4 حالات صحية مرتبطة بأمراض اللثة

امرأة تحمل صورة مكبرة لأسنانها
تشمل الأعراض المبكرة لأمراض اللثة احمرار اللثة وتورمها والنزيف عند تنظيف أسنانك بالفرشاة أو الخيط. الصورة بواسطة جيرد التمان من Pixabay

تعد أمراض اللثة من أكثر الأمراض المزمنة شيوعًا أمراض الإنسان، التي تؤثر بين 20 إلى 50٪ من الناس في جميع أنحاء العالم. تحدث عندما تتراكم طبقة البلاك ، وهي طبقة لزجة من البكتيريا ، على الأسنان. يمكن علاج المراحل الأولى من أمراض اللثة وعكسها (التهاب اللثة). لكن بعض الناس يصابون بشكل مدمر مزمن من أمراض اللثة ، وهو أمر لا رجوع فيه. يتطور هذا المرض إلى فقدان الأسنان. أ مجموعة متزايدة من الأدلة يوضح أن أمراض اللثة يمكن أن تزيد من احتمالية الإصابة بها تتطور ظروف صحية خطيرة أخرى.

فيما يلي بعض الحالات الصحية الشائعة المرتبطة بأمراض اللثة وكيفية ارتباطها.

1. مرض الزهايمر

تتفق العديد من الدراسات الكبيرة والتحليلات التلوية على أن أمراض اللثة المتوسطة أو الشديدة ترتبط ارتباطًا وثيقًا بالخرف. على سبيل المثال ، أظهرت إحدى الدراسات أن المعاناة من أمراض اللثة المزمنة لمدة عشر سنوات أو أكثر كانت مرتبطة بـ 70٪ مخاطر أعلى من تطوير مرض الزهايمر من أولئك الذين ليس لديهم. أظهرت الأبحاث أيضًا وجود صلة بين أمراض اللثة و a ستة أضعاف الانخفاض في القدرة المعرفية.

في البداية ، كان يُعتقد أن البكتيريا مسؤولة بشكل مباشر عن هذا الارتباط. P. gingivalisوالبكتيريا الشائعة في أمراض اللثة المزمنة وجدت في الأدمغة من الأشخاص الذين ماتوا بسبب مرض الزهايمر. تم العثور أيضًا على إنزيمات بكتيرية سامة تسمى gingipains ، والتي يُعتقد أنها تؤدي إلى تفاقم أمراض اللثة عن طريق منع الاستجابة المناعية من ايقاف وبالتالي إطالة أمد الالتهاب.

ومع ذلك ، ليس من المؤكد ما إذا كانت البكتيريا في الدماغ معدلة استجابة مناعية أو عوامل أخرى - مثل الضرر الناجم عن التهاب جهازى - شرح الارتباط. لكن العناية بصحة فمك قد تكون إحدى الطرق لذلك تقليل مخاطر الإصابة مرض الزهايمر.

2. أمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية

ترتبط أمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية ارتباطًا وثيقًا بأمراض اللثة.

في دراسة كبيرة أجريت على أكثر من 1,600 شخص تزيد أعمارهم عن 60 عامًا ، تم ربط أمراض اللثة بخطر الإصابة بنسبة 30٪ تقريبًا أول نوبة قلبية. استمر هذا الارتباط حتى بعد تعديل الباحثين لحالات أخرى (مثل مرض السكري والربو) ، أو عادات نمط الحياة (مثل حالة التدخين والتعليم والزواج) التي يُعرف عنها أنها تزيد من خطر إصابة الشخص بنوبة قلبية.

في الآونة الأخيرة ، أظهرت الدراسات أيضًا أن الالتهاب الجهازي الناجم عن أمراض اللثة المزمنة يتسبب في إنتاج الخلايا الجذعية للجسم مفرط الاستجابة مجموعة من العدلات (نوع من خلايا الدم البيضاء للدفاع المبكر). قد تتسبب هذه الخلايا في إتلاف بطانة الشرايين عن طريق إتلاف الخلايا التي تبطن الشرايين - مما يؤدي إلى حدوث التهاب تراكم اللويحات.

3. داء السكري من النوع 2

تعتبر أمراض اللثة من المضاعفات المعروفة لمرض السكري من النوع 2 ، كما أن أمراض اللثة المزمنة تزيد من خطر الإصابة بها تطوير نوع مرض السكري 2.


 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

العمليات التي تربط بين المرضين هي محور الكثير من الأبحاث ، ومن المحتمل أن الالتهاب الناجم عن كل حالة تؤثر على الآخر. على سبيل المثال ، يزيد مرض السكري من النوع 2 من خطر الإصابة بأمراض اللثة زيادة الالتهاب في اللثة. كما ثبت أن أمراض اللثة تساهم في ضعف إشارات الأنسولين و مقاومة الأنسولين - والتي يمكن أن تؤدي إلى تفاقم مرض السكري من النوع 2.

عدة التجارب السريرية أظهروا أن تنظيف الأسنان المكثف يمكن أن يحسن التحكم في نسبة السكر في الدم لدى مرضى السكري لعدة أشهر ، مما يوضح الروابط بين المرضين.

4. السرطان

ترتبط أمراض اللثة أيضًا بزيادة خطر الإصابة بأنواع عديدة من السرطان. على سبيل المثال ، المرضى الذين أبلغوا عن إصابتهم بـ تاريخ مرض اللثة تبين أن لديهم خطرًا أكبر بنسبة 43٪ للإصابة بسرطان المريء ، و 52٪ خطر أكبر للإصابة بسرطان المعدة. أفادت أبحاث أخرى أيضًا أن الأشخاص المصابين بأمراض اللثة المزمنة لديهم ما بين 14-20٪ مخاطر أعلى لتطوير أي نوع من أنواع السرطان. أظهرت نفس الدراسة أيضًا ارتفاع خطر الإصابة بنسبة 54٪ سرطان البنكرياس.

ليس من الواضح سبب وجود هذه العلاقة. يعتقد البعض أن الأمر له علاقة بالالتهاب ، وهو عامل في كليهما مرض اللثة و سرطان. يؤدي الالتهاب إلى اضطراب البيئة التي تحتاجها الخلايا للبقاء بصحة جيدة وتعمل بشكل صحيح وهو عامل في تطور كل من أمراض اللثة و نمو الورم.

تحسين صحة اللثة

يمكن الوقاية من أمراض اللثة وعكس مسارها في المراحل المبكرة.

بينما لا يمكن تغيير بعض عوامل الخطر لأمراض اللثة (مثل العوامل الوراثية) ، يمكنك تغيير نمط حياتك لتقليل المخاطر الإجمالية. على سبيل المثال ، يمكن أن يساعد تناول كميات أقل من السكر وتجنب التبغ والكحول وتقليل التوتر. من المهم أيضًا معرفة أن بعض الأدوية (مثل بعض مضادات الاكتئاب وأدوية ارتفاع ضغط الدم) قد تقلل من إنتاج اللعاب ، مما قد يزيد من خطر الإصابة بأمراض اللثة. يحتاج الأشخاص الذين يتناولون هذه الأدوية إلى اتخاذ احتياطات إضافية ، مثل استخدام مواد هلامية أو بخاخات خاصة لزيادة إنتاج اللعاب ، أو التأكد من توخي مزيد من الحذر أثناء تنظيف أسنانهم بالفرشاة.

بالطبع ، أهم الأشياء التي يمكنك القيام بها لحماية نفسك من أمراض اللثة (وبالتالي صحتك العامة) هي تنظيف أسنانك بالفرشاة مرتين يوميًا باستخدام معجون أسنان يحتوي على الفلورايد وتجنب استخدام غسول الفم بعد تنظيف الأسنان بالفرشاة - مع الحرص على عدم الشطف بعد التنظيف بالفرشاة للسماح للفلورايد بالقيام بذلك. تبقى على أسنانك. سيساعدك التنظيف بين الأسنان في المنزل (مثل التنظيف بالخيط) وزيارات الأسنان المنتظمة في الحفاظ على صحة فمك تحت المراقبة.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

كريستين بريسونمحاضر أول في العلوم الطبية جامعة أنجليا روسكين

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.


وأوصت كتب: الصحة

الفاكهة الطازجة طهرجديد يطهر الفاكهة: السموم، انقاص وزنه واستعادة صحتك مع الأطعمة الطبيعة ألذ [غلاف عادي] من قاعة ليان.
انقاص وزنه ويشعر صحي حيوي في حين تطهير الجسم من السموم. الفاكهة الطازجة طهر يقدم كل ما تحتاجه للحصول على التخلص سهلة وقوية، بما في ذلك يوما بعد يوم والبرامج، وصفات التي يسيل لها اللعاب، وتقديم المشورة لنقل قبالة تطهير.
انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب في الامازون.

تزدهر أغذيةتزدهر أغذية: 200 النباتي وصفات للصحة الذروة [غلاف عادي] بواسطة بريندان المبخرة.
بناء على الحد من التوتر، والصحة، تعزيز فلسفة الغذائية المقدمة في المشهود له نباتي دليل التغذية تزدهروالمهنية الرجل الحديدي المبخرة بريندان triathlete يتحول الآن انتباهه إلى لوحة العشاء الخاص بك (صحن وجبة الإفطار والغداء صينية أيضا).
انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب في الامازون.

الموت من قبل الطب من قبل غاري لاغيةالموت من قبل الطب من قبل غاري لاغية، مارتن فيلدمان، Rasio ديبورا وعميد كارولين
أصبحت البيئة الطبية عبارة عن متاهة من المتشابكة المستشفى، والشركات، والمجالس الحكومية من المديرين، ومخترقة من قبل شركات الأدوية. تمت الموافقة في كثير من الأحيان أكثر المواد السامة الأولى، في حين يتم تجاهل البدائل الطبيعية أكثر اعتدالا وأكثر من ذلك لأسباب مالية. إنه الموت من قبل الطب.
انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب في الامازون.


ربما يعجبك أيضا

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةرمز youtubeرمز الانستغرامرمز pintrestأيقونة آر إس إس

 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

اللغات المتوفرة

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

الأكثر قراءة

فوائد التأمل 1
قد يكون التأمل واليقظة بنفس فعالية الأدوية لعلاج حالات معينة
by هيلاري أ. ماروساك
كثير من الناس يتطلعون إلى اتجاهات النظام الغذائي أو نظم التمارين الجديدة - غالبًا مع فائدة مشكوك فيها - للحصول على ...
01 13 يموت المتشائم وهم يعلمون أنهم على صواب 4907278 1920
المتشائمون يموتون وهم يعلمون أنهم على حق - المتفائلون يزدهرون
by ماثيو ديكس
بصفتك روحًا مبدعة وشخصًا يسعى لتحقيق أحلامك ، لا يمكنك أن تكون متشائمًا.
شابة عيناها مغلقة ، ووجهها نحو السماء
كل يوم السبت واليقظة
by ماثيو بوناك
لقد ألهمتني مشاركة التقنيات المفيدة من تقاليدي الخاصة لأضيفها إلى هذه العالمية الناشئة ...
هدايا من الحيوانات الأليفة 1
لماذا تجلب لنا كلابنا وقططنا حيوانات ميتة؟
by ميا كوب
ما هو الشيء المشترك بين البطريق الصغير والأرنب الصغير والفأر الأسود وطائرة شراعية Krefft؟ لقد ...
صورة ملونة لوجه امرأة تعاني من التوتر والحزن
تجنب القلق والتوتر والبدء المبكر لمشاكل القلب والأوعية الدموية
by براينت لاسك
لطالما ارتبطت اضطرابات القلق بالظهور المبكر لأمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية وتطورها ...
إذا كانت شركات الأدوية صادقة 1
كيف تستخدم صناعة الأدوية المعلومات المضللة لتقويض إصلاح أسعار الأدوية
by جويل ليكشين
دأبت شركات الأدوية على إطلاق التهديدات لأكثر من 50 عامًا في كل مرة تفعل فيها الحكومات شيئًا ...
شاطئ البحر مفيد للصحة 1
لماذا المشي الشتوي على شاطئ البحر مفيد لك
by نيك ديفيز وشون جيه جامون
فكرة وجود "إثنين أزرق" في مكان ما في منتصف الشهر حيث يشعر الناس ...
لماذا المعكرونة أكثر صحة مما تعتقد 1 12
لماذا المعكرونة صحية أكثر مما تعتقد
by إيما بيكيت
إحدى تقنيات الحمية الشائعة هي إنشاء قائمة سوداء للطعام. الإقلاع عن "الكربوهيدرات" أو الأطعمة المعلبة هو ...

مواقف جديدة - إمكانيات جديدة

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf سوق
حقوق التأليف والنشر © 1985 - 2021 إينيرسيلف المنشورات. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

4 Health Conditions Linked to Gum Disease

a woman holding up an enlarged photo of her teeth
Early symptoms of gum disease include red, swollen gums, and bleeding when you brush or floss your teeth. Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay

Gum diseases are among the most common chronic human diseases, affecting between 20 to 50% of people worldwide. They happen when plaque, a sticky film of bacteria, builds up on teeth. The earliest stages of gum disease are treatable and reversible (gingivitis). But some people develop a chronic destructive form of gum disease, which is irreversible. This disease progresses to tooth loss. A growing body of evidence shows that gum disease can also make people more likely to develop other serious health conditions.

Here are a few of the common health conditions linked to gum disease and how they are connected.

1. Alzheimer’s disease

Several large studies and meta-analyses agree that moderate or severe gum disease is significantly associated with dementia. For example, one study showed suffering from chronic gum disease for ten years or more was associated with a 70% higher risk of developing Alzheimer’s than those without. Research has also shown a link between gum disease and a sixfold decline in cognitive ability.

Initially, it was thought bacteria were directly responsible for this link. P. gingivalis, bacteria common in chronic gum disease, was found in the brains of people who had died of Alzheimer’s disease. Toxic bacterial enzymes called gingipains were also found, which are thought to worsen gum disease by preventing the immune response from turning off and hence prolonging inflammation.

However, it’s not certain whether bacteria in the brain, a modified immune response or other factors – such as damage from systemic inflammation – explain the link. But taking care of your oral health could be one way to reduce the risk of Alzheimer’s disease.

2. Cardiovascular disease

Cardiovascular disease is also firmly associated with gum disease.

In a large study of over 1,600 people aged over 60, gum disease was linked with an almost 30% higher risk of first heart attack. This link even persisted after researchers adjusted for other conditions (such as diabetes and asthma), or lifestyle habits (such as smoking status, education and marriage) that are known to increase a person’s risk of a heart attack.

More recently, studies have also shown that systemic inflammation caused by chronic gum disease causes the body’s stem cells to produce a hyper-responsive group of neutrophils (a type of early defence white blood cell). These cells may damage the lining of arteries by damaging the cells that line the arteries – triggering the build-up of plaques.

3. Type 2 diabetes

Gum disease is a known complication of type 2 diabetes, and chronic gum disease increases the risk of developing type 2 diabetes.


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

The processes that link the two diseases are the focus of much research, and it’s likely that inflammation caused by each condition affects the other. For instance, type 2 diabetes raises the risk of gum disease by increasing inflammation in the gums. Gum disease has also been shown to contribute to impaired insulin signalling and insulin resistance – which can both exacerbate type 2 diabetes.

Several clinical trials have shown an intensive dental cleaning can improve blood sugar control in diabetic patients for several months, further showing the links between the two diseases.

4. Cancers

Gum disease is also linked to a greater risk of developing many types of cancer. For instance, patients who reported having a history of gum disease were shown to have a 43% greater risk of oesophagal cancer, and a 52% greater risk of stomach cancer. Other research has also reported people with chronic gum disease had a between 14-20% higher risk of developing any type of cancer. The same study also showed a 54% higher risk of pancreatic cancer.

It’s not clear why this relationship exists. Some think it has to do with inflammation, which is a factor in both gum disease and cancer. Inflammation disrupts the environment that cells need to stay healthy and function properly and is a factor in the progression of both gum disease and tumour growth.

Improving gum health

Gum disease is preventable and reversible in the early stages.

While some risk factors for gum disease can’t be changed (such as your genetics), you can change your lifestyle to reduce your overall risk. For example, eating less sugar, avoiding tobacco and alcohol and reducing stress can all help. It’s also important to know that certain medications (such as some antidepressants and hypertension drugs) may lower saliva production, which can increase your risk of gum disease. People taking these medicines need to take extra precautions, such as using special gels or sprays to increase saliva production, or making sure to take extra care while brushing their teeth.

Of course, the most important things you can do to protect yourself from gum disease (and subsequently your overall health) are brushing twice daily with fluoride toothpaste and avoiding using mouthwash after brushing – and taking care not to rinse after brushing to allow the fluoride to remain on your teeth. Interdental cleaning at home (such as flossing) and regular dental visits will also help you keep your oral health in check.The Conversation

About The Author

Christine Bryson, Senior Lecturer Medical Science, Anglia Ruskin University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.


Recommended Books: Health

Fresh Fruit CleanseFresh Fruit Cleanse: Detox, Lose Weight and Restore Your Health with Nature's Most Delicious Foods [Paperback] by Leanne Hall.
Lose weight and feel vibrantly healthy while clearing your body of toxins. Fresh Fruit Cleanse offers everything you need for an easy and powerful detox, including day-by-day programs, mouth-watering recipes, and advice for transitioning off the cleanse.
Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.

Thrive FoodsThrive Foods: 200 Plant-Based Recipes for Peak Health [Paperback] by Brendan Brazier.
Building upon the stress-reducing, health-boosting nutritional philosophy introduced in his acclaimed vegan nutrition guide Thrive, professional Ironman triathlete Brendan Brazier now turns his attention to your dinner plate (breakfast bowl and lunch tray too).
Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.

Death by Medicine by Gary NullDeath by Medicine by Gary Null, Martin Feldman, Debora Rasio and Carolyn Dean
The medical environment has become a labyrinth of interlocking corporate, hospital, and governmental boards of directors, infiltrated by the drug companies. The most toxic substances are often approved first, while milder and more natural alternatives are ignored for financial reasons. It's death by medicine.
Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


You May Also Like

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

MOST READ

spreading disease at home 11 26
Why Our Homes Became COVID Hotspots
by Becky Tunstall
While staying home protected many of us from catching COVID at work, at school, at the shops or…
sudden infanant death syndrum 11 17
How To Protect Your Baby From Sudden Infant Death Syndrome
by Rachel Moon
Each year, about 3,400 U.S. infants die suddenly and unexpectedly while sleeping, according to the…
witchcraft and america 11 15
What Greek Myth Tells Us About Modern Witchcraft
by Joel Christensen
Living on the North Shore in Boston in the fall brings the gorgeous turning of the leaves and…
a man and woman in a kayak
Being in the Flow of Your Soul Mission and Life Purpose
by Kathryn Hudson
When our choices distance us from our soul mission, something inside us suffers. There is no logic…
How Culture Informs The Emotions You Feel To Music
How Culture Informs The Emotions You Feel To Music
by George Athanasopoulos and Imre Lahdelma
I have conducted research in locations like Papua New Guinea, Japan and Greece. The truth is…
grieving for pet 11 26
How to Help Grieve the Loss of a Beloved Family Pet
by Melissa Starling
It’s been three weeks since my partner and I lost our beloved 14.5-year-old dog, Kivi Tarro. It’s…
how to kow if something true 11 30
3 Questions to Ask Whether Something Is True
by Bob Britten
Truth can be tricky to determine. Every message you read, see or hear comes from somewhere and was…
child listening intently wearing headset
Why Certain Types of Music Make Our Brains Sing
by Guilhem Marion
If one presented you with a unknown melody and suddenly stopped it, you could be able to sing the…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.