Как ваши легкие действительно удивительны

Как ваши легкие действительно удивительны
3D изображение легких. MDGRPHC / Shutterstock.com

Легкие - замечательные органы, которые непрерывно достигают удивительных подвигов, которые они делают настолько хорошо, что мы принимаем их как должное, за исключением случаев, когда их функция снижается. Все это происходит в пространстве внутри вашей груди, разделенном на две части и уменьшенном наличием сердца, больших сосудов и пищевода.

Судья Верховного суда Рут Бадер Гинзбург недавно вернулся В суд после операции по поводу рака легких мне задавали много вопросов о легких, так как я профессор анатомии.

Многие виды рака легких не действуют, но для лечения некоторых типов заболеваний легких, таких как ранние стадии рака легких, может быть выполнено хирургическое лечение, называемое лобэктомией. В этой операции удаляется доля легкого (у вашего правого легкого три доли, у левого легкого два). После этого другие доли расширяются, чтобы приспособиться и компенсировать недостающую ткань, позволяя легким работать так же или лучше, чем раньше.

Помимо того, что легкие являются очень эффективными органами, они имеют сложную структуру. Я не могу не задаться вопросом: если бы мы ценили их больше, мы были бы более активными в заботе о них?

Дыхание жизни

Основная функция дыхательной системы - доставлять кислород в наши легкие. Там его обменивают на ненужный продукт, углекислый газ, который затем удаляется из организма.

Через несколько недель после зачатия работа легких выполняется плацентаструктура за пределами нашего тела плода, где наша кровь обменивает углекислый газ и кислород с материнской кровью матки.

До рождения мы просто практикуем дыхательные движения, двигаясь амниотическая жидкость вместо воздуха и из легких.


Получите последние новости от InnerSelf


Как ваши легкие действительно удивительныНоворожденный и мама. После рождения ребенок задыхается из-за накопления CO2 и делает первый вдох, чтобы получить кислород. Anneka / Shutterstock.com

Через несколько секунд после перерезания пуповины накопление углекислого газа вызывает новорожденные задыхаются обменять его на кислород, деятельность, которая будет продолжаться до нашей смерти. Средний человек вдыхает около миллиона кубических футов воздуха в течение своей жизни.

Во время спокойной деятельности, такой как постельный режим или сидение, мы выполняем от восьми до 16 вдохов в минуту, каждый вдох вдыхает около пинты воздуха, содержащего процентное содержание кислорода 21 и небольшое количество углекислого газа в течение примерно двух секунд. Затем в течение трех секунд мы выдыхаем такое же количество воздуха, но теперь оно содержит 16 процентное содержание кислорода и увеличение диоксида углерода в 100 раз. Другими словами, вы тратите около 40 процентов своей жизни, вдыхая воздух, а 60 процентов своей жизни вытесняя его.

Ваши легкие по номерам

Каждый день галлоны воздуха 5,000 транспортируются через дыхательные пути, ведущие в легкие и проходящие через них. Дыхательные пути разветвляются и уменьшаются в размерах в 22 раз. Почти все это происходит в наших легких, причем эти дыхательные пути достигают общей длины 14,900 миль.

О 2,600 галлоны транспортируемого воздуха доставляются в 300 и удаляются из миллиона крошечных тонкостенных полых мешочков или каверны, которые обеспечивают огромную поверхность для обмена кислорода, необходимого для всех наших клеток, на углекислый газ, отход от них. Это территория, различающаяся по размеру между половиной и большей частью регламентированного теннисного корта.

Эта огромная область содержится в двух легких, каждое из которых всего несколько меньше трех литровых бутылок 1. Левое легкое на 10 процентов меньше правого из-за левостороннего положения сердца.

Как ваши легкие действительно удивительны3-D иллюстрация альвеол. RAJ CREATIONZS / Shutterstock.com

Альвеолы ​​плотно окружены кровеносными сосудами или капиллярами, настолько маленькими, что эритроциты непрерывно проходят через них, сжимаясь в один ряд, обменивая углекислый газ на кислород.

Капилляры легкого получают огромное кровоснабжение, равное тому, которое распределяется по всем другим частям всего тела. Альвеолы ​​расширяются и сжимаются по 15,000 раз в день. Во время активности частота дыхания удваивается, а в экстремальных - втрое, а количество воздуха, достигающего альвеол, увеличивается в три-пять раз. Дышите глубже и быстрее, используя объем легких, который сохраняется в покое, когда вы отдыхаете. Стресс также может привести к более глубокому и быстрому дыханию.

Ваши легкие на работе

Однако воздух, которым мы дышим, далеко не чистый, и одна из основных задач дыхательной системы состоит в том, чтобы «подготовить» воздух, прежде чем он достигнет воздушных мешков глубоко в легких.

Загрязнители воздуха в помещении могут иметь в два-пять раз больше загрязняющих веществ, чем наружный воздух, (Вы недавно наблюдали и меняли фильтры в вашей системе отопления / кондиционирования?)

Дыхательная система «кондиционирует» воздух несколькими способами. Во-первых, он повышает температуру холодного воздуха до температуры тела или охлаждает горячий воздух до температуры тела. Во-вторых, он увлажняет воздух до 100 процента влажности, чтобы предотвратить обезвоживание альвеолярных мембран. Наконец, это очищает воздух.

Посторонние и, возможно, вредные вещества отфильтровываются из входящего воздуха и удаляются несколькими способами, включая носовые волоски и липкую слизь, выстилающую дыхательные пути, которая производится со скоростью около кварта в день. Он содержит антимикробные агенты, которые помогают нейтрализовать вредные микробы и многие вирусы.

Важно отметить, что волосоподобные выступы на клетках, выстилающих дыхательные пути, которые называются ресничками, выводят загрязненную слизь из легких и дыхательных путей в глотку для проглатывания и разрушения желудочной кислотой.

Загрязняющие вещества, достигающие альвеолярных газообменных мембран, удаляются специализированными клетками, называемыми фагоцитами и макрофагами, которые поглощают частицы, чтобы переместиться больше всего, чтобы быть унесенными через лимфатические сосуды и узлы. Тем не менее, большая часть черного углерода просто перемещается в неизменяемые участки легкого.

В дополнение к кондиционированию воздуха для альвеол, вентиляция легких помогает охлаждать тело, когда оно перегрето. Около 7 процентов тепла тела отводится путем испарения из дыхательных путей внутри и снаружи легких. Одиннадцать унций воды в день теряются в виде водяного пара. Три процента тепла тела теряется при нагревании воздуха ниже температуры тела при вентиляции легких.

Другие удивительные функции легких включают контроль кислотно-щелочного баланса (pH) организма в целом путем избирательного удержания или удаления углекислого газа. Для вентиляции для газообмена легкие действуют как мехи. Выталкивание воздуха из легких позволяет гортани служить «голосовой коробкой», вибрируя голосовые связки, создавая тон, изменяемый языком, зубами и губами, чтобы производить наш голос для межличностного общения и пения. Этот выход воздуха также позволяет нам взрывать воздушные шары или играть на духовых инструментах.

Воздух, всасываемый в результате расширения легких, проходит через обонятельные области носа, обеспечивая наше обоняние. Легкие также действуют как «упаковочная пена» в грудной клетке, поддерживая и защищая жизненное сердце, которое доставляет половину его продукции в легкие, а другую половину - в остальную часть тела.

Темная сторона легких и их забота

В то время как легкие были розовыми при рождении, наши легкие постепенно темнеют до серого и пятнистого вида из-за этих углеродных частиц, большая часть которых остается на месте, обычно без вредного воздействия. Крупные раздражающие частицы обычно «выдуваются» из-за рефлексивного кашля и чихания. Эта система кондиционирования воздуха подвергается риску у курильщиков, чьи дыхательные пути теряют реснички и их направленную координацию, и поэтому они должны вернуться к кашлю как одному из основных средств удаления загрязняющих веществ.

Легкие курильщиков темнеют быстрее, становятся более пестрыми и приобретают оранжевый оттенок из-за никотина и коричневых смол. Длительное воздействие этих канцерогенов вызывает хронический бронхит, эмфизему и рак во многих частях тела, но особенно вокруг дыхательных путей непосредственно внутри входа в легкие. При эмфиземе альвеолярная структура легких разрушается, особенно в верхней части легких, что затрудняет полное выдох.

Сделайте глубокий вдох и рассмотрите все чудесные действия, которые выполняют ваши невероятные легкие.Беседа

Об авторе

Артур Далли, профессор анатомии, Университет Вандербильта

Эта статья переиздана из Беседа под лицензией Creative Commons. Прочтите оригинал статьи.

Книги по этой теме

{amazonWS: searchindex = Книги; ключевые слова = здоровые легкие; maxresults = 3}

enafarZH-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Следуйте за InnerSelf

facebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

ВНУТРЕННИЕ ГОЛОСЫ

САМОЕ ЧИТАЕМОЕ

How Your Lungs Are Really Amazing

Health

How Your Lungs Are Really Amazing
A 3D image of lungs. MDGRPHC/Shutterstock.com

Lungs are remarkable organs that continuously achieve amazing feats, which they do so well that we take them for granted, except when their function is diminished. It all happens in a space inside your chest, divided in two and reduced by the presence of the heart, the great vessels and the esophagus.

With Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg having recently returned to the court after surgery for lung cancer, I have been asked a lot of questions about the lungs, as I am a professor of anatomy.

Many lung cancers are not operable, but to treat some types of lung disease, such as early stages of lung cancer, a surgical treatment called a lobectomy may be performed. In this operation, a lobe of a lung (your right lung has three lobes, your left lung has two) is removed. Afterward, the other lobes expand to adapt and compensate for the missing tissue, allowing the lungs to work as well or better than they did before.

In addition to being highly efficient organs, the lungs are beautifully complex in their structure. I can’t help but wonder: If we appreciated them more, would we be more proactive in taking care of them?

Breath of life

The primary function of the respiratory system is to bring oxygen into our lungs. There it is exchanged for a waste product, carbon dioxide, which is then removed from the body.

Several weeks following conception, the work of the lungs is performed by the placenta, a structure outside our fetal bodies where our blood exchanges carbon dioxide and oxygen with the maternal blood of the uterus.

Before birth, we just practice respiratory movements, moving amniotic fluid instead of air in and out of the lungs.

How Your Lungs Are Really AmazingA newborn and mother. After birth, a baby gasps because of a buildup of CO2 and takes its first breath to take in oxygen. Anneka/Shutterstock.com

Within seconds after the umbilical cord is cut, a buildup of carbon dioxide causes newborns to gasp for breath to exchange it for oxygen, an activity that will continue until our death. The average person breathes some 13 million cubic feet of air during their lifetime.

During quiet activity, such as bed rest or sitting, we take eight to 16 breaths per minute, each breath inhaling about a pint of air containing 21 percent oxygen and a small amount of carbon dioxide for about two seconds. Then for three seconds, we exhale the same amount of air, but it now contains 16 percent oxygen and a 100-fold increase in carbon dioxide. In other words, you spend about 40 percent of your life drawing air in, and 60 percent of your life expelling it.

Your lungs, by the numbers

Each day, 5,000 gallons of air are transported through airways leading into and extending throughout the lungs. The airways branch and diminish in size 22 times. Almost of all this occurs within our lungs, with these airways reaching a combined length of 14,900 miles.

About 2,600 gallons of the transported air are delivered into and removed from 300 million tiny, thin-walled, hollow sacs, or alveoli, that provide an enormous surface for the exchange of oxygen, required by all our cells, for carbon dioxide, a waste product from them. This is an area varying in size between half and most of a regulation tennis court.

This immense area is contained within two lungs, each only somewhat smaller than three, 1-liter bottles. The left lung is 10 percent smaller than the right, due to the left-sided position of the heart.

How Your Lungs Are Really AmazingA 3-D illustration of alveoli. RAJ CREATIONZS/Shutterstock.com

The alveoli are tightly surrounded by blood vessels, or capillaries, so small that red blood cells continuously pass through them squeezed into a single row as they exchange carbon dioxide for oxygen.

The capillaries of the lung receive an immense blood supply, equal to that distributed to all other parts of the entire body. The alveoli expand and contract 15,000 times a day. During activity, the rate of respiration doubles – and in extreme activities triples – and the amount of air reaching the alveoli increases three to five times. Breathing deeper and faster uses lung capacity that’s held in reserve while at rest. Stress can also result in deeper and faster respiration.

Your lungs at work

The air we breathe is far from clean, however, and one of the primary jobs of the respiratory system is to “condition” the air before it reaches the air sacs deep inside your lungs.

Indoor air pollutants can have two to five times more pollutants than outdoor air. (Have you observed and changed filters on your heating/AC system recently?)

The respiratory system “conditions” the air in several ways. First, it raises the temperature of cool air to body temperature, or it cools hot air to body temperature. Second, it moisturizes the air to 100 percent humidity to prevent dehydration of alveolar membranes. Last, it cleans the air.

Foreign and possibly harmful substances are filtered from in-flowing air and removed by several means, including nasal hairs and sticky mucus lining the airways that is produced at a rate of about a quart a day. It contains antimicrobial agents that help to neutralize harmful germs and many viruses.

Importantly, hair-like projections on cells lining the airways, called cilia, move the soiled mucus out of the lungs and air passages to the throat to be swallowed and destroyed by stomach acid.

Pollutants reaching the alveolar gas-exchanging membranes are removed by specialized cells called phagocytes and macrophages that ingest particles to move most to be carried away via lymph vessels and nodes. However, much of the black carbon is merely moved to non-exchanging portions of the lung.

In addition to conditioning air for the alveoli, ventilation of the lungs helps to cool the body down when it is overheated. About 7 percent of body heat is removed via evaporation from airways inside and outside the lungs. Eleven ounces of water per day are lost as water vapor. Three percent of body heat is lost by heating air below body temperature as the lungs are ventilated.

Other amazing functions of the lungs include controlling the acid-base balance (pH) of the body as a whole by selectively retaining or eliminating carbon dioxide. In order to be ventilated for gas exchange, the lungs act as bellows. The propulsion of air from the lungs enables the larynx to serve as a “voice box,” vibrating the vocal cords to produce the tone that is modified by the tongue, teeth and lips to produce our voice for interpersonal communication and for singing. This air output also allows us to blow up balloons or play wind instruments.

Air drawn in by expansion of the lungs passes over the olfactory areas of the nose, enabling our sense of smell. The lungs also act as “packing foam” inside the rib cage, supporting and protecting the vital heart that delivers half of its output to the lungs, and the other half to the rest of the body.

The dark side of the lungs, and of their care

While the lungs were a pristine pink at birth, our lungs gradually darken to a gray and mottled appearance due to these carbon particles, much of which remains in place, usually with no detrimental effect. Larger, irritating particles are commonly “blasted” away by reflexive coughing and sneezing. This air conditioning system is compromised in smokers, whose airways lose cilia and their directional coordination, and so must revert to coughing as a major means of pollutant removal.

Smokers’ lungs darken faster, becoming more mottled, and take on an orange tone due to nicotine and brown tars. Prolonged exposure to these carcinogens causes chronic bronchitis, emphysema and cancer in many parts of the body, but especially around airways just inside the entrance to the lungs. In emphysema, the alveolar structure of the lungs collapses, especially in the upper lung, making it difficult to fully exhale.

Take a deep breath and consider all the miraculous activities your incredible lungs are performing.The Conversation

About The Author

Arthur Dalley, Professor of Anatomy, Vanderbilt University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

The COPD Solution: A Proven 10-Week Program for Living and Breathing Better with Chronic Lung Disease

HealthAuthor: Dawn Lesley Fielding
Binding: Paperback
Studio: Da Capo Lifelong Books
Label: Da Capo Lifelong Books
Publisher: Da Capo Lifelong Books
Manufacturer: Da Capo Lifelong Books

Buy Now
Editorial Review:
When you can't breathe, nothing else matters. If you are one of the 15 million Americans diagnosed with Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD), you know what it's like to struggle to breathe. You know what it's like to sacrifice your favorite activities to a chronic illness that changes everything from your work life to how you take your meals. But there is help—and hope. Respiratory Therapist Dawn Lesley Fielding shares the program she has used in her own practice—with an astonishing 100% success rate—offering techniques and tools to make breathing easier and improve your overall health. This practical, accessible, step-by-step guide explains...

what COPD is and how it affects your breathing
the most up-to-date medication and treatment options
how to track symptoms and medications
essential breathing techniques to improve oxygen intake
strategies for healthy nutrition and gentle exercise
what to eat and what to avoid, with lists of key COPD foods

With stories from others with this condition, easy charts for managing everything from your medications to your symptoms, as well as hands-on tips for you and your loved ones, The COPD Solution is your guide to reclaiming your life and living fully with COPD.





Building Healthy Lungs Naturally

HealthAuthor: Mike White
Binding: Paperback
Studio: BookSurge Publishing
Label: BookSurge Publishing
Publisher: BookSurge Publishing
Manufacturer: BookSurge Publishing

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Biochemical and Environmental Aspects of the Optimal Breathing Development System




Keep the Beat Recipes: Deliciously Healthy Dinners by National Heart, Lung, & Blood Institute (2009) Spiral-bound

HealthAuthor: National Heart
Binding: Spiral-bound
Studio: National Institutes of Health
Label: National Institutes of Health
Publisher: National Institutes of Health
Manufacturer: National Institutes of Health

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Keep the Beat Recipes: Deliciously Healthy Dinners [Oct 10, 2009] National Heart; Lung and & Blood Institute




Health
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}