Une glycémie élevée pendant la grossesse augmente le risque d'obésité chez l'enfant

Une glycémie élevée pendant la grossesse augmente le risque d'obésité chez l'enfant

Le taux élevé de sucre dans le sang d'une femme enceinte est lié à un risque d'obésité à long terme considérablement plus élevé chez son enfant - encore plus d'une décennie plus tard, selon une nouvelle étude. Plus la glycémie de la femme est élevée, plus le risque d'obésité de son enfant est élevé.

«Le taux de sucre dans le sang de la mère pendant la grossesse contribue de manière indépendante au poids de l'enfant et au risque qu'il soit obèse plus tard dans son enfance», explique l'auteur correspondant de l'étude, Boyd Metzger, professeur émérite de médecine en endocrinologie à la Feinberg School of Medicine de la Northwestern University.

«Nous savons depuis longtemps que les caractéristiques de la famille en disent long sur votre apparence…», explique Metzger. «Cela dépasse le poids de la mère. Cela prend en compte tous ces autres facteurs. "

Risque plus élevé pour les mères, aussi

Les mères dont le taux de sucre dans le sang était supérieur à la normale pendant la grossesse - même si elles n'étaient pas suffisamment élevées pour répondre à la définition du diabète gestationnel couramment utilisée aux États-Unis aujourd'hui - étaient également beaucoup plus susceptibles d'avoir développé un diabète de type 2 une décennie après la grossesse que leurs homologues sans taux élevé de sucre dans le sang.

Les chercheurs savent que traiter l'hyperglycémie pendant la grossesse réduit les problèmes pour le nouveau-né et la mère. Diminuer le taux de sucre dans le sang d'une mère réduit le poids à la naissance de l'enfant, ainsi que le risque de pré-éclampsie, une maladie potentiellement mortelle dans laquelle la mère a une pression artérielle élevée qui l'affecte, ainsi que le bébé.

Mais avant cette étude, qui apparaît dans le Journal de l'American Medical Association, les scientifiques ne savaient pas que les risques liés à la glycémie pendant la grossesse persistaient dans l’enfance. Et ils ne savent toujours pas si le traitement de la mère réduit ces risques à long terme. Les études futures devront aider à répondre à ces questions, dit Metzger.

«Nous ne connaissons pas les mécanismes de ces changements à long terme», a déclaré Metzger. "Nous pensons que les changements épigénétiques sont susceptibles d'influencer ces résultats à long terme et que ces changements commencent assez tôt dans la grossesse."

Résultats néfastes

Avec l'augmentation importante de l'obésité dans le monde, la fréquence de toutes les formes de diabète, y compris le diabète gestationnel, a augmenté. De nouveaux critères basés sur les résultats de l'étude HAPO originale de Metzger sur 2012 augmentent encore le nombre de femmes atteintes de diabète gestationnel.

L'étude HAPO-FUS (étude de suivi sur l'hyperglycémie et les effets indésirables de la grossesse) a évalué les enfants de 10 à 14 après la naissance dans des centres cliniques 10 dans sept pays: États-Unis, Canada, Israël, Royaume-Uni, Hong Kong, Thaïlande et Barbade. L'étude comprenait des mères 4,697 et des enfants 4,832.

Les enquêteurs ont eu recours à plusieurs méthodes pour déterminer le degré d’embonpoint d’un enfant. Le simple calcul de l'indice de masse corporelle (IMC) chez les enfants présente certaines limites, car un jeune musculaire aura un IMC assez élevé, mais ne sera pas en surpoids.

Les sites cliniques ont utilisé un pod qui calcule plus précisément le pourcentage de tissu adipeux. En outre, les enquêteurs ont mesuré la taille ou la hanche ainsi que l'épaisseur des plis de la peau, ce qui est en corrélation avec le degré d'obésité d'une personne, explique Metzger.

«Les enfants de mères atteintes de diabète gestationnel et de glycémie élevée étaient plus élevés dans toutes ces catégories», explique Metzger.

«Les résultats de HAPO-FUS sont importants car ils démontrent que même les femmes atteintes d'hyperglycémie légère pendant la grossesse et leur progéniture risquent d'avoir des effets nocifs sur la santé de la mère et de l'enfant, augmentant potentiellement le nombre de femmes et d'enfants risquant de contracter des maladies chroniques tout au long de la vie, »Déclare la co-auteur Wendy Brickman, professeure agrégée d’endocrinologie pédiatrique à Feinberg et pédiatre à l’Hôpital Ann et Hôpital Robert H. Lurie pour enfants de Chicago.

"Des recherches sont nécessaires pour identifier les interventions qui amélioreront les résultats pour la santé de ces femmes et de ces enfants."

À propos des auteurs

Les travaux ont été financés par l’Institut national de la santé de l’enfant et du développement humain, l’Institut national de la santé de l’enfant et du développement humain (Eunice Kennedy Shriver).

La source: Northwestern University

Livres connexes

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; mots-clés = grossesse; hypertension artérielle; maxresults = 3}

High Blood Sugar In Pregnancy Increases Child’s Obesity Risk

High Blood Sugar In Pregnancy Increases Child’s Obesity Risk

A pregnant woman’s high blood sugar level is linked to a significantly greater long-term risk of obesity in her child—even more than a decade later, a new study reports. The higher the woman’s blood sugar, the greater the risk of her child being obese.

“The mother’s blood sugar level during pregnancy is an independent contributor to the child’s weight and risk of being obese later in childhood,” says corresponding study author Boyd Metzger, professor emeritus of medicine in endocrinology at Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine.

“We’ve known for a long time that family characteristics predict a lot about how you’re going to look…,” Metzger says. “This is above and beyond the mother’s weight. This takes into account all those other factors.”

Higher risk for moms, too

Mothers with higher-than-normal blood sugar during pregnancy—even if not high enough to meet the definition for gestational diabetes commonly used in the US today—also were significantly more likely to have developed type 2 diabetes a decade after pregnancy than their counterparts without high blood sugar.

Researchers have known that treating high blood sugar during pregnancy reduces problems for the newborn and mother. Lowering a mother’s blood sugar reduces the birth weight of the child, as well as the risk of pre-eclampsia, a potentially life-threatening condition in which the mother has high blood pressure that affects her and the baby.

But prior to this study, which appears in the Journal of the American Medical Association, scientists did not know that risks related to blood sugar during pregnancy continue into childhood. And they still don’t know if treating the mother reduces these longer-term risks. Future studies will need to help answer these questions, Metzger says.

“We don’t know the mechanisms of how these long-term changes happen,” Metzger says. “We suspect epigenetic changes are likely to be influencing these long-term outcomes and those changes begin quite early in pregnancy.”

Harmful outcomes

With major increases in obesity worldwide, the frequency of all forms of diabetes, including gestational diabetes, has increased. New criteria based on the results of Metzger’s original HAPO Study in 2012 further increases the number of women with gestational diabetes.

The HAPO-FUS (Hyperglycemia and Adverse Pregnancy Outcomes-Follow-Up Study) evaluated children 10 to 14 years after birth in 10 clinical centers in seven countries: the US, Canada, Israel, the UK, Hong Kong, Thailand, and Barbados. The study included 4,697 mothers and 4,832 children.

Investigators used multiple methods to determine degrees of a child being overweight. Simply calculating Body Mass Index (BMI) in kids has some limitations because a muscular young person will have a fairly high BMI but is not overweight.

Clinical sites used a bod pod that more accurately calculates the percent of fat tissue. In addition, investigators measured the waist or hip as well as the thickness of the skin folds, which all correlate with how obese someone is, Metzger says.

“The children of moms with gestational diabetes and higher blood sugar were higher in all these categories,” Metzger says.

“The HAPO-FUS results are important because they demonstrate that even women with mild hyperglycemia during pregnancy and their offspring are at risk of harmful maternal and child health outcomes, potentially increasing the number of women and children at risk of acquiring lifelong chronic medical conditions,” says coauthor Wendy Brickman, an associate professor of pediatric endocrinology at Feinberg and a pediatrician at Ann and Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago.

“Research is needed to identify interventions that will improve the health outcomes of these women and children.”

About the Authors

The National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases and the Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development funded the work.

Source: Northwestern University

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=pregnancy high blood pressure;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

HOME & GARDEN

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Cameron Webb
Mosquitoes aren’t just annoying. Every year around 5,000 Australians get sick following a mosquito bite.

LEISURE & CREATIVITY

The Real Women Of 'The Favourite' Included An 18th-century Warren Buffett

The Real Women Of 'The Favourite' Included An 18th-century Warren Buffett

Amy Froide
One of the challengers at this year’s Oscars is “The Favourite,” a film set in the early 18th-century court of British monarch Queen Anne.

SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY

How Reading And Writing Evolved?

How Did Reading And Writing Evolve?

Derek Hodgson
The part of the brain that processes visual information, the visual cortex, evolved over the course of millions of years in a world where reading and writing didn’t exist.

HEALTH & WELLNESS

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Christine Bear, et al
New studies reveal that most psychiatric illnesses are related to one another. Tracing these connections, like the mapping of a river system, promises to help define the main cause of these disorders and the drugs that could alleviate their symptoms.

FINANCE & CAREER

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Alison Jones
When facing a choice between a smaller dollar amount now or more money weeks later, “patient savers” focus immediately on the two dollar amounts, quickly screening out other factors as irrelevant, according to a new study.