Lorsque vous cherchez à atteindre la paix, ce qui importe le plus, c'est l'intention

Lorsque vous cherchez à atteindre la paix, ce qui importe le plus, c'est l'intention
Pour d'autres, comme pour moi-même, l'aspiration à une simple goutte de baume miraculeux pour calmer les eaux troubles de la vie quotidienne est universel. Proches espèrent guérir les querelles amères qui les rompaient les uns des autres. Occupé manoeuvre les gens à arracher un moment de calme. Ceux qui sont pauvres pour la paix à long d'un estomac plein et de la sécurité physique.

Pourquoi l'approche américaine de la sécurité est profondément troublante

Pourquoi l'approche américaine de la sécurité est profondément troublante
La couverture médiatique de la présidence de Donald Trump a attiré l'attention sur ses tweets bizarres et spontanés, ses positions mal conçues et incendiaires sur l'immigration, les relations raciales et le changement climatique, son mantra «America First» et ses attaques incessantes sur les différentes enquêtes en collusion avec la Russie.

Tisser la paix dans le tissu de votre vie quotidienne

Tisser la paix dans le tissu de votre vie quotidienne
Beaucoup de femmes ont lutté en eux-mêmes de la paix et la guerre. Rejoindre une chaîne de femmes qui s'étendent loin dans le temps, ils ont demandé, comme ils l'ont demandé pendant des siècles, pourquoi l'humanité répète sans cesse le cycle tragique de la violence et de vengeance. Une fois de plus, ils ont pleuré la vie inutilement sacrifiées aux amères rivalités politiques et religieuses

Cinq films qui vous aideront à comprendre le monde arabe moderne

Kamkameh. Courtoisie de ShashatUn certain nombre d'événements catastrophiques ont frappé le monde arabe ces dernières années. Les reportages d'actualités occidentaux et le cinéma hollywoodien tendent à présenter ces crises à travers des images de catastrophes ou des histoires sur des protagonistes occidentaux dans lesquels les populations locales ne sont que des extras. Le cinéma du monde arabe est souvent plus complexe et nuancé.

Comment les élites du monde voient les États-Unis

Comment les élites du monde voient les États-UnisLe nouveau rapport de Chatham House sur les perceptions des États-Unis en Amérique latine et dans les États post-soviétiques - suite à une enquête antérieure sur l'Asie et l'Europe - souligne la tâche intimidante de la gestion des attentes qui attend l'image de l'Amérique dans le monde .

Les gens se battent dans les guerres étrangères pour de nombreuses raisons, ou parfois pas du tout

Les gens se battent dans les guerres étrangères pour de nombreuses raisons, ou parfois pas du toutLa mort de Dean Carl Evans, le deuxième homme britannique à être tué en combattant l'Etat islamique en Syrie après la mort de Konstandinos Erik Scurfield l'an dernier, devrait nous amener à nous demander pourquoi il et d'autres choisiraient de se rendre en première ligne. et s'impliquent dans la guerre civile sanglante d'un pays autre que le leur.

La pêche est au coeur du conflit de la mer de Chine méridionale

La pêche est au coeur du conflit de la mer de Chine méridionaleContrairement à l'opinion selon laquelle les conflits en mer de Chine méridionale sont motivés par une faim régionale pour les ressources énergétiques des fonds marins, les prix réels et immédiats en jeu sont les environnements marins et de la pêche de la région qui les soutiennent.

Voici à quoi pourrait ressembler une cyber-guerre

Voici à quoi pourrait ressembler une cyber-guerreImaginez que vous vous êtes réveillé pour découvrir une cyberattaque massive contre votre pays. Toutes les données du gouvernement ont été détruites, en prenant des dossiers de soins de santé, certificats de naissance, dossiers de soins sociaux et bien plus encore.

Pourquoi le monde a besoin d'une approche plus innovatrice pour l'aide humanitaire

Pourquoi le monde a besoin d'une approche plus innovatrice pour l'aide humanitaireCela a été une année difficile pour l'aide humanitaire. De grands événements ont laissé des images indélébiles. D'un enfant syrien mort échoué sur une plage turque, à des villageois pris au piège sous des décombres après des tremblements de terre au Népal et des familles affligées de victimes d'Ebola en Afrique de l'Ouest.

Qu'est-il arrivé au pétrole irakien après la guerre?

Qu'est-il arrivé au pétrole irakien après la guerre?Les opposants à la guerre en Irak soulignent souvent l'importance du pétrole en expliquant pourquoi l'invasion a eu lieu. Alors que les dirigeants de l'époque ont nié qu'il s'agissait d'une motivation, il ne fait aucun doute que les énormes champs pétrolifères du pays ont offert des opportunités post-conflit à l'industrie irakienne et aux sociétés internationales.

Comment attaques terroristes influent sur la santé mentale

Comment attaques terroristes influent sur la santé mentaleQuatre mois seulement après une série d'attentats coordonnés à Paris, les 130 sont morts, l'Europe a de nouveau été la cible d'actes terroristes terrifiants: hier, mars, 22, 2016, deux explosions ont secoué l'aéroport de Bruxelles et une autre la capitale belge. Au moins 30 personnes ont été tuées et plusieurs centaines d'autres ont été blessés dans l'attaque.

Ayons une discussion ouverte sur les causes de l'extrémisme et du terrorisme

Ayons une discussion ouverte sur les causes de l'extrémisme et du terrorismePlusieurs politiciens du gouvernement australien ont déclaré qu'une discussion franche est nécessaire sur les causes du terrorisme. Le ministre des Ressources Josh Frydenberg a donné le ton pour la semaine en disant que «la religion fait partie du problème». Il y a un problème «au sein de l'islam», a-t-il ajouté.

Que veut réellement l'État islamique?

Que veut réellement l'État islamique?Chaque communauté religieuse, à un moment donné de son histoire, a nourri une vision de l'apocalypse. Cela nous rappelle que le monde traverse périodiquement des conflits socio-religieux tumultueux, un chaos agonisant et une anarchie insupportable.

Pourquoi vaincre ISIS avec la puissance militaire est un idéalisme étoilé

Pourquoi vaincre ISIS avec la puissance militaire est un idéalisme étoiléCe week-end passé, des avions de la coalition Juillet 4, menée par les USA ciblée le bastion ISIS de Raqqa en Syrie. C'était l'un des "plus grands engagements délibérés à ce jour", a déclaré un porte-parole de la coalition, et il a été exécuté "pour empêcher [ISIS] la capacité de transférer des capacités militaires en Syrie et en Irak".

Quel est le problème avec l'externalisation de la guerre et de la sécurité?

Quel est le problème avec l'externalisation de la guerre et de la sécurité?La publication du Rapport sur la torture de l'ICA en décembre dernier a relancé le débat sur l'utilisation d'entrepreneurs pour remplir les fonctions de sécurité nationale. En effet, lorsque Saturday Night Live se moque des entrepreneurs pour leur rôle dans le waterboard, vous savez qu'une conversation nationale a été lancée.

Quel accord-cadre nucléaire iranien pourrait signifier pour la région et le monde

Quel accord-cadre nucléaire iranien pourrait signifier pour la région et le mondeC'est ainsi que, après des années de négociations prolongées, des délais prolongés et une danse diplomatique d'une ampleur sans précédent - un accord qui pourrait marquer une nouvelle ère pour les relations de l'Iran avec le monde. Des médias aux universités, les commentaires vont de l'optimisme prudent à la condamnation belliciste

Les passagers d'un avion de ligne étaient des victimes de l'impasse entre les exigences en matière de sécurité et de sûreté

Germain Airliner était une victime de l'impasse entre les exigences de sécurité et de sécuritéIl semble incroyable qu'un pilote d'une compagnie aérienne de passagers pourrait être verrouillé sur le poste de pilotage. Mais l'analyse de l'enregistreur de voix récupéré de Germanwings vol 4U9525 après labouré dans les Alpes du Sud en France a révélé que ce qui est arrivé et que l'un des deux pilotes avait essayé d'entrer dans le poste de pilotage avant le crash.

Quand on parle de terrorisme, n'oublions pas tous les genres

Quand on parle de terrorisme, n'oublions pas tous les genresNous avons besoin de définir le terrorisme indépendamment de qui est l'employer. Le terrorisme est la violence contre certaines personnes innocentes visant à l'intimidation et de coercition de quelques autres personnes. Cette définition ne dit rien sur l'identité des terroristes. Ils peuvent être des insurgés ou des criminels. Mais ils peuvent aussi être des membres de l'armée ou de quelque agence de sécurité de l'Etat.

Pourquoi le jihadisme appelle les solitaires religieusement analphabètes

Après avoir tué 12 dans les bureaux de Charlie Hebdo, les frères Chérif et Saïd Kouachi ont été entendus en proclamant: "Nous avons vengé le Prophète Muhammad". Des images d'amateurs ont également révélé que les assassins invoquaient Dieu avec la phrase arabe "Allahu Akbar". Cet énoncé religieux quotidien anodin est souvent usurpé comme un battlecry djihadiste.

Endommager notre pays avec des guerres de notre choix

Endommager notre pays avec des guerres de notre choix

Les tambours de guerre battent de nouveau avec les bombardiers américains pour, selon les mots du président Obama, «dégrader et détruire ISIS». Le Parti républicain, dirigé par les sénateurs Lindsay Graham et John McCain, veulent une plus grande accumulation militaire ce qui ne peut signifier que des soldats américains sur le terrain.

Le véritable test de la résolution américaine: ne pas attaquer la Syrie mais vivre selon nos idéaux à la maison

Le véritable test de la résolution américaine: ne pas attaquer la Syrie mais vivre selon nos idéaux à la maison

Nous sommes au bord d'une décision tragique de frapper la Syrie, car, dans la logique douteuse du Président, «beaucoup de gens pensent que quelque chose doit être fait» et la «crédibilité» américaine est en jeu. Lui et son secrétaire d'État nous assurent que la grève sera «limitée» et «chirurgicale». L'utilisation d'armes chimiques contre les citoyens syriens est abominable, et si le régime d'Assad est responsable, il devrait être traité comme un criminel international et paria.

11 Raisons pour lesquelles nous ne devrions pas attaquer la Syrie

11 Raisons pour lesquelles nous ne devrions pas attaquer la SyrieRappelez-vous la dernière fois qu'on nous a dit que des frappes militaires étaient nécessaires parce qu'un despote du Moyen-Orient avait utilisé des armes de destruction massive? Alors que les dirigeants politiques et médiatiques américains se préparent à des frappes militaires contre la Syrie, les parallèles avec les préparatifs de la guerre contre l'Irak devraient nous faire réfléchir.

Editorial du Monde du Peuple: Pas d'intervention de l'OTAN aux Etats-Unis en Syrie

Monde des gens: Pas d'intervention de l'OTAN aux États-Unis en Syrie

Les pressions pour une intervention militaire directe en Syrie par les États-Unis, la Grande-Bretagne, la France, la Turquie, Israël et les monarchies réactionnaires arabes du Golfe atteignent un point critique. À tout moment, nous pouvions entendre parler des frappes de drones ou des tentatives d'établir une zone d'exclusion aérienne et d'autres actes de guerre.

Se libérer du traumatisme de l'histoire - ensemble

Se libérer du traumatisme de l'histoire - Ensemble

Le «traumatisme collectif» arrive à de grands groupes de personnes - tentative de génocide, guerre, maladie, attaque terroriste - et peut être transmis à travers les générations et dans les communautés. Ses effets sont spécifiques: la peur, la rage, la dépression, la culpabilité du survivant et les réactions physiques dans le cerveau et le corps qui peuvent conduire à la maladie et à un sentiment de déconnexion ou de détachement ...

Les malformations congénitales: l'occupation de l'Irak a-t-elle laissé un héritage toxique?

Les malformations congénitales: l'occupation de l'Irak a-t-elle laissé un héritage toxique?

Pendant l'occupation de l'Irak, la ville de Falloujah a été témoin de certaines des opérations de combat les plus intenses des États-Unis depuis le Vietnam, l'opération Phantom Fury de 2004 étant largement condamnée pour sa férocité et son mépris du droit international. Le pédiatre Dr Samira Al'aani travaille dans la ville depuis 1997. Dans 2006, elle a commencé à remarquer une augmentation du nombre de bébés nés avec des malformations congénitales congénitales (CBD).

Greenwald: Existe-t-il une menace exagérée aux ambassades pour faire taire les critiques de la surveillance nationale de la NSA?

Greenwald: Existe-t-il une menace exagérée aux ambassades pour faire taire les critiques de la surveillance nationale de la NSA?

L'administration Obama a annoncé qu'elle maintiendrait les positions diplomatiques 19 en Afrique du Nord et au Moyen-Orient fermées pendant une semaine, en raison des craintes d'une éventuelle menace militante. Dimanche, le sénateur Saxby Chambliss, le plus haut républicain du Comité sénatorial du renseignement, a déclaré que la décision de fermer les ambassades était fondée sur des informations recueillies par l'Agence de sécurité nationale.

La prochaine guerre froide: les attaques pionnières en ligne aux États-Unis

La prochaine guerre froide: les attaques pionnières en ligne aux États-Unis

Le gouvernement américain est ouvertement et activement engagé dans une réincarnation de la guerre froide. Les ressources physiques telles que les espions et les informateurs ont été remplacées par des exploits logiciels et des analystes de sécurité réseau. La collecte de renseignements de la vieille école, même si elle est efficace dans une certaine mesure, est dérisoire par rapport à la portée des entreprises de données volumineuses comme Endgame et Palantir.

Avec qui sommes-nous en guerre? C'est classé

Avec qui sommes-nous en guerre? C'est classé

Dans un grand discours sur la sécurité nationale ce printemps, le président Obama a répété à maintes reprises que les États-Unis étaient en guerre contre «Al-Qaïda, les talibans et leurs forces associées». Alors, qui sont exactement ces forces associées? C'est un secret.

L'Empire ne sert à personne mais à lui-même

L'Empire ne sert à personne mais à lui-même

L'humanité est arrivée à un moment décisif dans son évolution de deux cent mille ans: nous sommes à un endroit où nous devons abandonner ou nous devons nous lever. Dernière nuit, dans un contexte de création de peur par l'Etat de sécurité, où soit vous vous taisiez, soit vous en subissiez les conséquences, ma femme et moi parlions de la résistance à l'empire et de ce que cela pouvait signifier.

Les yeux indiscrets de Big Brother

Les yeux indiscrets de Big Brother

Quelle que soit votre interprétation des récentes révélations sur l'espionnage gouvernemental de nos appels téléphoniques et de notre activité sur Internet, il ne fait aucun doute que Big Brother est plus grand et moins fraternel que nous le pensions.

Jeremy Scahill & Noam Chomsky sur Secret US Dirty Wars Du Yémen au Pakistan au Laos

Jeremy Scahill & Noam Chomsky sur Secret US Dirty Wars Du Yémen au Pakistan au Laos

Le journaliste d'investigation Jeremy Scahill et l'auteur Noam Chomsky se sont récemment réunis à l'Université de Harvard pour discuter du nouveau livre révolutionnaire de Scahill, "Dirty Wars: The World is a Battlefield". Amy Goodman a animé la discussion, parrainée par le Centre Carr pour la politique des droits de l'homme, la Harvard Kennedy School et l'ACLU du Massachusetts.

Ne pas ignorer comment les autres nous voient

La Syrie est Blowback

Pour notre sécurité nationale, le peuple américain doit reprendre le contrôle de sa présidence unilatérale qui s'est arrachée aux responsabilités constitutionnelles et continue d'être détournée par des idéologues qui ignorent la sagesse de nos pères fondateurs concernant la séparation des pouvoirs ...

Quel est le chemin à l'extrémisme violent?

Chris Hayes s'entretient avec Maya Berry, de l'Arab American Institute et l'ancien procureur fédéral Ken Ballen, de ce que nous devrions savoir sur le processus de radicalisation violente alors que de nouveaux détails éclairent la vie des suspects du bombardement du Marathon de Boston. .

Est-ce que la torture Nullify exceptionnalisme américain?

 

Mike Papantonio, Radio Ring of Fire, rejoint Thom Hartmann. Un nouveau rapport bipartisan fait des conclusions surprenantes sur le rôle de l'administration Bush dans les programmes de torture des détenus. Pourrons-nous jamais rendre responsables les responsables de l'une des périodes les plus honteuses de notre histoire pour leurs crimes?

Tuez tout ce qui bouge

Tuez tout ce qui bouge

"Kill Anything That Moves" n'est pas le livre que Nick Turse a écrit pour écrire. Il était, quand ses recherches ont commencé en juin 2001, un étudiant diplômé qui étudie le syndrome de stress post-traumatique chez les vétérans du Vietnam.

Le nouvel Irak: l'argent dans un trou de rat

Le coût élevé de la guerre en Irak

L'occupation elle-même était un gâchis bureaucratique classique commis par des hacks nommés politiques tandis que les vrais experts étaient réduits au silence et musclés par l'administration Bush et les médias complices. Et le coût en dollars et en cents? Trois mille milliards et qui achète beaucoup de diplômes universitaires.

enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidrues

suivez InnerSelf sur

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

suivez InnerSelf sur

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

Attaining Peace Must Be The Cause of Every Individual

Attaining Peace Must Be The Cause of Every Individual
When I was 4 years old, my grandfather died. The preacher said "por fin el a alcanzado la paz" which means (in Spanish) that he has finally reached peace. As I listened to him I began to think that peace was really important if grandfather had to go away to attain it. So I asked my mom what it meant "to have peace".

How The Pain Of 9/11 Still Stays With A Generation

How The Pain Of 9/11 Still Stays With A Generation

The Sept. 11, 2001 terrorist attacks were the worst acts of terrorism on American soil to date. Designed to instill panic and fear, the attacks were unprecedented in terms of their scope, magnitude and impact on the American psyche.

When Seeking To Attain Peace, What Matters Most Is Intention

When Seeking To Attain Peace, What Matters Most Is Intention
For others, as for myself, the yearning for just a drop of miraculous balm to quiet the troubled waters of daily life is universal. Loved ones hope to heal the bitter quarrels that sunder them from one another. Busy people maneuver to snatch a moment of calm. Those who are poor long for the peace of a full stomach and physical security.

Why The US Approach To Security Is Deeply Troubling

Why The US Approach To Security Is Deeply Troubling
Media coverage of Donald Trump’s presidency has fixated on his outlandish, off-the-cuff tweets, his ill-conceived and inflammatory positions on immigration, race relations and climate change, his “America First” mantra, and his unrelenting attacks on the various inquiries into collusion with Russia.

Weaving Peace into the Fabric of Your Daily Life

Weaving Peace into the Fabric of Your Daily Life
Many women have wrestled within themselves about peace and war. Joining a chain of women stretching far back in time, they have asked, as they have asked for centuries, why humankind endlessly repeats the tragic cycle of violence and retribution. Once again, they have mourned lives needlessly sacrificed to bitter political and religious rivalries

Russia, Coup d'Etats, And NATO Membership

Russia, Coup d'Etats, And NATO MembershipTestifying before a congressional committee, FBI Director James Comey has confirmed that his agency is investigating links between the Donald Trump campaign and Russia.

Can We Survive The Nuclear Anthropocene Epoch

Anthropocene1 3The era in which we live is now officially described as an atomic Anthropocene or the “age of humans”, an epoch defined by humans’ impact on the planet – and one of its most distinctive features is radiation.

Five Films That Will Help You Understand The Modern Arab World

Kamkameh. Courtesy of ShashatA number of catastrophic events have afflicted the Arab world in recent years. Western news reporting and Hollywood cinema tend to present these crises through disaster footage or stories about Western protagonists in which local people are merely extras. Film from the Arab world is often more complex and nuanced.

How The World's Elites View The US

How The World's Elites View The USChatham House’s new report on elite perceptions of the US in Latin America and the post-Soviet states – which follows a previous survey of Asia and Europe – underlines the uniquely daunting task of expectation management task that awaits anyone in charge of America’s image in the world.

Why Russians Support Putin's Foreign Policy

Why Russians Support Putin's Foreign PolicyTensions are again mounting between Russia and Ukraine.Dubiously claiming provocation, Russia has stationed 40,000 troops on the Ukrainian border. Russian President Vladimir Putin has warned of a full-scale invasion.

People Fight In Foreign Wars For Many Reasons, Or Sometimes None At All

People Fight In Foreign Wars For Many Reasons, Or Sometimes None At AllThe death of 22-year-old Dean Carl Evans, the second British man to be killed fighting the Islamic State in Syria after Konstandinos Erik Scurfield was killed last year, should prompt us to wonder why he and others would choose to travel to the frontline and involve themselves in the bloody civil war of a country other than their own.

Want To Prevent Lone Wolf Terrorism?

Want To Prevent Lone Wolf Terrorism?This September, as they start the school year, French children aged 14 years old and upwards are going to get lessons on how to deal with a terrorism attack on their school.

Fishing Is At The Heart Of The South China Sea Dispute

Fishing Is At The Heart Of The South China Sea DisputeContrary to the view that the South China Sea disputes are driven by a regional hunger for seabed energy resources, the real and immediate prizes at stake are the region’s fisheries and marine environments that support them.

Here's What A Cyber War Might Look Like

Here's What A Cyber War Might Look LikeImagine you woke up to discover a massive cyber attack on your country. All government data has been destroyed, taking out healthcare records, birth certificates, social care records and so much more.

When Terror Goes Viral It's Up To Us To Prevent Chaos

When Terror Goes Viral It's Up To Us To Prevent ChaosThe scent of chaos hangs heavy in the air. Donald Trump evokes it in Cleveland. Islamic State sows it in Nice, Brussels, Paris, Orlando. Britain is immersed in it after Brexit, while the EU struggles to prevent its onset amid mounting crises of migration and political legitimacy.

What Happened To Iraq's Oil After The War?

What Happened To Iraq's Oil After The War?Opponents of the Iraq war often highlight the importance of oil when explaining why the invasion took place. While leaders at the time denied it was a motivation there is no doubt the country’s huge oilfields did offer possible post-conflict opportunities for the Iraqi industry and international corporations.

How Terror Attacks Influence Mental Health

How Terror Attacks Influence Mental HealthOnly four months after a series of coordinated attacks in Paris left 130 people dead, Europe was once again the target of chilling acts of terrorism when yesterday, March 22, 2016, two explosions rocked the airport in Brussels and another ripped through a subway station in the Belgian capital. At least 30 people were killed and several hundred others were wounded in the attack.

Could The West Sleepwalk Into A War With Russia

military buildup 5 29Since the Ukraine crisis exploded into civil conflict and war in 2013, we have known that we live in troubled times. It has become increasingly clear that the peace order in Europe, established at the end of the Cold War in 1989, is unstable.

What Does The Islamic State Actually Want?

What Does Islamic State Actually Want?Every religious community, at some point in its history, has harboured a vision of the apocalypse. It reminds us that the world periodically goes through tumultuous socio-religious strife, agonising chaos and unbearable anarchy.

Can The West Survive Terrorism With The Current Approach?

Can The West Survive Terrorism With The Current Approach?In the aftermath of the co-ordinated terrorist attacks on Paris the urge to do something in response is understandably overwhelming. For want of something better to do when faced with an outrage of this sort, the default option is to bomb Syria.

Why Defeating ISIS With Military Might Is Starry Eyed Idealism

Why Defeating ISIS With Military Might Is Starry Eyed IdealismJust this past weekend of July 4, US-led coalition aircraft targeted the ISIS stronghold of Raqqa in Syria. It was one of the “largest deliberate engagements to date,” said a coalition spokesman, and it was executed “to deny [ISIS] the ability to move military capabilities throughout Syria and into Iraq.”

What's Wrong With Outsourcing War And Security?

What's Wrong With Outsourcing War And Security?The release of the CIA Torture Report last December re-opened the debate about using contractors to perform national security functions. Indeed, when Saturday Night Live mocks contractors for their role in waterboarding, you know that a national conversation has been unleashed.

What Iran Nuclear Framework Deal Could Mean For The Region And The World

What Iran Nuclear Framework Deal Could Mean For The Region And The WorldAnd so it came, after years of protracted negotiations, extended deadlines and a diplomatic dance of unprecedented proportions – a deal that could signal a new era for Iran’s relations with the world. From media to academia, commentary ranges from cautious optimism to hawkish condemnation

Passengers Of Airliner Were Victims of Deadlock Between Safety and Security Demands

Germain Airliner Was A Victim Of The Deadlock Between Safety And Security DemandsIt seems incredible that a pilot of a passenger airline could be locked out of the cockpit. But analysis from the cockpit voice recorder recovered from Germanwings flight 4U9525 after it ploughed into the Southern Alps in France has revealed that this is what happened and that one of the two pilots had been trying to get into the cockpit before the crash.

When Talking About Terrorism, Let’s Not Forget All The Kinds

When Talking About Terrorism, Let’s Not Forget All The KindsWe need to define terrorism independently of who is employing it. Terrorism is violence against some innocent people aiming at intimidation and coercion of some other people. This definition says nothing about the identity of terrorists. They can be insurgents or criminals. But they can also be members of the military or of some state security agency.

Understanding Objections To The Movie American Sniper

Understanding Objections To The Movie American SniperAfter watching the movie “American Sniper,” I called a friend named Garett Reppenhagen who was an American sniper in Iraq. He deployed with a cavalry scout unit from 2004 to 2005 and was stationed near FOB Warhorse.

Why Jihadism Appeals To Religiously Illiterate Loners

After killing 12 people at the offices of Charlie Hebdo, brothers Chérif and Saïd Kouachi were heard proclaiming, “we have avenged the Prophet Muhammad”. Amateur footage also revealed the killers invoking God with the Arabic phrase “Allahu Akbar”. This otherwise innocuous everyday religious utterance is frequently usurped as a jihadist battlecry.

Damaging Our Country With Wars of Our Choice

Damaging Our Country With Wars of Our Choice

The drums of war are beating once again with U.S. bombers to, in President Obama’s words, “degrade and destroy ISIS.” The Republican Party, led by war-at-any-cost Senators Lindsay Graham and John McCain, wants a bigger military buildup which can only mean U.S. soldiers on the ground.

Questions Raised And Risks Posed By Syrian Intervention

Questions Raised And Risks Posed By Syrian Intervention

The Syria situation continues to burn unabated – a conflict which becomes not only consistently more entrenched, violent, embittered and bloody, but which, in its quest for oxygen, has increasingly drawn in regional players like Israel, Iraq, Saudi Arabia, Qatar, Lebanon and Iran.

The True Test of American Resolve: Not Attacking Syria but Living Up to Our Ideals at Home

The True Test of American Resolve: Not Attacking Syria but Living Up to Our Ideals at Home

We are on the brink of a tragic decision to strike Syria, because, in the dubious logic of the President, “a lot of people think something should be done,” and American “credibility” is at stake. He and his secretary of state assure us that the strike will be “limited” and “surgical.” The use of chemical weapons against Syrian citizens is abominable, and if Assad’s regime is responsible he should be treated as an international criminal and pariah.

11 Reasons Why We Should Not Attack Syria

11 Reasons Why We Should Not Attack SyriaRemember the last time we were told military strikes were needed because a Middle Eastern despot had used weapons of mass destruction? As U.S. political and media leaders prepare for military strikes against Syria, the parallels to the lead-up to the war with Iraq should give us pause.

People's World Editorial: No U.S. NATO Intervention In Syria

People"s World: No U.S. NATO Intervention In Syria

Pressure for a direct military intervention in Syria by the United States, Britain, France, Turkey, Israel and the reactionary Gulf Arab monarchies is reaching a critical point. At any moment, we could hear about drone strikes or attempts to set up a no-fly zone and other acts of war.

Breaking Free of History's Trauma—Together

Breaking Free of History's Trauma — Together

“Collective trauma” happens to large groups of people — attempted genocide, war, disease, a terrorist attack — and can be transmitted down generations and throughout communities. Its effects are specific: fear, rage, depression, survivor guilt, and physical responses in the brain and body that can lead to illness and a sense of disconnection or detachment...

Birth Defects: Did The Occupation of Iraq Leave a Toxic Legacy?

Birth Defects: Did The Occupation of Iraq Leave a Toxic Legacy?

During the occupation of Iraq, the city of Fallujah bore witness to some of the most intense US combat operations since Vietnam, with 2004’s Operation Phantom Fury widely condemned for its ferocity and disregard for international law. Paediatrician Dr Samira Al’aani has worked in the city since 1997. In 2006 she began to notice an increase in the number of babies being born with congenital birth defects (CBD).

The Coming Cyber-Cold War: US Pioneering Online Attacks

The Coming Cyber-Cold War: US Pioneering Online Attacks

The US government is openly and actively engaged in a reincarnation of the Cold War. Physical assets such as spies and informants have been replaced with zero-day software exploits and network security analysts. Old-school intelligence gathering, while effective to some degree, pales in comparison with the scope of big-data firms such as Endgame and Palantir.

Who Are We at War With? That’s Classified

Who Are We at War With? That’s Classified

In a major national security speech this spring, President Obama said again and again that the U.S. is at war with “Al Qaeda, the Taliban, and their associated forces.” So who exactly are those associated forces? It’s a secret.

Empire Serves No One But Itself

Empire Serves No One But Itself

Humanity has come to a defining moment in its two hundred thousand year evolution: we are at a place where we either have to give up or we have to stand up.Last night, amidst a backdrop of fear-creation by the security state, where you either shut up or face the consequences, my wife and I were talking about standing up to empire and what it might mean.

Big Brother’s Prying Eyes

Big Brother’s Prying Eyes

Whatever your take on the recent revelations about government spying on our phone calls and Internet activity, there’s no denying that Big Brother is bigger and less brotherly than we thought.

A Digital Blackwater With As Bad An Ending

A Digital Blackwater With As Bad An Ending

About 70 percent of the national intelligence budget is now spent on the private sector. Former NSA Director Michael V. Hayden has described these firms as a quote "digital Blackwater."

Jeremy Scahill & Noam Chomsky on Secret U.S. Dirty Wars From Yemen to Pakistan to Laos

Jeremy Scahill & Noam Chomsky on Secret U.S. Dirty Wars From Yemen to Pakistan to Laos

Investigative journalist Jeremy Scahill and author Noam Chomsky recently sat down together at Harvard University to discuss Scahill’s groundbreaking new book, "Dirty Wars: The World is a Battlefield." Amy Goodman hosted the discussion, which was sponsored by the Carr Center for Human Rights Policy, Harvard Kennedy School and the ACLU of Massachusetts.

Rearranging The Deck Chairs On Planet Titanic?

Rearanging The Deck Chairs On Planet Titantic?

The United States was dominant in a previously unimaginable way. What could possibly go wrong? What could stand in the way of the greatest power history had ever seen? Rearranging The Deck Chairs On Planet Titanic?

Don’t Ignore How Others See Us

Syria Is Blowback

For our national security, the American people must recover control of our runaway, unilateral presidency that has torn itself away from constitutional accountabilities and continues to be hijacked by ideologues who ignore our Founding Fathers’ wisdom regarding the separation of powers...

Sometimes A Cigar Is Just A Cigar

Sometimes A Cigar Is Just A Cigar

Because there is no longer a trusted arbiter of the "truth" people are free to believe whatever they believe and hunker into their "silos" and receive only the information that reinforces their preconceptions.

The Drone War Blowback - Empowering Militants

The Drone War Blowback - Empowering Militants

Six days after the U.S. bombed his village, Yemeni activist Farea al-Muslimi testified on Capitol Hill about the terror of the U.S. drone wars. He spoke during the Senate’s first-ever public hearing on the Obama administration’s targeted killing program...

What Is The Path To Violent Extremism?

As new details shed light on the lives of the Boston Marathon bombing suspects' lives leading up to the attack, Chris Hayes talks with Maya Berry of the Arab American Institute and former federal prosecutor Ken Ballen about what we should know about the process of violent radicalization.

Does Torture Nullify American Exceptionalism?

 

Mike Papantonio, Ring of Fire Radio, joins Thom Hartmann. A new bipartisan report makes startling conclusions about the Bush Administration's role in detainee torture programs. Will we ever hold those responsible for one of the most shameful periods in our history accountable for their crimes?

When MSNBC Couldn’t Tolerate Antiwar Voices

When Liberal Network Couldn’t Tolerate Antiwar Voices

In 2003, the legendary television host Phil Donahue was fired from his prime-time MSNBC talk show during the run-up to the U.S. invasion of Iraq. The problem was not Donahue’s ratings, but rather his views.

enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}