Мы не можем спасти все от изменения климата - вот как сделать выбор

Мы не можем спасти все от изменения климата - вот как сделать выбор

Недавние сообщения доставили отрезвляющие сообщения об изменении климата и его последствиях. Они включают Межправительственную группу экспертов по изменению климата Специальный отчет о глобальном потеплении 1.5 ° C; четвертый взнос правительства США Национальная оценка климата; и первоначальный доклад Всемирной Метеорологической Организации о Состояние глобального климата 2018.

Как показывают эти отчеты, изменение климата уже происходит, и его последствия будут усиливаться в течение десятилетий в будущем. Они также ясно дают понять, что сокращение выбросов парниковых газов в результате деятельности человека до уровня, который ограничил бы потепление до 2 градусов по Цельсию (3.6 градусов по Фаренгейту) или менее выше доиндустриального уровня, создаст беспрецедентные проблемы.

Сегодня, однако, есть большой и растущий разрыв между тем, что страны говорят, что они хотели бы достичь, и тем, что они обязались сделать. Как ученые сосредоточены на управление климатическими рисками адаптацияМы считаем, что пришло время подумать об управлении ущербом от изменения климата с точки зрения сортировки.

Уже делается трудный выбор относительно рисков, которыми общество будет пытаться управлять. Крайне важно тратить ограниченные средства там, где они окажут наибольшее влияние.

Мы не можем спасти все от изменения климата - вот как сделать выборСреднегодовая температура в континентальной части США увеличилась на 1.8 градусов по Фаренгейту по сравнению с 1900. 3 ожидает дополнительного увеличения в диапазоне от градусов по Фаренгейту в 12 до градусов по Фаренгейту в 2100, в зависимости от глобальных тенденций выбросов парниковых газов. ПИГИСША

Triaging изменения климата

Triage - это процесс определения приоритетов действий, когда потребность превышает предложение ресурсов. Он появился на полях сражений Первой мировой войны и сегодня широко используется в различных областях: медицина бедствий в сохранение экосистемы разработка программного обеспечения.

Прогнозируемые глобальные затраты на адаптацию к изменению климата только в развивающихся странах варьируются до 300 млрд. Долларов США к 2030 и 500 млрд. Долларов США к середине столетия, Но согласно недавней оценке Oxfam, просто $ 5 млрд. До $ 7 млрд. был инвестирован в проекты, специфичные для адаптации к климату в 2015-2016.

Под влиянием изменения климата подразумевается помещение последствий в разные ведра. Здесь мы предлагаем три.

Первая группа представляет воздействия, которых можно избежать или справиться с минимальным вмешательством или без него. Например, оценки того, как изменение климата повлияет Гидроэнергетика США указывают, что этот сектор может поглотить воздействия без необходимости дорогостоящих вмешательств.

Второе ведро предназначено для воздействий, которые, вероятно, неизбежны, несмотря на все усилия. Рассмотрим белых медведей, которые полагаются на морской лед в качестве платформы для достижения своей добычи. Усилия по сокращению выбросов могут помочь поддержать белых медведей, но есть несколько способов помочь им адаптироваться. Защита Большого Барьерного рифа Австралии или бразильской Амазонки ставит аналогичные проблемы.

Мы не можем спасти все от изменения климата - вот как сделать выборКлэр Муканкуси разводит бобы для генного банка в Каванде, Уганда, и обладает свойствами, включая устойчивость к засухе, чтобы помочь фермерам справиться с экстремальными условиями. Джорджина Смит, CIAT, CC BY-NC-SA

Третий сегмент представляет воздействия, для которых могут быть предприняты практические и эффективные действия по снижению риска. Например, такие города, как Феникс, Чикаго и Филадельфия, годами инвестировали в системы предупреждения об экстремальных температурах и стратегии реагирования на чрезвычайные ситуации для снижения рисков для общественного здравоохранения. Есть множество вариантов для делая сельское хозяйство более устойчивымОт точного земледелия до биотехнологии до беспахотного земледелия. И крупные инвестиции в инфраструктуру и стратегии управления спросом исторически помогали поставлять воду в другие регионы уменьшить риск наводнения.

В каждом из этих случаев задача состоит в том, чтобы согласовать то, что технически осуществимо, с готовностью общества платить.

Как выглядит планирование на основе сортировки

Другие эксперты призвали к сортировке по изменению климата в таких ситуациях, как управление повышением уровня моря и риском наводнений сохранение экосистем, Но до сих пор этот подход не проник в политику адаптации.

Как общества могут обеспечить планирование на основе сортировки? Одним из ключевых шагов является инвестирование в оценку активов, подверженных риску. Определить стоимость активов, которыми обмениваются на экономических рынках, таких как сельское хозяйство, относительно просто. Например, RAND и Университет штата Луизиана оценили стоимость потеря прибрежных земель в Луизиане из-за потери собственности, увеличения ущерба от урагана и потери среды обитания водно-болотных угодий, которая поддерживает коммерческое рыболовство.

Оценка нерыночных активов, таких как культурные ресурсы, является более сложной, но не невозможной. Когда Северная Каролина Маяк мыса Хаттерас находясь под угрозой обвала в море, были предприняты героические усилия, чтобы переместить его дальше вглубь страны из-за его исторического и культурного значения. Точно так же Конгресс выносит суждения от имени американского народа относительно ценности исторических и культурных ресурсов, когда он принимает законодательство для добавить их в систему национальных парков США.

Следующим шагом является определение стратегий адаптации, которые имеют разумные шансы на снижение рисков. Поддержка RAND для Генеральный план побережья Луизианы В него был включен анализ миллиардов долларов США на проекты по восстановлению экосистем и защите прибрежных районов, в которых оценивались выгоды, которые эти проекты могли бы принести с точки зрения предотвращения ущерба.

Этот подход отражает так называемый «дивиденд устойчивости»-« бонус », который приходит от инвестиций в более устойчивые к климату сообщества. Например, в недавнем отчете Национального института строительных наук было подсчитано, что каждый доллар, вложенный в федеральные программы по смягчению последствий стихийных бедствий - усиление строительных норм, субсидирование ставней ураганов или приобретение домов, подверженных наводнениям, - экономит общество $ 6, Тем не менее, есть рамки до уровня изменения климата, к которому могут обратиться любые инвестиции.

«Модель дивидендной оценки устойчивости» предоставляет сообществам структурированный способ для формирования и анализа политик и проектов устойчивости.

Третий шаг - это вложение достаточного финансового, социального и политического капитала в соответствие с приоритетами, согласованными обществом. В частности, это означает включение адаптации в бюджеты федеральных, штатных и местных правительственных учреждений и департаментов, а также прозрачность в том, во что инвестируют эти организации и почему.

Значительный прогресс был достигнут в улучшении раскрытия корпоративной информации о политике сокращения выбросов парниковых газов с помощью таких механизмов, как Целевая группа по раскрытию информации, связанной с климатом- инициатива частного сектора, направленная на то, чтобы помочь предприятиям выявлять и раскрывать риски для своей деятельности в рамках климатической политики. Но меньше внимания уделяется раскрытию рисков для бизнеса от воздействий климата, таких как нарушение каналы поставокили те, с которыми сталкиваются общественные организации, такие как городские власти.

Защитники говорят, что раскрытие корпорацией климатических рисков поможет инвесторам принимать обоснованные решения и позволит корпорациям подготовиться к изменению климата и выработать стратегию для борьбы с ним. {Youube} zz2jwERPjhc {/ youtube}

Наконец, правительствам необходимо создать структуры и показатели, чтобы они могли измерить свой прогресс. Парижское климатическое соглашение призывает страны сообщать о своих усилиях по адаптации. В ответ такие инструменты, как InformedCity в Австралии появляются новые, которые позволяют организациям измерить свой прогресс в достижении целей адаптации. Тем не менее, многие организации - от местных органов власти до корпоративных залов заседаний - не имеют возможности оценить, были ли их усилия по адаптации эффективными.

Есть много возможностей для управления климатическим риском во всем мире, но не все может быть сохранено. Задержка сортировки ущерба от изменения климата может привести к тому, что общества будут принимать специальные решения вместо того, чтобы сосредоточиться на защите того, что они ценят больше всего.Беседа

Об авторе

Бенджамин Престон, старший научный сотрудник; Программный директор по устойчивости инфраструктуры и экологической политике, Парди RAND Высшая школа и Джоанна Налау, научный сотрудник, Адаптация к изменению климата, Университет Гриффита

Эта статья переиздана из Беседа под лицензией Creative Commons. Прочтите оригинал статьи.

Книги по этой теме

{amazonWS: searchindex = Книги; ключевые слова = изменение климата и здоровье наций; maxresults = 3}

enafarZH-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Следуйте за InnerSelf

facebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

САМОЕ ЧИТАЕМОЕ

Ваш мозг каменного века ест вас живым
Ваш мозг каменного века ест вас живым
by Майкл Коттон, округ Колумбия
Медитация - это только первый шаг
Медитация - это только первый шаг
by Доктор Мигель Фариас и доктор Кэтрин Викхольм
Подождите! Что ты только что сказал???
Спросите, что вы хотите: вы действительно сказали это ???
by Денис Донаван, MD, M.ED., и Дебора Макинтайр
В защиту ультрапроцессированных продуктов
В защиту ультрапроцессированных продуктов
by Сильвен Шарлебуа и Джанет Мьюзик

We Can't Save Everything From Climate Change – Here's How To Make Choices

climate change

We Can't Save Everything From Climate Change – Here's How To Make Choices

Recent reports have delivered sobering messages about climate change and its consequences. They include the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change’s Special Report on Global Warming of 1.5°C; the fourth installment of the U.S. government’s National Climate Assessment; and the World Meteorological Organization’s initial report on the State of the Global Climate 2018.

As these reports show, climate change is already occurring, with impacts that will become more intense for decades into the future. They also make clear that reducing greenhouse gas emissions from human activities to a level that would limit warming to 2 degrees Celsius (3.6 degrees Fahrenheit) or less above preindustrial levels will pose unprecedented challenges.

Today, however, there is a large and growing gap between what countries say they’d like to achieve and what they have committed to do. As scholars focused on climate risk management and adaptation, we believe it is time to think about managing climate change damage in terms of triage.

Hard choices already are being made about which risks society will attempt to manage. It is critically important to spend limited funds where they will have the most impact.

We Can't Save Everything From Climate Change – Here's How To Make ChoicesAnnual average temperature over the continental United States has increased by 1.8 degrees Fahrenheit relative to 1900. Additional increases ranging from 3 degrees Fahrenheit to 12 degrees Fahrenheit are expected by 2100, depending on global greenhouse gas emission trends. USGCRP

Triaging climate change

Triage is a process of prioritizing actions when the need is greater than the supply of resources. It emerged on the battlefields of World War I, and is widely used today in fields ranging from disaster medicine to ecosystem conservation and software development.

The projected global costs of adapting to climate change just in developing countries range up to US$300 billion by 2030 and $500 billion by mid-century. But according to a recent estimate by Oxfam, just $5 billion to $7 billion was invested in projects specific to climate adaptation in 2015-2016.

Triaging climate change means placing consequences into different buckets. Here, we propose three.

The first bucket represents impacts that can be avoided or managed with minimal or no interventions. For example, assessments of how climate change will affect U.S. hydropower indicate that this sector can absorb the impacts without a need for costly interventions.

The second bucket is for impacts that are probably unavoidable despite all best efforts. Consider polar bears, which rely on sea ice as a platform to reach their prey. Efforts to reduce emissions can help sustain polar bears, but there are few ways to help them adapt. Protecting Australia’s Great Barrier Reef or the Brazilian Amazon poses similar challenges.

We Can't Save Everything From Climate Change – Here's How To Make ChoicesClare Mukankusi breeds beans for a gene bank in Kawanda, Uganda, with properties including drought resilience to help farmers cope with extreme conditions. Georgina Smith, CIAT, CC BY-NC-SA

The third bucket represents impacts for which practical and effective actions can be taken to reduce risk. For example, cities such as Phoenix, Chicago and Philadelphia have been investing for years in extreme heat warning systems and emergency response strategies to reduce risks to public health. There are a variety of options for making agriculture more resilient, from precision agriculture to biotechnology to no-till farming. And large investments in infrastructure and demand management strategies have historically helped supply water to otherwise scarce regions and reduce flood risk.

In each of these cases, the challenge is aligning what’s technically feasible with society’s willingness to pay.

What triage-based planning looks like

Other experts have called for climate change triage in contexts such as managing sea level rise and flood risk and conserving ecosystems. But so far, this approach has not made inroads into adaptation policy.

How can societies enable triage-based planning? One key step is to invest in valuing assets that are at risk. Placing a value on assets exchanged in economic markets, such as agriculture, is relatively straightforward. For example, RAND and Louisiana State University have estimated the costs of coastal land loss in Louisiana owing to property loss, increased storm damage, and loss of wetland habitat that supports commercial fisheries.

Valuing non-market assets, such as cultural resources, is more challenging but not impossible. When North Carolina’s Cape Hatteras lighthouse was in danger of collapsing into the sea, heroic efforts were taken to move it further inland because of its historic and cultural significance. Similarly, Congress makes judgments on behalf of the American people regarding the value of historic and cultural resources when it enacts legislation to add them to the U.S. national park system.

The next step is identifying adaptation strategies that have a reasonable chance of reducing risks. RAND’s support for the Louisiana Coastal Master Plan included an analysis of $50 billion in ecosystem restoration and coastal protection projects that ranked the benefits those projects would generate in terms of avoided damages.

This approach reflects the so-called “resilience dividend” – a “bonus” that comes from investing in more climate-resilient communities. For example, a recent report from the National Institute of Building Sciences estimated that every dollar invested in federal disaster mitigation programs - enhancing building codes, subsidizing hurricane shutters or acquiring flood-prone houses - saves society $6. Nevertheless, there are limits to the level of climate change that any investment can address.

The ‘Resilience Dividend Valuation Model’ provides communities with a structured way to frame and analyze resilience policies and projects.

The third step is investing enough financial, social and political capital to meet the priorities that society has agreed on. In particular, this means including adaptation in the budgets of federal, state, and local government agencies and departments, and being transparent about what these organizations are investing in and why.

Much progress has been made in improving disclosure of corporate exposure to greenhouse gas reduction policies through mechanisms such as the Task Force on Climate-Related Disclosures, a private sector initiative working to help businesses identify and disclose risks to their operations from climate policy. But less attention has been given to disclosing risks to businesses from climate impacts, such as the disruption of supply chains, or those faced by public organizations, such as city governments.

 Advocates say corporate disclosure of climate risks would help investors to make informed decisions, and would allow corporations to prepare for climate change and have a strategy to deal with it.{youube}zz2jwERPjhc{/youtube}

Finally, governments need to put frameworks and metrics in place so that they can measure their progress. The Paris Climate Agreement calls on countries to report on their adaptation efforts. In response, tools like InformedCity in Australia are emerging that enable organizations to measure their progress toward adaptation goals. Nevertheless, many organizations – from local governments to corporate boardrooms – are not equipped to evaluate whether their efforts to adapt have been effective.

There are many opportunities to manage climate risk around the world, but not everything can be saved. Delaying triage of climate damages could leave societies making ad hoc decisions instead of focusing on protecting the things they value most.The Conversation

About The Author

Benjamin Preston, Senior Policy Researcher; Program Director, Infrastructure Resilience and Environmental Policy, Pardee RAND Graduate School and Johanna Nalau, Research Fellow, Climate Adaptation, Griffith University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

Climate Change and the Health of Nations: Famines, Fevers, and the Fate of Populations

climate changeAuthor: Anthony McMichael
Binding: Hardcover
Features:
  • Oxford University Press USA

Brand: Oxford University Press USA
Studio: Oxford University Press
Label: Oxford University Press
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Manufacturer: Oxford University Press

Buy Now
Editorial Review: When we think of "climate change," we think of man-made global warming, caused by greenhouse gas emissions. But natural climate change has occurred throughout human history, and populations have had to adapt to the climate's vicissitudes. Anthony J. McMichael, a renowned epidemiologist and a pioneer in the field of how human health relates to climate change, is the ideal person to tell this story.

Climate Change and the Health of Nations shows how the natural environment has vast direct and indirect repercussions for human health and welfare. McMichael takes us on a tour of human history through the lens of major transformations in climate. From the very beginning of our species some five million years ago, human biology has evolved in response to cooling temperatures, new food sources, and changing geography. As societies began to form, they too adapted in relation to their environments, most notably with the development of agriculture eleven thousand years ago. Agricultural civilization was a Faustian bargain, however: the prosperity and comfort that an agrarian society provides relies on the assumption that the environment will largely remain stable. Indeed, for agriculture to succeed, environmental conditions must be just right, which McMichael refers to as the "Goldilocks phenomenon." Global warming is disrupting this balance, just as other climate-related upheavals have tested human societies throughout history. As McMichael shows, the break-up of the Roman Empire, the bubonic Plague of Justinian, and the mysterious collapse of Mayan civilization all have roots in climate change.

Why devote so much analysis to the past, when the daunting future of climate change is already here? Because the story of mankindâs previous survival in the face of an unpredictable and unstable climate, and of the terrible toll that climate change can take, could not be more important as we face the realities of a warming planet. This sweeping magnum opus is not only a rigorous, innovative, and fascinating exploration of how the climate affects the human condition, but also an urgent call to recognize our species' utter reliance on the earth as it is.




Global Insecurity: Futures of Global Chaos and Governance

climate changeBinding: Paperback
Creator(s):
  • Anthony Burke
  • Rita Parker

Studio: Palgrave Macmillan
Label: Palgrave Macmillan
Publisher: Palgrave Macmillan
Manufacturer: Palgrave Macmillan

Buy Now
Editorial Review:
This innovative volume gathers some of the world’s best scholars to analyse the world’s collective international efforts to address globalised threats through global security governance. Addressing global and planetary forms of insecurity that include nuclear weapons, conventional arms, gender violence, climate change, disease, bio weapons, cyber-conflict, children in conflict, crimes against humanity, and refugees, this timely book critiques how they are addressed by global institutions and regimes, and advocates important conceptual, institutional, and policy reforms. This is an invaluable resource for students, scholars and policymakers in international health, security and development.





Essentials of Environmental Health (Essential Public Health)

climate changeAuthor: Robert H. Friis
Binding: Paperback
Format: Abridged
Features:
  • Jones Bartlett Publishers

Brand: imusti
Studio: Jones & Bartlett Learning
Label: Jones & Bartlett Learning
Publisher: Jones & Bartlett Learning
Manufacturer: Jones & Bartlett Learning

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Given the success and positive reviews of the first edition, Friis has kept in tact the features that work well. The author has instead focused on completing a thorough update of tables, figures and data.

Major updates:
• New chapter (Chapter 14) on injuries
• All Web-based sources updated throughout to include the most recent information
• Expanded discussion of the history of environmental health, e.g., contributions of John Snow, Lemuel Shattuck, and Walter Reed
• New case study on pandemic influenza (H1N1) 2009
• Coverage of recent environmental controversies, such as use of bisphenol A in plastics

This best-selling offering from the APHA/Jones & Bartlett Learning Essential Public Health series is a clear and comprehensive study of the major topics of environmental health, including:

• Background of the field and "tools of the trade" (environmental epidemiology, environmental toxicology, and environmental policy and regulation).
• Environmental diseases (microbial agents, ionizing and non-ionizing radiation).
• Applications and domains of environmental health (water and air quality, food safety, waste disposal, and occupational health).

With a straightforward, non-technical approach, the author has included many examples and illustrations of environmental health issues. Perfect for the beginning student as well as the experienced health professional, each chapter concludes with study questions and exercises to engage the reader in further study.

Looking for more real-life evidence? Check out Cases 7, 13, 14, & 16 in Essential Case Studies in Public Health, Putting Public Health into Practice.




climate change
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

Support A Good Job!