Как изменение климата убивает маленьких существ Земли

как изменение климата убивает маленьких существ Земли
Прыгающий паук, который использует острое зрение, чтобы охотиться на свою добычу. ThomasShahan.com/Flickr, CC BY-SA

В наши дни изменение климата обвиняют во многих вещах: наводнение небольших островов, разжигание катастрофические пожарыусиливающиеся ураганы и разбивая арктический морской лед.

Но глобальный обзор исследований насекомых нашел еще одну жертву: 40% видов насекомых сокращаются, а третий находится под угрозой исчезновения. Это подтверждает то, что многие подозревали: в Австралия и во всем миречленистоногие - которые включают насекомых, пауков, многоножек и тому подобное - оказываются в беде.

Глобальный обзор идет по пятам исследование опубликовано в Сборнике трудов Национальной академии наук США, в котором предлагается сильная связь между усиливающимися волнами тепла и потрясающим снижением численности членистоногих.

Если результаты этого исследования в целом являются действительными - что-то еще далеко от определенности - это имеет страшные последствия для глобального биоразнообразия.

Как изменение климата убивает маленьких существ ЗемлиНаш природный мир зависит от членистоногих. Стив Раубенстайн / Pixabay

Членистоногие Армагеддон

В середине 1970 исследователи на карибском острове Пуэрто-Рико провели крупномасштабное исследование для измерения общей биомассы (живой массы) насекомых и других членистоногих в неповрежденных тропических лесах острова, используя проточные сети и липкие ловушки.

Четыре десятилетия спустя другая исследовательская группа вернулась на остров и повторила исследование, используя идентичные методы и те же места. К их удивлению, они обнаружили, что биомасса членистоногих составляла всего одну восьмую-одну шестидесятую часть биомассы 1970, что в целом шокировало.


Получите последние новости от InnerSelf


И бойня на этом не закончилась. Команда обнаружила, что множество ящериц, питающихся членистоногими, птиц и лягушек также резко упало в изобилии.

Как изменение климата убивает маленьких существ ЗемлиНасекомые имеют решающее значение в пищевых сетях для таких видов, как этот колибри. Pixabay

По мнению многих экологов, широко распространенный крах членистоногих может быть совершенно апокалиптическим. Членистоногие опыляют некоторые из наших наиболее важных пищевых культур и тысячи видов диких растений, рассеивают семена, перерабатывают питательные вещества и образуют ключевые звенья в пищевых цепях, которые поддерживают целые сети жизни.

Эта экологическая повсеместность возникает потому, что членистоногие так много и разнообразно, включающий по крайней мере две трети всех известных видов на Земле. В 1940s, эволюционный биолог JBS Холдейн - сказал он: «У Бога есть чрезмерная любовь к жукам». Люди могут подумать, что мы правим миром, но планета действительно принадлежит членистоногим.

Убийца тепловых волн

Исследователи, которые зафиксировали коллапс членистоногого в Пуэрто-Рико, рассмотрели различные возможные причины, в том числе пестициды и разрушение среды обитания. Но доказательства продолжали указывать на другого водителя: повышение температуры.

Метеостанции в Пуэрто-Рико показывают, что за последние несколько десятилетий температура там постепенно повышалась - в среднем на 2 ℃.

Но исследователи гораздо меньше беспокоятся о постепенном повышении температуры, чем об усилении тепловых волн, которые заметно возросли в Пуэрто-Рико. Это потому, что почти все живые виды имеют пороговые значения температурных допусков

Например, исследования в Австралии показали, что в 41 flying летучие лисицы испытывают сильную тепловую нагрузку, изо всех сил пытаясь найти тень и отчаянно взмахивая крыльями, чтобы сохранять хладнокровие.

Но подтолкните термометр еще на один градус к 42 ℃, и летучие мыши внезапно умрут.

В ноябре погибли волны тепла, достигшие пика над 42 north в северном Квинсленде почти треть очковых летучих лисиц региона. Земля под колониями летучих мышей была завалена десятками тысяч мертвых животных. Посвященные животные могли бы спасти только небольшую часть умирающих летучих мышей.

Летучие мыши умирают массово во время недавней жары.

Связь Эль-Ниньо

Эль-Ниньо События - колебания температуры поверхности моря в Тихом океане, которые приводят к многолетним колебаниям погоды на больших участках планеты - также являются частью этой истории. Новое исследование, кажется, разрешает давнюю неопределенность в отношении Эль-Ниньо и глобального потепления.

Недавние исследования опубликованы в природа и Журнале Geophysical Research Letters Предполагают, что глобальное потепление фактически усилит Эль-Ниньос, в результате чего пострадавшие районы будут еще более интенсивно страдать от засух и тепловых волн.

И это связано с Пуэрто-Рико, потому что исследователи считают, что серия необычайно сильных тепловых волн Эль-Ниньо была причиной членистоногого Армагеддона. Если они правы, то глобальное потепление было оружием, но Эль-Ниньо нажал на курок.

За пределами тепловых волн

Пуэрто-Рико, конечно же, не единственное место на Земле, которое сильно сократилось у членистоногих. Робастное обучение в Европа, Северная Америка, Австралия и другие регионы также обнаружили значительное снижение членистоногих.

И хотя климатические факторы способствовали некоторым из этих снижений, ясно, что многие другие экологические изменения, такие как нарушение среды обитания, пестицидов, интродуцированные патогены и легкое загрязнение, также принимают тяжелые пошлины.

Как изменение климата убивает маленьких существ ЗемлиБабочки-монархи уменьшаются в США и Мексике, вероятно, из-за нарушения среды обитания. Pixabay

Таким образом, в масштабе планеты членистоногие страдают от самых разнообразных экологических оскорблений. Там в нет единой причины почему их население рушится.

Суть в том, что мы меняем мир разными способами одновременно. И бесчисленные маленькие существа, которые играют так много критических ролей в ткани жизни, изо всех сил пытаются пережить натиск.Беседа

Об авторе

Билл Лоранс, уважаемый исследователь и австралийский лауреат, Джеймс Кук университет

Эта статья переиздана из Беседа под лицензией Creative Commons. Прочтите оригинал статьи.

Книги по этой теме

{AmazonWS: searchindex = Книга, ключевые слова = вымирание; maxresults = 3}

enafarZH-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Следуйте за InnerSelf

facebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

ВНУТРЕННИЕ ГОЛОСЫ

Будьте добры к себе и другим
Будьте добры к себе и другим
by Сара Люк Маккой
Что вы хотите?
Что вы хотите?
by Мари Т. Рассел, Внутренний

САМОЕ ЧИТАЕМОЕ

Что вы хотите?
Что вы хотите?
by Мари Т. Рассел, Внутренний
Почему сон так важен для похудения
Почему сон так важен для похудения
by Эмма Суини и Ян Уолш

ОТ РЕДАКТОРОВ

Информационный бюллетень InnerSelf: сентябрь 6, 2020
by InnerSelf персонала
Мы видим жизнь через призму нашего восприятия. Стивен Р. Кови писал: «Мы видим мир не таким, каков он есть, а такими, какие мы есть ──или так, как мы привыкли его видеть». Итак, на этой неделе мы рассмотрим некоторые…
InnerSelf Newsletter: август 30, 2020
by InnerSelf персонала
Дороги, по которым мы путешествуем сегодня, стары как времена, но для нас они новы. Переживания, которые мы переживаем, стары как времена, но они также новы для нас. То же самое и с…
Когда правда настолько ужасна, что причиняет боль, действуйте
by Мария Т. Рассел, InnerSelf.com
Среди всех ужасов, происходящих в наши дни, меня вдохновляют сияющие лучи надежды. Обычные люди, отстаивающие то, что правильно (и против того, что неправильно). Бейсболисты,…
Когда ты спиной к стене
by Мари Т. Рассел, Внутренний
Я люблю интернет. Теперь я знаю, что многие люди могут сказать об этом много плохого, но мне это нравится. Также как я люблю людей в моей жизни - они не идеальны, но я все равно их люблю.
InnerSelf Newsletter: август 23, 2020
by InnerSelf персонала
Все, наверное, согласятся, что мы живем в странные времена ... новые впечатления, новые взгляды, новые вызовы. Но нас можно воодушевить, вспомнив, что все всегда в движении, ...

How Climate Change Is Killing Off Earth’s Little Creatures

climate change

how Climate Change Is Killing Off Earth’s Little Creatures
A jumping spider, which uses sharp eyesight to hunt its prey. ThomasShahan.com/Flickr, CC BY-SA

Climate change gets blamed for a lot of things these days: inundating small islands, fueling catastrophic fires, amping-up hurricanes and smashing Arctic sea ice.

But a global review of insect research has found another casualty: 40% of insect species are declining and a third are endangered. It confirms what many have been suspecting: in Australia and around the world, arthropods – which include insects, spiders, centipedes and the like — appear to be in trouble.

The global review comes hard on the heels of research published in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences USA that suggests a potent link between intensifying heat waves and stunning declines in the abundance of arthropods.

If that study’s findings are broadly valid – something still far from certain – it has chilling implications for global biodiversity.

How Climate Change Is Killing Off Earth’s Little CreaturesOur natural world depends on arthropods. Steve Raubenstine / Pixabay

Arthropod Armageddon

In the mid-1970s, researchers on the Caribbean island of Puerto Rico conducted a large-scale study to measure the total biomass (living mass) of insects and other arthropods in the island’s intact rainforests, using sweep nets and sticky-traps.

Four decades later, another research team returned to the island and repeated the study using identical methods and the same locations. To their surprise, they found that arthropod biomass was just one-eighth to one-sixtieth of that in the 1970s – a shocking collapse overall.

And the carnage didn’t end there. The team found that a bevy of arthropod-eating lizards, birds and frogs had fallen sharply in abundance as well.

How Climate Change Is Killing Off Earth’s Little CreaturesInsects are crucial in food webs for species such as this hummingbird. Pixabay

In the minds of many ecologists, a widespread collapse of arthropods could be downright apocalyptic. Arthropods pollinate some of our most important food crops and thousands of wild plant species, disperse seeds, recycle nutrients and form key links in food chains that sustain entire webs of life.

This ecological ubiquity arises because arthropods are so abundant and diverse, comprising at least two-thirds of all known species on Earth. In the 1940s, evolutionary biologist J. B. S. Haldane quipped that “God has an inordinate fondness for beetles.” Humans might think we rule the world, but the planet really belongs to arthropods.

Killer heat waves

The researchers who documented the arthropod collapse in Puerto Rico considered a variety of possible causes, including pesticides and habitat disruption. But the evidence kept pointing to another driver: rising temperatures.

Weather stations in Puerto Rico indicate that temperatures there have risen progressively in the past several decades – by 2℃ on average.

But the researchers are far less worried about a gradual increase in temperature than the intensification of heat waves—which have risen markedly in Puerto Rico. This is because nearly all living species have thresholds of temperature tolerance.

For example, research in Australia has shown that at 41℃, flying foxes become badly heat-stressed, struggling to find shade and flapping their wings desperately to stay cool.

But nudge the thermometer up just one more degree, to 42℃, and the bats suddenly die.

In November, heat waves that peaked above 42℃ in north Queensland killed off almost a third of the region’s Spectacled Flying Foxes. The ground beneath bat colonies was littered with tens of thousands of dead animals. Dedicated animal carers could only save a small fraction of the dying bats.

Bats die en-masse during a recent heatwave.

The El Niño connection

El Niño events – fluctuations in Pacific sea-surface temperatures that drive multi-year variations in weather across large swaths of the planet – are also part of this story. New research appears to be resolving longstanding uncertainties about El Niños and global warming.

Recent studies published in Nature and Geophysical Research Letters suggest global warming will in fact intensify El Niños – causing affected areas to suffer even more intensively from droughts and heat waves.

And this ties back to Puerto Rico, because the researchers there believe a series of unusually intense El Niño heatwaves were the cause the arthropod Armageddon. If they’re right then global warming was the gun, but El Niño pulled the trigger.

Beyond heat waves

Puerto Rico is certainly not the only place on Earth that has suffered severe declines in arthropods. Robust studies in Europe, North America, Australia and other locales have revealed big arthropod declines as well.

And while climatic factors have contributed to some of these declines, it’s clear that many other environmental changes, such as habitat disruption, pesticides, introduced pathogens and light pollution, are also taking heavy tolls.

How Climate Change Is Killing Off Earth’s Little CreaturesMonarch butterflies are declining in the USA and Mexico, probably from habitat disruption. Pixabay

So, at a planetary scale, arthropods are suffering from a wide variety of environmental insults. There’s no single reason why their populations are collapsing.

The bottom line is: we’re changing our world in many different ways at once. And the myriad little creatures that play so many critical roles in the fabric of life are struggling to survive the onslaught.The Conversation

About The Author

Bill Laurance, Distinguished Research Professor and Australian Laureate, James Cook University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

The Sixth Extinction: An Unnatural History

climate changeAuthor: Elizabeth Kolbert
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • The Sixth Extinction An Unnatural History

Brand: Kolbert, Elizabeth
Studio: Picador
Label: Picador
Publisher: Picador
Manufacturer: Picador

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE
ONE OF THE NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW'S 10 BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR
A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
A NATIONAL BOOK CRITICS CIRCLE AWARD FINALIST

A major book about the future of the world, blending intellectual and natural history and field reporting into a powerful account of the mass extinction unfolding before our eyes

Over the last half-billion years, there have been Five mass extinctions, when the diversity of life on earth suddenly and dramatically contracted. Scientists around the world are currently monitoring the sixth extinction, predicted to be the most devastating extinction event since the asteroid impact that wiped out the dinosaurs. This time around, the cataclysm is us. In prose that is at once frank, entertaining, and deeply informed, New Yorker writer Elizabeth Kolbert tells us why and how human beings have altered life on the planet in a way no species has before. Interweaving research in half a dozen disciplines, descriptions of the fascinating species that have already been lost, and the history of extinction as a concept, Kolbert provides a moving and comprehensive account of the disappearances occurring before our very eyes. She shows that the sixth extinction is likely to be mankind's most lasting legacy, compelling us to rethink the fundamental question of what it means to be human.





The Ends of the World: Volcanic Apocalypses, Lethal Oceans, and Our Quest to Understand Earth's Past Mass Extinctions

climate changeAuthor: Peter Brannen
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook
Studio: Ecco
Label: Ecco
Publisher: Ecco
Manufacturer: Ecco

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

New York Times Editors' Choice 2017

Forbes Top 10 Best Environment, Climate, and Conservation Book of 2017

As new groundbreaking research suggests that climate change played a major role in the most extreme catastrophes in the planet's history, award-winning science journalist Peter Brannen takes us on a wild ride through the planet's five mass extinctions and, in the process, offers us a glimpse of our increasingly dangerous future

Our world has ended five times: it has been broiled, frozen, poison-gassed, smothered, and pelted by asteroids. In The Ends of the World, Peter Brannen dives into deep time, exploring Earth’s past dead ends, and in the process, offers us a glimpse of our possible future.

Many scientists now believe that the climate shifts of the twenty-first century have analogs in these five extinctions. Using the visible clues these devastations have left behind in the fossil record, The Ends of the World takes us inside “scenes of the crime,” from South Africa to the New York Palisades, to tell the story of each extinction. Brannen examines the fossil record—which is rife with creatures like dragonflies the size of sea gulls and guillotine-mouthed fish—and introduces us to the researchers on the front lines who, using the forensic tools of modern science, are piecing together what really happened at the crime scenes of the Earth’s biggest whodunits.

Part road trip, part history, and part cautionary tale, The Ends of the World takes us on a tour of the ways that our planet has clawed itself back from the grave, and casts our future in a completely new light.





Extinction Horizon (The Extinction Cycle Book 1)

climate changeAuthor: Nicholas Sansbury Smith
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook
Studio: Orbit
Label: Orbit
Publisher: Orbit
Manufacturer: Orbit

Buy Now
Editorial Review:
The worst of nature and the worst of science will bring the human race to the brink of extinction...

Master Sergeant Reed Beckham has led his Delta Force Team, codenamed Ghost, through every kind of hell imaginable and never lost a man. When a top secret Medical Corps research facility goes dark, Team Ghost is called in to face their deadliest enemy yet--a variant strain of Ebola that turns men into monsters.

After barely escaping with his life, Beckham returns to Fort Bragg in the midst of a new type of war. As cities fall, Team Ghost is ordered to keep CDC virologist Dr. Kate Lovato alive long enough to find a cure. What she uncovers will change everything.

Total extinction is just on the horizon, but will the cure be worse than the virus?

Self-publishing sensation and USA Today bestseller Nicholas Sansbury Smith comes to Orbit with the first book in his propulsive post-apocalyptic series about a soldier's mission to save the world.

The Extinction Cycle:

Book 1: Extinction Horizon
Book 2: Extinction Edge
Book 3: Extinction Age
Book 4: Extinction Evolution
Book 5: Extinction End
Book 6: Extinction Aftermath




climate change
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}