انحراف الحلم الأمريكي

انحراف الحلم الأمريكي

عندما توفي تشارلز مانسون في شهر تشرين الثاني (نوفمبر) 2017 ، كان وزنه يحمل وزنًا حتى بين أولئك الذين لم يكونوا أحياء عندما ارتكب جرائمه.

لعقود من الزمن ، كان مانسون رمزا للشر ، بوغيًا واقعيًا ، كان يلوح في الأفق باعتباره المفهوم الأمريكي للشرور المتجسد. انتهت وفاة 48 سنوات من السجن لسلسلة من جرائم القتل في أغسطس 1969 ، وبعضها ارتكب ، ومعظمها أمر.

لكن موته يذكرنا أيضًا بحنين مانسون المهووس لجعل اسمًا لنفسه. كما كنت أبحث كتابي على لوس انجليس في 1960sلقد أدهشني كيف أن الشهرة - أكثر من الفن ، أكثر من الدين ، أكثر من المال - بدافع مانسون وهو يتنفس من السجن ، إلى الموسيقار ، إلى القتل. في طريقه ، كان في وقت مبكر المتبني لشيء يتخلل الثقافة الأمريكية اليوم.

تصبح شيئا من لا شيء

وفقا لتشارلز مانسونعندما كان صبيا ، لم تدفع له أسرته الكثير من الاهتمام: كانت والدته ، وهي عاهرة وصوص صغيرة ، تتاجر به مرة واحدة من أجل جرة من البيرة.

سجن مانسون لأول مرة في 13 ، للسطو. في الوقت الذي كان فيه في أوائل 30s ، كان قد قضى نصف حياته بالفعل خلف القضبان.

بينما كان يُطلق سراحه من سجن جزيرة تيرمينال في ولاية كاليفورنيا في 1967 ، أصيب بالذعر وطلب من السجان عدم إخراجه إلى العالم. ضحك الحارس ، لكن مانسون كان جادًا. كان السجن هو المنزل الحقيقي الوحيد الذي يعرفه.

عندما ضرب رجل التسكع طوال حياته الشوارع ، تغير الكثير منذ 1960 ، وهو العام الذي كان آخر تذوق فيه الحرية. كان صيف الحبوقد انجرف مانسون إلى سان فرانسيسكو ، مركز الثورة الثقافية الأمريكية.

هناك وجد الأطفال زهرة سهلة الانقياد - علامات سهلة ، حتى لالمحت المحتلم. تبنى نظرة قبيلة من قبيلة ، وإعادة تدوير بعض من الابل ساينتولوجيا انه التقط في المشترك وبدأت ببناء "عائلة" من أتباعه في حالة سكر على الإطراء له. كان يستعد للفتيات الضالعات والمتضررات - الجرحى - ويجعلهن يعتقدن أنهن جميلات ، طالما أنهن يتبعنه.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


سعى الشهرة. وقال إنه يستحق الشهرة ، وهو بحاجة إلى جعل العالم يلاحظه. سوف تكون الموسيقى سيارته: كان يعرف بعض الحبال ويمكنه تقليد السلام والحب والزهور بشكل معقول في كلماته.

"لم يكن لدى أتباعه أي فكرة بأن تشارلي كان مهووسًا بأن يصبح مشهوراً" ، كاتب سيرة حياته جيف جوين كتب. "أخبرهم أن هدفه ، مهمته ، حقا ، هو تعليم العالم طريقة أفضل للعيش من خلال أغانيه."

أحضر "عائلته" من البضائع التالفة إلى لوس أنجلوس وأرسل نساءه للعثور على أشخاص يمكن أن يساعدوه في سعيه. وبينما كان يتجول في أحد الأيام ، وجد زوجان من الفتيات علامة سهلة: عازف الدرامز المهووس بالقلب والكريم والجنس من أجل الأولاد بيتش ، دنيس ويلسون.

لقد اختارهم، أخذهم إلى البيت للحليب وملفات تعريف الارتباط والجنس ، ثم غادر لجلسة تسجيل. عندما عاد دينيس إلى المنزل في منتصف الليل ، كانت الفتيات لا يزالن هناك ، جنبا إلى جنب مع تشارلز مانسون و 15 شابات أخريات ، معظمهن عاريات. لجنسي مدمن مثل دينيس ، كان الجنة. كان يتفاخر بزملاءه في غرفة النوم لزملائه نجوم موسيقى الروك ، وبحلول نهاية 1968 ، بريطانيا سجل مرآة نشرت ملف تعريف بعنوان "دنيس ويلسون: أعيش مع بنات 17".

الإمساك بالمعاطف

رأى مانسون دينيس - وشقيقته بيتش براين وكارل وكارل - كمدخل له في مجال الموسيقى والشهرة الدولية. على الرغم من أن نجم المجموعة كان يعتصر من قبل '60s' المتأخرة - لم تعد فرقة الولد التي كانت موجودة في السابق - كانت على الأقل قدم في باب صناعة الموسيقى. وخلال الفترة التي قضاها مانسون في الغرفة ، كان مانسون قد تعرف على المنتج القياسي تيري ميلشر وكاس إليوت من ماماس وباباس ونيل يونغ وفرانك زابا.

مقتنعا أنه سيجعل مانسون - الذي أطلق عليه اسم المعالج - إلى نجم ، حث دينيس إخوته على تسجيل المغني الوليد في استوديو بيتش بويز في منزل براين ويلسون. أينما ذهب مانسون ، بالطبع ، تبعته "عائلته". مارلين ويلسون ، متزوجة من برايان في ذلك الوقت ، كانت الحمامات تطهر بعد كل جلسة ، خوفا من أن تنتشر الفتيات القذرة المرض. (لكنهم لم يكونوا من النوع الذي ظهر على مقاعد المراحيض. لقد انتهى دنيس قدمًا ، بالنسبة لنساء مانسون ، ما كان يشار مازحا إلى أكبر فاتورة للسيلان في التاريخ.)

بعد جهود دينيس لم تثمر ، ثمل مانسون على ميلشر ، الذي أنتج بيردز وبول ريفير والغزاة. قدم ميلشر وويلسون مانسون إلى مجتمع لوس أنجلوس الموسيقى ، إلى حد كبير من خلال الحفلات الفخمة في الحوزة في Cielo Drive التي شاركها ميلشر مع الممثلة كانديس بيرغن. في حفلات "كاس إليوت" ، لعب مانسون دورويش دورويش في حلبة الرقص ، مسلّياً كل شيء بحركاته القرد التشنجية.

عندما سمع نيل يونغ مانسون يغني مؤلفاته أثناء زيارة في منزل دنيس ويلسون ، دعا مو أوستين ، رئيس شركة وارنر ريبرزز ريكوردز ، إلى حث رئيسه على منح الرجل صوتًا. حذره يونغ من أن مانسون كان هناك قليلًا وأطرف الأغاني أكثر من غنائه. لكن مع ذلك ، أصر يونغ على وجود شيء هناك.

وكان هناك. كان صوت مانسون جيدًا بما فيه الكفاية توقع معقول للحصول على عقد تسجيل. كانت مؤلفاته الأصلية جيدة بما فيه الكفاية ليتم تسجيلها: قام بيتش بويز بتكييف إحدى أغانيه إلى شيء اسمه "Never Learn Not To Love" ، والذي كان يقدمه على "مايك دوغلاس شو" الأكثر غنىً.

كلمات مانسون ، للأسف ، كانت في الغالب رطانة ، سيئة بما فيه الكفاية لتبرير رفض أوستين ولإخبار ميلتشر بأن مانسون لم يستطع الحصول عليه في العقد القياسي الذي كان يريده بشدة.

لكن كان الوقت قد فات للتوقف الآن. كان قد شرب من حوض الشهرة. اختلط مع نجوم الروك واعتقد أنه كان يحق له أن يكون واحدا.

حلم الأمريكي مانسون

كان الحلم الأمريكي يوصف بهذا الشكل: تعال إلى أمريكا بدون أي شيء ، ومع الحريات والفرص العظيمة التي يوفرها البلد ، اخرج من الحياة بازدهار. كما تم وصفها بأنها ببساطة مثالية للحرية - العيش في مجتمع حر وقوي ، مع عدم وجود شيء يعيق الناس ولكن الطريق مفتوح.

في مرحلة ما ، تغير هذا. في عالم ما بعد الحرب من الترفيه الهائل والإشباع الفوري ، سقطت روح الفرص والعمل الجاد والتراكم التدريجي للثروة ، وحل محلها الشوق للشهرة والثروة الفورية. ربما كان ذلك نتيجة للثروة الواضحة الظاهرة في الوسط الجديد للتلفزيون. ربما أحرق هؤلاء المشاهير الجدد أكثر إشراقا لأن صورهم انزلقت من خلال أشعة الكاثود إلى الملايين من البيوت الأمريكية ، وحولت البيت إلى دار سينما جديدة.

في كلتا الحالتين ، بالنسبة للملايين اليوم ، فإن الحلم الأمريكي ببساطة السعي الهذيان من الشهرة. اطلب من طالب المدرسة ما يريد و سيقول كثيرون أن تكون مشهورة - بأي وسيلة ضرورية.

كان تشارلز مانسون تجسيدًا مبكرًا لهذا المفهوم الجديد للحلم الأمريكي. سعى الشهرة بأي ثمن. حاول تحقيق المشاهير من خلال الموسيقى ، وعندما لم يصل إلى هذا الهدف ، التفت إلى الجريمة. بالتأكيد ، كان يقضي 61 من سنوات 83 في السجن. لكن الكاميرات تدحرجت ، وطبعت الأوراق ، وبيعت الكتب. لن ينسى أحد اسمه.

في صيف 1969 ، كانت تعيش الممثلة شارون تيت وبعض houseguests في سيلو درايف المنزل أخلت مؤخرا من قبل تيري ميلشر وكانديس بيرغن. لم يرسل مانسون عائلته القاتلة إلى ميلشر وبيرغن - فقد عرف أنهم قد انتقلوا. بدلا من ذلك ، أراد أن يخيف ميلشر وأعضاء آخرين من رجال الدين في الروك آند رول. وبالمثل ، قُتل مقتل لينو وروزماري لابيانكا في الليلة التالية لتوليد الهستيريا. انها عملت.

حقق مانسون هدفه ، وأصبح مشهوراً إلى درجة أن اسمه حل محل ضحاياه. أصبحت الجرائم معروفة باسم جرائم القتل في Manson.

انظر إلى وسائل الإعلام اليوم لرؤية أحفاد مانسون الأيديولوجية ، متعطش للشهرة. البعض لا يخاطر بالإذلال فحسب ، بل يحكمون به. تذكر الجولات المبكرة من "أمريكان أيدول" مع عروض مروعة بشكل مروع إعطاء "المطربين" المستهجنين 15 ثانية من الشهرة؟

أما النسل الآخر الأكثر فتكًا ، فيمكن أن يكون الأولاد الذين يصعدون المدارس والمقاهي واجتماعات مجموعات الصلاة. قد يكونون قد ماتوا ، قد يكونون قد تركوا وراءهم دمارًا من الدمار ولم يندبوا. ولكن مثل مانسون ، يتم تذكرهم. هذا بالتأكيد أكثر من معظم الرجال يخفقون يمكن المطالبة بها.

المحادثةللأسف ، في نهاية المطاف حقق مانسون هدفه. ربما أفضل طريقة لتكريم ضحاياه هو نسيان اسمه.

نبذة عن الكاتب

وليام ماكين ، أستاذ ورئيس قسم الصحافة ، جامعة بوسطن

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

الكتب المطبوعة من قبل المؤلف:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = William McKeen؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

The Perversion Of The American Dream

The Perversion Of The American Dream

When Charles Manson died in November 2017, his name carried weight even among those who weren’t alive when he committed his crimes.

For decades, Manson was the symbol of evil, a real-life boogeyman who loomed as the American conception of wickedness incarnate. His death ended 48 years of imprisonment for a series of murders in August 1969, some of which he committed, most of which he ordered.

But his death also reminds us of Manson’s obsessive longing to make a name for himself. As I was researching my book on Los Angeles in the 1960s, I was struck by how fame – more than art, more than religion, more than money – motivated Manson as he careened from prison, to musician, to murder. In his way, he was an early adopter of something that permeates American culture today.

Becoming something out of nothing

According to Charles Manson, when he was a boy, his family didn’t pay him much attention: His mother, a prostitute and small-time thief, once traded him for a pitcher of beer.

Manson was jailed for the first time at 13, for burglary. By the time he was in his early 30s, he’d already spent half his life behind bars.

As he was being released from California’s Terminal Island prison in 1967, he panicked and asked the jailer not to turn him out into the world. The guard laughed, but Manson was serious. Prison was the only real home he’d known.

When the lifelong con man hit the streets, much had changed since 1960, the year he had last tasted freedom. It was the Summer of Love, and Manson drifted to San Francisco, the epicenter of America’s cultural revolution.

There he found docile flower children – easy marks, even for an inept crook. He adopted the hirsute look of the tribe, recycled some of the Scientology babble he’d picked up in the joint and started building a “family” of followers drunk on his flattery. He preyed on lost and damaged young women – wounded birds – and made them think they were beautiful, as long as they followed him.

He sought fame. He deserved fame, he reasoned, and he needed to make the world notice him. Music would be his vehicle: He knew a few chords and could reasonably mimic the peace, love and flowers ethos in his lyrics.

“His followers had no idea that Charlie was obsessed with becoming famous,” biographer Jeff Guinn wrote. “He told them that his goal, his mission, really, was to teach the world a better way to live through his songs.”

He brought his “family” of damaged goods to Los Angeles and sent his women to find people who could help him in his quest. While hitchhiking one day, a couple of the girls found an easy mark: the big-hearted, generous and sex-obsessed drummer for the Beach Boys, Dennis Wilson.

He picked them up, took them home for milk, cookies and sex, then left for a recording session. When Dennis returned home in the middle of the night, the girls were still there, along with Charles Manson and 15 other young women, all mostly nude. For a sex junkie like Dennis, it was paradise. He bragged about his nubile roommates to his rock star pals, and by the end of 1968, Britain’s Record Mirror published a profile titled “Dennis Wilson: I Live With 17 Girls.”

Grasping at coattails

Manson saw Dennis – and his Beach Boy brothers Brian and Carl – as his entrée to the music business and international fame. Although the group’s star was dimming by the late ‘60s – they were no longer the hip boy band they had once been – it was at least a foot in the music industry’s door. Through his time as Dennis Wilson’s roommate, Manson had gotten to know record producer Terry Melcher, Cass Elliot of the Mamas and the Papas, Neil Young and Frank Zappa.

Convinced he would make Manson – whom he called the Wizard – into a star, Dennis urged his brothers to record the fledgling singer at the Beach Boys studio in Brian Wilson’s home. Wherever Manson went, of course, his “family” followed. Marilyn Wilson, married to Brian at the time, had the bathrooms fumigated after every session, fearing the filthy girls were spreading disease. (And they were, though not the kind that showed up on toilet seats. Dennis ended up footing, for the Manson women, what was jokingly referred to as the largest gonorrhea bill in history.)

After Dennis’s efforts bore no fruit, Manson glommed onto Melcher, who had produced the Byrds and Paul Revere and the Raiders. Melcher and Wilson introduced Manson to Los Angeles’s music society, largely through lavish parties at the estate on Cielo Drive that Melcher shared with actress Candace Bergen. At Cass Elliot’s parties, Manson played whirling dervish on the dance floor, entertaining all with his spastic monkey moves.

When Neil Young heard Manson sing his compositions during a drop-in at Dennis Wilson’s house, he called Mo Ostin, president of Warner-Reprise Records, to urge the boss to give the guy a listen. Young warned him that Manson was a little out there and spewed songs more than sang him. But still, Young insisted there was something there.

And there was. Manson’s voice was good enough that he had a reasonable expectation of getting a recording contract. His original compositions were good enough to be recorded: The Beach Boys adapted one of his songs into something called “Never Learn Not to Love,” which they performed on the supremely wholesome “Mike Douglas Show.”

Manson’s lyrics, unfortunately, were mostly gibberish, bad enough to justify Ostin’s rejection and for Melcher to tell Manson he couldn’t get him the record contract he so desperately wanted.

But it was too late to stop now. He had drunk from the trough of fame. He mingled with rock stars and thought he was entitled to be one.

Manson’s American dream

The American dream used to be described thus: Come to America with nothing and, with the great freedoms and opportunity offered by the country, exit life with prosperity. It has also been described as simply the ideal of freedom – of living in a free and robust society, with nothing to impede people but an open road.

At some point, this changed. In the post-war world of abundant leisure and instant gratification, an ethos of opportunity, hard work and the gradual accumulation of wealth fell away, replaced by a longing for instant fame and fortune. Perhaps it was a result of the conspicuous wealth so visible on the new medium of television. Maybe these new celebrities burned so much brighter because their images slipped through the cathode ray into millions of American homes, turning the house into the new movie theater.

Either way, for millions today, the American dream is simply the delirious pursuit of fame. Ask a schoolchild what he wants and many will say to be famous – by any means necessary.

Charles Manson was an early avatar for this new concept of the American dream. He sought fame at any cost. He tried to achieve celebrity through music and, when he didn’t reach that goal, he turned to crime. Sure, he would spend 61 of his 83 years in prison. But the cameras rolled, the papers were printed, the books were sold. No one would ever forget his name.

In the summer of 1969, actress Sharon Tate and some houseguests were living in a Cielo Drive home recently vacated by Terry Melcher and Candace Bergen. Manson didn’t send his murderous family for Melcher and Bergen – he knew they had moved. Instead, he wanted to frighten Melcher and other members of the rock’n’roll clerisy. The following night’s murder of Leno and Rosemary LaBianca was likewise intended to breed hysteria. It worked.

Manson achieved his goal, becoming so famous that his name replaced those of his victims. The crimes became known as the Manson murders.

Look to the media today to see Manson’s ideological descendants, thirsting for fame. Some don’t just risk humiliation, they court it. Remember the early rounds of “American Idol” with jarringly dreadful performances giving the reprehensible “singers” their 15 seconds of fame?

Other, more deadly offspring, could be the boys who shoot up schools and coffee shops and prayer-group meetings. They might be dead, they might have left a trail of destruction in their wake and they aren’t mourned. But like Manson, they are remembered. That’s certainly more than most failed con men can claim.

The ConversationUnfortunately, Manson did end up achieving his goal. Perhaps the best way to honor his victims is to forget his name.

About The Author

William McKeen, Professor and Chair, Department of Journalism, Boston University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Books by this Author:

Everybody Had an Ocean: Music and Mayhem in 1960s Los Angeles
trendsAuthor: William McKeen
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: Chicago Review Press
List Price: $26.99

Buy Now

Rock and Roll Is Here to Stay: An Anthology
trendsAuthor: Mckeen William
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
List Price: $60.00

Buy Now

By William McKeen:Mile Marker Zero: The Moveable Feast of Key West [Hardcover]
trendsAuthor: William McKeen
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: Crown

Buy Now

zh-CNtlfrdehiidptes

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}