Почему потеря некоторых видов может иметь большее значение, чем потеря других

Почему потеря некоторых видов может иметь большее значение, чем потеря других

Канада рискует потерять белых медведей на севере. И много прогонов Чинук лосось на южном западном побережье. И черный ясеньВ настоящее время широко распространен от Манитобы до Ньюфаундленда.

В конце ноября 2018, Комитет по статусу исчезающих диких животных в Канаде (COSEWIC) подтвердили что все эти виды дикой природы находятся под угрозой исчезновения из Канады. Но если бы они ушли, что бы мы действительно потеряли?

Этот вопрос облегчается, если учесть, что COSEWIC также сообщил, что 14 другие виды дикой природы Канады - включая ящерицу прерии, черепаху, несколько пресноводных рыб и горстку цветковых растений - также на некотором уровне риска быть потерянным.

СМИ, однако, казались наиболее заинтересованы услышать о лососе и белом медведе. Как члены COSEWIC, нам бы хотелось больше поговорить о (обычно) любящей холодную воду маленькой рыбке, называемой озерным голавлем, которая поселилась в популярных горячих источниках в северной части Британской Колумбии. Горячая ванна голавль! Или разновидность осы, которая охотится на погребенных личинок жуков, которые нападают на фруктовые деревья на юге до нашей эры. Оса-убийца! И в наших интересах и желаниях кроется настоящая русская кукла из соображений ценности природы.

Горячие ванны, внутренняя ценность и красота

Внутренняя, основная кукла, возможно, также труднее всего понять. Это «внутренняя ценность»: идея о том, что виды имеют фундаментальное право на существование. Хотя это значение, несомненно, важно для многих людей, это трудно иметь удовлетворительную философскую дискуссию об этом перед лицом многочисленных угроз, которые тяготящие под угрозой исчезновения видов и мест.

Мы знаем, что чем больше человек узнает о виде, тем более ценным оно кажется: биоразнообразие было сказано, чтобы иметь преобразующее значение, и это может генерировать другие значения.

Таким образом, хорошо продуманная история о джакузи в джакузи, подверженном риску от купающихся и их лосьона для загара, могла бы послужить ведущей историей. Но мы не пошли по этому пути.

Эстетические ценности также играют важную роль в том, как мы относимся к природе. Эстетика природы является основным фактором экотуризма, который был оценен в более чем $ 600 млрд. В год прямых расходов, Но мы не идем к горячим источникам, чтобы увидеть рыбу, и мы не идем в винный регион Британской Колумбии, чтобы искать осы-убийцы. Белые медведи, безусловно, привлекательны, но они развили еще две ценности, которые казались нам более важными.

Использование и связность

Белые медведи, лосось чинук и черный ясень также являются примером использования природы. Они полезны для нас. На белых медведей охотятся и фотографируют, лосося чинуков ловят рыбу, и черный пепел обеспечивает удивительно полезная древесина для изготовления корзин, с использованием от колыбели до могилы.

Все это говорит о том, что мы вели с белым медведем и рассказывали истории о лососе чину и черноплодной рябине, потому что они являются примерами видов, ценность которых превышает то, как они выглядят, и насколько они полезны. Мы выбрали эти виды из-за их «реляционная ценность.Эта неуловимая концепция - учитывая растущую известность в Межправительственная группа ООН оценка пользы природы - рассматривает, как люди рассматривают природу в контексте того, как они ценят основные идеи, такие как справедливость, забота и даже добродетель. Каждое из этих основных ценностей в основном касается связи. Что нам дорого, так это то, как наши культурные ценности и социальные взаимодействия связаны с дикими видами и местами.

какие сферы теряют почву2 1 12Черный пепел найден в Провинциальном парке Kakabeka Falls, Онтарио. Гомер Эдвард Прайс / Flickr, CC BY

Относительная ценность - это внешний слой русской матрешки природных ценностей. Для лосося чинук, белого медведя и черного ясеня добавленная ценность этих видов, помимо их внутренней, трансформационной, эстетической и потребительской ценности, может быть отчасти обусловлена ​​их связями с людьми, которые живут на западе, на севере и на востоке. Канада, сейчас и в глубоком прошлом.

Белые медведи - это не только источник дохода для гидов, которые помогают им охотиться, а также для их семей и общин - медведи глубоко укоренились в культуре людей, которые живут с ними. В последнее время и в более широком масштабе, белые медведи также несут большую часть нашей общей проблемы изменения климата на своих спинах.

Значения, расположенные внутри значений

Конечно, ученые 40, которые собрались в Оттаве, чтобы определить статус белых медведей, хорошо знали о важности этих животных для многих людей. Но мы старались не допустить, чтобы это повлияло на наши обсуждения. Наша роль заключалась лишь в том, чтобы рассмотреть свидетельства о будущем белых медведей, основываясь на наилучшей имеющейся информации из научных исследований и традиционных знаний коренных народов. Мы потратили почти столько же времени, пытаясь выяснить статус жука.

Однако, как люди, мы все видим многоуровневую ценность биоразнообразия. Многие виды могут иметь только внутреннюю ценность, но не все видят это таким образом, и трудно обменять эту ценность на другие вещи, которые могут нас волновать. Другие виды становятся более интересными, когда мы узнаем о них, или они могут быть полезны, и эти атрибуты, в свою очередь, могут поддерживать реляционные ценности, многие из которых могут быть глубоко культурными. Культурные ценности могут измениться.

Итак, если мы теряем вид или дикое пространство, что мы теряем? Стоит поговорить об этом, потому что нет никаких сомнений в том, что природа меняется как быстро, так и во многих отношениях: погода становится все более экстремальной, мир природы становится теплее, влажнее (или суше), более связанным и, что критически Сужается. Эти изменения затронут всех существ, обычно в ущерб им. Таким образом, мы, вероятно, потеряем некоторые из них, особенно те, которые мы недостаточно ценим.Беседа

Об авторах

Арне Моерс, профессор, Университет Саймона Фрейзера и Джон Рейнольдс, профессор, Университет Саймона Фрейзера

Эта статья переиздана из Беседа под лицензией Creative Commons. Прочтите оригинал статьи.

Книги по этой теме

{amazonWS: searchindex = Книги; ключевые слова = потеря видов; maxresults = 3}

enafarZH-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Следуйте за InnerSelf

facebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

САМОЕ ЧИТАЕМОЕ

Подождите! Что ты только что сказал???
Спросите, что вы хотите: вы действительно сказали это ???
by Денис Донаван, MD, M.ED., и Дебора Макинтайр

Why Losing Some Species May Matter More Than Losing Others

Why Losing Some Species May Matter More Than Losing Others

Canada risks losing its polar bears in the North. And many runs of Chinook salmon on the Southern West Coast. And the black ash tree, currently widespread from Manitoba to Newfoundland.

In late November 2018, the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) affirmed that all these wildlife species are at risk of disappearing from Canada. But if they were to go, what would we really lose?

This question is brought into relief when we consider that COSEWIC also reported that 14 other Canadian wildlife species — including a prairie lizard, a turtle, several freshwater fish and a handful of flowering plants — are also at some level of risk of being lost.

The media, however, seemed most keen to hear about salmon and polar bear. As members of COSEWIC, we would have loved to talk more about a (usually) coldwater-loving small fish called a lake chub that has taken up residence in popular hot springs in northern British Columbia. A hot tub chub! Or a species of wasp that hunts down the buried larvae of beetles that attack fruit trees in southern B.C. A hunter-killer wasp! And in our interests and wishes lies a veritable Russian doll of considerations of the value of Nature.

Hot tub chubs, intrinsic value and beauty

The inner, core doll is perhaps also the hardest to grasp. This is “intrinsic value:” the idea that species have some fundamental right to exist. While this value is undeniably important to many people, it’s hard to have a satisfying philosophical discussion about it in the face of the many threats that are bearing down on threatened species and places.

We know that the more one learns about a species, the more valuable it seems to become: biodiversity has been said to have transformative value and that could generate other values.

And so, a well-crafted story about the hot tub chub, at risk from bathers and their suntan lotion, might have worked as a lead story. But we did not go that route.

Aesthetic values also play an important role in how we relate to nature. The aesthetics of nature are a major driver of ecotourism, which has been valued at more than $600 billion per year in direct spending. But we don’t go to hot springs to see fish, and we don’t go to British Columbia’s wine region to search for hunter-killer wasps. Polar bears are certainly attractive, but they have developed two more values that seemed more important to us.

Use and connectedness

Polar bears, Chinook salmon and black ash also exemplify the “use” value of nature. They are useful to us. Polar bears are hunted and photographed, Chinook salmon are fished and black ash provide remarkably useful wood for making baskets, with uses from cradle to grave.

All that said, we led with polar bear, and told stories about Chinook salmon and black ash trees because they are examples of species with value that transcends what they look like or how useful they are. We chose these species because of their “relational value.” This elusive concept — given increasing prominence in the UN Intergovernmental Panel’s assessment of the benefits of nature — considers how people consider nature in the context of how they value core ideas like justice, care and even virtue. Each of these core values is fundamentally about connection. What we hold dear includes the ways in which our cultural values and social interactions are connected to wild species and places.

which spcies losing ground2 1 12Black ash found in Kakabeka Falls Provincial Park, Ontario. Homer Edward Price/flickr, CC BY

Relational value is the outer layer of the Russian nesting doll of nature’s values. For Chinook salmon, polar bear and black ash, the added value of these species, beyond their intrinsic, transformative, aesthetic and use value, can be attributed in part to their connections to people who live in the West, in the North and in Eastern Canada, now and in the deep past.

Polar bears are more than a source of revenue to the guides that help hunt them, and to their families and communities — the bears are deeply embedded in the culture of people who live with them. More recently and most expansively, polar bears also carry much of our collective climate change angst on their backs.

Values nestled within values

Of course, the 40 scientists who gathered in Ottawa to determine the status of polar bears were well aware of the importance of these animals to many people. But we tried not to allow that to affect our deliberations. Our role was only to consider the evidence for the future of polar bears, based on the best available information from scientific research and Indigenous traditional knowledge. We spent nearly as long trying to figure out the status of a beetle.

As people, though, we all see the many and layered values of biodiversity. Many species may only harbour intrinsic value, but not everyone sees it that way, and it’s hard to trade this value against other things we might care about. Other species become more interesting as we learn about them, or they might be useful, and these attributes in turn can support relational values, many of which can be deeply cultural. Cultural values can, and do, change.

So, if we lose a species or a wild space, what do we lose? It’s worth having a conversation about this because there is no doubt that nature is changing, both fast and in many ways: the weather is becoming more extreme, the natural world is becoming warmer, wetter (or drier), more connected, and, critically, it is shrinking. These changes are going to affect all creatures, usually to their detriment. So we will likely lose some of them, particularly those we do not value enough.The Conversation

About The Authors

Arne Mooers, Professor, Simon Fraser University and John Reynolds, Professor, Simon Fraser University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=Species loss;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

CULTURE WARS

what is populism 2 7

What Actually Is This Thing Called Populism?

Octavia Bryant and Benjamin Moffitt
No doubt thanks to Donald Trump, Brexit, and a string of anti-establishment leaders and parties in Europe, Latin America and Asia, everyone seems to be talking about populism

DEMOCRACY

Compassionate Actions and Ripples of Change

Compassionate Actions and Ripples of Change

Jalaja Bonheim, PhD.
I believe there is. When we speak of activism, we usually think of organized activities. Yet beyond that, we all have opportunities to act in ways that reflect our desire for social justice and peace. Whether or not we’re “official” activists, we’re always…

ECONOMY

How Electric Cars Could Make America's Crumbling Roads Even Worse

How Electric Cars Could Make America's Crumbling Roads Even Worse

Jay L. Zagorsky
U.S. roads and bridges are in abysmal shape – and that was before the recent winter storms made things even worse.

ENVIRONMENT & CLIMATE

Could Climate Change Spark A Global Financial Crisis?

Could Climate Change Spark A Global Financial Crisis?

Korey Pasch
The dire climate change situation continues to make headlines and inspire actions like the Sunrise Movement.

HOSTILITES

Attaining Peace Must Be The Cause of Every Individual

Attaining Peace Must Be The Cause of Every Individual

Rick Munoz
When I was 4 years old, my grandfather died. The preacher said "por fin el a alcanzado la paz" which means (in Spanish) that he has finally reached peace. As I listened to him I began to think that peace was really important if grandfather had to go away to…

JUSTICE & CIVIL LIBERTY

Most People Don't Realize What Companies Can Predict From Their Data

Most People Don't Realize What Companies Can Predict From Their Data

Emilee Rader
Sixty-seven percent of smartphone users rely on Google Maps to help them get to where they are going quickly and efficiently.