Die Bedeutung von Montag: Die künstliche Abwendung der Zeit

Die Bedeutung von Montag: Die künstliche Abwendung der Zeit

Das Fehlen von Sinn im Leben ist eine Krankheit, deren Seele in vollem Umfang
und volle Bedeutung unserer Zeit hat noch nicht angefangen zu verstehen.

- CG Jung

Wenn Sie sich relativ erfolgreich fühlen, aber nicht ganz zufrieden mit Ihrem Job und dem Leben, das Sie dadurch haben, sind Ihre Chancen, am Montagmorgen zu sterben, hoch. Untersuchungen haben ergeben, dass Sie am Montagmorgen am ehesten an einem Herzinfarkt oder Schlaganfall zwischen 9 AM und 11 AM sterben als zu jeder anderen Zeit der Woche. Natürlich ist es nicht der Montag, der uns umbringt, sondern die Bedeutung, die wir dieser künstlichen Wandlung aus der Zeit unseres Lebens beimessen.

Wölfe und Rotkehlchen wissen nicht, dass es Montag ist. Es kann erfolgreiche und nicht so erfolgreiche Waschbären geben, aber sie scheinen es nicht zu wissen oder, wenn sie es tun, scheinen sie sich nicht viel darum zu kümmern. Sie machen keine Wochenenden frei und teilen ihre Zeit in Qualität und Nicht-Zeit. Für sie gibt es kein Gestern oder Morgen.

Wir Menschen sind die Spezies, die Grenzen bildet. Wir erschaffen künstliche Anfänge und Enden in unseren Köpfen und erlauben ihnen dann, unser Leben zu regieren. Wir sind uns einer immensen Menge an Informationen bewusst, aber Aufmerksamkeit wird Aufmerksamkeit, wenn wir uns entscheiden, den Informationen, die in unser Gehirn kommen, Bedeutung zu verleihen. Wir können uns bewusst sein, dass es Montag ist, aber Montag bekommt seine Bedeutung, wenn wir uns auf diesen Tag konzentrieren und es zu einem schwarzen Tag machen.

Die Wissenschaft der Psychoneuroimmunologie (PNI) zeigt, dass die Bedeutung, die wir Ereignissen in unserem Leben zuweisen, unsere Physiologie beeinflussen kann: Sie kann unsere Immunantwort entweder verstärken oder verringern.

Wie wir uns unserem Leben und der Bedeutung unseres Lebens, das aus dieser Aufmerksamkeit resultiert, widmen, können sogar zum unbeabsichtigten "Suizid Erfolg" führen, dem ernsthaften Gesundheitsrisiko, am Montag mit der "schlechten" Einstellung des TSS (Toxic Success Syndrome) zur Arbeit zu gehen ). Wenn wir bewusst oder unbewusst unsere Leben in die Sehnsucht nach der Befreiung des Freitags von der Rattenrasse teilen und uns ängstlich darauf vorbereiten, dass wir dorthin zurückkehren, haben wir die Zeit unseres Lebens vergiftet.

TSS leidet haben einen Code für die Tage ihres Lebens erstellt. "TGIF" ist der Jubel derer, die sich am "Buckeltag" (Mittwoch) gefühlt haben und bereit sind, Gott zu danken, dass es Freitag ist. Außer vielleicht für TSS-Kranken, die das Wochenende als eine frustrierende Verzögerung in ihrem nicht enden wollenden Streben nach ihrem Erfolg betrachten oder einige Eltern, die ihre Fähigkeit verloren haben, die Aufmerksamkeit ihrer Kinder zu genießen, ist TGIM (Gott sei Dank ist Montag) noch nicht Teil der Zeitwortschatz des Toxisch Erfolgreichen.

Warum Montag als ein sterbender Tag ausbleibt

Wenn Herzinfarkte und Schlaganfälle rein physischer Natur sind, wie kann es dann sein, dass der Montag als sterbender Tag herausragt? Wenn diese und andere Krankheitsprozesse rein biophysikalische Ereignisse sind, sollten sie Chancengleichheitsmörder sein, die ihre Verwüstung nach dem Zufallsprinzip auslösen. Untersuchungen, die über mehr als drei Jahrzehnte hinweg durchgeführt wurden, zeigen jedoch, dass die Art und Weise, wie wir uns unserem Leben widmen, sich direkt auf unser Herz, unser Immunsystem und unser gesamtes Körpersystem auswirkt.


Holen Sie sich das Neueste von InnerSelf


Toxischer Erfolg resultiert aus der Bedeutung, die wir unserer Arbeit, unserer Liebe und den Tagen unseres Lebens beilegen. Das Neue Testament lehrt: "Wie ein Mensch denkt, so ist er", aber das Problem ist nicht so sehr "Geist über Materie" als "Geist ist Materie". PNI zeigt, dass wir buchstäblich "sind, was wir denken" und was, wo und wie wir unsere Aufmerksamkeit fokussieren.

Die Toxizität des Erfolges ist nicht auf harte und lange Arbeitsstunden zurückzuführen, es ist nicht gelungen, genügend Zeit für die sogenannte Qualität einzubringen oder ein Workaholic vom Typ A zu sein. Es wird von einem hektischen Geist verursacht, nicht von einer hektischen Welt. Wenn der Montag uns tötet, dann deshalb, weil wir Montag - selbst wenn wir uns dessen nicht bewusst sind - seine tödliche Macht gegeben haben.

Indem er auf diese immense Kraft unserer Aufmerksamkeit hinwies, schrieb Autor Norman Cousins, der berichtete, dass die Macht seines Glaubens zu seiner Genesung von einer lebensbedrohlichen Krankheit beitrage, schrieb: "Glaube wird Biologie. Der Kopf kommt zuerst."

Die Tendenz des toxisch Erfolgreichen, "outsightful" zu sein, die Welt von einem externen Kontrollort zu interpretieren, hat zu mehreren Versuchen geführt, die physikalischen Gründe, die Forscher "Black-Monday-Effekt" nennen, außerhalb physikalischer Gründe zu benennen.

Verzögerte Effekte von Überessen und Trinken am Wochenende, der physische Stress beim Umzug vom Sonntagnachmittags-Sofa zum Montagmorgen-Schreibtisch oder Automobilmontagelinie und die Exposition gegenüber berufsbedingten Chemikalien oder anderen Giftstoffen am Arbeitsplatz gehören zu den "Schau was ist passiert mit uns "Erklärungen angeboten, aber keiner dieser Gründe sind nachweislich für unsere Montagsmoral verantwortlich.

Der Schlüsselfaktor scheint zu sein, dass wir am Montag damit beginnen, uns "nach draußen" zu drehen, einen Teil unseres Körpers buchstäblich zu "verkörpern" oder den Stress der Außenwelt zu erzeugen. Wir machen unsere Montage giftig, weil die stressige Bedeutung, die wir ihnen geben, physisch verinnerlicht ist. Unser Körper wird zu dem, was wir von unseren Montagen halten.

Zusammen mit unserem einzigartigen menschlichen Geschenk der Aufmerksamkeit und unserer Fähigkeit, unserem Leben Bedeutung zu geben, kommt eine ehrfurchtgebietende Verantwortung und ein ernstes Risiko. Wir können uns selbst töten durch die giftigen Wege, die wir wählen, um über unser Leben nachzudenken, aber wir können auch unsere Gesundheit und unser emotionales Wohlbefinden verbessern, indem wir die Kraft unserer Aufmerksamkeit nutzen und sie nutzen, um Montag zu einem weiteren Tag auf dem Planeten-Paradies zu machen.

Der Risikofaktor, den wir am meisten vernachlässigen

Trotz des aktuellen Gesundheitsterrorismus und der dringenden Warnungen vor Diät und Bewegung haben die meisten Menschen, die ihren ersten Herzinfarkt unter fünfzig Jahren haben, keinen der wichtigsten körperlichen Risikofaktoren für eine koronare Herzkrankheit. Es ist nur ein gesunder Menschenverstand, bekannte gesundheitliche Risikofaktoren wie Rauchen, Bluthochdruck, Junkfood und erhöhte Cholesterinwerte zu vermeiden, aber die TSS-Konstellation von Mangel, Zweifel, Loslösung, Enttäuschung und schließlich Depression kann unser Gesundheitsrisiko sein am meisten vernachlässigen.

Der prädiktivste Faktor für Herzkrankheiten sind möglicherweise nicht die sogenannten physischen Risikofaktoren, sondern die mentalen - der chronische Entzugsmangel, der durch toxischen Erfolg entsteht. Was uns tötet, ist nicht nur das, was wir essen oder wiegen oder wie wenig wir trainieren. Es ist unser nagendes Gefühl der Unzufriedenheit und die giftigen Wege, die wir zu kompensieren versuchen, die uns für die Zivilisationskrankheiten anfällig machen.

Ich schlage vor, dass der Risikofaktor für unser allgemeines Wohlbefinden unser abgelenkter Geisteszustand ist. Wenn wir dem, was in unserem Leben am wichtigsten ist, nicht genug Aufmerksamkeit schenken, fangen wir an, etwas auszugleichen, was sich wie ein unglückliches Leben anfühlt. Wir missverstehen die Definition der Gesellschaft für eine mögliche Quelle der Zufriedenheit, die uns entgeht.

Wir konzentrieren unsere Aufmerksamkeit darauf, so zu leben und zu arbeiten, wie wir versprochen werden, zu sicherem Erfolg führen zu können, aber wir sind in Schwierigkeiten: Die Version des Erfolges der Gesellschaft ist giftig und Rezepte für seine Erreichung können tödliche Nebenwirkungen haben.

"Was denkst du über Montags?

Vielleicht sollte die erste Frage, die unser Arzt uns bei unserer nächsten körperlichen Untersuchung stellen sollte, lauten: "Was denkst du über Montags?" Vielleicht sollte er oder sie fragen, was wir denken, wenn wir am Montagmorgen erwachen und was wir Freitagabend denken.

Sind unsere Gedanken von Zufriedenheit, Ruhe und liebevoller Verbundenheit mit unserer Familie und Freunden geprägt? Ist der Montag einfach ein weiterer großartiger Tag in einer Reihe von großartigen Tagen oder stellt er eine Rückkehr zu Druck, Verpflichtung und Frustration dar?

Vielleicht sollte der Arzt nicht nur fragen, wie wir uns fühlen, sondern, was noch wichtiger ist: "Was beschäftigt uns die meiste Zeit?" Anstatt Cholesterinpunkte zu zählen, sollte er oder sie vielleicht fragen, wie oft wir montags oder an jedem Tag angenehme Gedanken darüber haben, wie zufrieden wir mit unserer Arbeit sind, wie ruhig wir uns in unserem täglichen Leben fühlen und wie sehr wir uns mit der Seele fühlen Menschen und Dinge, die in unserem Leben am wichtigsten sind.

Nachdruck mit freundlicher Genehmigung des Herausgebers,
Inner Ozean Verlag, Inc. © 2002.
www.innerocean.com

Artikel Quelle:

Toxischer Erfolg: Wie man mit dem Streben nach Erfolg aufhört
von Paul Pearsall, Ph.D.

Giftig Erfolg von Paul Pearsall, Ph.D.Dr. Pearsall stellt viele Selbsthilfekonventionen in Frage, die er nicht als Lösung, sondern als Teil des Problems sieht. Sein Entgiftungsprogramm hat vielen TSS-Patienten geholfen, sie zu versüssen, indem sie ihre Denkweise änderten und ihre Aufmerksamkeit zurücknahmen, sich auf das konzentrieren, was sie brauchen, nicht was sie wollen.

Klicken Sie hier für weitere Informationen und / oder um dieses gebundene Buch zu bestellen.

Über den Autor

Paul Pearsall, Ph.D.Paul Pearsall, Ph.D. (1942-2007) war ein lizenzierter klinischer Psychoneuroimmunologe, ein Spezialist in der Erforschung des heilenden Geistes. Er hielt einen Ph.D. in der klinischen und pädagogischen Psychologie. Dr. Pearsall hat mehr als zweihundert professionelle Artikel veröffentlicht, fünfzehn meistverkaufte Bücher geschrieben und ist in der Oprah Winfrey Show, der Monte / Williams Show, CNN, 20 / 20, Dateline und Good Morning America erschienen. Für weitere Informationen, besuchen Sie www.paulpearsall.com.

Weitere Bücher dieses Autors

{amazonWS: searchindex = Bücher; Schlüsselwörter = Paul Pearsall; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

The Meaning of Monday: The Artificial Walling Off of Time

Success

The Meaning of Monday: The Artificial Walling Off of Time

The lack of meaning in life is a soul-sickness whose full extent
and full import our age has not as yet begun to comprehend.

— C. G. Jung

If you feel relatively successful but not totally pleased with your job and the life you have because of it, your chances of dying on Monday morning are high. Research shows that you are more likely to die from a heart attack or stroke between 9 A.M. and 11 A.M. on Monday morning than any other time of the week. Of course, it's not Monday that kills us but the meaning we attach to this artificial walling off of the time of our life.

Wolves and robins don't know it's Monday. There may be successful and not so successful raccoons, but they don't seem to know it or, if they do, they don't seem to care much about it. They don't take weekends off and divide their time into quality and not-quality time. For them, there is no yesterday or tomorrow.

We humans are the species that builds boundaries. We create artificial beginnings and endings in our minds and then allow them to govern our life. We are aware of an immense array of information, but awareness becomes attention when we decide to assign meaning to the information coming into our brain. We can be aware that it's Monday, but Monday gets its meaning when we focus our attention on that day and make it a black day.

The science of psychoneuroimmunology (PNI) shows that the meaning we assign to events in our life can influence our physiology: It can either enhance or diminish our immune response.

How we attend to our life and the meaning of our living that results from that attention can even lead to unintentional "success suicide," the serious health risk of going to work on Monday with the "bad" attitude associated with TSS (Toxic Success Syndrome). If we consciously or unconsciously divide our lives into longing for Friday's relief from the rat race and anxiously anticipating our return to it, we have toxified the time of our life.

TSS suffers have created a code for the days of their lives. "TGIF" is the cheer of those who feel they have struggled past "hump day" (Wednesday) and are ready to thank God it's Friday. Except perhaps for TSS sufferers who consider the weekend a frustrating delay in their unending pursuit of their success or a few parents who have lost their ability to enjoy their children's demands on their attention, TGIM (Thank God It's Monday) is not yet part of the time vocabulary of the toxically successful.

Why Monday Sticks Out As A Dying Day

If heart attacks and strokes are purely physical in nature, how is it possible that Monday sticks out as a dying day? If these and other disease processes are purely biophysical events, they should be equal-opportunity killers that wreak their havoc at random. Research conducted over more than three decades shows, however, that how we attend to our life directly affects our heart, immune system, and entire body system.

Toxic success results from the meaning we attach to our work, our loving, and the days of our lives. The New Testament teaches, "As a man thinketh, so is he," but the issue is not so much "mind over matter" as "mind is matter." PNI shows that we literally "are what we think" and what, where, and how we focus our attention.

The toxicity of success is not due to working hard and long hours, failure to put in enough so-called quality time, or being a type A workaholic. It is caused by a frantic mind, not a hectic world. If Monday kills us, it is because — even if we are not consciously aware of it — we have given Monday its lethal power.

Pointing out this immense power of our attention, author Norman Cousins, who reported that the power of his beliefs contributed to his recovery from a life-threatening illness, wrote, "Belief becomes biology. The head comes first."

The tendency of the toxically successful to be "outsightful," to interpret the world from an external locus of control, has led to several attempts to attribute outside physical reasons to what researchers call the "Black Monday effect."

Delayed effects of overeating and drinking on the weekend, the physical stress of moving from the Sunday afternoon couch to the Monday morning desk or automotive assembly line, and exposure to job-related chemicals or other workplace toxins are among some of the "look what is happening to us" explanations offered, but none of these reasons have been proven to account for our Monday morality.

The key factor seems to be that we begin on Monday to turn ourselves "outside in," literally "embodying" or making a part of our body the stresses of the outside world. We make our Mondays toxic because the stressful meaning we give them is physically internalized. Our body becomes what we think of our Mondays.

Along with our uniquely human gift of attention and our capacity to assign meaning to our life comes an awesome responsibility and serious risk. We can kill ourselves by the toxic ways we choose to think about our life, but we can also enhance our health and emotional well being by harnessing the power of our attention and using it to make Monday just another day on planet paradise.

The Risk Factor We Are Neglecting The Most

Despite the current health terrorism and dire warnings about diet and exercise, most persons who have their first heart attack under age fifty have none of the major physical risk factors for coronary artery disease. It is only good common sense to avoid known health risk factors such as smoking, high blood pressure, junk food, and elevated cholesterol, but the TSS constellation of deficiency, doubt, detachment, disappointment, and eventually depression may be the health risk we are neglecting the most.

The most predictive factor for heart disease may not be the so-called physical risk factors but the mental ones -- the chronic delight deficiency that results from toxic success. What is killing us is not just what we eat or weigh or how little we exercise. It is our nagging sense of discontentment and the toxic ways we are attempting to compensate for it that renders us vulnerable to the diseases of civilization.

I suggest that the risk factor to our overall well being is our distracted state of mind. When we aren't paying enough attention to what matters most in our life, we begin to compensate for what feels like an unhappy life. We mistake society's definition of success for a possible source of the contentment that eludes us.

We focus our attention on living and working in the ways we are promised will lead to sure success, but we are in for trouble: Society's version of success is toxic and prescriptions for its attainment can have deadly side effects.

"How do you feel about Mondays?

Perhaps the first question our doctor should ask us at our next physical exam should be "How do you feel about Mondays?" Maybe he or she should ask what is on our minds when we awaken on Monday morning and what we are thinking Friday night.

Are our thoughts characterized by contentedness, calmness, and loving connection with our family and friends? Is Monday just another great day in a series of great days, or does it represent a return to pressure, obligation, and frustration?

Perhaps the doctor should ask not just how we are feeling but, more importantly, "What's on our mind most of the time?" Instead of counting cholesterol points, perhaps he or she should ask how many times on Mondays or any day we think delightful thoughts about how contented we feel with our work, how calm we feel in our daily living, and how truly connected we feel with the people and things that matter most in our life.

Reprinted with permission of the publisher,
Inner Ocean Publishing, Inc. ©2002.
www.innerocean.com

Article Source:

Toxic Success: How to Stop Striving and Start Thriving
by Paul Pearsall, Ph.D.

Toxic Success by Paul Pearsall, Ph.D. Dr. Pearsall directly challenges many of the self-help conventions, which he finds are not solutions but part of the problem. His detoxification program has helped many TSS patients to sweeten it up by changing their mindset and taking back their attention, focusing on what they need, not what they want.

Click here for more info and/or to order this hardcover book.

About the Author

Paul Pearsall, Ph.D.Paul Pearsall, Ph.D. (1942-2007) was a licensed clinical psychoneuroimmunologist, a specialist in the study of the healing mind. He held a Ph.D. in both clinical and educational psychology. Dr. Pearsall has published more than two hundred professional articles, written fifteen best-selling books, and has appeared on The Oprah Winfrey Show, The Monte/ Williams Show, CNN, 20/20, Dateline, and Good Morning America. For more info, visit www.paulpearsall.com.

More books by this Author

The Heart's Code: Tapping the Wisdom and Power of Our Heart Energy

SuccessAuthor: Paul Pearsall
Binding: Paperback
Brand: Pearsall, Paul
Studio: Broadway Books
Label: Broadway Books
Publisher: Broadway Books
Manufacturer: Broadway Books

Buy Now
Editorial Review: A fascinating synthesis of ancient wisdom, modern medicine, scientific research, and personal experiences that proves that the human heart, not the brain, holds the secrets that link body, mind, and spirit.

You know that the heart loves and feels, but did you know that the heart also thinks, remembers, communicates with other hearts, helps regulate immunity, and contains stored information that continually pulses through your body? In The Heart's Code, Dr. Paul Pearsall explains the theory and science behind energy cardiology, the emerging field that is uncovering one of the most significant medical, social, and spiritual discoveries of our time: The heart is more than just a pump; it conducts the cellular symphony that is the very essence of our being.

Full of amazing anecdotes and data, The Heart's Code presents the latest research on cellular memory and the power of the heart's energy and explores what these breakthroughs mean about how we should live our lives. By unlocking the heart's code we can discover new ways of understanding human healing and consciousness and create a new model for living that leads to better health, happiness, and self-knowledge.




The Pleasure Principle: Discovering a New Way to Health

SuccessAuthor: Paul Pearsall Ph.D.
Binding: Audible Audiobook
Format: Original recording
Creator(s):
  • Paul Pearsall
  • Nightingale-Conant

Studio: Nightingale-Conant
Label: Nightingale-Conant
Publisher: Nightingale-Conant
Manufacturer: Nightingale-Conant

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

Using new research from the field of psychoneuroimmunolgy, Dr. Pearsall goes beyond the Spartan "no pain, no gain" philosophy to one most aptly described as "no bliss, no benefit": if you enjoy it, it's good for you. Instead of stripping joyful activities from our lives, he encourages us to enjoy them in moderation. The key, he says, is balance. Discover how you can literally let good health "happen" to you by learning:

  • The purpose and use of one of your most important senses - your pleasure template.
  • The personal, interpersonal, transpersonal, temporal and sensual pleasure paths to health.
  • The difference between rational, healthy hedonism and irrational, unhealthy excess.
  • To laugh, love, and live rather than lap, lift, and lose.
  • The importance of touch, humor, and crying.
  • The power of doing fun-ins instead of work-outs.

The simple pleasures of daily living, those that we so often have little time for, are the real purpose and process of life. These are the pleasures we must pursue in order to improve the quality and length of our existence. And these are at the heart of Dr. Pearsall's humane, revisionist wisdom. The Pleasure Principle: Discovering a New Way to Health is just what the doctor ordered - it and that extra slice of pizza. So enjoy already.





The Secret to Invincibility: How to Thrive in Any Situation

SuccessAuthor: Paul Pearsall
Binding: Audible Audiobook
Format: Original recording
Creator(s):
  • Paul Pearsall
  • Nightingale-Conant

Studio: Nightingale-Conant
Label: Nightingale-Conant
Publisher: Nightingale-Conant
Manufacturer: Nightingale-Conant

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

The secrets of these "Invincibles" are what you'll discover in The Secret to Invincibility: a toolbox of simple, practical exercises, ideas, and techniques that you can begin using immediately to transform yourself into a powerhouse of invincibility, including:

  • The "Thrivability Test" - a 20-question quiz packed with surprising and intriguing questions that will tell you how strong your Thriving Response is right now so you have an accurate starting point for your path to invincibility.
  • A daily plan for psychoimmunity enhancement - simple steps you can take each day to mentally and emotionally equip yourself for invincibility so that it's ready to spring into action when you need it.
  • The amazingly quick trick that sends a rush of oxygen to your brain and "clears your head" in an instant.
  • How to avert the physiological impact of stress so that you don't suffer illness or physical breakdown when challenges come your way.
  • The seven Hardiness Factors and how to cultivate them.
  • Why positive thinking is useless - and what true thrivers do instead.
  • Dr. Paul Pearsall's grandmother's 12-ingredient "Recipe for Thriving" - so clear and powerful, you'll want to immediately write it down and post it so that you can be reminded of it all the time.
  • Morning and evening exercises that will help you to easily, naturally, and gradually build up your thriving muscles to the point of total invincibility.
  • And much, much more!




Success
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}