العملات الرقمية للبنك المركزي قد تعني نهاية الديمقراطية

أخطار الديمقراطية 8 3
 رجل يستخدم ماكينة الصراف الآلي Ethereum ، بجانب ماكينة Bitcoin ATM ، في هونغ كونغ في مايو 2018. تختلف العملات المشفرة مثل Ethereum عن العملات الرقمية للبنك المركزي لأنها لامركزية وليست تحت سيطرة الدولة. الصحافة الكندية / أسوشيتد برس ، كين تشيونغ

في السنوات الأخيرة ، شهدنا اهتمامًا متزايدًا بفكرة عملات البنك المركزي الرقمية. على غرار النقد ، العملات الرقمية للبنك المركزي هي شكل من أشكال النقود الصادرة عن البنوك المركزية.

في كل بلد ، يدير البنك المركزي العملة المحلية والسياسة النقدية لضمان الاستقرار المالي. على عكس النقد ، من المتوقع أن تعمل العملات الرقمية للبنك المركزي على تحديث البنى التحتية المالية الوطنية للاحتياجات المتغيرة للاقتصاد والتكنولوجيا.

بقيادة المؤسسات المالية الدولية مثل بنك التسويات الدولية و صندوق النقد الدولي، تقوم البنوك المركزية بدراسة التقنيات وإجراء التجارب وإعداد السيناريوهات الاقتصادية الوطنية. ومع ذلك ، لا تستطيع البنوك المركزية - ولا ينبغي لها - تحديد العواقب الاجتماعية لتطبيق هذه التكنولوجيا.

يمنح التحول إلى العملات الرقمية الوطنية الحكومات القدرة على أتمتة المعاملات و خلق الظروف التي يمكن أن تنفق في ظلها. وهذا يثير تداعيات حاسمة حول الديمقراطية يجب تحديدها وأخذها في الاعتبار قبل العملات الرقمية للبنك المركزي أصبحت حقيقة واقعة.

أسئلة مهمة للنظر فيها

من المتوقع أن تمنح العملات الرقمية للبنك المركزي السلطات القدرة على ذلك السيطرة الكاملة على مالية مواطنيها. ستكون الدول قادرة على تقييد المواطنين من شراء أي خدمات وسلع ، وستكون الحكومات قادرة على ذلك اكتساب تأثير أكبر وسيطرة أكبر على حياة الناس.

على سبيل المثال ، ستكون المجتمعات قادرة على تحديد ما إذا كان منع شخص مدمن على القمار من شراء تذكرة يانصيب هو ميزة إيجابية للمال. وبالمثل ، قد يتمكنون أيضًا من تحديد ما إذا كان يمكن استخدام المساعدة الاجتماعية للأغذية والأدوية والإيجار فقط.

يثير تقديم العملة الرقمية للبنك المركزي عددًا من الأسئلة المهمة. الأول هو ما إذا كان الناس سيستفيدون أم لا من الميزات الجديدة لهذه العملات الرقمية. والثاني هو ما إذا كان بإمكاننا التأكد من أن هذه الميزات ، في أيدي الحكومات ، لن تقوض أسس الديمقراطيات ترتعش بالفعل. يثير كلا السؤالين مناقشات مهمة حول المستقبل وقيمنا كمجتمع.

هناك أيضًا الكثير من الأسئلة المفتوحة التي يجب على المواطنين ، بدلاً من البنوك المركزية ، مناقشتها. هل نريد ربط المعلومات المالية الشخصية بأنظمة الائتمان؟ ماذا عن تقاسم النفقات الصحية أو التبرعات السياسية مع الحكومات والشركات؟ ما رأيك في إصدار نقود مختلفة ، بخصائص مالية مختلفة ، لأشخاص مختلفين؟ ما هي الأهمية الاجتماعية للاحتفاظ بالنقد إلى جانب العملات الرقمية للبنك المركزي؟ هل نحتاج حتى إلى عملة رقمية للبنك المركزي؟

لا نريد ترك هذه الأسئلة فقط لأولئك الذين يطورون وينفذون أنظمة النقد الرقمية ، أو يطرحونها بعد فوات الأوان. في الوقت الحالي ، تتخلف المخاوف بشأن الديمقراطية عن السباق نحو تطبيق العملات الرقمية للبنك المركزي. يجب أن نجري هذه المناقشات قبل فوات الأوان.


 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

الحفاظ على الديمقراطية

عندما يتعلق الأمر بالقرارات المتعلقة بالبنية التحتية للعملة الرقمية للبنك المركزي ، يجب على كل دولة فحص ما إذا كانت التغييرات الهيكلية مطلوبة للحفاظ على الإشراف الديمقراطي والضوابط والتوازنات المناسبة.

هذا لا ينطبق فقط على البنوك المركزية ، ولكن أيضًا على الأجهزة والجهات الأمنية المسؤولة عن مكافحة غسل الأموال وتحصيل الضرائب، الذين سيكونون على الأرجح قادرين على الوصول إلى معلومات المستخدم وسيكونون قادرين على تجميد الحسابات ومصادرة الأموال.

الأمر متروك للمؤسسات الديمقراطية لضمان تلك الإجراءات مثل تجميد الحسابات المصرفية للمعارضين السياسيين لن تصبح ممارسة شائعة.

سيكون هناك من يجادل بأن البنوك المركزية تقوم فقط بفحص وإعداد البنية التحتية ، وعندما يأتي اليوم ، ستكون الحكومات هي التي تملأ التفاصيل. لكن هذا النوع من الإجابة غير مقبول. إنه يفصل مصممي النظام عن المسؤولين عن تشغيله ، والأهم من ذلك ، عن أولئك الذين سيتأثرون به.

هناك حاجة إلى مناقشة متنوعة

تتطلب المداولة مزيجًا متنوعًا من ممثلي الجمهور ، بما في ذلك المهمشين وكبار السن والفقراء وأولئك الذين يعيشون في أماكن نائية والأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة. يجب على المنظمات الاجتماعية والأوساط الأكاديمية والمواطنين والصحافة إبراز وجهات نظر مختلفة.

خلاصة القول هي أن العملات الرقمية للبنك المركزي ليست مجرد مسألة تقنية ، ولكنها أيضًا مسألة قوة سياسية وعدالة اجتماعية. لديهم القدرة على إطلاق العنان لعواقب مجتمعية غير مقصودة وغير مرغوب فيها وغير متوقعة - فقط الوقت هو الذي سيحدد ماهية هذه العواقب.

على الرغم من أن البنوك المركزية مسؤولاً عن عرض القضايا الاجتماعية على المسرح العام، يجب أن تأخذ المؤسسات الديمقراطية زمام المبادرة في هذه القضية. يجب على الدول تطبيق العملات الرقمية فقط إذا تمكنت من ضمان عدم تجاوز حكوماتها وسلطاتها الخطوط الحمراء. يجب أن ترسم هذه القواعد والأنظمة على الفور من قبل المؤسسات الديمقراطية ، وليس حصريا من قبل البنوك المركزية.

في النهاية ، ما ينتظرنا ليس مجرد تقدم تقني في الدفع ، ولكن أ تغيير جوهري في البنية التحتية المالية في العالم. من المتوقع أن يتسبب هذا التغيير في تحولات في النسيج الاجتماعي والسياسي للمجتمعات ، ويجب أن نستعد له بطريقة ديمقراطية.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

أوري فريمان، زميل ما بعد الدكتوراه ، مركز الأخلاق ، جامعة تورنتو

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

ربما يعجبك أيضا

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةرمز youtubeرمز الانستغرامرمز pintrestأيقونة آر إس إس

 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

اللغات المتوفرة

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

الأكثر قراءة

انتشار المرض في المنزل 11
لماذا أصبحت منازلنا نقاط ساخنة لفيروس كورونا
by بيكي تانستول
أثناء المكوث في المنزل ، حمى الكثير منا من الإصابة بـ COVID في العمل أو في المدرسة أو في المتاجر أو ...
شرح تقاليد عيد الميلاد 11 30
كيف أصبح عيد الميلاد تقليدًا أمريكيًا للعطلات
by توماس آدم
في كل موسم ، يحتفل الزعماء الدينيون والمحافظون علنًا بعيد الميلاد ...
رجل وامرأة في قوارب الكاياك
أن تكون في تدفق مهمتك الروحية وهدف حياتك
by كاثرين هدسون
عندما تبعدنا خياراتنا عن إرساليتنا الروحية ، يعاني شيء ما بداخلنا. لا يوجد منطق ...
الزيت العطري والزهور
استخدام الزيوت الأساسية وتحسين روح الجسد والعقل
by هيذر دون غودفري ، PGCE ، البكالوريوس
للزيوت الأساسية العديد من الاستخدامات ، من الأثير ومستحضرات التجميل إلى النفسية والعاطفية و ...
الحزن على الحيوانات الأليفة 11
كيفية المساعدة في الحزن على فقدان حيوان أليف محبوب
by ميليسا ستارلينج
لقد مرت ثلاثة أسابيع منذ أن فقدت أنا وشريكي كلبنا المحبوب كيفي تارو البالغ من العمر 14.5 عامًا. انها…
متسلقان ، أحدهما يساعد الآخر
لماذا فعل الحسنات مفيد لك
by مايكل جلاوزر
ماذا يحدث لأصحاب الحسنات؟ تؤكد العديد من الدراسات أن أولئك الذين يشاركون بانتظام ...
كيف تُعلم الثقافة المشاعر التي تشعر بها تجاه الموسيقى
كيف تُعلم الثقافة المشاعر التي تشعر بها تجاه الموسيقى
by جورج أثاناسوبولوس وإيمري لادنما
لقد أجريت بحثًا في مواقع مثل بابوا غينيا الجديدة واليابان واليونان. الحقيقة هي…
كيفية التمويه إذا كان هناك شيء صحيح 11 30
3 أسئلة يجب طرحها على صحة شيء ما
by بوب بريتن
يمكن أن يكون تحديد الحقيقة خادعًا. كل رسالة تقرأها أو تراها أو تسمعها تأتي من مكان ما وكانت ...

مواقف جديدة - إمكانيات جديدة

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf سوق
حقوق التأليف والنشر © 1985 - 2021 إينيرسيلف المنشورات. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Central Bank Digital Currencies Could Mean The End Of Democracy

dangers to democracy 8 3
 A man uses the Ethereum ATM, beside a Bitcoin ATM, in Hong Kong in May 2018. Cryptocurrencies like Ethereum differ from central bank digital currencies because they are decentralized, not under state control. THE CANADIAN PRESS/AP, Kin Cheung

In recent years, we have witnessed a growing interest in the idea of central bank digital currencies. Similar to cash, central bank digital currencies are a form of money issued by central banks.

In each country, a central bank manages the local currency and the monetary policy to ensure financial stability. Unlike cash, central bank digital currencies are expected to update national financial infrastructures to the changing needs of the economy and technology.

Led by international financial institutions such as the Bank of International Settlements and the International Monetary Fund, central banks examine technologies, conduct experiments and prepare national economic scenarios. However, central banks cannot — and should not — identify the social consequences of implementing this technology.

The transition to national digital currencies gives governments the ability to automate transactions and create conditions under which it can be spent. This raises crucial implications about democracy that must be identified and considered before central bank digital currencies become a reality.

Important questions to consider

Central bank digital currencies are expected to hand authorities the ability to completely control the finances of their citizens. States would be able to restrict citizens from purchasing any services and goods, and governments would gain a greater influence and control over people’s lives.

For example, societies will be able to decide whether limiting someone who is addicted to gambling from buying a lottery ticket is a positive feature of money. Similarly, they might also be able to decide whether welfare assistance can only be used for food, medicine and rent.

Introducing a central bank digital currency raises a number of important questions. The first is whether or not people would benefit from the new features of these digital currencies. The second is whether we can be sure these features, in the hands of governments, won’t undermine the already-trembling foundations of democracies. Both questions raise important discussions about the future and our values as a society.

There are also plenty of open questions that citizens, rather than central banks, should deliberate about. Do we want to connect personal financial information with credit systems? How about sharing health expenses or political donations with governments and corporations? What do we think about issuing different money, with different financial characteristics, to different people? What is the social importance of keeping cash alongside central bank digital currencies? Do we even need a central bank digital currency?

We don’t want to leave these questions solely for those who develop and implement digital monetary systems, or raise them too late. Currently, concerns about democracy are lagging behind the race to implement central bank digital currencies. We must have these discussions before it’s too late.


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Maintaining democracy

When it comes to decisions related to the central bank digital currency infrastructure, each country should examine whether structural changes are required for maintaining democratic supervision and proper checks and balances.

This not only applies to central banks, but also to security agencies and authorities in charge of anti-money laundering and tax collecting, who will most likely have access to user information and be able to freeze accounts and confiscate funds.

It is up to democratic institutions to guarantee that actions like freezing bank accounts of political dissidents won’t become a common practice.

There will be those who will argue that central banks are only examining and preparing the infrastructure and, when the day comes, it will be governments who fill in the details. But this kind of answer is unacceptable. It detaches designers of the system from those responsible for running it and, most importantly, from those who will be affected by it.

Diverse discussion needed

Deliberation requires a diverse mix of public representatives, including the marginalized, elderly and poor, those living in remote places and people with disabilities. Social organizations, academia, citizens and the press should highlight different perspectives.

The bottom line is that central bank digital currencies are not just a matter of technology, but also a matter of political power and social justice. They have the potential to unleash unintended, unwanted and unexpected societal consequences — only time will tell what these consequences are.

Although central banks are responsible for platforming social issues to the public stage, democratic institutions must take the lead for this issue. Countries should implement digital currencies only if they can ensure that their governments and authorities will not cross red lines. These rules and regulations must be drawn immediately by democratic institutions, rather than exclusively by central banks.

Ultimately, what lies ahead of us is not just a technological advancement in payment, but a fundamental change in the world’s financial infrastructure. This change is expected to cause shifts in the social and political fabric of societies, and we must prepare for it in a democratic way.The Conversation

About The Author

Ori Freiman, Postdoctoral Fellow, Centre for Ethics, University of Toronto

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

You May Also Like

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

MOST READ

digital money 9 15
How Digital Money Has Changed How We Live
by Daromir Rudnyckyj
In simple terms, digital money can be defined as a form of currency that uses computer networks to…
An Equinox Altar
Making An Equinox Altar and Other Fall Equinox Projects
by Ellen Evert Hopman
Fall Equinox is the time when the seas become rough as the winter gales set in. It is also the…
curous kids 9 17
5 Ways To Keep Kids Curious
by Perry Zurn
Kids are naturally curious. But various forces in the environment can dampen their curiosity over…
koala bear "stuck" in a tree
When It’s Smart To Be Slow: Lessons from a Koala Bear
by Danielle Clode
The koala was clinging to an old tree stag while stranded in the Murray River, on the border…
quiet quitting 9 16
Why You Should Talk To Your Boss Before 'Quiet Quitting'
by Cary Cooper
Quiet quitting is a catchy name, popularised on social media, for something we’ve all probably…
woman's face looking at herself
How Could I Have Missed This?
by Mona Sobhani
I began this journey not expecting to find sci­entific evidence for my experiences, because the…
Sedna and Our Emerging World
Sedna and Our Emerging World
by Sarah Varcas
Sedna is the Inuit sea goddess, also known as mother or mistress of the sea and goddess of the…
signs of inequality 9 17
The US Has Dropped Drastically on Global Rankings that Measure Democracy and Inequality
by Kathleen Frydl
The United States may regard itself as a “leader of the free world,” but an index of development…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.