لماذا من الصعب جدا تحسين الشرطة الأمريكية؟

لماذا من الصعب جدا تحسين الشرطة الأمريكية؟

أثار استخدام القوة المميتة من قبل ضباط الشرطة في مينيسوتا وباتون روج احتجاجات جديدة على الديناميكية العنيفة بين المواطنين والشرطة.

المثال المثالي اليوم هو "العمل الشرطي الديمقراطي" ، وهو مفهوم طوره علماء مثل غاري ت. ماركس في معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا. على نطاق واسع ، هذا يشير إلى قوة شرطة خاضعة للمساءلة علانية ، تخضع لسيادة القانون ، وتحترم كرامة الإنسان وتتدخل في حياة المواطنين في ظروف محدودة معينة فقط.

جزئيا في استجابة لهذا المثل الأعلى ، تطورت الشرطة في أمريكا بشكل كبير على مدى السنوات الماضية 50. كانت هناك تغييرات في التوظيف ، وكيفية إدارة العلاقات مع المدنيين وما هي التقنيات المستخدمة.

شهد القرن 20th بطء ولكن التكامل المطرد من الأقليات والنساء داخل قوات الشرطة. وقد أثرت النماذج الإدارية المختلفة التي تهدف إلى تحسين العلاقات مع المواطنين أيضًا في أعمال الشرطة خلال السنوات العشر الأخيرة من 40. الأبرز بين هذه هي الشرطة المجتمعية, العمل على حل المشاكل و الشرطة بقيادة المخابرات.

وتحولت أعمال الشرطة أيضاً إلى تغيُّر عميق بسبب الإدماج السريع للتكنولوجيات الجديدة التي تؤدي إلى حوسبة قوات الشرطة مثل تحديد مواقع النقاط الساخنة المتعلقة بالجريمة ، والوصول إلى نطاق أوسع من الأسلحة مثل مسدسات الصعق ، ونشر تكنولوجيات المراقبة مثل الطائرات بدون طيار ، والدارات التلفزيونية المغلقة.

بعض هذه التغييرات كانت إيجابية ، ولكن كما أظهرت الأحداث الأخيرة ، لا تزال هناك العديد من المشاكل. لماذا لم يتم إحراز المزيد من التقدم؟

ليست كل قوات الشرطة متساوية

مشكلة واحدة هي عدم المساواة المتأصلة في النظام. على سبيل المثال ، واشنطن ، دي سي لديه ضباط شرطة 61.2 لكل سكان 10,000 ، في حين أن باتون روج لديه 28.7 فقط.

إن الشرطة في أمريكا ليست مهنة موحدة تسترشد بمجموعة من الإجراءات والسياسات المعمول بها. هناك على الأقل 12,000 محلي وكالات الشرطة في الولايات المتحدة، مما يجعلها واحدة من الأكثر لامركزية منظمات الشرطة في العالم.

هناك أكثر من أكاديميات تابعة لأكاديمية الشرطة المحلية و 600 في جميع أنحاء البلاد تقدم برامج تدريبية تختلف جدا في المحتوى والجودة والكثافة. هذا ، لا محالة ، له تأثير على مهارات من خريجيهم.

الاختلافات في العمل الشرطي تعكس أيضا جودة القيادة وتوافر الموارد.

قادة الشرطة والقادة يمثلون مصدرًا هامًا للتأثير. فهي توفر العقيدة من خلال تقرير ما إذا كان ينبغي التركيز على منع الجريمة أو قمعها. يقومون بتصميم استراتيجيات مثل رؤية الشرطة أو عدم التسامح. وهم يحددون الممارسة التي يجب تبنيها - تقريب المشتبه بهم المعتادين أو التوقف المنهجي والتنقل.

في كثير من الأحيان ، لا تتماشى ممارسات الشرطة هذه مع توقعات الجمهور. مجالس مراجعة المواطنين - مثل تلك التي في مدينة نيويورك or سان دييغو - هي الاستثناء وليس القاعدة.

ثم هناك قضية المال. وببساطة لا تتمكن إدارات الشرطة التي تعاني من شلل مالي من توفير التدريب المنتظم وبالتالي لا تملك الخبرة اللازمة لمتابعة أنواع معينة من الجرائم. على سبيل المثال ، يتطلب العمل في مكافحة الاحتيال خبرة مالية ووحدات متخصصة.

من العلاقات العامة الشرطة إلى الشرطة المكثفة

تختلف أساليب الشرطة في أمريكا وفقًا للجمهور المستهدف.

وكثيراً ما تتميز الشرطة بالعمل في الأحياء الثرية باستراتيجيات الشرطة "الناعمة". وبعبارة أخرى ، فإن الشرطة في تلك المناطق هي مسألة تجعل الناس يشعرون بالأمان أكثر من القتال الفعلي ضد الجريمة.

ومع ذلك ، فإن وجود الشرطة ونشاطها غالبا ما يكون في الأحياء المحرومة والمتعددة الأعراق أكثر كثافة. هم هناك لاستهداف الجرائم التي تم تحديدها كأولويات من قبل قيادة الشرطة والمسؤولين المنتخبين.

في الواقع ، نموذج واحد للشرطة ، الشرطة التنبؤية، يمكن تفاقم التوتر العنصري بين تطبيق القانون والمجتمعات الأمريكية الأفريقية.

يقوم عمل الشرطة التنبئي على تحليل الجريمة والحوسبة. يساعد هذا النموذج تطبيق القانون في تعبئة موارده في الأماكن التي تميل فيها الجريمة إلى التركيز. تميل مجموعات الجرائم هذه إلى التواجد في المجتمعات الفقيرة والمحرومة. ومع ذلك ، فإن محاولة منع الجريمة من خلال تركيز قوات الشرطة على بعض العناوين وزوايا الشوارع والكتل تزيد من مواجهات رجال الشرطة. يمكن لبعض هذه اللقاءات - حتى بين الشرطة والمواطنين الملتزمين بالقانون المحاصرين في الشبكة - أن تتحول إلى العنف.

هناك اتجاه ملحوظ آخر في وسط الإعلام اليوم هو "عسكرة" الشرطة.

هذا عدم وضوح التمييز بين الشرطة والمؤسسات العسكرية ، بين إنفاذ القانون والحرب ، بدأت في 1980s وتكثف فقط منذ ذلك الحين. تم تعزيزه من خلال خطاب السياسة العامة الذي يدعو إلى "الحرب على الجريمة" ، و "الحرب على المخدرات" و "الحرب على الإرهاب". بدأت قوات الشرطة في الحصول على المعدات العسكرية وتنفيذ التدريب العسكري مع المساءلة ضئيلة أو معدومة. على سبيل المثال ، في أعقاب 9 / 11 ، تلقت العديد من إدارات الشرطة المحلية تمويلاً من وزارة الأمن الداخلي ووزارة الدفاع مع القليل من التوجيه أو لا يوجد إرشادات حول كيفية إنفاق المال. وأدى ذلك إلى شراء معدات عسكرية غير ضرورية بما في ذلك السيارات المصفحة والسترات الواقية من الرصاص للكلاب والروبوتات المتقدمة لنزع سلاح القنابل.

المدن مع فرق سوات
مؤلف المنصوص

ونتيجة لذلك ، شهدنا ازدهار فرق SWAT (الأسلحة الخاصة والتكتيكات): 80 في المائة من المدن التي تضم سكان 25,000 إلى 50,000 لديهم الآن فريق SWAT. من أواخر 1990s ، من خلال برنامج 1033، أذنت وزارة الدفاع بنقل المعدات العسكرية إلى أقسام الشرطة في جميع أنحاء البلاد. منذ 2006 اشترت الشرطة مدافع رشاشة 93,763 وسيارات 435 مدرعة من البنتاغون. كل هذا لم يؤد إلا إلى زيادة الإمكانات الحقيقية والمتصورة للقوة المميتة من قبل ضباط الشرطة.

الآن أراك

وثمة تغيير هام آخر في أعمال الشرطة الحديثة يتمثل في زيادة القدرة على رصد النشاط الإجرامي والسكان بشكل عام.

أصبح بإمكان وكالات الشرطة الآن الوصول إلى شبكة واسعة من شاشات الدوائر التلفزيونية المغلقة (CCTV) ، مما يسمح بمراقبة الأماكن العامة والخاصة. فقط لإعطاء بعض الأرقام ، فإن قسم شرطة شيكاغو لديه حق الوصول إلى كاميرات 17,000 ، بما في ذلك 4,000 في المدارس العامة و 1,000 في مطار O'Hare.

الطائرات بدون طيار ، أيضا ، في استخدام متزايد. تقوم دورية الحدود الأمريكية بنشرهم لمراقبة أنشطة التهريب. لقد تم شراؤها من قبل رقم من أقسام الشرطة المحلية ، بما في ذلك في لوس أنجلوس ؛ مقاطعة ميسا ، أريزونا. مقاطعة مونتغومري ، تكساس. مقاطعة ميامي - دادي؛ وسياتل.

مرآة المجتمع

في العديد من الاعتبارات ، تعتبر وكالات الشرطة مرآة لمعتقداتنا وقيمنا كمجتمع.

عندما أستخدم هذا الافتراض لظاهرة الشرطة المكثفة ، ليس من المستغرب ، حسب رأيي ، أن تكون الدولة التي لديها أعلى معدل لملكية السلاح بين الدول الغربية ، معدل القتل بواسطة البنادق بين الديمقراطيات المتقدمة وأكبر جهاز عسكري في العالم سيرى عسكرة الشرطة.

ويمكن التفكير في استخدام تقنيات مراقبة الشرطة في مجتمع تعرف فيه تكنولوجيا المعلومات تفاعلاتنا بشكل متزايد.

في نهاية المطاف ، لا يمكن فصل الشرطة عن السياسة. تتأثر منظمات الشرطة باستمرار بالضغوط السياسية ، مثل ترشيح رئيس جديد للشرطة أو قوانين جديدة يجب على الشرطة فرضها. وبعبارة أخرى ، فإن وضع نظام الشرطة لدينا ، سواء كان ذلك لصالح أو للمرض ، هو مقياس دقيق للدقة فيما يتعلق بحالة ديمقراطيتنا.

نبذة عن الكاتب

فريدريك ليميو ، أستاذ ومدير برنامج البكالوريوس في دراسات الشرطة والأمن ؛ ماجستير في القيادة الأمنية والسلامة. درجة الماجستير في العمليات الإلكترونية الاستراتيجية وإدارة المعلومات ، جامعة جورج واشنطن

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = militaryisization of police؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Why Is It So Hard To Improve American Policing?

Why Is It So Hard To Improve American Policing?

The use of lethal force by police officers in Minnesota and Baton Rouge has once again sparked protests over the violent dynamic between citizens and the police.

The ideal today is “democratic policing,” a concept developed by scholars like Gary T. Marx at MIT. Broadly, this refers to a police force that is publicly accountable, subject to the rule of law, respectful of human dignity and that intrudes into citizens’ lives only under certain limited circumstances.

Partly in response to this ideal, policing in America has evolved considerably over the past 50 years. There have been changes in hiring, how relations with civilians are managed and what technologies are used.

The 20th century has seen a slow but steady integration of minorities and women within police forces. Different managerial models aimed at improving relations with citizens have also influenced policing over the last 40 years. The most prominent among these are community-oriented policing, problem-oriented policing and intelligence-led policing.

Policing has also been deeply transformed by the rapid integration of new technologies leading to computerization of police forces such as the profiling of crime hotspots, access to a broader range of weapons like tasers and the deployment of surveillance technologies like drones and closed circuit TV.

Some of these changes have been positive, but as recent events show, many problems remain. Why hasn’t more progress been made?

Not all police forces are equal

One problem is the inequality inherent in the system. For example, Washington, D.C. has 61.2 police officers per 10,000 residents, while Baton Rouge has just 28.7.

Policing in America is not a standardized profession guided by an established set of procedures and policies. There are at least 12,000 local police agencies in the United States, making it one of the most decentralized police organizations in the world.

There are more than 600 state and local police academies across the country delivering training programs that vary tremendously in content, quality and intensity. This, inevitably, has an impact on the skills of their graduates.

Differences in policing also reflect the quality of leadership and the availability of resources.

Police chiefs and commanders represent a critical source of influence. They provide the doctrine by deciding whether to focus on prevention or repression of crime. They design strategies like police visibility or zero tolerance. And they identify the practice to be adopted – rounding up the usual suspects or systematic stop-and-frisk.

Often, however, these police practices are not aligned with public expectations. Citizen review boards – such as those in New York City or San Diego – are the exception rather than the norm.

And then there is the money issue. Police departments that are financially crippled are simply not able to provide regular training and therefore don’t have the expertise to pursue certain kinds of crime. The policing of fraud, for example, requires financial expertise and specialized units.

From public relations policing to intensive policing

Policing styles in America vary according to the targeted audience.

Police work in an affluent neighborhoods is often characterized by “soft” policing strategies. In other words, policing in those areas is more a question of making people feel secure than actual crime fighting.

However, in disadvantaged, multi-ethnic neighborhoods, police presence and activity are often more intense. They are there to target crimes that have been identified as priorities by police leadership and elected officials.

In fact, one policing model, predictive policing, can exacerbate racial tension between law enforcement and African-American communities.

Predictive policing is based on crime analysis and computerization. This model helps law enforcement mobilize their resources in places where crime tends to concentrate. These crime clusters tend to be located in poor and disadvantaged communities. However, trying to prevent crime by focusing police forces on some addresses, street corners and blocks increases police-citizens encounters. Some of these encounters – even between police and law-abiding citizens caught up in the dragnet – can turn violent.

Another noticeable trend that is front and center in the media today is the “militarization” of police.

This blurring of the distinction between the police and military institutions, between law enforcement and war, began in the 1980s and has only intensified since. It was reinforced by public policy rhetoric calling for a “war on crime,” “war on drugs” and “war on terror.” Police forces began to acquire military equipment and implement militarized training with little or no accountability. For instance, in the wake of 9/11, several local police departments received funding from the Department of Homeland Security and Department of Defense with little or no guidance on how to spend the money. This led to the unnecessary purchase of military equipment including armored cars, bulletproof vests for dogs and advanced bomb-disarming robots.

cities with swat teams
Author provided

As a result, we have seen a booming of SWAT (Special Weapons and Tactics) teams: 80 percent of cities with 25,000 to 50,000 inhabitants now have a SWAT team. From the late 1990s, through the 1033 Program, the Department of Defense has authorized the transfer of military equipment to police departments across the country. Since 2006 the police have bought 93,763 machine guns and 435 armored cars from the Pentagon. All this has only heightened the real and perceived potential for deadly force by police officers.

Now I see you

Another significant change in modern policing is the increasing capacity to monitor criminal activity and the population in general.

Police agencies now have access to a vast network of closed-circuit television (CCTV) monitors, allowing the surveillance of public and private spaces. Just to give a few numbers, the Chicago Police Department has access to 17,000 cameras, including 4,000 in public schools and 1,000 at O’Hare Airport.

Drones, too, are increasingly in use. The U.S. Border Patrol deploys them to monitor smuggling activities. They have been purchased by a number of local police departments, including those in Los Angeles; Mesa County, Arizona; Montgomery County, Texas; Miami Dade; and Seattle.

A mirror of society

In many regards, police agencies are a mirror of our beliefs and values as a society.

When applying this assumption to the phenomenon of intensive policing, it is not surprising, I would argue, that a country that has the highest rate of gun ownership among Western countries, the highest murder rate by guns among advanced democracies and the largest military apparatus in the world would see a militarization of its police.

The same reflection can be made about the use of police surveillance technologies in a society where information technology increasingly defines our interactions.

Ultimately, policing is inseparable from politics. Police organizations are constantly influenced by political pressure, such as the nomination of a new chief of police or new laws that police must enforce. The state of our police system, in other words, for good or for ill, is an accurate proxy measure of the state of our democracy.

About The Author

Frederic Lemieux, Professor and Program Director of Bachelor in Police and Security Studies; Master’s in Security and Safety Leadership; Master’s in Strategic Cyber Operations and Information Management, George Washington University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

Rise of the Warrior Cop: The Militarization of America's Police Forces
justiceAuthor: Radley Balko
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: PublicAffairs
List Price: $17.99

Buy Now

Police: A Field Guide
justiceAuthor: David Correia
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Verso
List Price: $19.95

Buy Now

Nobody: Casualties of America's War on the Vulnerable, from Ferguson to Flint and Beyond
justiceAuthor: Marc Lamont Hill
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Atria Books
List Price: $16.00

Buy Now

zh-CNtlfrdehiidptes

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}