لماذا جمع المياه يتحول ملايين النساء إلى المواطنين من الدرجة الثانية

لماذا جمع المياه يتحول ملايين النساء إلى المواطنين من الدرجة الثانيةالواقع بالنسبة لكثير من النساء في الهند. شترستوك

عائلة في الهند تحتاج إلى المياه العذبة. لكن هذه العائلة لا يمكنها تشغيل صنبور. وبدلاً من ذلك ، يجب على النساء في المنزل أن يسيروا لإحضاره ، وأحيانًا يسافرون بأميال تحمل أوانٍ بلاستيكية أو خزفية ، ربما مع طفل أو اثنين في السحب ، إلى أقرب مصدر آمن - يكرر بانتظام رحلة تصل إلى ثلاث مرات في اليوم. في الأشهر الصيفية الحارقة من أبريل ومايو ، عندما تتجاوز درجات الحرارة 40C بشكل منتظم ، فهي طقس يومي مرهق بشكل خاص - وعندما يعودون إلى المنزل ، يجب عليهم إكمال الأعمال المنزلية الأخرى: الطهي والغسيل وتربية الأطفال وحتى المساعدة على مزرعة العائلة.

هؤلاء النساء تذكرنا آلهة هندوسية كثيرة مسلحة ، دورجا - لديهم الكثير من المهام اليومية ، يمكن أن يفعلوا بدون شك مع مجموعة إضافية من الأيدي. لكنهم ليسوا الاستثناء. هذا هو الواقع بالنسبة لملايين النساء في الهند. من غرب غاتس والمنطقة الجبلية الشمالية الشرقية إلى ولاية راجستان الصحراوية القاحلة ، تعمل النساء في جميع أنحاء البلاد كجامعات للمياه. وهذا الدور الخاص بالنوع الاجتماعي له تأثير كبير على كل جانب من جوانب حياتهم ، من صحتهم وحياتهم الاجتماعية إلى التعليم وقدرتهم على أن يكون لهم رأي حقيقي في المجتمع.

تشير التقديرات إلى أن الهنود 163m لا يزالون غير قادرين على الوصول إلى المياه الجارية. وإلى أن يتم إصلاح هذه المشكلة ، سوف تسود هذه المشكلة الوطنية الكبيرة ، حيث تدفع النساء السعر الأكبر.

عبء المرأة

جمع المياه في الهند هي وظيفة المرأة ، بغض النظر عن اللياقة البدنية لها - وليس هناك مهلة ، حتى عندما تكون الدورة الشهرية أو المرض أو لديها شيء آخر للقيام به. وبما أن موارد المياه الجوفية تتعرض لضغوط متزايدة بسبب الاعتماد المفرط والاستهلاك غير المستدام ، فإن الآبار والبرك والدبابات يمكن أن تجف بانتظام ، مما يؤدي إلى تصاعد أزمة المياه ووضع عبء أكبر على النساء للسفر لمسافات طويلة. كما يؤدي الوصول إلى مياه الشرب غير المأمونة إلى انتشار الأمراض المنقولة بواسطة المياه. وغالبا ما تكون النساء أول ضحايا ندرة المياه وتلوث المياه.

في المناطق الحضرية ، طوابير طويلة من النساء مع الأواني البلاستيكية المائية الملونة لافتة للنظر. لكن مثل هذه الصور تسلط الضوء أيضًا على مشاكل ندرة المياه والانتظار الطويل الذي تحمله لناقلات المياه التي تنقله في المدن.

المرأة الحضرية ، ولا سيما في ضواحي المدن وفي المناطق الفقيرة ، تواجه وجه الخصوص عبء ندرة المياه. في بعض المناطق ، يتم توفير المياه في بعض الأحيان في منتصف الليل ، وهذا يعني أن هؤلاء النساء محرومات من النوم وتتأثر إنتاجيتهن. في الواقع ، هناك نساء في الجنوب العالمي الذي يحرم من التعليم فقط لأن عليهم جمع المياه بدلاً من الذهاب إلى المدرسة. في الواقع ، كشف تقرير واحد أن تقريبا تسقط نسبة 23٪ من الفتيات في الهند خارج المدرسة الوصول إلى سن البلوغ بسبب نقص مرافق المياه والصرف الصحي.

عندما تضطر الفتيات إلى ترك المدرسة لمساعدة أمهاتهن في جمع المياه وأداء المهام المنزلية الأخرى ، يتم حرمانهن من حقهن في التعليم - وهو الآن حق أساسي بموجب المادة 21A من الدستور الهندي. يقول المثل: "ثقف امرأة ، وعليها أن تثقيف عائلتها" - حسنا ، وليس هؤلاء النساء. ولأنهم يفقدون الفرص التي يوفرها التعليم ، فإنهم كذلك أفراد أسرهم الآخرين.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


جمع المياه هو رحلة مزعجة ، وخاصة في المناطق الجافة أثناء موجات الحر. لكنها يمكن أن تكون خطيرة أيضًا. قد تتعرض النساء لخطر الاعتداء الجسدي ، على سبيل المثال ، أو سوء المعاملة. الوضع أسوأ بسبب عدم وجود مرافق الصرف الصحي الكافية سواء في المنزل أو في الطريق إلى مصدر المياه. والأمور أسوأ بالنسبة للنساء من الطبقات الدنيا في المجتمع اللواتي ينتمين منع الوصول إلى مصادر المياه مثل الآبار العامة. ويستمر هذا التمييز الطبقي على الرغم من أن الدستور الهندي - الذي يضمن المساواة في الوصول إلى الآبار العامة دون أي تمييز على أساس الدين والعرق والطبقة الاجتماعية والجنس - هو 70 سنة.

ماذا يقول القانون

الهند هي دولة ديمقراطية اتحادية مقسمة إلى المركز (أو حكومة الاتحاد) ، تنص على 29 ، وأقاليم الاتحاد السبعة. تنقسم سلطة إصدار القوانين بين حكومة الاتحاد والولايات وفقًا لجدول 7 من دستور الهند ، 1950. وبناءً على ذلك ، يمكن لحكومات الولايات إصدار تشريعات بشأن القضايا المتعلقة بالمياه ، باستثناء المسائل التي تنطوي على أنهار بين الدول ونزاعات مياه.

ومع ذلك ، فإن الحكومة المركزية لديها أيضا بدأ عدة برامج والسياسات لضمان حصول الجميع على المياه في المناطق الريفية والحضرية ، مثل برنامج مياه الشرب الريفية الوطني. فالحصول على الماء هو حق أساسي ، بعد كل شيء ، يغطيه "الحق في الحياة" الذي يضمنه الدستور. في الواقع ، يسبق القانون الهندي النظام الدولي لحقوق الإنسان بهذا الشأن. تم الاعتراف بحق الإنسان الأوسع في الماء في 2002 تحت التعليق العام 15 لجنة الأمم المتحدة المعنية بالحقوق الاقتصادية والاجتماعية والثقافية (CESCR).

لماذا جمع المياه يتحول ملايين النساء إلى المواطنين من الدرجة الثانيةلا تستطيع العديد من المجتمعات تشغيل الصنبور. شترستوك

وقد اعترفت المحاكم الهندية بالالتزامات الثلاثة للدول المتعلقة بحق الإنسان في الماء - "الاحترام والحماية والوفاء" - في العديد من الحالات (مثل سوبهاش كومار ضد ولاية بيهار ، 1991 . Vishala Kochi Kudivella Samprakshana Samiti v State of Kerala، 2006). ومع ذلك ، لا يوجد تشريع في الهند يعترف صراحة بهذا الحق الأساسي في المياه وينفذه. وبدلاً من ذلك ، كل خمس سنوات ، تجلب كل حكومة جديدة معها برامجها الخاصة بالحيوانات الأليفة لتوفير المياه - ولم يعالج أي منها بصدق قضية جمع المياه للنساء ، ولم يقترح أي طريقة عملية لتخفيف أعبائها.

كيفية معالجة الأزمة

عدة اجزاء من الهند مواجهة ندرة المياه الشديدة والجفاف خلال أشهر الصيف. يكمن السبب وراء ندرة المياه هذه في مستوى القواعد الشعبية - الاستهلاك غير المستدام للمياه والطرق غير العلمية لإدارة إمدادات المياه. إن مصادر المياه التقليدية ونقاط إعادة شحن المياه الجوفية ، مثل الخزانات والبرك والقنوات والبحيرات ، إما مهملة أو ملوثة أو مستخدمة أو مملوءة لأغراض أخرى.

فقط مع المشاركة البناءة من جميع أصحاب المصلحة في المجتمع يمكن حل هذه المشكلة. ويجب أن تحل قريبا. مع تزايد خطر تغير المناخ ، قد تصبح ندرة المياه في وقت قريب مسألة لا يمكن إصلاحها - وليس فقط بالنسبة للنساء ، ولكن لكل فرد في المجتمع.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

غياثري دي نايك ، باحث في البحوث ، كلية الحقوق ، SOAS ، جامعة لندن

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ الكلمات الأساسية = عدم المساواة في الهند ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Why Collecting Water Turns Millions Of Women Into Second-class Citizens

Why Collecting Water Turns Millions Of Women Into Second-class CitizensThe reality for many women in India. Shutterstock

A family in India needs fresh water. But this family can’t just turn on a tap. Instead, the women in the household must walk to fetch it, sometimes travelling miles carrying plastic or earthenware pots, possibly with a child or two in tow, to the nearest safe source – regularly repeating the journey up to three times a day. In the scorching summer months of April and May, when temperatures regularly exceed 40C, it is a particularly gruelling daily ritual – and when they get home they must complete their other household chores: cooking, washing, bringing up the children, even helping on the family farm.

These women are reminiscent of the many-armed Hindu goddess, Durga – they have so many daily tasks, they could doubtless do with an extra set of hands. But they aren’t the exception. This is the reality for millions of women in India. From the Western Ghats and the mountainous north-east to the arid desert state of Rajasthan, women across the country act as water collectors. And this gender specific role has a severe impact on every aspect of their lives, from their health and social life to education and their ability to have a real say in the community.

It is estimated that 163m Indians still don’t have access to clean, running water. Until that’s fixed, this significant national problem will prevail, with women paying the biggest price.

A woman’s burden

Water collection in India is a woman’s job, irrespective of her physique – and there’s no respite, even when she’s menstruating, ill, or has something else to do. As groundwater resources are placed under increasing pressure due to over-reliance and unsustainable consumption, wells, ponds and tanks can also regularly dry up, escalating the water crisis and placing a greater burden on women to travel long distances. Access to unsafe drinking water also results in the spread of water-borne diseases. And women are often the first victims of both water scarcity and water pollution.

In urban areas, long queues of women with colourful plastic water pots are eye-catching. But such images also highlight problems of water scarcity and the long waits they endure for the water tankers that deliver it in cities.

Urban woman, especially on the outskirts of cities and in slum areas, face the particular burden of this water scarcity. In some areas, water is occasionally supplied in the middle of the night, meaning that these women are deprived of sleep and their productivity is affected. Indeed, there are women in the global south who are denied education purely because they have to collect water rather than go to school. In fact, one report revealed that almost 23% of girls in India drop out of school on reaching puberty due to a lack of water and sanitation facilities.

When girls have to drop out of school to help their mothers collect water and perform other household tasks, they are denied their right to education – which is now a fundamental right under Article 21A of the Indian Constitution. The saying goes: “Educate a woman, and she shall educate her family” – well, not these women. And because they’re missing out on the opportunities education provides, so are their other family members.

Collecting water is an irksome journey, especially in dry areas during heat waves. But it can be a dangerous one, too. Women may risk physical attack, for example, or abuse. The situation is made worse by the lack of adequate sanitation facilities both at home and en route to the water source. And things are even worse for women from the lower strata of society who are even denied access to water sources like public wells. This caste discrimination persists even though the Indian Constitution – which ensures equal access to public wells without any discrimination based on religion, race, caste, and sex – is 70 years old.

What the law says

India is a federal democratic country divided into the centre (or union government), 29 states, and seven union territories. The power to make laws is divided between the union government and the states as per Schedule 7 of the Constitution of India, 1950. Accordingly, state governments can legislate on issues related to water, except for those matters involving inter-state rivers and water disputes.

However, the central government has also initiated several programmes and policies to ensure universal access to water in rural and urban areas, such as the National Rural Drinking Water Programme. Access to water is, after all, a fundamental right, covered by the “right to life” that is guaranteed by the Constitution. Indeed, Indian law far predates the international human rights regime on this. The broader human right to water was only recognised in 2002 under General Comment 15 of the UN Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (CESCR).

Why Collecting Water Turns Millions Of Women Into Second-class CitizensMany communities can’t just turn on a tap. Shutterstock

The three obligations on states regarding the human right to water – “respect, protect and fulfill” – have been recognised by the Indian courts in several cases (such as Subhash Kumar v State of Bihar, 1991 and Vishala Kochi Kudivella Samprakshana Samiti v State of Kerala, 2006). However, there is no legislation in India that explicitly recognises and implements this fundamental right to water. Instead, every five years, each new government brings with it its own pet programmes for water supply – and none of them have genuinely addressed the issue of water collection for women nor suggested any practical way to ease their burden.

How to tackle the crisis

Several parts of India face severe water scarcity and drought during the summer months. The reason for this water scarcity lies at the grass-roots level – unsustainable water consumption and unscientific ways of managing water supply. Traditional water sources and groundwater recharging points, such as tanks, ponds, canals and lakes, are either neglected, polluted or used or filled in for other purposes.

Only with the constructive involvement of all of society’s stakeholders can this problem be solved. And it must be solved soon. With the increasing threat of climate change, water scarcity could soon be an irreparable issue – and not just for women, but for everyone in society.The Conversation

About The Author

Gayathri D Naik, Research Scholar, School of Law, SOAS, University of London

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=inequality in india;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

CULTURE WARS

what is populism 2 7

What Actually Is This Thing Called Populism?

Octavia Bryant and Benjamin Moffitt
No doubt thanks to Donald Trump, Brexit, and a string of anti-establishment leaders and parties in Europe, Latin America and Asia, everyone seems to be talking about populism

DEMOCRACY

Compassionate Actions and Ripples of Change

Compassionate Actions and Ripples of Change

Jalaja Bonheim, PhD.
I believe there is. When we speak of activism, we usually think of organized activities. Yet beyond that, we all have opportunities to act in ways that reflect our desire for social justice and peace. Whether or not we’re “official” activists, we’re always…

ECONOMY

How Electric Cars Could Make America's Crumbling Roads Even Worse

How Electric Cars Could Make America's Crumbling Roads Even Worse

Jay L. Zagorsky
U.S. roads and bridges are in abysmal shape – and that was before the recent winter storms made things even worse.

ENVIRONMENT & CLIMATE

Beaches Are Banning Sunscreens To Save Coral Reefs

Beaches Are Banning Sunscreens To Save Coral Reefs

Isabelle Côté
Many families will soon escape the winter to seek warmer, sunnier climes. Swimsuits and sunglasses will invariably find their way into suitcases, but one common item might be giving people a little more pause than it once did: sunscreen.

HOSTILITES

Attaining Peace Must Be The Cause of Every Individual

Attaining Peace Must Be The Cause of Every Individual

Rick Munoz
When I was 4 years old, my grandfather died. The preacher said "por fin el a alcanzado la paz" which means (in Spanish) that he has finally reached peace. As I listened to him I began to think that peace was really important if grandfather had to go away to…

JUSTICE & CIVIL LIBERTY

Most People Don't Realize What Companies Can Predict From Their Data

Most People Don't Realize What Companies Can Predict From Their Data

Emilee Rader
Sixty-seven percent of smartphone users rely on Google Maps to help them get to where they are going quickly and efficiently.