تحديد الصراعات عندما لا تزال تختمر في الشوارع - وربما تمنعها قبل أن تحدث في المدرسة.

يمكن قادة المدرسة تحسين ثقافة المدرسة إذا كانوا يشاركون الطلاب في تطوير سياسات الانضباط المدرسي ، قم بتكريم الطلاب على السلوك الإيجابي وتقديم التوجيه بشأن حل النزاعات.

بغض النظر عن نوع الإجراء الوقائي أو العلاج المتبع ، من المهم تضمين أصوات الطلاب بالطريقة التي قمت بها في دراستي. لا توجد ببساطة طريقة لفهم جذور العنف المدرسي أو كيفية ردعه بشكل فعال إذا تم منع الطلاب من المناقشة.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

تشارلز بيل ، أستاذ مساعد ، جامعة ولاية إلينوي

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = School Suspensions؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Why School Suspensions Don't Stop Violence

education

Why School Suspensions Don't Stop ViolenceThe code of the street – where respect is won by fighting – often follows children into school. 

When school officials suspend students, the idea is to maintain a safe environment and deter violence and other problematic behavior on the school campus.

But when I interviewed 30 children in southeast Michigan who had been suspended from school, I learned that suspensions might actually be having the opposite effect.

That’s because students use school suspensions strategically to earn respect and build a reputation for being tough. I made this finding – which will be published in the Journal of Crime and Justice – as part of my ongoing research into how black students and their parents view school discipline, school safety measures and the police.

To interview the students, I obtained permission from their parents. I also took a look at students’ disciplinary records. All of the students I spoke with were black. I only spoke with 30 students because after a short while, the same themes began to emerge. I also interviewed 30 parents.

What the students and parents told me has implications not only for educators, parents and policymakers, but for the millions of students who are suspended in the U.S. each year. The implications are even more serious for black students, who represented 31 percent of all law enforcement referrals and arrests in the 2015-2016 school year, even though they only represented 15 percent of the school population.

Doesn’t deter violence

In interview after interview, students told me that being suspended from school would not stop them from fighting in the future.

For example, a 9th-grade girl who got suspended from school five times for fighting said being suspended “probably makes it more likely” for her to fight because it will lead other students to test her.

“So if you push my buttons or press me the wrong way, I will end up fighting you and I told my mom this, and she said if you fight … OK … just let me know,” the student said.

A 10th-grade girl who has been suspended from school more than 30 times told me that being suspended made her seem “more tough and popular” and helped her establish friendships with other students.

“Because they’d be like ‘well we can be friends because I know you have my back no matter what,’” the girl explained. “If they don’t think you’re tough enough they will bully you.”

A 10th-grade boy who has been suspended 12 times also told me his popularity “went up” after being kicked out of school.

“People like people to get suspended,” the boy said. “You get in trouble, ‘Oh, you coming back, bro? What’s up?’ Everybody trying to talk to you when you come back.”

In my interviews with parents, I found they often advised their children not to walk away from fights.

“The fantasy is that we believe we will only be hit once with a soft right paw and will be able to walk away to tell the authority and they come and resolve the problem,” the father of a 10th-grade girl who has been suspended 15 times told me. “The reality is that you are either going to get hit to get knocked out or you are going to get hit and keep getting hit. You only get to walk away after somebody ass has been kicked.”

Street code in effect

So what lurks behind the rationale of students who see being suspended as a way to get a rep, so to speak? For clues and answers to this question, I drew from sociologist Elijah Anderson’s “Code of the Street.” I wanted to see how the social norms that Anderson found were embedded in street culture might influence violence in school.

The comments I got from the students show how the code of the street that Anderson describes in his book does not cease to operate once students pass through the schoolhouse door. Rather, the social norms that are embedded in street culture establish a code that regulates violence in public high schools.

Anderson found that respect is difficult to obtain and easy to lose on the streets, and so people who live by this code believe respect must be continuously earned. Some of the students in my study got up to 30 out-of-school suspensions for their repeated involvement in fights, suggesting the same dynamics were at play as they sought to exhibit toughness and maintain respect.

Tough choices

This poses a serious dilemma for educators and policymakers who have a duty to maintain a safe school environment. On one hand, every school principal needs a reasonable deterrent that discourages violence and prioritizes student safety. On the other hand, my findings show out-of-school suspension actually exacerbates physical violence in the school setting and sets up a competition for popularity based on perceived toughness and respect.

Given the widespread use of school suspension in America’s schools, this is a dilemma that cannot be ignored. The most recent U.S. Department of Education Office of Civil Rights report shows approximately 2.7 million children received a school suspension during the 2015 to 2016 school year. In light of what suspended students told me, one has to wonder how many of those millions of suspensions were actually caused by other suspensions.

The issue takes on an added layer of importance when you consider how U.S. education secretary Betsy DeVos recently decided to rescind an Obama-era policy that advised schools to address racial disparities in school discipline. Her argument was that school discipline is best left to schools. But evidence shows black children are suspended at disproportionately higher rates than their white counterparts.

‘School Suspensions Are an Adult Behavior,’ Rosemarie Allen’s TEDxMileHigh talk.

The need for alternatives

My findings also show the need for a thorough review of the consequences associated with school suspension. Prior research has consistently shown the adverse effects associated with out-of-school suspension, such as poor academic achievement, school dropout, and future incarceration.

Why School Suspensions Don't Stop ViolenceSeveral girls in the study indicated that fighting gives a boost to their reputation. Chris Bourloton/www.shutterstock.com

So what should school leaders and policymakers do if suspensions are so problematic? Since research shows that conflicts typically originate in a child’s neighborhood and carry over into the school setting, I think it would be wise for school leaders to consider establishing partnerships with violence prevention organizations such as Cure Violence and CeaseFire. Such organizations are often uniquely skilled at identifying the source of a conflict and effective at intervening before a violent altercation occurs. Violence prevention partnerships would help identify conflicts when they are still brewing in the streets – and potentially stop them before they take place in school.

School leaders can improve school culture if they involve students in the development of school discipline policies, reward students for positive behaviors and provide guidance on conflict resolution.

Regardless of what kind of preventive measure or remedy is pursued, it’s important to include the voices of students in the way I have done in my study. There’s simply no way to fully understand the root of school violence or how to effectively deter it if students are shut out of the discussion.The Conversation

About The Author

Charles Bell, Assistant Professor, Illinois State University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

education
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}