ارتفاع سكر الدم في الحمل يزيد من مخاطر السمنة عند الأطفال

الصحة

ارتفاع سكر الدم في الحمل يزيد من مخاطر السمنة عند الأطفال

ارتبط ارتفاع مستوى السكر في الدم لدى المرأة الحامل بخطر أكبر على المدى الطويل للبدانة في طفلها - حتى بعد مرور أكثر من عقد من الزمان ، حسب دراسة جديدة. وكلما ارتفعت نسبة السكر في دم المرأة ، زاد خطر إصابة طفلها بالسمنة.

يقول بويد ميتزجر ، وهو أستاذ في دراسة الطب في علم الغدد الصماء في كلية الطب في جامعة نورث وسترن في فينبيرغ: "إن مستوى سكر الدم لدى الأم أثناء الحمل هو مساهم مستقل في وزن الطفل ومخاطر التعرض للبدانة في مرحلة الطفولة في وقت لاحق".

يقول ميتزغر: "لقد عرفنا منذ زمن طويل أن الخصائص العائلية تتنبأ بالكثير من المعلومات حول الكيفية التي ستبدو بها." "هذا يتجاوز وزن الأم. هذا يأخذ في الاعتبار جميع تلك العوامل الأخرى. "

خطر أعلى للأمهات أيضا

الأمهات اللواتي يعانين من نسبة أعلى من المعتاد من السكر في الدم خلال فترة الحمل - حتى وإن لم تكن عالية بما يكفي للوفاء بتعريف السكري الحملي المستخدم في الولايات المتحدة اليوم - كن أكثر عرضة للإصابة بسكري النوع 2 بعد عقد من الحمل مقارنة بنظرائهن بدون ارتفاع نسبة السكر في الدم.

لقد عرف الباحثون أن علاج ارتفاع نسبة السكر في الدم أثناء الحمل يقلل من المشاكل بالنسبة للمواليد الجدد والأم. إن خفض سكر دم الأم يقلل من وزن الطفل عند الولادة ، بالإضافة إلى خطر الإصابة بحالة ما قبل تسمم الحمل ، وهي حالة قد تهدد الحياة والتي تعاني الأم من ارتفاع ضغط الدم فيها ويؤثر عليها.

ولكن قبل هذه الدراسة ، التي تظهر في مجلة الجمعية الطبية الأميركيةلم يعرف العلماء أن المخاطر المرتبطة بسكر الدم أثناء الحمل تستمر حتى مرحلة الطفولة. وما زالوا لا يعرفون ما إذا كان علاج الأم يقلل من هذه المخاطر على المدى الطويل. سوف تحتاج الدراسات المستقبلية للمساعدة في الإجابة على هذه الأسئلة ، يقول ميتزجر.

يقول ميتزغر: "لا نعرف آليات كيفية حدوث هذه التغييرات على المدى الطويل". "نحن نشك في أن التغيرات الوراثية من المحتمل أن تؤثر على هذه النتائج على المدى الطويل وأن تبدأ هذه التغييرات في وقت مبكر جدًا من الحمل".

نتائج ضارة

مع زيادة كبيرة في السمنة في جميع أنحاء العالم ، ازدادت وتيرة جميع أشكال مرض السكري ، بما في ذلك سكري الحمل. إن المعايير الجديدة المستندة إلى نتائج دراسة HAPO الأصلية لميتسوجر في 2012 تزيد من عدد النساء المصابات بسكري الحمل.

قيمت HAPO-FUS (دراسة فرط سكر الدم والحالة المعاكسة للحمل المعاكس) الأطفال 10 إلى 14 سنوات بعد الولادة في المراكز السريرية 10 في سبعة بلدان: الولايات المتحدة وكندا وإسرائيل والمملكة المتحدة وهونغ كونغ وتايلاند وبربادوس. وشملت الدراسة أمهات 4,697 وأطفال 4,832.

استخدم الباحثون أساليب متعددة لتحديد درجات زيادة وزن الطفل. ببساطة حساب مؤشر كتلة الجسم (BMI) في الأطفال لديه بعض القيود لأن الشاب العضلي سوف يكون مؤشر كتلة الجسم عالية إلى حد ما ولكن ليس زيادة الوزن.

تستخدم المواقع السريرية جرابًا يُحسب بدقة أكبر نسبة الأنسجة الدهنية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، قام الباحثون بقياس الخصر أو الورك وكذلك سمك طيات الجلد ، والتي ترتبط جميعها بكمية البدانة لشخص ما ، يقول ميتزجر.

يقول ميتزغر: "كان أطفال الأمهات المصابات بسكري الحمل وارتفاع نسبة السكر في الدم أعلى في جميع هذه الفئات".

"إن نتائج HAPO-FUS مهمة لأنها تثبت أنه حتى النساء اللاتي يعانين من ارتفاع سكر الدم خلال الحمل ونسلهن يتعرضن لخطر النتائج الصحية للأم والطفل ، مما قد يؤدي إلى زيادة عدد النساء والأطفال المعرضين لخطر اكتساب ظروف طبية مزمنة مدى الحياة ، يقول المؤلف المشارك ويندي بريكمان ، وهو أستاذ مشارك في طب الغدد الصماء لدى الأطفال في فاينبرغ ، وطبيب أطفال في مستشفى آن وروبرت لوري للأطفال في شيكاغو.

"هناك حاجة إلى البحث لتحديد التدخلات التي من شأنها تحسين النتائج الصحية لهؤلاء النساء والأطفال".

حول المؤلف

قام المعهد الوطني للسكري وأمراض الجهاز الهضمي والكلى ومساعدة يونيس كينيدي شرايفر الوطنية لصحة الطفل والتنمية البشرية بتمويل العمل.

مصدر: جامعة نورث وسترن

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=pregnancy high blood pressure;maxresults=3}

الصحة
enarزكية-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

High Blood Sugar In Pregnancy Increases Child’s Obesity Risk

High Blood Sugar In Pregnancy Increases Child’s Obesity Risk

A pregnant woman’s high blood sugar level is linked to a significantly greater long-term risk of obesity in her child—even more than a decade later, a new study reports. The higher the woman’s blood sugar, the greater the risk of her child being obese.

“The mother’s blood sugar level during pregnancy is an independent contributor to the child’s weight and risk of being obese later in childhood,” says corresponding study author Boyd Metzger, professor emeritus of medicine in endocrinology at Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine.

“We’ve known for a long time that family characteristics predict a lot about how you’re going to look…,” Metzger says. “This is above and beyond the mother’s weight. This takes into account all those other factors.”

Higher risk for moms, too

Mothers with higher-than-normal blood sugar during pregnancy—even if not high enough to meet the definition for gestational diabetes commonly used in the US today—also were significantly more likely to have developed type 2 diabetes a decade after pregnancy than their counterparts without high blood sugar.

Researchers have known that treating high blood sugar during pregnancy reduces problems for the newborn and mother. Lowering a mother’s blood sugar reduces the birth weight of the child, as well as the risk of pre-eclampsia, a potentially life-threatening condition in which the mother has high blood pressure that affects her and the baby.

But prior to this study, which appears in the Journal of the American Medical Association, scientists did not know that risks related to blood sugar during pregnancy continue into childhood. And they still don’t know if treating the mother reduces these longer-term risks. Future studies will need to help answer these questions, Metzger says.

“We don’t know the mechanisms of how these long-term changes happen,” Metzger says. “We suspect epigenetic changes are likely to be influencing these long-term outcomes and those changes begin quite early in pregnancy.”

Harmful outcomes

With major increases in obesity worldwide, the frequency of all forms of diabetes, including gestational diabetes, has increased. New criteria based on the results of Metzger’s original HAPO Study in 2012 further increases the number of women with gestational diabetes.

The HAPO-FUS (Hyperglycemia and Adverse Pregnancy Outcomes-Follow-Up Study) evaluated children 10 to 14 years after birth in 10 clinical centers in seven countries: the US, Canada, Israel, the UK, Hong Kong, Thailand, and Barbados. The study included 4,697 mothers and 4,832 children.

Investigators used multiple methods to determine degrees of a child being overweight. Simply calculating Body Mass Index (BMI) in kids has some limitations because a muscular young person will have a fairly high BMI but is not overweight.

Clinical sites used a bod pod that more accurately calculates the percent of fat tissue. In addition, investigators measured the waist or hip as well as the thickness of the skin folds, which all correlate with how obese someone is, Metzger says.

“The children of moms with gestational diabetes and higher blood sugar were higher in all these categories,” Metzger says.

“The HAPO-FUS results are important because they demonstrate that even women with mild hyperglycemia during pregnancy and their offspring are at risk of harmful maternal and child health outcomes, potentially increasing the number of women and children at risk of acquiring lifelong chronic medical conditions,” says coauthor Wendy Brickman, an associate professor of pediatric endocrinology at Feinberg and a pediatrician at Ann and Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago.

“Research is needed to identify interventions that will improve the health outcomes of these women and children.”

About the Authors

The National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases and the Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development funded the work.

Source: Northwestern University

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=pregnancy high blood pressure;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

HOME & GARDEN

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Cameron Webb
Mosquitoes aren’t just annoying. Every year around 5,000 Australians get sick following a mosquito bite.

LEISURE & CREATIVITY

The Real Women Of 'The Favourite' Included An 18th-century Warren Buffett

The Real Women Of 'The Favourite' Included An 18th-century Warren Buffett

Amy Froide
One of the challengers at this year’s Oscars is “The Favourite,” a film set in the early 18th-century court of British monarch Queen Anne.

SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY

How Reading And Writing Evolved?

How Did Reading And Writing Evolve?

Derek Hodgson
The part of the brain that processes visual information, the visual cortex, evolved over the course of millions of years in a world where reading and writing didn’t exist.

HEALTH & WELLNESS

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Christine Bear, et al
New studies reveal that most psychiatric illnesses are related to one another. Tracing these connections, like the mapping of a river system, promises to help define the main cause of these disorders and the drugs that could alleviate their symptoms.

FINANCE & CAREER

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Alison Jones
When facing a choice between a smaller dollar amount now or more money weeks later, “patient savers” focus immediately on the two dollar amounts, quickly screening out other factors as irrelevant, according to a new study.