لماذا قد يفقد بعض الأنواع أكثر من فقدان الآخرين

لماذا قد يفقد بعض الأنواع أكثر من فقدان الآخرين

كندا تخاطر بفقدانها الدببة القطبية فى الشمال. والعديد من أشواط تشينوك، سمك السلمون على الساحل الجنوبي الغربي. و ال شجرة الرماد الأسودينتشر حاليًا على نطاق واسع من مانيتوبا إلى نيوفاوندلاند.

في أواخر تشرين الثاني / نوفمبر ، 2018 ، اللجنة المعنية بوضع الحياة البرية المهددة بالانقراض في كندا (COSEWIC) وأكد أن جميع أنواع الحياة البرية هذه عرضة لخطر الاختفاء من كندا. ولكن إذا ذهبوا ، ما الذي سنفقده حقًا؟

يبرز هذا السؤال عندما نعتبر أن COSEWIC ذكرت ذلك أيضًا 14 الأنواع البرية الكندية الأخرى - بما في ذلك سحلية البراري ، وسلحفاة ، والعديد من أسماك المياه العذبة وحفنة من النباتات المزهرة - هي أيضا في مستوى معين من خطر التعرض للضياع.

غير أن وسائل الإعلام بدت أكثر حرصاً على سماع السالمون والدب القطبي. كأعضاء في COSEWIC ، كنا نحب أن نتحدث أكثر عن الأسماك الصغيرة (عادةً) المحبّبة بالماء البارد والتي تسمى "بحيرة الشوب" التي استقرت في الينابيع الساخنة المعروفة في شمال كولومبيا البريطانية. حوض استحمام ساخن chub! أو نوع من دبور الذي يطارد اليرقات المدفونة من الخنافس التي تهاجم أشجار الفاكهة في الجنوب قبل الميلاد. وفي مصلحتنا ورغباتنا تكمن دمية روسية حقيقية من اعتبارات قيمة الطبيعة.

الحوض الساخن chubs ، القيمة الجوهرية والجمال

ربما تكون الدمية الداخلية الأساسية هي الأصعب في الإمساك بها. هذا هو "القيمة الجوهرية:" فكرة أن الأنواع لديها بعض الحق الأساسي في الوجود. في حين أن هذه القيمة مهمة بشكل لا يمكن إنكاره لكثير من الناس ، فإنه من الصعب إجراء مناقشة فلسفية مرضية حوله في مواجهة التهديدات العديدة التي تؤثر على الأنواع والأماكن المهددة.

نحن نعلم أنه كلما تعلّم المرء أكثر عن نوع ما ، يبدو أنه أصبح أكثر أهمية: التنوع البيولوجي وقد قيل أن يكون القيمة التحويلية والتي يمكن أن تولد قيم أخرى.

وهكذا ، قد تكون القصة التي تم إعدادها بشكل جيد حول حوض الإستحمام الساخن ، المعرضة للخطر من الغطاسين وغسول الشمس ، قد عملت كقصة رئيسية. لكننا لم نذهب إلى هذا الطريق.

تلعب القيم الجمالية أيضًا دورًا مهمًا في كيفية ارتباطنا بالطبيعة. جماليات الطبيعة هي المحرك الرئيسي للسياحة البيئية ، والتي تم تقييمها في أكثر من 600 مليار دولار سنويًا في الإنفاق المباشر. لكننا لا نذهب إلى الينابيع الساخنة لرؤية الأسماك ، ونحن لا نذهب إلى منطقة النبيذ في كولومبيا البريطانية للبحث عن الدبابير القاتل. من المؤكد أن الدببة القطبية جذابة ، ولكنها طورت قيمتين أكثر أهمية بالنسبة لنا.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


الاستخدام والترابط

كما أن الدببة القطبية ، وسمك السلمون من طراز شينوك والرماد الأسود مثالا على قيمة "الاستخدام" للطبيعة. فهي مفيدة لنا. يتم اصطياد الدببة القطبية وتصويرها ، ويتم صيد سمك السلمون من طراز شينوك والرماد الأسود الخشب مفيد بشكل ملحوظ لصنع سلال ، مع الاستخدامات من المهد إلى اللحد.

كل ما قيل ، قادنا مع الدب القطبي ، وأخبرنا قصصا حول سمك السلمون من طراز شينوك وأشجار الرماد الأسود لأنها أمثلة على الأنواع ذات القيمة التي تتجاوز ما تبدو عليه أو مدى فائدته. اخترنا هذه الأنواع بسبب "القيمة العلائقية."هذا مفهوم بعيد المنال - نظرا لزيادة أهمية في لجنة الأمم المتحدة الحكومية الدولية تقييم فوائد الطبيعة - يدرس كيف ينظر الناس إلى الطبيعة في سياق كيفية تقديرهم للأفكار الأساسية مثل العدالة والرعاية وحتى الفضيلة. كل من هذه القيم الأساسية هي بشكل أساسي حول الاتصال. ما نعتز به يشمل الطرق التي ترتبط بها قيمنا الثقافية والتفاعلات الاجتماعية مع الأنواع والأماكن البرية.

التي spcies فقدان ground2 1 12الرماد الأسود وجدت في Kakabeka Falls Provincial Park ، أونتاريو. هوميروس إدوارد برايس / فليكر, CC BY

القيمة العلاقية هي الطبقة الخارجية لدمية التعشيش الروسية لقيم الطبيعة. بالنسبة لسمك السلمون من طراز شينوك والدب القطبي والرماد الأسود ، يمكن أن تعزى القيمة المضافة لهذه الأنواع ، بما يتجاوز قيمتها الجوهرية والتحويلية والجمالية والاستخدامية ، إلى ارتباطها بالناس الذين يعيشون في الغرب وفي الشمال والشرق. كندا ، الآن وفي الماضي العميق.

والدببة القطبية هي أكثر من مجرد مصدر دخل للأدلة التي تساعد في تعقبها ، ولأسرها ومجتمعاتها - حيث أن الدببة متجذرة بعمق في ثقافة الناس الذين يعيشون معهم. وفي الآونة الأخيرة والأكثر توسعاً ، يحمل الدببة القطبية أيضاً الكثير من القلق الجماعي الذي يلقاه تغير المناخ على ظهورهم.

القيم الموجودة داخل القيم

بالطبع ، علماء 40 الذين تجمعوا في أوتاوا لتحديد وضع الدببة القطبية كانوا يدركون جيدا أهمية هذه الحيوانات لكثير من الناس. لكننا حاولنا ألا نسمح بأن يؤثر ذلك على مداولاتنا. ولم يكن دورنا إلا النظر في الأدلة المتعلقة بمستقبل الدببة القطبية ، استناداً إلى أفضل المعلومات المتاحة من البحوث العلمية والمعارف التقليدية للشعوب الأصلية. لقد قضينا ما يقرب من محاولة لمعرفة حالة خنفساء.

على الرغم من أننا جميعًا نشاهد جميعًا قيم التنوع البيولوجي العديدة والطبقات. قد يكون للعديد من الأنواع قيمة جوهرية فقط ، ولكن ليس الجميع يراها بهذه الطريقة ، ومن الصعب تداول هذه القيمة مقابل أشياء أخرى قد نهتم بها. تصبح الأنواع الأخرى أكثر إثارة للاهتمام عندما نتعلم عنها ، أو قد تكون مفيدة ، وهذه الصفوف يمكنها بدورها دعم القيم العلائقية ، والتي يمكن أن يكون كثير منها ثقافيًا بعمق. يمكن للقيم الثقافية أن تتغير.

لذا ، إذا فقدنا نوعًا ما أو مكانًا بريًا ، فما الذي نخسره؟ من الجدير إجراء محادثة حول هذا لأنه لا شك في أن الطبيعة تتغير بسرعة وبطرق عديدة: فالطقس أصبح أكثر تطرفًا ، والعالم الطبيعي أصبح أكثر دفئًا ورطباً (أو أكثر جفافاً) وأكثر ارتباطاً وحيوية إنها تقلص. هذه التغييرات سوف تؤثر على جميع المخلوقات ، عادة على حسابها. لذا فمن المرجح أن نفقد بعضًا منها ، خاصةً تلك التي لا نقدر قيمتها الكافية.المحادثة

عن المؤلفين

أرني موورز ، أستاذ ، جامعة سيمون فريزر وجون رينولدز ، أستاذ ، جامعة سيمون فريزر

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = Species loss؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Why Losing Some Species May Matter More Than Losing Others

Why Losing Some Species May Matter More Than Losing Others

Canada risks losing its polar bears in the North. And many runs of Chinook salmon on the Southern West Coast. And the black ash tree, currently widespread from Manitoba to Newfoundland.

In late November 2018, the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) affirmed that all these wildlife species are at risk of disappearing from Canada. But if they were to go, what would we really lose?

This question is brought into relief when we consider that COSEWIC also reported that 14 other Canadian wildlife species — including a prairie lizard, a turtle, several freshwater fish and a handful of flowering plants — are also at some level of risk of being lost.

The media, however, seemed most keen to hear about salmon and polar bear. As members of COSEWIC, we would have loved to talk more about a (usually) coldwater-loving small fish called a lake chub that has taken up residence in popular hot springs in northern British Columbia. A hot tub chub! Or a species of wasp that hunts down the buried larvae of beetles that attack fruit trees in southern B.C. A hunter-killer wasp! And in our interests and wishes lies a veritable Russian doll of considerations of the value of Nature.

Hot tub chubs, intrinsic value and beauty

The inner, core doll is perhaps also the hardest to grasp. This is “intrinsic value:” the idea that species have some fundamental right to exist. While this value is undeniably important to many people, it’s hard to have a satisfying philosophical discussion about it in the face of the many threats that are bearing down on threatened species and places.

We know that the more one learns about a species, the more valuable it seems to become: biodiversity has been said to have transformative value and that could generate other values.

And so, a well-crafted story about the hot tub chub, at risk from bathers and their suntan lotion, might have worked as a lead story. But we did not go that route.

Aesthetic values also play an important role in how we relate to nature. The aesthetics of nature are a major driver of ecotourism, which has been valued at more than $600 billion per year in direct spending. But we don’t go to hot springs to see fish, and we don’t go to British Columbia’s wine region to search for hunter-killer wasps. Polar bears are certainly attractive, but they have developed two more values that seemed more important to us.

Use and connectedness

Polar bears, Chinook salmon and black ash also exemplify the “use” value of nature. They are useful to us. Polar bears are hunted and photographed, Chinook salmon are fished and black ash provide remarkably useful wood for making baskets, with uses from cradle to grave.

All that said, we led with polar bear, and told stories about Chinook salmon and black ash trees because they are examples of species with value that transcends what they look like or how useful they are. We chose these species because of their “relational value.” This elusive concept — given increasing prominence in the UN Intergovernmental Panel’s assessment of the benefits of nature — considers how people consider nature in the context of how they value core ideas like justice, care and even virtue. Each of these core values is fundamentally about connection. What we hold dear includes the ways in which our cultural values and social interactions are connected to wild species and places.

which spcies losing ground2 1 12Black ash found in Kakabeka Falls Provincial Park, Ontario. Homer Edward Price/flickr, CC BY

Relational value is the outer layer of the Russian nesting doll of nature’s values. For Chinook salmon, polar bear and black ash, the added value of these species, beyond their intrinsic, transformative, aesthetic and use value, can be attributed in part to their connections to people who live in the West, in the North and in Eastern Canada, now and in the deep past.

Polar bears are more than a source of revenue to the guides that help hunt them, and to their families and communities — the bears are deeply embedded in the culture of people who live with them. More recently and most expansively, polar bears also carry much of our collective climate change angst on their backs.

Values nestled within values

Of course, the 40 scientists who gathered in Ottawa to determine the status of polar bears were well aware of the importance of these animals to many people. But we tried not to allow that to affect our deliberations. Our role was only to consider the evidence for the future of polar bears, based on the best available information from scientific research and Indigenous traditional knowledge. We spent nearly as long trying to figure out the status of a beetle.

As people, though, we all see the many and layered values of biodiversity. Many species may only harbour intrinsic value, but not everyone sees it that way, and it’s hard to trade this value against other things we might care about. Other species become more interesting as we learn about them, or they might be useful, and these attributes in turn can support relational values, many of which can be deeply cultural. Cultural values can, and do, change.

So, if we lose a species or a wild space, what do we lose? It’s worth having a conversation about this because there is no doubt that nature is changing, both fast and in many ways: the weather is becoming more extreme, the natural world is becoming warmer, wetter (or drier), more connected, and, critically, it is shrinking. These changes are going to affect all creatures, usually to their detriment. So we will likely lose some of them, particularly those we do not value enough.The Conversation

About The Authors

Arne Mooers, Professor, Simon Fraser University and John Reynolds, Professor, Simon Fraser University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=Species loss;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

CULTURE WARS

what is populism 2 7

What Actually Is This Thing Called Populism?

Octavia Bryant and Benjamin Moffitt
No doubt thanks to Donald Trump, Brexit, and a string of anti-establishment leaders and parties in Europe, Latin America and Asia, everyone seems to be talking about populism

DEMOCRACY

Compassionate Actions and Ripples of Change

Compassionate Actions and Ripples of Change

Jalaja Bonheim, PhD.
I believe there is. When we speak of activism, we usually think of organized activities. Yet beyond that, we all have opportunities to act in ways that reflect our desire for social justice and peace. Whether or not we’re “official” activists, we’re always…

ECONOMY

How Electric Cars Could Make America's Crumbling Roads Even Worse

How Electric Cars Could Make America's Crumbling Roads Even Worse

Jay L. Zagorsky
U.S. roads and bridges are in abysmal shape – and that was before the recent winter storms made things even worse.

ENVIRONMENT & CLIMATE

Could Climate Change Spark A Global Financial Crisis?

Could Climate Change Spark A Global Financial Crisis?

Korey Pasch
The dire climate change situation continues to make headlines and inspire actions like the Sunrise Movement.

HOSTILITES

Attaining Peace Must Be The Cause of Every Individual

Attaining Peace Must Be The Cause of Every Individual

Rick Munoz
When I was 4 years old, my grandfather died. The preacher said "por fin el a alcanzado la paz" which means (in Spanish) that he has finally reached peace. As I listened to him I began to think that peace was really important if grandfather had to go away to…

JUSTICE & CIVIL LIBERTY

Most People Don't Realize What Companies Can Predict From Their Data

Most People Don't Realize What Companies Can Predict From Their Data

Emilee Rader
Sixty-seven percent of smartphone users rely on Google Maps to help them get to where they are going quickly and efficiently.