Warum der Golf von St. Lawrence verliert Sauerstoff

Warum der Golf von St. Lawrence verliert Sauerstoff

Eine neue Studie verbindet die schnelle Desoxygenierung im Golf von St. Lawrence mit zwei starken Strömungen: dem Golfstrom und dem Labradorstrom.

Die breite, biologisch reiche Wasserstraße im Osten Kanadas, die die großen Seen Nordamerikas entwässert und bei Fischerbooten, Walen und Touristen beliebt ist, hat schneller Sauerstoff verloren als fast überall sonst in den Weltmeeren.

Das Papier, das in erscheint Nature Climate Change, erklärt, wie großflächiger Klimawandel bereits dazu führt, dass der Sauerstoffgehalt in den tieferen Teilen dieses Wasserwegs sinkt.

"Das Gebiet südlich von Neufundland ist eine der am besten beprobten Regionen im Ozean", sagt die Erstautorin Mariona Claret, wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am gemeinsamen Institut der Universität Washington für das Studium der Atmosphäre und des Ozeans. "Es ist auch ein sehr interessantes Gebiet, weil es an der Kreuzung liegt, wo zwei große, größere Strömungen zusammenwirken."

In der Nähe von Hypoxie

Kanadas Fischereibehörde hat seit 1920 steigende Salzgehalt und Temperatur in der St. Lawrence Region verfolgt. Sie haben seit 1960 nur Sauerstoff überwacht, und der rückläufige Trend gibt Anlass zur Sorge.

"Beobachtungen im sehr inneren Golf von St. Lawrence zeigen einen dramatischen Sauerstoffabfall, der hypoxische Bedingungen erreicht, was bedeutet, dass er das marine Leben nicht vollständig unterstützen kann", sagt Claret.

Laut Claret wird beobachtet, dass Sauerstoffmangel den atlantischen Wolffish beeinflusst und auch den Atlantischen Kabeljau, die Schneekrabben und den Schwarzen Heilbutt bedroht, die alle in der Tiefe leben.

Warum der Golf von St. Lawrence verliert SauerstoffDer Golfstrom und der Labradorstrom trennten sich beide in der Nähe des Laurentian Channel, eines tiefen Kanals im Golf von St. Lawrence, den beide Strömungen versorgen. Der Golfstrom wiederum reagiert sensibel auf Veränderungen der atlantischen meridionalen Umwälzbewegung. (Foto: Mariona Claret / U. Washington)

"Der Sauerstoffrückgang in dieser Region wurde bereits berichtet, aber was vorher nicht erforscht wurde, war die zugrunde liegende Ursache", sagt Claret, der die Arbeit an der McGill University gemacht hat.

Die Ergebnisse bestätigen eine aktuelle Studie, die zeigt, dass sich der Golfstrom nach Norden verlagert hat und der Labradorstrom geschwächt ist, da der Kohlendioxidgehalt im vergangenen Jahrhundert aufgrund von menschlichen Emissionen anstieg. Die neue Studie stellt fest, dass dadurch mehr warmes, salziges und sauerstoffarmes Wasser des Golfstroms in den St. Lawrence Seaway gelangt.

Riesige Simulation

Die Forscher nutzten das Modell des geophysikalischen Fluiddynamiklabors der National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, ein hochauflösendes Computermodell, das die Weltmeere mit einem Datenpunkt alle 8-Kilometer (5-Meilen) simuliert. Die Simulation dauerte neun Monate, um mit 10,000-Rechenknoten zu arbeiten - riesig, sogar nach den Standards globaler Klimamodelle.

Mit dieser Präzision erscheinen Wirbel und Details der Küstenlinie, die die Ozeanzirkulation beeinflussen können. Die Modellproduktion in Verbindung mit den historischen Beobachtungen zeigt, dass mit steigendem Kohlendioxidgehalt das Wasser des Golfstroms das Labrador-Meerwasser in den tieferen Teilen des St. Lawrence-Golfs ersetzt.

Stürme in der Labradorsee haben das Wasser, das der Labradorstrom trägt, aufgewühlt, und so vermischt sich die an der Oberfläche absorbierte Luft weit unter der Oberfläche. Der Golfstrom ist jedoch mehr in stabilen horizontalen Schichten geschichtet; Die obere Schicht enthält Sauerstoff aus der Luft, aber das Meeresleben hat den Sauerstoff der unteren Schichten verbraucht.

Was als nächstes kommt, ist unbekannt

Darüber hinaus ist der wärmere Golfstrom in größerer Tiefe ebenso dicht, so dass tiefere, sauerstoffärmere Schichten aus dem Golfstrom dem gleichen Dichtepfad folgen wie sauerstoffreiches oberflächennahes Wasser aus dem Labrador-Strom.

"Wir beziehen eine Veränderung des Sauerstoffs an der Küste auf eine Veränderung der Ströme im offenen Ozean", sagt Claret.

In dem Modell entspricht die Verschiebung der großräumigen Ozeanzirkulation, die eine Erwärmung und Desoxygenierung im Sankt-Lorenz-Golf verursacht, auch einem Rückgang der atlantischen meridionalen Umwälzbewegung, einem Ozeanumlaufmuster, von dem bekannt ist, dass es das Klima der nördlichen Hemisphäre stark beeinflusst.

"Es ist ziemlich aufregend, in der Lage zu sein, die Veränderungen an der Küste mit der Atlantic Meridional Overturning Circulation zu verbinden", sagt Claret.

Die Analyse zeigt, dass die Hälfte des Sauerstoffabfalls im St. Lawrence River nur auf das wärmere Wasser zurückzuführen ist, das nicht so viel Sauerstoff aufnehmen kann. Die andere Hälfte ist wahrscheinlich auf andere Faktoren zurückzuführen, wie biologische Aktivität in den zwei Strömen und innerhalb des Kanals.

Was als nächstes passieren wird, ist unbekannt, sagt Claret. Der Sauerstoffgehalt im St. Lawrence wird von viel größeren Fragen abhängen, sagt sie, wie viel Kohlendioxid Menschen in den kommenden Jahrzehnten in die Atmosphäre emittieren und wie großräumige Meeresströmungen reagieren werden.

Der Europäische Forschungsrat, das spanische Ministerium für Wirtschaft und Wettbewerbsfähigkeit, die kanadische Stiftung für Innovation und NOAA haben die Arbeiten finanziert. Weitere Co-Autoren sind von der Autonomen Universität von Barcelona; die Universität von Rhode Island; die Universität von Kalifornien, Los Angeles; Dalhousie Universität in Neuschottland; Fischerei und Ozeane Kanada; und NOAAs Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory.

Quelle: Universität von Washington

Bücher zum Thema

{amazonWS: searchindex = Bücher; Schlüsselwörter = Klimawandel; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Why The Gulf Of St. Lawrence Is Losing Oxygen

 

Why The Gulf Of St. Lawrence Is Losing Oxygen

A new study links rapid deoxygenation in the Gulf of St. Lawrence to two powerful currents: the Gulf Stream and the Labrador Current.

The broad, biologically rich waterway in Eastern Canada which drains North America’s Great Lakes and is popular with fishing boats, whales, and tourists has lost oxygen faster than almost anywhere else in the global oceans.

The paper, which appears in Nature Climate Change, explains how large-scale climate change already is causing oxygen levels to drop in the deeper parts of this waterway.

“The area south of Newfoundland is one of the best-sampled regions in the ocean,” says first author Mariona Claret, a research associate at the University of Washington’s Joint Institute for the Study of the Atmosphere and Ocean. “It’s also a very interesting area because it’s at the crossroads where two big, larger-scale currents interact.”

Near hypoxia

Canada’s fisheries agency has tracked rising salinity and temperature in the St. Lawrence region since 1920. They’ve only monitored oxygen since 1960, and the declining trend is causing concern.

“Observations in the very inner Gulf of St. Lawrence show a dramatic oxygen decline, which is reaching hypoxic conditions, meaning it can’t fully support marine life,” Claret says.

Oxygen declines have been seen to affect Atlantic wolffish, Claret says, and also threaten Atlantic cod, snow crabs, and Greenland halibut that all live in the depths.

Why The Gulf Of St. Lawrence Is Losing OxygenThe Gulf Stream and Labrador Current both split near the Laurentian Channel, a deep channel within the Gulf of St. Lawrence that both currents feed. The Gulf Stream in turn is sensitive to changes in the Atlantic Meridional Overturning Circulation. (Credit: Mariona Claret/U. Washington)

“The oxygen decline in this region was already reported, but what was not explored before was the underlying cause,” says Claret, who did the work while at McGill University.

The findings confirm a recent study showing that, as carbon dioxide levels rose over the past century due to human emissions, the Gulf Stream has shifted northward and the Labrador Current has weakened. The new paper finds that this causes more of the Gulf Stream’s warm, salty, and oxygen-poor water to enter the St. Lawrence Seaway.

Huge simulation

Researchers used output from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration’s Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory model, a high-resolution computer model that simulates the world’s oceans with a data point every 8 kilometers (5 miles). The simulation took nine months to run using 10,000 computational nodes—huge, even by the standards of global climate models.

With this precision, eddies and details of the coastline that can influence ocean circulation begin to appear. Model output combined with the historical observations show that as the carbon dioxide levels go up, Gulf Stream water replaces Labrador Sea water in the deeper parts of the St. Lawrence gulf.

Storms in the Labrador Sea have churned up the waters that the Labrador Current carries, and so air absorbed at the surface mixes far below the surface. The Gulf Stream, however, is more stratified in stable horizontal layers; the top layer contains oxygen from the air above, but marine life has consumed the lower layers’ oxygen.

What’s next is unknown

What’s more, the warmer Gulf Stream is equally dense at a greater depth, so deeper, more oxygen-deprived layers from the Gulf Stream follow the same density pathway that oxygen-rich near-surface water from the Labrador Current takes.

“We relate a change in oxygen on the coast to a change in large-scale currents in the open ocean,” Claret says.

In the model, the shift in the large-scale ocean circulation causing warming and deoxygenation in the Gulf of Saint Lawrence also corresponds with a decline in the Atlantic Meridional Overturning Circulation, an ocean circulation pattern known to strongly influence Northern Hemisphere climate.

“Being able to potentially link the coastal changes with the Atlantic Meridional Overturning Circulation is pretty exciting,” Claret says.

Analysis shows that half the drop in oxygen observed deep in the St. Lawrence River is just due to the warmer water, which can’t hold as much oxygen. The other half is likely due to other factors, such as biological activity in the two currents and inside the channel.

What will happen next is unknown, Claret says. The oxygen levels in the St. Lawrence will depend on much larger questions, she says, like how much carbon dioxide humans will emit into the atmosphere in the coming decades, and how large-scale ocean currents will respond.

The European Research Council, the Spanish Ministry of Economy and Competitiveness, the Canada Foundation for Innovation, and NOAA funded the work. Additional coauthors are from Autonomous University of Barcelona; the University of Rhode Island; the University of California, Los Angeles; Dalhousie University in Nova Scotia; Fisheries and Oceans Canada; and NOAA’s Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory.

Source: University of Washington

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=climate change;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

CULTURE WARS

what is populism 2 7

What Actually Is This Thing Called Populism?

Octavia Bryant and Benjamin Moffitt
No doubt thanks to Donald Trump, Brexit, and a string of anti-establishment leaders and parties in Europe, Latin America and Asia, everyone seems to be talking about populism

DEMOCRACY

Compassionate Actions and Ripples of Change

Compassionate Actions and Ripples of Change

Jalaja Bonheim, PhD.
I believe there is. When we speak of activism, we usually think of organized activities. Yet beyond that, we all have opportunities to act in ways that reflect our desire for social justice and peace. Whether or not we’re “official” activists, we’re always…

ECONOMY

How Electric Cars Could Make America's Crumbling Roads Even Worse

How Electric Cars Could Make America's Crumbling Roads Even Worse

Jay L. Zagorsky
U.S. roads and bridges are in abysmal shape – and that was before the recent winter storms made things even worse.

ENVIRONMENT & CLIMATE

Beaches Are Banning Sunscreens To Save Coral Reefs

Beaches Are Banning Sunscreens To Save Coral Reefs

Isabelle Côté
Many families will soon escape the winter to seek warmer, sunnier climes. Swimsuits and sunglasses will invariably find their way into suitcases, but one common item might be giving people a little more pause than it once did: sunscreen.

HOSTILITES

Attaining Peace Must Be The Cause of Every Individual

Attaining Peace Must Be The Cause of Every Individual

Rick Munoz
When I was 4 years old, my grandfather died. The preacher said "por fin el a alcanzado la paz" which means (in Spanish) that he has finally reached peace. As I listened to him I began to think that peace was really important if grandfather had to go away to…

JUSTICE & CIVIL LIBERTY

Most People Don't Realize What Companies Can Predict From Their Data

Most People Don't Realize What Companies Can Predict From Their Data

Emilee Rader
Sixty-seven percent of smartphone users rely on Google Maps to help them get to where they are going quickly and efficiently.