ضرائب الازدحام على وسط المدينة لتخفيض الأطفال هجمات الربو للأطفال

ضرائب الازدحام على وسط المدينة لتخفيض الأطفال هجمات الربو للأطفال
(التوضيح صورة لسلاح الجو الأمريكي)

إن "ضريبة الازدحام" التي لا تشجع على القيادة في وسط المدينة لا تقلل فقط من حركة المرور والتلوث ، بل تقلل بشكل حاد من نوبات الربو عند الأطفال.

الضريبة التي فرضتها ستوكهولم ، السويد ، خفضت مستويات تلوث الهواء بين 5 و 10 في المئة ، وأسقط في نهاية المطاف معدل نوبات الربو عند الأطفال بنسبة تقرب من 50 في المئة.

ظهر التحسن في الصحة بشكل تدريجي أكثر من الانخفاض في التلوث ، مما يشير إلى أن الفوائد الصحية الكاملة من تخفيضات التلوث لا تحدث على الفور ، كما تقول إميليا سيميونوفا ، الخبيرة الاقتصادية في كلية إدارة الأعمال في جامعة جونز هوبكنز.

كان الانخفاض في معدل نوبات الربو أكثر من نسبة 12 في المائة خلال الأشهر السبعة الأولى من الضريبة ولكنه ارتفع إلى نسبة 47 في المائة بعد بضع سنوات من التنفيذ.

"إن أهم ما توصل إليه هذا البحث هو أن المكاسب الصحية يمكن تحقيقها من خلال الجهود المبذولة لخفض تلوث الهواء ، وأننا بحاجة إلى التحلي بالصبر في انتظار ظهور الصورة الكاملة".

الربو ، والتهاب مزمن في ممرات التنفس ، يصيب الناس من جميع الأعمار. ومع ذلك ، قد يؤدي ظهوره في مرحلة الطفولة إلى نمو رئوي ضعيف ، مما يؤدي إلى ظهور أعراض سيئة مثل: التنفس ، وضيق في الصدر ، وضيق الصدر ، والسعال ، يمكن أن يتكرر على مدى العمر. الربو هو السبب الرئيسي للعلاج في المستشفيات بين الأطفال في الولايات المتحدة ، لا سيما أولئك الذين يعيشون في المناطق ذات الكثافة السكانية العالية مع ازدحام المرور المتكرر.

بالنسبة للدراسة ، فحص الباحثون البيانات الصحية والبيئية الرسمية التي تم جمعها في السويد من 2004 عبر 2010. ركزوا على الإحصاءات الصحية للأطفال حتى سن السادسة ، الذين يميلون إلى تجربة أكثر نوبات الربو الحادة لأن عائلاتهم لم تتعلم بعد كيفية ترويض النوبات.

بدأت ضريبة الازدحام في ستوكهولم كتجربة ، من يناير إلى يوليو 2006. تم تقليل عدد الزيارات إلى 20 إلى 25 في المائة. واعتبارًا لنجاح التجربة ، أعادت حكومة المدينة فرض ضريبة الازدحام في أغسطس 2007 ومنذ ذلك الحين.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


تبلغ تكلفة برامج الضرائب ما يصل إلى $ 2.60 (بما يعادل الدولارات الأمريكية) لكل مركبة ، حسب الوقت من اليوم. لا توجد رسوم في الليل أو في عطلات نهاية الأسبوع وأيام العطل الرسمية أو خلال شهر يوليو. يتم تقييم الرسوم تلقائياً عبر الماسحات الضوئية التي تجمع معلومات لوحة الترخيص من السيارات التي تعبر إلى "منطقة تسعير الازدحام".

كان التأثير الإيجابي على الصحة واضحًا منذ البداية. خلال الفترة التجريبية لمدة سبعة أشهر ، انخفضت زيارات الأطباء لأعراض الربو من خط الأساس لـ 18.7 لكل طفل 10,000 إلى 16.4 ، وهي عبارة عن قطرة من 12 في المائة. لمدة عام تقريبا بعد الفترة التجريبية ، لم تكن ضريبة الازدحام سارية المفعول. ارتفعت مستويات التلوث مرة أخرى قليلاً ، على الرغم من أنها لم تصل إلى مستويات ما قبل المحاكمة ، واستمرت زيارات الربو بين الأطفال في الانخفاض ، إلى 13.9 لكل 10,000 ، أو 26 في المائة أقل من خط الأساس.

بعد مرور بضع سنوات على جعل الضريبة دائمة ، انخفضت الزيارات إلى 10 لكل طفل 10,000 ، وهو انخفاض بنسبة 47 في المائة من خط الأساس. (كان رقم خط الأساس لزيارات الربو 18.7 هو متوسط ​​الإحصائيات من فترة سنتين قبل التجربة).

وتقول سيميونوفا إنه خلال فترة "ما بين هذه الفترة" التي لم يتم فيها فرض الضريبة ، لم يكن مستوى التلوث مرتفعاً بما يكفي لعكس الفوائد الصحية التي بدأ أطفال ستوكهولم في تحقيقها. ولكن من المرجح أن معدل زيارات الربو قد بدأ بالتسلق إذا لم تكن الضريبة دائمة.

تقول سيميونوفا: "تُظهر هذه النتائج أن رسوم الازدحام المروري في المدن الكبيرة يمكن أن يكون لها آثار إيجابية على الصحة في المدى القصير ، ولكن حتى على التأثيرات الأكبر على المدى الطويل".

يقول خبير الاقتصاد إن متوسط ​​مستويات التلوث في ستوكهولم ليس بنفس مستوى مستويات الحكم التي تقبلها وكالة حماية البيئة الأمريكية. وبالتالي ، فإن التخفيف من التلوث ، حتى في مدينة ذات مشاكل نوعية معتدلة نسبياً في الهواء يمكن أن تولد فوائد لصحة الجهاز التنفسي ، خاصة بين الأطفال الصغار.

حول المؤلف

قدم المؤلفون دراسة في الاجتماع السنوي للرابطة الاقتصادية الأمريكية في يناير. Coauthors هي من جامعة كاليفورنيا في بيركلي ، جامعة ستوكهولم ، وجامعة برينستون. قدم مجلس البحوث السويدي التمويل.

مصدر: جامعة جونز هوبكنز

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = الربو والتلوث ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Congestion Taxes On Downtown Driving Cuts Kids’ Asthma Attacks

Congestion Taxes On Downtown Driving Cuts Kids’ Asthma Attacks
(U.S. Air Force photo illustration)

A “congestion tax” that discourages downtown driving not only cuts traffic and pollution, but also sharply reduces children’s asthma attacks.

The tax levied by Stockholm, Sweden, reduced air pollution levels between 5 and 10 percent, and eventually dropped the rate of pediatric asthma attacks by nearly 50 percent.

The health improvement appeared more gradually than the decline in pollution, suggesting that the full health benefits from pollution cuts don’t occur immediately, says economist Emilia Simeonova, assistant professor at Johns Hopkins University’s Carey Business School.

The drop in the rate of asthma attacks was more than 12 percent during the first seven months of the tax but soared to 47 percent after a few years of implementation.

“The key takeaways of this paper are that health gains can be realized through efforts to lower air pollution, and that we need to be patient in waiting for the complete picture to emerge.”

Asthma, the chronic inflammation of breathing passages, afflicts people of all ages. Its onset in childhood, however, can lead to poor lung development, causing ill effects―wheezing, breathlessness, chest tightness, and coughing―that can recur over a lifetime. Asthma is the leading cause of hospitalization among children in the United States, especially those living in densely populated areas with frequent traffic congestion.

For the study, researchers examined official health and environmental data compiled in Sweden from 2004 through 2010. They focused on health statistics for children up to age six, who tend to experience the most acute asthma episodes because their families haven’t yet learned how to tame the flare-ups.

Stockholm’s congestion tax began as an experiment, from January through July 2006. Traffic was reduced 20 to 25 percent. Deeming the trial a success, the city government reinstituted the congestion tax in August 2007 and it has been in place ever since.

The tax costs drivers up to $2.60 (in the equivalent of US dollars) per vehicle, depending on the time of day. There are no charges at night, on weekends and public holidays, or during July. Tolls are automatically assessed via scanners that collect license plate information from cars crossing into the “congestion pricing zone.”

A positive impact on health was evident from the start. During the seven-month trial period, visits to doctors for asthma symptoms fell from a baseline of 18.7 per 10,000 children to 16.4, a drop of 12 percent. For about a year after the trial period, the congestion tax wasn’t in effect. Pollution levels rose again slightly, though not up to pre-trial levels―and asthma visits among children continued to fall, to 13.9 per 10,000, or 26 percent below baseline.

A few years after the tax was made permanent, visits had dropped even further, to 10 per 10,000 children, a reduction of 47 percent from the baseline. (The baseline figure of 18.7 asthma visits was an average of statistics from a two-year period before the trial.)

During the “in between” period when the tax wasn’t being levied, the level of pollution still wasn’t high enough to reverse the health benefits that Stockholm’s children had begun to realize, Simeonova says. But, the rate of asthma visits probably would have started climbing if the tax had not been made permanent.

“These findings show that traffic congestion fees in large cities can have significantly positive effects on health in the short-term, but even larger effects in the longer term,” Simeonova says.

Stockholm’s average pollution levels are not nearly as bad as levels judged acceptable by the US Environmental Protection Agency, the economist says. Pollution reductions, then, even in a city of relatively mild air quality problems can produce benefits for respiratory health, especially among young children.

About the Authors

The authors presented the study at January’s annual meeting of the American Economic Association. Coauthors are from UC Berkeley, Stockholm University, and Princeton University. The Swedish Research Council provided funding.

Source: Johns Hopkins University

Related Books

Poisoned for Profit: How Toxins Are Making Our Children Chronically Ill
healthAuthor: Philip Shabecoff
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Chelsea Green Publishing
List Price: $17.95

Buy Now

My House Is Killing Me!: The Home Guide for Families with Allergies and Asthma
healthAuthor: Jeffrey C. May
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Johns Hopkins University Press
List Price: $22.95

Buy Now

Climate Change and Air Pollution: The Impact on Human Health in Developed and Developing Countries (Springer Climate)
healthBinding: Hardcover
Publisher: Springer
List Price: $189.00

Buy Now

zh-CNtlfrdehiidptes

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}