Pourquoi collecter de l'eau transforme des millions de femmes en citoyennes de deuxième classe

Pourquoi collecter de l'eau transforme des millions de femmes en citoyennes de deuxième classeLa réalité pour beaucoup de femmes en Inde. Shutterstock

Une famille en Inde a besoin d'eau douce. Mais cette famille ne peut pas simplement ouvrir un robinet. Au lieu de cela, les femmes du ménage doivent marcher pour aller le chercher, parcourant parfois des kilomètres avec des pots en plastique ou en terre cuite, éventuellement accompagnés d’un ou deux enfants, vers la source sûre la plus proche - en répétant régulièrement le voyage trois fois par jour. Durant les chauds mois d’avril et mai, lorsque les températures dépassent régulièrement 40C, il s’agit d’un rituel quotidien particulièrement éprouvant - et, une fois rentrés chez eux, ils doivent s’acquitter de leurs autres tâches ménagères: la ferme familiale.

Ces femmes rappellent la déesse hindoue aux bras multiples, Durga - Ils ont tellement de tâches quotidiennes qu'ils pourraient sans doute faire avec un jeu de mains supplémentaire. Mais ils ne font pas exception. C'est la réalité pour des millions de femmes en Inde. Depuis les Ghâts occidentaux et le nord-est montagneux jusqu'à l'état de désert aride du Rajasthan, les femmes de tout le pays jouent le rôle de collectrices d'eau. Et ce rôle sexospécifique a de graves répercussions sur tous les aspects de leur vie, de la santé et de la vie sociale à l’éducation, en passant par leur capacité à avoir une voix réelle dans la communauté.

On estime que les Indiens 163m n’ont toujours pas accès aux services de nettoyage, eau courante. En attendant que ce problème soit résolu, cet important problème national prévaudra, les femmes en payant le prix le plus lourd.

Le fardeau d'une femme

La collecte de l'eau en Inde est un travail de femme, quel que soit son physique - et il n'y a pas de répit, même si elle a ses règles, qu'elle est malade ou qu'elle a autre chose à faire. Les ressources en eaux souterraines étant de plus en plus sollicitées en raison d'une dépendance excessive et d'une consommation non durable, les puits, les étangs et les réservoirs peuvent également se tarir régulièrement, ce qui aggrave la crise de l'eau et oblige les femmes à parcourir de longues distances. L'accès à une eau de boisson insalubre entraîne également la propagation de maladies d'origine hydrique. Et les femmes sont souvent les premières victimes de la rareté et de la pollution de l'eau.

Dans les zones urbaines, les longues files de femmes avec des pots d’eau en plastique colorés attirent le regard. Mais ces images soulignent également les problèmes de pénurie d’eau et les longues attentes qu’ils subissent pour les citernes d’eau qui les livrent dans les villes.

Les citadines, en particulier à la périphérie des villes et des bidonvilles, font face à la fardeau de cette pénurie d'eau. Dans certaines régions, de l'eau est parfois fournie au milieu de la nuit, ce qui signifie que ces femmes sont privées de sommeil et que leur productivité est affectée. En effet, il y a des femmes dans le Sud global à qui l'éducation est refusée simplement parce qu'ils doivent aller chercher de l'eau plutôt que d'aller à l'école. En fait, un rapport a révélé que presque 23% des filles en Inde abandonnent leurs études à la puberté en raison du manque d'eau et d'installations sanitaires.

Lorsque les filles doivent abandonner l'école pour aider leur mère à aller chercher de l'eau et à effectuer d'autres tâches ménagères, elles se voient refuser le droit à l'éducation - qui est désormais un droit fondamental aux termes de l'article 21A du la constitution indienne. Le dicton dit: «Éduquez une femme et elle éduquera sa famille» - eh bien, pas ces femmes. Et parce qu'ils ne profitent pas des opportunités offertes par l'éducation, les autres membres de leur famille le sont également.

La collecte de l'eau est un voyage fastidieux, en particulier dans les zones sèches pendant les vagues de chaleur. Mais cela peut aussi être dangereux. Les femmes peuvent risquer des attaques physiques, par exemple, ou des abus. La situation est aggravée par le manque de installations sanitaires adéquates à la maison et en route vers la source d’eau. Et les choses sont encore pires pour les femmes des couches inférieures de la société qui sont même accès refusé aux sources d'eau comme les puits publics. Cette discrimination de caste persiste même si la Constitution indienne - qui garantit l’égalité d’accès aux puits publics sans discrimination fondée sur la religion, la race, la caste et le sexe - date de 70.

Que dit la loi

L’Inde est un pays démocratique fédéral divisé en un centre (ou gouvernement d’union), des États 29 et sept territoires d’union. Le pouvoir de légiférer est partagé entre le gouvernement de l’union et les États, conformément à l’annexe 7 de la Constitution de l’Inde, 1950. En conséquence, les gouvernements des États peuvent légiférer sur les questions liées à l'eau, à l'exception des questions relatives aux rivières entre États et aux conflits liés à l'eau.

Cependant, le gouvernement central a également initié plusieurs programmes et des politiques visant à assurer un accès universel à l'eau dans les zones rurales et urbaines, telles que le Programme national de distribution d'eau potable en milieu rural. L’accès à l’eau est, après tout, un droit fondamental, régi par le «droit à la vie» garanti par la Constitution. En effet, le droit indien est de loin antérieur au régime international des droits de l'homme. L’élargissement du droit humain à l’eau n’a été reconnu dans 2002 que sous Commentaire général 15 du Comité des droits économiques, sociaux et culturels des Nations Unies (CESCR).

Pourquoi collecter de l'eau transforme des millions de femmes en citoyennes de deuxième classeDe nombreuses communautés ne peuvent pas simplement ouvrir un robinet. Shutterstock

Les tribunaux indiens ont reconnu les trois obligations des États concernant le droit humain à l'eau - «respecter, protéger et réaliser» - dans plusieurs affaires (telles que Subhash Kumar v Etat du Bihar, 1991 et un statut de Vishala Kochi Kudivella Samprakshana Samiti v État du Kerala, 2006). Toutefois, aucune loi indienne n’a explicitement reconnu et mis en œuvre ce droit fondamental à l’eau. Au lieu de cela, tous les cinq ans, chaque nouveau gouvernement apporte ses propres programmes d’alimentation en eau - et aucun d’entre eux n’a véritablement abordé la question de la collecte de l’eau pour les femmes et n’a suggéré aucun moyen pratique d’alléger leur fardeau.

Comment faire face à la crise

Plusieurs régions de l'Inde faire face à une grave pénurie d’eau et à la sécheresse pendant les mois d’été. La raison de cette pénurie d’eau se situe au niveau local: une consommation d’eau insoutenable et des moyens non scientifiques de gérer l’approvisionnement en eau. Les sources d'eau traditionnelles et les points de recharge des eaux souterraines, tels que les réservoirs, les étangs, les canaux et les lacs, sont soit négligés, pollués, utilisés ou comblés à d'autres fins.

Ce problème ne peut être résolu qu'avec la participation constructive de toutes les parties prenantes de la société. Et cela doit être résolu bientôt. Avec la menace croissante du changement climatique, la pénurie d'eau pourrait bientôt être un problème irréparable - et pas seulement pour les femmes, mais pour tout le monde dans la société.La Conversation

A propos de l'auteur

Gayathri D Naik, chercheur universitaire, faculté de droit, SOAS, Université de Londres

Cet article est republié de La Conversation sous une licence Creative Commons. Lis le article original.

Livres connexes

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=inequality in india;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

suivez InnerSelf sur

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

Why Collecting Water Turns Millions Of Women Into Second-class Citizens

Why Collecting Water Turns Millions Of Women Into Second-class CitizensThe reality for many women in India. Shutterstock

A family in India needs fresh water. But this family can’t just turn on a tap. Instead, the women in the household must walk to fetch it, sometimes travelling miles carrying plastic or earthenware pots, possibly with a child or two in tow, to the nearest safe source – regularly repeating the journey up to three times a day. In the scorching summer months of April and May, when temperatures regularly exceed 40C, it is a particularly gruelling daily ritual – and when they get home they must complete their other household chores: cooking, washing, bringing up the children, even helping on the family farm.

These women are reminiscent of the many-armed Hindu goddess, Durga – they have so many daily tasks, they could doubtless do with an extra set of hands. But they aren’t the exception. This is the reality for millions of women in India. From the Western Ghats and the mountainous north-east to the arid desert state of Rajasthan, women across the country act as water collectors. And this gender specific role has a severe impact on every aspect of their lives, from their health and social life to education and their ability to have a real say in the community.

It is estimated that 163m Indians still don’t have access to clean, running water. Until that’s fixed, this significant national problem will prevail, with women paying the biggest price.

A woman’s burden

Water collection in India is a woman’s job, irrespective of her physique – and there’s no respite, even when she’s menstruating, ill, or has something else to do. As groundwater resources are placed under increasing pressure due to over-reliance and unsustainable consumption, wells, ponds and tanks can also regularly dry up, escalating the water crisis and placing a greater burden on women to travel long distances. Access to unsafe drinking water also results in the spread of water-borne diseases. And women are often the first victims of both water scarcity and water pollution.

In urban areas, long queues of women with colourful plastic water pots are eye-catching. But such images also highlight problems of water scarcity and the long waits they endure for the water tankers that deliver it in cities.

Urban woman, especially on the outskirts of cities and in slum areas, face the particular burden of this water scarcity. In some areas, water is occasionally supplied in the middle of the night, meaning that these women are deprived of sleep and their productivity is affected. Indeed, there are women in the global south who are denied education purely because they have to collect water rather than go to school. In fact, one report revealed that almost 23% of girls in India drop out of school on reaching puberty due to a lack of water and sanitation facilities.

When girls have to drop out of school to help their mothers collect water and perform other household tasks, they are denied their right to education – which is now a fundamental right under Article 21A of the Indian Constitution. The saying goes: “Educate a woman, and she shall educate her family” – well, not these women. And because they’re missing out on the opportunities education provides, so are their other family members.

Collecting water is an irksome journey, especially in dry areas during heat waves. But it can be a dangerous one, too. Women may risk physical attack, for example, or abuse. The situation is made worse by the lack of adequate sanitation facilities both at home and en route to the water source. And things are even worse for women from the lower strata of society who are even denied access to water sources like public wells. This caste discrimination persists even though the Indian Constitution – which ensures equal access to public wells without any discrimination based on religion, race, caste, and sex – is 70 years old.

What the law says

India is a federal democratic country divided into the centre (or union government), 29 states, and seven union territories. The power to make laws is divided between the union government and the states as per Schedule 7 of the Constitution of India, 1950. Accordingly, state governments can legislate on issues related to water, except for those matters involving inter-state rivers and water disputes.

However, the central government has also initiated several programmes and policies to ensure universal access to water in rural and urban areas, such as the National Rural Drinking Water Programme. Access to water is, after all, a fundamental right, covered by the “right to life” that is guaranteed by the Constitution. Indeed, Indian law far predates the international human rights regime on this. The broader human right to water was only recognised in 2002 under General Comment 15 of the UN Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (CESCR).

Why Collecting Water Turns Millions Of Women Into Second-class CitizensMany communities can’t just turn on a tap. Shutterstock

The three obligations on states regarding the human right to water – “respect, protect and fulfill” – have been recognised by the Indian courts in several cases (such as Subhash Kumar v State of Bihar, 1991 and Vishala Kochi Kudivella Samprakshana Samiti v State of Kerala, 2006). However, there is no legislation in India that explicitly recognises and implements this fundamental right to water. Instead, every five years, each new government brings with it its own pet programmes for water supply – and none of them have genuinely addressed the issue of water collection for women nor suggested any practical way to ease their burden.

How to tackle the crisis

Several parts of India face severe water scarcity and drought during the summer months. The reason for this water scarcity lies at the grass-roots level – unsustainable water consumption and unscientific ways of managing water supply. Traditional water sources and groundwater recharging points, such as tanks, ponds, canals and lakes, are either neglected, polluted or used or filled in for other purposes.

Only with the constructive involvement of all of society’s stakeholders can this problem be solved. And it must be solved soon. With the increasing threat of climate change, water scarcity could soon be an irreparable issue – and not just for women, but for everyone in society.The Conversation

About The Author

Gayathri D Naik, Research Scholar, School of Law, SOAS, University of London

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=inequality in india;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

CULTURE WARS

what is populism 2 7

What Actually Is This Thing Called Populism?

Octavia Bryant and Benjamin Moffitt
No doubt thanks to Donald Trump, Brexit, and a string of anti-establishment leaders and parties in Europe, Latin America and Asia, everyone seems to be talking about populism

DEMOCRACY

Compassionate Actions and Ripples of Change

Compassionate Actions and Ripples of Change

Jalaja Bonheim, PhD.
I believe there is. When we speak of activism, we usually think of organized activities. Yet beyond that, we all have opportunities to act in ways that reflect our desire for social justice and peace. Whether or not we’re “official” activists, we’re always…

ECONOMY

How Electric Cars Could Make America's Crumbling Roads Even Worse

How Electric Cars Could Make America's Crumbling Roads Even Worse

Jay L. Zagorsky
U.S. roads and bridges are in abysmal shape – and that was before the recent winter storms made things even worse.

ENVIRONMENT & CLIMATE

Beaches Are Banning Sunscreens To Save Coral Reefs

Beaches Are Banning Sunscreens To Save Coral Reefs

Isabelle Côté
Many families will soon escape the winter to seek warmer, sunnier climes. Swimsuits and sunglasses will invariably find their way into suitcases, but one common item might be giving people a little more pause than it once did: sunscreen.

HOSTILITES

Attaining Peace Must Be The Cause of Every Individual

Attaining Peace Must Be The Cause of Every Individual

Rick Munoz
When I was 4 years old, my grandfather died. The preacher said "por fin el a alcanzado la paz" which means (in Spanish) that he has finally reached peace. As I listened to him I began to think that peace was really important if grandfather had to go away to…

JUSTICE & CIVIL LIBERTY

Most People Don't Realize What Companies Can Predict From Their Data

Most People Don't Realize What Companies Can Predict From Their Data

Emilee Rader
Sixty-seven percent of smartphone users rely on Google Maps to help them get to where they are going quickly and efficiently.