بداية جديدة للتخفيف من حدة تغير المناخ في نيوزيلندا

بداية جديدة للتخفيف من حدة تغير المناخ في نيوزيلندا

إن انتخاب الحكومة السادسة بقيادة حزب العمال يبشر باتجاه جديد لسياسة تغير المناخ في نيوزيلندا.

كجزء من خطة أولويات حكومة 100 الجديدة ، تعهدت بتعيين الهدف من حياد الكربون بواسطة 2050 وإنشاء آليات للتخلص التدريجي من الوقود الأحفوري. وبذلك ، ستنضم نيوزيلندا إلى مجموعة صغيرة من البلدان التي وضعت هذا الهدف منذ العام الماضي: فرنسا وألمانيا والسويد (بواسطة 2045) والنرويج (بواسطة 2030).

من الالتزام إلى العمل

تخطط الحكومة لإنشاء لجنة مستقلة للمناخ ، على الأرجح على أساس المنشأة في المملكة المتحدة مع الدعم البرلماني بالإجماع تقريبا في 2008. انخفضت انبعاثات المملكة المتحدة ليس فقط إلى مستويات 1990 ، ولكن إلى مستويات 1900.

الـ مهام لجنة المناخ سيشمل تقديم المشورة بشأن آليات التسعير الفعالة لتلوث المناخ ، على الانتقال إلى 100٪ من الطاقة المتجددة بواسطة 2035 ، وعلى جلب الزراعة إلى نيوزيلندي مخطط تجارة الانبعاثات.

جميع الأطراف في اتفاق باريس وافقت بالفعل على أن تصبح محايدة الكربون في النصف الثاني من هذا القرن. والعقبة تحول هذا الالتزام إلى أفعال.

قصة النوايا الحسنة

لقد انقضت الآن على 20 سنوات منذ توقيع نيوزيلندا لأول مرة بروتوكول كيوتو - عقدين من الكلمات الجيدة والتقلبات والانعكاسات في السياسة أثناء الانبعاثات استمر في الارتفاع. والمثير للدهشة ، أنه في حين أن أستراليا اتبعت مسارًا متعرجًا خاصًا بها ، ربما مع عدم وجود الكثير من الكلمات الجميلة ، فإن التأثير كان مماثلاً: فقد ارتفعت انبعاثات الغازات الدفيئة الإجمالية بنسبة 24٪ في نيوزيلندا منذ 1990 ، مقارنة بارتفاع 27٪ في أستراليا.

بني النيوزيلنديون الكثير من محطات الطاقة التي تعمل بالغاز في 1990s واشتروا الكثير من السيارات في 2000s. بشكل مدهش ، لدينا الآن المزيد من السيارات للفرد الواحد من أستراليا.

يتم سرد القصة المحبطة في الفيلم الوثائقي الهواء الساخن. قضت نيوزيلندة عشر سنوات في الحصول على إستراتيجية في مكانها ، وينتهي بها المطاف نظام تداول الانبعاثات (ETS). وبعد عقد آخر من التلاعب في وقت لاحق ، يتضمن المخطط نظامًا معقدًا من الخصومات والمخصصات المجانية والإعفاءات ، والوصول بشكل غير محدود إلى وحدات الانبعاثات الدولية.

بعد 2012 ، استخدمت الشركات النيوزيلندية هذا الوصول لشراء أعداد كبيرة من وحدات منخفضة النزاهة من أوكرانيابما يكفي لتغطية ربع جميع انبعاثاتنا رسميًا. ويضيف سعر الكربون ، وهو NZ $ 19 ، حاليًا عن 4c لكل لتر إلى سعر البنزين ، وعن 1c لكل كيلوواط ساعي إلى الكهرباء التي تعمل بالغاز. حتى الآن ، ETS نيوزيلندا - مثل الآخرين في جميع أنحاء العالم - لم تسلم.

تم دفع شركة التعدين المملوكة للدولة النيوزيلندية ، "الطاقة الصلبة" ، إلى بعض الصفقات الخطرة وفي نهاية المطاف إلى ادارة الافلاس. تم بيع الأصول المتبقية إلى موارد باثرست. الرئيس التنفيذي ريتشارد تاكون قال مؤخرا:

... لا يوجد بديل صالح للفحم. أعني أننا ندرك أنها وقود انتقالي ، ولكن هناك الكثير من الأعمال التجارية ، منتجات الألبان ... التي تعتمد على الفحم كمصدر موثوق للطاقة يمكن تخزينه.

هل كان حتى أحد أعمدة الفحم الأسترالية يطلق على الفحم اسم "وقود انتقالي"؟ ولكن ربما مرة أخرى ربما يكون لـ Tacon نقطة: حيث تحرق شركة Fonterra لمنتجات الألبان أكثر من نصف الفحم النيوزيلندي ، كما تصدر صناعة الألبان ككل 2.2 مليون طن من ثاني أكسيد الكربون في العام حرق الفحم لحليب جاف.

المجتمع المدني يثابر

على هذه الخلفية ، كان النشطاء في مجال المناخ يواجهون صعوبات في الدخول. أخذت طالب القانون سارة طومسون الحكومة إلى المحكمة في يوليو 2017 بسبب تقاعسها عن تغير المناخ. في النصر لكلا الجانبين، حكم القاضي بأن الحكومة كان يجب أن تراجع هدف 2050 الخاص بها ، لكنه رفض طلب مراجعة قضائية لأن الحكومة تغيرت منذ ذلك الحين.

نظمت مجموعة الشباب والمناخ الجيل زيرو لحملة قانون الكربون صفر. المفوض البرلماني السابق للبيئة، جان رايت، دعا إلى قانون تغير المناخ على النمط البريطاني. تسعة وثلاثون عمدة الضغط على الحكومة ل اتخاذ إجراءات أقوى.

البيانات من أ دراسة طولية سنة 20 للمواقف الاجتماعية في عرض نيوزيلندا زيادة الاتفاق مع تغير المناخ.

مراجعة ثالثة لنظام ETS أزلت خصم 50٪ ، مع مزيد من التعزيز المجدولة. وقد طلب من وزارة البيئة تقديم المشورة على وجه التحديد على تخفيضات الانبعاثات المحلية. طلبت لجنة الإنتاجية ، وهي مؤسسة فكرية حكومية تقرير عن اقتصاد منخفض الانبعاثات.

ومع ذلك ، خلال الحملة الانتخابية ، لم يكن تغير المناخ قضية رئيسية ، وأظهرت التوقعات الرسمية زيادة مستمرة في الانبعاثات. ضمن إعدادات السياسة الحالية ، سيرتفع صافي الانبعاثات 58٪ أخرى بواسطة 2030.

تهدف لحياد الكربون

ويرفع هذا الخبر إلى قرار نيوزيلاندا أولا باختيار حكومة يقودها حزب العمال ، مع حزب الخضر في ترتيب الثقة والعرض. لدى الخضر الآن خمسة وزراء ، بمن فيهم الزعيم المشارك جيمس شاو كوزير للتغير المناخي. وسيقوم العمل ، بعد إدخال نظام ETS لأول مرة في 2008 ، بتعديله في محاولة لجعله يعمل.

بالفعل ، منذ الانتخابات ، فونتيرا لديها أعلن التزام بخفض انبعاثات المعالجة (غالبًا بسبب الفحم ، ولكن أيضًا الغاز الطبيعي والنقل) بنسبة 30٪ بواسطة 2030 ، ومطابقة الهدف الوطني ، و 100٪ بواسطة 2050.

فحيادية الكربون تتطلب ، من بين أمور أخرى ، التوقف التام لحرق الوقود الأحفوري ، وشراء المنتجات التي تحرقها ، مثل سيارات البنزين. السنة 2050 ليست بعيدة.

في الحقيقة ، قد يحدث أي شيء بواسطة 2050: قد تصبح الخلايا الشمسية العضوية رخيصة مثل نشرات الأخبار ، تطلق العنان للنمو الاقتصادي وتصنع "وقود ضوء الشمس إلى وقود" اقتصادي - أو لا. قد تعوق ردود أفعال الكربون الإيجابية من المحيطات والغابات والميثان في القطب الشمالي جهودنا للتخفيف. قد تفاجئنا حساسية المناخ على الجانب المرتفع أو المنخفض.

المحادثةلا نستطيع أن نقول ما هي أجزاء العالم الطبيعي التي ستعيش من تغير المناخ ومحاولة الانتقال إلى الاستدامة. لكن نيوزيلندا تتخذ خطوة في الاتجاه الصحيح.

نبذة عن الكاتب

روبرت ماكلاكلان ، أستاذ الرياضيات التطبيقية ، جامعة ماسي

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = mitcent mitigation؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

A Fresh Start For Climate Change Mitigation In New Zealand

A Fresh Start For Climate Change Mitigation In New Zealand

The election of the sixth Labour-led government heralds a new direction for climate change policy in New Zealand.

As part of the new government’s 100-day priority plan, it pledged to set a target of carbon neutrality by 2050 and to establish the mechanisms to phase out fossil fuels. In doing so, New Zealand will join a small group of countries that have established this goal since last year: France, Germany, Sweden (by 2045) and Norway (by 2030).

From commitment to action

The government plans to set up an independent climate commission, likely based on the one established in the UK with nearly unanimous parliamentary support in 2008. UK emissions are down not just to 1990 levels, but to 1900 levels.

The climate commission’s tasks will include providing advice on effective pricing mechanisms for climate pollution, on the transition to 100% renewable electricity by 2035, and on bringing agriculture into the NZ Emissions Trading Scheme.

All parties to the Paris Agreement have already agreed to become carbon-neutral in the second half of this century. The snag is turning that commitment into action.

A story of good intentions

It is now 20 years since New Zealand first signed the Kyoto Protocol – two decades of fine words and twists and turns in policy while emissions continued to rise. Surprisingly, while Australia has followed a twisty path of its own, perhaps with not so many fine words, the effect has been the same: gross greenhouse gas emissions have risen 24% in New Zealand since 1990, compared to a rise of 27% in Australia.

New Zealanders built a lot of gas-fuelled power stations in the 1990s and bought a lot of cars in the 2000s. Astoundingly, we now have more cars per capita than Australia.

The frustrating story is told in the documentary Hot Air. New Zealand spent ten years getting a strategy in place, ending up with an emissions trading scheme (ETS). Another decade of tinkering later, the scheme involves a complex system of discounts, free allocations, exemptions and, crucially, unlimited access to international emissions units.

After 2012, New Zealand companies used this access to buy large numbers of low-integrity units from the Ukraine, enough to officially cover a quarter of all our emissions. The price of carbon, currently NZ$19, adds about 4c per litre to the price of petrol, and about 1c per kilowatt-hour to gas-powered electricity. So far, New Zealand’s ETS – like others worldwide – has not delivered.

New Zealand’s state-owned mining company, Solid Energy, was pushed into some risky deals and ultimately into managed bankruptcy. The remaining assets have been sold to Bathurst Resources. Chief executive Richard Tacon said recently:

… there is no viable alternative to coal. I mean we realise it’s a transition fuel, but there’s a lot of business, dairy … that rely on coal to be a reliable, storable source of energy.

Has even an Australian coal baron ever called coal a “transition fuel”? But then again perhaps Tacon has a point: the dairy company Fonterra burns more than half of all New Zealand’s coal, and the dairy industry as a whole emits 2.2 million tonnes of carbon dioxide per year burning coal to dry milk.

Civil society perseveres

Against this background, climate activists have had a hard row to hoe. Law student Sarah Thomson took the government to court in July 2017 over its inaction on climate change. In a victory for both sides, the judge ruled that the government should have reviewed its 2050 target, but declined to order a judicial review because the government had since changed.

The youth climate group Generation Zero campaigned for a Zero Carbon Act. The former parliamentary commissioner for the environment, Jan Wright, called for a UK-style Climate Change Act. Thirty-nine mayors pressed the government to take stronger action.

Data from a 20-year longitudinal study of social attitudes in New Zealand show increasing agreement with climate change.

A third review of the ETS removed a 50% discount, with further strengthening scheduled. The Environment Ministry was asked to advise specifically on domestic emissions reductions. The Productivity Commission, a government think tank, was asked to report on a low-emission economy.

However, during the election campaign, climate change was not a major issue, and official projections showed a continued rise in emissions. Under current policy settings, net emissions will rise a further 58% by 2030.

Aiming for carbon neutrality

That brings the story to New Zealand First’s decision to choose a Labour-led government, with the Green Party in a confidence and supply arrangement. The Greens now have five ministers, including co-leader James Shaw as minister for climate change. Labour, having first introduced the ETS in 2008, will now amend it to try to make it work.

Already, since the election, Fonterra has announced a commitment to cut processing emissions (mostly due to coal, but also natural gas and transport) by 30% by 2030, matching the national target, and 100% by 2050.

Carbon neutrality calls for, among other things, a complete stop to burning fossil fuels and to buying products that burn them, such as petrol cars. The year 2050 is not that far away.

In truth, by 2050 anything might happen: organic solar cells might become as cheap as newsprint, unleashing economic growth and making “sunlight-to-liquid fuels” economic – or not. Positive carbon feedbacks from the oceans, forests and Arctic methane might overwhelm our mitigation efforts. Climate sensitivity might surprise us on the high or low side.

The ConversationWe can’t say what parts of the natural world will survive climate change and the attempted sustainability transition. But New Zealand is taking a step in the right direction.

About The Author

Robert McLachlan, Professor in Applied Mathematics, Massey University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

Drawdown: The Most Comprehensive Plan Ever Proposed to Reverse Global Warming
climate changeBinding: Paperback
Publisher: Penguin Books
List Price: $22.00

Buy Now

The Carbon Farming Solution: A Global Toolkit of Perennial Crops and Regenerative Agriculture Practices for Climate Change Mitigation and Food Security
climate changeAuthor: Eric Toensmeier
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: Chelsea Green Publishing
List Price: $75.00

Buy Now

Making Climate Change History: Documents from Global Warming's Past (Weyerhaeuser Environmental Classics)
climate changeBinding: Paperback
Publisher: University of Washington Press
List Price: $24.00

Buy Now

zh-CNtlfrdehiidptes

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}