Was ist Doxxing und warum ist es so unheimlich?

Sicherheit

Was ist Doxxing und warum ist es so unheimlich?
The Conversation, von Brian A. Jackson / Shutterstock.com und Kansas Department of Transportation über AP, CC BY-ND

Es ist fast selbstverständlich, dass Sie persönliche Informationen online verfügbar haben. Neben Social Media und Online-Diskussionsforen gibt es öffentliche Aufzeichnungen über Eigentumsordnung und Registrierung der Wähler, ebenso gut wie massive Datenbanken mit Finanzinformationen zusammengestellt von Ratingagenturen.

Einzeln genommen sind viele dieser Informationen gutartig. Also haben Sie bei den Präsidentschaftswahlen von 2016 eine Stimme abgegeben, ein Kind an einer bestimmten öffentlichen Grundschule eingeschrieben oder einmal einen Kommentar auf einer lokalen Zeitungsseite gepostet, die gegen institutionellen Rassismus war. Sehr viele Leute kennen diese Dinge - sogar Fremde. Der Schaden kommt erst, wenn jemand herausfindet, wie man diese Teile zusammenfügt und dann alles online veröffentlicht.

Diese Art von Offenbarung heißt "Doxxing, "Ein altes Internet-Begriff, der von der Idee der Sammlung der Dokumente oder" Docs "auf eine Person kommt. Der Versuch, persönliche Informationen zu entdecken und offenzulegen, lange vor dem Internet.

Und es sind nicht nur Hacker, die doxx sind. In einer aktuellen Forschungsstudie fand ich das Nachrichtenorganisationen haben doxxed Kommentatoren, die Artikel gepostet haben. In Online-Communities, in denen die Leute oft anonym sind, wird die Verletzung der Privatsphäre von jemandem als aggressiv angesehen - und für manche Menschen ist es das, was nach dem Doxxen passiert ist geradezu gefährlich.

Eine Spur von Paniermehl

Es ist nicht überraschend, dass Informationen einen Wert haben - insbesondere Informationen, die sich auf die Identität, Interessen und Gewohnheiten der Menschen beziehen. Dies ist schließlich das Zeitalter der Big Data, Social Media und gezielte Werbungdem „Vermischten Geschmack“. Seine Facebook-Cambridge Analytica-Skandal ist nur eine von vielen Veranstaltungen, bei denen regelmäßige Leute es herausgefunden haben wie viele persönliche Informationen verfügbar sind im Internet.

Die Leute fanden auch heraus, wie wenig Macht sie über ihre Informationen hatten. Im Allgemeinen wollen und haben die Menschen die Kontrolle darüber, wer was von ihnen weiß. Individuell Identität ist zum Teil Leistung: Menschen Entscheide und ändere, wer sie sind und wie sie sich verhalten an verschiedenen Orten, um verschiedene Gruppen herum.

Dies gilt insbesondere online, wo viele Websites und Dienstleistungen erlauben Sie Benutzern, anonym oder pseudonym zu sein oder Verstecken Sie ihre Informationen von anderen Benutzern suchen. In vielen Fällen enthält jede Website selbst einige private Informationen über Benutzer, z. B. eine E-Mail-Adresse, um dienstbezogene Hinweise zu erhalten. Online-Plattformen bieten den Nutzern jedoch ein gewisses Maß an Kontrolle über ihre Identität und ihre persönlichen Daten.

Die Kontrolle verlieren

Diese Kontrolle ist jedoch nicht vollständig und stellt kein genaues Maß an Privatsphäre dar. Benutzer hinterlassen digitale Spuren und registrieren sich auf mehr als einer Website mit dem dieselbe E-Mail-Adresseunter dem gleicher Benutzername (auch wenn ein Pseudonym) in mehreren Foren oder sogar mit ähnlichen Phrasen in verschiedenen Kontexten. Darüber hinaus verfolgen viele Websites, von welchen Netzwerkadressen ihre Benutzer eine Verbindung herstellen verraten Sie den Standort und andere Details von einer Person, die regelmäßig besonders virulente Propaganda aussticht.

Wenn jemand diese digitalen Spuren verbindet und sie mit anderen Menschen teilt - oft mit Fremden oder sogar mit der breiteren Öffentlichkeit -, nehmen sie die Kontrolle über private Daten über ihr Ziel hinweg. Diese Leute versuchen oft, die Person, die für ihre Handlungen verantwortlich ist, zur Rechenschaft zu ziehen, sei es, dass sie Online-Hass fortsetzt oder ihm entgegenwirkt, oder gescheiterte romantische Beziehungen.

In einem aktuellen Fall mit relativ milden Folgen, a Temple University Professor wurde enthüllt als Beteiligter an einem Online-Account mit dem Spitznamen "Wahrsucher", der mindestens einen anti-muslimischen Kommentar auf einer rechten Website gepostet hatte und auch verschiedene konservative Verschwörungstheorien gefördert hatte.

Das GesprächSchwerere Fälle haben dazu geführt Online- und Real-World-Belästigung von Frauen in der Spieleindustrie, Streichrufe, um die Polizei zu rufen zu einem Politiker zu Hause und sogar Morddrohungen gegen eine Person und ihre Familie. Doxxing macht Daten letztlich zu einer Waffe.

Über den Autor

Jasmine McNealy, Assistant Professor für Telekommunikation, University of Florida

Dieser Artikel wurde ursprünglich veröffentlicht am Das Gespräch.. Lies das Original Artikel.

Bücher zum Thema:

Sicherheit
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

Folge InnerSelf weiter

Google-Plus-Symbolfacebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Folge InnerSelf weiter

Google-Plus-Symbolfacebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

What Is Doxxing, And Why Is It So Scary?

What Is Doxxing, And Why Is It So Scary?
The Conversation, from Brian A. Jackson/Shutterstock.com and Kansas Department of Transportation via AP, CC BY-ND

It’s almost a given that you have personal information available online. Beyond social media and online discussion boards, there are public records of property ownership and voter registration, as well as massive databases of financial information assembled by credit-rating agencies.

Taken individually, many of these pieces of information are benign. So you cast a ballot in the 2016 presidential election, have a child enrolled at a particular public elementary school, or once posted a comment on a local newspaper site objecting to institutional racism. A great many people know those things – even strangers. The harm doesn’t come until someone figures out how to put these pieces together and then publishes it all online.

This kind of revelation is called “doxxing,” an old internet term that comes from the idea of collecting the documents, or “docs,” on a person. The effort to discover and reveal personal information, of course, long predates the internet.

And it is not only hackers who doxx. In a recent research study I found that news organizations have doxxed commenters who posted on articles. In online communities, where people are often anonymous, violating someone’s privacy like that is considered aggressive – and for some people, what’s come after being doxxed has been downright dangerous.

A trail of breadcrumbs

It’s not surprising that information has value – particularly information related to people’s identities, interests and habits. This is, after all, the age of big data, social media and targeted advertising. The Facebook-Cambridge Analytica scandal is just one of many events in which regular people found out just how much personal information is available out on the internet.

People also found out how little power they had over their information. Generally, people want, and think they have, control over who knows what about them. Individual identity is in part performance: People decide and change who they are and how they act in different places, around different groups.

This is particularly true online, where many sites and services allow users to be anonymous or pseudonymous or to hide their information from other users’ searches. Often, of course, each site itself has some private information about users, like an email address, for delivering service-related notices. But online platforms seem to offer users a measure of control over their identity and personal information.

Losing control

That control is not complete, though, and is not an accurate measure of personal privacy. Users leave digital traces behind, registering on more than one site with the same email address, posting under the same username (even if a pseudonym) on multiple forums, or even using similar phrases in different contexts. In addition, many sites track what network addresses their users connect from, which can reveal the location and other details of a person who regularly spouts particularly virulent propaganda.

When someone connects these digital traces, and shares them with other people – often strangers, or even the wider public – they take away their target’s control over private data. Those people often seek to hold the person who is doxxed accountable for their actions, whether that’s perpetuating or opposing online hate, or failed romantic relationships.

In a recent case with relatively mild consequences, a Temple University professor was revealed as involved with an online account nicknamed “truthseeker,” which had posted at least one anti-Muslim comment on a right-wing website and had also promoted various conservative conspiracy theories.

The ConversationMore severe cases have resulted in online and real-world harassment of women in the gaming industry, prank calls to summon police to a politician’s home, and even death threats against a person and her family. Doxxing, ultimately, makes data into a weapon.

About The Author

Jasmine McNealy, Assistant Professor of Telecommunication, University of Florida

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=protect your identity;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

CULTURE WARS

what is populism 2 7

What Actually Is This Thing Called Populism?

Octavia Bryant and Benjamin Moffitt
No doubt thanks to Donald Trump, Brexit, and a string of anti-establishment leaders and parties in Europe, Latin America and Asia, everyone seems to be talking about populism

DEMOCRACY

Compassionate Actions and Ripples of Change

Compassionate Actions and Ripples of Change

Jalaja Bonheim, PhD.
I believe there is. When we speak of activism, we usually think of organized activities. Yet beyond that, we all have opportunities to act in ways that reflect our desire for social justice and peace. Whether or not we’re “official” activists, we’re always…

ECONOMY

How Electric Cars Could Make America's Crumbling Roads Even Worse

How Electric Cars Could Make America's Crumbling Roads Even Worse

Jay L. Zagorsky
U.S. roads and bridges are in abysmal shape – and that was before the recent winter storms made things even worse.

ENVIRONMENT & CLIMATE

Could Climate Change Spark A Global Financial Crisis?

Could Climate Change Spark A Global Financial Crisis?

Korey Pasch
The dire climate change situation continues to make headlines and inspire actions like the Sunrise Movement.

HOSTILITES

Attaining Peace Must Be The Cause of Every Individual

Attaining Peace Must Be The Cause of Every Individual

Rick Munoz
When I was 4 years old, my grandfather died. The preacher said "por fin el a alcanzado la paz" which means (in Spanish) that he has finally reached peace. As I listened to him I began to think that peace was really important if grandfather had to go away to…

JUSTICE & CIVIL LIBERTY

Most People Don't Realize What Companies Can Predict From Their Data

Most People Don't Realize What Companies Can Predict From Their Data

Emilee Rader
Sixty-seven percent of smartphone users rely on Google Maps to help them get to where they are going quickly and efficiently.