كيف رئتيك حقا مذهلة

المستوى الصحي

كيف رئتيك حقا مذهلة
صورة 3D للرئتين. MDGRPHC / Shutterstock.com

الرئتين هي أعضاء رائعة تعمل باستمرار على تحقيق المكاسب المدهشة ، والتي تقوم بها بشكل جيد بحيث نأخذها كأمر مسلم به ، إلا عندما يتم تقليل وظيفتها. كل هذا يحدث في فراغ داخل صدرك ، مقسم إلى قسمين ويقلل من وجود القلب والأوعية الكبيرة والمريء.

مع قاضي المحكمة العليا روث بادر غينسبرغ عاد مؤخرا إلى المحكمة بعد عملية جراحية لسرطان الرئة ، لقد سئلت الكثير من الأسئلة حول الرئتين ، وأنا أستاذ في علم التشريح.

العديد من سرطانات الرئة ليست قابلة للتشغيل ، ولكن لعلاج بعض أنواع أمراض الرئة ، مثل المراحل المبكرة من سرطان الرئة ، يمكن إجراء علاج جراحي يسمى استئصال الفص. في هذه العملية ، تتم إزالة الفص من الرئة (لديك الرئة اليمنى لديه ثلاث فصوص ، ورئتك اليسرى اثنين). بعد ذلك ، تتوسع الفصوص الأخرى للتكيف والتعويض عن الأنسجة المفقودة ، مما يسمح للرئتين بالعمل بشكل جيد أو أفضل مما كانت عليه من قبل.

بالإضافة إلى كونها أجهزة عالية الكفاءة ، فإن الرئتين معقدة بشكل جميل في بنيتها. لا يسعني إلا أن أتساءل: إذا كنا نقدرها أكثر ، فهل سنكون أكثر استباقية في الاعتناء بهم؟

نفس الحياة

الوظيفة الأساسية للجهاز التنفسي هي جلب الأكسجين إلى رئتينا. هناك يتم تبادلها لمنتج النفايات ، وثاني أكسيد الكربون ، الذي يتم إزالته من الجسم.

بعد عدة أسابيع من الحمل ، يتم تنفيذ عمل الرئتين بواسطة مشيمةوهي بنية خارج أجسامنا الجنينية حيث يتبادل الدم بين ثاني أكسيد الكربون والأكسجين مع دم الأم في الرحم.

قبل الولادة ، نمارس حركات تنفسية ، نتحرك السائل الذي يحيط بالجنين بدلا من الهواء داخل وخارج الرئتين.

كيف رئتيك حقا مذهلةوالوليد والأم. بعد الولادة ، يلهث الطفل بسبب تراكم CO2 ويأخذ أنفاسه الأولى ليأخذ الأكسجين. Anneka / Shutterstock.com

في غضون ثوانٍ من قطع الحبل السري ، يتسبب تراكم ثاني أكسيد الكربون في حدوثه الأطفال حديثي الولادة إلى اللحظات للتنفس لتبادلها للأكسجين ، وهو النشاط الذي سيستمر حتى موتنا. الشخص العادي يتنفس بعض 13 مليون قدم مكعب من الهواء خلال حياتهم.

أثناء النشاط الهادئ ، مثل الراحة في الفراش أو الجلوس ، نأخذ ثمانية إلى أنفاس 16 في الدقيقة ، كل نفس يستنشق حوالي نصف لتر من الهواء تحتوي على أكسجين 21 في المائة وكمية صغيرة من ثاني أكسيد الكربون لمدة ثانيتين تقريبًا. بعد ذلك بثلاث ثوانٍ ، نزفر نفس كمية الهواء ، لكنه يحتوي الآن على أكسجين 16 في المائة وزيادة 100 في ثاني أكسيد الكربون. بعبارة أخرى ، أنت تنفق حوالي 40 في المائة من حياتك التي تستنشق الهواء ، ونسبة 60 من حياتك تقضي عليه.

رئتيك ، من خلال الأرقام

كل يوم ، يتم نقل 5,000 غالون من الهواء عبر الخطوط الجوية المؤدية إلى وتمتد في جميع أنحاء الرئتين. فرع الخطوط الجوية وتقلل في حجم 22 مرة. يحدث كل هذا تقريبًا داخل رئتينا ، حيث تصل هذه الخطوط الجوية إلى طول إجمالي لأميال 14,900.

حول 2,600 يتم تسليم غالونات الهواء المنقولة وإزالتها من 300 مليون ، أو حويصلات مجوفة رقيقة ، أو مجوفة ، أو الحويصلات الهوائيةالتي توفر سطحًا هائلاً لتبادل الأكسجين ، الذي تتطلبه جميع خلايانا ، لثاني أكسيد الكربون ، وهو منتج نفايات منها. هذه المساحة متفاوتة في الحجم بين النصف ومعظم ملعب تنس التنظيم.

هذه المنطقة الهائلة موجودة في رئتين ، كل منها أصغر من ثلاث زجاجات 1. الرئة اليسرى هي أصغر بنسبة 10 من اليمين ، وذلك بسبب الوضع الأيسر للقلب.

كيف رئتيك حقا مذهلةتوضيح 3-D للحويصلات. RAJ CREATIONZS / Shutterstock.com

الحويصلات الهوائية محاطة بإحكام بالأوعية الدموية ، أو الشعيرات الدموية ، وهي صغيرة جدًا بحيث تمر خلايا الدم الحمراء باستمرار من خلال الضغط عليها في صف واحد حيث تقوم بتبادل ثاني أكسيد الكربون للأكسجين.

تتلقى الشعيرات الدموية في الرئة إمدادًا هائلاً من الدم ، مساوٍ لتوزيعه على جميع الأجزاء الأخرى من الجسم بأكمله. توسيع الحويصلات الهوائية وتقليص عدد مرات 15,000 في اليوم. أثناء النشاط ، يتضاعف معدل التنفس - وفي الأنشطة القصوى الثلاثية - ويزيد مقدار الهواء الذي يصل إلى الحويصلات من ثلاث إلى خمس مرات. التنفس أعمق وأسرع يستخدم سعة الرئة التي يتم الاحتفاظ بها في حالة احتياطي أثناء الراحة. يمكن أن يؤدي الإجهاد أيضًا إلى تنفس أعمق وأسرع.

رئتيك في العمل

الهواء الذي نتنفسه بعيد عن أن يكون نظيفًا ، ومع ذلك ، فإن إحدى الوظائف الأساسية للجهاز التنفسي هي "وضع" الهواء قبل وصوله إلى الأكياس الهوائية في أعماق رئتيك.

ملوثات الهواء في الأماكن المغلقة يمكن أن يكون أكثر من خمس إلى خمس مرات من الملوثات أكثر من الهواء الخارجي. (هل لاحظت وتغيرت الفلاتر على نظام التدفئة / التيار المتردد مؤخرًا؟)

الجهاز التنفسي "شروط" الهواء بعدة طرق. أولا ، أنه يرفع درجة حرارة الهواء البارد إلى درجة حرارة الجسم ، أو أنه يبرد الهواء الساخن إلى درجة حرارة الجسم. ثانيا ، يرطب الهواء إلى الرطوبة 100 في المئة لمنع جفاف الأغشية السنخية. أخيرًا ، ينظف الهواء.

يتم ترشيح المواد الخارجية وربما الضارة من الهواء المتدفق وإزالتها بوسائل عديدة ، بما في ذلك الشعر الأنفي والمخاط اللزج المبطّن في الممرات الهوائية التي يتم إنتاجها بمعدل حوالي ربع جالون في اليوم. يحتوي على مضادات الميكروبات التي تساعد على تحييد الجراثيم الضارة والعديد من الفيروسات.

والأهم من ذلك ، أن الإسقاطات الشبيهة بالشعر على الخلايا المبطنة للمسالك الهوائية ، تسمى الأهداب ، تحرك المخاط المتسخ من الرئة والممرات الهوائية إلى الحلق ليتم بلعه وتدميره بواسطة حمض المعدة.

تتم إزالة الملوثات التي تصل إلى أغشية تبادل الغازات السنخية بواسطة خلايا متخصصة تسمى البالعات والبلاعم التي تلتهم الجسيمات لتحريك معظمها ليتم نقلها عبر الأوعية اللمفية والعقد. ومع ذلك ، فإن الكثير من الكربون الأسود يتم نقله فقط إلى أجزاء غير متبادلة من الرئة.

بالإضافة إلى تكييف الهواء للحويصلات الهوائية ، تساعد تهوية الرئتين على تبريد الجسم إلى أسفل عند ارتفاع درجة حرارته. تتم إزالة نسبة 7 في المئة من حرارة الجسم عبر التبخر من الممرات الهوائية داخل وخارج الرئتين. يتم فقدان أحد عشر أوقية من الماء كل يوم مثل بخار الماء. يتم فقدان ثلاثة في المئة من حرارة الجسم عن طريق تسخين الهواء تحت درجة حرارة الجسم كما تهوية الرئتين.

وتشمل الوظائف المدهشة الأخرى للرئتين التحكم في توازن القاعدة الحمضية (pH) في الجسم ككل عن طريق الاحتفاظ أو إزالة ثاني أكسيد الكربون بشكل انتقائي. من أجل تهوية لتبادل الغاز ، تعمل الرئتان كخوار. إن دفع الهواء من الرئتين يمكّن الحنجرة من العمل كصندوق صوتي ، حيث تهتز الأحبال الصوتية لإنتاج النغمة التي يتم تعديلها بواسطة اللسان والأسنان والشفتين لإنتاج صوتنا للتواصل بين الأشخاص والغناء. كما يسمح لنا مخرج الهواء هذا بتفجير البالونات أو تشغيل آلات النفخ.

يمر الهواء المسحوب من خلال توسيع الرئتين فوق مناطق الأنف الشمية ، مما يتيح حاسة الشم لدينا. تعمل الرئتان أيضًا ك "رغوة تغليف" داخل القفص الصدري ، مما يدعم ويحمي القلب الحيوي الذي يوفر نصف إنتاجه للرئتين ، والنصف الآخر لبقية الجسم.

الجانب المظلم من الرئتين ، ورعايتهم

بينما كانت الرئتان لونًا ورديًا ناصعًا عند الولادة ، تتدهور رئتانا تدريجيًا إلى مظهر رمادي ومرقش بسبب جسيمات الكربون ، التي يبقى الكثير منها في مكانها ، وعادة بدون تأثير ضار. الجسيمات الكبيرة المزعجة عادة ما يتم "تفجيرها" عن طريق السعال الانعكاسي والعطس. نظام تكييف الهواء هذا يتعرض للخطر لدى المدخنين الذين يفقدون مجاري الهواء أهدابهم وتنسيقها التوجيهي ، لذا يجب أن يعودوا إلى السعال كوسيلة رئيسية لإزالة الملوثات.

رئت المدخنين تظلم بشكل أسرع ، وتصبح أكثر تهوراً ، وتتخذ لون برتقالي بسبب القطران البني والنيكوتين. التعرض لفترة طويلة لهذه المواد المسببة للسرطان يسبب التهاب القصبات المزمن ، وانتفاخ الرئة والسرطان في أجزاء كثيرة من الجسم ، ولكن خصوصا حول الممرات الهوائية فقط داخل مدخل الرئتين. في حالة انتفاخ الرئة ، ينهار الهيكل السنخي في الرئتين ، خاصة في الرئة العليا ، مما يجعل من الصعب الزفير بشكل كامل.

خذ نفسًا عميقًا واعتبر جميع الأنشطة المعجزة التي تؤديها رئتيك المذهلة.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

آرثر دالي ، أستاذ التشريح ، جامعة فاندربيلت

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = healthy lungs؛ maxresults = 3}

المستوى الصحي
enafarزكية-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

أصوات INNERSELF

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

How Your Lungs Are Really Amazing

Health

How Your Lungs Are Really Amazing
A 3D image of lungs. MDGRPHC/Shutterstock.com

Lungs are remarkable organs that continuously achieve amazing feats, which they do so well that we take them for granted, except when their function is diminished. It all happens in a space inside your chest, divided in two and reduced by the presence of the heart, the great vessels and the esophagus.

With Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg having recently returned to the court after surgery for lung cancer, I have been asked a lot of questions about the lungs, as I am a professor of anatomy.

Many lung cancers are not operable, but to treat some types of lung disease, such as early stages of lung cancer, a surgical treatment called a lobectomy may be performed. In this operation, a lobe of a lung (your right lung has three lobes, your left lung has two) is removed. Afterward, the other lobes expand to adapt and compensate for the missing tissue, allowing the lungs to work as well or better than they did before.

In addition to being highly efficient organs, the lungs are beautifully complex in their structure. I can’t help but wonder: If we appreciated them more, would we be more proactive in taking care of them?

Breath of life

The primary function of the respiratory system is to bring oxygen into our lungs. There it is exchanged for a waste product, carbon dioxide, which is then removed from the body.

Several weeks following conception, the work of the lungs is performed by the placenta, a structure outside our fetal bodies where our blood exchanges carbon dioxide and oxygen with the maternal blood of the uterus.

Before birth, we just practice respiratory movements, moving amniotic fluid instead of air in and out of the lungs.

How Your Lungs Are Really AmazingA newborn and mother. After birth, a baby gasps because of a buildup of CO2 and takes its first breath to take in oxygen. Anneka/Shutterstock.com

Within seconds after the umbilical cord is cut, a buildup of carbon dioxide causes newborns to gasp for breath to exchange it for oxygen, an activity that will continue until our death. The average person breathes some 13 million cubic feet of air during their lifetime.

During quiet activity, such as bed rest or sitting, we take eight to 16 breaths per minute, each breath inhaling about a pint of air containing 21 percent oxygen and a small amount of carbon dioxide for about two seconds. Then for three seconds, we exhale the same amount of air, but it now contains 16 percent oxygen and a 100-fold increase in carbon dioxide. In other words, you spend about 40 percent of your life drawing air in, and 60 percent of your life expelling it.

Your lungs, by the numbers

Each day, 5,000 gallons of air are transported through airways leading into and extending throughout the lungs. The airways branch and diminish in size 22 times. Almost of all this occurs within our lungs, with these airways reaching a combined length of 14,900 miles.

About 2,600 gallons of the transported air are delivered into and removed from 300 million tiny, thin-walled, hollow sacs, or alveoli, that provide an enormous surface for the exchange of oxygen, required by all our cells, for carbon dioxide, a waste product from them. This is an area varying in size between half and most of a regulation tennis court.

This immense area is contained within two lungs, each only somewhat smaller than three, 1-liter bottles. The left lung is 10 percent smaller than the right, due to the left-sided position of the heart.

How Your Lungs Are Really AmazingA 3-D illustration of alveoli. RAJ CREATIONZS/Shutterstock.com

The alveoli are tightly surrounded by blood vessels, or capillaries, so small that red blood cells continuously pass through them squeezed into a single row as they exchange carbon dioxide for oxygen.

The capillaries of the lung receive an immense blood supply, equal to that distributed to all other parts of the entire body. The alveoli expand and contract 15,000 times a day. During activity, the rate of respiration doubles – and in extreme activities triples – and the amount of air reaching the alveoli increases three to five times. Breathing deeper and faster uses lung capacity that’s held in reserve while at rest. Stress can also result in deeper and faster respiration.

Your lungs at work

The air we breathe is far from clean, however, and one of the primary jobs of the respiratory system is to “condition” the air before it reaches the air sacs deep inside your lungs.

Indoor air pollutants can have two to five times more pollutants than outdoor air. (Have you observed and changed filters on your heating/AC system recently?)

The respiratory system “conditions” the air in several ways. First, it raises the temperature of cool air to body temperature, or it cools hot air to body temperature. Second, it moisturizes the air to 100 percent humidity to prevent dehydration of alveolar membranes. Last, it cleans the air.

Foreign and possibly harmful substances are filtered from in-flowing air and removed by several means, including nasal hairs and sticky mucus lining the airways that is produced at a rate of about a quart a day. It contains antimicrobial agents that help to neutralize harmful germs and many viruses.

Importantly, hair-like projections on cells lining the airways, called cilia, move the soiled mucus out of the lungs and air passages to the throat to be swallowed and destroyed by stomach acid.

Pollutants reaching the alveolar gas-exchanging membranes are removed by specialized cells called phagocytes and macrophages that ingest particles to move most to be carried away via lymph vessels and nodes. However, much of the black carbon is merely moved to non-exchanging portions of the lung.

In addition to conditioning air for the alveoli, ventilation of the lungs helps to cool the body down when it is overheated. About 7 percent of body heat is removed via evaporation from airways inside and outside the lungs. Eleven ounces of water per day are lost as water vapor. Three percent of body heat is lost by heating air below body temperature as the lungs are ventilated.

Other amazing functions of the lungs include controlling the acid-base balance (pH) of the body as a whole by selectively retaining or eliminating carbon dioxide. In order to be ventilated for gas exchange, the lungs act as bellows. The propulsion of air from the lungs enables the larynx to serve as a “voice box,” vibrating the vocal cords to produce the tone that is modified by the tongue, teeth and lips to produce our voice for interpersonal communication and for singing. This air output also allows us to blow up balloons or play wind instruments.

Air drawn in by expansion of the lungs passes over the olfactory areas of the nose, enabling our sense of smell. The lungs also act as “packing foam” inside the rib cage, supporting and protecting the vital heart that delivers half of its output to the lungs, and the other half to the rest of the body.

The dark side of the lungs, and of their care

While the lungs were a pristine pink at birth, our lungs gradually darken to a gray and mottled appearance due to these carbon particles, much of which remains in place, usually with no detrimental effect. Larger, irritating particles are commonly “blasted” away by reflexive coughing and sneezing. This air conditioning system is compromised in smokers, whose airways lose cilia and their directional coordination, and so must revert to coughing as a major means of pollutant removal.

Smokers’ lungs darken faster, becoming more mottled, and take on an orange tone due to nicotine and brown tars. Prolonged exposure to these carcinogens causes chronic bronchitis, emphysema and cancer in many parts of the body, but especially around airways just inside the entrance to the lungs. In emphysema, the alveolar structure of the lungs collapses, especially in the upper lung, making it difficult to fully exhale.

Take a deep breath and consider all the miraculous activities your incredible lungs are performing.The Conversation

About The Author

Arthur Dalley, Professor of Anatomy, Vanderbilt University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

The COPD Solution: A Proven 10-Week Program for Living and Breathing Better with Chronic Lung Disease

HealthAuthor: Dawn Lesley Fielding
Binding: Paperback
Studio: Da Capo Lifelong Books
Label: Da Capo Lifelong Books
Publisher: Da Capo Lifelong Books
Manufacturer: Da Capo Lifelong Books

Buy Now
Editorial Review:
When you can't breathe, nothing else matters. If you are one of the 15 million Americans diagnosed with Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD), you know what it's like to struggle to breathe. You know what it's like to sacrifice your favorite activities to a chronic illness that changes everything from your work life to how you take your meals. But there is help—and hope. Respiratory Therapist Dawn Lesley Fielding shares the program she has used in her own practice—with an astonishing 100% success rate—offering techniques and tools to make breathing easier and improve your overall health. This practical, accessible, step-by-step guide explains...

what COPD is and how it affects your breathing
the most up-to-date medication and treatment options
how to track symptoms and medications
essential breathing techniques to improve oxygen intake
strategies for healthy nutrition and gentle exercise
what to eat and what to avoid, with lists of key COPD foods

With stories from others with this condition, easy charts for managing everything from your medications to your symptoms, as well as hands-on tips for you and your loved ones, The COPD Solution is your guide to reclaiming your life and living fully with COPD.





Building Healthy Lungs Naturally

HealthAuthor: Mike White
Binding: Paperback
Studio: BookSurge Publishing
Label: BookSurge Publishing
Publisher: BookSurge Publishing
Manufacturer: BookSurge Publishing

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Biochemical and Environmental Aspects of the Optimal Breathing Development System




Keep the Beat Recipes: Deliciously Healthy Dinners by National Heart, Lung, & Blood Institute (2009) Spiral-bound

HealthAuthor: National Heart
Binding: Spiral-bound
Studio: National Institutes of Health
Label: National Institutes of Health
Publisher: National Institutes of Health
Manufacturer: National Institutes of Health

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Keep the Beat Recipes: Deliciously Healthy Dinners [Oct 10, 2009] National Heart; Lung and & Blood Institute




Health
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}