Warum das Sammeln von Wasser Millionen von Frauen zu Bürgern zweiter Klasse macht

Warum das Sammeln von Wasser Millionen von Frauen zu Bürgern zweiter Klasse machtDie Realität für viele Frauen in Indien. Shutterstock

Eine Familie in Indien braucht frisches Wasser. Aber diese Familie kann nicht einfach einen Hahn aufdrehen. Stattdessen müssen die Frauen im Haushalt zu Fuß gehen, um sie abzuholen. Manchmal sind sie kilometerweit unterwegs und tragen Plastik- oder Steinguttöpfe, möglicherweise mit einem oder zwei Kindern im Schlepptau, zur nächsten sicheren Quelle - wobei die Reise regelmäßig bis zu dreimal am Tag wiederholt wird. In den sengenden Sommermonaten April und Mai, wenn die Temperaturen regelmäßig 40C übersteigen, ist dies ein besonders anstrengendes tägliches Ritual - und wenn sie nach Hause kommen, müssen sie ihre anderen Hausarbeiten erledigen: Kochen, Waschen, Kindererziehung, sogar Hilfe beim Familienbauernhof.

Diese Frauen erinnern an die Hindu-Göttin mit vielen Armen, Durga - Sie haben so viele tägliche Aufgaben, die sie zweifellos mit zusätzlichen Händen erledigen könnten. Aber das ist keine Ausnahme. Dies ist die Realität für Millionen von Frauen in Indien. Von den Western Ghats und dem gebirgigen Nordosten bis zum trockenen Wüstenstaat Rajasthan fungieren Frauen im ganzen Land als Wassersammler. Und diese geschlechtsspezifische Rolle hat gravierende Auswirkungen auf jeden Aspekt ihres Lebens, von ihrem Gesundheits- und Sozialleben bis hin zur Bildung und ihrer Fähigkeit, in der Gemeinschaft ein echtes Mitspracherecht zu haben.

Es wird geschätzt, dass 163m-Indianer immer noch keinen Zugang zu sauberen fließendes Wasser. Bis dies behoben ist, wird dieses bedeutende nationale Problem überwiegen, wobei Frauen den höchsten Preis zahlen.

Die Last einer Frau

Die Sammlung von Wasser in Indien ist eine Frauenarbeit, unabhängig von ihrem Körper - und es gibt keine Ruhezeit, selbst wenn sie menstruiert, krank ist oder etwas anderes zu tun hat. Da Grundwasserressourcen aufgrund von Überlastung und nicht nachhaltigem Verbrauch zunehmend unter Druck geraten, können auch Brunnen, Teiche und Tanks regelmäßig austrocknen, was die Wasserkrise eskaliert und Frauen bei langen Distanzen stärker belastet. Der Zugang zu unsicherem Trinkwasser führt auch zur Ausbreitung von Krankheiten, die durch Wasser übertragen werden. Frauen sind oft die ersten Opfer von Wasserknappheit und Wasserverschmutzung.

In städtischen Gebieten sind lange Schlangen von Frauen mit bunten Wassertöpfen aus Kunststoff ein Blickfang. Solche Bilder zeigen jedoch auch Probleme der Wasserknappheit und die langen Wartezeiten, die sie auf die Wassertanker in Städten aushalten.

Die städtische Frau, besonders in den Außenbezirken von Städten und in Slumgebieten, steht dem Besonderen gegenüber Last dieser Wasserknappheit. In einigen Gegenden wird gelegentlich mitten in der Nacht Wasser zugeführt, was bedeutet, dass diese Frauen keinen Schlaf bekommen und ihre Produktivität beeinträchtigt wird. In der Tat gibt es Frauen in der globaler Süden, der Bildung verweigert wird Nur weil sie Wasser sammeln müssen, anstatt zur Schule zu gehen. In der Tat hat ein Bericht das fast gezeigt 23% der Mädchen in Indien bricht die Schule ab bei Erreichen der Pubertät mangels Wasser und sanitären Einrichtungen.

Wenn Mädchen aus der Schule aussteigen müssen, um ihren Müttern beim Sammeln von Wasser und anderen Haushaltsaufgaben zu helfen, wird ihnen das Recht auf Bildung verweigert. Dies ist jetzt ein Grundrecht gemäß Artikel 21A von die indische Verfassung. Das Sprichwort sagt: "Eine Frau erziehen, und sie soll ihre Familie erziehen" - nun, nicht diese Frauen. Und weil ihnen die Möglichkeiten, die die Bildung bietet, fehlen, gilt dies auch für die anderen Familienmitglieder.

Das Sammeln von Wasser ist eine lästige Reise, besonders in trockenen Gebieten während Hitzewellen. Aber es kann auch gefährlich sein. Frauen können zum Beispiel einen körperlichen Angriff oder Missbrauch riskieren. Die Situation wird durch den Mangel an verschärft angemessene sanitäre Einrichtungen sowohl zu Hause als auch auf dem Weg zur Wasserquelle. Noch schlimmer ist es für Frauen aus den unteren Schichten der Gesellschaft, die es sogar gibt Zugang zu Wasserquellen wie öffentlichen Brunnen verweigert. Diese Kastendiskriminierung bleibt bestehen, auch wenn die indische Verfassung, die einen gleichberechtigten Zugang zu öffentlichen Brunnen ohne Diskriminierung aufgrund von Religion, Rasse, Kaste und Geschlecht sicherstellt, 70 Jahre alt ist.

Was das Gesetz sagt,

Indien ist ein föderales demokratisches Land, das sich in die Mitte (oder Unionsregierung), 29-Staaten und sieben Unionsterritorien aufteilt. Die Befugnis, Gesetze zu treffen, ist zwischen der Gewerkschaftsregierung und den Staaten gemäß Schedule 7 der indischen Verfassung 1950 aufgeteilt. Dementsprechend können die Regierungen der Regierungen zu Fragen im Zusammenhang mit Wasser Gesetze erlassen, mit Ausnahme der Angelegenheiten, die zwischenstaatliche Flüsse und Wasserstreitigkeiten betreffen.

Die Zentralregierung hat jedoch auch initiierte mehrere Programme und Maßnahmen zur Sicherstellung eines universellen Zugangs zu Wasser in ländlichen und städtischen Gebieten, wie beispielsweise dem nationalen Trinkwasserprogramm für den ländlichen Raum. Der Zugang zu Wasser ist schließlich ein Grundrecht, das durch das von der Verfassung garantierte „Recht auf Leben“ abgedeckt wird. Tatsächlich ist das indische Recht dem internationalen Menschenrechtsregime weit voraus. Das umfassendere Menschenrecht auf Wasser wurde nur in 2002 unter anerkannt Allgemeiner Kommentar 15 des UN-Ausschusses für wirtschaftliche, soziale und kulturelle Rechte (CESCR).

Warum das Sammeln von Wasser Millionen von Frauen zu Bürgern zweiter Klasse machtViele Gemeinden können nicht einfach einen Hahn drehen. Shutterstock

Die drei Verpflichtungen der Staaten in Bezug auf das Menschenrecht auf Wasser - "Respekt, Schutz und Erfüllung" - wurden von den indischen Gerichten in mehreren Fällen anerkannt (z Subhash Kumar gegen State of Bihar, 1991 und Vishala Kochi Kudivella Samprakshana Samiti gegen Bundesstaat Kerala, 2006). In Indien gibt es jedoch keine Gesetzgebung, die dieses Grundrecht auf Wasser ausdrücklich anerkennt und umsetzt. Stattdessen bringt jede neue Regierung alle fünf Jahre ihre eigenen Haustierprogramme für die Wasserversorgung mit - und keine von ihnen hat sich ernsthaft mit der Wassergewinnung für Frauen befasst und auch keine praktische Lösung für ihre Entlastung vorgeschlagen.

Wie Sie die Krise angehen können

Mehrere Teile Indiens strenge Wasserknappheit und Dürre während der Sommermonate. Der Grund für diese Wasserknappheit liegt in der Basis - nicht nachhaltiger Wasserverbrauch und unwissenschaftliche Methoden zur Verwaltung der Wasserversorgung. Traditionelle Wasserquellen und Wiederaufladestationen für Grundwasser wie Tanks, Teiche, Kanäle und Seen werden entweder vernachlässigt, verschmutzt oder für andere Zwecke verwendet oder abgefüllt.

Nur mit der konstruktiven Einbindung aller Interessengruppen der Gesellschaft kann dieses Problem gelöst werden. Und es muss bald gelöst werden. Angesichts der zunehmenden Bedrohung durch den Klimawandel könnte Wasserknappheit bald ein nicht wiedergutzumachendes Problem sein - nicht nur für Frauen, sondern für alle in der Gesellschaft.Das Gespräch

Über den Autor

Gayathri D Naik, wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin, School of Law, SOAS, Universität von London

Dieser Artikel wird erneut veröffentlicht Das Gespräch unter einer Creative Commons-Lizenz. Lies das Original Artikel.

Bücher zum Thema

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books; Schlüsselwörter = Ungleichheit in Indien; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Why Collecting Water Turns Millions Of Women Into Second-class Citizens

Why Collecting Water Turns Millions Of Women Into Second-class CitizensThe reality for many women in India. Shutterstock

A family in India needs fresh water. But this family can’t just turn on a tap. Instead, the women in the household must walk to fetch it, sometimes travelling miles carrying plastic or earthenware pots, possibly with a child or two in tow, to the nearest safe source – regularly repeating the journey up to three times a day. In the scorching summer months of April and May, when temperatures regularly exceed 40C, it is a particularly gruelling daily ritual – and when they get home they must complete their other household chores: cooking, washing, bringing up the children, even helping on the family farm.

These women are reminiscent of the many-armed Hindu goddess, Durga – they have so many daily tasks, they could doubtless do with an extra set of hands. But they aren’t the exception. This is the reality for millions of women in India. From the Western Ghats and the mountainous north-east to the arid desert state of Rajasthan, women across the country act as water collectors. And this gender specific role has a severe impact on every aspect of their lives, from their health and social life to education and their ability to have a real say in the community.

It is estimated that 163m Indians still don’t have access to clean, running water. Until that’s fixed, this significant national problem will prevail, with women paying the biggest price.

A woman’s burden

Water collection in India is a woman’s job, irrespective of her physique – and there’s no respite, even when she’s menstruating, ill, or has something else to do. As groundwater resources are placed under increasing pressure due to over-reliance and unsustainable consumption, wells, ponds and tanks can also regularly dry up, escalating the water crisis and placing a greater burden on women to travel long distances. Access to unsafe drinking water also results in the spread of water-borne diseases. And women are often the first victims of both water scarcity and water pollution.

In urban areas, long queues of women with colourful plastic water pots are eye-catching. But such images also highlight problems of water scarcity and the long waits they endure for the water tankers that deliver it in cities.

Urban woman, especially on the outskirts of cities and in slum areas, face the particular burden of this water scarcity. In some areas, water is occasionally supplied in the middle of the night, meaning that these women are deprived of sleep and their productivity is affected. Indeed, there are women in the global south who are denied education purely because they have to collect water rather than go to school. In fact, one report revealed that almost 23% of girls in India drop out of school on reaching puberty due to a lack of water and sanitation facilities.

When girls have to drop out of school to help their mothers collect water and perform other household tasks, they are denied their right to education – which is now a fundamental right under Article 21A of the Indian Constitution. The saying goes: “Educate a woman, and she shall educate her family” – well, not these women. And because they’re missing out on the opportunities education provides, so are their other family members.

Collecting water is an irksome journey, especially in dry areas during heat waves. But it can be a dangerous one, too. Women may risk physical attack, for example, or abuse. The situation is made worse by the lack of adequate sanitation facilities both at home and en route to the water source. And things are even worse for women from the lower strata of society who are even denied access to water sources like public wells. This caste discrimination persists even though the Indian Constitution – which ensures equal access to public wells without any discrimination based on religion, race, caste, and sex – is 70 years old.

What the law says

India is a federal democratic country divided into the centre (or union government), 29 states, and seven union territories. The power to make laws is divided between the union government and the states as per Schedule 7 of the Constitution of India, 1950. Accordingly, state governments can legislate on issues related to water, except for those matters involving inter-state rivers and water disputes.

However, the central government has also initiated several programmes and policies to ensure universal access to water in rural and urban areas, such as the National Rural Drinking Water Programme. Access to water is, after all, a fundamental right, covered by the “right to life” that is guaranteed by the Constitution. Indeed, Indian law far predates the international human rights regime on this. The broader human right to water was only recognised in 2002 under General Comment 15 of the UN Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (CESCR).

Why Collecting Water Turns Millions Of Women Into Second-class CitizensMany communities can’t just turn on a tap. Shutterstock

The three obligations on states regarding the human right to water – “respect, protect and fulfill” – have been recognised by the Indian courts in several cases (such as Subhash Kumar v State of Bihar, 1991 and Vishala Kochi Kudivella Samprakshana Samiti v State of Kerala, 2006). However, there is no legislation in India that explicitly recognises and implements this fundamental right to water. Instead, every five years, each new government brings with it its own pet programmes for water supply – and none of them have genuinely addressed the issue of water collection for women nor suggested any practical way to ease their burden.

How to tackle the crisis

Several parts of India face severe water scarcity and drought during the summer months. The reason for this water scarcity lies at the grass-roots level – unsustainable water consumption and unscientific ways of managing water supply. Traditional water sources and groundwater recharging points, such as tanks, ponds, canals and lakes, are either neglected, polluted or used or filled in for other purposes.

Only with the constructive involvement of all of society’s stakeholders can this problem be solved. And it must be solved soon. With the increasing threat of climate change, water scarcity could soon be an irreparable issue – and not just for women, but for everyone in society.The Conversation

About The Author

Gayathri D Naik, Research Scholar, School of Law, SOAS, University of London

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=inequality in india;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

CULTURE WARS

what is populism 2 7

What Actually Is This Thing Called Populism?

Octavia Bryant and Benjamin Moffitt
No doubt thanks to Donald Trump, Brexit, and a string of anti-establishment leaders and parties in Europe, Latin America and Asia, everyone seems to be talking about populism

DEMOCRACY

Compassionate Actions and Ripples of Change

Compassionate Actions and Ripples of Change

Jalaja Bonheim, PhD.
I believe there is. When we speak of activism, we usually think of organized activities. Yet beyond that, we all have opportunities to act in ways that reflect our desire for social justice and peace. Whether or not we’re “official” activists, we’re always…

ECONOMY

How Electric Cars Could Make America's Crumbling Roads Even Worse

How Electric Cars Could Make America's Crumbling Roads Even Worse

Jay L. Zagorsky
U.S. roads and bridges are in abysmal shape – and that was before the recent winter storms made things even worse.

ENVIRONMENT & CLIMATE

Beaches Are Banning Sunscreens To Save Coral Reefs

Beaches Are Banning Sunscreens To Save Coral Reefs

Isabelle Côté
Many families will soon escape the winter to seek warmer, sunnier climes. Swimsuits and sunglasses will invariably find their way into suitcases, but one common item might be giving people a little more pause than it once did: sunscreen.

HOSTILITES

Attaining Peace Must Be The Cause of Every Individual

Attaining Peace Must Be The Cause of Every Individual

Rick Munoz
When I was 4 years old, my grandfather died. The preacher said "por fin el a alcanzado la paz" which means (in Spanish) that he has finally reached peace. As I listened to him I began to think that peace was really important if grandfather had to go away to…

JUSTICE & CIVIL LIBERTY

Most People Don't Realize What Companies Can Predict From Their Data

Most People Don't Realize What Companies Can Predict From Their Data

Emilee Rader
Sixty-seven percent of smartphone users rely on Google Maps to help them get to where they are going quickly and efficiently.