لا يمكننا حفظ كل شيء من تغير المناخ - وإليك كيفية صنع الخيارات

لا يمكننا حفظ كل شيء من تغير المناخ - وإليك كيفية صنع الخيارات

لقد قدمت التقارير الأخيرة رسائل واقعية حول تغير المناخ وعواقبه. وهي تشمل الفريق الحكومي الدولي المعني بتغير المناخ تقرير خاص عن الاحترار العالمي لـ 1.5 ° C. الدفعة الرابعة من الحكومة الأمريكية التقييم الوطني للمناخ. والتقرير الأولي للمنظمة العالمية للأرصاد الجوية حول حالة المناخ العالمي 2018.

كما تظهر هذه التقارير ، فإن تغير المناخ يحدث بالفعل ، مع تأثيرات ستصبح أكثر كثافة لعقود في المستقبل. كما أنها توضح أن الحد من انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة من الأنشطة البشرية إلى المستوى الذي سيحد من الاحترار إلى 2 درجة مئوية (3.6 درجة فهرنهايت) أو أقل من مستويات ما قبل الصناعة سوف يشكل تحديات غير مسبوقة.

اليوم ، ومع ذلك ، هناك كبير ومتنامي فجوة بين ما تقول البلدان أنها ترغب في تحقيقه وما تعهدت بفعله. كما ركز العلماء على إدارة مخاطر المناخ و تكيف، نعتقد أن الوقت قد حان للتفكير في إدارة الضرر الناتج عن تغير المناخ من حيث الفرز.

لقد تم بالفعل اتخاذ خيارات صعبة حول المخاطر التي سيحاول المجتمع إدارتها. من الأهمية بمكان صرف أموال محدودة حيث سيكون لها الأثر الأكبر.

لا يمكننا حفظ كل شيء من تغير المناخ - وإليك كيفية صنع الخياراتزاد متوسط ​​درجة الحرارة السنوية على الولايات المتحدة القارية بنسبة 1.8 درجة فهرنهايت نسبة إلى 1900. زيادات إضافية تتراوح من 3 درجة فهرنهايت إلى 12 درجة فهرنهايت من المتوقع من قبل 2100 ، اعتمادا على اتجاهات انبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري العالمية. USGCRP

مواجهة تغير المناخ

الفرز هو عملية لتحديد أولويات الإجراءات عندما تكون الحاجة أكبر من عرض الموارد. ظهرت في ساحات المعارك في الحرب العالمية الأولى ، ويستخدم على نطاق واسع اليوم في مجالات تتراوح من طب الكوارث إلى حفظ النظام الايكولوجي و تطوير البرمجيات.

وتتراوح التكاليف العالمية المتوقعة للتكيف مع تغير المناخ في البلدان النامية 300 مليار دولار أمريكي بواسطة 2030 و 500 مليار دولار بحلول منتصف القرن. ولكن وفقا لتقدير حديث من منظمة أوكسفام ، فقط $ 5 مليار إلى 7 مليار دولار تم استثمارها في مشاريع مخصصة للتكيف مع المناخ في 2015-2016.

التغير في تغير المناخ يعني وضع العواقب في دلاء مختلفة. هنا ، نقترح ثلاثة.

تمثل المجموعة الأولى التأثيرات التي يمكن تجنبها أو إدارتها من خلال تدخلات قليلة أو معدومة. على سبيل المثال ، تقييم كيفية تأثير تغير المناخ الطاقة الكهرومائية في الولايات المتحدة تشير إلى أن هذا القطاع يمكنه استيعاب التأثيرات دون الحاجة إلى تدخلات مكلفة.

الدلو الثاني هو للتأثيرات التي ربما لا يمكن تجنبها على الرغم من كل الجهود المبذولة. فكّر في الدببة القطبية التي تعتمد على الجليد البحري كمنصة للوصول إلى فرائسها. يمكن أن تساعد الجهود المبذولة للحد من الانبعاثات على الحفاظ على الدببة القطبية ، ولكن هناك طرق قليلة لمساعدتها على التكيف. تشكل حماية الحاجز المرجاني العظيم في أستراليا أو الأمازون البرازيلي تحديات مماثلة.

لا يمكننا حفظ كل شيء من تغير المناخ - وإليك كيفية صنع الخياراتتولد Clare Mukankusi الفول من أجل بنك للجينات في Kawanda ، بأوغندا ، مع خصائص بما في ذلك مرونة الجفاف لمساعدة المزارعين على التعامل مع الظروف القاسية. جورجينا سميث ، CIAT, CC BY-NC-SA

تمثل المجموعة الثالثة التأثيرات التي يمكن اتخاذ إجراءات عملية وفعّالة للحد منها. على سبيل المثال ، كانت مدن مثل فينيكس وشيكاغو وفيلادلفيا تستثمر لسنوات نظم التحذير من الحرارة الشديدة واستراتيجيات الاستجابة للطوارئ للحد من المخاطر على الصحة العامة. هناك مجموعة متنوعة من الخيارات ل مما يجعل الزراعة أكثر مرونةمن الزراعة الدقيقة إلى التكنولوجيا الحيوية إلى الزراعة بدون حراثة. وقد ساعدت استثمارات كبيرة في البنية التحتية واستراتيجيات إدارة الطلب تاريخيا توفير المياه للمناطق النادرة و تقليل مخاطر الفيضانات.

في كل من هذه الحالات ، يتمثل التحدي في مواءمة ما هو ممكن تقنياً مع استعداد المجتمع للدفع.

ما يبدو التخطيط على أساس الفرز

دعا خبراء آخرون إلى إجراء تغيير المناخ في سياقات مثل إدارة ارتفاع مستوى سطح البحر ومخاطر الفيضانات و الحفاظ على النظم البيئية. لكن حتى الآن ، لم ينجح هذا النهج في تحقيق سياسة التكيف.

كيف يمكن المجتمعات تمكين التخطيط على أساس الفرز؟ تتمثل إحدى الخطوات الأساسية في الاستثمار في تقييم الأصول المعرضة للخطر. إن وضع قيمة على الموجودات المتبادلة في الأسواق الاقتصادية ، مثل الزراعة ، أمر بسيط نسبيًا. على سبيل المثال ، قدرت راند وجامعة ولاية لويزيانا تكاليف فقدان الأراضي الساحلية في لويزيانا بسبب فقدان الممتلكات وزيادة أضرار العواصف وخسارة موائل الأراضي الرطبة التي تدعم المصايد التجارية.

تعتبر عملية تقييم الأصول غير السوقية ، مثل الموارد الثقافية ، أكثر تحديا ولكنها ليست مستحيلة. عندما ولاية كارولينا الشمالية منارة كيب هاتيراس كان في خطر الانهيار في البحر ، واتخذت الجهود البطولية لتحريك مزيد من الداخلية بسبب أهميتها التاريخية والثقافية. وبالمثل ، فإن الكونغرس يصدر أحكامًا نيابة عن الشعب الأمريكي فيما يتعلق بقيمة الموارد التاريخية والثقافية عندما يسن التشريعات إضافتها إلى نظام الحديقة الوطنية الأمريكية.

الخطوة التالية هي تحديد استراتيجيات التكيف التي لديها فرصة معقولة للحد من المخاطر. دعم راند لل خطة لويزيانا الساحلية الرئيسية تضمنت تحليلاً بمبلغ مليار دولار 50 في مشاريع استعادة النظم الإيكولوجية وحماية السواحل التي صنفت الفوائد التي ستولدها تلك المشاريع من حيث تجنب الأضرار.

هذا النهج يعكس ما يسمى ب "عائد المرونة- "مكافأة" تأتي من الاستثمار في مجتمعات أكثر مقاومة للمناخ. على سبيل المثال ، قدّر تقرير حديث من المعهد الوطني لعلوم البناء أن كل دولار يستثمر في برامج التخفيف من الكوارث الفيدرالية - تعزيز قوانين البناء ، دعم مصاريع الإعصار أو الحصول على منازل معرضة للفيضان - يحفظ المجتمع $ 6. ومع ذلك ، هناك حدود إلى مستوى تغير المناخ الذي يمكن لأي استثمار معالجته.

يوفر "نموذج تقييم الأرباح المرن" للمجتمعات المحلية طريقة منظمة لإطار وتحليل سياسات ومشروعات المرونة.

الخطوة الثالثة هي استثمار ما يكفي من رأس المال المالي والاجتماعي والسياسي لتلبية الأولويات التي وافق عليها المجتمع. ويعني ذلك على وجه الخصوص ، تضمين التكيف في موازنات الوكالات والإدارات الحكومية الفيدرالية والولائية والمحلية ، والشفافية فيما تستثمره هذه المنظمات ولماذا.

أحرز تقدم كبير في تحسين الكشف عن تعرض الشركات لسياسات الحد من غازات الدفيئة من خلال آليات مثل فرقة العمل المعنية بالإفصاحات المتعلقة بالمناخوهي مبادرة من القطاع الخاص تعمل لمساعدة الشركات على تحديد المخاطر التي تتعرض لها عملياتها والإفصاح عنها من السياسة المناخية. ولكن تم إيلاء اهتمام أقل للإفصاح عن المخاطر التي تتعرض لها الشركات من التأثيرات المناخية ، مثل التعطيل سلاسل التوريدأو تلك التي تواجهها المؤسسات العامة ، مثل حكومات المدن.

يقول المناصرون إن الكشف عن المخاطر المناخية للشركات سيساعد المستثمرين على اتخاذ قرارات مستنيرة ، وسيسمح للشركات بالاستعداد لتغير المناخ ولديها استراتيجية للتعامل معها.

وأخيرًا ، تحتاج الحكومات إلى وضع أطر ومقاييس حتى تتمكن من قياس تقدمها. تدعو اتفاقية المناخ في باريس الدول إلى الإبلاغ عن جهودها للتكيف. ردا على ذلك ، أدوات مثل InformedCity في أستراليا بدأت تظهر مؤسسات تمكنها من قياس تقدمها نحو أهداف التكيف. ومع ذلك ، فإن العديد من المنظمات - من الحكومات المحلية إلى مجالس إدارة الشركات - غير مجهزة لتقييم ما إذا كانت جهودها للتكيف فعالة.

هناك العديد من الفرص لإدارة مخاطر المناخ حول العالمولكن لا يمكن حفظ كل شيء. إن تأخير فرز أضرار المناخ يمكن أن يترك المجتمعات تتخذ قرارات مخصصة بدلاً من التركيز على حماية الأشياء التي تقدّرها.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

بنيامين بريستون ، باحث سياسات أول. مدير البرنامج ، مرونة البنية التحتية والسياسة البيئية ، مدرسة Pardee راند الدراسات العليا وجوانا نالاو ، زميلة أبحاث ، التكيف المناخي ، جامعة جريفيث

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = climate change and the health of Nations؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

We Can't Save Everything From Climate Change – Here's How To Make Choices

climate change

We Can't Save Everything From Climate Change – Here's How To Make Choices

Recent reports have delivered sobering messages about climate change and its consequences. They include the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change’s Special Report on Global Warming of 1.5°C; the fourth installment of the U.S. government’s National Climate Assessment; and the World Meteorological Organization’s initial report on the State of the Global Climate 2018.

As these reports show, climate change is already occurring, with impacts that will become more intense for decades into the future. They also make clear that reducing greenhouse gas emissions from human activities to a level that would limit warming to 2 degrees Celsius (3.6 degrees Fahrenheit) or less above preindustrial levels will pose unprecedented challenges.

Today, however, there is a large and growing gap between what countries say they’d like to achieve and what they have committed to do. As scholars focused on climate risk management and adaptation, we believe it is time to think about managing climate change damage in terms of triage.

Hard choices already are being made about which risks society will attempt to manage. It is critically important to spend limited funds where they will have the most impact.

We Can't Save Everything From Climate Change – Here's How To Make ChoicesAnnual average temperature over the continental United States has increased by 1.8 degrees Fahrenheit relative to 1900. Additional increases ranging from 3 degrees Fahrenheit to 12 degrees Fahrenheit are expected by 2100, depending on global greenhouse gas emission trends. USGCRP

Triaging climate change

Triage is a process of prioritizing actions when the need is greater than the supply of resources. It emerged on the battlefields of World War I, and is widely used today in fields ranging from disaster medicine to ecosystem conservation and software development.

The projected global costs of adapting to climate change just in developing countries range up to US$300 billion by 2030 and $500 billion by mid-century. But according to a recent estimate by Oxfam, just $5 billion to $7 billion was invested in projects specific to climate adaptation in 2015-2016.

Triaging climate change means placing consequences into different buckets. Here, we propose three.

The first bucket represents impacts that can be avoided or managed with minimal or no interventions. For example, assessments of how climate change will affect U.S. hydropower indicate that this sector can absorb the impacts without a need for costly interventions.

The second bucket is for impacts that are probably unavoidable despite all best efforts. Consider polar bears, which rely on sea ice as a platform to reach their prey. Efforts to reduce emissions can help sustain polar bears, but there are few ways to help them adapt. Protecting Australia’s Great Barrier Reef or the Brazilian Amazon poses similar challenges.

We Can't Save Everything From Climate Change – Here's How To Make ChoicesClare Mukankusi breeds beans for a gene bank in Kawanda, Uganda, with properties including drought resilience to help farmers cope with extreme conditions. Georgina Smith, CIAT, CC BY-NC-SA

The third bucket represents impacts for which practical and effective actions can be taken to reduce risk. For example, cities such as Phoenix, Chicago and Philadelphia have been investing for years in extreme heat warning systems and emergency response strategies to reduce risks to public health. There are a variety of options for making agriculture more resilient, from precision agriculture to biotechnology to no-till farming. And large investments in infrastructure and demand management strategies have historically helped supply water to otherwise scarce regions and reduce flood risk.

In each of these cases, the challenge is aligning what’s technically feasible with society’s willingness to pay.

What triage-based planning looks like

Other experts have called for climate change triage in contexts such as managing sea level rise and flood risk and conserving ecosystems. But so far, this approach has not made inroads into adaptation policy.

How can societies enable triage-based planning? One key step is to invest in valuing assets that are at risk. Placing a value on assets exchanged in economic markets, such as agriculture, is relatively straightforward. For example, RAND and Louisiana State University have estimated the costs of coastal land loss in Louisiana owing to property loss, increased storm damage, and loss of wetland habitat that supports commercial fisheries.

Valuing non-market assets, such as cultural resources, is more challenging but not impossible. When North Carolina’s Cape Hatteras lighthouse was in danger of collapsing into the sea, heroic efforts were taken to move it further inland because of its historic and cultural significance. Similarly, Congress makes judgments on behalf of the American people regarding the value of historic and cultural resources when it enacts legislation to add them to the U.S. national park system.

The next step is identifying adaptation strategies that have a reasonable chance of reducing risks. RAND’s support for the Louisiana Coastal Master Plan included an analysis of $50 billion in ecosystem restoration and coastal protection projects that ranked the benefits those projects would generate in terms of avoided damages.

This approach reflects the so-called “resilience dividend” – a “bonus” that comes from investing in more climate-resilient communities. For example, a recent report from the National Institute of Building Sciences estimated that every dollar invested in federal disaster mitigation programs - enhancing building codes, subsidizing hurricane shutters or acquiring flood-prone houses - saves society $6. Nevertheless, there are limits to the level of climate change that any investment can address.

The ‘Resilience Dividend Valuation Model’ provides communities with a structured way to frame and analyze resilience policies and projects.

The third step is investing enough financial, social and political capital to meet the priorities that society has agreed on. In particular, this means including adaptation in the budgets of federal, state, and local government agencies and departments, and being transparent about what these organizations are investing in and why.

Much progress has been made in improving disclosure of corporate exposure to greenhouse gas reduction policies through mechanisms such as the Task Force on Climate-Related Disclosures, a private sector initiative working to help businesses identify and disclose risks to their operations from climate policy. But less attention has been given to disclosing risks to businesses from climate impacts, such as the disruption of supply chains, or those faced by public organizations, such as city governments.

 Advocates say corporate disclosure of climate risks would help investors to make informed decisions, and would allow corporations to prepare for climate change and have a strategy to deal with it.{youube}zz2jwERPjhc{/youtube}

Finally, governments need to put frameworks and metrics in place so that they can measure their progress. The Paris Climate Agreement calls on countries to report on their adaptation efforts. In response, tools like InformedCity in Australia are emerging that enable organizations to measure their progress toward adaptation goals. Nevertheless, many organizations – from local governments to corporate boardrooms – are not equipped to evaluate whether their efforts to adapt have been effective.

There are many opportunities to manage climate risk around the world, but not everything can be saved. Delaying triage of climate damages could leave societies making ad hoc decisions instead of focusing on protecting the things they value most.The Conversation

About The Author

Benjamin Preston, Senior Policy Researcher; Program Director, Infrastructure Resilience and Environmental Policy, Pardee RAND Graduate School and Johanna Nalau, Research Fellow, Climate Adaptation, Griffith University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

Climate Change and the Health of Nations: Famines, Fevers, and the Fate of Populations

climate changeAuthor: Anthony McMichael
Binding: Hardcover
Features:
  • Oxford University Press USA

Brand: Oxford University Press USA
Studio: Oxford University Press
Label: Oxford University Press
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Manufacturer: Oxford University Press

Buy Now
Editorial Review: When we think of "climate change," we think of man-made global warming, caused by greenhouse gas emissions. But natural climate change has occurred throughout human history, and populations have had to adapt to the climate's vicissitudes. Anthony J. McMichael, a renowned epidemiologist and a pioneer in the field of how human health relates to climate change, is the ideal person to tell this story.

Climate Change and the Health of Nations shows how the natural environment has vast direct and indirect repercussions for human health and welfare. McMichael takes us on a tour of human history through the lens of major transformations in climate. From the very beginning of our species some five million years ago, human biology has evolved in response to cooling temperatures, new food sources, and changing geography. As societies began to form, they too adapted in relation to their environments, most notably with the development of agriculture eleven thousand years ago. Agricultural civilization was a Faustian bargain, however: the prosperity and comfort that an agrarian society provides relies on the assumption that the environment will largely remain stable. Indeed, for agriculture to succeed, environmental conditions must be just right, which McMichael refers to as the "Goldilocks phenomenon." Global warming is disrupting this balance, just as other climate-related upheavals have tested human societies throughout history. As McMichael shows, the break-up of the Roman Empire, the bubonic Plague of Justinian, and the mysterious collapse of Mayan civilization all have roots in climate change.

Why devote so much analysis to the past, when the daunting future of climate change is already here? Because the story of mankindâs previous survival in the face of an unpredictable and unstable climate, and of the terrible toll that climate change can take, could not be more important as we face the realities of a warming planet. This sweeping magnum opus is not only a rigorous, innovative, and fascinating exploration of how the climate affects the human condition, but also an urgent call to recognize our species' utter reliance on the earth as it is.




Global Insecurity: Futures of Global Chaos and Governance

climate changeBinding: Paperback
Creator(s):
  • Anthony Burke
  • Rita Parker

Studio: Palgrave Macmillan
Label: Palgrave Macmillan
Publisher: Palgrave Macmillan
Manufacturer: Palgrave Macmillan

Buy Now
Editorial Review:
This innovative volume gathers some of the world’s best scholars to analyse the world’s collective international efforts to address globalised threats through global security governance. Addressing global and planetary forms of insecurity that include nuclear weapons, conventional arms, gender violence, climate change, disease, bio weapons, cyber-conflict, children in conflict, crimes against humanity, and refugees, this timely book critiques how they are addressed by global institutions and regimes, and advocates important conceptual, institutional, and policy reforms. This is an invaluable resource for students, scholars and policymakers in international health, security and development.





Essentials of Environmental Health (Essential Public Health)

climate changeAuthor: Robert H. Friis
Binding: Paperback
Format: Abridged
Features:
  • Jones Bartlett Publishers

Brand: imusti
Studio: Jones & Bartlett Learning
Label: Jones & Bartlett Learning
Publisher: Jones & Bartlett Learning
Manufacturer: Jones & Bartlett Learning

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Given the success and positive reviews of the first edition, Friis has kept in tact the features that work well. The author has instead focused on completing a thorough update of tables, figures and data.

Major updates:
• New chapter (Chapter 14) on injuries
• All Web-based sources updated throughout to include the most recent information
• Expanded discussion of the history of environmental health, e.g., contributions of John Snow, Lemuel Shattuck, and Walter Reed
• New case study on pandemic influenza (H1N1) 2009
• Coverage of recent environmental controversies, such as use of bisphenol A in plastics

This best-selling offering from the APHA/Jones & Bartlett Learning Essential Public Health series is a clear and comprehensive study of the major topics of environmental health, including:

• Background of the field and "tools of the trade" (environmental epidemiology, environmental toxicology, and environmental policy and regulation).
• Environmental diseases (microbial agents, ionizing and non-ionizing radiation).
• Applications and domains of environmental health (water and air quality, food safety, waste disposal, and occupational health).

With a straightforward, non-technical approach, the author has included many examples and illustrations of environmental health issues. Perfect for the beginning student as well as the experienced health professional, each chapter concludes with study questions and exercises to engage the reader in further study.

Looking for more real-life evidence? Check out Cases 7, 13, 14, & 16 in Essential Case Studies in Public Health, Putting Public Health into Practice.




climate change
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

Support A Good Job!