حلم التفسير

الاستيقاظ من حلم Covid-19

الخطوط العريضة لوجه امرأة تنظر من تحت البطانيات مع خلفية مشكال من الألوانالصورة عن طريق Victoria_rt. خلفية بواسطة ويبكينزلفا 1598.

عندما يصبح اللاوعي تجربة حية لعدد كافٍ من الناس ، فإنه غالبًا ما يبشر بعصر إبداعي جديد للبشرية. لم يتطفل Covid-19 على عالمنا اليومي فقط ، مما يجعله سرياليًا يفوق التصور ، ولكنه تسلل أيضًا إلى أحلام الكثير من الناس الليلية. عندما تصبح الحياة مثل الحلم ، يمكن أن تنشط خيالنا الإبداعي - وهذا بالتأكيد صحيح بالنسبة لك حقًا.

أجد نفسي أتخيل: ماذا لو جاء عميل إلى مكتبي وشاركه الحلم التالي:

في غضون أسابيع ، تحول عالمهم فجأة. انتشر فيروس قاتل ، وكان يقتل الناس ويصيب عددًا لا يحصى من الأشخاص بالمرض ، مما يؤدي إلى انتشار جائحة عالمي. كان الخوف المتفشي يلتهم العالم بسرعة. بسبب الطبيعة المعدية للمرض ، أصبح الناس يخشون الاقتراب من بعضهم البعض. قامت العديد من الدول حول العالم بحبس مواطنيها ، مما أدى إلى تقييد حركتهم. بدأ الجميع في ارتداء الأقنعة. بدا المستقبل غير مؤكد تمامًا.

يمكنني المضي قدمًا ، لكن أعتقد أنك فهمت الفكرة - كان حلم هذا الشخص هو بالضبط ما يحدث في عالمنا اليوم. السؤال الذي يطرح نفسه ، كيف نفسر هذا الحلم؟

تفسير حلمنا

الأحلام هي التعبير بدون وسيط عن اللاوعي ؛ أطلق عليهم فرويد اسم "الطريق الملكي" نحو اللاوعي. أحلامنا في الليل هي إحدى الآليات التعويضية الرئيسية للنفسية ، والتنظيم الذاتي. عندما نفقد التوازن ، أو خارج المركز ، أو من جانب واحد ، يرسل لنا اللاوعي أحلامًا لمساعدتنا على إعادة الاتصال بالجزء الذي فقدنا الاتصال به.

محاولة فهم ما تقوله لنا الرموز في حلمنا هو نوع من التأمل الذاتي. تعكس الرموز شيئًا فاقدًا للوعي بداخلنا ، والذي ، حتى لو تم التعرف عليه بشكل خافت ، يمكن أن ينشط الجزء الموجود بداخلنا والذي يتردد صدى الرمز به.

الأحلام متعددة الأبعاد ، ولها مستويات مختلفة من المعاني مشفرة في نسيج الحلم ، وكلها لها قيمة. إنها ليست مسألة ما هو التفسير الصحيح - يمكن أن تكون جميعها صحيحة (نسبيًا) في وقت واحد. يمكن لهذه المستويات المتعددة من المعنى أن تكمل بعضها البعض وتضيء بعضها البعض ، مما يساعد على فتح الهدايا المشفرة داخل الحلم.

عندما يُنظر إلى هذه المستويات المختلفة من المعنى معًا على أنها جوانب مترابطة من كل أكبر ، يمكن أن تبدأ صورة أعمق - المعنى الكامل للحلم - في الظهور. هذا يعني أنه لا توجد طريقة "مقاس واحد يناسب الجميع" لتفسير الأحلام ، من حيث أن العرف اللاواعي يصمم حلمًا ليناسب بشكل فريد الحالة النفسية الحالية لحالم معين. إذا كان لدى مجموعة متنوعة من الأشخاص نفس الحلم ، فقد يعني ذلك أشياء مختلفة لكل واحد منهم.

على سبيل المثال ، قد يكون لدى شخص ما حلم بشأن جائحة فيروس كورونا والميزة التي تبرز في حلمه هي كيف يجتمع الجميع ويساعدون بعضهم البعض. حلمهم وراءه روح سامية. في حلم شخص آخر ، قد يمثل الوباء ظهور نهاية نهاية العالم ويكون كابوسًا. قد يدفعهم حلمهم للأسفل - محبطًا لهم - في ظلام العالم السفلي.

كونه إسقاطًا للاوعي ، فإن اللاوعي يبرز نفسه ويكشف عن نفسه من خلال بقعة حبر الحلم. مشهد الأحلام هو انعكاس لما يجري في أعماق نفسية الحالم الفردي.


 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

الميزات الرئيسية في A Dream of Covid-19

بالعودة إلى موكلي ، لاحظت أنه في حلمه الخاص هناك ميزات معينة تبرز كما يقول لي حلمه. يبدو أنه ليس خائفًا جدًا من الفيروس الجسدي الفعلي. يذكر أنه نظرًا لكونه بطبيعته استبطانًا ومحكمًا ، فإنه لا يمانع في الاحتماء في المكان الذي يحدث في الحلم ، لأنه يمنحه مزيدًا من الوقت للقيام بعمله الروحي الإبداعي.

ومع ذلك ، فإن ما يلفت انتباهي حقًا هو أن لديه تهمة عندما يصف ما يبدو أنها "قوى أكثر قتامة" (كلماته) التي تستغل الوباء لكسب المزيد من موطئ قدم في العالم. عندما سألته عن هذا ، قال إن هناك إحساسًا بالقوى الفاشية والشمولية في حلمه والتي تزحف بشكل خبيث حول الكوكب من أجل مركزية السلطة والسيطرة على بقيتنا.

بينما يصف ما يراه في الحلم ، فإنه لا يبدو مذعورًا بشكل مفرط أو كمنظّر مؤامرة مجنون ، بل على العكس من ذلك ، متزن للغاية وواضح الرؤية. يصف بإصرار شديد الاستيلاء على السلطة المتعددة التي يراها تحدث في حلمه. ويذكر أن هذا هو الجزء من الحلم الذي يشعر فيه بالانزعاج والخوف أكثر من غيره.

عندما سألته عن حلمه ، استمر في القول إنه يبدو أن هناك إحساسًا بالتحكم الجماعي بالعقل يتم ارتكابها طوال الحلم ، كما لو أن غالبية شخصيات الحلم في حلمه قد "شربوا كول إيد" وسقطوا تحت "تعويذة" (هذه عباراته). أصبح التمييز أكثر صعوبة حقيقة- ما كان يحدث حقًا - من الخيال المصطنع.

وذكر أنه في الحلم ، مثل الموسيقى التصويرية المستمرة في الخلفية ، كانت هناك قصة أو قصة معينة تم بثها في أذهان الناس من خلال وسائل الإعلام الرئيسية. إن ما "أخافه" حقًا (كلماته بالضبط) هو عندما بدأ يدرك أن أي شخص لديه رواية مضادة للنسخة الواقعية المتفق عليها بشأن ما كان يحدث كان حرفيًا مستهجنًا ومراقبًا وإسكاتًا. بدا مستاء حقا من هذا. عندما أخبرني هذا الجزء من حلمه ، أصابني بقشعريرة.

كيف نفسر هذا الحلم؟

أبدأ دائمًا بإعادة الكرة إلى ملعب الحالم ، إذا جاز التعبير. عندما سألته عما يعتقد أنه يعنيه حلمه ، بدأ على الفور في الحديث عن مدى استفزازه بشأن الرقابة. ذكّره ذلك كيف "أُسكت" في وقت سابق من حياته عن قول حقيقته.

أنا أتحدث ، بناءً على تجربتي الخاصة. أدرك أن معظمنا ، إن لم يكن جميعًا ، لديه نسخة مماثلة من هذه العملية - من قطع الحبال الصوتية. في هذا ، فإن تعبيرنا الفريد عن هويتنا ليس مرحبًا به فحسب ، بل يُعتبر في الواقع تهديدًا ومنغلقًا. جعلني هذا أدرك أنه على الرغم من أن حلمه كان عمليته الشخصية ، إلا أنه كان يتطرق أيضًا إلى بُعد نموذجي عالمي مشترك للتجربة المشتركة بيننا جميعًا. هذه واحدة من الأشياء المدهشة حول الأحلام: أنها يمكن أن تكون ، وغالبًا ما تكون ، تعكس كلا من المستويات الشخصية والنموذجية للتجربة في وقت واحد.

أحاول دائمًا أن ألاحظ أين في حلم الشخص - وفي روايته للحلم بعد أن يستيقظ - يكون لديه أكبر قدر من الطاقة. في عملية هذا الشخص ، كان الأمر يتعلق بالرقابة التي كانت تحدث ، والتي كانت مرتبطة بالشعور المؤلم للاستبداد الذي كان ينتشر في جميع أنحاء العالم.

عندما سألته عن هذا الأمر ، لم يؤد هذا فقط إلى إثارة الخوف فيه ، والذي كان حاضرًا بشكل واضح في الغرفة ، بل ذكر أيضًا أنه جعله يشعر بالعجز. وهذا بدوره أثار مشاعر أعمق باليأس واليأس. شعرت وكأننا نلمس حقًا مكانًا عميقًا في اللاوعي.

سلطتنا الداخلية وقوتنا الإبداعية

أثناء القيام بعمل الأحلام مع موكلي ، بدأت في الارتباط ، مما يساعدني على الخروج من عقلي (العقلاني) والتواصل بشكل أعمق مع اللاوعي. تذكرت أنني كتبت ، بشكل متزامن ، شيئًا بدا أنه يعالج حلمه. تمكنت بسرعة من العثور على ما كتبته وقراءته له بصوت عالٍ:

"عندما لا نكون على اتصال بقوتنا الإبداعية الجوهرية ، فإن القوة الخارجية للدولة تكون أكثر من سعيدة لالتقاط وكالتنا اللاواعية لنا واستخدامها ضدنا لتحقيق غاياتها الخاصة. إذا قمنا بتهميش سلطتنا الداخلية ، فإننا نحلم بالقوى الشمولية الخارجية للحد من حريتنا وخلق تجربتنا لنا ، كما نرى في جميع أنحاء العالم اليوم ".

بدا أنه أذهل بكلماتي. قال على الفور ، "هذا كل شيء!" ثم أخبرني أن الشعور المزعج الذي شعر به عندما استيقظ من الحلم هو أنه لم يكن على اتصال بجزء من نفسه. كان يدرك أن هذا الجزء المفقود كان قوته الإبداعية ووكالته.

كما قال هذا ، كان الأمر كما لو كنت أشاهد مصباحًا ضوئيًا يُضاء داخل رأسه. لقد بدأ يدرك أن الحلم كان يعكس له الجزء الذي كان يغلقه بشكل استباقي - إسكاته - لعدة أسباب مختلفة.

كما لو أنه أعطى صوتًا لأول مرة لشيء كان يتصرف به دون وعي في حياته ، ثم بدأ في سرد ​​أسباب إسكاته لنفسه واحدة تلو الأخرى: خوفه من عدم كونه جيدًا بما فيه الكفاية ، وخوفه من أن ذلك لن يكون ' الخروج بشكل مثالي ، من عدم معرفة كيفية البدء ، والشعور بالمقاومة ، والشعور بالخوف من أن يتم الحكم عليه. بمعنى آخر ، كل الأشياء المعتادة التي يتعين على كل شخص مبدع التعامل معها.

لم يكن علي حتى أن أقول أي شيء. كل ما كنت أفعله في هذه المرحلة هو مجرد الاحتفاظ بالمساحة ومشاهدته يستوعب ويتأثر بالمعنى الأعمق والهدية المذهلة لحلمه. كان لدينا شعور بأننا نشارك في شيء مقدس.

الاستيقاظ من حلم Covid-19

كما لو كنت أستيقظ من حلم ، في تلك اللحظة خرجت من مخيلتي ، التي بدت حقيقية بقدر ما يمكن أن تكون حقيقية. لاحظت على الفور أنني أشعر بالانتعاش ، كما لو أن شيئًا ما بداخلي قد بدأ يتحرك. ما زلت جزئيًا في عالم الأحلام لخيالي ، ومع ذلك ، ذكّرتني رؤيتي بشيء كتبه يونغ.

أجد نفسي أتوجه مباشرة إلى حجم معين من أعمال يونغ المجمعة (الروح في الإنسان والفن والأدب). ثم ، كما لو كنت أرسم بطاقة تاروت أوراكيولار ، أفتح صفحة يكتب فيها عن اللحظة التي يتواصل فيها شخص ما ويصبح أداة للروح الإبداعية للتنقل من خلالها. يكتب يونغ أن هذه التجربة البدائية

"يستحضر فينا كل تلك القوى الخيرية التي مكّنت البشرية على الدوام من العثور على ملجأ من كل خطر والبقاء أطول ليلة." 

إن رؤية هذه الكلمات تبدو وكأنها تكمل رؤيتي ، وكأن الكون نفسه يقدم لنا الحل - الروح الإبداعية - للأزمة التي نواجهها حاليًا.

حقوق التأليف والنشر 2021. كل الحقوق محفوظة.
طبع بإذن.
نشرت من قبل التقاليد الداخلية الدولية.

المادة المصدر

ويتيكو: شفاء فيروس العقل الذي ابتليت به عالمنا
بول ليفي

غلاف كتاب ويتيكو: شفاء فيروسات العقل التي ابتليت بها عالمنا بقلم بول ليفيفي معناه الأمريكي الأصلي ، ويتيكو هي روح شريرة آكل لحوم البشر يمكنها السيطرة على عقول الناس ، مما يؤدي إلى نضارة الذات ، والجشع النهم ، والاستهلاك كغاية في حد ذاتها ، مما يحول بشكل مدمر عبقريتنا الإبداعية الجوهرية ضد إنسانيتنا.

كشف بول ليفي عن وجود ويتيكو في عالمنا الحديث وراء كل شكل من أشكال الدمار الذي ينفذه جنسنا البشري ، فرديًا وجماعيًا ، يوضح كيف أن هذا الفيروس العقلي متأصل في نفوسنا لدرجة أنه لا يمكن اكتشافه تقريبًا - وهو العمى الذي يعطي ويتيكو قوتها.

ومع ذلك ، كما يكشف المؤلف بتفاصيل مذهلة ، من خلال التعرف على هذا الطفيلي العقلي شديد العدوى ، من خلال رؤية ويتيكو ، يمكننا التحرر من قبضته وإدراك القوى الإبداعية الهائلة للعقل البشري.

لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب ، انقر هنا. متوفر أيضًا كإصدار Kindle.

عن المؤلف

صورة بول ليفي ، مؤلف كتاب ويتيكو: شفاء فيروس العقل الذي يصيب عالمنايعتبر بول ليفي رائدًا في مجال الظهور الروحي وممارس للبوذية التبتية لأكثر من 35 عامًا. لقد درس عن كثب مع بعض أعظم المعلمين الروحيين في التبت وبورما. كان منسقًا لفرع بورتلاند في مركز PadmaSambhava البوذي لأكثر من عشرين عامًا وهو مؤسس Awakening in the Dream Community في بورتلاند ، أوريغون. 

وهو مؤلف من جنون جورج بوش: انعكاس لذهاننا الجماعي (2006) تبديد ويتيكو: كسر لعنة الشر 2013أيقظه الظلام: عندما يصير الشر أباك 2015 و الوحي الكمي: توليفة جذرية للعلم والروحانية 2018

زيارة موقعه على الانترنت في AwakeningheDream.com/

المزيد من الكتب بواسطة هذا المؤلف.
    

المزيد من المقالات من قبل هذا المؤلف

ربما يعجبك أيضا

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةرمز youtubeرمز الانستغرامرمز pintrestأيقونة آر إس إس

 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

اللغات المتوفرة

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

الأكثر قراءة

صورة ملونة لوجه امرأة تعاني من التوتر والحزن
تجنب القلق والتوتر والبدء المبكر لمشاكل القلب والأوعية الدموية
by براينت لاسك
لطالما ارتبطت اضطرابات القلق بالظهور المبكر لأمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية وتطورها ...
انخفاض عدد سكان الصين 1 21
سكان الصين والعالم يتراجعون الآن
by Xiujian Peng
أكد مكتب الإحصاء الوطني الصيني ما أكده الباحثون مثلي منذ فترة طويلة ...
الحفاظ على نظام غذائي صحي 2 1 19
لماذا تحتاج النظم الغذائية النباتية إلى التخطيط السليم
by رحلة عسلي
تمت ممارسة النباتية في وقت مبكر من القرن الخامس قبل الميلاد في الهند ، وهي مرتبطة بقوة بـ ...
إذا كانت شركات الأدوية صادقة 1
كيف تستخدم صناعة الأدوية المعلومات المضللة لتقويض إصلاح أسعار الأدوية
by جويل ليكشين
دأبت شركات الأدوية على إطلاق التهديدات لأكثر من 50 عامًا في كل مرة تفعل فيها الحكومات شيئًا ...
شخصان يجلسان يتحدثان
كيف تتحدث مع شخص ما عن نظريات المؤامرة في خمس خطوات بسيطة
by دانيال جولي وكارين دوغلاس وماثيو ماركيز
غالبًا ما تكون غريزة الناس الأولى عند التعامل مع مؤمني المؤامرة هي محاولة فضح…
سياسة اللطف 1 20
جاسيندا أرديرن وسياستها اللطيفة هي إرث دائم
by هيلدا كوفي
سعى نهج جاسيندا أرديرن الإنساني والعاطفي إلى إضفاء نبرة تصالحية. لم يكن هناك مكان ...
الحفاظ على نظام غذائي صحي 1 19
تراقب وزنك؟ قد تحتاج فقط إلى إجراء تغييرات صغيرة
by هنريتا جراهام
يعد فقدان الوزن أحد أكثر قرارات العام الجديد شيوعًا ، ومع ذلك فهو أحد القرارات التي يتخذها معظمنا ...
حمية التخلص من السموم 1 18
هل حمية التخلص من السموم فعالة وجديرة بالاهتمام أم مجرد بدعة؟
by تايلور جراسو
تعد هذه النظم الغذائية بنتائج سريعة ويمكن أن تجذب الناس بشكل خاص في العام الجديد ، عندما ...

مواقف جديدة - إمكانيات جديدة

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf سوق
حقوق التأليف والنشر © 1985 - 2021 إينيرسيلف المنشورات. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Dream Interpretation

Waking from a Dream of Covid-19

outline of a woman's face looking out from under the blankets with a background kaleidoscope of colorsImage by Victoria_rt. Background by webkinzluva1598.

When the unconscious becomes a living experience for enough people, it often heralds a new creative epoch for humanity. Covid-19 has not only intruded into our day-to-day world, making it surreal beyond belief, but has insinuated itself into many people’s night dreams as well. When life becomes so dreamlike, it can potentially activate our creative imagination—this has certainly been true for yours truly.

I find myself imagining: What if a client came into my office and shared the following dream:

Within a matter of weeks their world shifted suddenly. A potentially deadly virus had gotten on the loose and was killing people and making countless others sick, creating a global pandemic. Rampant fear was quickly consuming the globe. Due to the contagious nature of the disease, people became afraid to get too close to each other. Many countries around the world locked down their citizens, restraining their movement. Everybody began to wear masks. The future seemed completely uncertain.

I could go on, but I think you get the idea—this person’s dream was exactly what is happening in our world today. The question arises, How would we interpret this dream?

Interpreting Our Dream

Dreams are the unmediated expression of the unconscious; Freud called them “the royal road” to the unconscious. Our dreams at night are one of the psyche’s major compensatory, self-regulating ­mechanisms. When we get out of balance, off-center, or one-sided, the unconscious sends us dreams to help us reconnect with the part of ourselves we’ve lost touch with.

To try to understand what the symbols in our dream are saying to us is a type of self-reflection. Symbols reflect something unconscious within us, which, even if only dimly recognized, can potentially activate the part within us with which the symbol resonates.

Dreams are multidimensional, having various levels of meanings encoded within the fabric of the dream, all of which have value. It’s not a question of which interpretation is true—they can all be (relatively) true simultaneously. These multiple levels of meaning can actually complement and illuminate each other, helping to unlock the gifts encoded within the dream.

When these different levels of meaning are seen together as interrelated aspects of a greater whole, a deeper picture—the full meaning of the dream—can begin to emerge. This is to say that there is no “one size fits all” way of interpreting dreams, in that the unconscious custom tailors a dream to uniquely suit the current psychological state of the particular dreamer. If a variety of people have the same dream, it could conceivably mean different things to each one of them.

For example, one person might be having a dream of the corona­virus pandemic and the feature that stands out in their dream is how everyone is coming together and helping each other. Their dream has an uplifting spirit behind it. In another person’s dream, the pandemic might represent the advent of the apocalyptic end-times and be a nightmare. Their dream might be pushing them down—depressing them—into the darkness of the underworld.

Being a projection of the unconscious, the unconscious projects itself into and reveals itself through the inkblot of the dream. The dreamscape is a reflection of what is going on deep inside the psyche of the individual dreamer.


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Key Features in A Dream of Covid-19

Getting back to my client, I notice that in his particular dream there are certain features that stand out as he tells me his dream. He seems not overly scared of the actual physical virus. He mentions that, being by nature introspective and hermetic, he doesn’t mind the sheltering in place that’s happening in the dream, as it gives him more time to do his creative, spiritual work.

What really gets my attention, however, is that he has a charge when he describes what seem to be “darker forces” (his words) that are exploiting the pandemic to gain more of a foothold in the world. When I ask him about this, he says that there’s a sense of fascist, totalitarian forces in his dream that are insidiously creeping around the planet so as to centralize power and control over the rest of us.

As he describes what he is seeing in the dream, he doesn’t sound overly paranoid or like a crazy conspiracy theorist, but on the contrary, very sober-minded and clear-seeing. He very insistently describes the multiple power grabs that he sees happening in his dream. He mentions that this is the part of the dream in which he feels the most disturbed and afraid.

As I questioned him about his dream, he kept on saying that there seemed to be a sense of collective mind control being perpetrated throughout the dream, as if the majority of the dream characters in his dream had “drank the Kool-Aid” and fallen under “a spell” (these are his phrases). It was becoming increasingly more difficult to discern truth—what was really happening—from made-up fiction.

He mentioned that in the dream, like an ongoing soundtrack in the background, there was a particular narrative or story that was being broadcast into people’s minds by the mainstream media. What really “freaked him out” (his exact words) was when he began to realize that anyone who had a counter-narrative to the agreed upon consensus reality version of what was happening was literally deplatformed, censored, and silenced. He seemed really upset by this. When he told me this part of his dream, it sent chills down my spine.

How Do We Interpret This Dream?

I always start by putting the ball back in the dreamer’s court, so to speak. When I ask him what he thinks his dream means, he immediately begins talking about how triggered he was about the censorship. This reminded him of how earlier in his life he was “silenced” from speaking his truth.

I relate, based on my own experience. I realize that most, if not all of us, have a similar version of this process—of having our vocal chords severed. In this, our unique expression of who we are is not only not welcome, but is actually deemed a threat and shut down. This made me realize that even though his dream was his personal process, he was also touching on a shared universal archetypal dimension of experience common to us all. This is one of the amazing things about dreams: that they could be, and often are, reflecting both personal and archetypal levels of experience simultaneously.

I always try to notice where in a person’s dream—and in their telling of the dream after they awaken—they have the most energy. In this person’s process, it was around the censorship that was happening, which was related to the haunting sense of totalitarianism that was propagating itself around the globe.

When I questioned him about this, not only did this bring up fear in him, which was palpably present in the room, he also mentioned that it made him feel helpless. This, in turn, elicited deeper feelings of hopelessness and despair. It felt like we were really touching a deep place in his unconscious.

Our Internal Authority and Creative Power

Doing dreamwork with my client, I began to associate, which helps me to get out of my (rational) mind and to more deeply connect with my unconscious. I remembered that I had, synchronistically, just written something that seemed to address his dream. I was quickly able to find what I had written and read it aloud to him:

“When we are not in touch with our intrinsic creative power, the external power of the state is more than happy to pick up our unconscious agency for us and use it against us for its own ends. If we marginalize our own internal authority, we dream up external totalitarian forces to limit our freedom and create our experience for us, as we see throughout the world today.”

He seemed startled by my words. He immediately says, “That’s it!” He then tells me that the gnawing feeling he had when he woke up from the dream was that he wasn’t in touch with a part of himself. He was having the dawning realization that this missing part was his creative power and agency.

As he said this, it was like I was watching a lightbulb being turned on inside of his head. He was beginning to realize that the dream was reflecting back to him the part of himself that was preemptively shutting him down—silencing him—for a variety of different reasons.

As if giving voice for the first time to something that he had been unconsciously acting out in his life, he then began listing one after another the reasons for his self-silencing: his fear of not being good enough, his being afraid it wouldn’t come out perfectly, of not knowing how to start, feeling resistance, feeling afraid he would be judged. In other words, all the usual stuff that every creative person has to deal with.

I didn’t even have to say anything. All I was doing at this point was simply holding space and witnessing him taking in and being affected by the deeper meaning and incredible gift of his dream. We both had a feeling that we were participating in something sacred.

Waking from a Dream of Covid-19

As if waking from a dream, at that moment I snap out of my imagination, which seemed as real as real can be. I immediately notice I feel refreshed, as if something within me had started to move. Still partially in the dreamworld of my imagination, however, my vision reminded me of something that Jung had written.

I find myself making a beeline to a particular volume of Jung’s Collected Works (The Spirit in Man, Art, and Literature). Then, as if drawing an oracular tarot card, I open to a page where he is writing about the moment when someone connects with and becomes an instrument for the creative spirit to move through them. This primordial experience, Jung writes,

“evokes in us all those ­beneficent forces that ever and anon have enabled humanity to find a refuge from every peril and to outlive the longest night.” 

Seeing these words feels like it completes my vision, as if the universe itself is offering us the solution—the creative spirit—to the crisis we are currently facing.

Copyright 2021. All Rights Reserved.
Printed with permission.
Published by Inner Traditions Intl.

Article Source

Wetiko: Healing the Mind-Virus That Plagues Our World
by Paul Levy

book cover of Wetiko: Healing the Mind-Virus That Plagues Our World by Paul LevyIn its Native American meaning, wetiko is an evil cannibalistic spirit that can take over people’s minds, leading to selfshness, insatiable greed, and consumption as an end in itself, destructively turning our intrinsic creative genius against our own humanity.

Revealing the presence of wetiko in our modern world behind every form of destruction our species is carrying out, both individual and collective, Paul Levy shows how this mind-virus is so embedded in our psyches that it is almost undetectable--and it is our blindness to it that gives wetiko its power.

Yet, as the author reveals in striking detail, by recognizing this highly contagious mind parasite, by seeing wetiko, we can break free from its hold and realize the vast creative powers of the human mind.

For more info and/or to order this book, click here. Also available as a Kindle edition.

About the Author

photo of Paul Levy, author of Wetiko: Healing the Mind-Virus that Plagues our WorldPaul Levy is a pioneer in the field of spiritual emergence and a Tibetan Buddhist practitioner for more than 35 years. He has intimately studied with some of the greatest spiritual masters of Tibet and Burma. He was the coordinator of the Portland chapter of the PadmaSambhava Buddhist Center for over twenty years and is the founder of the Awakening in the Dream Community in Portland, Oregon. 

He is the author of The Madness of George Bush: A Reflection of Our Collective Psychosis (2006), Dispelling Wetiko: Breaking the Curse of Evil (2013), Awakened by Darkness: When Evil Becomes Your Father (2015) and The Quantum Revelation: A Radical Synthesis of Science and Spirituality (2018)

Visit his website at AwakeningheDream.com/

More books by this Author.
    

More Articles By This Author

You May Also Like

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

MOST READ

whitewashing mlk 1 25
How Republicans Whitewash Martin Luther King
by Hajar Yazdiha
January is a month that commemorates a darker, more recent memory of the Jan. 6, 2021, attack on…
screenshot of a My Space page
What Happens to Our Data When We No Longer Use a Social Media Network or Publishing Platform?
by Katie Mackinnon
The internet plays a central role in our lives. I — and many others my age — grew up alongside the…
Ancient Practice Yoga 1 24
The Benefits of the Ancient Practice Yoga to Both Body and Mind
by Herpreet Thind
Yoga is now a mainstream activity in the U.S. and is commonly portrayed as a healthy lifestyle…
what ispatial thinking 1 25
How Spatial Thinking Can Help Children Learn Math
by Emily Farran
Do you struggle to visualise how to rotate your shoes so that they nest together in a shoe box? How…
hiker sitting on top of a huge rock with arms up in the air in triumph
Relax and Enjoy—for a Strong Finish!
by Kathryn Hudson
It is most important to remain aware, present, and conscious in our oh-so-creative thoughts! But…
a person wearing a surgical mask working at a computer
Coronaphobia: A New Epidemic of Isolation
by Barry Vissell
Coronaphobia is a real word. Researchers coined this term in December 2020. It's the fear of Covid…
a hand holding a conductor's baton overlaid over the globe showing the countries
Who Are They? Where Are They?
by Will T. Wilkinson
We live in an age of convenience. Every day, all day long, we are offered products and services to…
food evaluation method 1 24
How to Tell Which Foods Are Healthy and Which Are Less So
by Dariush Mozaffarian et al
As nutrition scientists who have spent our entire careers studying how different foods influence…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.