Warum kann es wichtiger sein, einige Arten zu verlieren, als andere zu verlieren?

Warum kann es wichtiger sein, einige Arten zu verlieren, als andere zu verlieren?

Kanada läuft Gefahr, es zu verlieren Eisbären im Norden. Und viele Läufe von Chinook Lachs an der Südwestküste. Und das schwarze Esche, derzeit weit verbreitet von Manitoba nach Neufundland.

Ende November 2018, der Ausschuss für den Status gefährdeter Wildtiere in Kanada (COSEWIC) bestätigt dass alle diese Tierarten Gefahr laufen, aus Kanada zu verschwinden. Aber wenn sie gehen würden, was würden wir dann wirklich verlieren?

Diese Frage wird erleichtert, wenn wir der Meinung sind, dass COSEWIC auch dies berichtet hat 14 andere kanadische Tierarten - einschließlich einer Prärie-Eidechse, einer Schildkröte, mehrerer Süßwasserfische und einer Handvoll Blütenpflanzen - besteht auch ein gewisses Verlustrisiko.

Die Medien schienen jedoch am meisten von Lachs und Eisbär zu hören. Als Mitglieder von COSEWIC hätten wir gerne mehr über einen (normalerweise) kaltwasserliebenden kleinen Fisch namens Lake Chub gesprochen, der sich in beliebten heißen Quellen im Norden von British Columbia niedergelassen hat. Ein Whirlpool in der Wanne! Oder eine Wespenspezies, die die vergrabenen Käferlarven jagt, die Obstbäume in Süd-BC angreifen. Eine Jäger-Killerwespe! Und in unseren Interessen und Wünschen liegt eine wahre russische Puppe, die den Wert der Natur berücksichtigt.

Hot Tub Chubs, Eigenwert und Schönheit

Die innere Kernpuppe ist vielleicht auch am schwersten zu fassen. Dies ist ein „innerer Wert“: die Vorstellung, dass Arten ein Grundrecht haben, zu existieren. Obwohl dieser Wert für viele Menschen unbestreitbar wichtig ist, ist es angesichts der vielen Bedrohungen, die bedrohte Arten und Orte zu belasten sind, schwierig, eine befriedigende philosophische Diskussion darüber zu führen.

Wir wissen, dass je mehr man über eine Art lernt, desto wertvoller wird sie: Biodiversität soll gesagt haben transformativer Wert und das könnte andere Werte generieren.

Und so könnte eine gut gemachte Geschichte über den Whirlpool, die von Badegästen und deren Sonnencreme gefährdet ist, als Leitgeschichte wirken. Aber wir sind diesen Weg nicht gegangen.

Ästhetische Werte spielen auch eine wichtige Rolle in unserer Beziehung zur Natur. Die Ästhetik der Natur ist ein wichtiger Motor des Ökotourismus, der mehr als geschätzt wird Direkte Ausgaben in Höhe von 600 Milliarden pro Jahr. Aber wir gehen nicht in heiße Quellen, um Fische zu sehen, und wir gehen nicht in die Weinregion von Britisch-Kolumbien, um Jäger-Killerwespen zu suchen. Eisbären sind sicherlich attraktiv, aber sie haben zwei weitere Werte entwickelt, die uns wichtiger erscheinen.

Gebrauch und Verbundenheit

Eisbären, Chinooklachs und schwarze Asche veranschaulichen auch den Gebrauchswert der Natur. Sie sind für uns nützlich. Eisbären werden gejagt und fotografiert, Chinook-Lachse werden gefischt und schwarze Asche bereitgestellt bemerkenswert nützliches Holz Für die Herstellung von Körben, von der Wiege bis zur Bahre.

Alles in allem haben wir mit einem Eisbären geführt und Geschichten über Chinook-Lachs und schwarze Esche erzählt, weil es sich um Beispiele von Arten handelt, deren Wert über das hinausgeht, was sie aussehen oder wie nützlich sie sind. Wir haben diese Arten aufgrund ihrerBeziehungswert."Dieses schwer fassbare Konzept - angesichts der zunehmenden Bedeutung des UN-Regierungsausschuss Einschätzung des Nutzens der Natur - berücksichtigt, wie Menschen Natur im Zusammenhang mit ihrer Wertschätzung für Kernideen wie Gerechtigkeit, Fürsorge und sogar Tugend betrachten. Bei jedem dieser Kernwerte geht es im Wesentlichen um die Verbindung. Was uns am Herzen liegt, ist die Art und Weise, in der unsere kulturellen Werte und sozialen Interaktionen mit wilden Arten und Orten verbunden sind.

welche Sparks Ground2 1 12 verlierenSchwarze Asche fand in Kakabeka Falls Provincial Park, Ontario. Homer Edward Price / flickr, CC BY

Der Beziehungswert ist die äußere Schicht der russischen Schachtelpuppe der Werte der Natur. Für Chinook-Lachs, Eisbär und schwarze Asche kann der Mehrwert dieser Arten über ihren intrinsischen, transformativen, ästhetischen und nutzbaren Wert hinaus teilweise auf ihre Verbindungen zu Menschen zurückgeführt werden, die im Westen, im Norden und im Osten leben Kanada jetzt und in der tiefen Vergangenheit.

Eisbären sind mehr als eine Einnahmequelle für die Führer, die ihnen bei der Jagd helfen, sowie für ihre Familien und Gemeinschaften. Die Bären sind tief in die Kultur der Menschen eingebettet, die mit ihnen zusammenleben. In jüngerer Zeit und am weitesten verbreitet tragen Eisbären auch einen großen Teil unseres kollektiven Klimawandels auf dem Rücken.

Werte innerhalb von Werten eingebettet

Die 40-Wissenschaftler, die sich in Ottawa versammelten, um den Status der Eisbären zu bestimmen, waren sich natürlich der Bedeutung dieser Tiere für viele Menschen bewusst. Wir haben jedoch versucht, nicht zuzulassen, dass dies unsere Beratungen beeinflusst. Unsere Aufgabe bestand nur darin, die Beweise für die Zukunft der Eisbären zu berücksichtigen, basierend auf den besten verfügbaren Informationen aus der wissenschaftlichen Forschung und dem traditionellen indigenen Wissen. Wir haben fast genauso lange versucht, den Status eines Käfers herauszufinden.

Als Menschen sehen wir jedoch alle die vielfältigen und vielschichtigen Werte der Biodiversität. Viele Arten haben vielleicht nur einen inneren Wert, aber nicht jeder sieht das so, und es ist schwer, diesen Wert gegen andere Dinge zu tauschen, die uns wichtig sind. Andere Arten werden interessanter, wenn wir über sie erfahren, oder sie könnten nützlich sein, und diese Attribute wiederum können relationale Werte unterstützen, von denen viele tief kulturell sein können. Kulturelle Werte können sich ändern.

Wenn wir also eine Spezies oder einen wilden Raum verlieren, was verlieren wir dann? Es lohnt sich ein Gespräch darüber zu führen, denn es besteht kein Zweifel, dass sich die Natur schnell und in vielerlei Hinsicht ändert: Das Wetter wird extremer, die natürliche Welt wird wärmer, feuchter (oder trockener), verbundener und kritischer es schrumpft. Diese Änderungen wirken sich auf alle Kreaturen aus, normalerweise zu ihrem Nachteil. Wir werden wahrscheinlich einige von ihnen verlieren, vor allem diejenigen, die wir nicht genug schätzen.Das Gespräch

Über den Autor

Arne Mooers, Professor, Simon Fraser Universität und John Reynolds, Professor, Simon Fraser Universität

Dieser Artikel wird erneut veröffentlicht Das Gespräch unter einer Creative Commons-Lizenz. Lies das Original Artikel.

Bücher zum Thema

{amazonWS: searchindex = Bücher; Schlüsselwörter = Artenverlust; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Why Losing Some Species May Matter More Than Losing Others

Why Losing Some Species May Matter More Than Losing Others

Canada risks losing its polar bears in the North. And many runs of Chinook salmon on the Southern West Coast. And the black ash tree, currently widespread from Manitoba to Newfoundland.

In late November 2018, the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) affirmed that all these wildlife species are at risk of disappearing from Canada. But if they were to go, what would we really lose?

This question is brought into relief when we consider that COSEWIC also reported that 14 other Canadian wildlife species — including a prairie lizard, a turtle, several freshwater fish and a handful of flowering plants — are also at some level of risk of being lost.

The media, however, seemed most keen to hear about salmon and polar bear. As members of COSEWIC, we would have loved to talk more about a (usually) coldwater-loving small fish called a lake chub that has taken up residence in popular hot springs in northern British Columbia. A hot tub chub! Or a species of wasp that hunts down the buried larvae of beetles that attack fruit trees in southern B.C. A hunter-killer wasp! And in our interests and wishes lies a veritable Russian doll of considerations of the value of Nature.

Hot tub chubs, intrinsic value and beauty

The inner, core doll is perhaps also the hardest to grasp. This is “intrinsic value:” the idea that species have some fundamental right to exist. While this value is undeniably important to many people, it’s hard to have a satisfying philosophical discussion about it in the face of the many threats that are bearing down on threatened species and places.

We know that the more one learns about a species, the more valuable it seems to become: biodiversity has been said to have transformative value and that could generate other values.

And so, a well-crafted story about the hot tub chub, at risk from bathers and their suntan lotion, might have worked as a lead story. But we did not go that route.

Aesthetic values also play an important role in how we relate to nature. The aesthetics of nature are a major driver of ecotourism, which has been valued at more than $600 billion per year in direct spending. But we don’t go to hot springs to see fish, and we don’t go to British Columbia’s wine region to search for hunter-killer wasps. Polar bears are certainly attractive, but they have developed two more values that seemed more important to us.

Use and connectedness

Polar bears, Chinook salmon and black ash also exemplify the “use” value of nature. They are useful to us. Polar bears are hunted and photographed, Chinook salmon are fished and black ash provide remarkably useful wood for making baskets, with uses from cradle to grave.

All that said, we led with polar bear, and told stories about Chinook salmon and black ash trees because they are examples of species with value that transcends what they look like or how useful they are. We chose these species because of their “relational value.” This elusive concept — given increasing prominence in the UN Intergovernmental Panel’s assessment of the benefits of nature — considers how people consider nature in the context of how they value core ideas like justice, care and even virtue. Each of these core values is fundamentally about connection. What we hold dear includes the ways in which our cultural values and social interactions are connected to wild species and places.

which spcies losing ground2 1 12Black ash found in Kakabeka Falls Provincial Park, Ontario. Homer Edward Price/flickr, CC BY

Relational value is the outer layer of the Russian nesting doll of nature’s values. For Chinook salmon, polar bear and black ash, the added value of these species, beyond their intrinsic, transformative, aesthetic and use value, can be attributed in part to their connections to people who live in the West, in the North and in Eastern Canada, now and in the deep past.

Polar bears are more than a source of revenue to the guides that help hunt them, and to their families and communities — the bears are deeply embedded in the culture of people who live with them. More recently and most expansively, polar bears also carry much of our collective climate change angst on their backs.

Values nestled within values

Of course, the 40 scientists who gathered in Ottawa to determine the status of polar bears were well aware of the importance of these animals to many people. But we tried not to allow that to affect our deliberations. Our role was only to consider the evidence for the future of polar bears, based on the best available information from scientific research and Indigenous traditional knowledge. We spent nearly as long trying to figure out the status of a beetle.

As people, though, we all see the many and layered values of biodiversity. Many species may only harbour intrinsic value, but not everyone sees it that way, and it’s hard to trade this value against other things we might care about. Other species become more interesting as we learn about them, or they might be useful, and these attributes in turn can support relational values, many of which can be deeply cultural. Cultural values can, and do, change.

So, if we lose a species or a wild space, what do we lose? It’s worth having a conversation about this because there is no doubt that nature is changing, both fast and in many ways: the weather is becoming more extreme, the natural world is becoming warmer, wetter (or drier), more connected, and, critically, it is shrinking. These changes are going to affect all creatures, usually to their detriment. So we will likely lose some of them, particularly those we do not value enough.The Conversation

About The Authors

Arne Mooers, Professor, Simon Fraser University and John Reynolds, Professor, Simon Fraser University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=Species loss;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

CULTURE WARS

what is populism 2 7

What Actually Is This Thing Called Populism?

Octavia Bryant and Benjamin Moffitt
No doubt thanks to Donald Trump, Brexit, and a string of anti-establishment leaders and parties in Europe, Latin America and Asia, everyone seems to be talking about populism

DEMOCRACY

Compassionate Actions and Ripples of Change

Compassionate Actions and Ripples of Change

Jalaja Bonheim, PhD.
I believe there is. When we speak of activism, we usually think of organized activities. Yet beyond that, we all have opportunities to act in ways that reflect our desire for social justice and peace. Whether or not we’re “official” activists, we’re always…

ECONOMY

How Electric Cars Could Make America's Crumbling Roads Even Worse

How Electric Cars Could Make America's Crumbling Roads Even Worse

Jay L. Zagorsky
U.S. roads and bridges are in abysmal shape – and that was before the recent winter storms made things even worse.

ENVIRONMENT & CLIMATE

Could Climate Change Spark A Global Financial Crisis?

Could Climate Change Spark A Global Financial Crisis?

Korey Pasch
The dire climate change situation continues to make headlines and inspire actions like the Sunrise Movement.

HOSTILITES

Attaining Peace Must Be The Cause of Every Individual

Attaining Peace Must Be The Cause of Every Individual

Rick Munoz
When I was 4 years old, my grandfather died. The preacher said "por fin el a alcanzado la paz" which means (in Spanish) that he has finally reached peace. As I listened to him I began to think that peace was really important if grandfather had to go away to…

JUSTICE & CIVIL LIBERTY

Most People Don't Realize What Companies Can Predict From Their Data

Most People Don't Realize What Companies Can Predict From Their Data

Emilee Rader
Sixty-seven percent of smartphone users rely on Google Maps to help them get to where they are going quickly and efficiently.